Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

South Shore South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

The Prairie South Shore 5-Drawer Dresser is a beautiful addition to your bedroom. With a laminate finish, it adds a touch of old world charm to any decor. Antique dark metal handles give it a charming rustic look. This pine dresser is from the Country Pine Collection by South Shore, so you can match it with other pieces, which are sold separately. With five spacious drawers, it offers enough space to put clothes or store blankets, pillows, sheets and other bedroom accessories. The drawers feature Smart Glides for easy sliding and dampers for added safety. Constructed from engineered recycled wood, this South Shore dresser is strong and durable. Use this in a guest room, so visitors can unpack and feel at home. This dresser also works well in a child's room or walk-in closet.
Average Customer Rating:
3.789 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
55
3 stars
20
2 stars
14
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation75%124 out of 166reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
55
3 stars
20
2 stars
14
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

South Shore Country Pine Chest

12/06/2007
By ,
Blackwell, Okla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the chest. It is a pretty piece of furniture and has alot of storage. The drawers slide in and out easily, also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Unstable & No Storage Space!

10/18/2011
By ,
Indianapolis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wow. Disapointed again in another piece of South Shore's furniture. We bought the entire collection and are now stuck with it. This is the first piece that had all of the pieces in the box and all the holes were dirlled in the correct places. So, we didn't have to wait for South Shore to send us parts. We were very hopeful.
This is the most unstable of all the Prarie Collection furniture. We even put a piece of wood across the back for support and it still wiggles around when we open the drawers. I thought it was going to fall apart when we had to move the dresser across the room. I can't imagine this furniture making it through a move to another home.
The drawers look nice and big from the outside. But, when you open them up, they are about 12" deep and about 3" tall inside. Our baby room dresser: made for baby clothes! has more room and is more sturdy. By the way, the more you try to put in the drawers, the more the drawers stick because the glides/rails are PLASTIC!
Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Excellent

08/04/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this cabinet. Although it wasn't as easy to put together, it is sturdy and has the support it needs for the base of the drawers, unlike other drawers (flimsy).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Just what I needed

11/21/2008
By ,
Sherman TX.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having assembled several other pieces from South Shore, I found assembly on a medium level ( about 3 hrs.). I use a 30 yr. clear adhesive silicon caulk for all dowel holes, under drawer slides, and a thin bead between all connecting pieces and when applying the back. This makes for a rock solid piece of furniture that should stay so for many years. This piece is nice eye candy, and was just what I needed to finish my bedroom. The paper veneer, and smaller than desired drawers, are the only drawbacks. Overall a very nice piece!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Chest of drawers

11/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My friend and I put this together. Good thing they had pictures as the written directions weren't much help. The only thing I notice is a smell when I open the drawers so I put in scented liners.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

chest of drewers

11/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item was damaged when it came in and was not a good quality. It was sent back and my account credited
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

drawer back

11/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm not overly thrilled with it. I expected better quality but I needed something right away and for now it works. Not sure if I would recommend this particular product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Perhaps

11/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is not as good as the one I bought from Wal-Mart in 2006. Took 5 hours to assemble. You may need to look at that supplier of old again.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Excellent dresser for my new 1 month old grandson.

09/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes, I really love the dresser, it will be used to put in my new 1 month old, grandson room,
his mom and dad can now put all of his clothing in the dresser. The price was right.
THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Really Bad Drawer Tracks

02/21/2008
By ,
Washington
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1. installation: not that bad, some plastic tracks were broken but we used wood glue to fix it. took about 2-3 hrs and two persons to put it together.
2. appearance: it is a good looking dresser, except the wood is not real, as always.
3. functions: hope you do not use it often, the drawer tracks do NOT have wheels, so it is really hard to open and close. I wish I bought another tracks to replaced them at the very beginning. now it is too time consuming for me to take off the existed ones and do the replacement.
4. conclusion: do not buy it unless you decide to purchase another 5 pairs of steel drawer tracks with wheels to replace the originals.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Good product

10/25/2013
By ,
Somerset, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this dresser to match a bed I purchased. The only thing I can say is that I had to get someone to put it together for me. In the future, I would like Walmart to provide an assembly services (for a small fee, of course). Overall, I am very satisfied with the product, it will serve its purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine
08/19/2007
By ,
Ontario,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not crazy about plastic drawer sliders, somewhat difficult to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
Cheapest Drawer Ever, Please save your money
Posted 10/15/2011
Please, Please save your money and buy something probably costing more. i bought this drawer for my newborn daughter to put her lil onesies and lil stiff, nothing too heavy. the wood inside the draw his falling apart, two drawers so far, the bottom drawer is not closing and doesnt have any heavy stuff in it. i regret buying this and i didn't get any warranty, my bad!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Dresser upright

10/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
really nice finish on it was a little shaky and still is but otherwise i love them so much i bought two of them
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Perfect for small spaces!

10/08/2014
By ,
Virgina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dresser appears larger in the photo than it is... but it's perfect for small bedrooms! The drawers are roomy and have stop locks so they can't slide all the way out when pulled. The hardware is good and the construction and materials are solid. Great for guest rooms and kids' rooms!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

very satisfied

10/08/2014
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Packed well-product was delivered to our door in great condition-can not wait to add more pieces
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Horrid instructions, below standard manufacturing.

07/13/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product has VERY poor instructions, the holes for the pegs and screws were rarely if ever lined up and screw heads were often already stripped or WAY too low in construction for a normal screwdriver often requiring use of a pair of players or bigger screwdriver with a lot of force....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arizona
Ditto
Posted 08/15/2014
I found the exact same thing. Would never ever order again from this company.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

You get what you pay for

08/19/2009
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this as it looked very similar to a chest I already have. I knew that it was not the most expensive chest but didn't expect the very poor quality. I thought this chest would be made of pressed wood or some cheap material, but I never expected the drawer bottoms to be made of cardboard. I store my jeans and sweaters in my chest and it will not hold these items. The chest looks nice and if you only plan on having light weight material then this will work. For me it doesn't work so it'll be going back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Very poorly made product

01/22/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cardboard drawer bottoms and plastic slides. Need I say more. Complete junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Too expensive for the quality

07/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It took 3 hours to put together and I am very handy. The particle (not wood) board dresser breaks if you put hardware in near edges. Cheap but looks ok. I would have been happy if it only cost $50 I could have purchased a dresser like this at the "cheap furniture is us" store and would not have had to put it together for the same price.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Poor quality control

01/18/2014
By ,
Sterling, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these for my kids. The drawer face boards on both dressers had holes drilled too far apart for the handles. Over an inch too far! Called the South Shore customer service and they are sending replacements at no cost, but will take over a week to receive. Other than that "little" issue, the dresser seems sturdy and was not difficult to assemble. I hope they take some time to investigate the manufacturing processes that have allowed such a problem to plague an otherwise decent product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next