Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Poulan WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Poulan WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Weed Eater C-Max Cordless 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger (WLT24) is a high power 2 in 1 tool! Yard work has never been this easy - with 24v of power, this trimmer is the most powerful cordless line trimmer available. Charge and Go. The WLT24 Trimmer/Edger provides clean, quite and powerful operation. No gas or extension cords to hassle with. This trimmer/edger can get to where the work is. Easily manuever around the far reaches of your yard to achive a professional, manicured appearance to your yard. With a flip of your wrist the WLT24 immediately converts to a high power edger! Durable guide wheel insures a straight, clean edge every time. Charger with wall storage rack is included for convenience. If you could only have 1 tool in the shed this is the one...actually 2 in 1 ! .
Average Customer Rating:
3.111 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation59%26 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

24V weed timmer a waste of resources

08/10/2008
By ,
Lincoln, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the weed trimmer in the summer of 2007 and it worked well for light weed trimming in the back yard but did not have enough power to edge properly and in only 18 months the rechargable batteries would no longer hold a charge and needed to be replaced. I checked on replacement batteries as of August 2008 in Lincoln, NE and the batteries are $41.00 each and since the trimmer takes 2 batteries to work it was going to cost me a minimum of $82.00 to get a $79.00 trimmer to run. Also the idividual I spoke with told me that the life of a rechargeable battery was approximately 2 years reguardless of use which means I would have to continue to invest more than the item was worth every other year. While I am someone who believes in having items repaired rather than purchasing new one I don't see how that would be beneficial in this case.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Nice Idea - Poor Durability

06/02/2008
By ,
Richmond, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this trimmer after struggling with a difficult-to-start gas model that I had for 10 years. The convenience of the rechargable electric is great! However, the trimmming power is MUCH less that my old gas model. I use it mainly to edge along pavement and walkways. This trimmer takes me easily twice as long to get the job done. In addition, I have to continuously go back over the edge that I just trimmed in a back-and-forth motion...very tiring but the only way to get through it. Now the final straw. The unit will not fully charge after hanging in it's charging cradle for days. I called Weedeater and they determined after a few checks that the batteries were dead and I'd need new ones.....all for ONLY $50+. Keep in mind I've had this trimmer only 18 months!!! That's it for me. I'm not dumping another $50 into a $80 timmer.....back to a gas model I go.......
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Fantastic For Me

09/20/2014
By ,
Fuquay Varina, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't even know how many years I have had this trimmer which I absolutely adore. Maybe 8 years! I have never had to change the battery. I use it for at least 6 months a year and I have an acre and fences, a 150 foot driveway, plants, trees and bushes and a shed that all need to be trimmed around. It goes at least an hour for me. I guess I was lucky with this one because I love the tap feature and it's good for your arms to make them strong. I am 65 so I have been using this since I was in my 50's; the same one over and over again....if the battery ever stopped holding a charge I would look for another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

3 months use and that is it

08/21/2010
By ,
Geismar, Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got it in late May. Even used it earlier today. It has gone away. Goobye to my $75. No warranty to help. I used it this morning till the it slowed down due to running low on charge. I put it back on the charger and waited 8 hours to use it again. I picked it up, pressed the buttons... nothing. It will actually spin when I press the buttons while it sits on the charger. The charger light is green, as though the battery is charged. Well... that is the last straw. I am going to get a real lawn trimmer after this. I am going to get one that belches lots of exhaust. I am going to get one that actually works. Maybe some day, they will make a 'green' edger that doesn't join the garbage can so quickly, to become the compost that doesn't degrade. It will be in a landfill for centuries to come. Only got use out of it for 3 months. What a shame. Word to the wise: if you do buy this product, do get one of those crazy warranty plans if available.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Can't find string refills

04/11/2009
By ,
Monette, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this weedeater middle of last summer and used it quite a bit. It worked well, especially the edger. The problem is I can't find the replacement spools of string. I went back to the Wal-Mart where I bought it, along with every Wal-Mart in near-by towns and I can't find it anywhere; in fact, they don't even have this model of trimmer anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Watertown, SD
Posted 06/19/2013
I couldn't either, until I found one for another brand at my local Menards that is an exact fit.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

good with a couple problems

03/20/2008
By ,
Stillwater, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cover to the spool keeps breaking and I have to replace it often....unfortunately it seems to be available only on the internet.
I got the cordless because I had too hard a time starting the gas trimmer. The gas trimmer is better, but not better than pulling my hair out trying to start it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Better than buying gas

04/29/2008
By ,
Plymouth, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only used this equipment for an hour or so. Seems to do well on light trimming jobs. Don't recommend using it for heavy brush removal. Has alot of torque and speed. Not sure why there is only one trim line coming out of the head like the two lines gas units have. Unit is slighty unbalanced and seems heavier then my old gas Weed Eater. Must be due to the HUGE BATTERY on it. I don't recommend these shorter unit to consumers that are over 5'10" tall. I am 6'3" and to operate it, I have to bend forward which can take a toll on the old back. Recommend doing a price check on a replacement battery (I forgot to do that). Not sure on the life span of the battey. BIG PLUSES!! its quiet, anyone can use it & I don't have to deal with starting a gas unit or buying $4.00 a gallon gas any more. Next is a battery operated blower. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Shortlivedbattery

07/07/2010
By ,
seymour tn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased this weedeater about 3 months ago.The battery is already exhausted itself.It's not like I used the weedeater on a daily basis.Only once or twice a week.The weedeater it self cut fine but the battery was suppose to have lasted for 2 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Great Product, Great Design

05/29/2008
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical that a battery powered trimmer could meet my needs. I have over 180 ft of curb, plus a sidewalk, driveway, and fence that I have to trim and edge. I have been pleasantly surprised with the quality and functionality of this trimmer. The edging feature is easy to use and the built in edging guide is helpful. The fact that is uses .80 line is nice since it stands up to more abuse (like a chain link fence) than smaller line in some trimmers.
Battery life has been excellent and the trimmer is well balanced. I am a tall person and I have not had to bend over in an uncomfortable position with this unit thanks to the adjustable handle.
My only reason for not giving it 5 stars is the line tended to run out quickly while edging and I had to manually pull the line out of the spool a few times. I was doing some pretty difficult edging with thick weeds and grass, so it was not really the edger's fault as much as it was me trying to edge an area that had been neglected for some time because my old trimmer was such a pain to use that I usually did not bother to do the edging on a regular basis.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Cordless Chargeless Feeble Junk

04/01/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased in April 2008 and worked great for two trimmings in May. I trim about a thousand feet all told. By June the charge was feeble so I left it on the charger and forgot about it. I tried to use it again in March of 2009 after it had been on the charger almost a year and it whirred for about 10 seconds before dying. To the dumpster it goes. I am going back to a Shindaiwa T260 gas trimmer that has never let me down.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Great Customer Service

10/27/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticed after using this trimmer a couple of times that the battery on the trimmer was dying much faster than it had when I first stated using it. After reading some of the other reviews I had decided that I must have gotten a lemon.
Got out the product manual though and read in it that when charging the line trimmer there is supposed to be a glowing red light on the charger. Mine was always green.
Called customer service who had me remove the plug from the charger by unscrewing this bolt from it, and then plug it directly into the trimmer. Still no red light.
After deciding that the charger was the problem, I was asked to send the charger back to their service department. Well, I procrastinated for about a week and never got it sent back.
Then I receive this package from UPS with a new charger in it from their service department on which the red light comes on when it is charging the trimmer.
The trimmer now works great and I'm very pleased with it. So if you're having trouble with the battery on the your trimmer being dead all of the time, check your charger to make sure the red light is coming on. If it's not, then you probably just need a new charger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Weedeater-OK / Battery = junk

04/28/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless trimmer did a find job the first summer I bought it. A little lite on power but enough to get the job done including edging. Loved the swivel handle too. Biggest problem the battery would no longer charge 4 weeks into the second season. Walmart does not carry parts for it. However, if you just love this weed eater you can get a replacement battery online from BatteriesPlus for $31.
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger
03/29/2012
By ,
lagrange texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it seems that like several other items iv purchased from walmart they carry it for a short time only. after a year and a half I went in to get replacement parts only to find walmart no longer carrys this model # and the manufactuor no longer makes parts. I am very disapointed in walmart. For this reason I will not buy from them or recomend them in the future
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Finally

06/03/2008
By ,
Fuquay Varina, North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They finally got the bugs out! As a 58 year old female, I use this product at least 2-3 times a week and I just love it. It goes and goes for me sometimes up to an hour. Just having a hard time getting the replacement spools.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fuquay Varina, NC
No Worries
Posted 09/20/2014
You don't need the spools; just wind your own line on! I'm 65 and have been using mine for about 8 years or more!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Value for money

11/20/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the weedeater trimmer/edger (WLT24) for about 4 months now. I am extremely pleased with the product (so far). The 24v battery is very powerful for my trimming and edging for my small-average sized lawn. I can do both trimming and edging on one charge.
The unit is a bit heavy though and I find I need to take rest after about 20-25 minutes. The edger does a surprisingly good job (I was bit skeptical with a string edger). One nuance I have seen is with the charger which has to be at a certain angle with respect to the electrical socket in order to charge correctly.
No more pulling my hair to try to start the trimmer/edger. Hope this holds out for years to come unlike my Toro gas trimmer that died within 2 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Junk Dont buy It!

08/18/2008
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seriously,I have been having to use a weedeater with a cord and it has been a hassle,I have trouble pulling on a cord for a gas weedeater.So i went and bought this weedeater..not good.Looked ok,it said to charge it for 24 hours..ok i did this..took the charger off knowing it should be ready to use and took out in the yard to use it.Very disapointing.No power to it,sounds like a toy power car or worse.And it only stayed going for around 15 minutes or less for a full 24 hour charge..I'am sorry but i'am spending more on electric to charge it then what it is worth or what i'am getting out of it..No good..I guess i'll have to get out my weedeater with the cord again,at least it is dependable.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Very Good Buy

09/02/2010
By ,
tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this weed eater for the first time yesterday. Since it had been a couple of months since my last weed eater (different brand) died, the areas to be trimmed were very high. This new weed eater mowed right through it. The battery lasted through the work that I had to do. I keep it on the recharger and will have it ready the next time I need it. As of now, I would definitely recommend this product. I hope it continues to be this reliable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Does the job

06/02/2008
By ,
Lincoln, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Went to the store planning on buying the $100 Black & Decker cordless electric trimmer, but it was not in stock. Bought this one instead, for $20 less.
Brought it home, and was happy to see that the trimmer is pretty much ready to go out of the box, after a solid charge first of course. The mounting hardware/charger unit was a little worrisome for me. Made of thin plastic, not sure how it will stand up over time. I got it mounted, charged it overnight, and used it for the first time today.
Trimmer worked well the first time out. Went around the whole house and didn't have to bump for more spool one time. I'd say I used it for about 20 minutes, and had ample power. So far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

Met my expectations

08/23/2008
By ,
Freeville, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am generally happy with my trimmer. It has power enough to do my general trimming and so far the battery holds out long enough to get the job done.
My complaint is that the handle moves up on me. And that started almost right away. When I took the handle off today I saw that the teeth on the handle were almost worn off. I'm 5'2" and need the handle low. I cut a piece of that sticky/grippy jar opener rubber stuff and placed it between the handle and where it attaches. So far it has worked like a charm. It sure beats having to pull start my gas trimmer!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WeedEater 24 Volt Cordless Line Trimmer/Edger

better than expected

04/01/2010
By ,
Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Just gave this trimmer a workout after it's 16 hour first charge. Cuts better then I imagined. Did a fairly light trim of the whole yard with no drop off of power. It powered through everything, weeds and grass without much problem. Two improvements would make this trimmer better right out of the box. First the line cutoff leaves the single line to short, and second the debris cover allows to much splatter to hit the user. Lengthen the line and improve the debris cover and this trimmer might meet most peoples need for a light duty cordless trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next