Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hawkeye HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Hawkeye HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

With dozens of new features, including weed ID, mountable and side-scanable sonar sensor and four user-selectable sensitivity settings, the HawkEye Portable Fish Finder is guaranteed to reveal the catch. Simply turn on this HawkEye Fish Finder, toss the unique floating sonar sensor from the shoreline, bridge or boat and watch instant depth, fish, week and bottom contour readings appear in the palm of your hand. This HawkEye Depth Finder provides readings from 2.5' to 99.9', ultra-wide 45-degree sonar angle, and trollable, mountable and floatable sonar sensor with 35 feet of cable and cable tie strap. ShootThru Technology of the HawkEye Fish Finder allows readings through boat, kayak, canoe or ice. The HawkEye Portable Fish Finder also features automatic bottom composition detection. Also includes pivoting LCD protector/display stand.
Average Customer Rating:
3.981 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation82%85 out of 104reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 69 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

good stuff

09/26/2009
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hey for 50 buck this thing met and exceeded all expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NJ
GREAT FISH FINDER !!
Posted 06/19/2013
You can not beat the price .. works great!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

IT Works~

09/13/2010
By ,
Wallace South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price it works very well and does what it says it will do really havent had a chance to try it out much but my son and I used it one time and cast where it showed a fish and caught a nice large mouth bass! Coincidence or not it seemed to work, Im gonna hope we keep having the same luck when we have time to really try it out for a length of time!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

A Great Fishing Gadget

07/16/2007
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the HawkEye Portable Fish Finder, because I was going fishing in Canada, where I was going to use a resort's boats that didn't have fish finders in their boats. For the price, this didn't seem like it could go wrong. The HawkEye actually did more than I expected for the price. It shows you depths, fish and their relative depth (are they suspended or at the bottom), and whether or not the bottom is weedy or rocky. You can simply throw the transducer on the float over the side of the boat when you're drifting or trolling slowly. An unexpected surprise was that the transducer worked inside the boat! Per the instruction manual, if the boat is fiberglass or thin aluminum, the transducer can make readings through the hull! It can also be used this way for ice fishing!! It reads through the ice!!! That's a lot better than drilling hole after hole! This product will always be in my tackle box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Great buy!

03/27/2014
By ,
Shreveport,la.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this fish finder to use on my kayak. It works better than expected. Great buy for the price.
Does everything I wanted it to...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Neat little fish finder

08/25/2009
By ,
Ocala, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have two boats and needed a portable one for my fiberglass 15 ft Gheenoe. Was skeptical about its claim that it would read through the boats hull. But it really does. Makes it truly a portable unit. I hang it around my neck and put the transponder on the floor and its ready to go. Does not get any easier than that...Easy to read and use...Would recommended to anyone looking for a portable unit. I could see where it would be real handy for someone fishing off of a pier also. Put on a broomstick and look sideways for a 100 foot view off of any pier. You would know exactly how deep to set your bobber and where to cast it.....Hmmmmm.....Gonna have to try that....Good Luck Fellow Fisherman.....Ohhhh...One more thing...This unit will not read at high speed...Ok for trolling but not high speed unless you mount it permanently...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Overall Happy with purchace

04/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall I am happy with the purchase of this product. It is more vestal than the side mount fish finder I was considering purchasing. In my opinion you can’t go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

job well done

07/27/2009
By ,
Brewarrina, Australia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recived this as a gift and sent to me, as I live in Australia I used it to fish for Murry Cod and Yellow Belly on the Murry Darling river. I was able to locate fish hidden under fallen trees and deep holes.
But takes a bit of to getting used to the readings to decipher them. It does not like very muddy water thou will work in discolour water.
I like it and so do me mates.
I dislike battery compartment cover it was a difficult to access.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Works as Advertised

07/23/2007
By ,
NE PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since purchasing the Hawk Eye Portable Fish Finder, I have used it several times while trolling in my one-man pontoon boat.
The product works exactly as advertised.
The screen is very easy to see, the settings (senstivity, backlight, audio alarm are very easy to change).
I have used this for more than 15 hours andthe batteries are still going strong.
The unit does cut off at depths > 100' - as advertised, but since I rarely fish waters that deep it is of no real concern to me.
I highly recommend this product as an alternative to more expensive units that require a separate battery source.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Good tool, still need to catch the fish.

03/23/2014
By ,
Tulare, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
used it already 10 times, pismo pier, stockton Delta, and a few lakes in the central valley. works as listed, found great use on the pier. great for tubing and smaller fishing rafts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Love It

03/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You get what you pay for and much more I love this thing I am going to buy another one for my son.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

awesome piece works great,easy to use well worth

12/21/2013
By ,
mckinney Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tool to have,when fishing either from the bank or from a dock.will let u know what's down there that's for sure...very easy to use and understand will... recommend to my friends and relatives
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Nice gadget

09/18/2007
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is pretty neat. And for what I needed the price was good. All in all good value. I only wish it could distinguish fish types. :)
It is simple to use after you get the hang of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Worked as advertised.

03/26/2013
By ,
Corning, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it today for the first time. Worked great. Saw the bottom and fish. Didn't catch any though. Worked thru the bottom of my aluminum boat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Does not work

02/23/2014
By ,
johnstown, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First time on the ice with this product. The display turned on, but would not show water depth, fish or bottom structure. I read the instructions, saw the demo on youtube, made sure the wire was connected properly, listened to the transducer and heard the ticking sound...and nothing. Returning for full refund.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Orlando
Posted 02/27/2014
vest12, There are several things that may have caused you not to get readings Ice Fishing. I regret I did not get a chance to troubleshoot with you. If you need help with one of our products in the future feel free to contact us at 1-888-766-7276 or email support@norcrossmarine.com . Regards, Patrick
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Just what I wanted!

02/28/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I wanted! Something small enough told while fishing. This is GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

good value

02/26/2014
By ,
Shelby,Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had problems with the product at first, but Norcross Marine gave excellent support. The problem was solved per warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

good fish finder

11/04/2013
By ,
Federal Way, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took this when I checking different places to fish and it worked pretty good in locating fishing areas. At least you know that the fish are there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder
04/13/2010
By ,
PHILA, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item for my husband as a birthday gift. We both love it. It is very easy to use and the price is very good. I was very surprised how accurate it really is. Everyone who goes fishing should have one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

A good choice for the fisherman on budget

02/22/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this equipment because it was a most affordable, compact and simplest available. I needed for kayaking and fishing from kayak. It does everything well that the manufacturer claims for and the Hawkeye does eventually more than you pay for. Pretty accurate and sensitive. Shows the depth, objects in the bottom of the water and really helps locate fish especially schools of fish. The monitor is easy to read, batteries last for a wile. Easy to setup however the setup cannot be saved. A bit annoying to setup every time you turn it on. The other two things may need improvements, the very long cable is a hassle, it's not necessary because a stupid idea to use the unit from the shore anyway. It works well from a boat only. I shortened the cord down to 5 feet, that's all you need for in boat use. The other thing is the missing mount option, not even a spot to install one. You can't handle a boat, fish and hold a fishfinder at the same time unless you are an octopus. It definitely needs some kind of mounting bracket, I really like the smart one on the sonar sensor. With these suggested improvements it would be a little killer on the low budget fish finder market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HawkEye Portable Fish Finder

Pretty Nifty Fish Finder

08/31/2009
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this fish finder to use when fishing out of my kayak. I can't attest to the longevity of the unit since I have only had it approximately a month but I am definitely pleased with the performance. The unit is easy to use. Basically you turn it on and it is ready to go. It is very easy to figure out how to turn on or off the fish alarm, battery saver feature, etc without having to read the book (it's a man thing). The battery life is very good, the depth readings are accurate and the structure readings match pretty close to what I know to be the terrain of my favorite fishing spots.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next