Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

The Ozark Trail Deluxe 500-Lumen Lantern is designed to provide reliable, glare-free light wherever you need it. It uses ultra-bright Cree LED technology and comes with a lifetime bulb that never needs to be replaced. This compact battery-powered lantern combines a number of great features usually available only in lanterns of larger dimensions. A rubberized rotating dial lets you easily select from multiple power options that include high, low and indirect modes. On high, this Ozark Trail lantern produces 500 lumens of illumination and can run for up to 21 hours. Switch to low setting for a much less bright illumination of only 30 lumens for up to 720 continuous hours of run-time. The Ozark Trail Deluxe 500-Lumen Lantern also features an impact-resistant construction and a convenient carrying handle. It would make a great addition to a campsite or home emergency kit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%16 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Great except for one important thing.

09/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this lantern is quite good in it's light output. Lumens really do matter. My only real problem is that the way it is designed. When on the normal light setting and sitting on a table or hanging up, most of the light is directed upward cause the LED's are recessed in the bottom. That's great if you don't want to do things like eat or play games etc. on your camping table or on the floor of your tent where the strongest light would be most useful. The weak indirect setting directs light down, but so what, that doesn't really help to light the lower areas. If you turn the lantern upside down then it works better. This can be done because the top is flat. Then you get the light where you need it most. This works pretty good but the basic design should be changed so more of the light goes downward as well as out to the sides like regualar lanterns, and not up into the trees or on the tent or car ceiling. I'll keep it though cause of the light output. May make a handle so I can carry and hang it upside down.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Pleasantly Surprised!

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just popped some batteries into mine...I just got it...and I'm really happy with it. Contrary to what someone wrote in the Q&A's about it, it DOES have a dimmer on it...like you would have on a wall switch. In other words it's not different "notched" levels, it's actually a dimmer. Gradual increases or decreases of light. The "night light" feature #that's what I call it# is great too. The light comes from the top down on that setting, and it's enough light to see, but it's mellow. #and no glare in your face# For me it's perfect. Just what I was looking #and hoping# for. I'm really pleased with the thing! As for the construction, It's made of hard plastic so I wouldn't want to bang it around to much or drop it, #or for that matter, use it in a heavy rain, though it still might be ok# but if taken care of it should do the job for years and years. I live on the coast of Washington State and endure a lot of windstorms and power outages every winter. Why I never bought one of these before I'm not sure! For what it is I give it an A. #I just wish it had a hook on it for hanging, but I can improvise!#
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Star light, star bright!

08/16/2014
By ,
Tacoma, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very nice lightweight lantern. It provides adjustable light levels and isn't bulky.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Best "Bang for the Buck" in an LED Lantern...

06/24/2014
By ,
Greater Washington, DC/Baltimore Metro Area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As of this writing (June 24th, 2014) this Wal*Mart Exclusive item is offering the best "bang for the buck" of any battery-powered LED lantern on the market. For instance, Coleman's competing model (the Twin High-Power LED Lantern) ranges anywhere from $50-80, only provides 80 additional lumens of light output, and takes twice as many D batteries to power it. This results in the lantern being larger and heavier, and it also doubles the cost to power it.
Wal*Mart's Ozark Trail Deluxe Lantern is the current "must-have" lantern for home power outages and/or camping, or even for just providing some light while sitting on your deck or porch. The dimmer knob, which allows something like 7-8 different power levels, is just the icing on the cake. I can't think of another lantern in this price range that offers that feature.
I haven't owned it long enough to know how durable it is compared to other models, but I suspect that some of the models made by other brands may have higher durability and better "weather-proofing", which is of course reflected in the higher price of their products. If you need it for outdoor use while camping and need it to be able to withstand rough weather and drops onto rough terrain, you might be better served by a Coleman or another brand designed with those needs in mind.
I also couldn't help but notice that since it's packaged in an "open" box, with no packaging that's designed to protect the globe, the globes tend to get scuffed and scratched up during transportation and/or while on display on the shelf of the store. I for one would not complain if Wal*Mart would improve their packaging to solve that problem.
With all that said, the value of this lantern can not be beat at this time. Wal*Mart's Ozark Trail brand has really raised the bar with this product. It is now THE lantern to beat. You'll only be disappointed if your expectations are completely unrealistic!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Ozark Trails 500 lumen lantern

04/07/2014
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the variable light setting. The lantern is bright on high. The indirect mode is what sets this lantern aside from other lanterns. It eliminates the glare unlike any other lantern I've seen, when place close by.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Agree
Posted 04/11/2014
I was going to write a review on this light, but on reading yours I believe you've summed it up very nicely. This lantern is set apart from most others by it's very nice indirect mode, and the variable brightness control. I'm going to be testing mine by just using it to see how long it runs. That will be one of the most important factors. The LED lanterns (and flashlights) tend to make much more efficient use of batteries than the older technologies, so I'm optimistic. Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Great lantern for camping and storms

05/10/2014
By ,
Blackstone, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lantern has a night light feature as well as variable settings for flood light. bright enough for camping or home use during power outages at home. With summer coming I'll need it in both places.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Super gift for the Outdoor lovers!

06/02/2014
By ,
Cass City, MI (the thumb area)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this online, shipped it to Scottsdale,AZ for my oldest son for his 44th birthday. They camp a lot with their two boys, hauling a camper trailer with room for the "toys"(4 OTV's). This time they went with three other family's to Colorado. After set-up, everyone sort of migrated to my son's camper, as he has a quick-fold picnic table & variety of chairs. He said the folks liked his lamp, as it has lower settings, making good lighting for card games or board games...etc. If you have an outdoors family member, or a friend; this makes a great gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

great

09/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned many colemans and I love the adjustable feature and the brightness!! It is a great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Great deal for the money!!

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this lantern just for a camping trip. Little did I know that I would like it so much that when I got home, it became a light "fixture" for my shed! Its so convenient and bright. I've dropped it several times on concrete while working around it and it has endured the beating. Only on my second set of batteries! Warning: don't stare directly at light.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Seems to be putting out a lot of light but

10/03/2014
By ,
Oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the glass is cracked and the item looks like it has been used before, maybe it was a display model.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Good lighting for the BUCK.

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was ahead of the schedule predicted. Love the upper dim reading light. Puts out room lighting. Can't wait to take it camping. Heavy enough to not be knocked over easily. Love the handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Good Lantern

08/03/2014
By ,
Santee, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very lightweight, bright and versatile. I don't feel it is as bright as a Coleman lantern, but it's less expensive, and so far, does a good job.
Good lantern for a "first lantern".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe lanterns

08/16/2014
By ,
Spring, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The two Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe lanterns were received with no shipping damage. They meet all my expectations. I particularly liked the free home delivery. THANKS!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Excellent

06/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very simple and durable design. Lots of light for just a battery powered lantern. Night light is excellent for camping. Not sure on battery consumption yet, but I'm sure it's not good when using the lantern on high.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Alot of light

07/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't used the lantern yet but it seems to "throw" a lot of light. Can't wait to take it camping this weekend to check it out.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 500-Lumen Deluxe Lantern

Nice Camping Light

07/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems well made. Very bright. Don't know about durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.