Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

The Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod is the next generation of Ugly Stik that combines the heritage and tradition of the original while maintaining the strength and durability Ugly Stiks are known for. The Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rod offers better balance for lighter feel, improved components and eye catching cosmetics for a more modern look. The Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod offers several new features. Ugly Tech construction, a combination of Graphite and fiberglass, creates a strong, yet sensitive rod with better balance for a lighter weight feel. Ugly Tuff guides feature new one-piece stainless steel guides to eliminate insert pop outs and can be used with all types of line, including braid. Ugly Stik Clear Tip design provides extra strength and added sensitivity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation93%38 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

Excellent ultra lite rod

04/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a longer ultra lite spinning rod to use on my pontoon .
I needed a longer reach in some area's and this 7 footer is great.
I have always liked ugly sticks for there durability.
These new GX2 rods are excellent ,good backbone , fast taper and extremely light.
I have paired mine with a Shimono 1000 series open face reel and 4lb Berkley Nano line.
You will not believe how far you can cast a 1/16 oz. jig !
The flexable power in this rod will let you play and land a lot bigger fish than you think
with 4 lb. test line.
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

Great rod

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 67yrs. old and been fishing since I was 7yrs. old. I have used Ugly Sticks for over 30yrs. For the price I think they are the best rods on the market. By the way, I have never had one break
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

happy buyer

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price and service. Fast shipping
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

It's an Ugly Stick

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, they upgraded the reel seat nut with a metal ring now (at least on some), which is a big improvement.
Still haven't caught a fish with it yet (only been out once so far), but just from casting and reeling in, it feels like it should handle just about anything I catch.
Of course, WalMart was the best price. Actually thinking of buying another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

Awesomeopipbyfhgfh

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome, finally eyes without plastic
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

Great rod for the money

06/22/2014
By ,
Augusta Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got the 7' ultralight for trout fishing with micro jigs. Nice soft feel and picks up light hits , can't ask for more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

excellent fishing rod!

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stands up to fishing with a 4 year old and all we put it thru. Truly unbreakable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

Great action

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this rod for my annual salmon trip. Looking forward to hooking into a 30 lb salmon. This rod has an amazing range, from 4-20lb test. And you can tell by its sensitivity at the tip coupled with its tough backbone. And considering it's half the cost of the base salmon rod price...no brainer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

Excellent rod for the money.

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it Trout fishing...it's perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

the new GX2 fishing rod

02/07/2014
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the GX2 fishing rod. I already have 6 Ugly Stiks and plan to buy more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

best of the best

10/12/2014
By ,
millsboro,de.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't beat an ugly stick-great brand name,value, quality and price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

Exactly what I was looking for.

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's an Ugly Stick. Do I need to say more?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

ugly stick rod

04/04/2014
By ,
Jacksonville Nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great new rod ,used once already and big difference from the old ugly sticks, cant wait to try at pier
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

great rod!!

07/03/2014
By ,
roswell, nm
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have used ugly stick rods since they started making them. i got this as an extra (i already have 2)
for the money, you absolutely can't buy a better rod!! and great price and great shipping from walmart!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod

great value

02/18/2014
By ,
long beach,ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Shakespeare Ugly Stik GX2 Spinning Rod
Based on the average of (27) ratings-only reviews
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5