Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hawkeye HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Hawkeye HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

With dozens of new features, including weed ID, mountable and side-scanable sonar sensor and four user-selectable sensitivity settings, the HawkEye Portable Fish Finder is guaranteed to reveal the catch. Simply turn on this HawkEye Fish Finder, toss the unique floating sonar sensor from the shoreline, bridge or boat and watch instant depth, fish, week and bottom contour readings appear in the palm of your hand. This HawkEye Depth Finder provides readings from 2.5' to 99.9', ultra-wide 45-degree sonar angle, and trollable, mountable and floatable sonar sensor with 35 feet of cable and cable tie strap. ShootThru Technology of the HawkEye Fish Finder allows readings through boat, kayak, canoe or ice. The HawkEye Portable Fish Finder also features automatic bottom composition detection. Also includes pivoting LCD protector/display stand.
Average Customer Rating:
3.882 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(127 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
35
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation80%101 out of 127reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 77 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
35
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

good stuff

09/26/2009
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hey for 50 buck this thing met and exceeded all expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NJ
GREAT FISH FINDER !!
Posted 06/19/2013
You can not beat the price .. works great!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

IT Works~

09/13/2010
By ,
Wallace South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price it works very well and does what it says it will do really havent had a chance to try it out much but my son and I used it one time and cast where it showed a fish and caught a nice large mouth bass! Coincidence or not it seemed to work, Im gonna hope we keep having the same luck when we have time to really try it out for a length of time!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

A Great Fishing Gadget

07/16/2007
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the HawkEye Portable Fish Finder, because I was going fishing in Canada, where I was going to use a resort's boats that didn't have fish finders in their boats. For the price, this didn't seem like it could go wrong. The HawkEye actually did more than I expected for the price. It shows you depths, fish and their relative depth (are they suspended or at the bottom), and whether or not the bottom is weedy or rocky. You can simply throw the transducer on the float over the side of the boat when you're drifting or trolling slowly. An unexpected surprise was that the transducer worked inside the boat! Per the instruction manual, if the boat is fiberglass or thin aluminum, the transducer can make readings through the hull! It can also be used this way for ice fishing!! It reads through the ice!!! That's a lot better than drilling hole after hole! This product will always be in my tackle box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Nice little rig

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't own a boat. I rent small boats on lakes in north-west Wisconsin that aren't too big and for which I can putt-putt around with a trolling motor. I find it helpful to know depth locations and structure when fishing and boating, so I purchased the Hawkeye fish finder. It works as advertised. I rigged-up a little pole and brackets so that I could clamp it onto the side or back of my rented boat and it works well to inform you of depth and structure changes. It does identify fish, but you need to use some basic math at calculating the depth the fish are at in the water. Used mine once for the 1st time a couple of weeks ago. Worked well, once I had it plugged in securely. Give yourself a little extra cord for moving around in the boat, dock or shoreline - you'll need it, but there is plenty. With a bit more experience, I suspect I'll get more proficient at using this tool, but so far, so good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Neat little fish finder

08/25/2009
By ,
Ocala, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have two boats and needed a portable one for my fiberglass 15 ft Gheenoe. Was skeptical about its claim that it would read through the boats hull. But it really does. Makes it truly a portable unit. I hang it around my neck and put the transponder on the floor and its ready to go. Does not get any easier than that...Easy to read and use...Would recommended to anyone looking for a portable unit. I could see where it would be real handy for someone fishing off of a pier also. Put on a broomstick and look sideways for a 100 foot view off of any pier. You would know exactly how deep to set your bobber and where to cast it.....Hmmmmm.....Gonna have to try that....Good Luck Fellow Fisherman.....Ohhhh...One more thing...This unit will not read at high speed...Ok for trolling but not high speed unless you mount it permanently...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

in general GOOD

08/13/2014
By ,
kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
came on time. picked up at store. Went across the street to the lake and tried it out. Very complicated piece of equip. took me about 4 minutes to figure out how it worked, and get it in the water. straight down depth is accurate. horizontally not too accurate. generally it is simple compact and does the job. DOES NOT tell SIZE of fish. or what they are biting on. But that was not on the label I L I K E it. get one you will too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

There are not alot of choices out there for kayaks

09/01/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this because I carry my Kayak to and from the water a lot and did not want to mount a 12 volt battery in it. This is the only unit that I know of that operates on AAA batteries.
That said, this is a very basic unit. It dose give an accurate depth reading and tells what type of bottom you are over. It also is suppose to mark fish, but I have not used it enough yet to vouch for how that works. It dose not show structure or any kind of picture of the bottom what so ever.
If you are willing to mount a 12 volt battery in your craft, even the cheapest 12 volt unit will be nicer than this. But it works as advertised, and I am satisfied with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Buy It

06/19/2014
By ,
Naples FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money it an exceptional bargain. It works. I put it overboard on a broomstick rig and cruised up and down the canal in my jon boat with a 30 Min Kota at speed 4 finding the deep spots and weed beds. Easy to read even in bright sunlight and it shows the fish. Have now mounted it permanently. The screen is large enough to see all of the details beneath your boat and depth readings are accurate. Just don't screw in a wooden broomstick to tight because it swells up when wet and is tough to get off. I'm pleased with this unit and the prompt delivery to my home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

job well done

07/27/2009
By ,
Brewarrina, Australia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recived this as a gift and sent to me, as I live in Australia I used it to fish for Murry Cod and Yellow Belly on the Murry Darling river. I was able to locate fish hidden under fallen trees and deep holes.
But takes a bit of to getting used to the readings to decipher them. It does not like very muddy water thou will work in discolour water.
I like it and so do me mates.
I dislike battery compartment cover it was a difficult to access.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

it works

06/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use it from my kayak. I primarily need it for depth. .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Works as Advertised

07/23/2007
By ,
NE PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since purchasing the Hawk Eye Portable Fish Finder, I have used it several times while trolling in my one-man pontoon boat.
The product works exactly as advertised.
The screen is very easy to see, the settings (senstivity, backlight, audio alarm are very easy to change).
I have used this for more than 15 hours andthe batteries are still going strong.
The unit does cut off at depths > 100' - as advertised, but since I rarely fish waters that deep it is of no real concern to me.
I highly recommend this product as an alternative to more expensive units that require a separate battery source.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Terrific starter item

08/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First one I've ever owned. Very pleased. Did more than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

great tool

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gave it to my husband as a gift and he loves it. like a little kid with a new toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

A good choice for the fisherman on budget

02/22/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this equipment because it was a most affordable, compact and simplest available. I needed for kayaking and fishing from kayak. It does everything well that the manufacturer claims for and the Hawkeye does eventually more than you pay for. Pretty accurate and sensitive. Shows the depth, objects in the bottom of the water and really helps locate fish especially schools of fish. The monitor is easy to read, batteries last for a wile. Easy to setup however the setup cannot be saved. A bit annoying to setup every time you turn it on. The other two things may need improvements, the very long cable is a hassle, it's not necessary because a stupid idea to use the unit from the shore anyway. It works well from a boat only. I shortened the cord down to 5 feet, that's all you need for in boat use. The other thing is the missing mount option, not even a spot to install one. You can't handle a boat, fish and hold a fishfinder at the same time unless you are an octopus. It definitely needs some kind of mounting bracket, I really like the smart one on the sonar sensor. With these suggested improvements it would be a little killer on the low budget fish finder market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Great Portable and Price

08/18/2014
By ,
MC MINNVILLE, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and easy to operate.
Makes a great gift at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Excellent Product for the Price

08/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this product as an excellent low end fish finder.
This fish finder works well for the most important function, which is finding the depth of the water. It can also accurately find fish and fish depth. The best features are the price of $50 and the portability. This product is made by Norcross which has an excellent reputation for customer service.
Drawbacks are that it only works in 100 feet of water, difficulty in taking reads at high boat speeds and lack of ability to define fish size.
I like the ability to attach the transducer to a mop handle in order to aim the fish finder in various directions. Although I generally attached the mop handle to the back of the boat and used it while moving.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

cord/phono plug defective out of the box,

07/14/2014
By ,
Colo.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit looks to be quality made, but instructions and previous reviews warn about the phono plug in for the transducer warned about the problem. It is still a problem and would not recommend buying it to anyone based on the flawed connection point. Without it , the unit is worthless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Orlando
F33P Plug
Posted 07/16/2014
There is a simple procedure that can be used to be sure the plug is seated. It is explained in our Product Orientation YouTube video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eQpP3nYqTuw&feature=youtu.be . You can always contact us at 1-888-766-7276 or email support@norcrossmarine.com with any problems or questions. We are here to help! Regards, Patrick
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Good tool, still need to catch the fish.

03/23/2014
By ,
Tulare, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
used it already 10 times, pismo pier, stockton Delta, and a few lakes in the central valley. works as listed, found great use on the pier. great for tubing and smaller fishing rafts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Looks Slick

08/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only one problem, it doesn't work. Frustrating when something right out of the box needs to go right back in the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Orlando
Looks Slick
Posted 08/12/2014
I apologize you had a problem with your F33P. We can take care of most problems with some simple troubleshooting or make arrangements to have the unit sent for diagnosis and replacement is necessary. We are at 1-888-766-7276 and support@norcrossmarine.com . We are here to help!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

99% what I expected

02/21/2013
By ,
Clwr, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am VERY happy with this product. My only comment is the 30' cord is not as long as you would think FROM SHORE. However, from any kind of watercraft I would rate it 100% effective & easy to use. I bought his because I could not find a reputable source to buy the "wireless" version of a portable "fish finder." If there was some way this product could be produced so that you were not attached to a cord, it would be extremely advantageous to use from shore. For now I will have to come up with a watercraft for fishing small freshwater bodies.
DON'T GET ME WRONG - I love this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next