Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

South Shore South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

The South Shore Prairie 5 Drawer Dresser is a beautiful addition to your bedroom. This triple dresser is from the Country Pine Collection by South Shore. With five spacious drawers, this South Shore 5 Drawer Chest offers enough space to store extra blankets, pillows, am\sheets, and other bedroom accessories. Constructed from engineered recycled wood, this cabinet is really strong and durable. These drawers also feature Smart Glides for easy sliding and dampers for added safety. Apart from just functionality, this bedroom dresser offers an appealing look to the room. With a laminate finish and antique metal handles, this South Shore Furniture creates the perfect look to any bedroom.
Average Customer Rating:
3.804 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(148 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
51
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation76%113 out of 148reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
51
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

South Shore Country Pine Chest

12/06/2007
By ,
Blackwell, Okla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the chest. It is a pretty piece of furniture and has alot of storage. The drawers slide in and out easily, also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Unstable & No Storage Space!

10/18/2011
By ,
Indianapolis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wow. Disapointed again in another piece of South Shore's furniture. We bought the entire collection and are now stuck with it. This is the first piece that had all of the pieces in the box and all the holes were dirlled in the correct places. So, we didn't have to wait for South Shore to send us parts. We were very hopeful.
This is the most unstable of all the Prarie Collection furniture. We even put a piece of wood across the back for support and it still wiggles around when we open the drawers. I thought it was going to fall apart when we had to move the dresser across the room. I can't imagine this furniture making it through a move to another home.
The drawers look nice and big from the outside. But, when you open them up, they are about 12" deep and about 3" tall inside. Our baby room dresser: made for baby clothes! has more room and is more sturdy. By the way, the more you try to put in the drawers, the more the drawers stick because the glides/rails are PLASTIC!
Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Poor quality control

01/18/2014
By ,
Sterling, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these for my kids. The drawer face boards on both dressers had holes drilled too far apart for the handles. Over an inch too far! Called the South Shore customer service and they are sending replacements at no cost, but will take over a week to receive. Other than that "little" issue, the dresser seems sturdy and was not difficult to assemble. I hope they take some time to investigate the manufacturing processes that have allowed such a problem to plague an otherwise decent product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Excellent

08/04/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this cabinet. Although it wasn't as easy to put together, it is sturdy and has the support it needs for the base of the drawers, unlike other drawers (flimsy).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Nice Dresser

03/03/2014
By ,
Overland Park, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dresser was pretty easy for one person to put together even though it calls for two. There were only a couple of times that I needed a third hand during assembly. I do feel that the instructions could be a little bit clearer though. It is basically pictures with two word descriptions. I would not recommend this for the first time assembler but it is fine when you have two or 3 things under your belt. I ended up being very pleased with the result.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Just what I needed

11/21/2008
By ,
Sherman TX.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having assembled several other pieces from South Shore, I found assembly on a medium level ( about 3 hrs.). I use a 30 yr. clear adhesive silicon caulk for all dowel holes, under drawer slides, and a thin bead between all connecting pieces and when applying the back. This makes for a rock solid piece of furniture that should stay so for many years. This piece is nice eye candy, and was just what I needed to finish my bedroom. The paper veneer, and smaller than desired drawers, are the only drawbacks. Overall a very nice piece!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Good product

10/25/2013
By ,
Somerset, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this dresser to match a bed I purchased. The only thing I can say is that I had to get someone to put it together for me. In the future, I would like Walmart to provide an assembly services (for a small fee, of course). Overall, I am very satisfied with the product, it will serve its purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Great dresser for the price.

03/12/2014
By ,
Gainsville, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband quickly put this dresser together. It looks great. The only issue that I have is the the drawers are hard to pull out. I am hoping time will loosen them up a little.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

very STURDY

03/14/2014
By ,
PHILADELPHIA, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT ITEM, MY KIDS LOVE IT, THANK YOU
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PA
Time consuming
Posted 03/25/2014
Too difficult to assemble and time consuming. I will not buy this type of product as long as assembly is required. Looks good once it's put together though.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Works well for our spare bedroom

02/14/2014
By ,
Titusville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dresser and the night stand we purchased are perfect for our spare bedroom. They look good and are functional but appear a little light weight for everyday use. We didn't have any trouble putting them together and so far the plastic drawer guides are working without any problem. Our winter guests will have adequate furnishings in the spare bedroom when they come to escape the snow and cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Great Value

02/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely struggled a bit w set up but it looks great and has a grear deal of space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Really Bad Drawer Tracks

02/21/2008
By ,
Washington
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1. installation: not that bad, some plastic tracks were broken but we used wood glue to fix it. took about 2-3 hrs and two persons to put it together.
2. appearance: it is a good looking dresser, except the wood is not real, as always.
3. functions: hope you do not use it often, the drawer tracks do NOT have wheels, so it is really hard to open and close. I wish I bought another tracks to replaced them at the very beginning. now it is too time consuming for me to take off the existed ones and do the replacement.
4. conclusion: do not buy it unless you decide to purchase another 5 pairs of steel drawer tracks with wheels to replace the originals.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Awesome Dresser

02/02/2014
By ,
Green River, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really did not expect much when I ordered it. but after laying all the parts and pieces out I was impressed with the quality. It was easy to put together...a lot of pieces but if you follow the instructions exactly and don't jump ahead it all falls into place quickly. It took me 2 hours to put it together...I am a 63 year old woman with arthritis in her hands. If I can do it anyone can do it! Mys sister came home and saw the finished product and was awed...she wants one now. I Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine
08/19/2007
By ,
Ontario,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not crazy about plastic drawer sliders, somewhat difficult to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
Cheapest Drawer Ever, Please save your money
Posted 10/15/2011
Please, Please save your money and buy something probably costing more. i bought this drawer for my newborn daughter to put her lil onesies and lil stiff, nothing too heavy. the wood inside the draw his falling apart, two drawers so far, the bottom drawer is not closing and doesnt have any heavy stuff in it. i regret buying this and i didn't get any warranty, my bad!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Dresser

02/05/2014
By ,
Covington, wa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was terrible .my Husband put it together and the bottom fell apart . Was a very cheaply made piece of furniture , I have never been so disappointed in a product . I would not buy another piece of furniture from Walmart online again . My husband had to improvise to even make it work with his own screws ect.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Very nice chest

02/07/2014
By ,
San Angelo,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked like an ordeal but was very easy to put together. Assembled by myself, took about an hour and a half as I was in no hurry. Very nice looking. Serves purpose for guest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

11/19/2013
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Well made and construction directions and parts were all there and easy to follow. I found it easier to separate the parts, screws, dowels, sections, etc.
Finish product is well constructed and functions nicely.
Would not hesitate to recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

You get what you pay for

08/19/2009
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this as it looked very similar to a chest I already have. I knew that it was not the most expensive chest but didn't expect the very poor quality. I thought this chest would be made of pressed wood or some cheap material, but I never expected the drawer bottoms to be made of cardboard. I store my jeans and sweaters in my chest and it will not hold these items. The chest looks nice and if you only plan on having light weight material then this will work. For me it doesn't work so it'll be going back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

Looks good, although of work to put together

01/23/2014
By ,
Brownsville
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The draw slides work very poorly. The back should be made of thicker material.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Prairie 5-Drawer Dresser, Pine

good dresser but with poor quality control

01/17/2014
By ,
Star Valley, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to put together. holes for the 4 handles were drilled in the wrong places, They had to be drilled about 1 inch further apart but the old holes were covered by the handle so no big problem for me but would be for someone who does not have the tools available to repair the unit
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next