Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Intex Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Intex Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Enjoy the warm weather with a large Easy Set pool. It's an easy alternative to steel-walled pools, and it's ready for water in just 30 minutes! Note: This pool comes with one Easy Set "A" filter. It is recommended that the filter cartridge be replaced every two weeks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.07 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(273 Reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
64
3 stars
24
2 stars
10
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation83%226 out of 273reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
64
3 stars
24
2 stars
10
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

awesome value for the money

06/09/2008
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pool 2 years ago as I cannot afford a "real" one and do not have the room. I have been here 22 years and the enjoyment I had in my new pool paid for itself a hundred times over.
For 300 hundred bucks it doesn't get any better than this. Big enough to float in, get some sun and cool off. Great for the kids. This year the mice got at the plastic of the pool and ruined it. I went out and bought another and STILL think its worth it. I brought it home, took it out of the car and dragged it out back and set it up ALL BY MYSELF!!! And I am a 53 year old woman!! My yard is fairly level, dips down a bit on both ends of the pool....SOOOoooo I don't fill it ALL THE WAY .....It winds up shallower on two ends and deeper in the other two. But just a small amount. Still deep enough to enjoy! Best thing I ever bought for myself!!!!!!!!!!!! Recommend it to ANY one that does not have room for a regular pool or the money to buy one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Great Value

06/26/2008
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've only had this pool for 1 week but we are extremely satisfied and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. I was skeptical that an 18' x 48" pool would be big enough for adults but my husband and I have plenty of room to bob up and down and play. The liner's plastic was surprisingly thicker than I expected and it blew up quickly. Our only disappointments with the setup process is that it didn't specify that a manual airpump was required. We assumed that it would either include a pump or we could use our electric pump. We had to run back the store and purchase a manual pump. (BTW - I highly recommend their double pump. Its only $10 and has attachements that we can use for other things such as balls and bikes.) My other disappointment was that it took us 7 hrs to fill; I had really hoped to swim that evening. I don't understand how one reviewer said it took $1000 in filters annually. Walmart sells the cartridges for $6/2. Overall I'm very pleased with this pool. It doesn't offer all the advantages of a "real" pool but it's only $300 and not $50k.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Cheap fun in the Sun!

05/01/2008
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have owned 3 of these pools. We got 2 years out of the pools each.
First year no problems at all. Second year it always seems the inflatable ring has a hole or two in it and,
I agree with other reviews, the top ring needs to be made out of thicker material. It was the first thing to get holes in it but its easy to patch but, it seems once one hole appears others follow.
The pump does a good job at keeping the pool clean (we use the skimmer bucket that was included). The cartridge needs cleaned everyother day to ensure crystal clear water. We also used the 3" chlorine tablets in a floater. It did the job perfectly. The ladder is sturdy and doesn't slip and slide around.
I have 3 children and they are not easy at play.
The pool withheld our fun for 6 summers and we are planning on buying another this year.
I highly rcommend this pool! It is cheap for a pool of this size.
We have never been sorry for purchasing it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories
07/23/2008
By ,
Dularge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the exact type of pool three years ago and was very satisfied; it lasted for two summers. I decided to purchase another one this summer and it hasn't been but a little over a month and the fan in the pump that sucks the water into the pump to filter it broke.....WalMart doesn't have the policy that when you purchase one of these pools and something happens in 30 days that they will replace it and I was unaware of it. Fortunately for me the manager of my local walmart is going to switch out the pump for me and I am looking forward to enjoying my pool again this weekend.....its great to know that the managers of our local walmart have the customers best interest in mind when it comes to arising problems........I rarely fill out reviews but I thought that this is one time that I should....just to make other customers aware of the policy and how understanding our managers are........overall rating is that if you are looking for a pool that lasts for two seasons or a few more with a reasonable price then this is the pool that I personally recommend!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Good, but don't expect it to last long

08/23/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great pool for summer cool off. We have been through three of them and haven't had one last more than three summers. The top ring gets severe sun damage and not only gets a funky smell, but also gets a sticky black goo that forms as the sun wears it away. You do not actually get 18 x 48 because you can't fill it to the top, but about12" down at the bottom of the inflatable ring, so you get more like 36". The 18' is at the loweat part of the base and the top is about 15-16'.
It is a bit of a problem when summer ends and you need to take it down. As soon as you drain the water the sides collapse and it can't dry out properly, so you have to prop all of the sides up and let it air dry for a day before folding up for the winter. Overall for the price it is well worth it. Beats sitting in the blistering heat. Next time though I think we will go with a metal frame and hope it lasts more than three summers.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
0points
Review 26 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Extremely Frustrating!

07/31/2008
By ,
Flatwoods, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It seemed to be a good deal, just spread out and fill with water. All the necessary attachments are included, only $10/month for filters. Unfortunately, it is NOT EMPHASIZED on the box or information just HOW LEVEL the area must be. Our backyard has a gentle slope downhill, so we purchased and put down sand... bags and bags of it, but sadly not enough. Next, we brought iin another 1.5 ton of sand (bringing our total to 3900 lbs) with a wooden frame to hold the sand in. We were still not close enough to level. After about 6 weeks of failed attempts, we gave up and sold the pool (which had never had more than 1 foot of water). They brought in a neighbor's bull dozer to level the spot. After attempting to put water in, they found it to be STILL unlevel and had to dig out some more. After that they were able to fill it, but one side is still 3 inches deeper than the other. They're going to attempt to use it this way for the rest of the summer. If you have a COMPLETELY, PERFECT LEVEL SPOT to place it on, its a great deal & seemed to be made out of quite durable material.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 27 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Walmart comes through

05/11/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The pool is big and a good value versus the hard side pools. I have bought 2 of the same pools in the past and have never had a problem. Put this one up and had a leak at the bottom of the pool. Couldn't locate the leak. Dried it out and held it over me so I could locate the hole with the help of the sun...found the hole. We were really careful with it so I don't think we caused the problem. It was very frustrating and we lost about 2000 gallons of water in the process. The manual says not to return to store, however Walmart let us return the pool and do a one for one swap by taking the pool out of another package....there was nothing wrong with the other items that came with the original pool. My recommendation would be to be really careful when laying the pool out. Ensure you inspect the ground throughly for rocks etc... before placing it down. The 2nd time around I placed 2 more tarps down for extra protection. Another idea is putting bed foam underneath the pool. It's inexpensive, plus it will add more protection as well as a somewhat softer bottom to your pool.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 28 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

not a good experience

07/15/2008
By ,
laveen , Arizona
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this pool after reading so many good reviews. My experience was not a good one. I spent 2 days leveling the site and bought bags of sand to spread out and cushion the floor. The box says 30 minutes till adding water. I took about an hour and a half. Unrolling the pool and blowing up the ring and installing the valves and then kicking out the wrinkles in the liner can not be done in 30 minutes. I started filling with water and everything looked good. When pool was about 3/4 full the pool collapsed on 2 ends looking like a hot dog bun. I lost many gallons of water. I could not fix so pumped water out after buying a 80 dollar pump and took pool down. Maybe I did something wrong, I don't know but this pool did not work out for me. My wife lost the receipt, which never happens but the folks at Walmart were very understanding and helpful with the return and did refund our money. Thank you Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 29 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Not as seems

07/10/2007
By ,
Central, OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This pool needs to be set up on a very level surface to get all 18' x 48". The first year we had trouble and created a nice level area for year two, but the pool shaped to year ones situation and so I am still not getting everything I should.
The pump for this pool is very low quality and is a joke to power the "vacuum" that came with it. I grew up with and in ground pool and this is not close to being worth the money, buy the hard side pool if you decide to go this route.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 30 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Set up is tougher then 30 minutes

08/02/2007
By ,
Roselle, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this item hoping to be able to be up and running quickly. It advertises 30 minutes. I found connecting the parts was VERY easy but when it came to leveling the ground in my grassy backyard it was hard to do. Not that this is the fault of the pool company but it is something to seriously consider before making this purchase. If you do not you will only get frsutrated trying to get this pool to fill up. It would have been easier to pull my own teeth then to get the ground level enough for operation. Filling the pool was easy but if you do not have a smooth, level surface your pool will tilt to one side and the water will pour out and you will never be able to use it. It was hard for me to determine if the ground was level enough to fill. Do you best to make sure this is correct or toough times will be ahead. Even an inch of water makes the pool to difficult to move so you will have to drain it and begin again. Now your'e talking water wasted and more money to refill a 5500 gallon pool. Draining the pool in this state is not easy either unless you have a submersible pump. You also need to work the liner in such a way that the bottom is as flat as possible. Otherwise you will be stepping on a wrinkled pool bottom. If you are setting up in a grassy backyard like mine please note that the area should be cleared of ALL loose debrie. Getting a large mat to place under the liner may make walking on your pool bottom smoother but keep in mind that making this purchase adds to the overall cost of operating this pool. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 31 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

easy set pool

04/28/2008
By ,
Marion, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have three kids. To say the least we didn't hold much hope for a long life for this pool. After one month the pump stopped but intek immediately replaced it. Unfortunately it died at the end of last summer, after 7 years. It took a lot of abuse from our kids as well as half the neighborhood. I am definitely purchasing another one this year. Anybody with rough kids could do well to purchase one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 32 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

worth the money

07/08/2008
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading ALOT of reviews on this site and others, we decided to go ahead & buy the 18 x 48 pool as a cheap way to cool off during the hot Texas summer. We've had it about 8 weeks and so far so good. They aren't joking when they say to set it up on a LEVEL part of your lawn. (We had an excavator come out and level a section of our yard prior to setup.) Other than that, this pool was a breeze to set up! It's just the right size for cooling off and floating in the sun to get a tan. Only complaint is that it is by no means deep. (We can stand on our knees and the water is at chest-height.) Maintenance is really easy. Having been raised in a home with an in-ground pool as a kid, I knew the basics of chemicals, but you would do well to get a better chemical test kit than the little strips that are provided. Also, the vacuum that comes with the kit is sort of a pain and doesn't do the absolute greatest job, but then again, we're talking about a $300 pool, so for that price, it does just fine. :) This was a relatively cheap alternative to other above ground pools and well worth the money for some summer fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 33 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Loving this pool!

07/14/2008
By ,
Stockton, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm writing this review because reading the previous reviews helped me purchase this pool! We had another pool similar several years ago and loved it, however they aren't making that brand anymore.. so we were searching for a new pool and I was very hesitant because of the size of the filter (our last one was much larger for the same size pool) I was going to buy a similar pool - same size- that was on sale from a different store.. however, after reading the reviews from both stores I decided to spend the extra and get this one. The pool has been up for several weeks and we have been very pleased so far and the filter does seem to be working great. Although it is small- the skimmer feature does work very well. My husband wraps the hoses in duct tape to protect them from the sun a little more. The other brand tended to get brittle after being in the sun all summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

good inexpensive pool

05/01/2008
By ,
Florida east coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had many small pools over the years and wanted to investigate an in-ground pool. Because of fence line and root structure issues, I would only be able to have a smallish (20' or so) pool, so I investigated above ground pools instead.
The Intex easy set pool was simple to assemble, although the ladder is very flimsy and narrow - fine for kids but not for an adult. I got a chlorine generator after seeing how quickly the filter clogs with algae (I live in Florida). The generator is extremely simple to use, although it has an annoying beep if the salt level gets too high or too low. There isn't an off button for the beep, it continues until the salt re-balances. There is a small debris screen at the intake for the generator that has to be cleaned a couple times a week, and cleaning the pool filter at the same time keeps it all going nicely - this takes less than five minutes.
The pool has held up amazing well for being plastic sitting in the Florida sun and for having teenage boys who disdain the use of ladders. We had a lot of rain for a while and the inflatable ring flipped over in one spot when the water got too high, let out some water, and then pulled itself back up. This means it won't over fill and just sit there with too much water and break a seam, it will empty the overfill itself.
The only drawbacks I saw were: ladder is flimsy and narrow; the pump itself is rather noisy, although no noisier than an air conditioner; the original shutoff valves at the intake and outflow holes in the pool wore out but Intex sent replacements (year warranty on parts, save your receipt); it was difficult to get the very last bit of water out when I drained for the winter; and the pool with some remaining water was very heavy to try and turn over to drain the remainder, sort of like draining a waterbed. I think a shop vac or possibly a waterbed drain kit would have solved this.
So: for an inxpensive pool, this performs very well and meets expectations. They obviously took into account ease of use and dealing with a customer who is not a pool care professional. I could wish a quieter operation for the pool pump and a much better ladder, but I would buy this product again.
The slanted sides make it impractical to use a pool deck, but if you don't intend to use a deck then not an issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 35 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

18' X 48" Sand 'n Sun Ring Pool

04/29/2008
By ,
Ft. Worth, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pool was GREAT! Hoses to pool filter do tend to collapse flat (they need to be reinforced with metal wire like vacuum hoses). The pump gave out near the end of the summer. however. it did the job when it worked. Our yard was not level (off by 3-4 inches) so if it rained enough, one side would "fall over" and dump quite a bit of water. A con about this pool is....it says 18', however, because it is shaped like a cauldron, it measures only approx. 14' across the top. The 18' is at the bottom. Decided to purchase the 24' at the end of last season since the sides are straight up. Over all, totally enjoyed this pool. Off to level ground (UGH) for new pool>>>>>
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 36 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

blow up pool

02/17/2008
By ,
manchester
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
first year no problem then second year hole in ring
fix did ok but 3 yr the ring dry rotted and could not keep holes patched fact enough ring needs to be out of better material, had to trash keep ladder, pump, etc. just discarded pool
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 37 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

great investment for the summer

07/09/2007
By ,
derby kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we bought this at walmart in derby ks and have been extremly happy with it! we bought it in may of 2006 used it that summer and are using it again this summer well worth the money its very easy to maintain and the kids love it as well as I do. I do know someone else that bought it and put theres on cement so it would not ruin the grass, do not do it! theres got so hot because of the cement that it colapsed! as long as used as directed on regular ground it will last a long time i would reccomend cleaning your filter every 4 to 5 days and that way you won't have to by one every two weeks. thats what we do. enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 38 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Wonderful

07/05/2007
By ,
Conway, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not have asked for such a value. I have looked into getting one of these pop up pools for the last 3 years and now I am regreting that I did not buy it sooner.
It does not take alot to set it up. Prepping the ground was the hardest part since where I was going to put it was not super level. Once that was done, it was very simple.
The only trouble I had was there was not alot of info about the chemicals to use at start up. But that was taken care of rather easy with the help of the internet.
My kids (16 and 12) love it and have been in it every day. Its big enough to have fun in even when all of us (4) are in it. Great for an alternative to the hard sided more expensive pools.
Cleaning and Mait. is simple and it comes with everything you need, even the vaccume. I love the fact that I can take it down rather than it being up all year too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Great Item

04/22/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had our pool three years with no problems. Our daughter and friends put it through the test and it passed. It's great for adults also to relax in. We only took it down because we considered moving and gave it away. However, now we are buying another one.I recommened this item only if your looking for fun or relaxtion.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 40 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Never a problem with this pool !!

09/25/2007
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product! Not once, in 5 years, have we had a problem with filling or taking down this pool. We did level out our yard with sand prior to setting it up, which must be the key. Never had an unlevel pool; no rips, tears, punctures; the ring has never deflated; pool has been worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
21-40 of 255 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next