Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

Bissell Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

The BISSELL Symphony™ is the Revolutionary Product that Vacuums and Steam Mops at the Same Time! Symphony™ has a powerful cyclonic action vacuum that picks up dry debris and cleans wet, sticky messes in one pass. And with the power of steam, it eliminates 99.9% of germs and bacteria, removing the need for chemicals.*  *Use as directed, results may vary.Tested under controlled lab conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.551 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(205 Reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation87%85 out of 98reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 143 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

I don't just like it, I LOVE it!

06/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! After using the Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop for the first time, I was stunned and amazed at just how dirty my ceramic tile floors were. As I was changing the mop pad to replace it with a fresh one, it was disgusting to see just how dirty the pad was. The pad is white, after using it on the floor, it turned b-l-a-c-k. Mind you, we are a neat and tidy household. The floors don't LOOK dirty...but they were.
Now, our floors look nearly brand new -- and I feel good that no chemicals are being used in the process -- only 100% pure steam created from only water. Walking barefoot over the tile, the floor FEELS clean on my feet.
In closing, all I can say is thank you Bissell for creating such a wonderful product. I love you for it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

This Vacuum & Mop Surprised Me

05/27/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found it hard to believe that the Symphony could actually vacuum and mop at the same time, but it does! The vacuum sucks in debris before the mop steams cleans the area.
I love the fact that you don't need to add any chemicals to the Symphony, you use only water. But because it generates steam, it cleans your floors without residues and eliminates 99.99% of bacteria and germs on your floors.
This is a real time saver.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

If you have kids, get this!

03/06/2014
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mine just arrived today, and now it's out of stock. Whew, glad I got it when I did.
Vacuum: I was doubtful about how good a vacuum this would be, but was quite surprised. Got all the big stuff. (See photo - if you're into other people's grime ;-) ) I prefer it to my regular vacuum now for the hard floors.
Mop: I couldn't see the steam while vacuuming, so I mopped separately. It was great to turn the vacuum back on whenever I came upon a missed crumb. I do wish it got hotter/produced more steam or something. However it works well enough that I still recommend this.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

does vacuum & steam clean

04/22/2014
By ,
Tamaqua, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am hesitant about purchasing anything "hawked" in an infomercial but then I saw that it was being offered at Wal-Mart. I made my purchase on line. I have Rheumatoid Arthritis and I look for anything that makes my life easier. The shipping was very fast. It arrived faster than the stated shipping arrival date. (Yeah Wal-Mart). I was excited to use it. It was easy to assemble. A little confusing to start - no definite on/off switch just a vac low & high. Does is steam clean and vac? yes. However, I bought this as a replacement for a cheap floor steamer that my dog chewed the cord off. The price was so cheap on my previous floor steamer that I thought I would be paying more to replace the cord than to buy a new one. However, comparing the two steamers - the cheap one did a better job than the symphony. The Symphony is very noisy. It is also a little hard to push. It was nice to be able to vacuum and steam clean at the same time but it is not as easy as it appears on the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Citrus County FL
Mrs.
Posted 05/19/2014
I have a lot of laminated flooring & tile, can this be used on laminate flooring?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

Fair product, nothing special.

05/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product because I mainly have wood floors and no carpet. It does a decent job cleaning my ceramic and vinyl tile floors in the kitchen and bathrooms. I can use it on my laminate wood floor. I can't say if I would recommend it for newer wood floors or shiny wood floors. It could dull the shine, but I am only guessing on that. It cleans, but nothing special for my laminate wood floors. It does dry quicker than I thought.
It is easy to use. I was not impressed with the vacuum. It does not have great suction power. It isn't better than my 20 dollar stick vacuum. Does not come with any extra accessories. The mopping cloths get dirty very quickly and one is hard to clean. You have to hand wash it and use bleach in your kitchen sink and let it sit there.
One thing to remember: INFOMERCIALS ARE DONE UNDER OPTIMAL, CONTROLLED CONDITIONS, SO IT WILL LOOK LIKE THE PRODUCT WORKS LIKE THAT UNDER REAL CONDITIONS, WHEN IT PROBABLY DOESN'T.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

am telling everyone about this

04/04/2014
By ,
herndon, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have an 11 month infant that lives on the floor --- and i have been feeling terrible because he always gets so dirty. problem solved!!! i saw this on tv and debated about ordering...then saw that walmart had it and I knew I could take it back if i didn't like it so what the heck, i got it. and let me tell you --it does a pretty darn good job. it probably isn't as good as scrubbing on your hands and knees, but who is going to do that! we have pre-finished teak hardwood floors and this doesn't leave streaks. i have noticed you have to be mindful about pushing it into the dirt so that it gets sucked up by the vacuum and not caught in the cleaning pad. cons -the cleaning pads still look pretty dirty after running through the laundry and for some reason the dirt/dust canister pops out every now and then and the dirk goes all over --am trying to determine if its operator error or something wrong with the tension of the cup mount. but regardless --this really is a great machine and i am not going back to the swifter thats for sure!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

Two Birds With One Stone

04/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Helps to get mop pad wet before using. When dealing with super muddy floors (dog paws) take mop pad off when it gets too dirty and rinse then carry on, or it will leave a dirty film. Still have to scrub scuff marks from shoes. Saves time and easy to use, though not good for corners and tight spaces. I have had my dust cup get wet (?) and muck caked up in it...I just washed it all out ...cleans up easy. I'm rougher than most on vacuums and mops with two dogs and a cat that shed and have muddy paws...and two kids that leave crumbs and muddy footprints everywhere...so I don't expect miracles or perfection ...but, this is as good as it gets with the symphony ...compared to what's out there. Good for hard floors, but I probably wouldn't prefer it for carpet...no attachments are the major reason for this...getting in tight spaces not happening with this vacuum!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

Cheaply made

05/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I couldn't have been more excited about this product! I ordered it immediately after watching the informercial. At first use I noticed it wasn't picking up all the dirt, I had to pass over a section a few times and even after that it wasn't getting all the dirt. I continued to use it because it was still cleaning decently well. After about a week of having it, the latch that opens and closes to put water in the machine had snapped off, still, I continued to use it. After about a month of using the machine, the mop attachment had started to melt from the steam. It had literally started to break and fall apart. I used my mop maybe every 3 days or so. I have a pretty small kitchen and I take care of my things. Its the first of its kind to mop AND sweep at the same time so I guess there had to be flaws in it. Overall I'm very disappointed, its very cheaply made! I wouldn't waste your time or money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

love it!

03/25/2014
By ,
East Earl, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are really enjoying this product. My 8 year old daughter is more eager to clean the kitchen floor since we bought this & I love the time saved by vacuuming & mopping at once. It definitely takes a little work for her to push it but she is able to do it. The first time we used this, our floor hadn't been mopped in about 3 months... gross I know but my last steam mop broke & I didn't want to just buy any mop. I hadn't been feeling great so the floor hadn't been swept in about a week either. We have 3 kiddos so there was definitely a mess out there. The mop handled it just fine. We do have a fairly large kitchen so I mopped it in 3 sections & washed the pad in between each section. We have used the Symphony twice since then & have done the kitchen all at once. We don't need to switch outlets as the cord is long enough to do the whole kitchen. I am excited about this steam mop! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

It does a good job, but . . .

05/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bissell Symphony does what it was designed to do and does it well. So why then didn't I give it five stars? Because, for reasons beyond any possible understanding, the thing is short. From the floor to the top of the handle I measured 35". I have a Bissell vacuum that measures 43" so I can't help wondering why Bissell skimped on a longer handle. I am 5'8" and although I'm pleased with the job the Symphony does, it isn't long before my back aches every time I clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MI
Handle can adjust
Posted 05/20/2014
You can actually adjust the handle from 35 - 46 inches by pressing the handle adjust button located just above where you fill the tank with water. I hope this helps make it easier for you.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

Love the Symphony

03/23/2014
By ,
Jupiter, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had back surgery 2 times..sweeping and mopping kill my back..hated doing..so I would hire someone else to do so. We recently moved and all of my floors are tile. My husband saw the infomercial and we decided to order the symphony. I have to tell you this has got to be the greatest thing since superman. I vac and steamed my floors including a tiled patio in about an hour..my back felt a little strained, but nothing like before. I even went on the Bissel web site and ordered a steam spong. I would highly recommend this for anyone that has hard floors. So easy to operate. I dont normally give reviews, this is an exception. Well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

Good, but could be better

07/11/2014
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the symphony about a month ago. It does a good job and definitely saves wear and tear on my body since one pass does it all. I like the long cord and the water reservoir is large enough for me to steam all the hard floors on the main level of my home (approximately 1500 square feet). The dust cup needs improvement. I have used the Symphony 5 times and every time, the cup has popped off dumping the dirt onto the clean floor. The latch that holds the cup is not very well made and vibrates open during use. Very disappointing when you dump all that dirt on a clean floor.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

BISSELL SYMPHONY VACUUM STEAM

06/16/2014
By ,
Agoura Hills, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic,wonderful, can't believe the cost and quality of this machine. Heats up in seconds cleans better then me on hands and knees with scrub brush. Light easy to use and put together. Walmart has best price. My hardwood floors,tile bathroom floors are so clean you could eat off them. We have real brick kitchen floors and they are very hard to clean. After cleaning kitchen floor took a wet paper towel and swiped over part of floor, not one speck of dirt came up. Also cleans grout lines beautifully. Wish I had something like this when I had my kids a home. But now that I am older it is a life saver for me. No more getting on knees to wash floors. Done in minutes and vacuum sweeps up any dirt before you steam. A must have if you don't have a maid to do your floors. LOVE, this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

No More Back Ache

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have about 1500 sq. ft. of tile on my floors. I live in the country so sweeping and mopping were a task that needed repeating very often. It used to take two days to complete because by the time I finished sweeping my back was sore and I had to finish the following day, NOT ANYMORE!! The whole house can be finished in about an hour!!! I had the Bissell Steam and Vac before but rarely used it because the vaccum had no power. Not so with the Symphony, the suction power is awesome and because it uses true steam the floors are very clean. You can vaccum and steam clean at the same time the chore is fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

does not vacum well and then leaves streaks

05/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am not satisfied with this product.... ended up vacuming with our dyson and hand moping to have a satisfactory result
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

Oh, do I love this vacuum/mop!

06/14/2014
By ,
Naperville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always dreaded cleaning my hard flooring: vacuum first, then swish increasingly dirty water from a bucket onto my floors to get them "clean". It was a bit of a process and mopping always grossed me out.
As soon as I got the Symphony, I knew I found a tool that was going to make my life easier. I love using it...it is so easy to pull it out, plug it in, and a few minutes later I have a clean floor without a bucket of dirty water, a wet mop and a vacuum cleaner to deal with.
I love the Symphony so much I have been talking about it nonstop with friends and family, and even gave one as a wedding gift. I cannot recommend this device enough; it is easy to use and maintain, and I love the fact that I start out with a clean microfiber pad on the mop each time I use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

NOT What It Claims To Be!!!

05/21/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As a vacum it falls way short. The power isn't there and the cup is way too small. Forget pet hair! I still use my vacum and then this works as a stem cleaner. I dont' think this product is worth the money I spent for it!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

Cleans the floors in less time

05/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this from the infomercial's website. I had to pay for the shipping and handling but I did get the free steam shot and it only cost about $20 extra than what Walmart sells it for.
I also have an infant that loves to crawl on the floor and we have two cats. I could never keep the floors clean long enough and I didn't have the time or energy to sweep and then mop the floors every day. The floors were only mopped once a month at my house and we tried to sweep every day. But since the Bissell Symphony arrived, I've used it almost every day and my floors are so much cleaner. No more dirty socks and dirty feet from walking on the floor.
I have hard water and the product recommends to use distil water and that is what I'm using. I buy the distil water from Walmart and I use about a gallon of it a week to clean my 1200 square foot home.
When I first tried to use this product it was a little hard to move it across the floor. But after a few minutes it started to move easily and I haven't had a problem since. Maybe because it was new and it needed to get the steam down? I also couldn't see any steam coming out of the mop and wasn't sure it was even working. When I turned off the vacuum and pressed the steam button and looked closer, I was able to see the steam coming out. And it was warm so it must be working. I feel like the floors are much cleaner and the mop pad was totally black from the first use. I have hardwood floors, porcelain tile, marble, and laminated floors and it works great on all of them.
I was also really impressed with the vacuum. I could see all the cat fur and dust bunnies getting sucked from the air into the vacuum and it wasn't just what was in the front of the vacuum. I have fur that always gets into the air vents and the base boards and this vacuum has such a strong suction that I was seeing them come off the vent without me having to lift the vaccum to the vent. The only thing is if the vacuum doesn't capture the hair or fur the first shot and you had pushed the steam mop over it, you can't get it vacuumed up the second time. It doesn't work backwards. Only pushing forward so I need to make sure the Bissell is behind the dirt before I start.
I like the steam shot also. Now that is really hot steam. Feels like the hot steam from boiling water. But it only lasts for a few minutes and you have to wait about another minute for it to heat up again. Also if you are cleaning a large area, you need to fill it up often. I don't know how much water you are suppose to put in this thing and I only put in one cup full with the cup that was provided for the steam shot. The instruction manual doesn't tell you either. It worked great on the grill but I don't recommend it for the oven if you haven't cleaned yours in a long time. It works, but it was taking such a long time to clean. I was only able to clean part of the door and never got to the rest of it because it was taking too long. But so far it has worked great on everything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

Vacuum worked..Mop sanitized the dirt on the floor

03/14/2014
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My kitchen gets a lot of use. (I have a hardwood floor) Cooking, two dogs, two boys. Tried the mop out, and while the vac feature picked up all the crumbs and dog hair pretty well, after three passes with the mop over the same area, I could still see the dirt and drip spots on the floor. So after steam mopping the kitchen, I took a damp white washcloth and mopped the kitchen floor with it to see what the mop had missed. What came off the floor made me know this was not the mop for me. I guess it just sanitized the dirt. I think I'll just go back to sweep, vac, & mop..and know my floors are really clean. Too bad though, I was really hoping this would save me some time and steps. Maybe this would work better on a tile floor?
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop, 1132

Such a life saver!

07/02/2014
By ,
Little Rock Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I got this steam vac a month ago, I really wanted to try it out before I reviewed it so I could give an accurate review. This vacuum exceeded my expectations. It is very lightweight with an extra long cord. It couldn't be easier to fill the water tank no having to remove the tank, fill it up and carry that heavy thing back and try to install it without making a mess. All you do is open a little latch door, fill it up with water, close it and you're done. You plug it in and wait about three minutes at the most for it to get warmed up. You can steam, Vacuum and dust all at the same time. Or you can just steam clean or you can just vacuum. It is so easy to get the pad off, You never even have to skip a beat to remove the pad, and the vacuum will pick up everything, I have an eight-year-old boy, a 16 month old boy and a two month old boy puppy and a husband, and this thing picks up Anything they can leave behind. It picks up those annoying plastic Capri Sun straws that never windup in the trashcan, I started throwing things on the floor just to see what it could pick up I found the biggest Lays potato chip and it instantly picked it up, not crushed it, not pushed around, sucked it right up! My entire house is hardwood floors except my bedroom and I hate sweeping so this saved my life. For 1850 square feet of hardwood floors it takes me 20 mins to sweep, dust and sanitize the floors. One tank will do the entire wood floors. Then you just wash the pads. They provide 2 and I ordered 2 more. You must own this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next