Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sharp Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sharp Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Compact in size but offering the same reliable cooking and reheating features as larger microwave ovens, the Sharp model R209HK is ideal for small spaces and dorm living. Smart black color and futuristic design.
Average Customer Rating:
3.873 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation77%55 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Waste of money and time

10/18/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product from the Walmart at Fishkill, NY on the 6th of August 2008 because i was moving into a new apartment and it worked well for the first few weeks. when setting cook times, the numeral buttons wouldn't work. Then the "start" and "clear" buttons gave out as well and I blamed myself for not reading the reviews as some one has written similar thing. To cap it all, I could find the receipt, and it hurts that am going to buy a new one when I should have exchanged this rubbish at Walmart. Please I wont be recommending this product to even my enemies if I had one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Sharp Microwave

12/24/2007
By ,
Warren, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was amazed at the low cost of this microwave, only wish it was a little bigger. My daughter had it on her gift registery for her bridal a nd wedding showers. I almost didn't buy it because of it's size. I decided that if it was the wrong one for her she could easily exchange it. And being able to ship it to her new home was such a bonus; no one had to carry it from place to place. I simply wrapped it when it arrived and it was waiting for them when they returned from their honeymoon. And as it turned out it was exactly what the wanted. Sharp is a great product for the money; and Walmart came through just like always!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 3 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Gave out after less than one year

08/31/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This microwave started out as a great buy, but less than a year after purchasing it, it began to give out. When setting cook times, the numeral buttons wouldn't work. Then the "start" and "clear" buttons gave out. I'll be buying a different brand next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 4 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Almost gave up!

11/19/2007
By ,
West Chester, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The deal i got from Walmart was super cool - a Sharp microwave for less than 50 bucks was not bad at all! Initially, the microwave heat up a bit on the sides and I got worried. I even called the company and they said it was normal.. I was still not convinced,but continued to use it. I almost gave up and was all set to return it. However within 4 or 5 times of usage, it started getting better and "healing itself". I have not had any problems after that.
Infact Im very happy with it now...Just today, i was trying to defrost lamb, i set it up for 10mins. But the lamb got done in less than 3mins, and the microvave kept giving out sound to alert me that it was done!!! Wow, i thought it was fantastic. My old GE would have just continued for 10mins, for me to get an over cooked lamb!
The model is sleek and looks good, however the digital clock does not have a light! its silly, but nevertheless..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Microwave

08/23/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Works great! A wonderful value for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Great little microwave

11/04/2007
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Sharp MW oven for over 10 years and it really worked great. I got this to replace the old one as I did not need the large size.
My only disappointment is that the clock does not light up. I think this should be such an inexpensive standard that should be included on all MW ovens as the black on dark background is not easy to see.
Otherwise, the product is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Door failed to open and close.

12/15/2007
By ,
Middletown,NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Today i took this microwave from walmart. grt deal for 46$. BUT microwave door not closes and opens properly, i have to press it hard to close. may be i got a diffective piece, also making loud sound while closing. I am going to exchange this with a new one. cheapest ever seen, GE for the same price we get .7 cu feet and 700 volts microwave.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Sharp or Not!

01/25/2008
By ,
NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a fan of Sharp products, but this was a dissapointment to me. I bought this product, use it 4-5 days a week. It began vibrating at the beginning of the 3rd week. Had to take it back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Happy to have this

01/22/2008
By ,
North Andover, Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product does a good job. It looks good..works well.
delivers all that I hoped for at a great price. I trust Sharp products..Have had them before and I am not disppointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Great Microwave

10/28/2007
By ,
Lansing, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Microwave, works great and good value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Good product; watch out for battered packaging

11/12/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0.6 and 0.7 cubic foot microwave ovens are too small for our liking and don't have enough power. At the same time we didn't need a massive 1.0+ cubic foot oven. So this 0.8 cu ft offering fitted nicely, with a comfortable 800W power rating. Very happy with the Walmart pricing too.
Sadly the LCD display is not backlit.
Just one thing. We did ship-to-store, and the packaging came all battered. Indeed, we got it home and the microwave was dented. Looks like the carton must have fallen off a tall pile. I was surprised how little padding Sharp put it. Wasn't a big problem though: Walmart customer service exchanged it without any hassle. Just a shame we had to wait another week for the replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Sharp Carousel Microwave -Better ones out there

08/04/2008
By ,
Coloma, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased this after a 1-year old Emerson bit the dust.
Since the warranty means mailing the old unit in, it just doesn't make $ sense to invest more than the minimum. Which brings me to the 1-month old Sharp. A small, cheap microwave.
Problem Areas:
1. Light does not come on unless the unit is cooking.
2. Carousel is difficult to align and works erratically.
3. Start button difficult to find.
4. LCD (not LED) display difficult to see.
5. Unit is very light and slides all over creation when utilizing the touch pad which takes an unusual amount of force to register on the touchpad.
So...invest a few more bucks for a bigger, more user friendly microwave.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Great For Reheating Dinner Plates

09/10/2007
By ,
St. Croix, VI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like the microwave. I bought it because of the Sharp name. It's a small microwave but it works well. However, I miss the inside light- it comes on when the microwave is working but not when the door is open. The door does open a bit to hard. The time clock resembles that of a digital watch face versus the lighted display of other microwaves. Also, the microwave is mostly dark gray, only the door is true black - doesn't quite match my other black appliances. It's a good microwave for the price but I will be spending more $$ in the future to get the features that I like and have come to expect of a microwave particualrly Sharp.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Not so great!

12/08/2008
By ,
West End, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had Sharp microwaves before, and always loved them, but this one is not worth buying. The interior is too small for MW popcorn. The bag gets caught, and the turntable will not let the popcorn turn, so if you do not watch it closely, it burns. Plus you can hear the MW amps going up and down, as the MW is cooking. Also the plastic covering the buttons on the front has already started to bubble after only a couple of months. I was very disappointed in this one! I wrote to Sharp about the problems, and never heard a word back from them, which was another disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

General Review

10/03/2008
By ,
Fort Leavenworth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this microwave because I have a small kitchen. In retrospect I wouldn't buy it again, but not because it doesn't work. It's a bit small...normal size plates and bowls will fit, but larger containers will not turn on the turntable. A note that the wattage is 800...below the microwave directions on most products, so everything seems to take a little longer than usual, but again...just be aware of that. With that in mind, the product works fine but again, next time around I'd buy something a bit bigger with higher wattage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

I can't believe it was made by Sharp

06/04/2008
By ,
indianapolis, indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always had a Sharp microwave oven. I wanted a smaller one so I purchased this one. The first one was plugged in and I hit the minute button for 2 minutes. It worked for about 15 seconds and shut off. This continued to happen so I returned it and got another one. This one worked for about 3 days and started doing the same thing. I finally returned it and I am now looking for one that works. Sharp is a good brand, I can't believe that it was such a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

the master of popcorn

09/04/2007
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is an inexpensive microwave that can be a tad underpowered for frozen meals, small 8oz frozen entrees are usually still frozen in the middle using the indicated times, but the popcorn setting is amasingly accurate, always get perfect bags of popcorn . the instant minute button is also a nice touch, perfect for people more confortable with dial timer ovens. i recomend if only for the great popcorn setting, get a more powerful micro for meals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Bad Durability

11/10/2008
By ,
Olney, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this microwave oven about 3 years ago.
Except for the hard-to-read clock/timer display, we were generally happy with it. But recently most of the numbers on the touchpad quit working.
We've had microwaves that lasted for many years,
but this one gave out way too soon. Although Sharp microwaves seem to get a lot of good reviews, I guess we just got a dud. Now we're going to have to replace it, and it's not going to be a Sharp.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK

Great product!!! Definately buy it!!

09/28/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this for a year and a half... got it as a wedding gift. Beautiful, works great, NEVER have I had a problem with it. Use it probably atleast once a day, if not more. Even my bottle sterilizer system fits inside it, even though it is "compact". I would definitely buy it again. I don't understand any of the bad reviews, it has been awesome for me and I am really hard on appliances!! Worth the money!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sharp 0.8 cu.ft Black Microwave Oven, R209KK
07/02/2008
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When you go to pick it up, you need to make sure you tell the customer service person all the pick up names. The microwave was easy to learn how to use. It heats well. Easy to set up. Small enough for all types of spaces. Great gift for my daughter. It was great that I could order it and have it shipped to the Walmart in the town that she lives in. I didn't have to pay for shipping for the gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next