Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Petnation Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Petnation Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

The perfect indoor/outdoor portable pet home that is great for traveling. The Petnation dog Port-a-Crate sets up easily in just seconds, folds flat for storage and has convenient padded carrying handles. There are top and front entry doors for easy entry and exit for your pet. SMART ADVICE: Although this is an extremely well-made product, no fabric crate will contain an animal that chews or scratches to get out. This crate is not intended for use with aggressive, dangerous, or untrained animals. Do not leave your pet unattended for long periods of time. This portable pet home is not intended for airline travel. Always use good judgment and follow all instructions when using this product. If unforeseen damage occurs, replacement parts are available from the manufacturer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(291 Reviews) 252
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
208
4 stars
67
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%280 out of 290reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 214 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
208
4 stars
67
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Perfect for a fat cat :)

07/28/2011
By ,
Pullman, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat is 16 inches long and weighs 18 lbs, she loves this! I was worried it would be to small for her or she would fall out the bottom but when i got it and put her in she fit fine! I put her favorite blanket in the bottom of it for her to feel extra safe and not to feel her paws threw the bottom of it! :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Arizona
Posted 04/02/2014
We will moving across country with two cats about the same size and i was curious what was the size of size of crate you purchased.
Thanks,
0points
Customer Avatar
N.E. WA
Size?
Posted 12/03/2013
I'd also like to know what size you bought. Was it small or extra small?
0points
Customer Avatar
?
Perfect for a fat cat
Posted 03/31/2013
What size did you order?
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Multipurpose carrier.

11/26/2011
By ,
Stonewall,OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this carrier to transport my cat for vaccines. It looked more secure and comfortable than the others. The mission was a success and Tigger chose it for his bed. A picture is worth a thousand words.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great Value

04/14/2014
By ,
Redlands, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, like you, read many reviews before purchasing a soft sided crate. I am well aware that they are not as indestructible as either a wire crate, or an airline style crate, and I didn't want to waste my money for something that would give me nothing in return.
I show dogs (Vizslas) and wanted to be able to have something portable and convenient for my already crate trained dogs. This delivers to my expectations. The XL size is quite roomy and comfortable, with plenty of space for them to stand up and turn around. They are also able to lay down in their favorite positions.
It is extremely easy to set up and take down; I think it took less than 5 minutes to set up the first time, without looking at the instructions.
I would never use the Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate to attempt crate training, that would be a futile effort as it could easily be torn to shreds, but if your dog is crate trained and you want a safe haven within the home, or hotel/motel, it should meet the needs of both you and your dog.
I recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Terrific for travelers with pets

02/21/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our order arrived to the site for pick up within the time window we were given. We purchased model #E32 (32" L x 23" W x 23" H) and it is the perfect size for our 50# lab mix. There is plenty of room for her to stand up, turn around and sleep in. The material appears to be sturdy and has a nice neutral color. The one we got has very little odor, unlike those mentioned in previous reviews. Set up and tear down was a piece of cake. Love the "skylight" feature. It will be great to take on road trips. Our lab mix was curious with her new sanctuary and went into it without hesitation since she is already crate trained. She loved it!! This product is a great addition to the hard plastic [airline approved] crate we use at home. We highly recommend this!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great Portable Create for a Trained Dog

04/08/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soft-sided crates are for well behaved, crate trained dogs only. It has only a screen front mesh zipper door.
I have a 75 pound Lab, 27 inches tall at the shoulder, and she has to duck down to get into the large size crate but can lay down in it just fine. This crate is used only for a class. I have a small car and it folds down flat (and comes in a flat box) so it fits in my trunk just fine. If I had a bigger car I would have gotten the extra large but I knew I had to get the crate and my dog back and forth to class.
I bought a pad for the inside of it and can even fold it up with the pad still in it. It is light, easy enough to carry with one hand. It has two bars on each side at the top that snap into each other with a spring.
The top has a 'sunroof'! My dog will lay down in it at home and if she hears something she sits up all the way and looks out through the open sunroof.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Like it Lots!!

08/24/2012
By ,
Southeast Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 90' Chocolate Lab who has been crate trained since she was a puppy. If she wanted to come out of the crate she probably could, but because of her training and attitude it is a 'Moot' point. She sleeps in her crate in my bedroom every night and once in a while I take her with me on a trip & again she sleeps in her crate. I had a large portable crate for a couple of years that was actually a little big to haul around in the Blazer and the RV and I had to get a new cover because the 'plastic' zipper broke. Finally the hinges, (also plastic) broke and I started looking for a replacement. The Crate I bought from you is just the right size for my large dog to be comfortable in, but not too big to handle easily. It is easy to fold up, it has 'metal' hinges and a 'metal' zipper which I expect to hold up well. I also like the tan color, it fits in with any decor. I think it is going to be just fine!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Wish I would have thought of this before

03/11/2014
By ,
Owatonna, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We take our dog on weekend trips probably at least once a month and we always in the past would lug his huge, metal crate with us. NOT ANYMORE! This portable crate collapses to a very nice size and now we can fit more in our vehicle! Then when we get to our destination it takes two seconds to put it up for him to sleep in and it seems to be very well constructed. It works perfectly for us. Our dog is kennel trained though. IF he tried to tear into it for some reason it probably wouldn't take much to tear a hole in the mesh windows, etc. So just make sure your dog won't destroy it - otherwise totally worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great crate for its purpose!

02/14/2014
By ,
Northern Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for travel--to temporarily crate at a training session or dog show...when I want to be close but not hanging onto a leash...I would not leave a dog alone in it for long periods of time and certainly if not supervised by pet parents. This is just what I needed. Its light, easy to assemble and disassemble. I bought a large size and it seems larger than I was expecting. The box was hard to open without mangling it. My dog went in it right away and he seems comfortable in it. He really likes the "sun-roof". Good value for its purpose!
I have read reviews on other companies products and it seems people find this type to be easily shredded if the animal is left alone. My advice is to not use it if you are going to be leaving the pet unsupervised. Spend the money for a hard crate. But this is great for dog shows, hotel stays and other supervised needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Petnation Crate

12/04/2013
By ,
Saginaw, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this crate in medium size, with a new puppy weighing 5#. So, obviously, in the beginning it is too large for the recommendations, but we wanted it to serve her as she grew to full size of 20#. There was no carrying strap with this size, but the "fittings" are there for one. We put a cardboard box in the back 1/3 of the crate to take up space and it worked well. I'm glad the company makes the mention of "no fabric crate will contain an animal that chews or scratches to get out", to alert those who already know that their pet has this behavior. We did not know we were getting a puppy who had these behaviors. In hind sight, we should have purchased a metal cage. We will still use this, but not as a containment crate. It can still be her safe place to retreat to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Good Price and quality

11/27/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a soft crate for the back of the truck so I can take my 2 dogs on a three day trip in winter. (the truck has a canopy and is carpeted, but no heat back there) I think this one will work just fine. The dogs have already gone in and settled into it. I like the canvas sides and top for a little extra warmth. (I would have put my wire crate in, but it will be too heavy to move in and out and doesn't have any sides to keep them warmer) It also has 4 grommeted tabs on the base, so I can somewhat secure it. All in all, I think it is a good product. I would get one for the smaller dog too, but I think they will probably end up in this one together, for warmth and companionship.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great transport cage for my two cats. They love it

04/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My two cats love this. There is enough room for a bed and a litter box for traveling
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Good light crate.

04/16/2014
By ,
Winston-Salem, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

would be great if you didnt have to transport pet

12/29/2013
By ,
portsmouth, ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got the medium one and I will have to take it back, because it don't have a handle on it, Would be very hard to take your pet in it, because there is nothing to hold to for carrying. Other than that is a very nice crate.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Wow! What a great carrier for the money!

10/28/2013
By ,
Cocoa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the 30" version to use as a kennel for a kitten I rescued. I needed room for a small litter pan, bed, food and water dishes. I was so impressed I decided to buy the smaller version for the trips to the vet, etc. The small version is as well built as the larger one. I compared the price with lots of other carriers and there is nothing this nice anywhere close for the money. I will recommend this to everyone that needs a nice, reasonably priced carrier. By the way, the larger version was a bargain too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Yuma, Arizona
Smaller Version
Posted 11/12/2013
I have a large cat, fat and long, probably about 16 - 20 inches long, and about 20 pounds, and I am moving and need a carrier that is comfortable for her, because it is a 12 hour drive. Which size would you recommend? I find it better to get advise from someone who already knows the product. Than you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great Deal

04/09/2014
By ,
Middletown, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this crate for my dog to use at the dog sitters while we were on vacation. I purchased the large one. My dog is a black lab/beagle mix and she is very comfortable in it. It is easy to fold up. We love this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Excellent pet carrier.

03/05/2014
By ,
NEW SUFFOLK, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is excellent quality, size, price and style. I was extremely pleased when I opened the package and saw the actual quality and style of this pet carrier. THANKS WALMART THIS WAS A HOME RUN FOR ME AND MY BEST BUDDY OSCAR (MINI DASCHUND).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Medium size does not have a shoulder strap...

04/05/2014
By ,
Hillsboro, OR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The medium size is only a crate, because it does not have a shoulder strap or handles for carrying your pet in it. It does have one hand strap for carrying it folded up, but that is it. So, it did not work for me, and I returned it to the store. The crate was very well made, though, but the metal frame made it heavier than my larger plastic carriers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

portable dog crate

04/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this crate, I needed one for my dog in the car. He would jump over the back seat all the time. I can even bring this if I stay in a hotel OK for dogs.. I highly recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available

Great soft crate at great price

03/28/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got my 2nd Large Port-A-Crate 32". My first one was purchased 3 years ago. I just got a second dog, and needed a second crate. I use them when transporting my pets in my SUV, or when visiting.
This is a fantastic price for a soft crate; a fraction of the price you have to pay for other brands or from other vendors. I love that it comes in a 32" size. My 50 lb. Lab fits it with room to spare. Other brands come in 30" (too small) or 36" (bigger than I need). The sizes shown in Walmart's listing for the Large and Extra large are wrong. The Large is 32 x 23 x 23, and the Extra Large is 36 x 25 x 25. See the manufacturer's web site (firstrax.net) for more info.
This crate has a larger floor area than an equivalent sized plastic crate. That is because its sides are vertical. Plastic crates have angled sides, resulting in a smaller floor area.
Like other reviewers, my crate arrived a strong petroleum odor. It took a few days of airing outdoors for the odor to dissapate. Don't expect to use your crate for a few days after its arrival.
The floor material of my first crate tore after about a year of use. The failure was caused by it rubbing on the rear seat latch of my SUV. Fiortunately, Firstrax sells replacement covers, so I was able to repair it. I now use a sheet of foam under the crate when it is in my car, which has prevented futher wear issues.
Like any soft crate, don't use it with dogs that are strong diggers or chewers. Any soft crate can be destroyed in minutes by a determined dog. But if your dog is suitable, you can't find a better value than this crate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Petnation Dog Port-A-Crate, Multiple Sizes Available
12/27/2008
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a bad carrier. My only complaint is the bottom isn't solid, you can see and feel the paws stick out on bottom. Must not feel very sturdy to the animals.
Other then that, I like it and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 253 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next