Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Petnation Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Petnation Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

The perfect indoor/outdoor portable pet home that is great for traveling. The Petnation dog Port-a-Crate sets up easily in just seconds, folds flat for storage and has convenient padded carrying handles. There are top and front entry doors for easy entry and exit for your pet. SMART ADVICE: Although this is an extremely well-made product, no fabric crate will contain an animal that chews or scratches to get out. This crate is not intended for use with aggressive, dangerous, or untrained animals. Do not leave your pet unattended for long periods of time. This portable pet home is not intended for airline travel. Always use good judgment and follow all instructions when using this product. If unforeseen damage occurs, replacement parts are available from the manufacturer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.589 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(314 Reviews) 275
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
220
4 stars
72
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation96%301 out of 313reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 225 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
220
4 stars
72
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Multipurpose carrier.

11/26/2011
By ,
Stonewall,OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this carrier to transport my cat for vaccines. It looked more secure and comfortable than the others. The mission was a success and Tigger chose it for his bed. A picture is worth a thousand words.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Perfect for a fat cat :)

07/28/2011
By ,
Pullman, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat is 16 inches long and weighs 18 lbs, she loves this! I was worried it would be to small for her or she would fall out the bottom but when i got it and put her in she fit fine! I put her favorite blanket in the bottom of it for her to feel extra safe and not to feel her paws threw the bottom of it! :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Rio Rancho, NM
Carrier question?
Posted 05/06/2014
Hello I was wondering what size you got your got? I have two cats that are the same size as yours and want to make sure I get the correct size carrier. Thanks! :)
0points
Customer Avatar
Arizona
Posted 04/02/2014
We will moving across country with two cats about the same size and i was curious what was the size of size of crate you purchased.
Thanks,
0points
Customer Avatar
N.E. WA
Size?
Posted 12/03/2013
I'd also like to know what size you bought. Was it small or extra small?
0points
Customer Avatar
?
Perfect for a fat cat
Posted 03/31/2013
What size did you order?
+3points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 3 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

No Carrying Handles!

06/25/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this 24 inch crate to carry my 2 cats in the car when moving. In the photo when I ordered it showed carrying hands to carry the crate open w/the cats in. I was sadly dissapointed when it arrived with no carrying handles! The only 'handle' it had was the one to use when the crate was folded. Doesn't do me much good when I have to carry my cats in the crate from the car to the motel.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great Value

04/14/2014
By ,
Redlands, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, like you, read many reviews before purchasing a soft sided crate. I am well aware that they are not as indestructible as either a wire crate, or an airline style crate, and I didn't want to waste my money for something that would give me nothing in return.
I show dogs (Vizslas) and wanted to be able to have something portable and convenient for my already crate trained dogs. This delivers to my expectations. The XL size is quite roomy and comfortable, with plenty of space for them to stand up and turn around. They are also able to lay down in their favorite positions.
It is extremely easy to set up and take down; I think it took less than 5 minutes to set up the first time, without looking at the instructions.
I would never use the Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate to attempt crate training, that would be a futile effort as it could easily be torn to shreds, but if your dog is crate trained and you want a safe haven within the home, or hotel/motel, it should meet the needs of both you and your dog.
I recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Like it Lots!!

08/24/2012
By ,
Southeast Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 90' Chocolate Lab who has been crate trained since she was a puppy. If she wanted to come out of the crate she probably could, but because of her training and attitude it is a 'Moot' point. She sleeps in her crate in my bedroom every night and once in a while I take her with me on a trip & again she sleeps in her crate. I had a large portable crate for a couple of years that was actually a little big to haul around in the Blazer and the RV and I had to get a new cover because the 'plastic' zipper broke. Finally the hinges, (also plastic) broke and I started looking for a replacement. The Crate I bought from you is just the right size for my large dog to be comfortable in, but not too big to handle easily. It is easy to fold up, it has 'metal' hinges and a 'metal' zipper which I expect to hold up well. I also like the tan color, it fits in with any decor. I think it is going to be just fine!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Terrific for travelers with pets

02/21/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our order arrived to the site for pick up within the time window we were given. We purchased model #E32 (32" L x 23" W x 23" H) and it is the perfect size for our 50# lab mix. There is plenty of room for her to stand up, turn around and sleep in. The material appears to be sturdy and has a nice neutral color. The one we got has very little odor, unlike those mentioned in previous reviews. Set up and tear down was a piece of cake. Love the "skylight" feature. It will be great to take on road trips. Our lab mix was curious with her new sanctuary and went into it without hesitation since she is already crate trained. She loved it!! This product is a great addition to the hard plastic [airline approved] crate we use at home. We highly recommend this!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Good product

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and bought this for our dog to go on a road trip. We were very satisfied with the product, however it would have been nice if the product was sold in stores. We ordered the XL and it ended up being a lot larger than we had planned so we called a couple of stores in our area to see if they carried it and none of the 3 stores said they did. However, when we went to all 3 stores they all carried the product just not in the size we needed except for one. We were able to exchange it for a smaller one and were very happy with it. Our dog is crate trained but ended up tearing out of the front of the crate. The product is well made, we just should have tested it better with our dog. If you have a high stress/anxious animal I wouldn't use this crate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Easy to put together, good, strong base

05/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product arrived on time and it was exactly what I was looking for. I'm moving out of state and I wanted something comfy for my cat to travel 12 hrs. The medium size is just the perfect size for him, he has plenty of room to stretch and lay down. I like the front and top openings to have access to your pet.
The only reason I don't give it 5 starts is because the top zipper is kind of of hard to open/close and the fabric makes a weir bump, however it is so minimal that I won't return it. Hopefully, it will hold for many years, but I really need it for traveling purposes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Wrong sized carrier with no straps

07/22/2014
By ,
Phila. PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very unhappy because it didn't have handles or straps. I brought this primarily to transport my cat on her Vet visits. To be fair I have to admit that it is well constructed. If it had handles I would have gladly kept it. I think it would be just fine as a traveling crate for a medium sized dog. Therefore, I returned the carrier. But did find one just like this one but smaller and with straps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

A bargain for the occassional traveling dog

06/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A trainer friend referred me to this crate, stating that it was at least as durable, if not more, than more expensive portable crates she had used. At about half the price of others like it, I'm very pleased with the savings.it also only cost me $3 to ship directly to the house.
Other models have more than one door, and more open windows/sides, which allows for more air flow. For hot outdoor environments, I would definitely want that. But for most of my uses being indoors and while my dog would be watched when confined in it, this will work fine. It sets up and takes down VERY easily! NO problems, and very fast-seconds-to take down or set up. It is also very light to carry, so if a dog won't paw or chew through it (Monitoring is essential! Trained dogs only for safety), it is easier for a trip to the sporting competition sidelines than a wire crate. The large model that I purchased will hold my 45lb pup with plenty of room to spare, and would easily do the same with the 80lb Labrador. It does not have a carrying strap like the smaller ones, but does have a handle on one side for easy carrying when folded up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Petnation Port-A-Crate

07/15/2014
By ,
Brunswick, Me
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kitten right now has not used it but I like how you can fold it up until you need it. I had one just like it in Florida when I had to give up my cat Babee and she rode it all the way down from Maine to Florida and she was 1 1/2 yrs old and it is the perfect fit for a cat, kitten and small dog.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great Value

06/30/2014
By ,
Bristow, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the XL for a 12 yr old border collie mix. My dog is fortunate enough to have never been crated, so I purchased this for a safe haven. She has begun to destroy closet doors to open them and pull all the shoes out to hide in closets. So, I purchased this hoping she will use it as a cave and a place to feel safe when needed. The front will always stay open, so I can not give an opinion on securing an animal. Looks sturdy enough. I am pleased with the craftsmanship and the ease of it being portable. Very happy with purchase. Hoping she will warm up to it and be happy, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great Portable Create for a Trained Dog

04/08/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soft-sided crates are for well behaved, crate trained dogs only. It has only a screen front mesh zipper door.
I have a 75 pound Lab, 27 inches tall at the shoulder, and she has to duck down to get into the large size crate but can lay down in it just fine. This crate is used only for a class. I have a small car and it folds down flat (and comes in a flat box) so it fits in my trunk just fine. If I had a bigger car I would have gotten the extra large but I knew I had to get the crate and my dog back and forth to class.
I bought a pad for the inside of it and can even fold it up with the pad still in it. It is light, easy enough to carry with one hand. It has two bars on each side at the top that snap into each other with a spring.
The top has a 'sunroof'! My dog will lay down in it at home and if she hears something she sits up all the way and looks out through the open sunroof.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Nice travel crate

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
extremely light
love the metal framing for extra support/durability
disappointed that it doesn't come with stakes (even though it's designed for stakes)
overall, great purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great soft crate at great price

03/28/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got my 2nd Large Port-A-Crate 32". My first one was purchased 3 years ago. I just got a second dog, and needed a second crate. I use them when transporting my pets in my SUV, or when visiting.
This is a fantastic price for a soft crate; a fraction of the price you have to pay for other brands or from other vendors. I love that it comes in a 32" size. My 50 lb. Lab fits it with room to spare. Other brands come in 30" (too small) or 36" (bigger than I need). The sizes shown in Walmart's listing for the Large and Extra large are wrong. The Large is 32 x 23 x 23, and the Extra Large is 36 x 25 x 25. See the manufacturer's web site (firstrax.net) for more info.
This crate has a larger floor area than an equivalent sized plastic crate. That is because its sides are vertical. Plastic crates have angled sides, resulting in a smaller floor area.
Like other reviewers, my crate arrived a strong petroleum odor. It took a few days of airing outdoors for the odor to dissapate. Don't expect to use your crate for a few days after its arrival.
The floor material of my first crate tore after about a year of use. The failure was caused by it rubbing on the rear seat latch of my SUV. Fiortunately, Firstrax sells replacement covers, so I was able to repair it. I now use a sheet of foam under the crate when it is in my car, which has prevented futher wear issues.
Like any soft crate, don't use it with dogs that are strong diggers or chewers. Any soft crate can be destroyed in minutes by a determined dog. But if your dog is suitable, you can't find a better value than this crate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great product comes in Small, Medium and large.

07/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted a cage to transport our dog. The only problem is we have to carry it because the crate doesn't have straps. But our dog fits in it comfortably. We got a medium and its just right for our shih.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great for cats too.

07/04/2014
By ,
Troy,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this crate for my oversized cat, that weights about 15lbs. She fits perfectly in it.
And it is light enough to carry my oversized cat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Greatly improved product

06/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The new design of this portable crate is great. The crate folds flat for easy storage and is now very easy to set up. The materials are very durable. The screen mesh door rolls up to remain open as does the opening in the top which gives your pet great air circulation while providing them with a safe place to relax. I purchased the small, medium and extra large for multiple uses. The older models employed a spring tension system to set up while the new model simply folds, it's wonderful! I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Good Quality

05/09/2014
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this crate to safely transport our 10 lb. Silky Terrier on our car trips. He has been traveling safely in the back seat crated since he was 8 weeks old, he is 5 now. We needed to replace our other one a different brand because the zipper broke. We got creative and had to add a strap to the top of the crate from end to end, so we could secure it and another strap to the one we added to the crate and secured it to the back of the metal headrest on the back of the seat. If we have to stop short, he is safely secured instead of how other people let their dogs loose, hanging out the window, sitting on their laps etc. which is a disaster waiting to happen. We knew someone years ago that had a car accident and their dog got out and hit and killed by a car. It is made very well and I am sure we will get years of use with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available
12/27/2008
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a bad carrier. My only complaint is the bottom isn't solid, you can see and feel the paws stick out on bottom. Must not feel very sturdy to the animals.
Other then that, I like it and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 276 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next