Ratings and Reviews
TV
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Illustrated in full color, Dr. Seuss's 'The Places You'll Go' is a children's book giving advice in rhyme for how to proceed in life. 'All the Place's You'll Go' helps children with weathering fear, loneliness and confusion, as well as being in charge of their own actions. "Oh, The Places You'll Go" makes for a caring and thoughtful gift for a young child. " All journeys face perils, whether from indecision, from loneliness, or worst of all, from too much waiting. Seuss' familiar pajama-clad hero is up to the challenge, and his odyssey is captured vividly in busy two-page spreads evoking both the good times (grinning purple elephants, floating golden castles) and the bad (deep blue wells of confusion). Seuss' message is simple but never sappy: life may be a 'Great Balancing Act,' but through it all, 'There's fun to be done. "--(starred) Booklist.
Average Customer Rating:
4.787 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%45 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

A great suggestion...

06/08/2008
By ,
Spring Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We all know this is a great book to buy for a graduation present. Let me share a little tip with you, though. Buy this book for your child and take it to the teachers they've had. Let each teacher write a note in it for them. My son is in 3rd grade and my twin daughters are in 1st grade. I purchased three copies of this book and will be having every teacher sign it at the end of the year. I will give it to each child at their graduation party. Can you imagine receiving such a gift? I loved this idea so much that I had to share it. What a blessing to our children and what a way to build up their self worth as they prepare for college!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

perfect

03/25/2014
By ,
atlanta, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly the same book you purchase elsewhere for nearly twice as much
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Story Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Illustrations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Graduation Gift

03/18/2014
By ,
Nebo, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for two reasons. One, I loved it as a child. Two, I saw an idea on Pinterest. The idea is each school year to have your child's teacher write them something about your child on a page until they graduate high school, then give it to them as a graduation gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Story Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Illustrations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Love

02/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book and I hope my kids love it too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Story Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Illustrations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

non better

07/08/2009
By ,
ludington, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
truly a fun book to read, was given to grad for present, walmart had best price out of 8 different places we searched by $5,
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Great Book

05/16/2012
By ,
Somewhere cold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book for both of my children. I am having their teacher's sign the book and plan to keep it and give it to them as a gift when they graduate high school!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Wonderful childrens book

12/21/2013
By ,
johnson creek, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book! Going to give it to my children when they start preschool. Teachers can sign it every year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Story Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Illustrations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Great for graduation gift

12/07/2012
By ,
La Vista, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to graduation parties where they had this book and had people sign well wishes to the graduate. I decided to get the book for my two kids and use quotes out of the book for their senior tribute page in their yearbook too. Such a great idea and they will has this for the rest of their lives to look at.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

This is a PERFECTION of a book

07/17/2013
By ,
san diego, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I simply ADORE this book !!!! I first bought "Oh the places you"ll go" for my twins when they were born. They are 7 and we still read and will always read together. Yet, I don't think it is entirely a children's book, I actually choke up every time I read the part that addresses that there will be hard times in life, and "there will be games you cant win cause you"ll play against you." I believe this book has a realistic yet inspirational message that it relayed in a fun and loving way. I LOVE< LOVE< LOVE this book and I have purchased it at least 7 times as a gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

What a Wonderful Book

05/14/2008
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first time I read this book was in college. One of my professors read it on the first day of class and emphasized that we can all do great things in life so long as we have the drive.
I looked for this book online and found that a lot of the used books have descriptions that read "writing on the first page", "inscription on first page", etc...this seemed to me to be a testament of this book that people enjoy it so much and find it worthwhile enough to gift it over and over again throughout the years.
I am purchasing this book for my little sister for her high school graduation and I hope that she will enjoy it as much as I have.
This is one of the most meaningful and wonderful Dr. Seuss books I have ever read! Highly recommended for children through adults!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Excellent gift for a graduate.

05/31/2013
By ,
olathe, ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I buy this book every year for my students who are graduating from High School and invited me to their graduation party. Excellent book about striving for goals, meeting perils along the way in a Dr Seuss manner. I was disappointed, however, that I could only order 3 at a time and had to wait 3 days before I could order another 3. When you need several of these it was a hassle. Otherwise, packaged well, arrived quickly and you couldn't beat the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

LOVE THIS BOOK :)

04/03/2009
By ,
WESTWEGO,LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MUST HAVE.THIS BOOK IS FOR ALL AGES. READ TO MY LITTLE GIRL EVERYNIGHT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Awesome book

06/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great graduation gift for ANY graduate
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

A fun Book !

03/22/2012
By ,
Sturgis,KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a fun book whatever the age !
I was invited to a baby shower for a relative, and they asked that everyone bring a book for the baby to be read to at night. Isaw a lot of books but I wanted something different,very fun type of book. his IS IT !!! Everyone was impressed with this book ! What made my gift stand out above ALL others ? I bought the smaller book for the mommy to read while baby is still in the belly. They are not the same but it made it all so real to mommy,reading to baby in belly .
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Great Graduation Gift

05/02/2012
By ,
KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this thinking I would get the "Party Edition" as stated. When I received my books I looked and noticed that they are NOT Party Edition. They are just the regular edition of Oh, the Places You ll Go".
Too bad since I had purchased one book from another store (Party Edition) and two from Walmart (NOT Party Edition). I have 3 kids and wanted all 3 books to match.
Still it is a great buy. When I purchased my books it was higher than the current price so its an even better deal right now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Perfect Grad Gift!

01/19/2013
By ,
KEY WEST, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the perfect grad gift for any age, I think. It's one that is heartwarming and a bit more sentimental than a simple "Congratulations" card and balloons. Conversely, for the younger children, this would serve as a perfect inspirational book that they'd remember through all the years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Perfect graduation gift

02/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great book to buy when kids are small -- have each of their teachers write a little something inside and surprise them with it when they graduate high school.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

A Great Book for Kids & Adults

01/18/2008
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book tremendously so, that I purchased two. Not only can it be read to children, it's also a great read for adults. Dr. Seuss was on to something. I thought I had read all of Dr. Seuss' books, until some guy began reciting phrases, "things happen to people as brainy as you,"... "Oh, the Places You'll Go!" I gave the second copy to him, for alerting me to such a great book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Not the "Party Edition"

05/05/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although I love this book, this listing says it's for the "Party Edition" but when I ordered it it was no different than the regular edition. The party edition is supposed to have a more decorative cover and the one I recieved was plain. I double checked the ISBN on this listing and the plain version listing and they are the exact same.
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oh, the Places You'll Go!

great book for grads

03/25/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got a great price on a book I love giving to high school grads....I think that after going from kindergarten and up through their school years and hearing Dr. Seuss regularly (but less and less as they get older), it's a nice way to come full circle and see that those books still appeal and apply to them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next