Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

The 26" Mongoose XR250 is built to take whatever you — and Mother Nature — can dish out. The full-suspension aluminum frame is lightweight and easy to maneuver. A 21-speed Shimano drivetrain ensures smooth shifting on any terrain. And the Powerful ProMax front disc brake provides sure stopping in any conditions, including mud, rain and puddles.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation73%38 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good at first, bad in the end

01/31/2008
By ,
Sebring
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok, recently i wrote a review about how great this bike was, because i thought it would be good to do so, to honor a good bike.
I was wrong.
No more then 2 weeks after my warranty ran out, and after i wrote the other review, did my bike hit a pothole... not a big drop, a 3 INCH DEEP POT HOLE!... it snapped one of the back triangles arms and now i cant ride it at all.
If you do buy this bike you will be finding yourself replacing many parts as i had too before it gives out, if you care to.
Be warned, this bike is good for awhile, for some, but in the end, it even brakes on just light riding ( paper route and to friends houses )
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 2 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Mongoose XR250

10/13/2007
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received the bike in good shape. I put it together without much hassle at all. This bike in professional circles is known as a beater which is something you can throw around, beat up and not worry because it doesn’t cost much. Now I am not by any means a professional mountain biker, so a beater is just fine with me; I spend my money elsewhere. This bike is a daily commuter for me and a weekend toy.
My first problem was with the front derailleur. It will not shift solidly both up and down the gears choosing either up or down to work best. I finally made a compromise that gave me solid and quick shifts into lower gearing and gave me workable shifts into higher gearing (larger sprockets). Also while adjusting the derailleur, the bolt stripped out for the frame clamp and I had to go get a bolt and nut at a hardware store to make it work while I waited for Pacific Cycle to send me a replacement. They sent me an entire front derailleur minus the screw that was damaged (go figure). But, kudos to Pacific Cycle on their warrantee: they quickly and without any argument, sent me replacement parts. The front derailleur is a Falcon and that might be the problem with the up and down shifts. The rear derailleur is a Shimano Tourney (a cheap version) and works sufficiently.
The bike has a quick release front wheel but a standard solid axle rear wheel. The front disk brake has locked up on me several times after large front wheel impacts refusing to let go until I work it loose. The rear caliper brake has worked without trouble after some minor adjustment. Follow the directions and make sure that the foot pegs are quite tight before riding. I had one come loose (my fault I'm sure) while I was on a trip and it stripped out the crank and left me hoping that I could get home. Luckily I had a multi-plier and was finally able to thread it in enough after several attempts to get it tight so it would not continue to fall off. You may want to replace the standard foot pegs with something a bit less dangerous to your shins and save some pain.
The biggest problem with this bike being a daily commuter is the lack of available space to mount anything. Being that I ride it on trails, fields, streets and sidewalks, I have equipped it with what I feel to be the minimum necessary stuff at this point and I have plans to add just a few more things. I have a headlight, taillight, bell, under-seat bag, cable lock, and air pump. I am looking for a way to mount the cage and bottle but, that is going to take some thought since there is no provision for it and no space that is adequate for it either. I may have to mount a plastic cage and bottle just like I did the air pump which is off to one side using a zip tie.
My overall take on this bike is that it is a good product for the price, a bit on the heavy side, but it works after some fiddling. The biggest downsides are a lack of mounting space and bad front shifting. Don’t expect this bike to work right out of the box. Expect to either tune it yourself or take it to a bike shop (where you probably didn’t buy it) and pay to have it tuned. If you are not mechanically inclined, you might want to pay the extra money for a better bike that comes from a bike shop where they will set it up for free before you head out the door.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

2,000+ miles and still riding it!

07/25/2008
By ,
Michigan & Italy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm from Italy and I bought the XR250 off the shelf at a Mchigan location in June '07. I wanted something to ride during my 3-month stay, initially thinking to donate this bike upon my return home. I'm an experienced mechanic and I admit the bike needed some minor adjustments which I performed right away after the first test ride. Perfect shifting, perfect braking after this. I ended up bringing the XR250 along back to Italy and so far, after 2,000+ miles ridden on paved, unpaved and some rough terrain, no problems at all ever. Just one puncture.
Other than the odometer I upgraded it with removable mudguards, led-lights, pump, water bottle and saddle toolbag.
Common sense suggests that competition or professional use requires different, way more expensive machines. The moderate use I do of the XR250 leaves me totally satisfied and it's tremendous value for $200.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 4 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good buy

07/09/2008
By ,
Brownsville, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
overall a great bike. i use it to go to class 3 times a week and i also joy ride with my brother on and off-road for 20 miles maybe once a month.
PROS: very durable. rims are strong i haven't bent them yet. shifts are awesome (YOU WONT MISS ANY GEARS) and very convinient as they do not interfer with steering as the twisting one's do. back spring is sterdy unlike some other bikes that are bouncy and do not allow popping wheelies as they spring you back down.
AS FAR AS CONS: it would have been nice in 24 speed as i've only managed 28mph. secondly, rear disc brakes because the v-brakes stripe the black paint off the rim. different color.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Handlebars make review bad!

05/19/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There's a problem with the handlebars the screw keep coming loose. I have tightened it with socket 3 time within the 7 days I owned. I'm going to take it back this week. I may just get the $300 Mongoose instead. I like the disc brake, but want dual disc brakes. It's fine but I'm assuming that maybe it this defective part. I'm still getting another Mongoose because I have a bike shop that up the road it just Raleighs, and Cannondales are too expensive for me. If I get the model above this with 24 speed with dual disc brakes that $300 if it was a Cannondale it be in the $700-$2000 category with the same features.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

A big Mon(goose egg)

12/18/2007
By ,
Lakeville, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this bike for my son's January birthday. Due to snow and ice he couldn't ride it until late Spring. First ride, chain comes off. Second ride, chain comes off and it skips gears, Third ride, smallest gear (7,14,21) breaks right off the hub.
I call Pacific Cycle, Cherri says, "No problem if you purchased it less than a year ago it's still under warranty. Just fax us a copy of the receipt and a brief explanation and we'll send you a new wheel." I said a whole new wheel? Great!
I fax the receipt and make a follow up call. Now, Cherri at Pacific Cycle says, "Oh no, we're just going to send you the defective (FR DNP LY-10007CF) part. You must replace it yourself." They wouldn't honor what they originally said.
I get the part in the mail. No installation instructions...I tried but couldn't get the broken gear mechanism off. Thus, I'll now have to contact a bike repair company and PAY them to do the installation for me.
Save yourself a lot of time and money. Buy a better bike from a better manufacturer. I'll never buy a bike made by Pacific Cycle (who owns Mongoose or Schwinn) again.
I give this product a rating of zero.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 7 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

worse than i thought.

07/28/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i was looking for a new bike online that i could order and walmart had a great selection for low prices as usual. i saw this bike and liked the design and looks and it said it was made of sturdy material so i went along with it. i had to put it together which took all of about 5 hours if you dont know what your doing because it does NOT come with instructions. the gears dnt shift and the brakes are disoriented. im not a bike mechanic so i have no idea how to fix it. this bike is the heaviest thing available so if u live in a hilly area.. DONT EVEN TRY. The handle bars fall off every 2 minutes due to cheap screws. just dont buy it. if its looks too good to be true....it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 8 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

A great mountain bike

04/26/2008
By ,
Reading,Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The mongoose XR 250 Is a great bike for the price Im a bicyclist and I ride many miles on road and trail. The XR 250 has nice components on it although the bike did need some fine tuning a derailer adjustment and brake adjustment It runs well for me I use it on the trails and some singletrack it is not designed for heavy mountain trails but that is fine this is a great bike for a person who would like to take this bike on a ride on a bike trail and just have some good fun On My XR 250 I made some changes to it replaced the pedals with clipless mountain style and removed the mud guard and fitted it with a new fender system all in all that is alll that was needed to make this bike run well the only disadvantage is the tubes the rims are a little taller that regular tubes the valve tubes dont make through the rim my fix for this was I purchased valve extensions and that did the trick and I use slime in my tires for a little extra insurance Im a diabetic and I use cycling to keep my myself in shape it is also my PSP (Personal sustainibility project) In my opinion its a great bike!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

not bad for the price

07/20/2007
By ,
florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this bike as a starter bike, for the price it is very good value. only problems are the gear shifter - there are certain gears we either cant get at all, or slip all the time but this is only a minor inconvenience. Also there isn't anywhere to mount a water bottle, again this isnt a problem when out for the day as we use camelpacs, but if just going for a leisurely ride (less than 1 hr) its a pain as there's nowhere to put your water. we plan to keep this bike for about a year before investing in something better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 10 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Mongoose product

11/24/2007
By ,
Clearwater, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is excellent, great quality. You just need to purchase the bike brand new in the box not allready assembled because I always heard the bike came with problems because they dont assembled the bike properly.
My recommendation is to change the seat to one that has alot of support and foam.
I recommend this bike for the person who wants to have a top of the line quality and an affordable price.
I rode the bike for more than 20 miles with no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 11 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

very very helpful

08/15/2007
By ,
antlers,oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wonderful fire shifters shimano derailuer could be better love the front dis brakes. the spoke lace pattern is awesome the price could have been a little better though
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike
08/07/2007
By ,
santa clara, ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bike is very heavy; don't buy it if you are thinking of using it for real mountain bike. After using it on real trail the bike fail apart very poor components.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Mongoose XR250-JUNK!!!

05/16/2008
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband purchased this bike yesterday. It was raining so he did not get a chance to ride it. Today he got on the bike and came to me and said "you need to ride this, something's really not right". I took off down the road and something was grinding. It was the chain being arched several different directions. We straightened that out so it quit with the noise, however my husband noticed that the bike would not shift out of 2nd gear into 1st or 3rd....and after looking at the pictures we noticed what seems like an important piece missing. It's a cover that goes over the sprocket by the pedals...WE RETURNED THE BIKE TODAY!!! We owned it literally less than 24 hours. After reading the other customer reviews I think we made the right choice in taking it back when we did.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

poor

04/24/2008
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product off the shelf at a local walmart store and hit the roads at the neighborhood park. I experienced all the complaints written so far. First: brakes not aligned. I had to do them myself. Second: Shifting is a problem. The front deraileur doesnt work. The rear makes a lot of noise. The rear brake is not aligned either. The chain gets loose everytime I pushed the bike to limits. Finally the assembly: poor. You need to get yourself some tools and tighten most of the screws. My 15 yrs old dirt cheap bike gave me less trouble.
It is not all bad indeed. Frame is dependable, lighter and looks better than Blackcomb. Shocks work all right. I wish they installed disc brakes to the rear as well. Some tune up and it will be good to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 15 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

a bit of a disappointment

08/22/2007
By ,
northeastern Washington
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I initially bought used one on clearance, but had to take back to WalMart due to missing parts and un-fixable problems with the brake lines and shifting mechanisms. The replacement was new, but still can't get into the 7th gear, or 1st gear on the other gear set (this negates use of 7 gears). This is frustrating- a 21 speed that only operates on 12 of the gears!! I plan to have the bike tuned up and hopefully recover use of the gears. The bike is fairly lightweight and easy to transport which I appreciate. I like the style and it rides like a mountain bike, but I need the other 9 gears! Overall, I think this bike may have consistent issues with the gears and derailers.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good buy, Great Bike

09/16/2007
By ,
Garland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased this MTB yesterday and I can now already say it's one of the best bikes I've ever rode.
The good of the bike, for me, would have to include the disc brake, suspension, gear shifts, and the overall look of the bike.
Now, not only does the front disc brake look cool on the bike, you can stop in virtually any condition, which is VERY helpful.
The suspension is nice too. It's your average full suspension with shocks in the front, and an exposed spring shock in the middle. The middle shock is a little too tight, though that can be fixed.
Nothing special, nothing bad (though I must note how great the suspension looks for the back).
The gear shifts are good too. Most transistions for the 7, rear gears are smooth and easy, though the front 3 gears do need a little "umph" went you push/pull the trigger to change gears.
Lastly, did I ever mention how clean the bikes looks? It's the Cadillac of the MTB world. Though, bare in mind this bike isn't for jumping off of 20 ft cliffs, and treading across deep revines or anything.
You'd need carbon fiber for that, not lightweight alluminium.
Overall, the bike performs to it's standard, has good handling (though any MTB should with wide wheels) and a helpful disc brake, and looks great.
The only thing I would've wished for more on the bike is somewhere to place a waterbottle, but that's why there are waterpacks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

awesome deal!!!

04/24/2009
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike on clearance for $77, so i got an EXCELLENT deal. I have had it for over a year and a half so far, and recently i had to get some work done to it. the only prob i have found is that the rear derailleur skipped.
i have had several accidents because i ride hard and this is my daily commute. i agree w/ a previous review that this is a beater, and that is fine w/ me bec i do ride hard. i got the chain and derailleur replaced and it has never worked better.
anyone looking for good handling and a fun ride should definitely look into the mongoose xr series.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good Product

09/15/2007
By ,
Elkins, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike after debating on others for a long time. I haven't had a Mnt. Bike since 1997 when I got rid of my Dimond Back and wanted one ever since. I weigh over 200 lbs. so the big frame really impressed me with the XR250. I been pretty rough on it so far and it has held through. I ride it every morning about 8 miles a day and have had no major problems with this bike. The front forks make a noise when I catch some air but that is probaby the spring inside since the forks are spring loaded. It is a little heavy but still a good bike. I love mine so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Not bad for the price.

05/09/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plus one for a very nice frame. General setup is required as with ALL bikes not serviced by a bike shop. The front forks are a bit cheesy and any heavy offroad rider should opt for better replacements. Once the gears are properly set they work like butter every time, and no chain skip since. Recommend a seat for anyone who's going to be on it for any extended periods of time. Overall not bad for the price. Doublecheck ALL bolts for proper torque as they are a little on the loose side from the factory. Love the rims :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR250 Full-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike

08/15/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is Great for the Price . It comes with name brand parts that are worth more then the bike it self. I do agree with another review that it is better to buy the bike disassembled . Also, you should take it to a bike shop to get Tuned-up . Once you have that in order you can almost ride every where. I have been riding the bike for weeks now and it holds up Great !!
This is a great bike for the value !! Only down fall is that it weights 40 pounds , but for the price you can't complain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next