Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

The Straight Talk ZTE Phone with $45 Airtime Card provides a sleek, stylish and high-performance communication tool suitable for casual or business use. It features an Android 2.3 OS, making it compatible with many popular and versatile apps. Additionally, the Straight Talk prepaid cell phone provides MMS and SMS messaging, along with Bluetooth 3.0 wireless technology, to ensure fast and convenient communication in a variety of forms. This product also comes equipped with several multi-calling features, including call merging, forwarding or exchanging. This makes multi-party communication easier and more efficient. Other utilities on this Straight Talk cell phone include a three megapixel camera, video streaming capability and a built-in voice recorder for quick and easy verbal or visual documentation.
Average Customer Rating:
2.207 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
44
Customer Recommendation31%27 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 72 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
44
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Great value phone for emails and few apps

01/18/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You have to put this phone into perspective. The sales price was $49 (included: 1 month of service valued at $45 and a phone). You are receiving a very basic smartphone for $5. The constraint is that the phone has very little internal memory. Buying a larger SD card does not help. The internal memory limits the amount of apps that you can download and run because many require internal memory space. After setting up a gmail account and downloading contacts, I am able to see my emails, contacts and calendar functions seamlessly. Calls are good around metropolitan areas. There's a few blind spots during highway travel. Google maps works relatively well with traffic updates. I am able to run a bank app, weather app, news apps and a travel app. That's it. Don't expect to load hundreds of apps to this phone. Again, it's a utilitarian touch screen smartphone that will meet your basic phone needs or work as a second phone (if you already have a work phone or in between phones).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Disappointed

06/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You know, I would like to write a great review for this product, but I can't The problem is that when I went to enter my zip code into the field for my location where I would be using this product, it stated that I could get service. However, after purchasing the product online, waiting for it to be sent through the Site to Store process, and went to pick it up. Upon arrival at my house, I promptly charged it and put the minutes on it only to find that the product could not get ANY signal at my location (home). Absolutely frustrating! It works on a cell tower (T-mobile) that does not offer service in my area. I really think that Walmart should note the cell tower carrier in the specifications so that consumers could know what they are purchasing. Customers are becoming more 'tech-savy' through trial and error, as I have just encountered! Buyer beware who is the cell tower provider!
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Dumb Smartphone

06/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone to replace my wifes Samsung that had just died. I also bought an 8 GB SD card to replace the 4 GB card that came with the phone. Trouble started right off. I you have email provider that requires an IMAP or SMTP server you cant get your email. It only supports POP3. The operating system and preloaded apps eat up the memory. Trying to download some of my wifes favorite apps and was only able to download 3 before it started telling me there was not enough memory to download any more. This is after I moved the three apps to the SD card and cleared the cache on all the apps. There was still not enough memory. I hate to see what is going to happen when she starts taking pictures. If you are looking to just talk and text it will do it. If you are looking to use apps and such do not buy this dumbphone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Nice phone, but BEWARE...

06/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live in a rural area in Southwest GA where Straight Talk is available, however when I received the phone, I couldn't get a signal. I immediately thought there was something wrong with the phone and when I went to return it, I was told there wasn't anything wrong with the phone, but that the phone was by T-Mobile, and that I wasn't receiving a signal because T-Mobile isn't available in our area. Didn't know it mattered who made the phone. I just assumed since Straight Talk was offering the phone, I was good to go. Very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

The worst phone I've ever had!

07/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to return this phone within only a few days after receiving it in the mail. It only allowed space for about three or four apps, despite the fact that I put in a 16g sd card to allow me to have more memory on the phone to store games and pictures. And even the apps that it would allow took up so much memory and would fill up so much space so fast that I would need to go into it to clear space every five minutes. It wouldn't work. It wouldn't let me use my number from my old phone, even though the website said I would be able to. Plus after only a couple days the texting began to break - wouldn't even let me type. I hated this phone. I thought I was getting a good deal but I wasn't. Don't buy this phone! It was a waste of time, energy and money. Never buying a phone from Walmart again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Horrible Phone. No memory.

07/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered this phone online site to store. I loved it at first because it looks nice and didn't feel too cheap. But once I downloaded Facebook and transfered my contact list, it said the memory was full! I moved Facebook to my memory card and still not enough memory to download anything else. Also, this phone does not support games like Candy Crush. They are not compatable with the phone. That was a disapointment as well...not that there was enough memory for it anyway. : ( So I had a phone that I was super disapointed with and then the phone started going screwy. Like the screen would suddenly go white and then flash and go white again. I was able to correct it by taking out the battery. But by day 3 it was doing it all day long so I returned it. I traded it for an LG Optimus Fuel $29.99 and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I've been downloaded things all day and still have plenty of memory. It feels a little cheap and lightweight but I think I'll order a protective case for it on ebay and that should help. Anyway....do NOT order this phone! Buy the LG Optimus Fuel instead...you will be much happier! Read the reviews for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Only good for MP3 player and camera backup

06/02/2014
By ,
Sierra Vista
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
replaced ZTE Merit with the ZTE midnight. phone does not have good reception. as soon as I plugged it in and before putting service on it, it had cloned the information from the Merit without my permission to include the WIFI password and settings. 3 days after I transferred my phone service to the new phone, I lost the ability to send and receive picture txts, use of GPS, Navigation, and all other applications supposed to available on the phone. I can only make and receive phone calls and regular txt msgs.
I will be getting a different phone to replace this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Good phone for a beginner

01/06/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not to bad for a first time smart phone user
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Illinios
ZTE
Posted 06/17/2014
I have had this phone for about 3 months now. I live in a very rural area and have had no issues with service. My phone uses Verizon towers so I am not sure what others are talking about with T-Mobil service. I do not have much experience with smart phones but this one does what I want and I have never had a problem getting on Facebook ,downloading apps,or texting. I even use it with my Pandora for my walks. Definitely a starter phone as my daughter has a phone more advanced and would not care for this one.I thought it was hard to navigate at first but now I am use to it.so works for me well.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Not a very good phone

10/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really liked this phone to begin with, but it doesn't have much memory (as everyone else has said.) I've had it for about 3 months and it broke. It constantly gets stuck turning itself on. I'm not really mad though because it essentially was a $5 phone. Also, call quality was often bad. You'd get a horrible echo and background noise. Sometimes photos would not send for hours.
On the plus side, it played videos flawlessly. It recorded videos well too. Quality was pretty good for a cheap phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Great Phone!!

02/08/2014
By ,
Pittsburg, KS.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boutght this phone as a Christmas gift for my daughter, it is now Feburary. She loves it! it's much better then the phone I have bought for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Did NOT work in my area

06/11/2014
By ,
Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Please double check with Straight talk before purchasing this phone. I checked the walmart.com link to be sure that my area was covered and I was told it would be.
Once my phone arrived I had trouble activating it, so I called Straighttalk customer service. I was told that this phone has a SIM card and for my area I need a CDMA card. I explained I checked the walmart.com set for compatibility and it said it was ok. I was told that the website can be wrong and all I can do is return it to a store.
The phone itself was responsive when I was on my wi-fi and user friendly. I did not get to make any calls or texts but from what I saw the phone itself would be great if only it worked as it stated it would.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Beware - Working zip codes on website faulty

01/01/2014
By ,
Crescent City, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Delivery of product was excellent but very disappointed that even though the website said it would work in our area, the phone could not be activated in our area (this particular phone uses AT&T towers which are not accessible in our remote area of California).
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ga
Posted 06/04/2014
the same thing happened to me but it was t-mobile. couldn't activate it at all.. have to buy a new phone from out the store where u are located.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

helpful

02/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for just a everyday phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Bad phone

10/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a bad bad bad phone do not get it. I hate this phone. They gave me another one it wasn't better. Do not get this phone
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Just Right!

08/17/2014
By ,
usa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great features for the perfect price...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

only works under T Mobile towers

06/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this phone thru walmart.com and as anyone knows it asks you to put in your zip code to make sure it is compatible for your area. so it said it was. I got home with it and went to activate it. The tech person told me to return the phone to the place of purchase and get a phone with out a sim card. I told him that was incorrect. The phone that I was speaking to him at the time is my current straight talk phone with a sim card. I hung up with him and called back and got a rep that looked into it further for me. Found out that this phone will only work on T mobile towers. And we have At&t towers here. So buyer beware. Make sure you have t mobile towers in your area for this phone to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

No Service!!!

08/25/2014
By ,
Gonzales, LA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone has horrible service! I checked both straight talk website & walmart to find out if it would work in my area but it doesnt!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

great value

07/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My order was delivered on time and the phone works great. It was a great deal, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Just not the right phone for my area.......

07/06/2014
By ,
Southeastern North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If this answers the question about the ZTE, it is a super decent phone. It just had really poor service in my area. I had to go out in the yard to even obtain a bar or, at the most 2, and then it would often disconnect. I returned it, along with the Airtime card (because that is only right, AND, I don't think the return would have been accepted by the store.). When you go to purchase a phone from Walmart, be sure and read the reviews of it first. I did this, but could never find a review that mentioned which network it used. This is the All- important item of info to seek out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk ZTE Midnight Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Airtime Card

Only good for talking mostly!

01/03/2014
By ,
Kentucky internet lady
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is suppose to be a Smartphone. And it is so slow. And the actual space that down-loads & manages the apps is too low & too slow. It keeps saying "LOW MEMORY" even just when it's trying to update the apps. That is already factory stored into it. If you want a phone just for talking. This might be ok for that. But if your want a Smartphone. Because it is "SMART" and can do things with it. This is not it. Because their's basically not enough internal memory to load, unload & manage the apps. Already in the phone. :( Oh! and the signal is not too good either. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next