Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Omron Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Omron Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Pave your way to a healthy life style with the Omron HJ-112 Premium Digital Fitness Pedometer. It is the most effective way to track your distance, steps, time spent and calories burned. It employs Smart Sense Technology with acceleration sensors to track your steps but filter out non-walking movements. This technology also allows you to keep the pedometer vertically or horizontally inclined. The Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer features a 7-day memory to track the workout session of a week. This portable pedometer can be carried in your pocket, clipped to a bag or attached to your belt to track every step you take. Its large digital display resets at midnight, so it's ready to go every morning. The included accessories are a battery screwdriver, clip, CR2032 battery, security strap, belt holder and an instruction manual. So wake up and begin your journey to optimum health with this fitness pedometer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(1025 Reviews) 833
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
816
4 stars
137
3 stars
39
2 stars
11
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation94%965 out of 1,023reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 235 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
816
4 stars
137
3 stars
39
2 stars
11
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Easy to use and set up.

12/20/2012
By ,
wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its a great unit of measuer. Fun to see what ones doing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Works BETTER than expected!

11/03/2007
By ,
Naperville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product at a fair price. I've tested it on stairs, walking, racewalking, jogging, running and found it to be 99+% accurate. I really enjoy the 7 day memory function as well as the safety clip(excellent idea). I generally wear mine on the belt around the waist and have NEVER hit the reset button. I've tested it in my pocket as well as on my backpack and found it to be accurate. I use a sandwich bag with a "zipper" as well as the other kind that I then tie closed, the bags are large enough to fit under the part that goes on the belt, so I do it that way and have walked/run in the rain a couple times and never had a problem with it. I only wished I could have found it in a store. My local Walmarts in a 30mile radius did not stock the product. Ship to store is a nice FREE shipping option.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Wonderful -No Trip Reset Button

12/02/2010
By ,
Callahan, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pedometer is great. It is very accurate. I love the 7 day log and all the calculations. The instructions are clear and fairly easy to understand. My only complaint is that they over thought this product, it has everything! Everything except a trip reset button. For example it counts everything for 24 hours starting at 12 a.m. and ending the next morning at 12 a.m. BUT there is no button to reset it through out the day. I walk in two different neighborhoods so I wanted to know how far I was walking in each neighborhood, no reset just means I have to do the math to figure it out and as far as aerobic steps in each, forget it. Seems like they would have added this feature to this great pedometer, maybe in the future we will see this on the product! I am definetly not disapointed!
I WOULD HAVE GIVING IT 5 STARS IF IT HAD A RESET TRIP BUTTON. IT DOES HOW EVER HAVE A RESET BUTTON BUT IT RESETS EVERYTHING INCLUDING YOUR MEASURED STRIDE, WEIGHT, ETC.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Love this pedometer

03/24/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my original pedometer 2 years ago (this is a replacement) after my Mom had emergency bypass surgery. I too was over weight and felt the need to get my life in order. This little gizmo was just the motivation I needed. I knew I wasn't active, but I had no clue how sedentary I was. This pedometer has helped me to lose over 30 pounds and regain (no pun intended) a lot self confidence. It was the best ~$25 I've ever spent on myself. As to the product. I spent a lot of time researching pedometers before I bought this one. It's great advantage is that you can wear it a pocket, I have a friend who wears hers in her bra. It's amazing accurate, checked it with a GPS unit. Resets itself each day. Has a 7 day history. Mine lasted almost 2 years, wearing it everyday.. Very durable, great product. Buy one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

One Design Flaw

12/31/2010
By ,
Minnesota
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It has many fine features and worked well. However, one serious design flaw, in my opinion.
There is no reset button to zero out the readings. It will only change to zero at midnight each day. So if you want to measure distance on two separate hikes on same day, you can't. Or if you want to start to measure at trail head, you can't, because it starts counting the minute you leave the house.
The only way to reset is to use a pointed object to push a recessed area on the back. Then you have to reset everything...time, weight, stride, etc. Very inconvenient.
Had to return it. On the positive side, Walmart was wonderful to deal with. Prompt shipping site to store, excellent price, and easy return.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Best Pedometer Ever

07/30/2007
By ,
Seminole, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only pedometer I have found that does not add steps when it is shaken. I have ad at least 4 others that add steps when you are riding in a car, when you shake it with your hand or anytime you barely move it. This one has to actually be on your body and you must walk to get it to count your steps. This makes it very accurate. Which is the whole point of the pedometer. I LOVE IT!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+260points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Best I have ever had

08/08/2013
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a large belly. Every single pedometer I have ever used counts every jiggle along with every step. So I never know how many steps I have actually taken. I read in several places that the accelerator type was best for people needing to loose a large amount of weight. ( I took that as a nice way of saying 'for people who have belly jiggle'. )
It tells you in very clear simple instructions how to program it to measure your stride so you can get more accurate readings. It has a clock on it! Love that feature. Also allows you to put in your weight so you can see how many calories you burn! Measures your steps, but by having you calculate your stride and program it in, it shows you how many MILES you have walked! Has a clip on it and comes with a clip on string you can add or leave off. I love this thing.
If I were to buy one for someone else, it would be this one. It is so easy to use. Resets itself at midnight and keeps a 7 day record of your steps! Very much worth what I paid.
Also, you can clip it to your pants, your shirt, your purse, etc. (I clip mine inside my bra and you can't see that I have it on, plus it makes me feel better that just in case one of those clips would come loose, it would be caught in my bra rather than dropping to the floor and sadly lost forever!)
I would tell anyone to buy this one. I love mine!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

I love it

11/04/2013
By ,
Orlando
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant to get another pedometer because the ones I've tried in the past just weren't worth it. I decided for the price it couldn't hurt to try again. This pedometer is very accurate. Yes, I counted my steps and then check the display, many times. I got on the treadmill and compared steps, distance and the figures were the same. I love that it calculates "cardio" as well. I was curious how much I move in a day and, just like I thought, it's not as much as I would have liked. This is definitely helping me move more. I like it enough that I'm getting one for my mom too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Motivation

08/16/2010
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In May, I began working out and taking my health and weight loss seriously. I bought the pedometer after reading other people reviews, which was very helpful. The pedometer is now my best friend since it is always on my hip or clipped to my bra. It is my motivator in the sense that I try to out do the day before steps. It is great to know how many calories I have burned for the day and how active I really am. It is a great tool to have and an excellent way in which to track your progress. I also love the seven day memory system. I have recommended this product to several coworker as well as one of the ladies at the gym. It is a great tool for any person trying to increase their physical attivity.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Does exactly what I needed

02/08/2013
By ,
Spring Hill, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pedometer is great. The directions say that you can put it in a pocket, a bag, or clip it on your waist. I always clip it on, so I don't know about the others. For me it works great. I love the fact that it has a safety clip besides clipping it on so if it falls out it don't hit the floor. This is really cool if you go from sitting to walking a lot because sometimes getting up from a sitting position it will fall off, but the safety clip keeps it from hitting the floor. The miles measurement is a little off according to the treadmill, but that could either be from my measuring my steps wrong or the tread mill I use could be a little off. The numbers are really big, so I don't have to put on my glasses to see it. If you want to set a goal and make sure you reach it everyday, it works perfectly. I have had it for a few weeks and it still works good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

KUDOS To OMRON

11/26/2010
By ,
West Springfield, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product because it was rated the best by Consumer Reports. Surprise! It really is:
it is the first accurate pedometer that I have ever owned. The price and the ease of use were perfect also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Decent but not great

06/05/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pro's: It is a good pedometer, i like the 7 day history and the calorie and mileage count modes.
Con's: This Pedometer is too "smart" for its own good. If you read the instructions, it says that the pedometer does not count when it is vibrating (like when you sit down or stand up), it says that it does not count steps when the steps are too slow or shuffling, what this does is it eliminates this pedometer from being effective.
Here are my findings after owning this pedometer for a couple of weeks. It doesn't accurately count steps when you use the belt clip at all. If you clip it to your pant line, it vibrates during walking too much and only counts half your steps. If you clip it to your pants pocket it does the same thing. This eliminates you from being able to use the pedometer while exercising because most of us use shorts or sweats when we are exercise walking and it vibrates too much. If you have pockets in your sweats you can get away with this by taking off the belt clip and putting the pedometer in your pocket. It also makes the pedometer inefective to use while running since running inherently causes bouncing and vibration while clipped on your pant line and will bounce all over the place in your pocket.
Other thoughts: I have owned a lower model Omron pedometer that was much more effective then this one. It was the omron HJ-150 and if I were to buy again, I would buy that one since it is cheaper and works more effectively. It doesn't have the calorie counter or the mileage counter but since this one doesn't count your steps properly, that info will be inaccurate anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+139points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Best pedometer I have had

04/26/2010
By ,
Auburn Hills, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi
I am very pleased with this product. I have had many pedometers in the past and all fell short.
Had one that clipped to my shoe but every time I
crossed my legs it reset. This one works in my pocket, makes no noise, and automatically resets
at midnight. Makes it easy to get 10,000 steps in a day. Will be getting my husband one shortly.
Great product, thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Great Product

09/20/2008
By ,
Zebulon, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews online before purchasing this pedometer. The reviews were mostly from colleges who tested several products to give their opinion of which ones were the most accurate. As far as I can tell, the company had no influence over the ratings. I wanted to make sure that when I started walking I had something that was going to give me the information that I wanted and that was accurate. This was rated among the top pedometers. I like it because you can place it in your pocket or clip it to your waistband and/or purse and you're going to get the same readings. I would definitely recommend this to anyone attempting to keep up with steps walked, distance and calories burned. It also has a 7 day memory to keep up with steps walked and resets itself at midnight back to 0 so you don't have to remember to reset it for the next day. I am extremely satisfied with my pedometer and would purchase one again. The only complaint is that it was extremely hard to find without ordering online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

wonderful pedometer

06/06/2010
By ,
Reading, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, especially the feature that allows you to attach it at most angles. The 7 day memory feature is a real benefit. The unit counts both aerobic steps and regular steps, which some people don't realize that they can click through the menu and get the count of regular steps--otherwise they think the unit doesn't work well or right when it is only showing aerobic steps. I definately think this is the best unit out there for the money. I've used this brand and model before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Love this product!

11/05/2009
By ,
Riverdale, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pedometer is the best one I have ever had! It is actually better and more accurate than my BodyBugg. It counts every step I take and it even works when I take my x-biking class. I love that I can pull it out of my pocket and see how many more steps I need to get to 10,000. Works very well. Very easy to use! I even talked all my family members into getting one because they can all see how awesome it is! I've had it for 2 weeks and I have lost 3 1/2 pounds! Great weight loss tool! Taking 10,000 steps a day is hard but with this pedometer it seems to make it easier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Wonderful Product

11/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my pedometer. It works beautifully. Was surprised to see how many steps I do take each day and am encouraged to walk further. I appreciate being able to look back over a week's worth of steps, calories, miles, ect. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Good Value - Seems Accurate

11/04/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read some reviews that said the pedometer was not accurate. Makes we wonder if they didn't program it correctly???? It is recording my steps accurately!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Excellent Pedometer great for everyone

05/28/2013
By ,
Huntington, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would definitely recommend this to anyone who's looking to start tracking their steps and calories and on any level of fitness program. So nice not to have to use your phone which drains your battery horribly. Now you don't have to carry your phone. I have compared the steps to my endomondo exercise app and it's almost right down to the t on steps. It's also nice has it has a 7 day history of what you've done and resets everyday at midnight so you don't have to reset it yourself in the morning. It was very easy to configure as well and the extra clip work and the belt clips works like a charm. This is just great to track your all day activity. If you are looking to tracking your runs and walk times separately then you will need to use an app along side this great gadget. I also like that it gives me my calories for the day and my total aerobic steps.
It's very easy to setup and use. I would definitely by another one for a friend or family member. All in all it's a definite addition to add to anyone's fitness plan and it's great on the budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Omron HJ-112 Premium Pedometer

Not As Good As I Thought It Would Be

09/12/2010
By ,
Grovetown, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this would be a great product from the reviews. Although there were some bad reviews, I thought the good out weighed them. But the truth is, this product does not give acurate step counts. I Put it in my pocket and took it right back out, without moving and it had 6 steps on it. I walked 10 steps and it would show 23 steps. I was really disapointed and am looking for another pedometer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 834 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  42 Next