Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Generic Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

The Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR is a perfect throwback for your video collection. Not only can you play videotapes on it, you can also play DVDs. Get the best of both worlds with this DVD/VCR combo!
Average Customer Rating:
3.308 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation54%7 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Does just what I need

04/03/2014
By ,
Denver. CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have several analog TVs with an OTA antenna. We also have a DVD/VCR Combo player that is getting old, and we wanted to replace it. We are using the new unit as a spare until the old one totally quits. All we need the VCR for is to record programs while we watch something else. We just need something that will do timer recordings and we do not need any 'bells and whistles'. This is an excellent choice for us a a great value. Since we need a converter box for our TVs, we didn't need a tuner in the VCR/DVD combo. This fits the bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

For the price, an excellent machine

12/09/2013
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this player for the low price. I like what it is--it records and plays VHS tapes, and plays (BUT DOES *NOT* RECORD) DVDs. It has no digital tuner, but it says that in the description. You also need to use component audio and video (RCA-type cables) as the input; for most antennas you’ll need a converter box (a converter box usually has an RF modulator as well as a digital tuner). You have a range of full-color component a/v, S-video, and digital coaxial (digital co-ax for sound only.) The manual makes reference to an RF modulator; every converter box I’ve used has one built in. It worked great with a satellite box. It comes with one set of RCA cables (red/yellow/white).
When I first installed it, the video signal would “flicker” on and off. After a minute, this would wear off, and tightening the cable helped. This problem went away the next day, but hang on to the box and packaging if you have any doubts.
The four-head recording provided good recording and playback, even in SLP mode. The automatic tracking dealt well with some old videotapes.
The remote had surprisingly clear buttons that were clear and easy to understand, by VCR/DVD standards. It’s on the same signal as a Magavox Blu-Ray player, so if you have a universal remote that doesn’t recognize Funai, try Magnavox. The remote came with batteries, a surprisingly nice touch.
The manual was the clearest I’ve read (only in English, but good English.)
Note that my local Wal-mart also sells a Funai DVD RECORDER, which are much more expensive, but record some types of DVD. I have not tried this player with all types of DVD.
If you're giving (or getting) this unit as a gift, give it a try before you wish you'd bought a more expensive one; hopefully it will work for you as well as it has for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pocahontas, IL
Good Review, I Need A Little More Information
Posted 12/24/2013
Thanks for you detailed review. The main thing that I am interested in this product for is recording shows onto VCR tapes that I recorded on my DVR. My mother only has a VCR and there are times that I see a good show that I want her to see. Will this product do that? Thanks in advance.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Basic

01/17/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic unit no frills, but works fine
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Not compatible with a simple cable system

02/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ad did not show that it could be connected directly from the cable with normal coaxial, thus it rendered useless.
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

defective.

01/27/2014
By ,
kendall, Fl.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dvd part worked but the vcr didn't and it had a loud noise even without the vhs tape inside. Had to return the merchandise but sometimes it happens, nothing against Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

So far so good

01/01/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third dvd/vcr combo and I hope it outlasts the others. Hook up was simple and straight forward. No complaints, but I did by the optional extended warranty just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Disappointed

12/27/2013
By ,
Venice Fl.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed that the VCR/DVD player had no coaxial cable input-output requiring me to get a new Digdital Input Box from the cable company.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Met expectations

03/15/2014
By ,
Anoka, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far it is a good machine for the price. We did buy 2 just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Great product so far

12/27/2013
By ,
Albertvillel, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought two to go in kids rooms. Hopefully they will last a long time. Easy to hook up and use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

I works great.

01/02/2014
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's hard to get a VCR/DVD player and this one is just great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Broke after second time use.

03/22/2014
By ,
Phila., PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this to use equally with DVDs & VCR tapes. Watched two VCR tapes, then the unit wouldn't play any further tapes. DVDs played fine. Returned the unit to Walmart; would not buy, nor recommend, this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Doesn't work

02/17/2014
By ,
Katy, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The VCR would barely play pre-recorded VHS tapes. The video quality was terrible. Then I tried recording off my cable box. I used a new blank VHS tape and it appeared to tape. When I played the tape the sound was jumpy and the video was nothing but rolling static. I didn't try the DVD. I'm taking it back today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Well worth the purchase.

01/13/2014
By ,
Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We DVR everything except sports so our machine fills fast. You can record off of your DVR onto tapes with ease with this machine. This is our second machine and is hooked up to our second DVR. You can spend much much more for other machines but its not necessary this one is fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.