Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Generic Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

The Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR is a perfect throwback for your video collection. Not only can you play videotapes on it, you can also play DVDs. Get the best of both worlds with this DVD/VCR combo!
Average Customer Rating:
3.417 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation62%15 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Does just what I need

04/03/2014
By ,
Denver. CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have several analog TVs with an OTA antenna. We also have a DVD/VCR Combo player that is getting old, and we wanted to replace it. We are using the new unit as a spare until the old one totally quits. All we need the VCR for is to record programs while we watch something else. We just need something that will do timer recordings and we do not need any 'bells and whistles'. This is an excellent choice for us a a great value. Since we need a converter box for our TVs, we didn't need a tuner in the VCR/DVD combo. This fits the bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

No Coaxial Cable Connectors

05/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The device offered no Coaxial Cable Connectors to connect to cable box. RCA connectors are not compatable with cable box. Bright House Networks technician was unable to determine a solution to problem. Even with a 2-Way RF Splitter device no connection could be established. Both the DVD Player/VCR and television were manufactered by the same company (Funai). Unable to determine sound quality due to the fact we could not connect device to our TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

For the price, an excellent machine

12/09/2013
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this player for the low price. I like what it is--it records and plays VHS tapes, and plays (BUT DOES *NOT* RECORD) DVDs. It has no digital tuner, but it says that in the description. You also need to use component audio and video (RCA-type cables) as the input; for most antennas you’ll need a converter box (a converter box usually has an RF modulator as well as a digital tuner). You have a range of full-color component a/v, S-video, and digital coaxial (digital co-ax for sound only.) The manual makes reference to an RF modulator; every converter box I’ve used has one built in. It worked great with a satellite box. It comes with one set of RCA cables (red/yellow/white).
When I first installed it, the video signal would “flicker” on and off. After a minute, this would wear off, and tightening the cable helped. This problem went away the next day, but hang on to the box and packaging if you have any doubts.
The four-head recording provided good recording and playback, even in SLP mode. The automatic tracking dealt well with some old videotapes.
The remote had surprisingly clear buttons that were clear and easy to understand, by VCR/DVD standards. It’s on the same signal as a Magavox Blu-Ray player, so if you have a universal remote that doesn’t recognize Funai, try Magnavox. The remote came with batteries, a surprisingly nice touch.
The manual was the clearest I’ve read (only in English, but good English.)
Note that my local Wal-mart also sells a Funai DVD RECORDER, which are much more expensive, but record some types of DVD. I have not tried this player with all types of DVD.
If you're giving (or getting) this unit as a gift, give it a try before you wish you'd bought a more expensive one; hopefully it will work for you as well as it has for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+105points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pocahontas, IL
Good Review, I Need A Little More Information
Posted 12/24/2013
Thanks for you detailed review. The main thing that I am interested in this product for is recording shows onto VCR tapes that I recorded on my DVR. My mother only has a VCR and there are times that I see a good show that I want her to see. Will this product do that? Thanks in advance.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

nice

04/23/2014
By ,
Farmington NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product, excellent price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Basic

01/17/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic unit no frills, but works fine
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Great DVD /VCR for the money

05/15/2014
By ,
Wilmington,Ma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It serves the purpose easy to install and use would of bought a more expensive one if I could afford it ..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Good for what I need it for, till now see below

07/04/2014
By ,
Coatesville,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sorry this took so lone. I got the DVD/VCR player for my Special needs Granddaughter an it was the only thing hooked to an old tube type TV an it worked great, then when we got her a new Flat Screen 28" we don't get the proper picture display. If your looking at the TV strate on it is fine but looking at it from any angle the colors turn to a pastel. I was told that is because the old VHS tapes are not of HD quility but even the DVD disks do the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

So far so good

01/01/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third dvd/vcr combo and I hope it outlasts the others. Hook up was simple and straight forward. No complaints, but I did by the optional extended warranty just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

defective.

01/27/2014
By ,
kendall, Fl.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dvd part worked but the vcr didn't and it had a loud noise even without the vhs tape inside. Had to return the merchandise but sometimes it happens, nothing against Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Just what I wanted

07/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a substantial library of VHS tapes I needed a device to play them as well as something that would handle the DVDs as well.
This does the trick with bells on!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Defective out of the box.

06/30/2014
By ,
South Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The reson for the 1 star is because you can't rate it any lower.
The unit was defective out of the box.
Too often manufacturers seem to be leaving the quality control check-out up to the buyer.
I can't recomend this unit to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

works great

06/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item was confusing at first because the s-video connection do not work for the VHS mode. Once I figured that out, my VHS worked great. I can see why this product may have had negative reviews, but paying attention to the manual paid off.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

I did not realize that audio input was on monaural

05/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I may take it back because of audio input.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Doesn't work

02/17/2014
By ,
Katy, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The VCR would barely play pre-recorded VHS tapes. The video quality was terrible. Then I tried recording off my cable box. I used a new blank VHS tape and it appeared to tape. When I played the tape the sound was jumpy and the video was nothing but rolling static. I didn't try the DVD. I'm taking it back today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Not compatible with a simple cable system

02/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ad did not show that it could be connected directly from the cable with normal coaxial, thus it rendered useless.
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Broke after second time use.

03/22/2014
By ,
Phila., PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this to use equally with DVDs & VCR tapes. Watched two VCR tapes, then the unit wouldn't play any further tapes. DVDs played fine. Returned the unit to Walmart; would not buy, nor recommend, this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Disappointed

12/27/2013
By ,
Venice Fl.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed that the VCR/DVD player had no coaxial cable input-output requiring me to get a new Digdital Input Box from the cable company.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Met expectations

03/15/2014
By ,
Anoka, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far it is a good machine for the price. We did buy 2 just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Good VCR player does not record

05/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

I works great.

01/02/2014
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's hard to get a VCR/DVD player and this one is just great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next