Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Dolphin Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sun Dolphin Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand

Have a wonderful day on the water with this Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak. This item is made from a strong Fortiflex high-density polyethylene that is UV-stabilized for protection from the sun. This Sun Dolphin fishing kayak also has a comfortable seat with protective pads. It is light and easy to carry, making it ideal for hard-to-reach fishing areas. This item comes with one swivel rod holder, two flush-mount rod holders and a Portable Accessory Carrier for added storage space.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation78%31 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Loved it

06/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my hubby for his birthday. We liked that it had the capacity to carry a lot of gear. We took it out yesterday to be sure she could handle everything we plan on throwing at her and she did great. He really loved the adjustable footpegs and seat, the compartment in the back end worked perfectly as a spare cooler and wound sealing very well. His yak had no issues whatsoever and we really enjoyed our trip. He even some other kayakers stop to admire his new toy. Great price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Like sitting in a recliner

06/04/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very poorly designed. The front lifts out of the water and the seat leans back in an uncomfortable paddling position
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Awesome fishing platform!

06/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time kayaker, took it out on the inlets around Daytona Beach Shores. It was very easy to paddle and steer, and the tracking was great. Very comfortable even after a few hours. Still learning the methods needed to catch fish inshore, but casting was easy and stable.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

First time kayak owner

05/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First time kayak owner and for the price it is a great deal I use it in a tidal creek and it handles well. We did buy a better paddle which I recommend
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Excelent

05/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kids love it, lots of room for creative rigging.
I was weary due to the cost, but it's built well, it's light enough for one person to handle in and out of the water.
It handles well even off shore.
Can't wait to get the kids hooked up and buy another one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

To heavy and to old.

05/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Kayak about a month ago and like it very. I've had it out a couple times and it's very stable and tracks very well. My problem is I am getting older and I have a hard time getting on racks on top of the car. There are no handles to hold onto . Any suggestions?
Older fisherman
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

A real shame, it could have been a contender

04/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very stable BUT seat is screwed to the hull and water leaks through the holes and the only way to get it out is to unscrew the plug and turn the yak over. BAD design
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Junk

04/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seat screws missing and cross threaded
Removable storage warped and doesn't fit kayak
Removable storage locker leaks and cannot be totally emptied ( wouldn't suggest using it as a tow behind as mfg states)
Small storage lid stuck cannot remove
Holes for lifting handles open to inside. If you submerg kayak it will sink!
Paddle ends warped
General condition upon delivery awful. Gouges, large dent on underside if bow
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Very thin

03/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If your going to stay in pond/lake with a muddy bottom and shore in this kayak you might be fine. The hull is very thin and if you hit anything hard in the water( rocks, logs, trash in the river) its going to puncture or crack it. I would not recommend this kayak in fast or even medium moving water. I was in the lake and bumped into something and started to sink. It got a crack in the hull. Since the hull is thin it gets dents easily too. If you save 200 dollars more you could have a way better made kayak. Save yourself the time, money, and aggravation.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Can't Get Enough

10/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just went out for the first time this AM. Yak was excellent under very windy and rough water. I fish mainly in a harbor (Cold Spring Harbor, NY ) This kayak is a great buy for the money. Lightweight and easy to put on top of my SUV. Tracking was excellent and the rod holder worked out well.Shipping was excellent also as it came in 2 weeks earlier than expected, wrapped nicely and in perfect condition. The paddles (a nice bonus ) are cheap but more than did the job. Expect to get wet in this on top Yak but lets get real.......your on the water. Storage is ample and I guess my one con is the rear storage compartment which is nearly impossible to get to when paddling and very difficult to open at any time. I'll be making a pull handle for it asap. All in all an excellent bang for the buck.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Awesome and stable

10/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took this kayak out in 4 foot swells with the water breaking over me and it never rolled or sank. Very stable fishing platform
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Great kayak

09/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good kayak for the money I've had it on the river and a few lakes very stable and tracks Nicely everything came in perfect condition and wrapped in plastic I would recommend it to my friends
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Ok for beginners who will only fish calm waters

08/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this kayak and out grew it in less than 6 months. It served its purpose i guess. I beat it up and learned how to do certain things and what not to do. I took it to the ocean last weekend and caught a lingcod and rockfish. After that experience I wouldn't say this kayak is sea worthy, more like pond worthy. I am currently shopping for my next kayak.
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Great kayak for the price!

08/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my Journey for 2 years now and I just love it. Very stable (have only dumped it once and that was because I was being careless). Plenty of room for fishing or camping gear. I learned last week that if I remove the tow-able on the front that area becomes my dogs seat for a long float down the river. (now that I know she loves to kayak with me she will be getting her own lifejacket) The only issue I have had it that on really hot days the plastic becomes softer and the rivets that hold the adjustable seat back pop out. Easily solved by using an inexpensive boat cushion as a back rest (which serves as an extra pfd if needed). I am on the river most days that I am off. Many great adventures ahead for us now because my hubby is getting the Journey 10' Sit On, can't wait!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Great kayak but...

07/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this kayak in store a few days ago. Just put in on the water today and it has a hole in the hull. Other than the hole, which looks to be purposefully drilled in the bottom, it is a fine kayak for the price. It isn't to stable but it is pretty light and narrow. I would keep it but I would have to plug the hole or drain the water out every so often when on trips. I'm taking it back and getting something better from somewhere else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Great Boat !

07/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At 6' 260 I was worried how a yak would carry me. My 1st time out I was paddling up the Potomac towards Harpers Ferry !. Kinda difficult to get over the shelves but I have no prior kayak experience to compare this to. I love it !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Great kayak for the price

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of homework researching reasonable price kayaks. This model is the best price performance kayak. Stable and well made. Enough room for all that you need. Enough so I ordered a second and all came in great. Don't hesitate on this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Great kayak

06/16/2014
By ,
Kearney, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Kayak is perfect. its light for a 12ft. tracks really well. plenty of storage. and a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

light and inexpensive but fragile

06/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Looks great on paper at under 50lbs for a 12fter and only $450 but when I went to pick it up at my local walmart, the only two they had in stock were already damaged from shipping/handling. The first one had a punctured hull that I noticed as I was putting it on my car, the other had a big dent at one end as if it was dropped. When handling the kayak it felt very light almost too light to the point it felt cheap. Feels like a toy compared to my hobie kayak. As evidenced by the two damaged ones the hull material is very thin and appears to damage easily. I guess it could make a nice starter kayak but use with care.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Melrose Florida
can't compare this kayak to a Hobiecat kayak.
Posted 08/15/2014
You can't compare this kayak to a hobiecat kayak, they are not even in the same ballpark. I happen to know that the fishing hobiecat costs a WHOLE LOT more than $449. It's also considerably heavy which is not desirable but I can see your point that you may think it has something to do with the quality. We shall see I guess. My boyfriend is getting ready to buy this one. I wish I had saved my hobiecat kayak for him, but I sold it before we met because it was too HEAVY for me. I loved the hobiecat kayak, but it was just too heavy.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included.

Very nice and good price.

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice and good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next