Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Dolphin Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sun Dolphin Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand

Have a wonderful day on the water with this Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak. This item is made from a strong Fortiflex high-density polyethylene that is UV-stabilized for protection from the sun. This Sun Dolphin fishing kayak also has a comfortable seat with protective pads. It is light and easy to carry, making it ideal for hard-to-reach fishing areas. This item comes with one swivel rod holder, two flush-mount rod holders and a Portable Accessory Carrier for added storage space.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation78%28 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Excelent

05/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kids love it, lots of room for creative rigging.
I was weary due to the cost, but it's built well, it's light enough for one person to handle in and out of the water.
It handles well even off shore.
Can't wait to get the kids hooked up and buy another one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

To heavy and to old.

05/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Kayak about a month ago and like it very. I've had it out a couple times and it's very stable and tracks very well. My problem is I am getting older and I have a hard time getting on racks on top of the car. There are no handles to hold onto . Any suggestions?
Older fisherman
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

A real shame, it could have been a contender

04/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very stable BUT seat is screwed to the hull and water leaks through the holes and the only way to get it out is to unscrew the plug and turn the yak over. BAD design
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Junk

04/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seat screws missing and cross threaded
Removable storage warped and doesn't fit kayak
Removable storage locker leaks and cannot be totally emptied ( wouldn't suggest using it as a tow behind as mfg states)
Small storage lid stuck cannot remove
Holes for lifting handles open to inside. If you submerg kayak it will sink!
Paddle ends warped
General condition upon delivery awful. Gouges, large dent on underside if bow
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Very thin

03/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If your going to stay in pond/lake with a muddy bottom and shore in this kayak you might be fine. The hull is very thin and if you hit anything hard in the water( rocks, logs, trash in the river) its going to puncture or crack it. I would not recommend this kayak in fast or even medium moving water. I was in the lake and bumped into something and started to sink. It got a crack in the hull. Since the hull is thin it gets dents easily too. If you save 200 dollars more you could have a way better made kayak. Save yourself the time, money, and aggravation.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Can't Get Enough

10/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just went out for the first time this AM. Yak was excellent under very windy and rough water. I fish mainly in a harbor (Cold Spring Harbor, NY ) This kayak is a great buy for the money. Lightweight and easy to put on top of my SUV. Tracking was excellent and the rod holder worked out well.Shipping was excellent also as it came in 2 weeks earlier than expected, wrapped nicely and in perfect condition. The paddles (a nice bonus ) are cheap but more than did the job. Expect to get wet in this on top Yak but lets get real.......your on the water. Storage is ample and I guess my one con is the rear storage compartment which is nearly impossible to get to when paddling and very difficult to open at any time. I'll be making a pull handle for it asap. All in all an excellent bang for the buck.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Awesome and stable

10/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took this kayak out in 4 foot swells with the water breaking over me and it never rolled or sank. Very stable fishing platform
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Great kayak

09/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good kayak for the money I've had it on the river and a few lakes very stable and tracks Nicely everything came in perfect condition and wrapped in plastic I would recommend it to my friends
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Ok for beginners who will only fish calm waters

08/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this kayak and out grew it in less than 6 months. It served its purpose i guess. I beat it up and learned how to do certain things and what not to do. I took it to the ocean last weekend and caught a lingcod and rockfish. After that experience I wouldn't say this kayak is sea worthy, more like pond worthy. I am currently shopping for my next kayak.
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Great kayak for the price!

08/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my Journey for 2 years now and I just love it. Very stable (have only dumped it once and that was because I was being careless). Plenty of room for fishing or camping gear. I learned last week that if I remove the tow-able on the front that area becomes my dogs seat for a long float down the river. (now that I know she loves to kayak with me she will be getting her own lifejacket) The only issue I have had it that on really hot days the plastic becomes softer and the rivets that hold the adjustable seat back pop out. Easily solved by using an inexpensive boat cushion as a back rest (which serves as an extra pfd if needed). I am on the river most days that I am off. Many great adventures ahead for us now because my hubby is getting the Journey 10' Sit On, can't wait!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Great kayak but...

07/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this kayak in store a few days ago. Just put in on the water today and it has a hole in the hull. Other than the hole, which looks to be purposefully drilled in the bottom, it is a fine kayak for the price. It isn't to stable but it is pretty light and narrow. I would keep it but I would have to plug the hole or drain the water out every so often when on trips. I'm taking it back and getting something better from somewhere else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Great Boat !

07/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At 6' 260 I was worried how a yak would carry me. My 1st time out I was paddling up the Potomac towards Harpers Ferry !. Kinda difficult to get over the shelves but I have no prior kayak experience to compare this to. I love it !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Great kayak for the price

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of homework researching reasonable price kayaks. This model is the best price performance kayak. Stable and well made. Enough room for all that you need. Enough so I ordered a second and all came in great. Don't hesitate on this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Great kayak

06/16/2014
By ,
Kearney, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Kayak is perfect. its light for a 12ft. tracks really well. plenty of storage. and a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

light and inexpensive but fragile

06/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Looks great on paper at under 50lbs for a 12fter and only $450 but when I went to pick it up at my local walmart, the only two they had in stock were already damaged from shipping/handling. The first one had a punctured hull that I noticed as I was putting it on my car, the other had a big dent at one end as if it was dropped. When handling the kayak it felt very light almost too light to the point it felt cheap. Feels like a toy compared to my hobie kayak. As evidenced by the two damaged ones the hull material is very thin and appears to damage easily. I guess it could make a nice starter kayak but use with care.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Melrose Florida
can't compare this kayak to a Hobiecat kayak.
Posted 08/15/2014
You can't compare this kayak to a hobiecat kayak, they are not even in the same ballpark. I happen to know that the fishing hobiecat costs a WHOLE LOT more than $449. It's also considerably heavy which is not desirable but I can see your point that you may think it has something to do with the quality. We shall see I guess. My boyfriend is getting ready to buy this one. I wish I had saved my hobiecat kayak for him, but I sold it before we met because it was too HEAVY for me. I loved the hobiecat kayak, but it was just too heavy.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Very nice and good price.

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice and good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Terrible Product- will never buy another sun dolph

06/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After receiving a replacement sundolphin kayak and using it for the first time yesterday I had to write.
We first purchase this kayak last summer, used it about 5 times and then there was a hole in the front under side where it has the slight "v" (it was completely usable as it would suck in water and you'd start to sink), we took it back to walmart w/ the receipt but was one day off from their return policy. I googled, and after a couple of attempts, contact the correct sundolphin company. They stated they had a repair kit and sent it to us. We didn't try the repair until several months later as kayak season was over, and we were over the whole situation.
The repair kit was a joke. I called Sundolphin back and requested we get a new kayak in replace. We use it yesterday and it's just junk. The front storage compartment was totally missing, so we simply had a lid and a hole and the over all quality of the kayak is very poor. Please don't waste your money, check around for something made w/ better quality. This plastic is very thin and not made to withstand the job it's built tod.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Melrose Florida
patch
Posted 08/15/2014
Could you use A+B to fix the hole?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Better than I ever would have believed

06/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This boat is perfect for lake fishing. Light enough to be easily carried by one person. I've carried it over half a mile to remote spots comfortably. I recently mounted a fish finder and trolling motor along with an anchor system. I couldn't be happier with this boat.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Georgia
Trolling Motor?
Posted 08/07/2014
I sure would like to see a picture of that rigged with a trolling motor, please.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Very Stable for a narrow Kayak

06/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got the kayak on sale & with bonus on credit card, I paid $410 out the door at Walmart. My husband weighs about 240 & really likes this kayak. He can get it in & out of the water pretty easy & says it is very stable for a narrower kayak. It tracks well & has sufficient dry storage for day on the lake. He has not been off the beach yet, but that is coming soon.
The only future modifications will be an anchor trolly, booster seat, and maybe better handles. This kayak is kind of a hybrid, (sit on/sit in). There are no scuppers & the seat sits low, soooo thats where the water will pool if it rains or water gets in from paddling. This is the reason for 4 instead of 5 stars. Also the swivel rod holder seems a little flimsy, but fine for light fishing or just holding your rod while your on the move.
Some reviews say the paddle that comes with the kayak is cheap & flimsy, It seems fine to us for a 2 piece...We also really don't have anything to compare it to since this is our first kayak.
I'm sure my husband will graduate to a more ocean going kayak in the future, but this is a great beginners kayak & perfect for lake fishing. This one will probably be my hand-my-down when he moves on... :o}
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand

Great kayak for anyone who enjoys being on the wat

03/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice kayak, very sturdy and stable on the water...Light weight and easy to transport and tracks very well.....Shipping to the store was very fast and actually came weeks before the estimated delivery date......
Recommends this product? Yes
+42points
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next