Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sun Dolphin Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

Sun Dolphin Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

Have a wonderful day on the water with this Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Stainless Steel Sit-On Kayak.
Average Customer Rating:
4.18 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation84%31 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 67 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

I like it..

09/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only issue is that doesn't have enough stability
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

10ft. sun dolphin sot-on kayak

09/29/2014
By ,
Sebastian, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding price also maneuvers great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

Great jayak for an awesome bargain!

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a great deal of research I knew I wanted to purchase the Bali 10 ss kayak manufactured by Sundolphin. I knew I wanted a sit-in-top recreational vessel that was light weight, stable yet tracked well. This kayak does all that and it has more storage, and more tie downs, than the other vessels in this size and category. Plus...this unit came WITH a paddle. That was a pleasant bonus !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

Don't think it's good for a beginner.

09/22/2014
By ,
Lewes, DE
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We haven't kayaked in a long while and had sit in kayaks which seemed way more stable and tracked much better. It may be the length or having to re-familiarize ourselves with paddling again.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

sit on top kayak

09/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I just picked this kayak up and have not had a chance to try it out; the ship to store and pick up was easy and went without a hitch. Kayak arrived is great shape with all accessories. Order came much sooner than expected and I live in a small mountain town. Looking forward to getting it on the lake. Looks similar to a previous kayak I had, so I believe it will perform just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

PERFECT AFFORDABLE STARTER KAYAK

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought my pink kayak in April and anxiously waited for the water to warm up to use it! As a beginner who only rented a kayak about 4 times before buying this one, I am very happy with it! It tracks well, easy to handle size, very affordable price, good design with the paddle holders and cup holders. WalMarts ship to store pick up was questionable though, the kayak arrived gouged and the rear storage pod lid was cracked from something heavy probably dropped on it. But the manufacturer made it right and sent me a brand new part within just days of my email to them. My purpose in buying it was for some fun summertime excercise on the water, and it fits my requirement perfectly!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

its ok

08/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it came double wrapped so we couldnt see it in the store and the grommet was pulled out and to fix I need to re rivet it.. also couldnt see the paddle so we bought one even though it said it came with one it was under the boat again double wrapped. time will tell if the boat has value.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

Great Kayak

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great Kayak easy to pick up and put in and out of the water. Great construction and a blast in the water!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

Good value, great 1st kayak

08/04/2014
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If money is a issue, a great buy at this price. But performance is just fair. It came complete and in perfect shape. Shipping was early. It tracks OK, but an occasional spin out should be expected. The little storage container worked well as a cooler, but if used as a tow behind it becomes a plow. It is light but needs handles in the middle. I have all ready added rod holders. It has a drain plug on each end (nice),but took on no water so not needed. The twin paddle holders (each side) are great for fishing not knowing which side you'll catch from. Overall from 1 to 10, a 6.5.but the price bumps it up to a solid 7.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

Sun Dolphin Bali 10' - First Kayak

07/22/2014
By ,
Kingsport, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price on this item was considerbly lower than local stores and by using the site to store there was no shipping charge. It arrived in about a week from when I placed the order and there was no damage. It did include a paddle which was another plus. Great experience using site to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

Things you should know.

07/05/2014
By ,
Kentucky
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My family has rented kayaks in the past and finally decided to purchase the 10' sit-on variety# We purchased 5#
On the bad side:
For starters the pricing on this site is very inconsistent# You may pay a wide range of prices depending on the color you choose, and it could change in a weeks time# Just crazy $207-$289 Today!
You may or may not get a paddle included# I got 3 paddles and 5 kayaks#
If you expect your kayak to be in pristine condition when you take delivery, you will be disappointed# 10' kayaks in a plastic bag = scrapes and gouges.
The compartment with the locking lid that sits between your legs. Is NOT water tight. In fact it holds water in better than it keeps it out. In a mild river where there was only one spot where a little water came into the kayak. I made a $400 cup of double IPhone soup. Silly me.
The bottom of the sit-on is quite flat so tracking is a issue. On longer river trips you get worn out because you cannot rest for more that 10-15 seconds and your kayak gets A.D.D and decides to take a detour.
Chances are you bum will get wet at some point through the drain holes in the seat. The good thing is that it will drain back out and you don't end up making bum soup all day! Unlike your Phone soup.
On the good side:
The price is good if you get lucky and the website gremlins are favoring you with your chosen color and a fair price.
Many compartments and storage areas. Paddle holder on the sides are nice while getting in or out.
comfortable seat, though I suggest using a PFD seat cushion to avoid the occasional water that comes into the drain holes when in choppy water. The first shot is always very invigorating.
I suspect the sit-in variety may track better but lacks many of the storage and convenience options.
Over all not a bad starter, but I won't be keeping ours for long.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

A blast!

07/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My dad bought me this pink kayak for my birthday, along with some b.a. pink boots. THANKS DAD!!!
I love this thing! The only downfall? I don't use it as much as I'd like to!
Weight capacity is 250 lbs. I might try to test that (my boyfriends a hunk:#
GOOD: Shipped before expected date. It goes where I tell it. Fun to buzz around in the lake with #will attempt intercoastal soon). Don't feel like I'm tipping over all the time. Drain holes don't let it fill up from splashing around. Came with double sided paddle. Plenty of storage. Adjustable feets.
BAD: Hard to carry by yourself - it's designed to be carried by front and rear handles or drug around from either. Splash rings for the paddles don't work too well, I just removed mine and enjoyed the sprinkles of water. Cooled me off nicely, so not too much to complain about there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

didnt turn out like I hoped

05/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this over the winter for fishing and mounted rod holders and various other things getting it ready for spring, big mistake... when I finally took it out I couldn't believe how tippy and unstabil it was, it was a high tension balance act just to keep it upright and any shift in weight one way or the other had it constantly wanting to roll over, all the way over... it didn't track the greatest either, constantly wanting to veer off its own way requiring conscience effort to correct it... I agree with the comment about it having a bad hull design, it sits high on the water, is top heavy with rider, and doesn't have enough ballast to keep it from constantly wanting to roll, it would be good for the beach where rolling it over and getting wet is part of the fun but in a stump fill flowage with fishing gear and electronics its not a good thing, at all... Ive thought about maybe filling it half full of water to try to add lower ballast and stability but that kind of defeats the purpose, I really wanted to like it because in theory its perfect for what I wanted to do with it but its actual performance on the water kills it, and I cant return it because Ive modified it
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tlh1967
Posted 06/13/2014
This kayak is really designed for smaller people. It is very stable with me in it but my brother-in-law is larger and has the problem you described. You needed a larger kayak.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

So Far So Good

04/10/2014
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this product 1.5 weeks before they said, the plastic it was in was pretty torn up but the Kayak looked to be ok. The kayak is nice, lots of storage. Do not know about how it is on water yet, I will try out this weekend and come back and review how it is in water. It is a self bailing kayak so it has the bailing holes on seat bottom and under feet area, I am sure plugs can be fond and bought for that so you don't get too wet. All this I will find out Saturday.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Georgia
Update after having for a couple of months
Posted 06/09/2014
I have used my kayak in a slow moving river and on a lake. One time in rive right after I got in, I turned to look behind me and not sure why but I went over. It was easy turning it back over but not easy to get back in. This kayak is slow tracking and turns very easily. I should have gotten a longer one for faster tracking. I do enjoy this kayak for recreational only. If you are looking for one for faster rivers I would not recommend this one. It is relaxing on lake but takes work on river, while paddling I turn, so I have to learn to keep it as straight as possible. It is wobbly, but that is because it is wide. I feel comfortable in it but need to get a bottom cushion. The self bailing holes do not get me very wet. Very little water comes through them. I get more wet from my paddles. All in all I am pleased with this kayak. I would like a longer one but am happy. If you are tall you definitely need a linger one, for your legs. Oh the foot pegs are not very comfortable but I can work around that. Overall I only tipped once and that was my third time kayaking so I learned. Not to turn around and have paddle tip in river water at same time. Ha.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

Pleasantly surprised

04/09/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a kayak fisherman and have a couple of high end fishing kayaks. I wanted a spare light weight kayak that had some of the features I enjoy in my other boats. I saw this online and thought it looked pretty nice but was skeptical because of the low price. I must admit once I got it I was really happy with it. I modified it to my liking but even without the modifications this is a really great boat. It tracks well and is an easy paddle. I love that it has the paddle holder on either side, the floating storage bin, storage for a cell phone, drink holder etc.... I don't think I would take this out in the bay with the waves and tides and it is not really meant to be standing up in but overall for the price this is an excellent buy. Great kayak for ponds and lakes..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

Would not reccomend, leaked.

04/07/2014
By ,
Pentwater, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No reviewers actually used this kayak!!
The good - Came with paddle when it says it doesn't. Came on time.
The Bad - I actually took this on the river and it leaked through the holes in the seat & foot areas and I was soaked! Also does not perform well. Fairly tippy and a poor hull design which makes it not steer very well. You would basically have to be sitting in very still water to enjoy this kayak aside from getting soaked.
I bought this kayak to have 2, because I kayak all the time and wanted an extra one like this open sit on for the summer and also for a friend to use. Very disappointed and returned it to purchase a good kayak somewhere else.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Pentwater, MI
Posted 04/11/2014
I am aware of the plugs. More so then that issue, it doesn't perform well. I went and bought a better more expensive kayak with a better hull design for better performance on the water!
0points
Customer Avatar
Roscoe, Illinois
scupper plugs!
Posted 04/10/2014
If you're worried about taking on water, buy the scupper plugs. The sit-on kayaks are meant to self-bilge so you will get water in the boat.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

I am tickled pink!

03/31/2014
By ,
Spring Hill, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The items were dramatically more affordable than competitors. Quality is superior. Delivery was two weeks early :) Online description was perfect except for the surprise of adding double paddles with both kayaks. We bought two blue kayaks and are thrilled with the Walmart experience from beginning to end. Thank you Walmart staffers! Only thing lacking was I was never able to track the shipping process from 3/19/14 - 3/31/14. So when I was expecting delivery to be on 4/9/14 and got both kayaks today, I was THRILLED!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

This should be a great basic recreational kayak!

03/24/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kayak has a lot of nice features. It is bigger than I expected, seems to be made very well, it came with paddles (unexpected) & it is really cool looking! Come on summer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

Very Nice

03/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice kayak for the price. My only complaint is, there is no place to grab hold it if you want to carry it (one man) over your shoulder. It's nice to see a decent product at a good price, made in the USA.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Dolphin Bali 10' Sit-On Kayak

I like that item

03/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I buy a kayak online that was good price and speed delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next