Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Generic Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase Black and Light Oak is a spacious 3 shelf unit used for display purposes. The sides of this book case are open. The wooden planks are light colored and the supporting posts are black colored. This combination of black and light is a visual treat to look at this 3-Shelf Bookcase. This Light Wood Bookcase is easy to assemble. Assembling of this book case can be done manually without any tools. Each shelf has the capacity to hold 55 lbs weight. Shelves are scratch resistant. There are five sides to this book case. The total measurement of the Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase Black and Light Oak is 26-1/4 width, 11 depth and 27-1/2 height.
Average Customer Rating:
4.485 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(266 Reviews) 219
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
162
4 stars
82
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%258 out of 266reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 79 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
162
4 stars
82
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Great Looking Organization on a Tight Budget

07/06/2011
By ,
Oak Park MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When ordering the corner "light oak" unit, the 3 shelf "light oak" unit or the 5 shelf "beech" unit - they ALL MATCH each other even though they say "light oak" and "beech". I bought 1 corner unit, 1 three shelf unit and 4 five shelf units. You DO NOT NEED a big car to load these boxes. All six boxes fit neatly in a VW Bug with room to spare. Way TOO EASY to assemble. People complained about the size. You just need to read the CLEARLY STATED dimensions on each product description to see if this is the size you want and need. They are GREAT ORGANIZATION for tight spaces. The black spacers are plastic but sturdy and look exceptionally nice. (Please see my photographs) On the close-up photo you can see the nice wood grain shelves and the black spacers. REALLY, NO TOOLS REQUIRED and I am handicapped. My sister who spends way too much money on high end furniture actually likes them too. They work well for me in my small home office. You cannot beat the price. ENJOY if you decide to Order. PS - One tiny draw back that is NOT a problem for me - - - As you can see from the picture I put my Canon Color Ink Jet Printer on the top shelf of the 3 unit shelf. When I send something to print at that printer the unit gently sways. Now my larger Samsung B&W Laser printer does NOT sway but does not fit very well on the unit so it sits on my corner desk top. PEACE.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago, Illinois
Luv it!
Posted 07/13/2011
Luv the way you put the two units together. Wouldnt have never thought of that. Im ordering both and doing the same!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

many options to use...

07/23/2007
By ,
okc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i ordered two for my sons room. he is 10 month old and pulls himself up on them. they haven't fallen over yet, so i'm still happy. but that wasn't the reason for the purchases. i bought them to put some of his toys up and the bookcases meet my expectations. they are also simple to put together and the price is good.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

I love these book cases.

07/14/2011
By ,
Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bookcase. I have ordered 5 units and will order more. Out of 6 complete units I only had 1 board out of 18 boards that was damaged. Walmart sent me a new unit by mail delivered to my house. I had used the store pickup for the original shipping. They also sent me a shipping label to return the damaged unit via email. No problems, Easy, Easy, Easy, No hassles. I just taped up the damaged unit, put on the shipping label and took it to the Post Office. No cost to me.
The Unit is 26 1/2" wide, 28" high and 11" deep. Usable space between the black plastic supports is 23" X 7 3/4" and 13" high between the boards. I was concerned about the usable space which I could not find in any of the reviews. I had purchased media storage boxes that are 7 1/2 x 8 3/4 x 6 inches each. I can fit 6 of these on each shelf. 3 across and 2 high. These media boxes are very common and I have seen them in Walmart stores and dollar stores. The CD cases and the DVD cases fit in them.
Over all I am happy with the product and how I was treated concerning the return of the damaged unit.
The book case itself seem very sturdy for a inexpensive unit. It is attractive. I don't know how much weight it will hold but my media library is fairly heavy. I have about 300 DVD and VHS videos on 2 of the units.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bergen County, NJ
Thank you
Posted 10/04/2011
OMG...you are the first person that has 1.) gave measurements of ACTUAL space that can be used and 2.) a picture that has more than a plant and a picture frame on the top shelf. I have already placed my orders (about 3 days ago). I bought the 2 five-shelf bookcase bundle that was on sale and this three-shelf case. I've been driving my husband up the wall making him measure.....measure again....and re-measure. Then I'm trying to figure out exactly how many paperback books can fit on each shelf, if I can double them up and make to rows on each shelf, blah blah blah. Anyway thanks so much for taking the time to jot down measurements and let someone like me who's going crazy, finally be at peace. (my husband is greatful as well. LOL)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Nice for display

01/22/2011
By ,
Windsor Mill, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not sure that this is really meant for books. It sways a little. Maybe some books/heavier items could be put on the bottom shelf. I have another one in my kitchen that has a 12-pack of dog food cans on the bottom. I measured the unit as 26 1/2 x 27 1/2. I have included pictures. I hope this helps.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Very good basics

09/19/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a relatively lightweight and sturdy bookshelf that also looks nice. I filled it with two rows of books, paperback and hardcover, and it stands sturdy. The only thing problematic is the open ends, which I solved by placing books wider than the side supports on the ends and putting the shelf back against a wall.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Just what I needed!

05/16/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a sturdy shelf for my walk-in closet. This one is perfect! I use it to hold my jewelry stand, mirror and a few other items. See photo.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Super easy and simple

07/15/2013
By ,
tampa,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It requires no tools to put together. The directions came on the side of the packaging. I took me less than ten minutes to put together and it meet my needs exactly. Great product would recommend to anyone who needs to organize a small space.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Could be used for more than a bookcase.

02/02/2013
By ,
Yucca Valley, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only reason I didn't give it an excellent rating is because the corners are very sharp.
Other than that, it's great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Inexpensive Solution

01/14/2008
By ,
Idaho Falls, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a small display shelf unit for a booth at Trackside Mall (antiques, collector items, gifts, etc.). This provided a low cost solution. It's easy to assemble (no tools required). Worked great!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Serves its purpose

04/11/2013
By ,
New york, ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Legs are black and plastic shelves are also cheap it looks decent but it came with the corners chipped and broken would rather get at a store when i can see if there is damage before i buy had to build it so all the broken corners are on one side to the wall
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

easy setup, light

01/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you're just looking for a simple, easy install shelf, this is it. it's great for kids room, closet organization, or for light things/decors to put on. it is very light, easy to move around. most of all, price is reasonable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak
02/24/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick easy looks better then it feels!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

easy and sturdy

03/07/2011
By ,
2 Paw MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very eas and no need tools, just taking about 10 min for finish 2 of them, look very nice in our dinning corner, good value !!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

great product, assembled easily,no tools

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use it to hold my teaching materials and to store the handbags I use to go
to schools. It works for me. The appearance is very good, exactly the way
they show in the picture. The pillars are made of sturdy plastic, which is fine
by me, I won't have to worry about them getting rusty.
And I can take it with me if I decide to move, it makes up for a small volume.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Nice, but no cigar

05/14/2008
By ,
Brigham City, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these shelves because I thought it would help our storage area become more organized on a budget and I need narrower shelves. I guess I misread the specs because the black bars were made of a plastic material not metal like I thought. They didn't feel all that sturdy to me, and I don't trust putting a lot of weight on them, but they found another use in my kitchen as a phone cart for mail and phone books and for recipe books and a place to drop our keys. I gave them 4 stars because I think they look really nice, and they work good for what they're intended to do. They just weren't what I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Easy to Assemble

12/29/2007
By ,
Shreveport, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These bookcases were a snap to assemble. They took less than 5 min each & I got three of them. They are wider than I thought they would be too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

puts together so easy.

06/20/2014
By ,
monroe,La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have several in different sizes and I love them all. Pretty, easy to put together, just great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

30shelf bookcase

06/17/2009
By ,
Boise, Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item is able to sit on top of the 5-shelf bookcase offered in the same style which creates the floor to ceiling bookcase. It's slim line and nice look make it a nice option for any place in the office or home or bedroom.
I am considering purchasing another 3-shelf and 5-shelf for our master bedroom as I have the need for shelving for clothing rather than drawers which makes acces to clothing easier and these would be ideal for that.
I would recommend them for the price and quality is terrific.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

It fits perfectly and was a breeze to put together

05/07/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very classy and fits where I wanted it to. Very easy to assemble. Would recommend to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Open Sided 3-Shelf Bookcase, Black and Light Oak

Gets the job done

08/24/2007
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These were some cheap shelves... a quick fix to my lack of desk space in my bedroom that also serves as my office. They're a bit flimsy, but they were also 15 bucks! They get the job done... just don't expect something that looks or serves as high-quality
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Honolulu
Follow up question
Posted 01/13/2012
Hi, I wanted to buy these shelves for a similar purpose, somewhere to put my books (I have a lot of them as I'm an adjunct college lecturer) in my Bedroom/office. Quick question: I want to put them on top of a chest of drawers. Are they sturdy enough to support books on both shelves? Thanks! DC
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 220 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next