Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Generic Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

The Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR is a perfect throwback for your video collection. Not only can you play videotapes on it, you can also play DVDs. Get the best of both worlds with this DVD/VCR combo!
Average Customer Rating:
3.467 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation63%19 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Great Value

08/15/2014
By ,
Milford DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I travel between Florida and Delaware I don't have cable so I use Netflix by mail in both area. I also enjoy VCR tapes from thrift stores. The DVD VCR unit is a must, and remember that a new VCR in the dual player is much better technology than the older ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Does just what I need

04/03/2014
By ,
Denver. CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have several analog TVs with an OTA antenna. We also have a DVD/VCR Combo player that is getting old, and we wanted to replace it. We are using the new unit as a spare until the old one totally quits. All we need the VCR for is to record programs while we watch something else. We just need something that will do timer recordings and we do not need any 'bells and whistles'. This is an excellent choice for us a a great value. Since we need a converter box for our TVs, we didn't need a tuner in the VCR/DVD combo. This fits the bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

For the price, an excellent machine

12/09/2013
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this player for the low price. I like what it is--it records and plays VHS tapes, and plays (BUT DOES *NOT* RECORD) DVDs. It has no digital tuner, but it says that in the description. You also need to use component audio and video (RCA-type cables) as the input; for most antennas you’ll need a converter box (a converter box usually has an RF modulator as well as a digital tuner). You have a range of full-color component a/v, S-video, and digital coaxial (digital co-ax for sound only.) The manual makes reference to an RF modulator; every converter box I’ve used has one built in. It worked great with a satellite box. It comes with one set of RCA cables (red/yellow/white).
When I first installed it, the video signal would “flicker” on and off. After a minute, this would wear off, and tightening the cable helped. This problem went away the next day, but hang on to the box and packaging if you have any doubts.
The four-head recording provided good recording and playback, even in SLP mode. The automatic tracking dealt well with some old videotapes.
The remote had surprisingly clear buttons that were clear and easy to understand, by VCR/DVD standards. It’s on the same signal as a Magavox Blu-Ray player, so if you have a universal remote that doesn’t recognize Funai, try Magnavox. The remote came with batteries, a surprisingly nice touch.
The manual was the clearest I’ve read (only in English, but good English.)
Note that my local Wal-mart also sells a Funai DVD RECORDER, which are much more expensive, but record some types of DVD. I have not tried this player with all types of DVD.
If you're giving (or getting) this unit as a gift, give it a try before you wish you'd bought a more expensive one; hopefully it will work for you as well as it has for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+110points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pocahontas, IL
Good Review, I Need A Little More Information
Posted 12/24/2013
Thanks for you detailed review. The main thing that I am interested in this product for is recording shows onto VCR tapes that I recorded on my DVR. My mother only has a VCR and there are times that I see a good show that I want her to see. Will this product do that? Thanks in advance.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

So far so good

01/01/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third dvd/vcr combo and I hope it outlasts the others. Hook up was simple and straight forward. No complaints, but I did by the optional extended warranty just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

nice

04/23/2014
By ,
Farmington NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product, excellent price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Basic

01/17/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic unit no frills, but works fine
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

defective.

01/27/2014
By ,
kendall, Fl.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dvd part worked but the vcr didn't and it had a loud noise even without the vhs tape inside. Had to return the merchandise but sometimes it happens, nothing against Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Good Quality

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install. And believe it or not the VCR has a pretty clear picture. I mean compared to DVD or blue ray
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Great DVD /VCR for the money

05/15/2014
By ,
Wilmington,Ma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It serves the purpose easy to install and use would of bought a more expensive one if I could afford it ..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

No Coaxial Cable Connectors

05/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The device offered no Coaxial Cable Connectors to connect to cable box. RCA connectors are not compatable with cable box. Bright House Networks technician was unable to determine a solution to problem. Even with a 2-Way RF Splitter device no connection could be established. Both the DVD Player/VCR and television were manufactered by the same company (Funai). Unable to determine sound quality due to the fact we could not connect device to our TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

bad, bad, bad

09/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
vcr doesn't work!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

You get what you pay for!!!!

08/17/2014
By ,
Hot Springs, AR-N'ville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purshased this unit, got home with all installed. All contacts also installed. No power. The unit would not turn on. Called Funai contact and they also agreed the unit should have some type of light to indicate the unit is on. I also tried several other out lets.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Met expectations

03/15/2014
By ,
Anoka, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far it is a good machine for the price. We did buy 2 just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

I did not realize that audio input was on monaural

05/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I may take it back because of audio input.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Disappointed

12/27/2013
By ,
Venice Fl.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed that the VCR/DVD player had no coaxial cable input-output requiring me to get a new Digdital Input Box from the cable company.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Broke after second time use.

03/22/2014
By ,
Phila., PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this to use equally with DVDs & VCR tapes. Watched two VCR tapes, then the unit wouldn't play any further tapes. DVDs played fine. Returned the unit to Walmart; would not buy, nor recommend, this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

I works great.

01/02/2014
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's hard to get a VCR/DVD player and this one is just great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Great product so far

12/27/2013
By ,
Albertvillel, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought two to go in kids rooms. Hopefully they will last a long time. Easy to hook up and use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Not compatible with a simple cable system

02/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ad did not show that it could be connected directly from the cable with normal coaxial, thus it rendered useless.
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Funai DV220FX4 DVD Player/VCR

Works perfectly!

08/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for. Thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next