Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shakespeare Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

Shakespeare Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

Get an action-ready fishing combination with the Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-piece spinning combo. Including both the Shakespeare Tiger Rod and the Shakespeare Tiger Spinning Reel, this great value combo is the ideal choice for catfish, striper and other freshwater and saltwater game fish. Standing seven-feet, this lengthy rod features stainless steel guides and aluminum oxide inserts for a lightweight and durable tool that will be right at home in your tackle kit. The practically fashioned Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-piece spinning combo has graphite reel seats and stainless steel hoods for long-lasting performance. Arriving spooled with line and with an intuitive ball bearing design, you can begin using this rod and reel combo right away. If you want an all-in-one fishing tool at a great price, consider buying the Shakespeare Tiger seven-foot Spinning Rod and Reel Combo.
Average Customer Rating:
4.225 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation89%63 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

Amazing, was not expecting this!!!

06/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this 2 days ago for $20 at my local walmart. Today I went fishing with it and caught a stingray! It is a 7' 2-piece medium action rod rated for 8-15lbs. The reel is basic and rated for 17lbs line. It works fine for a stock plastic reel. but I will say that it casts quite nicely and handled the stingray fine. It came pre-spooled with 12lbs line wich is a plus! But i think im gonna put 25lbs braid on it for stripers. Will be using it for catfish and stripers and I know It can do the job. Will prolly buy another one in the future.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

Great Value for Med. Spinning Rod

06/16/2009
By ,
Nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I own 2 of these rods and have landed fish up to about 35lbs. The first thing I did was put new 17lb Berkley Trilene Big Game line on them. Drags have worked well so far. Great Value at $19 on sale. The only down fall is the line the come with, replace it and your set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+166points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

AWESOME COMBO, AWESOME PRICE

11/17/2013
By ,
latta, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this combo for over a year and have fished very often in both salt and fresh water and I am so happy with it I just bought another. I once pulled in an almost 20lb Sting Ray with this combo and it preformed perfect. The Ray had the rod bent in a U position and it never snap cracked or popped! Lol. Even with a lot of weight on the line the reel is super smooth. I just respoiled with 12lb Stren and it is even smoother and throws more accurately then when first bought. Can't wait until my second one comes in! Happy happy happy! :-)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

A very good combo, for a very good price!

06/11/2009
By ,
Littcarr, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this Shakespeare Tiger 7' spinning combo for my birthday. I planned on using this combo for carp, and that's exactly what i did! First off, I love the rod and reel. I love that the rod is not too stiff, but is stiff enough as it is only a medium action rod. I love the reel also, and it's huge line capacity. Also it's already spooled with 240 yds. of 12 lb. line. That's a big plus. I would much rather the reel be spooled with 15 or 20 lb. but hey it's a free spool of line! The only thing I've caught this year with the rod and reel is carp, and I have caught carp as large as 23 inches with this combo! Plus I have caught a 19 3/4 inch carp, and a carp that was around 22 inches but didn't make it to the bank, it broke the hook off. The rod and reel worked like a charm, and for the price, you can afford to buy a new one. If this combo ever tares up, I will definitely buy a new one. I absolutely love this rod and reel!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

one of my favorite combos

11/08/2010
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this combo about 4 and a half years ago and it still works. the guy that said on the first cast the line got tangled it was because they overload it more than half the time. the reason your rod broke is cause you probably got mad and threw it or dropped it. my rod is 4 and a half years old and works 100%. the line you need to change out every 8 months at the most or it gets brittle and brakes thats just commen sence about fishing line.
if you want a good working fishing combo get this one ive used it in lakes, rivers, and even the ocean. its still in one peice and its older than my nephiews put together!
broke a couple good rods but this is my favorite and so far it's my oldest and best rod, if you got the bad one return it and get a good one and make sure to check it before you leave the store for any brakes or cracks or anything that could lead to braking
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

Works fine for me! Eyelets a little flimsy

05/11/2013
By ,
Omaha NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this rod and reel because of the cheap price, but the reviews seemed more than reasonable. I needed to check it out in person though, so I went to the store. The reel is made of plastic which was kind of a turn off, but I couldnt judge without using it. It comes with 12lb line on it already, but I needed this rod to catch the 30 lb catfish that broke my line the night before. I was still a little hesitant to purchase it, and so I set it aside while I looked at other combos. While I was looking, a middle aged man (customer) in the isle informed me that he had this same combo, and has had it for a while. He said he made the mistake of not changing out the line when he got it, but has since done so and has caught 40lb catfish on the same combo. It seemed like it was a sign, so I purchased it along with some 50 Power Pro line. Sure enough first cast out with it I caught a 5lb cat and it served me no issues. You should be carefull with the eyelets when transporting, as they bend fairly easily, but overall I am pleased with my purchase. I would recommend this product to others
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

Great Buy

06/01/2011
By ,
Millersburg, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great combo, I own 3. I use them with 50lb braided Spiderwire and they are great for catfishing. I've never had one of these poles break or even seem to come close to it. On a recent fishing trip to the Tennessee River I reeled in a 52" channel cat and the rod did excellent with Spiderwire. Overall great buy under 70 bucks for the rod/reel and 50lb Spiderwire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

Great combo for the price

08/03/2014
By ,
navarre, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks and feels very solid...easy to use and cast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

Good Combo

08/25/2008
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these a few months ago, one for me and one for my wife. Very good rod and reel combo. Nice action on the rod. The rod itself is rated for 40 lbs. So out in the ocean it is not too stiff nor too weak.
I didn't like the line it came with though. 12 lbs. On a big rod like this too light. I re-spooled with 25 lbs, because I use it out off the coast of San Diego. For small lakes though this combo gets heavy after a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

Best Value so far

02/22/2011
By ,
Madison, Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best fishing rod ive ever seen in comparison to how much it costed ive caught soo many big fish on it it is just as good as any old 300 dollar fancy pants rod you get at bass pro shops. Ive caught fish upto 50 lbs off of this pole and trust it more than my 100 dollar baitcasting combo!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

The Color of the item Match

08/30/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The color of the item online doesnt match in actual appearance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

Good pole, fishing line is poor

05/20/2012
By ,
Tracy, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pole and reel combo was great for the price. My only issue is that the line it comes spooled with seems as if it were on for some time. The line memory on this made it difficult to cast. As soon as I re-spooled with fresh line, this has been great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

Good Combo for the Money

11/25/2008
By ,
Tampa Bay
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought another one since the reverse lock went out on my first one. Keep in mind it's a few years old, gets tossed around alot, and still works fine other than that. The rod can handle about anything I've run across, snook and redfish have yet to pose a problem. I highly recommend upgrading the line, especially if anything you're fishing for has teeth. Great combo for the low dough!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

its da bomb

07/10/2012
By ,
philadelphia, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had this fishing rod for only 2 days today and i already love it. its the best rod to have for medium to large size fish depending on your rig and your line. i cought a 24 inch catfish with this and it was so smoth reeling it in. i sware if you dont get it you will definitly be sorry.
i also use magic bait chicken liver in chicken blood i also bought at walmart. its designed for catfish and it works like a charm.
the thing i would also recomend is
1- shakespeare tiger 7' rod and reel combo
1- Cajun Red Lightnin' Quarter Pound Spool, 20 lb
1- bag of magic bait chicken liver in chicken blood
1- container of night crawlers
2- packets of eagle claw snell hooks size 2 or 4
1- Mustad Finesse 4.5" Pliers
1- tackelbox of your choice
: my personal favorite is plano guide series drawer box for 33.80
8- 2 ounce sinkers
and 1 Berkley 25" Heavy Duty Braided Stringer and you will be set
together this will cost 120.46 including tax without the bullet weights
thats the best sugestions for people that dont mind spending a little money on
these suplies
thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Canadian Nightcrawlers, 20pc
 
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

great for pier fishing

06/10/2012
By ,
Arlington, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The long 7' length is great for jigging off a pier where you have a lot of line out. I caught 6 mackerel using this pole with a kastmaster lure. I did change the line. The line that was on it would cast out in coils. With a better line the pole and reel are excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

IF UR READING THIS GET IT!!!!!!!!

06/08/2009
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just recently purchased this for myself. It's perfect for large bass, pike, and other medium sized fish. I re-stringed my rod with 25 lb. string. This rod and reel combo is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

excellent product

10/04/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this tiger spinning rod 6 months ago and it has done me good i have caught some giant cobia and reds on it. for $19.76 you cannot beat that price. i would recommend this product to anyone. it does the job it is designed to do and it does it well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

great buy

06/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I changed was the line, I put 17lb line on it. Works great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

Great Price for a Great Rod and Reel

07/28/2012
By ,
Gainesville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't been fishing in about 20 years and decided to start back but didn't know what to buy. Bought this combo for a good price and was curious as to whether or not I should have spent more money. I can say I got my money's worth! I caught a small bream at about 2 lbs and turned around about 15 min later and caught a 10 lb channel catfish all with the same combo! The great thing was the catfish put up a good fight but with this combo it didn't take long to reel him in with little effort. Can't wait to take this to other spots for bigger fish!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shakespeare Tiger 7'0" 2-Piece Spinning Combo

best bang for your buck all around great pole!!

11/16/2013
By ,
winchester,ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i do alot of catfishing i mean alot lol this has to be the best all around pole for anything u want to catch mainly medium sized catfish..i use 20lb big game line on mine the green version and it does great i have caught many 20lb blues and flatheads on these dont be fooled on its cheap price it will handle a 30lber easily with the right drag settings and line i have atleast 6 of these best all around catfishing pole ever made!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next