Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

South Shore South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

The Prairie South Shore 5-Drawer Dresser is a beautiful addition to your bedroom. With a laminate finish, it adds a touch of old world charm to any decor. Antique dark metal handles give it a charming rustic look. This pine dresser is from the Country Pine Collection by South Shore, so you can match it with other pieces, which are sold separately. With five spacious drawers, it offers enough space to put clothes or store blankets, pillows, sheets and other bedroom accessories. The drawers feature Smart Glides for easy sliding and dampers for added safety. Constructed from engineered recycled wood, this South Shore dresser is strong and durable. Use this in a guest room, so visitors can unpack and feel at home. This dresser also works well in a child's room or walk-in closet.
Average Customer Rating:
3.737 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(186 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
59
3 stars
22
2 stars
16
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation73%136 out of 186reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 57 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
59
3 stars
22
2 stars
16
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

South Shore Country Pine Chest

12/06/2007
By ,
Blackwell, Okla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the chest. It is a pretty piece of furniture and has alot of storage. The drawers slide in and out easily, also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Unstable & No Storage Space!

10/18/2011
By ,
Indianapolis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wow. Disapointed again in another piece of South Shore's furniture. We bought the entire collection and are now stuck with it. This is the first piece that had all of the pieces in the box and all the holes were dirlled in the correct places. So, we didn't have to wait for South Shore to send us parts. We were very hopeful.
This is the most unstable of all the Prarie Collection furniture. We even put a piece of wood across the back for support and it still wiggles around when we open the drawers. I thought it was going to fall apart when we had to move the dresser across the room. I can't imagine this furniture making it through a move to another home.
The drawers look nice and big from the outside. But, when you open them up, they are about 12" deep and about 3" tall inside. Our baby room dresser: made for baby clothes! has more room and is more sturdy. By the way, the more you try to put in the drawers, the more the drawers stick because the glides/rails are PLASTIC!
Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Not worth the money!

06/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Save your money. This item is cheaply made, a pain to put together (and I've put together a lot of things with no problem). The drawers are very shallow, so you can't really fit much into them. I received 3 different colors of wood. The holes for the handles on the top drawer were to small & I had to enlarge them a bit to make the handles fit. The chest I have that I was going to replace with this one is much nicer & sturdier, so I'm keeping it & giving away this piece of junk. I wish I had saved my money. Live & learn.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Outlaw

06/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the look of the dresser. It was a little hard to put together but with the help of a friend we got it done and I love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Not what I expected

06/24/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Its usable. Though it isn't what I expected. I first thought that the 1st drawer was a separate box from left to right due to the design and handle but it was plain drawer set just like the rest of the ones below.
It is not as sturdy as I thought so I still put some wood glue at the bottom to hold the garments in it. Took me 2.5days to set it up. Again, its usable for now.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Excellent

08/04/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this cabinet. Although it wasn't as easy to put together, it is sturdy and has the support it needs for the base of the drawers, unlike other drawers (flimsy).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Bad design

06/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took 6 hours to put together then was missing screws
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Very Nice!

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes it is a bit of a pain putting together, it is pre-fab furniture! However, it was packed well and the finished product looks and functions quite nicely for the money.
I think any poor reviews is simply people not paying attention to the dimensions, or forgetting that they are paying 135 bucks. You can barely get a used dresser for that price, and when this is finished....it is sturdy, functional, and attractive! (and NEW)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Just what I needed

11/21/2008
By ,
Sherman TX.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having assembled several other pieces from South Shore, I found assembly on a medium level ( about 3 hrs.). I use a 30 yr. clear adhesive silicon caulk for all dowel holes, under drawer slides, and a thin bead between all connecting pieces and when applying the back. This makes for a rock solid piece of furniture that should stay so for many years. This piece is nice eye candy, and was just what I needed to finish my bedroom. The paper veneer, and smaller than desired drawers, are the only drawbacks. Overall a very nice piece!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

06/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned it as soon as I opened the box. I did not expect cardboard for the back of the chest. Pieces were damaged.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Good dresser

06/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the dresser for my nursery and I do luv it. But some of the components are hard to put together. I loved the color it fits perfectly with my other natural wood furniture.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Beautiful Chest of drawers

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this chest it is perfect for me, very attractive and not to hard to assemble. Had help assembling the drawers, but I finished it myself. Drawers slide in and out easily, no problems. I am one very satisfied customer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Very happy with this dresser.

05/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very happy with the quality of this dresser. I have bought other pieces of furniture and paid much higher prices and they were not as good as this. It was easy to assemble and it is very sturdy. I would definitely purchase another piece of this South Shore furniture and I would recommend it to others. Also, this is an attractive piece of furniture and looks more expensive than it is.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Great replacement

05/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brought for sibling to remove/replace same like furniture in the room where they reside. This is a great piece.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

05/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is beautiful and sturdy! Lovely addition to my bedroom and our new home.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

You get what you pay for

08/19/2009
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this as it looked very similar to a chest I already have. I knew that it was not the most expensive chest but didn't expect the very poor quality. I thought this chest would be made of pressed wood or some cheap material, but I never expected the drawer bottoms to be made of cardboard. I store my jeans and sweaters in my chest and it will not hold these items. The chest looks nice and if you only plan on having light weight material then this will work. For me it doesn't work so it'll be going back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Great dresser!

09/01/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this dresser for my son. Although it took my husband quite a long time to put it together, it was WELL worth the wait. The dresser is REALLY nice looking and definitely looks and seems like a much more expensive piece of furniture. It is very sturdy and looks great with the matching night stand. I HIGHLY recommend this dresser. You will not be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine
08/19/2007
By ,
Ontario,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not crazy about plastic drawer sliders, somewhat difficult to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
Cheapest Drawer Ever, Please save your money
Posted 10/15/2011
Please, Please save your money and buy something probably costing more. i bought this drawer for my newborn daughter to put her lil onesies and lil stiff, nothing too heavy. the wood inside the draw his falling apart, two drawers so far, the bottom drawer is not closing and doesnt have any heavy stuff in it. i regret buying this and i didn't get any warranty, my bad!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Really Bad Drawer Tracks

02/21/2008
By ,
Washington
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1. installation: not that bad, some plastic tracks were broken but we used wood glue to fix it. took about 2-3 hrs and two persons to put it together.
2. appearance: it is a good looking dresser, except the wood is not real, as always.
3. functions: hope you do not use it often, the drawer tracks do NOT have wheels, so it is really hard to open and close. I wish I bought another tracks to replaced them at the very beginning. now it is too time consuming for me to take off the existed ones and do the replacement.
4. conclusion: do not buy it unless you decide to purchase another 5 pairs of steel drawer tracks with wheels to replace the originals.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Good product

10/25/2013
By ,
Somerset, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this dresser to match a bed I purchased. The only thing I can say is that I had to get someone to put it together for me. In the future, I would like Walmart to provide an assembly services (for a small fee, of course). Overall, I am very satisfied with the product, it will serve its purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next