Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Tetra Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

Whisper Bio-Bag Cartridges come complete with the Whisper Power Filter package for a clean, easy-to-maintain aquarium. Filled with Ultra-Activated carbon, the ready-to-use disposable single packs remove waste particles, odors and discoloration, and are easily changed once a month. Choose from a variety of sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.716 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%72 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

BIO BAG CARBON FILTER REPLACEMENT

08/14/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Could not locate this in Walmart Store but so happy to find it available online. I have used this product for many years. Fits most aquarium filters for 20-30-40 gallon tanks. Keeps water chrystal clear,
no odors, easy to install & remove. At this price
you use it and throw it away, no more charcoal mess with refilling the filter but you can reuse the filter if necessary. They last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 2 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

Great filters

11/19/2008
By ,
Somersworth,nh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bio-bag filters are great, especially if you are sick of the filters which are disposable and can't be reused. With these filters, you can wash them out and reuse them at least once, if not two or three times before they are completely worn out, and you can add carbon if you need to. They also are better for the environment than the disposable "one use" plastic type filters, because with these, after they are worn out, you take out the plastic insert, and throw away just the cotton type filter media and reuse the plastic insert in the next filter. Less plastic in the landfill, and on top of all the previous positives, these filters are WAY cheaper than other filters out there. Just make sure these will fit in your filter, because a lot of the filters will only take their specific brand name filters. If not, you could always get a Whisper filter, which these are actually made specifically for, and they are fairly inexpensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 3 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

Great deal!

12/02/2009
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is great, and is much cheaper than my local pet store. I get 12 here for the price of 8 there. And with $0.97 shipping you can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 4 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

Satisfactory, but not great

11/20/2008
By ,
Stuart, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you are using the filter for which these cartridges are made, then these are the best for your filter. The filter itself, is only worth its' price, but not more. I am using it on a 29L filled about half full for a turtle tank. That is about 15 gallons.
These cartridges are the original and are far superior to the cartridges that are now sold in the stores.
The new cartridges do not have a frame inside, and are therefore very limp. The water pressure pushes them against the front of the filter which causes the water to flow over them instead of through them.
I have sent a complaint to Tetra about this problem.
I hope that this information helps you with your purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge
02/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it on line,alot cheaper,plus they don't carry it in the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 6 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

Whisper Bio-Bag refillable

03/15/2012
By ,
Dover, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great way to use this product and help the environment, at least a little. The black, plastic framework is used over and over, you just replace the filter itself & put new charcoal in. The charcoal is already pre-measured 7 packaged.
Will buy again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 7 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

Loyal to the brand

03/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have tried many brands in my years for caring of fish and Whisper is a brand that I have been very loyal to. It does exactly what it says, I have never had a bad experience with them, and for the price they can certainly compete with the more expensive brands. I use the Whisper products for booth salt and fresh water tanks and I have found out that they last the longest. Now that’s a lot to say since salt water tanks take a real beating. The shipping of this product was timely, but expensive. Since there were no breakable items in the filter order I just did not see the reason to send it UPS. Over all I enjoy this item and even if you’re a beginner or a novice you should enjoy it to for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
-1point
Review 8 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

Good Filter

02/18/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 7 gallon bookshelf tank with 4 fish. This filter does a great job keeping it clean (along with my plecostomus!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

cheap price high performance love it

04/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I have had fish tanks since i was 4 and I'm 26 now so I know a lot about fish. And one thing i know is this bio wheels are great but dont have much surface area so the best is whisper. I love whisper the prices are pretty cheap to start with compared to the bio orb witch is like 10 bucks a filter these are dirt cheap!!! but for ten buck to get twelve i cant find them under 15 bucks at the local petco!! I got 2 boxes for 20 bucks 24 filters 2 years worth of filters for the cost of a lunch at a resturaunt!!!!! I love walmart only buy this here now cheap as heck like ebay but 100000xxxx more convient!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

It sucks

12/19/2009
By ,
Pittsburgh P.A
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is to help keep my fish water clear. That is a big joke I have never had so many problems before in my life. I had always keep my fish either in my livingroom or kitchen, now I hide them upstairs because I cant keep their water clear like I did before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-8points
Review 11 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

Easy to use

12/27/2008
By ,
Snellville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the Whisper filters and products for many years and find them affordable and easy to use. The filters last well, have replaceable parts, are quiet, and work great. Filter bags can be changed in about 30 seconds: just slide the holder into the bag, cut open the carbon pouch and pour it into the bag, snap on the top piece, then rinse under water to remove carbon residue. Pull out old filter bag, and insert the new bag into slot.
This is not a replacement for cleaning the aquarium! Water still needs to be syphoned out (and debris removed from the bottom) - monthly is best!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 12 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

Great value!

12/05/2009
By ,
N CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most economical place to get these filters. They work great in the aquarium too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 13 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

beats the new style

03/06/2009
By ,
franklin nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are great.My local store stopped stocking these and replaced them with this flimsy new style costing more.I was so dissatisfied with the "new"model,I called the number on the box,complained,and received a 12 pack of these for free!!Now that I've discovered they are available on-line,problem solved.The 12 pk. cost less than two 3pks. of the "new" filter and lasts longer.These can be cleaned and rinsed if you are careful with them,extending their life considerably.However,the charcoal is probably only effective for @ 30 days-same as any other filter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

Great price

11/10/2007
By ,
DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought that I would be buying a box of "ready to use" filters, but you have to assemble these yourself (and there's only one plastic insert / filter frame - so you have to re-use it). I don't recall the online description to indicate this. If you don't mind doing it yourself - you cannot beat this price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

Wonderful Price!!!

02/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best price EVER!!!! I work at a pet store and I've found them to be too pricey. I happened to stumble upon them on this site and I'm soooo happy. We all could save a little money and buy them from Walmart.com!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

Tetra Whisper Bio Bags Great Price

12/12/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you buy Tetra Whisper Bio Bags you know how expensive they can be.
I always order these on Walmart.com! They have the best price..
I always order the 12 pack for great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

A reliable product

11/29/2009
By ,
Port Austin, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been using this product for years. After shopping the Internet for this product I found the best price at Walmart on line. It was delivered site to store in a timely manner. I will use this service in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 18 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

good

07/23/2008
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit the filters previously sold in stores but not now. They are the ones that come with one frame and individual covers and packages of carbon. They are kind of a pain but work well once assembled.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 19 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

More Savings

07/12/2008
By ,
Newport AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes it is A refill system .
Easy to use and filters just ;ike the premade filters .
this is much much cheaper in price . But it is also A lot less Plastic that will wind up in land fllls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Whisper Bio-Bag Refill Cartridge

bio-bags

08/18/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love whisper bio-bags!
i have been using them for over ten years and they have always done the job. with regular water changes your fish tank will be looking great for a long time
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next