Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Intex Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Intex Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Enjoy the warm weather with a large Easy Set pool. It's an easy alternative to steel-walled pools, and it's ready for water in just 30 minutes! Note: This pool comes with one Easy Set "A" filter. It is recommended that the filter cartridge be replaced every two weeks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.07 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(273 Reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
64
3 stars
24
2 stars
10
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation83%226 out of 273reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
64
3 stars
24
2 stars
10
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Love This Pool

05/11/2008
By ,
Greenfield, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pool is popular with all the neighborhood kids, jumping in and out, with and without the ladder. There is plenty of room for the kids to have fun, all eight of them with plenty of room to spare. Our Rottweiler jumps in and climbs out at will all the time, sometimes we wonder who enjoys it more, the kids or the dog. With the dog we were concerned about the ring getting a hole, however after three years of heard use by the kids and the dog jumping or climbing in and then climbing out, we have had no holes (knock on wood) and are still enjoying the pool today.
To anyone that has had a problem, I would suggest reading the manual carefully. The setup and take down procedure is very precise. I had to learn the hard way too. I didn't see the need for the tarp under the pool, until I took it down for the winter and had to scrub the bottom of pool that was touching the ground, not a fun thing to do. There are also instructions on vynal care.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

A product to not be without

12/21/2007
By ,
Greenwood, Sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this product for the hot summer. I have two boys that tend to be very rough on everything. They invited all their friends which makes that much more wear and tear. This pool speaks for itself. They were as rough as to be expected with boys and I admit I was very concerned, but my worries were put to rest when we made it through the whole summer without incident. The pool stayed level and the ring never lost air. I would recommend this product to everybody that has very active boys. It is extremely easy to set up and take down. I can't wait to set it up next summer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 3 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

THE WORSE POOL EVER HAD!!!

08/26/2008
By ,
Palmyra, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Since we got in the store (06/05) this pool just gave us lots of headache and to spend a lot of money for nothing! We never got it to work!
The ground never is levelled enough! We spent tons of sand, wall container, water and the pool never could be filled or raised... TOTAL FRUSTRATION!!! We lost our summer trying to make it work...I strongly alert you to do not purchase this pool. Worse trip ever!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 4 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Great Buy For The Money

06/23/2008
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While our pool is only a few weeks old, we're very satisfied with our purchase. We use it several times a week. I managed to prepare the site and install the pool without any help, but it does take longer than 30 mins before needing to add water and a little help would probably go a long way.
Couple Noteworth Items :
Ground Preparation - The ground must be level! Our ground started off about 2 - 4 inches off and even after a lot of work its not level by about 1-2 inches. Its really frustrating but so far its not causing any undesired effects other than it bothers me that one side isn't as "full" as the other. "They say" not to use sand under your pool but I will definately add a little next year to give a little extra cushion under my feet. Nobody else has reported any problems using sand and it would help get rid of those divets too.
The top ring seems to need air every few days. I can't imagine airing the ring up without some kind of air compressor. It takes a LOT of air. It seems that I'm getting longer and longer in between fill-ups though so hopefully its just getting stretched and won't need much more attention.
The Latter does feel a little wobbly but it does the trick. The kids have a tendency to want to jump in from the latter and I'm more worried about them ripping a hole in the liner than them hurting themselves.
There wasn't a lot of guidance regarding the chemicals. I'm still trying to figure it out, but the water is relatively warm (yet refreshing) and completely clear still. We run the filter about 9 hrs each day on a timer.
I expect some regular maintenance with this but overall, for the price esp, this is a great purchase. I'll try to update this review with more information at the end of the season.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Great Buy!

05/19/2008
By ,
Trinity, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned my pool for 4 summers now. The inner tube is finally getting a little worn down, so time for a new pool and I am going back to this one! It is easy to install, maintain and an enormous bargain for the price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

cool

07/16/2008
By ,
Wesley Chapel, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my husband and I love this product
I have no kids at home but, my friends and I enjoy it
easy to maintain- liquid clorine works better in this than tabs or powder
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

A great buy answers to questions

06/26/2008
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I'll start off with adding the following....make sure you budget at least $100 in for chemicals, plus a water bill for 5000+ gallons!!
Firstly this is so easy to set up, it really is. However really get level land. I can't make more of a point than that. We set ours up on a back patio type setting, it slopes only slightly however we can't get the full depth due to this. Next season we'll level some land in the yard, with sand or top soil...and really make sure it's level!!
You'll need to clean it often, and it comes with all the kit, but no chemicals. Make sure you add these otherwise you'll have sick children, adults and so on.
The cleaning kit is great, net, brush, vac. for pool bottom, skimmer and cover!!
It takes around 10 hours to fill....yes 10 hours, well that was ours to about a 3 ft depth. As it slopes you can't get the 4 ft depth...so on level land, maybe even 12 hours plus.
I don't regret buying this, it's great fun and we love it. I don't care too much about the costs, as well you have a safe swimming place right in your own back yard.
A 5 star buy for sure!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

A great value

09/20/2008
By ,
Parkersburg WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second pool. I must say for quick and fun this is a good pool for anyone. We have an unlevel yard on a solpe. But needed a pool for my recovery after surgery. My husband made a large sand box type thing in the yard so we could get a level spot for the pool ( this is a must and the instructions also tell you you need a level spot).
Then we rolled out the pool and inflated the ring
and filled and then added the hoses and filled the rest and presto pool. I loved the first Oval pool I had and thought the round would be nice and I love them both. I will always have a pool Thanks. the only photo I have is the oval pool just before we added the water. You can see the sand pit my husbad made . The sand feels great as the bottom of the pool will be sitting on it .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Great product - one minor defect

06/30/2008
By ,
Poconos, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pool sets up easy, good value for the money. Only caveat is that if you opt to use a 3rd party pump and filter in place of the ones supplied, you will have to remove the inlet 'plunger' from outside pool wall and connect hose directly from pool wall to pump. The supplied plunger has a defect that does not allow maximum water flow from the pool to the pump which may cause excessive cavitation in pump - which is not desireable. I have contacted Intex re this defect but they have yet to respond and it has now been several weeks. I have uploaded a photo of defective plunger which shows the restricting valve inside the plunger.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Can't beat it for the price

07/20/2008
By ,
The Jersey Shore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this pool!! Make sure to take the extra time during set up to level the ground, we used sand and it worked well. For the price you really can't go wrong. Would absolutely recommend this to anyone that wants and inexpensive way to stay cool
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Not a bad deal for a pool!

04/09/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked one of these up last year and it comes with most everything to get you started but the chemicals and filters for it. For the cost it's a really good deal and so far has lasted through a full summer/fall season. I took it down last year and am currently putting it back up in a newer, more permanent location this year. If you don't have a level spot in you yard, plan on plenty of work getting a place prepared for it, you'll need a minimum of 18.5 ft. square to put this down in. It doesn't quite hold 4' of water and anyone under 4'6" should have a life preserver on in it, even if they can swim good. This thing is really heavy and awkward to handle too, so plan on having help getting it set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 12 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Love this pool! So Glad I bought it!

06/11/2008
By ,
Decatur, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been debating for MONTHS over whether or not
I should shell out $300 on a cheap blow up pool or if I should go ahead and spend 2 grand on one that was a sure thing. Well, I'm proud to say that I caved (with the help of my stimulus check:) and I absolutely LOVE this pool! It is huge! I'm so glad I didn't spend any more money than I had to. I will say though, my backyard was pre-leveled and sanded, so that may have something to do with my success with this product. I have heard that a level ground is absolutely necessary in order to keep the pool from collapsing. Anyway, word to the wise, follow the instructions! They seem crazy and complicated but if you study them long enough you catch on. Just make sure that your pool is round and wrinkle free before you add water because contrary to my beliefs, it does not straighten out on it's own. It falls over and floods the yard. But, as soon as we did it right, the pool stood right up and is now sturdy as rock. (And it has to be to keep up with my kids!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

The Best Pool Value

02/04/2008
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have owned pool for 4 years. It is abused by boys jumping in and out, rolling over the sides and throwing non-pool objects around it, including lots of sand. First year, top ring had a hole in it, patched and never leaked again. 3rd year had a couple small tears in sides. Used underwater patch (cheap) and haven't had a problem since. Basically... the pools may need a patch every now and then, but it's cheap to fix, cheap to own and provides YEARS of fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 14 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

swimmingpool

06/19/2008
By ,
Laurinburg NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the pool, after leaving up for the winter could not clear the water so had to drain and refill, which was easier than taking down and trying to store. I think that the intex should see a bigger pump for the pool 18x42 comes with the 1500 gal pump, should come with the 2500 gal pump. I purshased last summer May 1st or so and now my pump is not working. June 10 quit working and had to order a new one from internet. Not satisfied at all with the pump will not clean a pool this size. Also have to order off internet, not go into a wal-mart and buy one. Had to pay 150.00 for new pump. But the children love it, so I ordered a pump. I think that it should last longer than a year, since it is only run during 3 months out of the year. Intex should be working on the size of pumps for all that water, because of the price of chemicals for the pool.
over all have enjoyed the time that it was working and cleaning the water. But is a lot of extra work trying to keep it clear and not have green water in just a few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Okay

04/19/2008
By ,
Upstate New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We've had this pool 3 years. It's a great size for the price. The first year we ended up having to go to a 1hp pump and sand filter. The pump that comes with it is an inappropriate hp pump and the filter system will cost you a fortune. We spent almost $1000 on filters and chemicals in the first 3 months trying to keep it from going green and it did no good. Purchased the sand filter and pump from a local pool store and have no issues with green. We still used shock 'n swim once a week just to be safe (our 5 kids and three neighbor kids all use it)... The only problems we've had is we did everthing the manufacter said to to take the pool down and to our surprise the 2nd year the blow up ring was dry rotted.. did the patch on a whole in the ring... this year the dry rot is even worse and looking at the new style instead... alot better reveiws and no dry rot... I recommened spending the extra on the new style and buying a sand filter with a 1 hp pump...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Review 16 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

EXCELLENT

04/27/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This summer our pool is 4 years old, we never take it down, clean it in the spring....re-fill and enjoy all summer long....South Carolina....long summer. No problems, did not even have to level our yard....ladder could be more sturdy, but $300 bucks.....TOTALLY recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 17 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

well worth the investment

08/06/2007
By ,
Boise, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our pool! It was easy to assemble and set up. In fact we were swimming in it the same day we brought it home. Our five kids play in it every day, some days many times!! Our whole family enjoys it and it has become one of the ways we spend quality time with our kids. We were somewhat concerned about how easily it would puncture, but those concerns have been set aside as time goes on and we see how hardy this set is, we've had no problems at all, and our pool takes a pounding. Also, we like the safety of being able to take the ladder down after each swim. When we put the ladder away, we know our smaller children will not be able to accidentally enter the pool, there is no way they can put it up by themselves. Upkeep has been easy. We shock the pool once a week (sometimes not even that often), vaccuum once a week and replace the pool cover every evening. We say over and over "this is one of the best investments we have made"....and the price was right!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

GREAT VALUE

09/08/2008
By ,
Ocala, Fla.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this pool a year ago and the only problem I had was the pump is not big enough for this pool. We went with a 1hp and it has been great. For the money - a great value. It did take longer than 30 minutes to set up. We live in the middle of the woods and acually cleared an area. After clearing, and leveling, we had a load of sand spread and set the ground cover on top and then the pool. The sand makes the bottom cushiony and with one person inside the pool and one on the outside we had all the wrinkles smoothed out with about 4-5 inches of water in it in about 20 minutes. Being in Fla. we'll be leaving it up year round, and with it being near the end of the season, we've already bought another pool just like it (on sale at a discounted price) and stored in our shed in case something happens to this one. I don't care for the cover - it's too bulky trying to put on and off. It has held up better than I thought it would with all the kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

Pretty good

06/19/2008
By ,
Dayton, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pool is pretty good for the money, and for what it is. It is fairly easy to set up, but the trick is getting it level. We've had these before, and have never been able to get it quite level. Even if the ground appears level, it's probably not. We tried adding leveling sand to the low part, but it didn't even make a diffence. This year, we bought a bigger pool, and we dug out the part of the ground that is slightly higher. We also took a tiller to it, and raked loose dirt to the low end to try to build it up. We put sand over that. It's better this year, but still slightly off, which means that one end doesn't pop up as high as it should. I've given up on that though. Other than that, the pool is good, and we enjoy it. The filter on the bigger pool is better, and it has a better vacuuming system, where you vacuum into a bag attached to the filter. The smaller ones have a thing you hook up to a garden hose which is next to useless..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sand N Sun 18' x 48" Easy Set Swimming Pool with Accessories

A decent pool for the $$$

07/05/2008
By ,
KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is our second year of using this pool. It is a great alternative to the more expensive permanent type swimming pools. The ground has to be absolutely level. My husband spent a great deal of time with a tiller each summer the pool has been put up to ensure a flat surface and luckily we haven't had any problems with this after the pool was filled up with water. However, i don't think this pool is intended to be used more than two or three summers. If you can use it longer than that, then you've definately gotten your money's worth but when we put it up this year we encountered a small hole in the liner and one of the valves on the outer part of the pool has a slow leak. The pump doesn't do a very good job for the size of the pool and the ladder is flimsy. The filter has to be either cleaned or replaced more than once a week in order to be efficiant. It's nice to have on hot days, but this will be the last summer we fool with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
1-20 of 255 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next