Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Freshwater Master Test Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Freshwater Master Test Kit

Get this Freshwater Master Test Kit to check the purity of tap water and aquarium water. By using this freshwater test kit, you can test the water in six different ways and protect tropical fish from dangerous water conditions. This liquid test kit freshwater includes computer-analyzed laminated color cards, an instruction booklet, four test tubes, a holding tray for testing bottles, and test tube rack. This kit tests for freshwater pH and high range pH ammonia nitrite. It is important to conduct freshwater tests to determine whether the water is safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.825 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation98%56 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

My Own Personal Aqua-Lab!!

12/10/2009
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am SO PLEASED with this product...and for the LOW price that I got it at Walmart.com!! This is REALLY ESSENTIAL in setting up an aquarium, especially for the tank that I just set up for my discus...don't want to take any chances when you're dealing with such expensive fish!! But, getting this water test kit was WELL-WORTH the investment for it...I enjoy testing the water parameters, making sure everything is in the right levels...it's my own personal aqua-lab!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 2 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Meets all Expectations

07/20/2008
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Until I purchased this Freshwater Master Test Kit I had been using the 5-in-1 strips to test the quality of my fish tank water. The strips were much faster with the results, but being faster is not necessarily better. Sometimes the colors on the strip were hard to differentiate. Although the Master Test Kit takes longer (5 minutes for each test)...I find it to be a better product overall, as there is less room for error when reading the results. I would recommend this product to anyone that has a freshwater tank!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 3 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

If you have an aquarium, this is a must buy!

01/27/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! I'm new to fish keeping and I've read that keeping your water quality good is paramount to healthy fish. I've seen this same "exact" product sold at LFS (i.e. Petsmart & Petco) for around $30+. The picture doesn't show it, but it is indeed an "API Freshwater Master Test Kit." It's the one that says up to 800 tests on the package. Just thought I'd share that because I couldn't find that info on this site when I bought this. The shipping from site-to-store took faster than I was quoted - so that's a plus! Get this kit over the other one on this site because it contains all the tests you need. The only thing I wish this product had was a syringe or eye dropper to get the water in the test tubes. Other than that, this product is highly recommended.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 4 for Freshwater Master Test Kit
04/07/2010
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got me through my aquarium cycling at a great price. This kits sells for $33-$38 at the pet stores near me.
Just follow the directions and it becomes second nature testing your water. As stated in the directions and as I've seen other places while researching this kit, be sure to mix the nitrate bottles well especially the #2 as the solution settles and will give a false reading. Pick up a syringe from the pet store and filling the test tubes with aquarium water will be a breeze....**This kit tests: PH, PH high range, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate...It does not test GH and KH as the description states.**
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 5 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Freshwater Master Test Kit

12/22/2009
By ,
Newport News, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lacks total alkalinity KH ppm and total hardness test GH ppm. Would like to have them over ammonia test. I never use an ammonia test. This kit does contains substances that should only be used and handled carefully by an adult. Do read the instructions well before using. The Nitrate, Nitrite, and PH test seem very accurate. I double checked them with pet store testings. The 5 in one test strips I was using was miss reading the PH big time. Also the range unit increments on the test strips was too large to be of any value. This kit is much, much, better as the units increments between readings are smaller. This is the reason they give you two PH tests, one for high and one for low PH. You will get a large number of tests out of this kit. Makes it a good value. It is a good deal from Walmart. I ordered it and had it shipped to the store. Nice thing about store shipping is that they opened it for you to inspect. This is what I am going to buy from now on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Review 6 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

A good product with a poorly written description

01/23/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I find the test kit to be adequate for my freshwater tank. It tests regular pH (6.0 to 7.6), high range pH (7.4 to 8.8), ammonia (nh3/nh4 (beware the false positive!)), nitrite and nitrate.
This test kit does not "test water 6 ways" as the product description claims, but only 5 ways.
The description also does not say the kit includes a test for nitrate, but rest assured it does.
The product I received also looks nothing like the picture shown (except the instruction booklet).
However, I find this kit very easy to use and generally more accurate than test strips. Moreover the kit will last much longer than a package of test strips will which makes this kit more worth your money in the long run.
This kit does NOT include GH (general hardness), dH or KH which you may or may not want if you have issues with pH level.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 7 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Great product - great price

07/12/2007
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really great product that costs about $30 at your local pet store. It is really a great deal at walmart. It includes tests for pH, high range pH (>7.6), Ammonia, Nitrite, and Nitrate. Like all of these tests, some of the color comparison charts are a little hard to read, meaning that determining between 1ppm and 2ppm is pretty tough, but it's still pretty accurate. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a basic freshwater test kit. It also has a plastic base that everything fits in that is quite convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 8 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

the best test kit on the market

09/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think a lot of dip test strips are inaccurate. This test kit allows you the most accurate test results available. This same kit usually cost anywhere from $30-$40 in petco and the like. I would recommend this kit and you definitely get your money's worth because it contains enough supplies to last for 100's of test.
I wish I knew walmart had them for this price before I spent $30 at the pet store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 9 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Great price!

03/27/2008
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the highly recommended by professionals API Master Test Kit. It includes 5 tests:
- pH
- High Range pH
- Ammonia
- Nitrite
- Nitrate
My local Petco sells this kit for $31.99.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Review 10 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Best kit available!

06/28/2010
By ,
colchester, vt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought walmarts strips. and was dissapointed. they are very inaccurate, and not worth the price. This kit was online, the most accurate i found after researching and finding that the best way to test is with reagent bottles preferably two for ammonia. they use a yellow to green scale which is preferable to a brown or red/amber scale. The increments are small so its very accurate. Its so easy, and the color chart is laminated so it doesnt get ruined. I love the tray. It is really easy to use, and read. I did see at petsmart they were 32$ or something. half the price on here I got two a month ago, and I am cycling 4 tanks (5 gal each) and I have yet to finish any of the solutions. They last forever! Really good buy, highly recommend it to anyone if you are brand new to fish or a professional! :)
and it comes with two bottles for ammonia, one for nitrite and two for nitrate. also one for ph and another for high range ph. 7 total. 4 test tubes, the chart the directions, and a little page for what to do if the readings are wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Great Quality test kit at a good price!

06/29/2010
By ,
West Virgina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this product in to test the levels in my newly set up freshwater 46 gal aquarium in which I am in the middle of doing a fishless cycle. It is a really great test kit to test for ph, nitrites, ammonia, and nitrates. The same exact kit sells at Petsm@r+ for 32.99! This is such a great deal from Walmart.com! It comes with a detailed instruction booklet on how to conduct the tests, 4 glass test tubes with lids, and a color code chart. The box it comes in can be used to store it all between testings. The tray conveniently holds the test tubes while you put the drops in for the appropriate test you're conducting. To keep myself from getting confused on which tube had what test in it, I labeled the tray that holds the test tubes with a small sticker beside of each test tube slot for that chemical test, i.e. "ammonia," "ph" and so forth. This way when the 5 minute wait time is up for the test, I won't be confused which test tube had what test in it. I am very pleased with this kit and would definitely recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Killer Deal on the Real Thing

09/15/2010
By ,
Des Moines, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As of this writing, Petco sells this product for $31.99 online and it was $32.99 in stores. The test kit is fun. I do the testing with my young daughter, and she likes to compare the water to the chart - it's just like a science experiment.
As to the product generally, this is way, way better than the test strips. It is far more specific, and you can use the material to test just the parameters you want to monitor. For me, I have to adjust my pH because I have African Cichlids, who like pretty alkaline conditions. That way, I can use just the pH test solution without having to waste a whole strip. This is a necessity for anyone with fish that they feel strongly about.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 13 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Great value!

04/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your aquarium water constantly need to be tested every week then this package is a great deal to buy because it's cheaper than buying at other known pet stores. And it'll definitely save you money from replacing new fish and or buying expensive treatments for the fish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 14 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

A must for every serious fishkeeper

04/05/2010
By ,
Gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
API is well known as one of the best test kit makers for the home aquarist. This kit contains almost every test you'll need to keep both your fish and your plants happy. Knowing your water parameters is a must, and this kit is the best for testing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 15 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Over all best freshwater test kit

11/28/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very percise and easy to use..only con is there is no dropper to put the water into the tubes, so unless you want to waste 10 minutes tryin to get the water level right, buy a dropper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 16 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Great product! Was great price, before it went up

10/13/2010
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I bought this before it went up to 25 dollars... I bought this when it was 17 something. and It was a great deal. Now it is not so much. But the API test kit is one of the best!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 17 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Great Value!

04/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
$7.00 cheaper than the PetsMart and arrived promptly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 18 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Necessity for every fish owner

05/28/2012
By ,
Florida, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been a life saver! I am currently doing a fish-in cycle for my betta's 10 gallon tank. It helps me know when water changes are necessary and is more accurate than test strips. I am a regular in online forums- many conversing about fish- and I give the link to this product to everyone starting a fish tank. The instructions are clear and this takes maybe 5 minutes to test everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Description does not match product

10/24/2007
By ,
Fremont
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a quality test kit from API, but it does NOT contain GH or KH tests like it says in the item description. I was really disappointed, so I checked the API website and the description is wrong there too. I emailed them with no response as of yet.
If you want to test nitrates, nitrites, pH, and ammonia, this is a great product for a great price, but don't get it for testing GH/KH!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 20 for Freshwater Master Test Kit

Same Kit That is Overpriced in the Pet Stores

10/20/2010
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful kit for monitoring aquarium water quality, especially during cycling /setup of a new tank. Half the price of the big chain pet stores. Arrived at WM quickly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next