Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yamaha Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Yamaha Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

Your child will feel like the king of the world on his Yamaha Raptor ATV. Built just for children, the Raptor mimics the tough, all-terrain design of its grown-up Yamaha cousins, right down to the realistic revving sounds. Its 12-volt battery runs for up to three hours at up to 5 mph, allowing plenty of time for neighborhood adventure.
Average Customer Rating:
3.086 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
37
Customer Recommendation51%53 out of 104reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
37
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

Grandsons toy

04/26/2008
By ,
Lancaster County, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this at a local Walmart 2 years ago for my Grandson-then 2. Since our entire family rides motorcycles and quads it was the perfect toy for him. He has ridden the wheels off this thing and it is still going strong! He does tricks on it, turns 360 donuts, stands on it, rides it through water you name it he has done it on every single occasion he gets outside. It is almost everyday. He has his own REAL MX dirtbike and gear. He even takes his Mom on it - approx. combined weight of 200 lbs. He has more than gotten his use out of it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

A very good product

05/06/2008
By ,
livonia,ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have had no troubles with this toy and have owned it for over 2 years. I origanally bought it for my oldest son, and brought it home the same day as our oungest was born, as of last year they both ride it togather (approx 60 pounds), and it's still going strog . Both my boys love his thing to death.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

Love it!!!!!!!

02/26/2008
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My parents bought this for our first son who was only 26 months at the time of Christmas in 2005 and was a hit right from the get go. This thing has been ridden so much the wheels should seriously be falling off or it should be falling apart. We live on a gravel road in the country, no sidewalks, no pavement, just potholes, hills, and rocks that completely cover the road, seriously this is the country. It looks absolutely perfect and new except a little wear on the tires, the battery life is unreal, traction on the tires is really good, i guess that comes from mainly riding it on the surfaces it has been. Steep small hills it can get stuck and spin a wheel but other than that no complaints at all. not one. The shortage with the pedal issue - once in a blue moon the pedal will move and not align with button or something it is supposed to but just pop it back in place and it's fixed, no hassle, not often. He rides it up and down this road hitting every pot hole snd larger peice of gravel he can find, rides it to my parents house down the road and to my sisters house and has fun for hours and helps with hooking up his wagon on it and helping my dad in the yard. how they do that i don't know but it's a step 2 wagon.
we now have another son who is 25 months old now and he is itching to ride this four wheeler. but my now 4 year old is very protective over it and well it's just not going to happen b/c he loves it so much and doesn't want the little one messing it up...lol. so we are definitely thinking about getting another one since this one has held up VERY well. It has been left out in the elements on occassion and also stored in a building too and still it's perfect. i do wish it came in another color so both boys could have one and be able to tell each others apart. that would be the ONLY reason why we get a different one b/c we don't want to deal with the fighting.
It is used EVERY day in the spring and summer with the weather permitting. a good bit during fall and some during winter. I'm surprised the thing is still standing but it is in almost perfect condition minus the wear on the tires, which if anything where we live made it have better traction.
Definitely would and have recommended to friends who were as equally as pleased.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

Son Loves it!!!

04/20/2008
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far my sons favorite toy. He got it at 18mnths and needed constant help while riding (could work the petal but needed help stearing) at 2 years old he could do it all by himself! He is now 3.5 years and still riding just about everyday! We finally had to get a new battery last week. The down side is that you need to charge after riding 2-3 hours.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

Awesome Product!

04/28/2008
By ,
Elba, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 3 year old son got this 4 wheeler for christmas, and loves it! It performs well, and it only gets stuck when the battery starts getting low. He loves to run it into holes, up hills ,and into mudpuddles when he can. It has held up excellent considering how rough my son is with his toys. It is a great toy and I would recommend it to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

Awsome

04/16/2008
By ,
millinocket, me
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this for my sons 2nd birthday! he loved it ... we live in a small town where he rides it everyday! we go for long walks and everything with it. i have never once had a problem with this ATV... i thinks its wonderful and i am planning on getting my second one for my other son this sept. 08 for his second birthday!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

Excellent

07/06/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this toy for my sons third birthday. He was so excited he said mine. I like it. We have alot of grass and dirt. It drives anywere you want it to go. Its fast too. If you have dirt and grass get this product it drives very good. You couldnt belive Austins, eyes when he saw it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

Pleased and disappointed..

06/11/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fun toy for my grandson, but he is very sad when the battery dies after only an hour of use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

what he always wanted

03/30/2008
By ,
Chatsworth ,GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves it. When the weather permits he outside riding it. So i am well pleased.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

Has this happened to anyone else?

03/14/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to buy this product for my son's 4 yr. birthday! He was super excited, too. Well, every Saturday we would take him to the park to ride because it has much more space to ride.
Well, less than a month, it stopped working. When you push down on the pedal, nothing happens! The battery is fully charged. Now, my nephew has the same one. He has to forcefully slam down on the pedal to go. My question is, has anyone experienced this problem? Now, I don't know if we should return it, which I think we can't, or what? But, with 2 cars going bad, I don't recommend this for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Review 11 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

lemon

05/29/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst product I have ever purchased. I got this for my daughter for Christmas and we have already had to get a new gear box and the installation was ridiculous...my husband practically had to re-wire the thing to get it to match up. Also, the wheels have lasted about 3 months. 3 out of 4 are already split and now have duct tape on them. Now the battery is shot and the fuse blows everytime you turn the thing on. When I talk to the customer service department they are happy to send out what ever needs to be fixed but at this point I think I have just bought a lemon and would like a replacement. The girl down the street has one and has not had half the problems that we have had. They say there are no "lemons" its all in how you take care of it. I disagree...It's just now become warm enough to ride on a daily basis and it doesn't even work for more than 2 minutes! We have numerous jeeps and power wheels and this is the only one that has caused us so many headaches! I would not reccomend to ANYONE!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children
02/24/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on this product before buying it and i was little worried. It was not the easiest for me to put together, so i made my husband try and it took him fifteen minutes.
This product has given us ZERO problems. The battery last about four hours, it goes up a huge hill in our yard very easily. Every problem people have stated on these reviews, we havent encountered a single one.
My son loves it! It even goes through light snow!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 13 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

A true great gift

08/17/2008
By ,
Walkertown,N.C.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our son has been around all the older kids and older sister 8.All own motercycles,4 wheelers gokarts etc.Well,Mr. Dalton our son,has one now! If you are the market for motorized toy this is the one to buy!Just a few flaws,the front bumber is broke off after a few good bumps!Side fenders weak expect them to be cracked or broke off after good few hard hits or just your kid sittingon them.The little flaws can be corrected,it is just so happends that old Dad is a racer,mechanic and involved with open wheel modifieds.After studies and finding the right materials bumber needs stronger mounting bracket(aluminum pipe)instead of weak plastic tube is back on and holding strong!Re-inforce side mud fenders with aluminum 1inch flate plates.If you have kids like we do,they test their ridding toys to the max!Hope your child has the big smile and bragging rights after opening the new best toy!Our baby boy is runnig with the big dogs now!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

My son loves it!!!!!!

06/16/2008
By ,
Amelia, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this is one of the best things my parents could of bought my son for Christmas. He loves it. He rides it everyday and the battery last all day. We charge it every night before we go to bed and in the morning its ready to go again. He has 2 of them one for my house and one for his grandparents house.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

love this

12/17/2007
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my 4 year old and he loves it. He's had it for a year and this is his playtime outside. He takes it and rides it outside and even drifts on it. LOL This is the greatest investment ive made as far as getting my kids something they actually still play with even after a year. Recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 16 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

Not one of the lucky ones

06/14/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
These pricey battery operated ride ons are such a gamble because (usually) you can't take them back once they've been used. I loved the idea of this atv so we took a chance. We charged the battery the required 14 hours, followed all instructions to the letter, and our son had a blast on it the first day for about 4 hours. Then the battery died and we just plugged it back in and found something else to do for the rest of the day. After another 14 hours of charging it died after about 15 minutes of riding. My husband did some troubleshooting and we found that the connections from the battery to the machine were faulty. Customer service was closed so I contacted Walmart and they really helped us out by offering an exchange since it was something that couldn't be fixed and it had only been a day. Super cute idea, I just wish things were made better!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 17 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

its ok

07/11/2009
By ,
fenton, mo
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we just bought this last night and im not really sure if i like it yet. pros it was a good price and it looks nice. consit did take a little work to get together but it did not take my husband very long. and it dont steer very good and there is no lock out for high speed.other powerwheels i have bought for my son in the past all had lock outs on the high speed i dont know y this one didnt. we got this for my 3 yr old daugther and she loves it but she cant steer very good n thats y we got a 4wheeler instand of anything else but now i wished i would have got her a barbie jeep or something like that instand b/c it would steer about the same and she wanted that one more. so good luck to everyone that buys this maybe its for kids alittle older that dont really need to steer that good i dont know i just would never buy it again and im mad i did.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

daughter's new fav toy!

04/20/2008
By ,
Val Caron Ontario, Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been looking around and not sure what to buy for my 3 year old daughter. She started off with a small Dora quad when she was about 18 months and now it seemed she needed....MORE POWER!!! She seemed too small for a gas powered quad, not yet ready for that much speed!!
I have looked around for many styles and very happy with this purchase. I have heard and read many mixed reviews about this quad and honestly, I don't think all of them are defects. My wife and I travelled 3.5 hours to the US to go and pick it up (just yesterday) and already our little girl is tearing up the streets with the new raptor!!
I will however use a good U tube tip and install some BMX tires as traction bands. They seem to work great.
So far so good... i will post more comments as time goes on. Great for a beginner if you choose to be on the safe side.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

Good product to AVOID.

04/03/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks great......price is fair, however, based on my experience and all of the other bad reviews, this quad WILL break down. The first one I purchased stopped working a couple of months after purchase. I returned it and purchased a new unit. The new unit lasted 6 months, and was ridden approx. 5-6 times before it also died. I called customer service and was told that the problem was the gearbox. They do not have local service centers, so they sent out a new "gearbox" that I was supposed to install. I am pretty mechanically inclined, but complete dissasembly of the quad was required by me to install this "gearbox". I have since purchased a Power Wheels model quad. Based on the reviews for the Power Wheels quad, it looks dependable. Time will tell. Most importantly though, Fisher Price has local centers for their Power Wheel products.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for Yamaha Raptor ATV Ride-On for Children

bad customer service

09/25/2008
By ,
Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My 15 year old son bought this for his 3yr old brother for his birthday. My son used it for less than a week (who ways 35 pounds). And a tire cracked down the middle. We replaced it. Then the one the manufactor sent us cracked in less than a month. I called and the final result the reply was"THIS WHEEL LOOKS TO HAVE A CONSIDERABLE AMOUNT OF WEAR ON IT. WHEELS ARE NOT COVERED BY THE WARRANTY BECAUSE THEY ARE CONSIDERED A "WEAR AND TEAR" ITEM." And this a was after a month of a 3yr using it. I was so mad at the fact that my 15yr worked most of the summer to buy this and a month later there was to much wear and tear and they will not replace the tire. With a crack right on the seam of the wheel. How can a 3yr old who weights 35 pound wear it down in one month? I would not buy another product from this company again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next