Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Landmann Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Landmann Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

When you've got a craving for smoked barbecue, this Smoky Mountain gas smoker will satisfy. Gas power keeps the heat well-regulated, so you can smoke with confidence and feed a hungry crowd. Plus, the Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker has a porcelain-coated water pan for easy cleanup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.365 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%88 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Works great with a few reservations

02/01/2009
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this smoker for about 4 years. Yes the water bowl is too small and yes the smoker chip box is too small. So get over it. I made a new smoke box out of 3" X 6" rectangle pipe. I welded a plate on one end and bolt a second plate on the top. I get about 3 times the wood in and It is air tight so the wood doesn't catch on fire. I add water as needed to the pan. I use the Au jus later for stews in the house. I cover the pan with tin foil so I don't have a cleaning problem.
It does a great job. I smoke chicken and ribs for about 8 hours. I wrap the ribs after about 5 hrs in tin foil and put them back in the smoker to get super tender.
Love it and recommend it to smokers everywhere.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Smoky Mountain Smoker

04/21/2009
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the larger smoker of the two. Its is a very simple smoker, easy to use from novice to experienced. I only use the top three grills, as the bottom grill get to hot, so throw potatoes on it. I also bent the vent tabs so I can control the air flow better. My best time to smoke is over night with temps around 160 degrees, which require refilling the water pan once during the night. The cast iron smoke pan is plenty suffiecent. I use apple wood limbs, and fill the rest to capacity with Hickory chips soaked in water. Must be wet to smolder properly. I get about 4 hours of smoke, which is suffecient for a good smoke flavor. In the water pan, i cut up three apples into quarters and put that in the water for enhanced flavor.
After using this smoker for two seasons, very happy with the smoker. It does what its intended to do, and my neighbors love it, as they get some great eating too.
Note: smoking foods require attendance, and patience, as it is a low temp method of cooking. I always have a jug of water, and stainless steel pans sitting on top of the smoker, with tongs and brushs. I paint brush works great for brushing marinate on the meat etc. I also us a meat temp guage to monitor the meat. Nothing worse than under cooked port, or meat over cooked and dry. So enjoy your cooking, it is a fun hobby, and one your friends and family will enjoy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Great product for the price

06/14/2009
By ,
Rosamond , CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this thing I purchased it 7 years ago and it still works great . You can fit a lot of meat in it and it does not use a lot of propane and it is very very easy to use!!! Just find a good reciepe online and you are golden !
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

The pressure is on...

08/07/2007
By ,
Mass.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second gas smoker. I started with a bullet style but needed to go bigger. My ribs are being requested more and more often so I had started researching a larger unit when a call came in to cook my ribs for a party of about 100 people. I didn't have any time to experiment with the smoker other than simply seasoning it. I then proceeded to load it up with 18 racks using rib racks which hold 6 racks each. I found the spacing of the shelves to be a little difficult to work with but was able to pull it off.
The temp was very easy to adjust and was extremely stable. Opening and closing the door in order to add water and wood chunks didn't extend the cooking time as the gas fire returned the unit to proper temp immediatly.
The only problem I found was the rack of ribs on the lower shelf in the back were dried out due to the heat being directed up the backside of the unit. Other than that, the ribs were fantastic. Next time, I will fashion a heat shield from the water pan up the backside to redirect the heat up the sides.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Great value, makes great bbq! Easy to clean!!!!

03/13/2009
By ,
Howell, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My very first smoke is a smash hit. Everyone loves when i fire it up, and often small dinner parties end up as keggers and Q.
The water pan IS a little smallish, but if you are doing temp checks every hour and adding water to the pan it's perfect sized.
THe walls are a little thinnish, so I do not smoke in extremely windy or cold weather, but I have smoked in 100deg heat and 40deg winters and every time it comes out amazing.
The fire box IS a little smallish as well, but I just pack it full and after an hour of smoke or so I add another handful of soaked wet chips.
I smoke everything at 225 and I get perfect Q and perfect smoke rings. My first smoke i used mesquite which was a little powerful, and have since switched to apple and hickory chips.
THis smoker is EXTREMELY easy to clean - just hose it out and give it a wipe down!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

smoker 99 bucks cant beat it

04/14/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as a x-mass gift, always wanted a smoker and this one fits the bill.....my pork butts and chickens earn great reviews..everyone loves them and all it takes is changing the wood chips every hour or so which is no big deal i use channel locks to lift box in and out it only takes a minute and yer back smokin i fill the water pan with apple juice and once the meat has dripped into the pan for awhile i use a baster to suck up juice and bast meat everytime i change woodchips.....smoking meat is easy and fun and tasty....its cheap to buy and works great
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Darn Good Smoker

01/03/2009
By ,
Flower Mound, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembled very easy. Igniter fired right up the first time. Plenty of room in the smoke box for all sorts of meat. Already smoked a turkey, baby back ribs, sausages and bacon. Delicious!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Not a great smoker

11/19/2013
By ,
Kelso, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased locally, easy set up. But the biggest problem is that the smoker temperature control knob will not allow the smoker to go below 220 degrees. I called the manufacturer and they said that the gas line probably had an air bubble in the hose. I bled the hose and still got the same problem. Too high heat for smoking things like salmon or trout. I place an electronic temp reader at the mid level of the smoker where they installed temp reader is and still can't get a lower temp. I also asked if they had a smaller flame orifice and they do not. The manufacturer's manual (page 18) says that the temp can get down to at least 175 degrees but when I called them they claimed it was a misprint. So...This item is good for high heat smoking or getting a pork roast well done but not for smoking fish. I have gone to a LP energy company and they made me a custom flame orifice that now lets me get the temperature I need. The company has made my warranty invalid. OK by me. I get the lower temp now.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Not as Great as the older Model

10/29/2008
By ,
Dallas, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this same style of smoker back in 2005. The quality was ALOT Better in 2005. It had 3 vent holes, 2 on the sides and 1 at top. Thicker gauge steel, large water pan, a drip pan and heavy-duty steel wood box where you could actually place wood chunks "not chips" as in this newer version. The 2005 model was wider and deeper, but the height is still about the same. I believe I paid $149.00 or $159.00 back in 2005 at Wal-Mart. I bought this 2 days ago at Wal-Mart for $138.00. I thought I was going to get the same quality as before, but when I opened it up, The Great Outdoors cut back A LOT on this smoker. Now there is no air vents on the side, the water-pan and wood box is 3 times smaller than the 2005 model. AS you may see on the photo where the tag is on the front of the smoker when you open it up, it states “May not look as shown in photo.” That’s what the BBQ Smoker looked like back in 2005 b-4 the changes of the newer model.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Best Smoker I ever owned.

05/26/2009
By ,
Mira Loma, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker for about 4 years and I am more then satisfied. It does a terrific job of smoking pork and beef ribs, chicken, pork shoulder, beef brisket, beef tri-tip, and I've even smoked fish (salmon, trout and bass).
I do have a problem with the smoker when cooking fatty meats like pork ribs and shoulder. The grease runs down the sides of the unit then seeps through seam of the bottom plate. It then runs down the legs and all over my patio. I now set the smoker in a large oven pan to catch the grease.
Other reviews have mentioned the small size of the water bowl and the chip box. This is true. They are a bit small but with the large door they are easy to refill. The chip box will continue to generate smoke for about 2-3 hours if you use soaked wood chips. The water bowl usually has to be refilled after about 3 hours. I usually fill both at 3 hour intervals.
All in all this is a great product. I am going to get one for my son and son in-law for Christmas this year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Great smoker but needs tweaking

05/30/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned the "Big Block" version of this smoker for a few years and have been generally happy. My big problem has been my inability to keep the temperature low enough for smoking. I like to smoke between 215 and 225 but I could not keep the temp under 230 and it constantly floated around so I had to really watch it. I could only smoke in colder outdoor temperatures
My problem was solved today when I was looking around for a better smoker and I happened upon this site with the idea of adding a c-clamp to the propane line to regulate the temperature. This worked wonderfully and now I am quite happy.
I have made changes to the unit like adding play sand to the water pan under a double layer of foil to keep the temp down and replacing the smoker box with a cast iron skillet. These work great.
My smoker has sat outside for the last few Ohio winters under a tarp and ready for a quick January smoke.
Now that the temp problem is cured it will probably last me many more years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Great smoker for the price

05/27/2009
By ,
Venice, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been smoking meats for 30 years but have always built my own smokers. Mine were the size of a coffin and could handle 500 pounds of meat. When I moved to Florida for retirement, my wife suggested I might want to scale down my smoking somewhat. After reading the many posts about the Smokey Mtn. Cooker I chose the larger of the two. I like the idea of gas as it took way less monitoring than my traditional wood fire approach.
First impressions were favorable. The unit was put together well and had no problems on startup. As I was seasoning the smoker, I had a c-clamp handy as I read so many posts saying the lowest temperature was still too high. It was. Mine wanted to hover close to 275 degrees. I added the c-clamp to the line and closed it almost all the way down. I can now get temps as low as 180 degrees and maintaining the 200 degrees I prefer to cook with is a snap. Even with a wind, the burner does not blow out.
As far as the small water pan, I did not find this to be a problem. I always shuffled things around in my old smokers and used the same concept here. Every couple of hours, rotate the shelves top to bottom and/or front to back to ensure even heat. While I am in there, I refill the water pan.
I looked at the smoker box and decided it was pretty but not very usable. From reading other posts, I packaged my wood chips in tin foil and placed over the burner. Then when I was rotating the meat, I changed out the chips for new ones.
Cleanup is quite easy and after 9 months of use, it still looks pretty good.
Other uses: I also use the smoker as an outside oven with no smoke added. I can get the temperature up to almost 500 degrees and that handles just about any type of baking. I have used it for standing rib roasts many times. Put the roast in the smoker with an external temperature probe in it and set the smoker temp for 200 degrees. Just let it go until you hit 125 degrees internal temp in the roast and you're done.
Other thoughts: Always use an external temperature probe on your meats. It is much more accurate.
If you clean the smoker after use and store in a shed or garage, this unit will last a long time.
Even the large unit is none to big. Don't even think of buying the smaller one. Two racks of baby backs will fill one shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

This is great

06/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great unit. It's actually our second one that we placed side by side with the first. Easy to use. If I had one complaint it would be that the door sometimes closes while your checking or removing food and if your not careful the hot door will touch your arm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Great Smoker!

07/06/2009
By ,
Holly Hill, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker. I bought the first one online through WalMart about 3 years ago. It had a lot of use and was getting a bit grungy as far as the bottom and the starter wasn't working anymore because of so much stuff down there. So I got a new one for my husband on Father's Day and his friends were offering to buy the old one LOL! He gave it to a good buddy who was thrilled when he smoked chicken on it last weekend.
This is an extremely functional smoker for the price. It's lightweight enough to take it camping or to your friends house for a smoke out. My only complaint is I can't find a cover for our new one. I bought the first cover on another website and now can't locate one anywhere.
If you like to smoke food and don't want the hassle of making sure the temp holds, here's your ticket to success. Runs off propane and the wood chip container may be small but it's enough to give it a great smoked taste and you can always add more wood chips if you prefer. Grates clean up nicely too. It's just the bottom that gets messy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Just a propane oven

09/06/2008
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In theory this thing works great, but as it comes out of the box it just fails.
The wood chip box is far too small, and even at the lowest flame setting, internal temps between 250 and 300 should be expected. Strange thing is the manual seems to think that the low setting will give about 125 degrees F, but it is always near or at 300. That is far too hot to do any real slow BBQ smoking.
These higher temps and small wood box may work for baking fish and chicken with a little smoke thrown in, but it just does not do for smoking ribs or briskit.
It is possible to get a lower flame by tweaking the knob between high and off, but if and when you get a good flame for 225, the fire is too far away from the wood box to even get any smoke from dry wood chips!
Strangely enough, the burner is actually too big in this thing. It seems like they would want to save some money and put in a smaller burner so we could BBQ the right way...
This thing is ok for the price, and with some modification it can work pretty well, but since it really does not work "out of the box" I can't recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

gas smoker

08/26/2007
By ,
Katy, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cooks at a constant temp but the minimum temp is to high and cooks to fast. The water bowl is inadequate. The wood chip holder is inadequate. In order to smoke meat you must turn the heat way up to get smoke. If you could control the heat at a lower temp to properly smoke meat and you could get adequate smoke it would be great.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Decent smoker for the price

12/01/2008
By ,
Flagstaff, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I smoked 12 turkeys and a few other items and this smoker so far and it has worked well. Holds temperature anywhere from 150 to 400+ very well even on cold days (below freezing). You can get about 16 hours of smoker time at 250 degrees from a propane tank.
Some reviews say the chip holder is a little small -- and this is true if you use tiny shreds of wood -- but if you use fist-sized hunks (sold in Wal-mart stores in big bags for $5) you can get 2-3 hours of smoke and 2-3 hours from the water tray.
My only complaints are: Dripping grease causes a big mess at the bottom and it leaks out the seams onto the ground, but covering the bottom and the ground it in foil makes cleanup easier; there is no way to adjust the air intake, so the flame is is more yellow than it should be; Door latch is a little iffy and will bend the metal over time so it doesn't stay shut without bending it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Excellent Entry Level Smoker

07/13/2009
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this smoker as my first venture into smoking, 1 week before I entered a BBQ cookoff. I have used propane for grilling all of my adult life, so I felt more comfortable with the gas than an electric or charcoal model.
Setup was a breeze, and I was smoking the next day to get used to the controls, figuring out how to control the temp, etc.
Temp control was a snap, which seems to be the most important part of smoking. Fire it up, turn it all the way to low, and let it go. 250 degrees and cooking with gas!
It was so easy, the first set of ribs were a huge hit with the family.
Knowing a little more now, almost 3 months later, I would make the same purchase again. A few suggestions, you can buy wood chunks, but the wood box is small, so any pieces larger than a small rock will need to be chopped with a hatchet. However, my wood box only needs to be refilled about once an hour, so not bad considering the cost!
Also, when seasoning the smoker for the first time (running it all setup without food in it), make sure you wrap the water pan in foil, all the way around. Makes cleanup much easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Smoker

07/12/2007
By ,
Norfolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product - purchased as a gift for dad and he loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Landmann Great Outdoors Grill Co. Smoky Mountain Gas Smoker

Best of its class!

09/12/2008
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had a few smokers in the past, this one is by far the best for the value. Of course you can always go bigger with more features, but for simple smoking, this one cannot be beat.
On the lowest setting, it will reach a temp of 220-230. That is optimal smoking temp, so those reviews saying it gets too hot. . . not true, as long as you leave it on low. Of course, if you dail it up to medium, your sitting at about 350, which is indeed too hot. And by the way, this temp is in Arizona (110 degrees) in the summer. Most of you will not have the outside temp that hot.
The wood chip box is a little small, I just bought an 8x8 metal cake pan for $3 and used that. Works perfect, but you have to keep the heat in by covering it with tin foil and a few holes.
The one dislike about this smoker is that I have to change the wood chips manually and by opening the entire door. All the smoke comes pooring out in my face and I smell all smoky for the rest of the day (which is not entirely unpleasant). I cannot give it a lower rating due to this, simply because I bought the smoker for what it was (manual wood chip loading).
Bottom line: it gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next