Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sevylor Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Sevylor Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Get closer to the wonder of underwater life when you explore in a Sevylor 1-Person Surf Sport Kayak with paddle and hand pump. This inflatable watercraft works just like a traditional kayak, except when you're ready to pack up, it folds up small enough to fit inside a car trunk. While you're in the water, you'll paddle in more comfort with a padded back design that allows you to stretch your legs, back and arms more easily. Pack food and gear behind you in the chair back storage on this Sevylor 1-Person Surf Sport Kayak. The rigid, drop-stitch floor is tough enough to stand up in, while the multi-chamber design offers added security if you get snagged. The thick Sevytex material is part of the Airtight system that's guaranteed not to leak, and the high-pressure valve maintains inflation to withstand extreme use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%15 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Exceeded all expectations

08/19/2014
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these because somebody posted about it on a forum. I figured for the price I'd give it a shot. it showed up in about 5 days. I took it out and paddled it on the south fork of the Payette River in Idaho. Fell in love with this little thing. it punches waves and holes easily, bails insanely fast. and handles great. I did use thigh straps in it, which I would recommend for paddling whitewater in an IK. - but I loved this little IK so much, that I went ahead and ordered two more. The price is great, and the value is AWESOME! you can't go wrong with this little IK. and on the plus side for Idahoans.. it's only 9'2" so it doesn't require an Idaho Invasive Species tag. WARNING, the paddle that comes in the package shouldnt be used on white water, but you can save it for your kids pool toys. the Pump is very nice for an included pump. Over all its a great value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Overall, I like this kayak and its a keeper.

06/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My top kayaking priorities are having a seat with good back support, space to stretch out my legs all the way for kayaking longer than a couple of hours, and skegs on the bottom of the kayak to help with tracking. This made for surfing Sevylor kayak has fairly good back support and lots of room to stretch out the legs. On the less positive side, it would have been more desirable if it was also made with skegs for open water kayaking. Without them, though, I was still somewhat satisfied with its performance in a bay with wind at 15 to 25 kt. (When compared with my one person, inflatable kayak that has two removable skegs, its tracking was an estimated 20% to 30% less efficient.) Bottom line: I am happy with this kayak, considering for the price, it is very comfortable and it performed reasonably well in open waters. My only wish is that Sevylor had an inflatable kayak this well priced with removable skegs for improved tracking performance in open waters. I would have paid an extra 50 to 100 dollars extra for such a kayak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Great boat for the price!

06/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I consider myself as a ducky pro. I have many inflatable toys for sport and leisure.
Specs:
The SK100ds is a great IK for the price. Most other boats like this would cost between $500-$700. With a 10.4' length and a 34" beam it's a very stable boat. The material used is 1100d thick (good rafts are min 900d). The drop floor is very stiff once inflated to the recommended 7psi (difficult to achieve without a good pump). Get a 230mm paddle as this is a wide IK.
Pros:
Thick material, Great drop-stitch floor, good valves, fits just about anyone, tracks easy, D-rings for tying down gear, comfortable seat, self-bailers work well, rigid when inflated correctly, takes Class III+ rapids (depending on skills), portable, easy to store, great pump, great pressure gauge
Cons:
Water will seep into the bottom through the closed self-bailers as the day progresses and eventually you will be sitting in a about an inch of water (which can be annoying). I solved this problem by sitting on my PFD. Inflate the boat so it drys completely before putting it away or else you may end up with mold.
I really enjoy this IK. This boat can pretty much survive anything you throw at it and a great boat if you are looking for adventure in all conditions. It's quickly replacing my other water toys. Get yours soon because they don't make them anymore. The MFG date on mine is 2011.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

*****Best all around play boat!*****

07/14/2014
By ,
Portland OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have several kayaks (6 total). I took two friends down the Clackamas river in Oregon yesterday. Upper McGyver park to carver park. This is an 8-9hr float. We did it in 5 hrs.
Water was kinda high making for an easy float with only some class 2 rapids.
While the Sevelor is not made for serious hydraulics(class 5), it handles better and tracks better than my RMR Animus IK(800.00). They were faster! wore me out trying to keep up in the RMR. You can surf waves easy with these, the bottom is like a hard shell(flat bottom) with the dropstitch floor! I am now a believer in the dropstitch floor!! We even used it like a SUP (yes we got wet!)lol.
The tubes are strong enough to take just about anything. Pump and valves are great! Quality is good for a 600.00 boat...so for 200.00 it is a no brainer!
Now the not so good. Thigh straps do not come with this boat and are needed for optimal control. The D-rings are to far apart for some straps(NRS) so I made some 6" loops from para cord to extend the D-rings so the NRS straps fit!
Only other thing depends on the person. The seat can bother some with low back problems...these people should probably use a boat with a thwart seat(inflatable seatback).
You could get one for this boat if it becomes a problem for you!
If you have not decided to get one or more of these by now, good!! More for my friends! I am ordering two more for friends today!....oh almost forgot, the paddle is an emergency only thing! Get yourself a good 220cm to 250cm paddle depending on your height!! See ya on the river!!!
***NOTE TO WALL-MART PLEASE ACQUIRE THE TWO SEAT SK200DS FOR COUPLES***
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Don't let the Sevylor name stop you!

07/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe that Sevlor made a kayak this good for $200. I have 2 Innova Safari's and a Innova Solar 2(405) $500-$700 a piece and these are top notch IK's but this sk100ds while slightly wider and thinner material pumps up firmer and turns faster than my other boats. The 12 large bail holes make this a great boat for WW3 or 4. As for touring the Innova's track better but I will attach a removable NRS fin kit for better tracking. This kayak Handels well on big waves(surfing) and fast rivers right out of the box. I tape up the bail holes for flat water with electrical tape as water will seep in even with them closed. The included pump works great and fast and the drop stich floor is 7 psi! The boat is the lightest ik I have ever used about 22 lbs. You can lift it with one arm and toss it in. I would recommend getting thigh straps for white water though as there are plenty of d-rings for attaching them. I was even able to put a second seat in the back for my kid. Plenty of storage space in back or front if you have short legs with d-rings. Bottom line if you are just starting out with inflatable kayaking this boat is very stable and beginner friendly or if you are a experienced kayaker and like white water and surfing this is a great bang for the buck. The floor also comes out so you can just wipe it all dry with a towel to avoid mold and roll it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Great product and very versatile

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This kayak is very versatile. Its great if you dont want to lug a piece of plastic in and out of the water. It works well on the lake or on the river. The Kayak is very stable and takes moderate rapids well. the stiff inflatable floor keeps the kayak going in the right direction.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Best kayak ever!!!

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If the producers of this kayak are smart, they will keep it coming forever. I bought this kayak at Costco a few years back and have not seen them since. Last year my friend had a brand new non- self bailing hard kayak which always filled up with water and slowed him down. He tried to find my Sevylor online to no avail but eventually did. We just saw that they were available on Walmart.com for an incredible price and we are all buying extras just in case they go off market again. I have introduced several of my friends to this kayak and they all love it. Compared to other kayaks on the market, the fact that this one is self bailing makes all the difference. And the price is perfect. I have had mine for 4 years and just bought one for my wife. I use it at least 2-3 times a week on the river with rapids and such. We also use it at the lake. Super durable and SELF bailing!!! No one wants to sit in gallons of water. This feature keeps you from having to pullover constantly to dump out the water. It is easy to inflate and deflate. We hope that Sevylor will continue to make this fantastic product. It would also be great if they continued making the floating lounges they used to make 5 or 6 years ago. My wife has two which she will keep patching until they die completely. It's a shame they are no longer available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Awesome Kayak

06/24/2014
By ,
Belton, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to crusie around on the lake. I have 2 kids 7 & 8. My son who's 8 loves this thing. Easy to manuever and fast on the water. He was going faste than us with a trolling motor. Light weight, easy to carry and best of all easy to get in and out. I found this at a steal at our local TJ MAXX for $99.00. Love it, buy one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Great Kayak!

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have floated several rivers and even fished from it . They're a great value if your looking to get into whitewater on the cheap. If you get the one man version, you will be surprised by how much it handles and feels like a hardshell as opposed to a big ducky. It's small (just over 10') and very nimble. I can't believe that Sevlor made a kayak this good for $200.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Idaho
actually it's 9'2"
Posted 08/19/2014
actually it's 9'2" - I've purchased 3 of them and they all measure 9'2" not sure how you got just over 10'
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Nice boat.

08/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Inflates nicely. Wish it had potential for skeg and or rutter as tracking on calm river water is a challenge.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Nice quality kayak for the money

08/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this kayak because of the reviews and the price. Very easy to set up and cruises across the water very nicely. Only had one minor complaint about the seat straps being too short if you like the seat back further. Otherwise great value for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Awesome boat!

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only bought one thinking: (It's form Walmart, it can't be that great) After seeing the quality and how well made it was I bought one for my girlfriend and another to have as a spare or for friends. Paddle that comes with it is one you'd give to your mother-in-law...nuff said. Great kayak for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Maybe the deal of a lifetime

07/20/2014
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have already written one lengthy review, (check it out), but I just can't say enough about this great deal. I have now bought four of these boats, one for each member of my paddling family, and I am convinced this is the best value in an inflatable whitewater kayak in my 20+ years of owning and paddling them. I guaranty you these exceptional boats will not last at this price. Folks, I don't know if you have priced inflatable kayaks lately, but you can hardly buy a disposable one for $200! Much less a really good one complete with a pump, carry case, and paddle - ANY paddle. I once had a single, solo IK (inflatable kayak) that costs as much as eight of these boats, and I didn't like it nearly as well... had to pay extra for a pump and paddle too!
If you have been considering a good whitewater IK but have been reluctant to pull the trigger because of the high price of quality boats, here is your chance to take the plunge knowing you got an unbeatable deal. Don't wait till it is too late or you may end up having to spend a lot more money on something not nearly as nice. Heck, at this price go ahead and buy two so you will never have to paddle alone.
We have already put a lot of miles on ours too. And do be warned - though they work plenty well enough anywhere, this boat is certainly no speed demon on flat water. It's not bad for a whitewater kayak, but it is made primarily for turning on a dime, accelerating in a stroke or two, and whisking you out of a jam in a flash. Your friends in their $600 lake kayaks will run off and leave you in a straight line on quiet water if they choose, but you will certainly enjoy many other advantages over them. Like in the ability to paddle on virtually any water anywhere, depending of course on your experience and skill. For instance, this boat will certainly get you by on flat water, but most recreational kayaks are not suited at all for even mild surf or even class II whitewater. This boat is more stable on any water too. The Sevylor SK100DS is like floating on a dock compared to most "fast" kayaks. Some of those boats are tippy enough to be downright frightening compared to the SK100DS. Everyone who has tried mine doesn't want to give it up. At least 5 people I know went home and bought one or two for themselves.
You will also enjoy the ability to store it in a closet or on a shelf. Everything you get easily fits inside a small, zippered storage bag and three or four of them will fit inside the average automobile trunk. No need for trailers, roof racks, garages or storage units. Apartment dwellers and RV'ers, here's your boat!
The only complaints I've heard besides speed were from a couple of people concerning the backrest. Admittedly they aren't the best, but I have certainly paddled worse... MUCH WORSE. Besides, there are many, many fixes for this ranging from aftermarket high backed seats, to adding throw cushions etc.
And, unless there is something I have yet to discover, this boat should last for years and years if you take care of it. I have several inflatable boats right now that have served me for over 15 years and they are not nearly as robust as this one.
Sorry, I just had to say a few more words. Rarely does a deal this exciting come along. I made sure to take advantage of it and set my family up for the next 15 years or so of paddling.
See you on the water!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Not as advertised.

07/21/2014
By ,
ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kayak was advertised as being 10'2" long'. IT was only 9' 2" so I sent it back. Otherwise it seams very well made and would make a good kayak for a smaller person. I would call it a Jr. kayak
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Well made complete package at a great price

04/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything you need to carry, inflate, and hit the water at a great Walmart price. Deflates and packs up in a jiffy! A much better alternative for most when compared to a rigid sit-on-top. Easy to haul, lightweight, and much less expensive. Makes for a great beach lounger, too! Recommend buying one of the inexpensive self-adhesive patch kits found at any paddling store in the event of a rare puncture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump

Great! Glides along the water!

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.