Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

Enhance your entertainment experience with the bestselling SANYO 42-inch HDTV. Heighten your TV-watching experience at home with 120Hz Enhanced Motion high-speed crystal-clear action with almost no blurring at all, 1080p Full HD real crisp picture plus improved re-engineered better sound at the best value. This TV features a thinner and lighter design so the set can be positioned almost anywhere at home. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sanyo HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%13 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

So far everything is working good and no problems.

11/26/2013
By ,
South Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well not much to say, I wish it had a few more RCA inputs. I paid
about $378 + tax for it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St Louis MO
I LOVE THIS TELEVISION
Posted 01/21/2014
OMG. This shipped in no time. It was easy to set up and came with Netflix and Youtube installed and ready to use. I had Roku on my other tv to get Netflix and now I can use that with my old tv. The picture is great and so is the sound. I LOVE IT. I have been a Sanyo purchaser for years.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

Good value for a basic HD TV!

02/28/2014
By ,
Christiansburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you don't need a smart TV this is a good value. The Sanyo is sturdy, has a good picture size, decent sound quality, user friendly menu and more compatible with universal remotes. Also has plenty of inputs but an analog audio output would have been nice (it does have a digital audio output). I previously bought a Vizio LED 39" smart TV but returned it within a week. The Vizio had average picture quality and an overall cheap feel to it. I prefer plasma but it seems everyone is switching to LED so I had to choose one that closely matched the plasma without costing a fortune. Although this is a 60Hz model versus 120HZ I can't tell any difference being an LED TV. My only complaint with the Sanyo and most of the newer budget priced LED TV's is the lack of physical control buttons on the unit. You may not need them often but they're nice when you do. If Sanyo added a smart version of this TV and controls on the side they'd have a real winner.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 3 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

Best value for a 42"

01/13/2014
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this same set in LCD for 7 years. We loved it but picture went bad. Considering the heavy use, we feel we got our money's worth. This LED is great....being a senior, I was surprised how light it is. It weighs less and looks smaller and is smaller than the LCD, but still a 42" picture. Hookup was far easier, but I do have a problem. The LCD had lots of RCA jacks to hookup DVD and other stuff, but LED has no outputs except for HDMI which was OK except for my wireless headset which needs RCA output jacks to work. I am still working on that one. The SANYO name has been around a long time and we have had many other products and never had a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 4 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

Great for the price!

12/15/2013
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this tv with my holiday bonus because my old tv is dying slowly. Looked at other cheaper tvs, and almost bought a really cheap tv. They were out of them at the store though, so a friend pointed to this one and I said "Why not?" Picture is much better than all the Elements tvs and other cheap ones. The sound was the only thing that wasn't the BEST but its not super horrible either. Easy fix with a sound bar or something. I've noticed most of the flat screens in decent prices don't have the best sound system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 5 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

It's just a TV.

12/07/2013
By ,
Gray, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought this Sanyo to replace a Plasma TV we had for years that stopped working. We didn't care about all of the bells and whistles that come with the Smart TV's and felt this unit was good enough. Over all this Sanyo has great picture quality which is important. The sound quality however suffers, A LOT. For decent sound I would recommend getting a sound bar. So far so good with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
+12points
Review 6 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

excellent tv

11/08/2013
By ,
springfield mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a little bit unsatisfied with the sound, it can be totally adjusted to your liking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Petaluma, CA
Posted 11/26/2013
SANYO, HOW MUCH IS IT
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

Excellent product

02/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely satisfied with this television. It is more than I expected at an awesome price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 8 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

i love this TV .

01/28/2014
By ,
winthrop mass.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is perfect everything about it and the price was right
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

They are cheap for a reason

12/01/2013
By ,
Norman, Ok
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this because of low price and decent picture, after about 1 month sound was distorted. Had an antenna and no cable believed that was the issue. Now have cable sound is still distorted, TV is 5 months old now. Tried Sanyo customer service # gave up after being on hold. Read the reviews for this before you buy. This is a common issue
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 10 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

great for gaming

02/08/2014
By ,
TUNNEL HILL GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ordered online for instore pick up. It was ready to pick up when i arrived at store. great picture and set up was easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

great value for a 42" t.v..bright picture,easy set

02/11/2014
By ,
ormond beach, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great price ,excellent picture and eay set up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

its alright

03/13/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
one of my complaints is the lack of rca outputs for audio I had to but a digital converter to run sound through my Aiwa home theater and the lack of a pc hook up. After I purchased this online I found a tv with a bigger screen and all the options I need the walmart web site IS NOT accurate with what the stores actually carry
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 13 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

Ok tv

03/09/2014
By ,
Md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You get what u pay for , don't get me wrong it's a nice tv , just lacking a few things nice pic , not loud at all , no display time on the screen, the remote is small it does not turn on the base.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

No Regrets - Great Value

03/03/2014
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this television 11 months ago. The picture is very, very nice - I've received many compliments on it. The sound is good too. My mother now needs a new television and I am buying this model for her.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sanyo DP42D23 42" 1080p 60Hz D-LED HDTV

We are satisfied

12/29/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not sure how to compare with other brands without seeing them side by side.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points