Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Beach Shade

Coleman Coleman Beach Shade

Make your camp stay more memorable with the Coleman Beach Shade. It helps you protect yourself and your family from rain or sun. Offering lightweight fiberglass poles and two hanging pockets on the inside. The strong steel frame along with heavy duty polyester canopy provides shade that works for almost any occasion. Easy to set up and take down, you will enjoy staying out of the sun for long hours while on the beach or protection from rain when on a picnic or backyard events. With a center height of 57 inches, this shade shelter has plenty of room to accommodate you and the entire family on a trip. This beach shade canopy also helps you get the privacy you need when out on the beach. The Coleman road trip shelter comes with sandbags and extra long stakes to provide extra stability in case of high winds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
24
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%68 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
24
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Beach Shade

More of a tent

01/19/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We were looking for more of a beach shelter and when we tried to set this up, it was a tent, not what we were looking for!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Beach Shade

Excellent beach cabana

02/13/2014
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it as a gift so we set it up to be sure it was ok before we wrapped it. Excellent! We set it up in less than 10 minutes on our first try. Very small package that opens to a large shelter with floor and front & back, large zippered doors. Seems to be tall enough to sit in beach chair inside the cabana. Can likely sleep in it, too, as it is surprisingly large. Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Beach Shade

very nice, easy to set up

04/04/2014
By ,
Lake Placid, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had the chance to use it at the beach yet but did set it up at home and it was fast and seems to be very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Beach Shade

Perfect size for one person or a couple

03/20/2014
By ,
Tampa Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for the beach for myself and three grandsons when they are here. It was easy to put up and take down. Love the sand bags that came with the tent. No blowing away for us and we were visiting the easy coast where was very windy. Never budged. It was great!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Beach Shade

Absolutely Incredible Beach Shade

07/06/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This amazing product just returned with us from a 400-mile, two-month kayak trip down the Baja Coast of the Sea of Cortez. We used it every day, not only as our primary source of shade, but slept under it many nights as well. It held up incredibly well to both the relentless desert sun and even some of the famous Sea of Cortez winds (we took it down when it got really, really windy). It honestly looks and acts brand new even after all of that and being subjected to salt water and being crammed into and yanked out of kayak hatches. Truly an indispensable item to take to the beach anywhere...even Baja. I would HIGHLY recommend this beach shade to anyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Philadelphia
I'm jealous
Posted 06/26/2013
Just had to let you know that your life sounds awesome!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Coleman Beach Shade

Very nice item!!

05/26/2010
By ,
Sunny Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Must have in the florida sun with the kids. Has two zippered sides so you can close it for privacy to change your clothes. Much bigger than I thought it was going to be. Didn't take too long to put together. Great item! Only complaint is that once you use it, it is difficult to squeeeeeeze it back in the tiny carrying bag. I just keep it in an extra tote bag I have. Very compact though.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Beach Shade

Not what expected

03/21/2014
By ,
Cocoa Beach, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We ordered this beach shade, even though it was a bit larger than we wanted, because it
was a Coleman product. We were extremely disappointed. It took two adults to figure out
how to put the thing together and get it done. The tent itself was nice, but the poles were
hard to insert and even more difficult to get apart when we were finished. The mesh panels
were not sturdy at all and one side had a small hole in it from the rods being inserted. The
front tie downs were awkward and the grommets didn't stay in place very well. Filling the
sand bags before the beach would have make them heavy, but filling them there would have
taken quite a bit of time. All in all, it was just too much effort for an afternoon at the beach.
We are returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Beach Shade

love it

09/29/2010
By ,
Orange Park Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
use it every time I go to the beach. Sets up easy in min, 3 poles, take down easy. Have used for over 3 years. Great sun protection holds up well in the wind, could sleep in it. Use as changing room before going home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
texas
?
Posted 05/28/2013
i used this just 2 days ago. was nice. 2 adults were able to sit in its entry and 2 kids inside w/o difficulty for breaks from the sun at south padre. just remember to use sunscreen even if sitting inside. did take 2 of us to set it up due to the wind. but held up nicely and we placed a full cooler inside in a corner to aide in keeping the spikes in the sand. was great for a day trip and guessing it would be great protection overnight also.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Coleman Beach Shade

Coleman tent

04/04/2014
By ,
Dana Point CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was lots of fun putting it together. Amazing how the whole thing folds up and stores in a small bag. I love the rubber bands holding the poles together. I hope they don't break
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Beach Shade

awesome product

04/03/2014
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daughter bought it for visit to Florida beach. Provides great shade from sun. Sandbag pouch keeps it secured. Lots of thought went into this product. Well worth money and more. A must buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Beach Shade

Great so far

10/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it three times over the last month and found it to meet and exceed my expectatios.
One usage was in strong winds and the bags that can be filled with sands and insert into the corners were usefull. The tent didnt budge in the wind.
Takes less then 10 min to set-up and proivde large shaded area. Also used the zippres to create a private area to get dressed. Very usefull.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Beach Shade
09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I read the reviews of this product I purchased it online and it came to my house days sooner than the projected delivery date. We tested it out and had it up in a few minutes. When we got to our campsite it took at the most 2 minutes to assemble down on the beach. This shade is perfect. It made it possible to spend entire days on the beach and not get sunburned or burned out. There is a large zippered net window on the back side that let's the breeze through. The whole thing can be zipped up for privacy when changing or if you want to take a walk and leave your things.
I wish I had had this product when my children were small. It is big enough for beach chairs, an adult to nap in, or spread out a meal...
I am going to buy these as gifts for my family and friends who love the beach.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Beach Shade

It works.

04/25/2011
By ,
Carlsbad, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tested it during a week long stay at Corpus Christi. It was pretty windy out there, up to 45 MPH gusts, and the tent worked quite well. Of coarse, setting it up and assembling required two people, and we set it up perpendicular to wind, but it did its job. The only improvement needed - stakes. Original are just a joke, too weak and flimsy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Beach Shade

Great for the beach

03/21/2014
By ,
St Augustine, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and works perfectly, even on a windy beach.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Beach Shade

Excited to try it out!

04/18/2011
By ,
Two Harbors, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to use at a 2-day outdoor music festival, to shield myself and one other person from the sun/rain/wind whatever elements that might occur (we live in MN, heck it might snow)! I have yet to go to this event, but I set it up in my living room and it is big enough for two adult size lawn chairs with extra room. I also chose this model because it zips up and we could use it as a changing room. I needed something that packs small enough to carry it in and out each day, and it goes up in minutes. I camp a lot, and I knew I could also use it as an additional shelter or storage for gear. There is enough room inside with the flap zipped up for one person to lay down in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Beach Shade

A Great Choice!!!

06/08/2013
By ,
Mobile, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We LOVE this beach tent! I put it together fairly easily at home before going to the beach the next day. Assembly did require two people when we were at the beach because it was so windy, but once we put the stakes in, it was perfectly secure. While other people's umbrellas were turning inside out, the wind was no match for this. There was plenty of space for my husband, my 2 year old and me to lay down in it. We opened the back window halfway to still keep the sun out, but just that much created the perfect breeze. Didn't have any problems getting it back in the bag. Great buy! Completely satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Beach Shade

Good design with poor material

08/02/2011
By ,
Allentown, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not to hard to set up up, takes about 10 minutes if you bury the bags in the sand. Poles shouldn't have metal interlinks, they should have plastic or rubberized metal. It's too easy to tear the material as you try to thread them through the loops.
Tent material is too thin and isn't reinforced (with heavier material or better stitching) in areas that have the most stress on them. Tent had a tear in it near one of the lower ground stake areas after only one use on the beach (on a mildly windy day).
Returned to the store for a refund, wouldn't buy the product again or recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Beach Shade

Good product, but had difficulty to assemble it.

03/01/2014
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a good shelter for the sun, but had difficulty to assemble it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Beach Shade

Serves its purpose

06/04/2013
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a member of a popular wholesale store and would see, year after year, the beach tent they sold. I always considered buying it, but never did for whatever reason. Well, after years of procrastination, I finally told myself I'd buy it. A friend suggested this Coleman tent instead because the price was $10 cheaper than the wholesale store. So, I ordered it. My biggest complaint has to be the set up. It is almost like setting up a tent to camp in. On a calm day, it can be a one person set-up with a little time. On a windy day, a one person set-up can be nearly impossible. Versus the wholesale store's tent, I somewhat wish I'd spent the extra $10 because its selling point was definitely easy set-up. I gave this Coleman tent 4 stars because, though it's a bit of a hassle to set-up, it serves its purpose well and my family and I have enjoyed the beach a lot more with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Beach Shade

Great product - especially for the price!

08/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this before we went on a vacation with 3 infants and 2 toddlers and it was perfect! The double opening helped with the wind on the beach so we didn't have to worry about the tent flying away and there's a screen feature on the back door so it doesn't get too hot. Very easy to assemble as well. We've only used it during the one week vacation but plan on bringing it on may other vacations to come!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next