Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Get this ZTE Unico phone from Straight Talk and get access to Walmart's prepaid mobile phone service. With Android 4.1 and a 5MP camera, you have plenty of features to keep you connected and entertained.
Average Customer Rating:
3.326 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation59%27 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
78 Questions | 194 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Good Phone - Fast Connection

04/01/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews before purchasing the phone but wasn't much about it. I bought it a week ago .I had the straight talk Samsung Galaxy S II, but it could be slow. so was looking for a 4G LTE phone. I Love the bigger screen first of all and Love how fast it works, it runs on AT&T towers. I play music and was not as loud as my daughters ZTE Majesty :-( taking pictures are pretty good for a 5mp camera, It does not let you take a picture of the screen like the straight talk ZTE Majesty. Another concern I have is watching any kind of videos either FB or YouTube comes out to blury it is not clear comparing to the ZTE Majesty . Am I the only one with this problem? Can someone tell me? Cause if all phone have the same issue, then am going to exchange it for the straight talk ZTE Majesty. If you are looking for a fast phone good pictures and don't watch videos then I would recommend this phone for you! hope my review helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
SCREENSHOT
Posted 09/27/2014
Screenshot is a feature that doesn't come with most phones, use the GOOGLE PLAY STORE to to download a screenshot app.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Features
Posted 05/06/2014
When you say it doesn't allow you to take pictures of the screen, do you mean screenshot? Are you saying that the Unico does not allow you to screenshot the screen but the Majesty does?
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

great phone for buisness and pleasure

03/12/2014
By ,
MO.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
almost anything can be voice input, of course to your liking. the photos mid grade. camera has lots of great features. my wife has the droid razor and she says this phone is just like hers. i had the galaxy S 11 and now have an I phone 4. i like the ZTE Unico better than either of those. has most all their features and then some newer technology too. a good sturdy phone. hint: keep the volume down so as to not mess with the speaker quality... oh good idea to buy the extended insurance!!! 56$ at W.M.
concerning connection trouble, just call straight talk til they get it right. most likely not the phone...
p.s. straight talk.com has a very interesting app. look into them. for those who are locked. i have only had my Unicor for three days now. i will up date as time passes. can not beat this phone for price and features.... compare to five - six hundred dollar phones!!! in comparison only difference i can tell is speaker is not high def and screen does not seem to be full 1080 hd but close... highly recommended!!!! p.s.s. apply for wall mart credit card get 25.00 off the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Decent phone, poor camera

04/12/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works on AT&T towers:
I purchased this phone close to a year ago to replace my Samsung Galaxy S2 which stopped accepting charge within 2 mos of 1 yr warranty's end :-( . This ZTE UNICO phone has irregular touch-ability, for lack of a better term. Sometimes the barest touch works, but mostly I find myself repeatedly touching & sometimes nearly beating the screen to get it to go. This is annoying at best, but it does work eventually. I have not been able to locate any type of sensitivity setting to adjust this.
I have rarely dropped a call, & when a call does drop it is usually due to hilly terrain. The sound for calls is clear. Texts sometimes take up to a day to arrive, but that doesn't happen very often.
The camera STINKS. Even if the subject was moving, my Galaxy 2 took crisp clear pictures; NOT THIS ONE. When you are taking pictures of small active children as part of your regular picture taking, this is a huge drawback; I can seldom get good, let alone great, pictures of them!
Conclusion: if I had it to do over again, I would have spent the extra $$$ to get another Samsung Galaxy S phone.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Brand new shiny phone

03/09/2014
By ,
Cortland, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just purchased this phone from my local walmart 2 days ago. Upon transferring my service from my old Galaxy Centura to my new Unico. Upon activation, it worked GREAT with my wifi connection at home. As soon as I turn my WIFI off, I have NO internet connection at all and I cannot send/receive SMS text messages as well. So far I have spent 45 minutes in a tech chat with Straight Talk, they couldn't resolve the issue. Then, I spent an additional hour and a half on the phone with tech support...again, they were unable to figure out the problem. So now I have to wait 24-48 hours before the issue is either resolved or until I have to call them back. A friend has the same phone, but had no problems with hers. So I don't know if I got the lemon or what but if the issue isn't resolved, it WILL be returned. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Arkansas
Try Using the Straight Talk Data Setting App
Posted 11/13/2014
I had this problem with my ST Samsung Galaxy S II. I went to Google Play and downloaded the Straight Talk "Data Setting App". Use that and reboot the phone and you should be able to access the internet and send SMS Text Messages.
0points
Customer Avatar
Paducah, KY
A little late of a response but good stuff to know
Posted 04/25/2014
The Galaxy Centura is a CDMA based phone, designed to work off of Verizon cell phone towers. The ZTE Unico is a GSM based phone, designed to work off of AT&T cell phone towers, that's why you were having problems with it.
The ZTE models that would have worked better for you would have been either the ZTE Majesty or the ZTE Savvy. Those are CDMA based like the Centura.
0points
Customer Avatar
TX
Lousy phone
Posted 03/11/2014
I have had a cell phone since the old bag phones and this is the WORST cell phone that I have ever used. I bought it 2 weeks ago and going to Walmart tomorrow to demand a refund of my money so I can buy a phone that is user-friendly. DON"T waste your money on this phone!
-3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Re: Great phone!!!

10/22/2014
By ,
NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone!!! This one was actually a gift for a friend of mine. I like the fact that you can surf the internent and hold a telephone conversation at the same time. It has a great camera,the screen is great for viewing videos or watching TV, and navigation is soooo easy!! This truly is a great phone for the price!!! I've already gotten two friends of mine to purchase this phone, and they couldn't be more happy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Love this phone

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice smartphone. I am happy with my purchase..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

HORRIBLE PHONE

06/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had straight talk for about 8 years now and have had about 8 phones, never had a problem with any of the other phones, this phone is horrible ! Save your money, I've had it for about a month and am shopping for a new phone .
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Love it

03/21/2014
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about 3 weeks now. This model had only been available for a short time, so there weren't many reviews. I love it. It works great. I have had no issues at all. I had an ATT phone before this one and I was never happy with it. This one has such a nice large screen and you can change your font size (my AT&T you could not). PS I left a response in the QA section about cases.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
PENNSYLVANIA
WHAT DOES IT RUN ON AT&T or VERIZON TOWERS
Posted 05/02/2014
JUST WONDERING DOES THIS STRAIGHT TALK ZTE UNICO Z930 LTE ANDROID CELL PHONE RUN ON THE AT&T TOWERS OR VERIZON
0points
Customer Avatar
augusta ga
hi
Posted 04/30/2014
does this run off verizon towers
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Very good phone

03/11/2014
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone fits all my needs like the good internal storage size, big screen, flash for the camera, run all the latest apps, and speed of access for anything with it. Now I'm still playing with it and haven't really tested the battery much but so far it's good for the most part.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Good upgrade phone

03/14/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone isn't perfect by any means. It glitches out sometimes and it can be slow if you have a lot of applications on it... however, if you need an upgrade. Like the straight talk phones I've had before I have great service. The internet speed is much faster than the last phone I had with the Galaxy Centura. My mom has one as well she loves it she can hear and much better with this phone as opposed to her last "smart phone". If you don't plan on playing way to many games it's a great phone. I would recommend it. I love mine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Utah
Fix for disappearing shortcut apps on home screen
Posted 03/18/2014
I have been having problems with the shortcuts to my apps disappearing on my home screen when restarting the phone. Contacted ZTE and Straight Talk and they could not solve the problem. I even replaced the phone.
I found a fix. I installed Nova launcher today from the Play Store and issue has been resolved. Apps no longer disappear when shutting and turning on phone.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Expect to talk to tech support ALOT

05/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone worked for about a month, and then suddenly I was unable to make/receive both calls and text messages. I would get an error message that said "Not Registered On Network". I called tech support 4 times, and each time they would resolve it, and the problem would occur again hours later. I probably talked to customer service for a total of 4 hours in one week. This was extremely frustrating and I would not recommend it. I ended up having to go through some seriously frustrating phone calls, ended up factory resetting my phone 3 times, and the customer service representatives were clueless half the time. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

excellent straight talk phone

03/09/2014
By ,
Parma, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the greatest straight talk phone on the market it has everything you would want or could need in a smart phone you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Up North MN
I need a phone that runs off AT&T towers to work
Posted 03/12/2014
Does this phone have the BlueMap on the package???
I'd like to buy this online but don't know if I can't see the package
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for the price !

11/15/2014
By ,
austin, texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked this phone up last night, finally activated today. Phone is amazing, first 4g phone I've had blows my 3g away. downloads are easy and fast. screen size is perfect for me 4.5". Sleek phone, for the price , you can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for 4 months but is now dead

01/01/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this phone for my wife about 4 months ago. Her only complaint about the phone was she had to restart it about once a week. However now the phone won't charge or turn on. I am hoping that replacing the battery fixes the issue.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

I love this phone

07/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the phone i have had it for about 3 months now there are however a few areas where i dont have a signal where as i did with my old phone from straight talk however i highly recommend this phone always have my 4 g and love this big screen
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Screen defect

07/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this phone for 1 1/2 months and then its' screen went bad. I could no longer use it; the screen had lines running through it, and i could not read the screen. I loved this phone and the service in my area was great, it had 4G! I was afraid to replace it with the same phone, and that it would do the same thing again. I may not be far from the truth, because i had another straight talk phone and in 4 months it went bad. The battery would no longer hold a charge, if it weren't for my 2 year waranty, i would've probably not got my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for 3 months

12/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone is pretty fast, takes great pictures, but my screen cracked after owning it for three months! I always had it in a case! Not sure why it happened! Had the protection plan on it, glad I did. No more in stock, so I will be rembursed!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

ZTE Unico LTE

10/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for a month now and it's great for the price. I have had IPhones in the past and this does just about everything the iPhone's does. Then u figure in the price with no contract and what a deal you've got. A very nice phone, you won't be disappointed.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

awesome phone for the money!!

04/02/2014
By ,
west tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had this phone now for about a month, i love it! it does everything i need and more! the camera is really good, has good quality pics and editing, the texting is easy for my large fingers, the phone quality and battery life are really top notch. i have excellent service for data, texts with pics, and phone on the att towers. MUCH BETTER then verizon! i would deffinately reccomend this phone to anyone in the market looking for a galaxy type phone for 1/3 the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk ZTE Unico Z930L LTE Prepaid Smartphone

RETURNED 2 ALREADY BECAUSE OF SCREEN ISSUES!!

04/06/2014
By ,
Lebanon KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited about this phone! I bought it, got home took it out of the package as soon as I power it on the screen has lines to the point you can even see whats on the screen almost like maybe it had been dropped. So I figured well its probably just a bad phone I will take it back and get another so I get the other one power it on and at first its perfect,I go ahead change my number over to the new phone and then a few hours later the phone starts doing the same thing!!! I love the phone I love all the features, I had the ZTE solar before which I love I just upgraded to this phone because of the 4g and front camera... sadly I will be returning this one too and haven't decided if I will try one more time or just go back to my solar.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next