Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Landmann Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Landmann Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

When you've got a craving for smoked barbecue, this Smoky Mountain gas smoker will satisfy. Gas power keeps the heat well-regulated, so you can smoke with confidence and feed a hungry crowd. Plus, the Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker has a porcelain-coated water pan for easy cleanup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%88 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

damaged

12/30/2007
By ,
Gettysburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was unable to use this product. It was damaged when we opened it. I returned it to the store and will wait till spring to purchase one I can see before buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 2 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Not a great smoker

11/19/2013
By ,
Kelso, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased locally, easy set up. But the biggest problem is that the smoker temperature control knob will not allow the smoker to go below 220 degrees. I called the manufacturer and they said that the gas line probably had an air bubble in the hose. I bled the hose and still got the same problem. Too high heat for smoking things like salmon or trout. I place an electronic temp reader at the mid level of the smoker where they installed temp reader is and still can't get a lower temp. I also asked if they had a smaller flame orifice and they do not. The manufacturer's manual (page 18) says that the temp can get down to at least 175 degrees but when I called them they claimed it was a misprint. So...This item is good for high heat smoking or getting a pork roast well done but not for smoking fish. I have gone to a LP energy company and they made me a custom flame orifice that now lets me get the temperature I need. The company has made my warranty invalid. OK by me. I get the lower temp now.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Review 3 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Spend more, get a good smoker

10/18/2007
By ,
Lowell, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wood chip pan MUCH TOO SMALL. Water tray barely adequate. Cooks (not smokes) at too high a temp. With a full load of hanging sausage could not maintain below 225 degrees. With a single tray of fish minimum temp was 250. In both cases, outdoor temp. was in the low 60's. I plan to use a hole saw to cut vents low in the box in hope that I can regulate temp.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 4 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Simply not good enough

11/18/2008
By ,
Carver, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The water pan and smoker box are too small. I had to buy a $20 smoker box that was large enough to smoke enough wood to properly flavor the meat I was smoking. Temp does not regulate low enough due to lack of enough dampers. Need one on each side to improve. I had to add these myself and that cost an additional ~$10. Then I still had problems keeping the temp regulated down to around 160-180 degrees so I bought an adjustable regulator for it. By the time I was done buying everything to make the thing work I could have bought a better unit that already worked fine out of the box. That being said, it works fine now after all the modifications.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 5 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

gas smoker

08/26/2007
By ,
Katy, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cooks at a constant temp but the minimum temp is to high and cooks to fast. The water bowl is inadequate. The wood chip holder is inadequate. In order to smoke meat you must turn the heat way up to get smoke. If you could control the heat at a lower temp to properly smoke meat and you could get adequate smoke it would be great.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 6 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Not Impressed

05/27/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unbelievable service by Walmart and FedEx - ordered Monday afternoon and it was delivered the next day with no expressl handling. Probably would have returned it if I had the time to order a different brand. Very sloppy workmanship and packaging. (packaging had no visible shipping damage) Top corner of cabinet was dented, wire rack tracks were loose and bent, burner assembly was bent and difficult to align, had to chase several of the pre-welded nuts with a 1/4-20 tap to avoid stripping the bolts, and the one of the mounting brackets for the leg was welded to the cabinet so poorly that I had to use wedges under the legs to keep the box from rocking. The instructions are fairly clear (the reference to a 1/2" combination wrench should be a 7/16") and should only take about an hour to assemble if you don't have to do as much tweaking. The chip box is too small as is the water pan and to avoid losing heat from having to open the door too often you will want to replace them. The rotary igniter appears to have more resistance than the plastic knob will handle. Mine worked three times and now just slips on the stem. Customer Service was very accommodating about replacing it but unless the new knob has a metal insert I'm not expecting it to hold up any better. I'm losing a lot of smoke from leakage around the hinge side of the door. I think my bullet smoker performed better because I had more control over the smoke. All considered the unit does what it was intended to do but it's overrated for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Review 7 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Not as Great as the older Model

10/29/2008
By ,
Dallas, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this same style of smoker back in 2005. The quality was ALOT Better in 2005. It had 3 vent holes, 2 on the sides and 1 at top. Thicker gauge steel, large water pan, a drip pan and heavy-duty steel wood box where you could actually place wood chunks "not chips" as in this newer version. The 2005 model was wider and deeper, but the height is still about the same. I believe I paid $149.00 or $159.00 back in 2005 at Wal-Mart. I bought this 2 days ago at Wal-Mart for $138.00. I thought I was going to get the same quality as before, but when I opened it up, The Great Outdoors cut back A LOT on this smoker. Now there is no air vents on the side, the water-pan and wood box is 3 times smaller than the 2005 model. AS you may see on the photo where the tag is on the front of the smoker when you open it up, it states “May not look as shown in photo.” That’s what the BBQ Smoker looked like back in 2005 b-4 the changes of the newer model.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Review 8 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker
12/17/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wepll, first off this company is out of business. So don't expect any product support, etc. Second, this is my second smoker from this company. This smoker burns too hot for slow smoking of beef jerky. It cooks the food. I spent quit a bit of time refitting the orofice to the right speification to smoke jerky.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 9 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Very well made

09/07/2009
By ,
Houston TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very well made and easy to assemble.
Easy to clean.
I'm having trouble regulating the temp. I've used it twice 4 hours first time, 13 hours the 2nd. Using remote probes, temp would vary on its own 212-230 without adjusting. Second time same thing until about 5 hours in, then I couldn't get the temp under 250. I'll be calling the manufacturer tomorrow (1st business day)
I hope I get it working because it's a great unit. Yeah, the woodbox is a tad small, but you can reload it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Just a propane oven

09/06/2008
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In theory this thing works great, but as it comes out of the box it just fails.
The wood chip box is far too small, and even at the lowest flame setting, internal temps between 250 and 300 should be expected. Strange thing is the manual seems to think that the low setting will give about 125 degrees F, but it is always near or at 300. That is far too hot to do any real slow BBQ smoking.
These higher temps and small wood box may work for baking fish and chicken with a little smoke thrown in, but it just does not do for smoking ribs or briskit.
It is possible to get a lower flame by tweaking the knob between high and off, but if and when you get a good flame for 225, the fire is too far away from the wood box to even get any smoke from dry wood chips!
Strangely enough, the burner is actually too big in this thing. It seems like they would want to save some money and put in a smaller burner so we could BBQ the right way...
This thing is ok for the price, and with some modification it can work pretty well, but since it really does not work "out of the box" I can't recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Runs To HOT

07/25/2008
By ,
Winchester TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had read several reviews prior to purchase.- Main problem seemed to be control of low temperatures. Prior reviews stated that could not run below 200 F. I wanted a smoker that could control around 200-240 F. so went ahead and purchased. Walmart did a good job of delivering in less than 10 days. Slight damage to shipping box, but smoker was okay. Front door of smoker looks like someone ran a 1" wide flat roller across the mat finish while the paint was still wet. -- this is a non functional problem so I accepted it. During break in, could not control the smoker below 250 F empty with vent wide open. Temp ran over 275 F with vent closed. Have used it a few times now and on lowest setting with propane tank valve choked down as low as possible, cannot run below 240-250 F. (outdoor temp was around 90 degrees.) When wood starts to smoke, temp could not be controlled below 275-290 F with vent wide open. Have doubled checked units temp gauge and found it is about 5 degrees higher than my other temp gauge. Further problem found was that during last use, it started raining. - problem was that the units temp gauge leaks and collected enough water behind the glass that it could not be read. The only way I have found to control temp below 250 F is to open the front door slightly when wood is smoking, which also lets the smoke out. If you want to cook with it, the upper temp on high will reach over 450 with the vent closed. If you want to slow smoke, good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Product Ok, Food Excellent

01/04/2009
By ,
Litchfield, NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this as a christmas gift. I am a real good novice cook with all meats. Although I feel that the product is real flimsy, door handle, smoker box small, water pan small. I smoked 2 chickens with it yesterday, it took over 5 hours, but it was well worth the wait, the flavor and smell blew me away. If the product holds up and I can get a bigger smoke box I will be happy with it. I didn't have any problem running it at a low temp in fact I had to kick it up to 300 deg in the last hour to finish the cooking, I still had a hard time getting the chicken to hit 160 deg. I should note that it was 16-22 deg outside and real windy all day. I started cooking at 12:30 PM and it was bearly done by 7:30 PM. Maybe I need to "kick it up a notch".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

needs to go back to engineering

04/05/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my frist smoker and I found out that it needs to be engineered a bit more better than I found it to be.Over-all,I would give it a 4 and a half rating.The other half would have been given,if I didn`t have to drill the 2 back legs for them to stand on their own.I had to do some drilling and screwing to make it right.About 40 mins. of extra time.I`m wondering if I shouldn`t have done it to the front legs also?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Review 14 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Great basic or starter smoker

10/16/2008
By ,
Chgo Area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If your a novice this is an easyway to start. I only have a couple complaints but these would not deter me from recommending this product. I have been using this smoker for about 6 months now.
I agree with other reviews that water pan and the smoker box is too small. While I haven't found a solution regarding the water pan, I replaced the smoker box with an old used cast iron fry pan I found at a garage sale. I can fill it with more wood chips then cover with foil and poke holes in the foil. Works like a charm. I would have also liked it to have 1 more grill rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Smokin' Fun

12/09/2008
By ,
Napoleon, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this unit to smoke turkeys, make jerky and ribs. I have found it to be easy to use and understand. The only thing I found is that I purchased a different smoke box. The one that comes with it is too small. I purchased 2 smoke boxes that measure 12" by 4" and I set them side by side on the smoke box rack. This works much better and you don't have to keep adding wood chips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 16 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Good Value

04/07/2009
By ,
riverside, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pretty new to the smoking world, this is my first one, in my opinion, this works great, the ribs i cooked had a great smoke ring on the meat, i need to master my rubs a little better, but the meat was tender. i think its a perfect smoker for the back yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

glorified grill

04/08/2009
By ,
Texico, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I am fairly satisfied with my purchase, I feel that the Smoky Mountain Smoker is just a glorified grill. Last weekend I smoked 30 pounds of venison sausage on it and it turned out great.
But actually, it didn't really smoke- so to speak. It just cooked at a low temp, which was difficult to control at first. There was no smoke involved at all. Next time I may try to add wood chips to the drip pan to enhance flavor.
The water box is too small also, as some others commented.
But it will be great for big parties and cookouts when a single rack grill isn't enough.
You can't just put in your meat and walk away. It
involves tending to quite often.
We are going to cook a green ham on it for Easter
and see how that goes.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 18 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Good product

02/13/2009
By ,
La Grande, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works great for what I want to use it for. Slow cooking large pieces of meat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Great Smoker for the price!

06/16/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the Gas model, keeps temps consistent. Plenty of room to smoke enough meat for a good sized party. My only "issue" so far is that I had to buy a bigger wood chip box to keep the smoke flowing longer, wish the one supplied was bigger. Easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Great smoker/grill

12/12/2008
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have enjoyed it very much.Husband is long time
" smoked meat" man and years of catering exp.
A very excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next