Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States Industries North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

North States Industries North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

This adjustable, pressure-mounted gate installs easily and securely so you never have to worry. Its "memory-lock" feature retains its locking position when removed so you can reposition it easily when necessary.
Average Customer Rating:
3.816 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation76%37 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Waste of money

07/11/2007
By ,
boston,ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it was supposed to be usable as bottom of the stairs gate. It simply can't be used that way.
It is extremely hard to adjust the expansion to fit the opening securely. If someone can in fact manager to fit, i can't imagine how it will hold against a toddler pushing against it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 2 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Good Product for a Good Price!

07/28/2007
By ,
N. Smithfield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is was very cheap so I was kinda nervous about its durability but its nothing but durable. Very easy to set up and my 18 mos. initialled tried to figure out how to get past it but gave up because he can't get passed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Not what I expected

07/04/2007
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The gate required intalling parts into the wall, which I did not know before purchasing. Without these pieces, the gate falls at a slight push. I did not want to install anything that would put holes in the wall, and I did not want parts on the wall that would be there when the gate was taken down, so I returned the gate to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 4 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Great for pets.

08/25/2007
By ,
Winger, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this to block off an area for my puppy while I am away. It was somewhat difficult to set up. It is definately sturdy enough for my 5 Lb. puppy; however, I don't know that it would be for a child. If using it for a child I wouldn't recomend using it to block off stairs. I would go with a fixed gate that screws into the wall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Ruins walls

09/13/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have lived 2 diff. places with this product and both places, this product has stripped the pant on the wall where it is mounted. I only set it against the doorway to keep my dog at bay. But I am shopping for a new one for our stairway. It is cheap but I would rather spend a little more to keep my walls intact.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+1point
Review 6 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Great Gate!

02/01/2008
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this to keep puppies confined and it is great. Very sturdy and locks in place well. The locking mechanism is a bit tricky tho. Good value for the price paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Cheap, and cheaply made...

08/08/2007
By ,
Iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had this gate for about a year and a half now. It wrecks door frames & it's incredibly hard to adjust. But...it is fairly sturdy plastic. But, my 2 year old son knows how to unlock it from the other side. He's known how to unlock it from when he was about 18 months. So i would recommend this to people who want to contain their dogs, but not so much to people who want to contain their children. I got this, only because there wasn't very many options at my local walmart at the time. Now i'm shopping for wall mounted and adjustable pressure mounted swing or easy step gates. Trust me, spend the $30-$80, it'll be MUCH more worth it in the long run. I hope this helped!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Good basic gate

11/05/2007
By ,
Carneys Point, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought two of these gates to keep my dog (boxer) out of rooms at times. They're a little shorter than I expected, but they work fine for that. It helps that my dog is afraid of the gates falling on her. She doesn't even try to get through them.
I don't try to make them fit the door, I just lean them against the doorway so I can't comment on their adjustability. I'm very pleased with my purchase and the price was certainly right. I couldn't find any in the store so I had them shipped to the store and picked them up. Saved me about $10 on shipping. That could have been a deal breaker. I will definitely use that service again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Disappointed with this Product

01/31/2008
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very dissappointed with this product when it arrived in the mail. I should have known, seeing how low the price was. It is very cheaply made and will bend when you try to fit it in. And it is not easy to take down and put back up. A major inconvenience. I find myself just climbing over it to avoid having to go through the process of taking it down and putting it back up again. So far, my son is not able to pull it down, but I can imagine it won't last us very long. Do yourself a favor and splurge for the more expensive gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

A good sturdy gate

10/22/2007
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this gate. My son is 13 months old and not the most gentle little guys going. He loves to stand behind the gate and shake it like crazy trying to get it out of the doorway. The gate doesn't budge! It does stick a bit so it doesn't slide too easily. That's good and bad. Bad if you want to use it in different width doorways - Good if you're using it in the same doorway. The "lock" arm of the gate it a tight snapping fit which is great so little fingers won't get pinched! This was a good purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Ok for the Money

03/10/2008
By ,
Ft Worth TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This item works if you are on a budget i purchased this because of a none detailed description i did not know the locking mechanism worked like it does it is kind of a wierd lock the item works for what i need it for but i would recomend looking at the item in person before purchasing so you are not suprised like i was (ordered online) but yes the product works fine and is very sturdy i like the item just wish the discription was a little more detailed
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Best gate for the price

12/18/2007
By ,
Danielson, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate. It was cheap, easy to install, seems durable and does the job well. I was leery of a pressure mount gate fearing my 10 month old could push it down but this gate fits the doorway very securely. Best part is it is narrow enough that I can still close his bedroom door at night when he goes to bed. I got other "fancier" gates at my shower that are a pain to put up. I plan on replacing them with a few more of these gates.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

a really good buy.

09/07/2007
By ,
Altus, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I first bought one 4 years ago when my first son became mobile, and we still use it to this day to keep the dogs out of the bathroom. So naturally, now that we are expecting our second son, I got two more to block off the kitchen. The only problem I have seen with them is you cant put them all the way to the floor where you have molding. otherwise, the top half wont grip to the wall. All in all though, DEFFINATLY worth looking into!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Great Product for the $$$

08/21/2007
By ,
Ft. Riley, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 of these gates and plan on purchasing 2 more. They are very durable and withstand my toddler pulling/pushing and attempting to climb on them. They do not damage paint or walls in area I have them set up in. You cannot find another gait that is better quality for the money. I tried the wooden pressure gaits they sell at walmart for less and they are total junk. Spend the extra couple of dollars on these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Northstar works for pets

03/03/2008
By ,
Anniston, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product required set up that was very difficult. The instructions are not clear. However, you get what you pay for. It is working so far to keep our shih tzu, Ru, from getting into off limits areas when we are not home. I would not recommend this product for human children, which is what is was designed for. I would suggest measuring the space to be used prior to purchasing the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

it'll do...

02/29/2008
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
got this for a new puppy coming in the house, and while it certainly does keep her from areas i don't like, she thorws herself against it until i pay attention to her. not that this is the gate's fault! for all of the abuse it takes, it still stands pretty sturdy, it is just kind of a pain and hurts your fingers to move the ring that makes the gate tighter. otherwise, great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

So you need a gate...

03/10/2008
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
And chances are, it's only going to be a temporary need. Well this gate might not have looks (just grey plastic), but it gets the job done well and easily for a great price. Looks a little complicated, but after the first usage it remembers the pin lock position. So anytime afterwards, to open it you just move the arm up and to secure again move it down. Can't get easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Not worth the money

08/04/2007
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This gate is inexpensive, but there is a reason: It is very difficult to get set to the correct pressure to work. We purchased it to use at our family cabin, to prevent our toddler from going up some very steep and dangerous stairs. We ended up blocking them off with furniture, this gate was so hard to put in the doorway.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Try it...it worked for me!

01/28/2008
By ,
Springfield, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this gate to keep my dog from getting into the cat room where I keep their litter boxes & food. So far, it's been great! For the most part it was pretty easy to install(once I figured it out) LOL
Not sure how well it would work for children, but it definitely did the job I bought it for:)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for North States Top Notch Plastic Gate

Keeps the dog out

03/03/2008
By ,
Collingswood, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't expect it to work as well as it does because it was so inexpensive, but it works extremely well for my use. I am using to keep my dog confined. She is about a 30 lb. dog and cannot move the gate once it is in place. Might not be good for a 100 lb. dog but for my needs it is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next