Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

The 26" Mongoose XR250 is built to take whatever you — and Mother Nature — can dish out. The full-suspension aluminum frame is lightweight and easy to maneuver. A 21-speed Shimano drivetrain ensures smooth shifting on any terrain. And the Powerful ProMax front disc brake provides sure stopping in any conditions, including mud, rain and puddles.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation73%38 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Nice for price

01/05/2008
By ,
San Antonio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike with road and light trail purposes.I did take it to a local bike shop and have them set it up(tune it). I got it back, put some air in the tires and thats it . I have riden it on some pretty advanced trails and it has been good to me. The front brake has made some noise a couple times but nothing wiping the front brake rotor with rubbing alcohol couldnt fix.This bike is nice for the price. I would not suggest it for hard jumping though it was not designed for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 22 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

A piece of junk.

11/25/2007
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My story is that I bought the bike at my local Walmart. When I got home the first ten feet I pedalled and there was already a problem. The front derailer won't shift. So my dad who has worked on and built bikes since he was a kid tinkered with it and it still wasn't 100%. So within the same hour I bought the bike I returned it with much disgust. When I returned to the store I found that other people had returned the same bike with the same exact problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 23 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

its ok

10/25/2007
By ,
wilmington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ok so the bike is good for what you pay for it...i have had it almost 3 months and i have had the replace the cassett...thats about it...i mean if you up grade everything then its awesome...so far i have up graded the fork the bottom bracket and the rear hub...they should have given ti front and rear disc breakss...but yeh i replaced the read hub so that i could use disc breaks on the back...its a good bike...takes anything i can dish at it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

26" mens Mongoose bike

04/21/2009
By ,
Ravenna, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered one in the box so my husband and son could put it together. The instructions and the manual did not belong to the bike. My husband had to drill a hole through the bolt to attach the saftey release to the front wheel. If my son would not have picked out the bike and liked it so much I would of returned it. If I would of bought a cheap bike I would expect to get what you pay for, but this bike was not cheap for a fourteen year old.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Very nice bike!

11/26/2007
By ,
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful bike for the price. The only thing I don't like about it is that the actual bike has no chain guard on the pedal sprocket like in the display picture. And shipping for the site-to-store took way too long. Walmart actually extended my arrival time which made me miss an event I wanted to use the bike for. But other than those things, I really love the Mongoose XR250. It's worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 26 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

The Best Bike Ever!

08/07/2008
By ,
Cedar Rapids, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this product ever since it came out for sale and not once did I have any troubles at all. I don't know why people say that it breaks it has ran smoothly since I first rode it. I got it pre-assembled so I got it home and read the Manuel i did every step and read the saftey tips and adjusted it for my height (64") and tighted all nut and bolts and rode it ever since!!!!!!!!!! GREAT BUY!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Excellent MTB

09/27/2007
By ,
Whittier, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent mountain bike for the price. Not too serious of a mountian biker, but ride in the mountians enough. Shifters are great but most of all it looks great. The picture does no justice on how it looks in real life. The fat tires and the unique rim designs are cool. The gears needed refined adjustment but after that, all gears are in working condition. This is a nice/cool looking MTB.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 28 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

good buy

08/05/2008
By ,
western NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
real good bike, was easy to put together. the gears were not adjusted the best, but not a big problem. the handlebars are to far away from seat which make for some discomfort while riding, and of course, had to buy a new seat cuz they always put one of those small hard seats on that are soo uncomfortable to ride on. but rides well, brakes well and am overall pleased with this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 29 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

a very good bike

05/23/2008
By ,
greensboro, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the bike with high expectations and it meet them perfectly. I absolutely love the disc brake even though. I wish it had one in the rear but the regular brake does just as good. But overall the bike is great for the price and i would recommend it to anyone who asked. Also, by the way the front brake is great for slowing down and stopping because it wont throw you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike
10/02/2007
By ,
Centralia, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am in no need a novice to the mtb world, I have boughten a few mongoose mountain bikes from Wal-Mart, and this one is by far the best one I have had. The reason for only 4 stars is for this solid a bike they should have put discs on the rear also. For that reason I am looking at purchasing the Mongoose XR-Comp Dual Suspension. Other than the brake issue I am satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
0points
Review 31 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

fun off the rack

05/20/2008
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this bike for 2 years now and have put over 112 miles on it. The only problems I've had were standard maintenance ones. Tires,tubes,needing grease,etc. I've customized mine with parts from this store,instead of having to go to a bike store,as you might think you'd have to. It's been the best bike I've ever had (so far) and the easiest to maintain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 32 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

horrible

12/01/2007
By ,
indianapolis,IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was not worth the money. First i had problems with the shifting and never fixed 100%. Then the gear teeth wore down quickly bthen started jumping its gears. The last straw was when the lowwer suspension arms both were craked. On of them almost all the way around. at this point i own the bike only for five months.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 33 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

NOT WHAT THEY USED TO BE!

05/17/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BOUGHT THIS BIKE AND AFTER RIDING IT 3 TIMES ON PAVED ROADS THE PEDALS BROKE, SO I WENT TO THE BIKE SHOP AND BOUGHT ALL METAL PEDALS ,ALOT BETTER THAN THE CHEAP ONES THAT THEY COME WITH, PLUS YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE TO DO SOME ADJUSTING TO GET IT TO SHIFT CORRECTLY,BUT OTHER THAN THAT IT'S AN OK BIKE FOR THE MONEY
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 34 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

the best bike

09/26/2007
By ,
plano tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just got this bike a week ago and it is great rides good the only thing you need to do when you buy it the wheels will need to be trued up that means the wheels need to be lined so they dont bend there is a helpful tip OH! DONT SHIFT THE GEARS WHEN THE BIKE IS SITING STILL IT WILL RUIN THE DERAILERS THANKS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 35 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Excellent value for the money

10/31/2007
By ,
Modesto, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched the best bicycle for my purpose; riding to the parks , to the store and on the trail and this bike filled the need. Mods include rear safety lights, front headlamp, a wider seat and a gooseneck extension to elevate the bars. Now I have a custom bike that is safe and comfortable to ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 36 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

ok for price

08/10/2008
By ,
Agawam, Ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got it home and I go to ride it and the back tire blows up. Tube inside completely shreds!! After that is fixed it seems to ride good but kinda heavy and gear changing is often difficult. I moslty use it on bike paths no hardcore mountain so it holds its own but definately need to fix the gears!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 37 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

poor workmenship

10/07/2007
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bike from walmart and it did not shift properly, there was something rolling around in the frame, and I returned it for another bike and that was just as bad as the first one so i took it to a bike shop and they said the front derailer is not the proper size for the bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 38 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

awesome bike

11/12/2007
By ,
searcy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bike is one of the best bikes i have ridden. It came to my door fully assembled!!! It shifts so smoothly and can go down any downhill course. It meets all braking expectations too, it brakes nice and clean and can come to a complete stop on a dime without any skidding. i love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great for the price

09/27/2007
By ,
El Paso, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the best mountain bike out on the market for the price.... it is superior to any other bike in its price range and to get better quality you would need to jump to the $400 range. You can always make a few upgrades to this bike also to make it better... ENJOY!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike
10/10/2007
By ,
Ottsville, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bike seems to be of very poor quality and we know someone else who bought the same bike from Wal - mart and feels the same way as we do (the bike belongs to my son). The front disc brake was bent upon delivery, the brakes are not good, and it has bad shifting.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
21-40 of 47 total reviews