Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Petnation Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Petnation Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

If you are looking for a smart crate for your pet dog, then the Petnation Dog Port-a-Crate E-36 will make the right choice. Designed for trained pets, this crate has a top and front entry door for your pet to make an easy way out. Made from strong steel frame and quality fiber, this lightweight dog crate is suitable to hold pets of size up to 70 pounds. This lightweight pet crate is also easy to carry while you are going for a trip, vacation, or to a nearby park. The Petnation port a crate for dogs features zipper door locks for additional security. Easy to assemble, this washable crate is easy to maintain as well.
Average Customer Rating:
4.523 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(193 Reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
141
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation92%178 out of 193reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
141
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

E-36 & E-24

07/15/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the 36 for my rescued 4 yr old lab, and my resuced 10 month old bichon mix. Both are used to soft crates.
I purchased these basically for the color. Their old ones have been retired to camping now.
Few soft crates are available in a color palette suitable for a family/living room area.
Corners are reinforced, fabric is tough.
Zippers are tight to close at first because of the newness of the fabric. I was concerned about the ventilation, but with the top and sides, even the furriest is comfortable.
The lab loves looking out the convertible top. The little one can climb out of the top. Both pets enjoy their "rooms" as we have always called their soft crates. They are trained to "go to your room" when they come in w/wet paws or when we call it is our dinner without having to zip the doors.
Excellent value/great color- exceeded our expectations! Would be a great gift for that new pet owner!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 2 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

Everything I had hoped for!

09/28/2008
By ,
Bend, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all reviews on walmart.com and thought I would give this one a try. I also compared prices elsewhere on this and similar soft-sided crates, and this one is the very best deal. I was upgrading from a medium plastic kennel for my fast growing Pit/Lab pup, she is 5 months old. Once she adjusted to the increased space, she loved it! She will go in there at bed-time when she gets tired. She is in her crate all day while I am at work and has not tried to get out or destroy the crate. If you have a pup that really fights being in a kennel you may want to think twice though, I know she could get out if she wanted to, she is just very mild tempered. It is also very easy to set up and transport for overnight stays. I love this crate!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36
05/17/2011
By ,
Hillsborough, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first portable kennel I've bought for my 25 lb. cocker spaniel mix. We have never used crates with her before, but the hotel we were traveling to required it. I bought this big one so it would feel very roomy for her. It was very easy to assemble, and fit well in the car. The little bone windows are very cute too!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 4 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

Great Product and Purchase

07/18/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this crate for a weekend trip for our 40lb English Bulldog. She loved it. Great product for the price would definetly recommend.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 5 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36
07/20/2007
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to put my 50 lb. Vizsla in for traveling in the car & to crate him while we're gone from a house or hotel when traveling. He was smart enough to scratch and un-zip the zippers if he wanted out, so I liked that I could clip the zippers together to keep him from un-zipping it himself. He's a smart little booger! Unfortunately, since he couldn't un-zip the zipper anymore, he scratched a slit through a whole side of fabric and I had to throw the crate away. In my opinion, this was a pretty sturdy crate and would be wonderful for a smaller dog, like my pug. I usually keep them in a wire crate when I'm away, which is what I will have to do from now on.
I would recommend this product for traveling with or crating a smaller dog. It really is a good deal for your money, and I'm upset that I had to throw mine away! I did like that you could clip the zipper pieces together, and that the dog can see out of the crate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Review 6 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

A versatile product

12/04/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We researched many online sites and stores to find the right portable crate for our retriever. This one looked like the best quality and happened to be the best price. We were not disappointed. Our 5 month old puppy is already 42 pounds and will have plenty of growing room in this crate. He liked his smaller plastic crate but adapted readily to this one. We use it in our home at night (it blends into the decor well!) and tote it to the car when we travel with him. It is so lightweight but durable, and has straps and metal rivets that allow you to anchor it at the bottom if you choose to. Our dog does not chew on it--probably because it is very taut when set up and no loose straps, etc. on the inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 7 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

Excellent product

01/28/2008
By ,
Hillsborough, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This crate is easy to set up and very portable. It's sturdier than many other 'soft crates' I've seen and much less expensive. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Review 8 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

Super crate at a great price!

12/22/2007
By ,
Upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a professional dog person (trainer, exhibitor, owner), I can honestly say that I have owned and used almost every brand of crate available and these crates are my favorite! Sturdy, convienient, light weight and very portable, especially for car travel and overnight trips. A WORD OF CAUTION: these or ANY canvas crate SHOULD ONLY BE USED WITH A RELIABLY CRATE TRAINED PET!!! This type of crate is NOT going to work well for a young dog or puppy that is going to tend to chew or try to get out of the crate, nor for an adult dog that has not been properly crate trained. These are not designed to withstand a chewing Tazmanian devil!! If you have a pet that has not been PROPERLY trained to a crate or is a puppy still in training, your best choice would be to start with a metal crate to prevent damage and accidents. EVERY pet should have a slow and supervised positive introduction to a crate before leaving for any extended length of time, no matter the type of crate you select.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

Great Product for the Price

05/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 75lb Labrador that I use this crate for. He is fairly high-strung, so I was a little worried about how well this crate would work for him. He is crate trained already - sleeps in a crate every night. I just practiced a few hours each evening in the living room where I could watch him and he seems to be doing fine in this one. I am very excited about being able to travel with a collapsible crate, rather than dragging a big plastic crate into the hotel room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 10 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36
08/12/2007
By ,
Clarksville Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This carrier works well. Except for when my pit/beagle figured out how to unzip it. He eventually wripped the front off, but there is a website you can go to and get a new cover for it. So don't throw it away. It worked really well on car trips and had no other problems with it other than when he ripped it. I was about to toss it, when i found a website and for only 27.00 you can get a whole new cover. You just take off the old one and the new one goes right on the frame. But I love this carrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 11 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

great item

10/06/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchesed this item to use as traveling crate for my cat. I was driving 500 miles each way (about 8hrs) . I wanted something to fit her bed food and a litter box--- it fit all these items however, it was too large for my car --- it was too tall to safely drive with in the back seat.... however, it came in very handy at my final destination where it servred as safe haven for my cat from the cats that lived at my destination ---- I would recommend this item for travel with any pet --- as i said though, it is very tall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 12 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

Pet Crate

01/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product does everything as promised and is just as sturdy as the soft sided collapsible crates you can buy for two to three times the cost. The only reason I would go with a different version is if my dog needed more ventilation or if you can warrant the cost based on style/cosmetics. This crate has some ventilation in the screen on the front and dog bones on the sides and works great for my weimeraner as she gets cold anyway and likes the warmth. Although I could see where a longer haired dog could get over heated, especially in the warmer months or climates and might need some of the extra design features of the more expensive crates towards controlling ventilation. The style/cosmetics of this one is just fine for me as function/cost is the most important part but the higher cost ones do have more and maybe better options on styles/designs not any increase in function other than some ventilation regulation options.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

Fantastic for our purposes!

01/12/2009
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
People need to understand that, when shopping for ANY product, they are what they are. If you have a fiesty dog that tears up or chews up everything, a fabric crate is probably not a good choice. It IS a fabric crate, you know.
With that said, I have a yellow lab who is used to a crate and not destructive. This item was a PERFECT choice for us. She was a little skittish about it at first because it's a new crate but we left the door open and found her napping in it on her own later in the day.
This crate is VERY sturdy for a fabric crate. The frame is highly rigid so it doesn't move all over the place like some fabric crates do.
Also, I was very glad to see that the entire door is mesh. I was concerned that there would not be enough ventilation because of the bone shaped windows but with the whole door being mesh, my dog gets lots of air.
I am very glad I made this purchase. It will be very helpful to my family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 14 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

A great crate for the price!

04/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These Petnation crates are the only soft crates I will use. They are well made and can stand up to my 75lb dog. The zippered door-flap is made of woven fabric instead of the cheap plastic screen. These are great for travel since they are so lightweight and easy to carry. I even use the smaller size crate for my cats' visits to the vet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 15 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

Large enough for male Golden Retriever

12/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started using this crate in our minivan for traveling when he was a puppy (I like my leather seats if you know what I mean). Now I use it in our bedroom where he sleeps. He is a large Golden Retriever and fits just fine. He loves being in there and I love that he has a safe place away from my 1, 3, and 5 year old! The opening at the top and the side vents are a great feature. Durable materiel as we have used this every day for over a year and it is still in great shape. I've even seen my 3 and 5 year old standing and sitting on the top of it! ugh. It is light weight and it breaks down flat so easily! We use it in hotel rooms and camping all the time and it's so easy to get in and out of skinny doorways because you can collapse it in seconds. No problems with the zippers or the mesh. I would buy this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

Great vaue for the money

09/01/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've gone through many soft crates between two dogs and the agility trials we attend. I love these because they're extremely affordable, set up really easily, are lightweight to carry, and stack nicely (only a concern if you go to trials and need to conserve space ;)). The downside is, as someone else said, the ventilation is not the best...they could do with less cutesy 'bone windows' and put together something a little more practical. But a fan on hot days fixes that :). These crates are also less likely to suffer the 'cover doesn't fit frame' issue that many other brands experience (many soft crates come with covers that fit too tight, making taking your dog in and out a nightmare).
I would not leave my girls in any soft crate unattended, because I don't trust them not to figure out how to break out of zippers (the one already knows from her puppy days). But these are great as quick housing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

OK for shorthaired dogs

08/26/2007
By ,
Chicago, Il.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this product for my long haired collies and find that there is not enough ventilation for them so I returned the crates. This crate would work for short-haired dogs who get cold easily but for long-haired dogs that easily get overheated I would not use this crate.
It is light-weight, easy to set up and take down and very convenient for travel. I noticed a strong odor from the dye most likely when I opened the box which I found offensive. Other than that, for the money, it is an OK buy. Although, my daughter found the same exact crate at a large builders chain for less money. It is still a reasonable price.
My long-haired dogs need a crate with more screening so that air easily passes through the crate and that is not provided on this crate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 18 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

Both dogs like it!

08/16/2007
By ,
Cincinnati, Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought a second Port-A-Crate for our newer dog. It's slightly bigger than the first, since she's a slightly bigger dog. Our first dog, though, commandeered it immediately.
I like the ease with which the crates set up, and their portability. Our dogs readily go into the crates at home and in the car.
The only thing I don't like about the second crate is that it doesn't have a loop to hold the front flap open. I improvised to make one, and it works okay.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

Just what we needed

09/17/2007
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading some of the reviews I was a little nervous that my 4month old lab pup would bust his way out of this create or eat it. He loves it! The first night he was a little unsure of it--the netting on the windows makes the inside a little dark-not like an open wire create--which is the only thing I would change about it because it's hard to see him in it-to make sure he isn't eating it haha. It was easy to set up and easy to fold up. Nice thing is when it's folded up its can't be any more thatn 3 inches thick. So far so good with this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate E-36

Very good crate, best value for the money

11/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About 3 years ago I shopped around and ended up buying 2 of these crates. I have 2 dogs, a lab and a border collie. I show them both, and take them to training class weekly. So over the course of the last 3 years these crates have been used and abused, taken up and put down countless times, loaded and unloaded from vehicles, taken to class and put on wet grass, and the covers have even been washed several times. I have been extremely pleased with how well these crates have held up over time. In 3 years of use and abuse the only noticeable issue is that the spring on the mechanism to hold up the top has become a little sticky, so it's harder to use than it once was (but still functional). Other than that, I have had no issues. I should mention that my dogs are well crate trained and don't chew/scratch, so that's one kind of abuse these crates have not suffered, but IMO they would hold up as well as any of these type of crates. They are lightwieght, easy to fold, store nicely, and were a great purchase. They have worked as well as or better than crates my friends have that are 2-3X more expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 181 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next