Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Landmann Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Landmann Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

When you've got a craving for smoked barbecue, this Smoky Mountain gas smoker will satisfy. Gas power keeps the heat well-regulated, so you can smoke with confidence and feed a hungry crowd. Plus, the Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker has a porcelain-coated water pan for easy cleanup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%88 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

damaged

12/30/2007
By ,
Gettysburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was unable to use this product. It was damaged when we opened it. I returned it to the store and will wait till spring to purchase one I can see before buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Not a great smoker

11/19/2013
By ,
Kelso, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased locally, easy set up. But the biggest problem is that the smoker temperature control knob will not allow the smoker to go below 220 degrees. I called the manufacturer and they said that the gas line probably had an air bubble in the hose. I bled the hose and still got the same problem. Too high heat for smoking things like salmon or trout. I place an electronic temp reader at the mid level of the smoker where they installed temp reader is and still can't get a lower temp. I also asked if they had a smaller flame orifice and they do not. The manufacturer's manual (page 18) says that the temp can get down to at least 175 degrees but when I called them they claimed it was a misprint. So...This item is good for high heat smoking or getting a pork roast well done but not for smoking fish. I have gone to a LP energy company and they made me a custom flame orifice that now lets me get the temperature I need. The company has made my warranty invalid. OK by me. I get the lower temp now.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Not Impressed

05/27/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unbelievable service by Walmart and FedEx - ordered Monday afternoon and it was delivered the next day with no expressl handling. Probably would have returned it if I had the time to order a different brand. Very sloppy workmanship and packaging. (packaging had no visible shipping damage) Top corner of cabinet was dented, wire rack tracks were loose and bent, burner assembly was bent and difficult to align, had to chase several of the pre-welded nuts with a 1/4-20 tap to avoid stripping the bolts, and the one of the mounting brackets for the leg was welded to the cabinet so poorly that I had to use wedges under the legs to keep the box from rocking. The instructions are fairly clear (the reference to a 1/2" combination wrench should be a 7/16") and should only take about an hour to assemble if you don't have to do as much tweaking. The chip box is too small as is the water pan and to avoid losing heat from having to open the door too often you will want to replace them. The rotary igniter appears to have more resistance than the plastic knob will handle. Mine worked three times and now just slips on the stem. Customer Service was very accommodating about replacing it but unless the new knob has a metal insert I'm not expecting it to hold up any better. I'm losing a lot of smoke from leakage around the hinge side of the door. I think my bullet smoker performed better because I had more control over the smoke. All considered the unit does what it was intended to do but it's overrated for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Spend more, get a good smoker

10/18/2007
By ,
Lowell, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wood chip pan MUCH TOO SMALL. Water tray barely adequate. Cooks (not smokes) at too high a temp. With a full load of hanging sausage could not maintain below 225 degrees. With a single tray of fish minimum temp was 250. In both cases, outdoor temp. was in the low 60's. I plan to use a hole saw to cut vents low in the box in hope that I can regulate temp.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Simply not good enough

11/18/2008
By ,
Carver, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The water pan and smoker box are too small. I had to buy a $20 smoker box that was large enough to smoke enough wood to properly flavor the meat I was smoking. Temp does not regulate low enough due to lack of enough dampers. Need one on each side to improve. I had to add these myself and that cost an additional ~$10. Then I still had problems keeping the temp regulated down to around 160-180 degrees so I bought an adjustable regulator for it. By the time I was done buying everything to make the thing work I could have bought a better unit that already worked fine out of the box. That being said, it works fine now after all the modifications.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

gas smoker

08/26/2007
By ,
Katy, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cooks at a constant temp but the minimum temp is to high and cooks to fast. The water bowl is inadequate. The wood chip holder is inadequate. In order to smoke meat you must turn the heat way up to get smoke. If you could control the heat at a lower temp to properly smoke meat and you could get adequate smoke it would be great.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Not as Great as the older Model

10/29/2008
By ,
Dallas, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this same style of smoker back in 2005. The quality was ALOT Better in 2005. It had 3 vent holes, 2 on the sides and 1 at top. Thicker gauge steel, large water pan, a drip pan and heavy-duty steel wood box where you could actually place wood chunks "not chips" as in this newer version. The 2005 model was wider and deeper, but the height is still about the same. I believe I paid $149.00 or $159.00 back in 2005 at Wal-Mart. I bought this 2 days ago at Wal-Mart for $138.00. I thought I was going to get the same quality as before, but when I opened it up, The Great Outdoors cut back A LOT on this smoker. Now there is no air vents on the side, the water-pan and wood box is 3 times smaller than the 2005 model. AS you may see on the photo where the tag is on the front of the smoker when you open it up, it states “May not look as shown in photo.” That’s what the BBQ Smoker looked like back in 2005 b-4 the changes of the newer model.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Runs To HOT

07/25/2008
By ,
Winchester TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had read several reviews prior to purchase.- Main problem seemed to be control of low temperatures. Prior reviews stated that could not run below 200 F. I wanted a smoker that could control around 200-240 F. so went ahead and purchased. Walmart did a good job of delivering in less than 10 days. Slight damage to shipping box, but smoker was okay. Front door of smoker looks like someone ran a 1" wide flat roller across the mat finish while the paint was still wet. -- this is a non functional problem so I accepted it. During break in, could not control the smoker below 250 F empty with vent wide open. Temp ran over 275 F with vent closed. Have used it a few times now and on lowest setting with propane tank valve choked down as low as possible, cannot run below 240-250 F. (outdoor temp was around 90 degrees.) When wood starts to smoke, temp could not be controlled below 275-290 F with vent wide open. Have doubled checked units temp gauge and found it is about 5 degrees higher than my other temp gauge. Further problem found was that during last use, it started raining. - problem was that the units temp gauge leaks and collected enough water behind the glass that it could not be read. The only way I have found to control temp below 250 F is to open the front door slightly when wood is smoking, which also lets the smoke out. If you want to cook with it, the upper temp on high will reach over 450 with the vent closed. If you want to slow smoke, good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker
12/17/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wepll, first off this company is out of business. So don't expect any product support, etc. Second, this is my second smoker from this company. This smoker burns too hot for slow smoking of beef jerky. It cooks the food. I spent quit a bit of time refitting the orofice to the right speification to smoke jerky.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Very well made

09/07/2009
By ,
Houston TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very well made and easy to assemble.
Easy to clean.
I'm having trouble regulating the temp. I've used it twice 4 hours first time, 13 hours the 2nd. Using remote probes, temp would vary on its own 212-230 without adjusting. Second time same thing until about 5 hours in, then I couldn't get the temp under 250. I'll be calling the manufacturer tomorrow (1st business day)
I hope I get it working because it's a great unit. Yeah, the woodbox is a tad small, but you can reload it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Just a propane oven

09/06/2008
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In theory this thing works great, but as it comes out of the box it just fails.
The wood chip box is far too small, and even at the lowest flame setting, internal temps between 250 and 300 should be expected. Strange thing is the manual seems to think that the low setting will give about 125 degrees F, but it is always near or at 300. That is far too hot to do any real slow BBQ smoking.
These higher temps and small wood box may work for baking fish and chicken with a little smoke thrown in, but it just does not do for smoking ribs or briskit.
It is possible to get a lower flame by tweaking the knob between high and off, but if and when you get a good flame for 225, the fire is too far away from the wood box to even get any smoke from dry wood chips!
Strangely enough, the burner is actually too big in this thing. It seems like they would want to save some money and put in a smaller burner so we could BBQ the right way...
This thing is ok for the price, and with some modification it can work pretty well, but since it really does not work "out of the box" I can't recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Product Ok, Food Excellent

01/04/2009
By ,
Litchfield, NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this as a christmas gift. I am a real good novice cook with all meats. Although I feel that the product is real flimsy, door handle, smoker box small, water pan small. I smoked 2 chickens with it yesterday, it took over 5 hours, but it was well worth the wait, the flavor and smell blew me away. If the product holds up and I can get a bigger smoke box I will be happy with it. I didn't have any problem running it at a low temp in fact I had to kick it up to 300 deg in the last hour to finish the cooking, I still had a hard time getting the chicken to hit 160 deg. I should note that it was 16-22 deg outside and real windy all day. I started cooking at 12:30 PM and it was bearly done by 7:30 PM. Maybe I need to "kick it up a notch".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Great smoker/grill

12/12/2008
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have enjoyed it very much.Husband is long time
" smoked meat" man and years of catering exp.
A very excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Good Value

04/07/2009
By ,
riverside, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pretty new to the smoking world, this is my first one, in my opinion, this works great, the ribs i cooked had a great smoke ring on the meat, i need to master my rubs a little better, but the meat was tender. i think its a perfect smoker for the back yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

glorified grill

04/08/2009
By ,
Texico, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I am fairly satisfied with my purchase, I feel that the Smoky Mountain Smoker is just a glorified grill. Last weekend I smoked 30 pounds of venison sausage on it and it turned out great.
But actually, it didn't really smoke- so to speak. It just cooked at a low temp, which was difficult to control at first. There was no smoke involved at all. Next time I may try to add wood chips to the drip pan to enhance flavor.
The water box is too small also, as some others commented.
But it will be great for big parties and cookouts when a single rack grill isn't enough.
You can't just put in your meat and walk away. It
involves tending to quite often.
We are going to cook a green ham on it for Easter
and see how that goes.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

smoker review

05/24/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The fire box is advertised as "large cast iron smoker box for hours of smoke flavor". The soker box is small and has to be refilled too often. I am having a friend make a larger one to fit the rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Tasty Foods

09/01/2009
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall very satisfied with the smoker. Large capacity, does an excellent job. Have had many fantastic meals and can't wait until the next one! The major pitfall is it's ability to set the temperature low enough - able to reduce using a clamp on the hose. I also placed foil lined paver stones in the bottom to hold residual the heat when opening the door.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker
08/16/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mine also came damaged . The door was beat up . I was able to fix it . It runs hot . The temp gauge is not very accurrate . It does not go low enough to smoke , I think real temp was close to 300 on lowest setting. i tried using tank like someone else said to control frame but it goes out if left alone. I am going to change temp gauge to another one and have to modify to see if I can lower temps. It is too high to smoke anything . I think with some mods it will be okay . My main concern was being able to use it when fall and winter come . Probaly will work great then . Lots of space . Water pan and wood box are small .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Excellent value

09/29/2008
By ,
Vidor, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enables me to have dinner cooked for my family of 14 plus every Sunday when we get home from church with minumum of effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Very Good product

12/28/2008
By ,
Arab, Al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used the smoker and I smoked a boston butt and some ribs. This smoker worked very well it kept a consistent temp. The only bad thing about is that the thing where you put the wood is just to small. But, That can be fixed easy with a metal coffee can. But, It is a good smoker and I would buy it again and I would recommend it and as a matter of fact I already have.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next