Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Beach Shade

Coleman Coleman Beach Shade

Make your camp stay more memorable with the Coleman Beach Shade. It helps you protect yourself and your family from rain or sun. This item comes complete with lightweight fiberglass poles and two hanging pockets on the inside. The Coleman Road Trip Beach Shade has a strong steel frame along with a heavy-duty polyester canopy to provide shade. Easy to set up and take down, it will keep you out the sun for long hours while on the beach or give you protection from rain when on a picnic or in the backyard. This beach sunshade has a roomy center height and plenty of room to accommodate you and your family. This canopy also helps you get the privacy you need with the two zippered doors. The Coleman Beach Shade comes with sandbags and extra-long stakes to provide enhanced stability in case of high winds. This item also includes a hand dry line and a floor mat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation89%103 out of 116reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 76 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Beach Shade

More of a tent

01/19/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We were looking for more of a beach shelter and when we tried to set this up, it was a tent, not what we were looking for!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Beach Shade

Excellent portable shade

06/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got back from a cruise to Bermuda where I wanted an easy-to-carry sunshade to use at the beach at Horseshoe Bay. The Coleman product was excellent--easy to set up and keep up, even in somewhat windy conditions, which is what we found in Bermuda. The shade is large enough to accommodate 2 low rise beach chairs or a large beach blanket. You can zip it up like a tent if there is driving rain or if you need to change clothes. With the flaps open, the breeze passes through easily. The shade has a full floor and the front flap acts as an extended floor.
The only drawback I could find was that the sleeves for the 3 fiberglass poles are made out of mesh and threading and unthreading the poles was slowed down by that. The weight is about 8 pounds, although nowhere in the product information could I find that. The shade is easiest to set up with 2 people, and 2 would be needed in windy conditions, although one person could do it if it wasn't too windy. Fully disassembled and stowed in its zippered carrying case, the shade easily fits inside a 28" suitcase for travel.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Beach Shade

Spring break buy; Bigger than expected

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I have a one year old that was going to the beach for the first time and I still nurse said baby, so I needed some form of shelter. Because it seems to cost about the price of this item to rent a cabana for one day in Myrtle Beach, SC. Plus I also don't like to sit in the sun for too long, and it make our time at the beach shorter because I get miserable faster. This beach shade was perfect for my needs. Sand still gets everywhere, but that's the beach for you. You will want to try and put it together at home first, because although it is just three poles, it can be a bit cumbersome when you have all the other beach stuff with you and trying to keep up with a baby that's never seen beach sand and is pouring it in their mouth. I got the other kids to fill the sandbags while the hubby and I put the shade together. It's bigger than I thought. And by bigger I mean taller. It really is a good buy. (Just a side note to folks on the east coast going to Myrtle beach, apparently you cannot have these or any store bought cabanas [just umbrellas] on the beach during the busy season [May-August], but you can in the off season, probably due to space.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Beach Shade

Top purchase ever made

05/02/2014
By ,
Tacoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used thus shade tent for seven days on Florida beaches when the winds were blowing hard So much better than an umbrella. Easy to put up the second time. High quality and functional. Excellent product for the price. Did not even have to use the sandbags provided. The guide strings provided held tent in place. Just cannot say enough. For 40 dollars cannot go wrong. Can use as a tent also Also folds up into a 2 ft x 4 in nylon bag Can buy and carry in suitcase Cannot carry umbrella but you can put this in your suitcase. I highly recommend this product. Just seems that every Coleman purchase I make you get more for your money. Buy this over a beach umbrella. We ordered on line and picked up near store at our vacation rental. It was delivered to the store three days. One day early HUGHLY RECOMMEND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Beach Shade

Very nice item!!

05/26/2010
By ,
Sunny Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Must have in the florida sun with the kids. Has two zippered sides so you can close it for privacy to change your clothes. Much bigger than I thought it was going to be. Didn't take too long to put together. Great item! Only complaint is that once you use it, it is difficult to squeeeeeeze it back in the tiny carrying bag. I just keep it in an extra tote bag I have. Very compact though.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Beach Shade

Absolutely Incredible Beach Shade

07/06/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This amazing product just returned with us from a 400-mile, two-month kayak trip down the Baja Coast of the Sea of Cortez. We used it every day, not only as our primary source of shade, but slept under it many nights as well. It held up incredibly well to both the relentless desert sun and even some of the famous Sea of Cortez winds (we took it down when it got really, really windy). It honestly looks and acts brand new even after all of that and being subjected to salt water and being crammed into and yanked out of kayak hatches. Truly an indispensable item to take to the beach anywhere...even Baja. I would HIGHLY recommend this beach shade to anyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Philadelphia
I'm jealous
Posted 06/26/2013
Just had to let you know that your life sounds awesome!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Coleman Beach Shade

Good Quality Product

06/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The shade is easy to set up, just like a tent. We took it down to Myrtle Beach, SC for the day, if you are headed there do not bring this shelter, because apparently you are not allowed to set these up anywhere in the county, only beach umbrellas. We left Myrtle Beach and headed to Wilmington, NC instead. It was somewhat difficult to set up in the high wind, but with two people and staking it to the ground it only took about 10 minutes. You may want to get a bigger bag to store it in, the one it came with is very small. One of the grommets broke off during the day, but it still works so it is not a big deal. The one thing I would say that makes it good and not excellent is that the description says you can zip it up and use it as changing area, unless you are very small this is not going to be possible as the door zips up closer to the middle area of the tent. Overall though I was pleased with it and glad I had for our day at the beach.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Beach Shade

recommended

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
highly recommended.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Beach Shade

So Handy!

06/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! It is a great size and perfect for hot sunny days. I got it to to protect my newborn from the sun and it really does. Would definitely recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Beach Shade

Beach Shade

06/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love, love, love it..... Just used it yesterday and im in love. It blocked the sun and it had ample changing space for the kids. I layed the door down and was able to get in a quick nap.... I would highly recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Beach Shade

Excellent beach cabana

02/13/2014
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it as a gift so we set it up to be sure it was ok before we wrapped it. Excellent! We set it up in less than 10 minutes on our first try. Very small package that opens to a large shelter with floor and front & back, large zippered doors. Seems to be tall enough to sit in beach chair inside the cabana. Can likely sleep in it, too, as it is surprisingly large. Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Beach Shade

Great Beach Tent

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this beach tent and used it on our vacation. It was easy to assemble and the quality was great. The sand bags were helpful and held the tent in place even during high winds. The tent was spacious. We set up 3 low back beach chairs side by side, and even had room behind them for a child to lay down. Overall, a great purchase for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Beach Shade

Perfect size for one person or a couple

03/20/2014
By ,
Tampa Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for the beach for myself and three grandsons when they are here. It was easy to put up and take down. Love the sand bags that came with the tent. No blowing away for us and we were visiting the easy coast where was very windy. Never budged. It was great!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Beach Shade

just okay

06/04/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So far I have used it once. Not too difficult to set up by one person but the poles get caught in the mesh sleeve during setup. Used it at the beach on a very rainy day to stay dry. Waterproof. Smaller inside than I thought it would be. Really just large enough for one chair with little headroom. Its okay but I bought it for a better price on Walmart.com. Not worth $59 even though this is a better price than other websites.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Beach Shade

It works.

04/25/2011
By ,
Carlsbad, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tested it during a week long stay at Corpus Christi. It was pretty windy out there, up to 45 MPH gusts, and the tent worked quite well. Of coarse, setting it up and assembling required two people, and we set it up perpendicular to wind, but it did its job. The only improvement needed - stakes. Original are just a joke, too weak and flimsy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Beach Shade

Not a bad product

06/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took my mom and I about 15 minutes to assemble the first time. It would've been faster, but we were chasing my toddler around the beach! It does provide shade; however, it did seem to hold some heat in it. We ended up just using the umbrella that came with our chairs on the beach for him to play under. Maybe an older child or adults would use this product more!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Beach Shade
09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I read the reviews of this product I purchased it online and it came to my house days sooner than the projected delivery date. We tested it out and had it up in a few minutes. When we got to our campsite it took at the most 2 minutes to assemble down on the beach. This shade is perfect. It made it possible to spend entire days on the beach and not get sunburned or burned out. There is a large zippered net window on the back side that let's the breeze through. The whole thing can be zipped up for privacy when changing or if you want to take a walk and leave your things.
I wish I had had this product when my children were small. It is big enough for beach chairs, an adult to nap in, or spread out a meal...
I am going to buy these as gifts for my family and friends who love the beach.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Beach Shade

Great so far

10/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it three times over the last month and found it to meet and exceed my expectatios.
One usage was in strong winds and the bags that can be filled with sands and insert into the corners were usefull. The tent didnt budge in the wind.
Takes less then 10 min to set-up and proivde large shaded area. Also used the zippres to create a private area to get dressed. Very usefull.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Beach Shade

love it

09/29/2010
By ,
Orange Park Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
use it every time I go to the beach. Sets up easy in min, 3 poles, take down easy. Have used for over 3 years. Great sun protection holds up well in the wind, could sleep in it. Use as changing room before going home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
texas
?
Posted 05/28/2013
i used this just 2 days ago. was nice. 2 adults were able to sit in its entry and 2 kids inside w/o difficulty for breaks from the sun at south padre. just remember to use sunscreen even if sitting inside. did take 2 of us to set it up due to the wind. but held up nicely and we placed a full cooler inside in a corner to aide in keeping the spikes in the sand. was great for a day trip and guessing it would be great protection overnight also.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Coleman Beach Shade

Coleman beach shade

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup and take down
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next