Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Generic Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

The Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR is a perfect throwback for your video collection. Not only can you play videotapes on it, you can also play DVDs. Get the best of both worlds with this DVD/VCR combo!
Average Customer Rating:
3.257 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation57%20 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

I Love it!

12/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this about a year ago and it works perfectly. I am someone who loves watching VHS tapes, I still try to find them at thrift stores and such, so I am a movie buff and was needing to find a VCR to use for all my tapes. annoyingly they don't sell VCR by themselves in stores, you can only purchase a combo which I figure worked out great as I have some DVDs, so it was useful and doubly practical device. I have never had any problems with my VCR/DVD combo player. I love how I can easily go between both. It was very easy to hook up.
I guess for some who are bad with electronics in general it may be difficult for you, but I have very helpful and simple instructions. You can use the color cables it comes with and attached them to the back of the VCR accordingly(match colors), same thing goes for the TV, but what I've realized is for different TVs the video output which is yellow on the head of the cable may not be the same color at the back or side of your TV, so just look for the word "video", on my flat screen it's color code is orange.
It does not include a coaxial cable, because most if not all TVs use the color cables. The only TVs that need coaxial cables are much older models(non-flat screens).
Keep in mind if a product doesn't say it has something like a coaxial cable, it usually doesn't have it.
I think this was one of my best purchases from walmart after a year it is still going strong. I hope for it to work years to come.
A helpful tip: If a DVD or VHS is not working in the VCR, such as static and such there's may be a problem with the tape or DVD. Also you must use a " VCR head cleaner" every once and a while to make sure it works properly with your tapes. I prefer that because at least static can be fixed easily if it happens, but after having this for a year, I have used a "head cleaner" only once.
I have never recorded anything with it, but even though it has a record button you cannot record anything without a "TUNER" and this particular VCR/DVD player does not have a tuner. So, if you have issues recording this is why, you need to purchase a tuner or get a VCR that has one. This is why the description makes it clear that this device "does not have a tuner" because tuners are necessary for recording. I hope that helps anyone's questions or issues. I don't record, so I don't need that feature, but those of you who do, remember a VCR needs a "tuner" in order to record things from your television.
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

For the price, an excellent machine

12/09/2013
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this player for the low price. I like what it is--it records and plays VHS tapes, and plays (BUT DOES *NOT* RECORD) DVDs. It has no digital tuner, but it says that in the description. You also need to use component audio and video (RCA-type cables) as the input; for most antennas you’ll need a converter box (a converter box usually has an RF modulator as well as a digital tuner). You have a range of full-color component a/v, S-video, and digital coaxial (digital co-ax for sound only.) The manual makes reference to an RF modulator; every converter box I’ve used has one built in. It worked great with a satellite box. It comes with one set of RCA cables (red/yellow/white).
When I first installed it, the video signal would “flicker” on and off. After a minute, this would wear off, and tightening the cable helped. This problem went away the next day, but hang on to the box and packaging if you have any doubts.
The four-head recording provided good recording and playback, even in SLP mode. The automatic tracking dealt well with some old videotapes.
The remote had surprisingly clear buttons that were clear and easy to understand, by VCR/DVD standards. It’s on the same signal as a Magavox Blu-Ray player, so if you have a universal remote that doesn’t recognize Funai, try Magnavox. The remote came with batteries, a surprisingly nice touch.
The manual was the clearest I’ve read (only in English, but good English.)
Note that my local Wal-mart also sells a Funai DVD RECORDER, which are much more expensive, but record some types of DVD. I have not tried this player with all types of DVD.
If you're giving (or getting) this unit as a gift, give it a try before you wish you'd bought a more expensive one; hopefully it will work for you as well as it has for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pocahontas, IL
Good Review, I Need A Little More Information
Posted 12/24/2013
Thanks for you detailed review. The main thing that I am interested in this product for is recording shows onto VCR tapes that I recorded on my DVR. My mother only has a VCR and there are times that I see a good show that I want her to see. Will this product do that? Thanks in advance.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Does just what I need

04/03/2014
By ,
Denver. CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have several analog TVs with an OTA antenna. We also have a DVD/VCR Combo player that is getting old, and we wanted to replace it. We are using the new unit as a spare until the old one totally quits. All we need the VCR for is to record programs while we watch something else. We just need something that will do timer recordings and we do not need any 'bells and whistles'. This is an excellent choice for us a a great value. Since we need a converter box for our TVs, we didn't need a tuner in the VCR/DVD combo. This fits the bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

No magnavox or Funai for me ever again- watch out

01/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought 1 magnavox and 3 funai's this year. None of the 4 lasted more than a few months before the remote didn't connect to the player, meaning no recording or changing channels, black lines across the tape and skipping so words were missed. After the 3 funai's were returned and the 3 replacements were delivered a couple months apart the first replacement started giving me recording problems. Action packaging is the company listed and I would never buy anything connected with them again which means toshiba and Phillips are suspect also.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Great Value

08/15/2014
By ,
Milford DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I travel between Florida and Delaware I don't have cable so I use Netflix by mail in both area. I also enjoy VCR tapes from thrift stores. The DVD VCR unit is a must, and remember that a new VCR in the dual player is much better technology than the older ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Disappointed

03/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am going to have to return this product. It only worked for one day and then it would only play DVD's. I wanted it for the VHS player mainly.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

So far so good

01/01/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third dvd/vcr combo and I hope it outlasts the others. Hook up was simple and straight forward. No complaints, but I did by the optional extended warranty just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

distortion

02/19/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I used this vcr/dvd player for 6 weeks, recording 1-2 hours of tv programs each day. It worked fine at first, but the quality of the sound and/or picture during playback became distorted. Had to return it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Only one audio input

02/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are planing to use this device to record, beware that it only has ONE audio input. They are assuming that your output device has a mono output, which not many have. Therefore, you can only plug in one of your audio outputs. Either left or right. Ending up with one channel not recording.
This also is a problem if you use this device to allow the signal to pass through to your TV when you are not using the device. Only the one channel will pas through.
Why would a manufacture build something like this? Ours was returned for a refund the very next day.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Basic

01/17/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic unit no frills, but works fine
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Good Quality

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install. And believe it or not the VCR has a pretty clear picture. I mean compared to DVD or blue ray
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

nice

04/23/2014
By ,
Farmington NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product, excellent price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

defective.

01/27/2014
By ,
kendall, Fl.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dvd part worked but the vcr didn't and it had a loud noise even without the vhs tape inside. Had to return the merchandise but sometimes it happens, nothing against Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Great DVD /VCR for the money

05/15/2014
By ,
Wilmington,Ma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It serves the purpose easy to install and use would of bought a more expensive one if I could afford it ..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

works great

06/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item was confusing at first because the s-video connection do not work for the VHS mode. Once I figured that out, my VHS worked great. I can see why this product may have had negative reviews, but paying attention to the manual paid off.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Disappointed

12/27/2013
By ,
Venice Fl.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed that the VCR/DVD player had no coaxial cable input-output requiring me to get a new Digdital Input Box from the cable company.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

VCR/DVD player is a good value.

04/27/2014
By ,
Paducah, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this to replace a VCR that was eating tapes. Hooked it up and it works well. Was an excellent product for its cost. Would buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

I works great.

01/02/2014
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's hard to get a VCR/DVD player and this one is just great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Well worth the purchase.

01/13/2014
By ,
Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We DVR everything except sports so our machine fills fast. You can record off of your DVR onto tapes with ease with this machine. This is our second machine and is hooked up to our second DVR. You can spend much much more for other machines but its not necessary this one is fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Doesn't work

02/17/2014
By ,
Katy, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The VCR would barely play pre-recorded VHS tapes. The video quality was terrible. Then I tried recording off my cable box. I used a new blank VHS tape and it appeared to tape. When I played the tape the sound was jumpy and the video was nothing but rolling static. I didn't try the DVD. I'm taking it back today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next