Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for IlluMask Anti-Ance illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

IlluMask Anti-Ance illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask provides serious results and can even outperform leading prescription drug acne treatments. It uses light therapy, a safe and effective skin care technology that uses a combination of light wavelengths to treat various skin conditions, including acne. For decades, light therapy has been used by dermatologists and top skin care clinics. The illuMask anti-acne mask delivers a similar technology in a home treatment device. Blue light kills acne-causing bacteria, even before breakouts can appear. Red light reduces inflammation, heals breakouts and evens skin tone. The illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask can help you enjoy a clearer, smoother complexion, fewer breakouts and blemishes, less redness and pain associated with pimples and less oily, dry or flaky skin. It uses no damaging UV lights, making it safe for all skin types and tones; it takes only 15 minutes a day to use it.
Average Customer Rating:
3.951 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation80%33 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask
  • Staff Sparks

Entertaining Mask

04/14/2014
By ,
San Francisco, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
At first I was turning it on and off to try it out and I used about 6 of the treatments without realizing it. :(
You can only push the button 30 times until the whole unit is useless, which is definitely a waste since the device is robust and the lights do not wear out.
I have to say though, it was a very relaxing experience. The soft pink light is nice to tune out to and it is very warm and cozy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Great Halloween costume

04/03/2014
By ,
Dublin, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This mask is super creepy. It's like a Poltergeist mask illuminated by disco lights. As far as how it works, I haven't noticed any big differences in my skin, but I've only used it a few times. My main concern is that a mask is only good for 30 uses, then you have to get rid of it an buy a new one. So you're paying $1 a treatment, and then it becomes landfill. It's just too much waste, and none of this is labeled as recyclable, although I'll put mine in an electronic waste bin and hope they can do something with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Illumask Anti-Acne Phototherapy

02/20/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 16-year old son who has been plagued with moderate acne. We tried so many over-the-counter treatments and holistic remedies (the holistic gave better results) but none worked satisfactorily. The illuMask is absolutely incredible. After the very first treatment his skin was baby smooth and the redness decreased and within just a few days the severity of his existing blemishes had lessened. Within a week he stopped having new breakouts and I really couldn't be happier with this product. Who knew that some tiny little LED lights could kill bacteria and improve skin?...not me, but now I'm telling everybody. It was the best $30 I ever spent to give my son skin he could "face" every day with renewed confidence. I hope we carry this product for a very long time because I don't ever want to buy harsh chemicals again that don't alleviate acne and often make things worse. Thank you illuMask.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Some things you should be aware of before buying

03/04/2014
By ,
Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1. It is only a 30 day treatment, it has a remote with 30 "treatments" downloading into the remote, so this isn't something you can use for a long time.
2. If you interrupt your 15 min. treatment time you lose the rest of the treatment, so if you just turn it on when you get it to see how the lights work and stuff you lose a treatment.
3.It is very cheaply made, the white "plate" is like a cheap plastic picnic plate that still has rough and semi-sharp edges.
4. The glasses that are attached to the Mask are very uncomfortable, the rim of the glasses are rough and irritated my skin.
5. I haven't really noticed any change in my skin, and I didn't have much acne to start with, just the occasional pimple
6.Their claim that it is "clinically" proven, if you read the booklet it stated that it is has only been tested on 30 people, which to me isn't very reassuring.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Jersey
Not a product for you?
Posted 07/15/2014
If you don't have acne, what were you expecting it to do for you? I don't have any idea if this works, but I feel the need to point out that a 30 day supply of any other acne treatment will cost you A LOT more than $1 per day, so if it is effective (for people who actually have acne) it may be a great option.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Skin Improved

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this a second time because I was so happy the first time around. $30 for 30 days is nothing when you consider how much one facial or microderm costs. Redness is gone, and texture is definitely improved.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Great Product!

01/20/2014
By ,
Villanova, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this product for two weeks and I have already noticed results with my face! I don't have severe acne, just some on my forehead and cheeks. After using the mask for even just a week I started to notice my skin was softer and my tone was evening. After two weeks, my skin was softer, less red and most importantly, my acne is almost gone!
I like the mask as well. I use it every night, right after washing my face and I put it on while laying in bed. It's pretty relaxing, so I usually fall asleep using it. If I use it during the day, I like that it has the eye holes to be able to watch TV or text while using it.
I will definitely be purchasing another one for next month!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

This WORKS!

02/08/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never written a product review before, but I had to take the time to do this because if it makes someone try it and it helps them as much as it helped me it is more than worth a few minutes of my time. When I was a teen and all through my twenties I can count on one hand how many times I had a pimple, it just wasn't a problem for me. Then in my mid thirties I started getting break outs on my chin, around my nose, and along my jaw. They were not just ugly but they hurt and I can't even begin to explain my frustration and depression over this problem that never seemed to clear up entirely.
I have spent, I would guess, close to two thousand dollars in the last five years on all kinds of products, and had even seen a dermatologist. Some products would help, but nothing got rid of all the bumps and kept me clear for more than a few days. I've tired every over the counter acne product you can buy, I've read tons of literature looking for an answer, I brought products from the dermatologist (very expensive products I might add), I've tried all sorts of home remedies as well, all with very little or no results. I even bought the Zeno heat thing for $100, used it like crazy, and it really didn't do much of anything.
After all of that, I can tell you I was more than just a little skeptical about buying the illumask. I thought it would be like the Zeno, just a heat treatment or something that didn't work but I have been desperate for a long time and to me it was like, we'll, if it's $30's down the drain at least I can say I've tried everything. I am so very, very happy that I did! Like another review I use it after I wash my face at night (with just a regular mild face cleanser, not even one for acne), and I have fallen asleep while it's doing it's treatment, but you don't have to worry because it shuts itself off when it's done.
After just three days I saw a noticeable difference in my skin. Less red, less bumps. I know it sounds crazy but for anyone that's suffered with acne you will understand when I say I didn't want to get my hopes up. It might just be a fluke. After a week of using the mask every night I have had no new pimples and the one's that I had are almost entirely gone. At this point my skin is clearer than it's been in FIVE YEARS. It's amazing.
It may seem a little expensive to some people, but really if you break it down it's a dollar a day. You get 30 uses. The cost almost kept me from buying it because I hate products that seem like they should just continue working, there's no reason to set a limit...but even with that I would buy this again, and I am planing on buying another in case I need to do more treatments after the one I have is done.
If you have suffered with acne and tried everything out there, you should really give this a try. I hope it works as well for you as it did for me. Oh, and one more thing, I am a real person. I am not being paid for this review or in anyway associated with the people that make and sell this thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

AMAZING!!!!

02/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have struggled with breakouts my entire life- even though I know it happens to the best of us- it really REALLY bothers me. I have a hard time with it. I have missed numerous social events - I have missed many outings with friends because It disgusted me to look in the mirror. I found myself missing classes and work in general because i felt that my skin was so out of whack that everyone else would see and judge me for it. I was on clindamycin topical lotion for a year and it worked fantastic. After a year I had a resistance build up of the antibiotic and it literally trashed my skin. Thats when I decided to go do an IPL treatment.. Bad move. I had an adverse reaction to the numbing agent- and it was severe. I missed classes over it. I have spent hundreds if not thousands on face products only to have them not live up to their expectations and fail in every way imaginable. I was put on a $200 dollar skin care regimen by the dermatologist- and broke out even worse- I've spent hundreds on topical antibiotics to deal with the rash on my forehead that didn't work or caused a worse reaction. Its unreal just how much you let your appearance control your life. I purchased these masks on a wim- one to control my acne and then the anti aging mask to get rid of the lines the IPL caused around my eyes and mouth. Day 4 and I have noticeable less redness- existing acne has cleared- tighter /firmer skin. Freckles seem to be not as prominent and the dark aging spots that the IPL caused are fading rapidly after spending a fortune on lightening creams.The illumask has reversed the IPL disaster in 4 short days. These masks are nothing short of amazing- and not only that but they are very affordable which is very much appreciated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Yukon OK
Posted 02/27/2014
I am so glad these masks worked for you! I, too, am thinking about using both masks. May I ask, what order did you use them? Did you use them back to back or one in the morning and one at night? Please let me know.... THANK YOU!!!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Amazing product- Saw results in 2 weeks!

03/19/2014
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started using the IlluMask a little over two weeks ago and I am already seeing fantastic results. My skin is clearer, and my skin tone is more even. Because I have an olive skin tone I typically deal with Hyperpigmentation after a breakout and this product has even helped reduce that. I am excited there is finally an affordable product on the market like this and I will continue to use it.
Helpful hint: don't be discouraged if you break out from the mask. It normally takes 4 weeks for blue light therapy to get everything that is deep in your pores out. This can mean you'll see blemishes come to the surface because it's getting rid of everything below the surface. After that, keep using it and you just won't have breakouts!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Worsened Acne Marks, No Effect on Acne

03/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's easy to use and a decent price, but it just didn't work.
This mask is simple to use and reasonably priced (around the same for a Proactive subscription). Sadly, this light mask didn't help my acne at all! In fact, it made my face look worse because it darkened my healing acne scars/marks. Once I stopped using this product, my skin tone improved significantly over the next month. I'm in my early 20s with light tan, moderately oily skin and moderate acne, for reference.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Works but is inconvenient

05/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered the acne mask and for me the product worked well. I could tell a difference in my complexion after just a few uses. I have been using it a little over a month (yes, I reordered) and my skin looks better. I still have breakouts, but not as bad. The big negative side of this product is that you have to sit for 15 minutes a day with a huge mask covering your face with just a tiny tiny slit for your eyes. FYI, the Anti-aging mask has no slit at all. When you are a busy mom running a household this can be quite an inconvenience. Plus, you can not pause the product. So if you accidentally hit start, then you better be ready to sit there for 15 minutes. There are only 30 sessions per product so after 30 days of use you have to order a new one. All in all though... I am pleased with the result and if you can put up with a little I inconvenience then I recommend trying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

broke out worse

04/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hopeful this would help as my dermatologist recommended light treatment in the past but it was too pricey. This product seemed to be a well made, affordable alternative. However, my skin has been breaking out worse since I started using it. Maybe it will work for others but not for my skin unfortunately.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

LOVE IT!!!!

03/01/2014
By ,
Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used my mask for about two weeks now. Noticed a difference the second day!!! Face is now much clearer, less oily, softer, and smoother! LOVE IT!!! I have moderate acne and am in my 30's! To old for that junk!!! Only things I would change: make the mask curve some to get right under the chin area and make the "glasses" darker. If you keep your eyes open while using it, it will hurt your eyes. BUT, those are little things! I will be buying many more! Thank you for a great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

awesome product

02/19/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value!!!!! almost too good to be true. bought 2 masks. been using for 2+ weeks. love it! easy to use, even a child can do it. Really can't believe how well its made for the price. results are excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Seems to be working

03/06/2014
By ,
Albany
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product for my teenage son who has severe cystic acne. He has been using it for ten days or so and it seems to have calmed the acne down. It hasn't gotten rid of the acne but he face isn't as swollen and red. I will be purchasing this again to see if clears his complexion more. I'm not expecting perfect results but any improvement is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Amazing, new and Innovative

02/05/2014
By ,
Palm Beach, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product comes fully assembled ready to use. Ease if use and really does improve breakouts. Have only been using it a week and a half and already see results. Would recommend highly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

A miracle worker for moderate acne

05/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love love this. Works wonders on my skin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

It's Slowly Working!

06/23/2014
By ,
Windermere, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is slowly starting to improve very resistant acne.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

disappointed

03/05/2014
By ,
long island, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I been using this product for two weeks now and it does not work. I even broke out with acne. I was very disappointed. I do have a lot of stress in my life so i am not sure if thats the reason its not working,
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Really helps with inflammation.

06/15/2014
By ,
Fayetteville,nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mask works well so far .it leaves the face a little dry but it is worth the results. I just use some facial moisturizer and I am fine.i have even been able to stop using all my other acne products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next