Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Beach Shade

Coleman Coleman Beach Shade

Make your camp stay more memorable with the Coleman Beach Shade. It helps you protect yourself and your family from rain or sun. This item comes complete with lightweight fiberglass poles and two hanging pockets on the inside. The Coleman Road Trip Beach Shade has a strong steel frame along with a heavy-duty polyester canopy to provide shade. Easy to set up and take down, it will keep you out the sun for long hours while on the beach or give you protection from rain when on a picnic or in the backyard. This beach sunshade has a roomy center height and plenty of room to accommodate you and your family. This canopy also helps you get the privacy you need with the two zippered doors. The Coleman Beach Shade comes with sandbags and extra-long stakes to provide enhanced stability in case of high winds. This item also includes a hand dry line and a floor mat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
29
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation88%88 out of 100reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 70 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
29
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Beach Shade

More of a tent

01/19/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We were looking for more of a beach shelter and when we tried to set this up, it was a tent, not what we were looking for!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Beach Shade

Top purchase ever made

05/02/2014
By ,
Tacoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used thus shade tent for seven days on Florida beaches when the winds were blowing hard So much better than an umbrella. Easy to put up the second time. High quality and functional. Excellent product for the price. Did not even have to use the sandbags provided. The guide strings provided held tent in place. Just cannot say enough. For 40 dollars cannot go wrong. Can use as a tent also Also folds up into a 2 ft x 4 in nylon bag Can buy and carry in suitcase Cannot carry umbrella but you can put this in your suitcase. I highly recommend this product. Just seems that every Coleman purchase I make you get more for your money. Buy this over a beach umbrella. We ordered on line and picked up near store at our vacation rental. It was delivered to the store three days. One day early HUGHLY RECOMMEND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Beach Shade

Good Quality Product

06/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The shade is easy to set up, just like a tent. We took it down to Myrtle Beach, SC for the day, if you are headed there do not bring this shelter, because apparently you are not allowed to set these up anywhere in the county, only beach umbrellas. We left Myrtle Beach and headed to Wilmington, NC instead. It was somewhat difficult to set up in the high wind, but with two people and staking it to the ground it only took about 10 minutes. You may want to get a bigger bag to store it in, the one it came with is very small. One of the grommets broke off during the day, but it still works so it is not a big deal. The one thing I would say that makes it good and not excellent is that the description says you can zip it up and use it as changing area, unless you are very small this is not going to be possible as the door zips up closer to the middle area of the tent. Overall though I was pleased with it and glad I had for our day at the beach.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Beach Shade

Perfect for beach with infant

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this product during our vacation to the beach with our 7 month old. It was absolutely perfect because there was plenty of room for her to crawl around without being in the sand, there was room for me to be on the floor with her, there was a large window that allowed a nice breeze, the fabric is UV protection, it was easy for my husband and I to assemble and it packs up to a small size (perfect for traveling with). We were able to stay on the beach for longer stretches of time because of the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Beach Shade

Great Beach Tent

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this beach tent and used it on our vacation. It was easy to assemble and the quality was great. The sand bags were helpful and held the tent in place even during high winds. The tent was spacious. We set up 3 low back beach chairs side by side, and even had room behind them for a child to lay down. Overall, a great purchase for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Beach Shade

Perfect size for one person or a couple

03/20/2014
By ,
Tampa Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for the beach for myself and three grandsons when they are here. It was easy to put up and take down. Love the sand bags that came with the tent. No blowing away for us and we were visiting the easy coast where was very windy. Never budged. It was great!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Beach Shade

Absolutely Incredible Beach Shade

07/06/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This amazing product just returned with us from a 400-mile, two-month kayak trip down the Baja Coast of the Sea of Cortez. We used it every day, not only as our primary source of shade, but slept under it many nights as well. It held up incredibly well to both the relentless desert sun and even some of the famous Sea of Cortez winds (we took it down when it got really, really windy). It honestly looks and acts brand new even after all of that and being subjected to salt water and being crammed into and yanked out of kayak hatches. Truly an indispensable item to take to the beach anywhere...even Baja. I would HIGHLY recommend this beach shade to anyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Philadelphia
I'm jealous
Posted 06/26/2013
Just had to let you know that your life sounds awesome!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Coleman Beach Shade

Excellent beach cabana

02/13/2014
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it as a gift so we set it up to be sure it was ok before we wrapped it. Excellent! We set it up in less than 10 minutes on our first try. Very small package that opens to a large shelter with floor and front & back, large zippered doors. Seems to be tall enough to sit in beach chair inside the cabana. Can likely sleep in it, too, as it is surprisingly large. Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Beach Shade

Very nice item!!

05/26/2010
By ,
Sunny Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Must have in the florida sun with the kids. Has two zippered sides so you can close it for privacy to change your clothes. Much bigger than I thought it was going to be. Didn't take too long to put together. Great item! Only complaint is that once you use it, it is difficult to squeeeeeeze it back in the tiny carrying bag. I just keep it in an extra tote bag I have. Very compact though.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Beach Shade

love it

09/29/2010
By ,
Orange Park Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
use it every time I go to the beach. Sets up easy in min, 3 poles, take down easy. Have used for over 3 years. Great sun protection holds up well in the wind, could sleep in it. Use as changing room before going home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
texas
?
Posted 05/28/2013
i used this just 2 days ago. was nice. 2 adults were able to sit in its entry and 2 kids inside w/o difficulty for breaks from the sun at south padre. just remember to use sunscreen even if sitting inside. did take 2 of us to set it up due to the wind. but held up nicely and we placed a full cooler inside in a corner to aide in keeping the spikes in the sand. was great for a day trip and guessing it would be great protection overnight also.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Coleman Beach Shade

Great tent for the beach.

09/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great beach tent. Easy to set up. We were on a windy beach and the tent worked great. Very Happy with the tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Beach Shade

Bummed

08/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this based on the many positive reviews, but ended up returning. I will say that once assembled, the tent was roomy and held up very well in windy conditions. The problem is getting it set up! It is too unwieldy in windy conditions. I looked like an idiot wrestling with this thing on the beach. Maybe for two people it is not an issue, but as a single parent it was a hassle. I am an avid camper and have a Coleman tent that I routinely set up by myself, so I know it's not lack of experience! Also, the sleeves that the poles slide into are mesh, and of course one of the poles snagged and ripped the mesh on the second use. Will look for something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Beach Shade

Great so far

10/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it three times over the last month and found it to meet and exceed my expectatios.
One usage was in strong winds and the bags that can be filled with sands and insert into the corners were usefull. The tent didnt budge in the wind.
Takes less then 10 min to set-up and proivde large shaded area. Also used the zippres to create a private area to get dressed. Very usefull.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Beach Shade

It works.

04/25/2011
By ,
Carlsbad, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tested it during a week long stay at Corpus Christi. It was pretty windy out there, up to 45 MPH gusts, and the tent worked quite well. Of coarse, setting it up and assembling required two people, and we set it up perpendicular to wind, but it did its job. The only improvement needed - stakes. Original are just a joke, too weak and flimsy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Beach Shade

Love it!

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent was perfect for our beach vacation. Having a red headed daughter, having shelter and respite from the searing sun was a MUST! This Coleman tent was ideal. Easy to erect ( I practiced at home before I left so I wouldn't have to struggle with instructions on the beach). It took less than 10 mins to put up alone, 5 mins with another helper. Was versatile, loved the pockets in the inside to put sunscreen, phones, keys etc. Easy to take down again it you need to ring it to a hard flat surface in order to get it back into the original case. No big deal. We really couldn't have done without it. Will carry it everywhere! Brilliant purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Beach Shade

Love it

05/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was able to sleep comfortably at the beach for the first time in a long time
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Beach Shade
09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I read the reviews of this product I purchased it online and it came to my house days sooner than the projected delivery date. We tested it out and had it up in a few minutes. When we got to our campsite it took at the most 2 minutes to assemble down on the beach. This shade is perfect. It made it possible to spend entire days on the beach and not get sunburned or burned out. There is a large zippered net window on the back side that let's the breeze through. The whole thing can be zipped up for privacy when changing or if you want to take a walk and leave your things.
I wish I had had this product when my children were small. It is big enough for beach chairs, an adult to nap in, or spread out a meal...
I am going to buy these as gifts for my family and friends who love the beach.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Beach Shade

Excited to try it out!

04/18/2011
By ,
Two Harbors, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to use at a 2-day outdoor music festival, to shield myself and one other person from the sun/rain/wind whatever elements that might occur (we live in MN, heck it might snow)! I have yet to go to this event, but I set it up in my living room and it is big enough for two adult size lawn chairs with extra room. I also chose this model because it zips up and we could use it as a changing room. I needed something that packs small enough to carry it in and out each day, and it goes up in minutes. I camp a lot, and I knew I could also use it as an additional shelter or storage for gear. There is enough room inside with the flap zipped up for one person to lay down in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Beach Shade

A Great Choice!!!

06/08/2013
By ,
Mobile, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We LOVE this beach tent! I put it together fairly easily at home before going to the beach the next day. Assembly did require two people when we were at the beach because it was so windy, but once we put the stakes in, it was perfectly secure. While other people's umbrellas were turning inside out, the wind was no match for this. There was plenty of space for my husband, my 2 year old and me to lay down in it. We opened the back window halfway to still keep the sun out, but just that much created the perfect breeze. Didn't have any problems getting it back in the bag. Great buy! Completely satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Beach Shade

Not a pop up tent as advertised

06/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There is nothing "pop up" about this tent except maybe my blood pressure popped up as I tried to assemble this thing. It's just a regular tent, and if you are looking to use it for camping and leaving it set up in the same spot, by all means go for it. But if you are looking for a tent to quickly set up and take down each day you bring your kids to the beach, then keep looking for a true pop up tent. No momma got time for setting this up and taking it down every day when you just need it for the shade instead of camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next