Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for IlluMask Anti-Ance illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

IlluMask Anti-Ance illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask provides serious results and can even outperform leading prescription drug acne treatments. It uses light therapy, a safe and effective skin care technology that uses a combination of light wavelengths to treat various skin conditions, including acne. For decades, light therapy has been used by dermatologists and top skin care clinics. The illuMask anti-acne mask delivers a similar technology in a home treatment device. Blue light kills acne-causing bacteria, even before breakouts can appear. Red light reduces inflammation, heals breakouts and evens skin tone. The illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask can help you enjoy a clearer, smoother complexion, fewer breakouts and blemishes, less redness and pain associated with pimples and less oily, dry or flaky skin. It uses no damaging UV lights, making it safe for all skin types and tones; it takes only 15 minutes a day to use it.
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%90 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 48 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Entertaining Mask

04/14/2014
By ,
San Francisco, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
At first I was turning it on and off to try it out and I used about 6 of the treatments without realizing it. :(
You can only push the button 30 times until the whole unit is useless, which is definitely a waste since the device is robust and the lights do not wear out.
I have to say though, it was a very relaxing experience. The soft pink light is nice to tune out to and it is very warm and cozy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

It worked.

09/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical but I kept using it and after 20 days I see improvement. I wish it was a little cheaper, but it is worth the price! I was busy and skipped a day here and there so my acne would flare up until I was able to use it again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Great Halloween costume

04/03/2014
By ,
Dublin, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This mask is super creepy. It's like a Poltergeist mask illuminated by disco lights. As far as how it works, I haven't noticed any big differences in my skin, but I've only used it a few times. My main concern is that a mask is only good for 30 uses, then you have to get rid of it an buy a new one. So you're paying $1 a treatment, and then it becomes landfill. It's just too much waste, and none of this is labeled as recyclable, although I'll put mine in an electronic waste bin and hope they can do something with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Really works

09/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not think this would work as well as it did for my teenage son who has acne. He only has been using it for 5 days now and it actually cleared his face to half of what it used to be. He still gets the whitehead acne and the bad thing is he has to use it for the 10 minutes everyday but it really does clear his face up, makes it less red and blouchy and swollen. His face looks so much better, Im hoping after 30 days we can reset it and he will not have to use it as much, but if you have a teenager I advice you to try it.
There is not many lights in it so it is not as strong as the more expensive light therapys but it is a good price to try it to see if the light therapy will work for your face. I do think you need the red and blue lights since the blue is supposed to be for the acne and the red for blouchy and wrinkles but i think with both lights it makes his face less red which helps. I recommend to everyone with a teenager to at least try it to see if it works for them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Illumask Anti-Acne Phototherapy

02/20/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 16-year old son who has been plagued with moderate acne. We tried so many over-the-counter treatments and holistic remedies (the holistic gave better results) but none worked satisfactorily. The illuMask is absolutely incredible. After the very first treatment his skin was baby smooth and the redness decreased and within just a few days the severity of his existing blemishes had lessened. Within a week he stopped having new breakouts and I really couldn't be happier with this product. Who knew that some tiny little LED lights could kill bacteria and improve skin?...not me, but now I'm telling everybody. It was the best $30 I ever spent to give my son skin he could "face" every day with renewed confidence. I hope we carry this product for a very long time because I don't ever want to buy harsh chemicals again that don't alleviate acne and often make things worse. Thank you illuMask.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Some things you should be aware of before buying

03/04/2014
By ,
Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1. It is only a 30 day treatment, it has a remote with 30 "treatments" downloading into the remote, so this isn't something you can use for a long time.
2. If you interrupt your 15 min. treatment time you lose the rest of the treatment, so if you just turn it on when you get it to see how the lights work and stuff you lose a treatment.
3.It is very cheaply made, the white "plate" is like a cheap plastic picnic plate that still has rough and semi-sharp edges.
4. The glasses that are attached to the Mask are very uncomfortable, the rim of the glasses are rough and irritated my skin.
5. I haven't really noticed any change in my skin, and I didn't have much acne to start with, just the occasional pimple
6.Their claim that it is "clinically" proven, if you read the booklet it stated that it is has only been tested on 30 people, which to me isn't very reassuring.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Jersey
Not a product for you?
Posted 07/15/2014
If you don't have acne, what were you expecting it to do for you? I don't have any idea if this works, but I feel the need to point out that a 30 day supply of any other acne treatment will cost you A LOT more than $1 per day, so if it is effective (for people who actually have acne) it may be a great option.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

AMAZING RESULTS

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am normally a person that takes time to just right bad reviews and never the good one, but I had to make this an exception. I bought this mask for my boyfriend who had VERY bad acne and the type of acne that had small craters in his face. It also didn’t help that he works in a factory that has dust floating around in which he has to wear a mask. I was sold on this product when I read the reviews and figured that it couldn’t hurt to try it. I could kick myself in the butt that we did not take before and after pics, but this product WORKS!! Within the first week he had this mask, I could see the difference. It not only has helped with his acne, it has actually smoothed out the craters he used to half on his face. This product is amazing and has done wonders for his skin. I highly recommend this to anyone suffering from acne who has tried everything and nothing seems to be working.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Works but is inconvenient

05/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered the acne mask and for me the product worked well. I could tell a difference in my complexion after just a few uses. I have been using it a little over a month (yes, I reordered) and my skin looks better. I still have breakouts, but not as bad. The big negative side of this product is that you have to sit for 15 minutes a day with a huge mask covering your face with just a tiny tiny slit for your eyes. FYI, the Anti-aging mask has no slit at all. When you are a busy mom running a household this can be quite an inconvenience. Plus, you can not pause the product. So if you accidentally hit start, then you better be ready to sit there for 15 minutes. There are only 30 sessions per product so after 30 days of use you have to order a new one. All in all though... I am pleased with the result and if you can put up with a little I inconvenience then I recommend trying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Worsened Acne Marks, No Effect on Acne

03/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's easy to use and a decent price, but it just didn't work.
This mask is simple to use and reasonably priced (around the same for a Proactive subscription). Sadly, this light mask didn't help my acne at all! In fact, it made my face look worse because it darkened my healing acne scars/marks. Once I stopped using this product, my skin tone improved significantly over the next month. I'm in my early 20s with light tan, moderately oily skin and moderate acne, for reference.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

This WORKS!

02/08/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never written a product review before, but I had to take the time to do this because if it makes someone try it and it helps them as much as it helped me it is more than worth a few minutes of my time. When I was a teen and all through my twenties I can count on one hand how many times I had a pimple, it just wasn't a problem for me. Then in my mid thirties I started getting break outs on my chin, around my nose, and along my jaw. They were not just ugly but they hurt and I can't even begin to explain my frustration and depression over this problem that never seemed to clear up entirely.
I have spent, I would guess, close to two thousand dollars in the last five years on all kinds of products, and had even seen a dermatologist. Some products would help, but nothing got rid of all the bumps and kept me clear for more than a few days. I've tired every over the counter acne product you can buy, I've read tons of literature looking for an answer, I brought products from the dermatologist (very expensive products I might add), I've tried all sorts of home remedies as well, all with very little or no results. I even bought the Zeno heat thing for $100, used it like crazy, and it really didn't do much of anything.
After all of that, I can tell you I was more than just a little skeptical about buying the illumask. I thought it would be like the Zeno, just a heat treatment or something that didn't work but I have been desperate for a long time and to me it was like, we'll, if it's $30's down the drain at least I can say I've tried everything. I am so very, very happy that I did! Like another review I use it after I wash my face at night (with just a regular mild face cleanser, not even one for acne), and I have fallen asleep while it's doing it's treatment, but you don't have to worry because it shuts itself off when it's done.
After just three days I saw a noticeable difference in my skin. Less red, less bumps. I know it sounds crazy but for anyone that's suffered with acne you will understand when I say I didn't want to get my hopes up. It might just be a fluke. After a week of using the mask every night I have had no new pimples and the one's that I had are almost entirely gone. At this point my skin is clearer than it's been in FIVE YEARS. It's amazing.
It may seem a little expensive to some people, but really if you break it down it's a dollar a day. You get 30 uses. The cost almost kept me from buying it because I hate products that seem like they should just continue working, there's no reason to set a limit...but even with that I would buy this again, and I am planing on buying another in case I need to do more treatments after the one I have is done.
If you have suffered with acne and tried everything out there, you should really give this a try. I hope it works as well for you as it did for me. Oh, and one more thing, I am a real person. I am not being paid for this review or in anyway associated with the people that make and sell this thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+163points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

illumask will have you seeing green

01/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I started using this mask and after a few uses I found my eyes couldn't focus after each use and everything was greenish blue colored. So I stopped using it for a few days,,then tried again same thing happened I believe that the glasses should be much thicker and darker so the blinding lights don't penetrate your eyelids...To be quite honest the lights are really ,really bright.Skin was the same maybe because I couldn't use the mask for the 30 days straight.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

So glad I tried this mask...

01/13/2015
By ,
DC metro
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this mask from Walmart on a special deal for less than $20. I am so glad I did, it works great. I find that if I miss a day/treatment, I see the difference. If daily cleansing is done, then the mask, and follow the treatment with a toner and moisturizer - you will see a significant change within a few days. I have already ordered/subscribed directly with the manufacturer and plan to continue to use it daily until my complexion is completely clear.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

great product!!

03/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this is working for me. I wash my face at night then use the mask. I put on my acne cream afterwards. I have had a couple breakouts when I started trying this and they have almost gone away. I have deep pores which make my breakouts big and red which is hard to hide. I have only done 6 treatments so far but will continue!!! Hope this helps someone else. For people that dont know, after 30 uses you have to buy a new mask.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Fantastic results! We love the illumask!

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has worked so well for my son. He is allergic to benzoyl peroxide, so our choices for treatment were limited. After watching several youtube video reviews on this product we decided to give it a try. After just a few treatments, his skin started looking much better. After two weeks he was pretty much acne-free!! We LOVE this product and will recommend it anyone that it might help.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Amazing product- Saw results in 2 weeks!

03/19/2014
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started using the IlluMask a little over two weeks ago and I am already seeing fantastic results. My skin is clearer, and my skin tone is more even. Because I have an olive skin tone I typically deal with Hyperpigmentation after a breakout and this product has even helped reduce that. I am excited there is finally an affordable product on the market like this and I will continue to use it.
Helpful hint: don't be discouraged if you break out from the mask. It normally takes 4 weeks for blue light therapy to get everything that is deep in your pores out. This can mean you'll see blemishes come to the surface because it's getting rid of everything below the surface. After that, keep using it and you just won't have breakouts!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Quit working after 14 days

02/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The "counter" on the device went blank and quit working after 10 days. Then the blue lights on device quit working after 14 days and now the 15th day the red lights won't turn off when it's suppose to auto shut off after 15 min. The red lights are stuck on which will eventually run down the batteries. There's no way to manually turn it off unless you disassemble the device. Waste of money and seemed to make my acne worse at that. Buyer beware!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Skin Improved

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this a second time because I was so happy the first time around. $30 for 30 days is nothing when you consider how much one facial or microderm costs. Redness is gone, and texture is definitely improved.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Seems to be working

03/06/2014
By ,
Albany
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product for my teenage son who has severe cystic acne. He has been using it for ten days or so and it seems to have calmed the acne down. It hasn't gotten rid of the acne but he face isn't as swollen and red. I will be purchasing this again to see if clears his complexion more. I'm not expecting perfect results but any improvement is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Love it

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 12 year old daughter, she was breaking out from hormones. We spent a all fortune on different face products, which were too harsh and burn her face. We saw results after the first use! I was amazed!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for illuMask Anti-Acne Light Therapy Mask

Great Product!

01/20/2014
By ,
Villanova, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this product for two weeks and I have already noticed results with my face! I don't have severe acne, just some on my forehead and cheeks. After using the mask for even just a week I started to notice my skin was softer and my tone was evening. After two weeks, my skin was softer, less red and most importantly, my acne is almost gone!
I like the mask as well. I use it every night, right after washing my face and I put it on while laying in bed. It's pretty relaxing, so I usually fall asleep using it. If I use it during the day, I like that it has the eye holes to be able to watch TV or text while using it.
I will definitely be purchasing another one for next month!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next