Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Petnation Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Petnation Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

The perfect indoor/outdoor portable pet home that is great for traveling. The Petnation dog Port-a-Crate sets up easily in just seconds, folds flat for storage and has convenient padded carrying handles. There are top and front entry doors for easy entry and exit for your pet. SMART ADVICE: Although this is an extremely well-made product, no fabric crate will contain an animal that chews or scratches to get out. This crate is not intended for use with aggressive, dangerous, or untrained animals. Do not leave your pet unattended for long periods of time. This portable pet home is not intended for airline travel. Always use good judgment and follow all instructions when using this product. If unforeseen damage occurs, replacement parts are available from the manufacturer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.599 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(379 Reviews) 340
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
271
4 stars
79
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation96%363 out of 378reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
69 Questions | 246 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
271
4 stars
79
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Multipurpose carrier.

11/26/2011
By ,
Stonewall,OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this carrier to transport my cat for vaccines. It looked more secure and comfortable than the others. The mission was a success and Tigger chose it for his bed. A picture is worth a thousand words.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Perfect for a fat cat :)

07/28/2011
By ,
Pullman, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat is 16 inches long and weighs 18 lbs, she loves this! I was worried it would be to small for her or she would fall out the bottom but when i got it and put her in she fit fine! I put her favorite blanket in the bottom of it for her to feel extra safe and not to feel her paws threw the bottom of it! :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Princeton, WV
Size please
Posted 08/05/2014
What size is this carrier?
0points
Customer Avatar
Rio Rancho, NM
Carrier question?
Posted 05/06/2014
Hello I was wondering what size you got your got? I have two cats that are the same size as yours and want to make sure I get the correct size carrier. Thanks! :)
0points
Customer Avatar
Arizona
Posted 04/02/2014
We will moving across country with two cats about the same size and i was curious what was the size of size of crate you purchased.
Thanks,
0points
Customer Avatar
N.E. WA
Size?
Posted 12/03/2013
I'd also like to know what size you bought. Was it small or extra small?
0points
Customer Avatar
?
Perfect for a fat cat
Posted 03/31/2013
What size did you order?
+4points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 3 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

No Carrying Handles!

06/25/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this 24 inch crate to carry my 2 cats in the car when moving. In the photo when I ordered it showed carrying hands to carry the crate open w/the cats in. I was sadly dissapointed when it arrived with no carrying handles! The only 'handle' it had was the one to use when the crate was folded. Doesn't do me much good when I have to carry my cats in the crate from the car to the motel.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Flaw in design?
Posted 07/28/2014
Most of them are showing up with a handle. I think it was just a little malfunction.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

playpen for small pets, comfort zone for larger

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the small version of this crate as my cat carrier for years and have recommended it to countless others. My cat LOVES her small Petnation crate. It is her house, her bed, her favorite hangout spot. A few years back, my boyfriend bought both the small and extra large versions for his cat; since he RVs, it's nice to have a larger enclosure for the cat so she can go out a little at RV parks. She loves it, too.
Recently, I adopted an older dog with some bladder issues, mostly stress-related from being in the shelter. I ordered the extra large for her in case I need to crate her if the bladder issues do not resolve and aren't fully addressed with diapers when we travel. My cat has already adopted it as a "vacation home", and one of my other dogs loves hanging out in it as well. The intended resident only goes in when I go in with her, but she does not fear it. So we're off to a great start.
The construction of these crates is excellent. They are very durable. NOT intended for animals with extreme anxiety or for aggressive animals, mind you. These crates are perfect for calm animals and for travel; my cat rides in hers across the continental US several times each year. They fold flat and take up no space at all. The mesh on the "windows" and front zipper flap is as advertised, extra strong. Zippers are solid and are also easily secured shut using a clip or small padlock. The funky new plastic smell dissipates quickly. Handles on the small model are perfectly balanced for carrying. And even though I'm not a Walmart shopper, Walmart is the only place to order these crates because they cost at least double everywhere else. Excellent product, and excellent value for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great Value

04/14/2014
By ,
Redlands, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, like you, read many reviews before purchasing a soft sided crate. I am well aware that they are not as indestructible as either a wire crate, or an airline style crate, and I didn't want to waste my money for something that would give me nothing in return.
I show dogs (Vizslas) and wanted to be able to have something portable and convenient for my already crate trained dogs. This delivers to my expectations. The XL size is quite roomy and comfortable, with plenty of space for them to stand up and turn around. They are also able to lay down in their favorite positions.
It is extremely easy to set up and take down; I think it took less than 5 minutes to set up the first time, without looking at the instructions.
I would never use the Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate to attempt crate training, that would be a futile effort as it could easily be torn to shreds, but if your dog is crate trained and you want a safe haven within the home, or hotel/motel, it should meet the needs of both you and your dog.
I recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Like it Lots!!

08/24/2012
By ,
Southeast Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 90' Chocolate Lab who has been crate trained since she was a puppy. If she wanted to come out of the crate she probably could, but because of her training and attitude it is a 'Moot' point. She sleeps in her crate in my bedroom every night and once in a while I take her with me on a trip & again she sleeps in her crate. I had a large portable crate for a couple of years that was actually a little big to haul around in the Blazer and the RV and I had to get a new cover because the 'plastic' zipper broke. Finally the hinges, (also plastic) broke and I started looking for a replacement. The Crate I bought from you is just the right size for my large dog to be comfortable in, but not too big to handle easily. It is easy to fold up, it has 'metal' hinges and a 'metal' zipper which I expect to hold up well. I also like the tan color, it fits in with any decor. I think it is going to be just fine!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Deceiving!

07/28/2014
By ,
Moyock NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought two of the medium portable crates (for my parents to transport their cats in) based on the pictures, and what it says the summary. I was led to believe that the carries had handles on top! I picked this carrier specifically because of the substantial handles it shows in the pictures. Well it doesn't have carrying handles at all! very DISAPPOINTED. My parents love the crate, but are having to take to a canvas shop to have handles added. Apparently only the x-small and small have the handles! just be aware!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Terrific for travelers with pets

02/21/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our order arrived to the site for pick up within the time window we were given. We purchased model #E32 (32" L x 23" W x 23" H) and it is the perfect size for our 50# lab mix. There is plenty of room for her to stand up, turn around and sleep in. The material appears to be sturdy and has a nice neutral color. The one we got has very little odor, unlike those mentioned in previous reviews. Set up and tear down was a piece of cake. Love the "skylight" feature. It will be great to take on road trips. Our lab mix was curious with her new sanctuary and went into it without hesitation since she is already crate trained. She loved it!! This product is a great addition to the hard plastic [airline approved] crate we use at home. We highly recommend this!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

perfect for travel

01/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace an almost identical product in which the zipper failed. My dog doesn't chew, but she scratched at the screen door (impatient to get out and eventually the zipper failed near the zipper's resting place where it closes). The pull eventually slipped off the zipper and I could not repair it. This kennel is a little bit narrower than the last I purchased a Walmart, windows a little smaller, but just as tall and just as deep. Also, these kennels don't have the bottom pad/board that came with my last kennel. My last kennel had a thin, washable fleece casing which covered a think sheet of plywood. I liked "floor board" because it smoothed the floor over some hard, irregular surfaces in my vehicle. I would imagine useful for rocky surfaces, too. I used the floor board from the old kennel, it fit. Overall, I'm satisfied. I purchased the size medium for my 9 lb Silky. I have the older, wider kennel for my 20 lb Westie although either is sufficient/interchangeable for either dog on lengthy car trips.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great soft crate at great price

03/28/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got my 2nd Large Port-A-Crate 32". My first one was purchased 3 years ago. I just got a second dog, and needed a second crate. I use them when transporting my pets in my SUV, or when visiting.
This is a fantastic price for a soft crate; a fraction of the price you have to pay for other brands or from other vendors. I love that it comes in a 32" size. My 50 lb. Lab fits it with room to spare. Other brands come in 30" (too small) or 36" (bigger than I need). The sizes shown in Walmart's listing for the Large and Extra large are wrong. The Large is 32 x 23 x 23, and the Extra Large is 36 x 25 x 25. See the manufacturer's web site (firstrax.net) for more info.
This crate has a larger floor area than an equivalent sized plastic crate. That is because its sides are vertical. Plastic crates have angled sides, resulting in a smaller floor area.
Like other reviewers, my crate arrived a strong petroleum odor. It took a few days of airing outdoors for the odor to dissapate. Don't expect to use your crate for a few days after its arrival.
The floor material of my first crate tore after about a year of use. The failure was caused by it rubbing on the rear seat latch of my SUV. Fiortunately, Firstrax sells replacement covers, so I was able to repair it. I now use a sheet of foam under the crate when it is in my car, which has prevented futher wear issues.
Like any soft crate, don't use it with dogs that are strong diggers or chewers. Any soft crate can be destroyed in minutes by a determined dog. But if your dog is suitable, you can't find a better value than this crate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great

06/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well build and convenient. Down side is finding the right size pad to fit in.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great product

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This crate works great for me, and is very sturdy. It is easy to take along in the RV, or anywhere I need to crate my dog. She is a 65 lb. Labradoodle, and has plenty of room to stretch out and sleep. I put a bed in it, and she has plenty of room to walk right in. Would highly recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available
12/27/2008
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a bad carrier. My only complaint is the bottom isn't solid, you can see and feel the paws stick out on bottom. Must not feel very sturdy to the animals.
Other then that, I like it and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Petnation Port-a-crate e2

05/20/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an extremely high quality product. It is stitched and built to last.
The over all design is reminiscent of a tent and camping.
The features I like most of all are the mesh windows ALL around. Secondly, the fact that it's not a cage/gate door, it is a fully meshed zippered door. Fantastic for your pet, when inside they can see everything that's going on.
Easy to use and it folds up nicely.
It also has a zippered sunroof, it does not have a mesh window but the fact that you can open it up from that angle is perfect for sun if outdoors or just for fun. No other dog crate that I have seen has this feature, it's unique.
Overall, it feels open to the 'outside', not at all restrictive looking like the rest of crates and cages out there. It is cozy and comfortable.
Again, very high quality and unique design.
*****************************************************************************
If you search other sites (which I've done when searching for this crate) Walmart's price for this product is about $20 less than the rest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Kitty Carrier

06/09/2009
By ,
Eugene, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I have been searching for online. Leonardo really hates cat carriers, but I leave it set up in my living room and, sometimes, he will even take a cat-nap in it. I'm very satisfied with the price, the quickness of delivery, and the quality of the product. Thank you...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

love it!

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this crate! My Whoodle got his foot stuck in the metal crate and we had to cut the wires to get him out! It was so scary for him and us we will never use a metal crate again! This one is safe and has 2 doors one on top and one in the front.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Exceeds expectations

06/09/2009
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thrilled to receive my Port-a-Crate in less than 24 hours. It was easy to assemble, and is quite durable. My small mixed-breed puppy took to it right away. Since he is less than 2lbs., he seems to enjoy the security of it. In fact, the other night, my puppy jumped into it to go back to sleep. I use it for traveling and also to crate him overnight. It is also helping him to become housebroken. I would highly recommend this product for its price and value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Wow! What a great carrier for the money!

10/28/2013
By ,
Cocoa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the 30" version to use as a kennel for a kitten I rescued. I needed room for a small litter pan, bed, food and water dishes. I was so impressed I decided to buy the smaller version for the trips to the vet, etc. The small version is as well built as the larger one. I compared the price with lots of other carriers and there is nothing this nice anywhere close for the money. I will recommend this to everyone that needs a nice, reasonably priced carrier. By the way, the larger version was a bargain too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Yuma, Arizona
Smaller Version
Posted 11/12/2013
I have a large cat, fat and long, probably about 16 - 20 inches long, and about 20 pounds, and I am moving and need a carrier that is comfortable for her, because it is a 12 hour drive. Which size would you recommend? I find it better to get advise from someone who already knows the product. Than you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Dog Love It !

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made - Lightweight - Fits on armrest in SUV - Dog loves it at home and away!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Excellent value for the cost

06/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good buy. Easy to use. Well built. Excellent value for the price. I would like more screened areas as I have short nosed dogs and air circulation is very important.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 341 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next