Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LitterMaid Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

The LitterMaid® Self-Cleaning Litter Box solves the dirty litter box issue by automatically keeping your cat's litter clean all day, every day. The LitterMaid Self-Cleaning Liter Box automatically scoops the litter and empties the waste into a sealed, disposable receptacle to help contain the odor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.156 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation58%37 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

An Awesome Product

02/18/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously bought a Littermaid for my cat and when I had to give my cat away it went with the cat because the cat was so used to having a spotless litterbox. I am now the proud owner of another cat and I am in the process of buying another Littermaid because I loved the one I had before. If you buy cheap litter you will get a cheap result with the Littermaid simply because if the litter isn't a good strong clumping litter it will fall apart and the rake will not get the smaller pieces. However, if you buy a quality litter you will LOVE the Littermaid because it keeps the litterbox VERY clean. I had one cat and I only had to change the receptacles once a week! I used very small trash bags inside the receptacles to keep from buying receptacles often. I loved the Littermaid and so did my cat because he always had a fresh litter box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 2 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

very disappointed

07/22/2007
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to get the self-cleaning liter box and thought it would be very helpful. What I found is that the unit needs cleaned just as much, if not more often than a regular liter box. More than that, it was very difficult to clean because of all different surfaces and hidden crevices and compartments. It took me purchasing this ridiculously expensive liter box to find out that the simple liter box that I had been using was not so terrible after all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

Littermaid Rescued The Rescuer

02/02/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rescue & foster almost any animal so, of course, that means lots of cats. I have TNRs (trap, neuter, release) that remain outdoors but others are in/out. Several years ago I rescued a diseased, emaciated, blind kitten (still nursing) & her mother (who I spayed & released). The blind cat (now) has full run of the house and likes to stay upstairs a lot. I've kept 2 Littermaids upstairs for her & her buddies to use when they're upstairs.
I have physical impairments so Littermaid has been an extremely big help to me because I only have to go upstairs to empty the waste receptacle once a week.
I use premium clumping litter so I haven't had to change the litter or wash any of the litterboxes out so far.
I started out with 1 Littermaid, loved it so much I bought more. Out of 6 purchases (1 was a gift) I only had to return 1 that was defective. It has been 4 years & the downstairs one (gets used the most) motor finally went into Malfunction Junction. I've been beside myself because WalMart no longer carries them in their store - so here I am online.
Any product that has moving parts, a motor etc. is expected to have maintenence & glitches from time to time. So if I have to use the prongs on the scoop to clean the rake occasionally, that's a minute price to pay for the convenience. This product has greatly reduced my household chores and leaves me more time to focus on other things.
If one doesn't follow the manufacturer's instructions (putting in too much litter, using the wrong kind of litter, etc) it will create work for you.
I keep a super-sized scoop as well as the Littermaid scoop beside each box. The Littermaid scoop is mainly used to clean the rake. The super scoop makes cleaning the bottom much faster each time I add new litter or for the occasional times you may need to scoop the box manually.
I keep a utility rug under the box & try to make sure the cats have just enough space on one side to enter/leave the box to keep tracking to a minimum.
I double bag my WalMart shopping bags, use them to line the empty plastic bucket (with lid) that the cat litter comes in, empty the waste containers into it & take it out with the trash on garbage pick-up day. I fold a few extra bags & put in the bottom of the bucket to replace the bag that is going out in the trash.
I have a Littermaid in my livingroom & no one has ever noticed (or smelled) it. In inclement weather I have to bring multiple cats indoors. So far they all use the Littermaid without territorial spraying.
My petsitter doesn't charge me so much because she has less work to do.
I LOVE this product but my rottweiler doesn't - because of Littermaid he can no longer "snack" out of the litterbox!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 4 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

Automatic Cat Litter Box

07/08/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the 3rd littermaid automatic litterbox I have purchased. The motor went out on the last two - I wish that the motors would last longer, but I keep buying the boxes because they are well worth the convenience. Try raising the litterbox up on something so you can place a trashcan underneath instead of the receptacles. This idea will save you money on accessories and will extend time between disposing of the clumps!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

Great Product

12/12/2007
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this product. My cat was defacating on the floor of the laundry room if I didn't clean his litterbox directly after he used it. Since both me and my husband work, that just wasn't feasible. Since buying this he only goes on the floor if the receptable is full because I forgot to empty it.
Ocassionally stuff gets caught in the rake, but I've heard PAM spray will stop that problem. I just haven't done it yet. And the scoop that comes with it goes between the rakes to knock anything off. And if there is too much litter in there, it will keep running, but all I have to do when changing the litter every 2 weeks is just run the rake by turning the unit on and off and just take out some if there is too much.
When the motor goes out, I plan on buying another. Litter does get on the floor bad, but I have a piece of carpet that came with it underneath and just take it outside and shake it out every couple days.
I put plastic grocery bags as a liner in the recetables and save lots of $$. They work great!
Great product. Such a wonderful help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

A very helpful product

12/19/2007
By ,
Newport, OR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have four cats so it's very hard to keep up with litterboxes. I bought this and set it up on the first night. I placed it next to the old litterbox. They were skeptical at first and didn't like the noise it makes. (It can be very noisy when going through its process) Within the hour all the cats used it. At first I did not set it on automatic cleaning so they could get used to the box itself. I have now turned it on so that they can use it and they do, frequently. I have not seen them go into the old litterbox. There is less smell too. The only downsides is that if you put too much litter, it will continuously go through its process until you remove the litter. Also it does not scrape any urine collected towards the bottom and if your cat likes to dig, litter gets everywhere because it is not enclosed. Overall I really enjoy this product because it is very simple to set up and maintain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

great litter box

09/10/2007
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had two of these litter boxes before. This one is a replacement for the first I purchased about 5 years ago. I would recommend this for anyone who finds it difficult to clean a litter box on a daily schedule. The automatic cleaning means that the collection box only needs to be emptied once or twice a week, depending on the number of cats in the home. The collection box is covered so that odor is kept at a minimum.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

A good investment

08/20/2007
By ,
Winston-Salem, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids saved their allowance to buy this cat box after cleaning it themselves for 2 weeks. They are so excited and don't even mind emptying the tray when it's needed. It really keeps the odors down and much more pleasant.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

The Most Obnoxious Device

09/02/2007
By ,
Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My family and I were to be going on vacation for about a week this summer, and we didn't want our neighbor to have to deal with cleaning up my cat Bailey's litter box every day. We decided to purchase this self-cleaning litter box instead. Right off the bat I wasn't sure about the level of productivity this device offered, seeing the way it left all these little clumps behind (and made such a loud noise Bailey is still afraid of it to this day!). Plus it's annoying how the litter has to be at a certain level and smoothed out so evenly in the box. And for a few weeks I've been having serious problems with it. For instance, it will start up with its cleaning process, but when it should be finished, it just keeps going on...and on...and on. After about 10-15 minutes of this nonstop cycle I finally pull the plug, annoyed and frustrated. The thing wakes me up at night because it just won't stop running. And I have to dump the receptacle every day or else my room smells terrible. Truth of the matter is, I'd much rather be using a plain old litter box again. I think from now on we'll just use the Littermaid for when we go out of town.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

Disappointing Mess

05/02/2008
By ,
Corydon, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the littermaid yesterday from Walmart and we have 2 cats who adapted wonderfully to it. Today it broke and the rake is stuck by the emptying tray. The light is continually blinking and it has a very strong metallic smell. So I think the motor is dead after about 25hrs of use. I am extremely disappointed for $90 it should work for geez, I don't know at least a year or two. I tried to call the company, as it says their hours are 8:30-11pm, but they were closed as of 8:30pm. I have emailed the company and am thinking of just getting my money back and going back to the basics, unfortunately. I'm extremely disappointed and ticked now that I have to drag back out old faithful. What a mess. I would definitely not purchase one again and I should have done my research before purchasing as so many people have been disappointed as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

Should've Done My Research

09/22/2007
By ,
Pottsville, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I had done my research, I never would have bought this product. Many of the same problems that others have had. Once it starts running, I have to turn it off to get it to stop or else it will continue to cycle! Definately not good for multi-cat household...the receptacles are too small and need to be emptied or changed almost every day. If the cats kick the litter too much to one side, the rake can't smooth it out. Leaves a lot of small clumps behind so it has to be scooped anyway. Almost impossible to clean properly because of all the tiny places litter gets clogged into. Very hard to maintain proper litter levels. A little too much and the rake has trouble moving. Not enough and the litter doesn't clump properly. Wish I had saved my money and bought a Cat Genie. That product looks MUCH better and is rated much higher.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

AWESOME

07/30/2007
By ,
Carthage, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had our litter maid for 2 years with no problems. I thought it was great when we had one cat. We have two now, and I don't think I could clean the litter box as often as it needs to be cleaned like this does. It does take a little bit of maintenance just to keep the jiblets out of the litter. But this is totally worth the money. The other lady said to put it above a trash can, but I just empty the receptacles and reuse them until they need to be replaced (about 3 weeks emptying twice a week).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

Great product

03/11/2009
By ,
Denmark, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased two Littermaids in the past, and have been very pleased with each one. The first one was the basic model. When that one broke after several years, we decided to purchase the Littermaid Plus, since we have three cats. I've had no issues with either one of them (until they broke, but I only purchased two in 12 years, so that's not bad for all the use they get). My current one is running slower, so I'm assuming it's time for a replacement. I will chose the Littermaid Plus again. I was thinking of the Littermaid Elite, but I noticed many unhappy customers on the Consumer Reports website (rake is not as strong as the Plus, the motor tends to burn out after a couple months, etc). As I said, I've been happy with the Plus, so I'm going to replace my current one with another Plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

wonderful product

08/01/2007
By ,
Tooele, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second one we have had and they pay for themselves in the first week we have had them.
We had to be out of town for four days and were not able to get anyone to sit with our cat. He did great while we were gone because he was cleaned up after each time he went potty.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

Not worth the hassle

09/28/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While I was excited at first about a self-cleaning Litter box, I soon realized my mistake in buying this system.
The motor has died twice in 1 year. Cleaning is harder than a normal box, involving not only removing the litter and dumping the collection pan, but also cleaning the gears and the tracks so the gears can move smoothly. I also have to be sure not to fill it above the "empty" line, else the motor can't push the tines through the litter. The collection pans themselves are extremely over priced, and need to be emptied daily if you have more than one cat.
If you want something quick and easy that only needs to be cleaned once every couple days, go with a conventional litter box. This system is high maintenance with a short lifespan, not a good combo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

Didn't last long

07/29/2007
By ,
Los Angeles
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this product previously for 7 plus years but it finally wore out. I did a lot of research and the only place to purchase this at a reasonable price was Walmart.com. That was fine with me and received the product in a timely fashion.
Only problem is the "new and improved" version just didn't work. Followed all the directions and even changed litters a number of times just to try and get it to work properly. It wasn't like I didn't know how to use this since I had one before but this one just didn't work properly ever. I had to return it. Too much money for something that completely stopped working after 32 days.
Hopefully it was just a lemon and not an ongoing problem with all of these boxes. It was a really good product until they "improved" it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

Does not work.

10/28/2007
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product 2 days ago and it just doesn't work. The sensors must be defective because it doesn't run automatically after the cat leaves. Each time I've waited 10+ minutes and the rake never cleans the box. I always have to turn it off and back on.
Additionally, I end up having to clean the box myself because (1) there are too many cracks and crevices for stray pieces of litter to go into, (2) the comb is not long enough to reach the bottom of the box, so it ends up with "puddles" of clumped urine on the bottom, and (3) the rake leaves litter "crumbles" that I have to scoop out.
This was definitely NOT worth the $100 I paid for it. I am returning it and will just continue to use my old "manual" litter box.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

Works as expected

12/30/2007
By ,
Lincoln, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned one since 2001 and have 2 cats (did not get the multi cat unit as initially only had 1 cat). It worked very well until yesterday when the motor finally siezed up (that's 6 years). I puchased the "new & improved" model today for $89 and so far it is working fine. It's very important not to overfill and for me, since my cats no longer attempt to cover making high spots in the litter, the rake very rarely has issues getting through the litter and back. When I feed the cats in the morning, I run the scoop through the box to clean up any clumps stuck to the bottom and smooth out the litter a bit and that seems to keep it in good working order (and takes less than a minute). I do not replace the containers every week, I dump and rinse, only replacing them every month or so and that cuts down on the on going maintenance cost as they aren't cheap. It's important when changing or dumping the container that you get it back in snuggly or you will have problems with litter dropping through the crack and piling up under the unit. I use scoop-away cat litter and also spray the bottom of the pan and rake with pam cooking spray whenever I clean the unit. I hope this 2nd unit works for as many years as the first as I can't imagine life with my cats without it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

Waste of money

05/03/2009
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spend more time cleaning this litter box that I did with the old pan and scoop. There is constantly litter all over the floor from when the rake spills the waste out onto the floor. When it is getting ready to deposite the waste into the container there is a gap in the side where waste can fall off the rake if its on the sides and end up all over the place. The other problem is that the rake tends to catch on the edge of the waste container lid and eventually pulls it off. then we have a real mess because now the waste is on the lid, the floor and well its gross. I think it is really very unsanitary and a hassle. It is very noisy which is not cool when you have guests over. The other problem is that the rake is not real good at getting wet waste, we use tidy cat clumping litter and wet waste tends to just break up and then get left in the box to stink. So I have to replace the litter every coupla days to keep the house from stinking. We finally put ours in a box with higher sides to collect the litter that falls off the rake and have delt with the litter issue, as for the lid, well we taped it to the plastic topper so it wont fall off. It still beats cleaning the litter pan 2-3 times a day with the old scoop but if it hadn't been so expensive it would have gone in the trash long ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Littermaid® Plus Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box

Good Product!

01/12/2010
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this litterbox as a Christmas present in 2008 and it's still working a year later. You really do need to buy the better litter for it though, just make sure it says "clumping" on the container. I like this litterbox, it makes having two cats much easier. You have to clean it every now and then but it's not a hassle. It does what it is supposed to do and it's a good price. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to have a little bit less stress in life when it comes to their pets. I didn't give it 5 stars only because it does get stuck sometimes raking over and over but you can fix it by moving the litter. You can work all the kinks out easily but it does have some.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next