Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Sanyo Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Enhance your entertainment experience with the bestselling Sanyo 55-inch HDTV. Heighten your TV-watching experience at home with 120Hz Enhanced Motion high-speed crystal-clear action with almost no blurring at all, 1080p Full HD real crisp picture plus improved re-engineered better sound at the best value. This TV features a thinner and lighter design so the set can be positioned almost anywhere at home. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sanyo HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.523 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%41 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 66 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Sanyo 55D33 - Outstanding Value

11/04/2013
By ,
Eden Prairie, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just moved into a new residence and have reserved some prime wall realestate for a 55" or 60" LED HDTV above my fireplace in the Great Room. My loyalty for the past 6 years has strictly been limited to Visio as for getting the best bang for the buck. My intent was to continue my Vizio loyalty but the price on this 55" Sanyo was too good to ignore. The only spec that it is missing from this Sanyo 55D33 55" is wi-fi but since my Samsung Blue Ray DVD palyer, as well as my Dish Network HD/DVR recieiver, as well as my Sony Playstation 3 are all wi-fi ready so the this deficiency is moot. The setup and hanging of this unit with a Sanus wall mounting kit took less than 30 minutes. The picture quality is very good. I would rate the sound as average but will soon upgrade with the addition of a Vizio/Samsung or Sony sound bar. Since I saved a minimum of $200 - $300 by buying Sanyo instead of the vizio, I am basically getting the soundbar gratis. All-in-all this instore special buy offered by Walmart at the beginning of this Holiday season was just enough incentive for me to purchase. Lastly, Walmart offered a 3 year warranty for $44 so going off the Vizio reservation has put my mind at ease. Hope this review was helpful. (note: the salemsman told me they got 6 of these units in a couple days prior and only 1 was remaining so I am not the only one who potrentially capitalized on this valyue).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+128points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Noblesville Indiana
Niceeee
Posted 11/10/2013
Excellent TV, picture is awesome. Would highly recommend this product.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Good Value For a 55" HD TV

10/13/2014
By ,
New Braunfels, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wanted a larger screen for my living room. Had a Sony 40" that had a super picture. To buy a Sony at this size I would have to spend over $300-400 more. The picture on this Sanyo is very good. The Sony's are probably a little better but not $300-$400 better in my opinion. I had Sanyos in the past and they held up just fine and they have been around a long time.
I am very impressed with the picture quality and relatively easy set up. They give you a phone number prominently displayed to call them for help if need be. In fact, Sanyo had the correct code to program my direct tv remote in the set up paperwork.
Getting this TV for $568 I think is a fantastic value. Tip: I agree with other reviewers...turn off the eco power if you want a brighter picture. It will make a difference. All in all I am very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Perfect for me!

11/11/2013
By ,
Swansboro,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First let me say I am rather easy to please and not an expert. I have wanted a 50-55 inch tv for a long time and this tv 55 inch was on sale for $498! Not sure if people are noticing or care but the larger screens are getting narrower and longer.. what I like about this one is it is wider and in proportion. You can easily change picture size to fit screen with a button on the remote. I had to scoot my sofa back about 4 feet..I have a huge living area but if you have a small room this may be too big. I was thinking about getting a sound bar but I think the sound is fine although I do notice it is lower on hd channels than on analog. I use my streamer on 40" tv in bedroom and didn't hook anything up to this one so not sure how well devices would work. I am very pleased with the picture quality, no distortion or fuzziness. Quick and easy setup but a bit heavy so have someone help you lift it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Quality is not like it used to be!

10/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First off, it only had one set of RCA Inputs, no Output, so you have to run digital sound which means all new Audio system including wireless head phones, second and the worse, the Antenna input is now JUNK, I have lost half the channels I had a few months ago! At first I thought it was the Antenna so I installed an outdoor antenna, then I thought maybe I had a bad cable but then I check it and it is fine, next I hooked up my old JVC CRT (Old Tube TV) with a Digital box and all the channels work fine, so back to the New Digital TV......I am guessing a bad input for the Antenna! I am calling Walmart and Sanyo tomorrow and see what they have to say, the TV is less than a year old so I HOPE they will fix or replace it, if not I am going to mail it to them in ten boxes! I know 3 other people who have had problems with this same TV (Wish I would have known before I got this one!!) 1 person told me they lost the sound on TV so now they have to run all sound through External speakers, one lost all their HDMI input/output and another has the same problem as me, loss of channels and said it was a bad tuner.
Do not spend your money on this, I will update and let you know how customer service goes with both Walmart and Sanyo when I talk to them tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Great buy.

02/13/2014
By ,
Addy, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this unit yesterday, I have read the reviews and decided to check it out. Went to Walmart in town and they had couple in stock. I compared prices and decided to get one. Got it home, set it up and Wow. that was easy. The only thing I can see that was a issue was there weren't that many input jacks. I either had to hook up the wii, or DVD, couldn't hook them both up, weren't enough ports, I had to purchase a HDMI cable to hook up the DVD player. No big deal, but I didn't want to go back into town for just that, Also usually things with remotes come with batteries. Didn't find out it didn't come with them till after all was set up. Good thing I keep some spares around. But the picture was great, the sound is good, all and all was a good choice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Just Awsome !!

03/20/2014
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the Spectre Tv 50 inch a few days ago but was not very please with its picture quality...It was a great cheap 50 inch Tv but was not very happy. Then I saw this 55' inch TV Sanyo for $598 then I told myself maybe I should try this one. Boy was I happy that I did !! It was VERY worth the money and the picture quality was like 3 D. It's just plain awesome --- I love this TV and would keep for many years....Belive me you won't be sorry !!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
04401
Better than Sceptre?
Posted 04/26/2014
I, too, am a Sceptre fan, I own 2 and love them but when you said it was better than the 50" Sceptre which I was contemplating, I guess I may go for the 55" Sanyo instead. Kinda wanted a bigger screen anyway and Sceptre does not seem to be putting out the bigger screens. Thank you for that review.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Great T.V. for the price

11/29/2013
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tv while being hesitant. I wasn't sure about flat screen t.v's and didn't want to spend money on junk. I read reviews, searched the web, and did some homework. This t.v. turned out to be a great choice. It has a clear crisp picture with decent sound. I totally enjoy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

5 Star Review! Awesome TV for the $

03/02/2014
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a deal on a nice TV. But wasn't looking for a no name brand or cheap set either. I shopped around for a while online and also went to many of the big box stores. Found the Sanyo in-store special and seemed like a great deal for a 55" 1080p, LED 120Hz .. Plus it has 3 HDMI inputs as well as component and regular video... So I was able to hook up my Cable box, Gaming console and Roku. Also it has the Digital audio output to hook up to my surround sound receiver.
The picture quality on this TV with HD source is awesome. The 55" size is great for my room and it's super thin bezel gives it a very sleek appearance .... I almost got a 47 or 50" because of my low budget price range.. But glad I spent a few extra bucks and got the 55". So far movies and sports look amazing on a larger set. ( I am replacing a 32" size.. ).
Sound quality is good .. Not great but not bad. It works fine for TV shows and sports.. For movies I plan on hooking up my own sound system ..
The remote is the only part I am not crazy about...it works just fine. But is not backlit or easy to use in dark room. Im not complaining ... It's just a wish. You don't get to see the remotes in stores ..so you never know what you're going to get.
All in all, if you are looking for a great 55" LED TV , with decent features and a great price ..you can't go wrong with this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Great value for a 55 inch television

03/27/2014
By ,
Maryville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd researched several brands as my husband was preparing to make a 55 inch television purchase. We'd owned a 42" Panasonic plasma and were looking to upgrade. Although Samsung and LG were solid choices, we decided on the picture quality of the Sanyo. This particular model has 3 HDMI ports and looks fantastic with a blue ray player. The set up is extremely simple and within minutes we were up and running. The sound quality is average but we utilize our stereo for improved listening enjoyment. For the price plus extended warranty, you can have a quality television for less than 700.00. I wouldn't hesitate purchasing this product, it's a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Like a drive in movie screen!

12/01/2013
By ,
East Durham, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because i was tired of my 17" tube tv. I put this bad boy on my desk in my bed room. and what a great quality picture! I would recommend this TV to anyone who could afford it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Great Picture for a Great Price!

05/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were a little apprehensive about the Sanyo brand but with Walmarts return policy we decided to give it a chance.
For the price - the picture quality is outstanding!
We have Directv and the resolution is amazing.
On some movies it seems like your behind the camera shooting the movie yourself!
We've owned LG and Sharp Aquos 3D tvs and this one easily can stand toe to toe with those.
Definitely give Sanyo a chance if your in the market for a great HD LED TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

best price in town

12/16/2013
By ,
laguna niguel, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tv for the price. I shopped them all and all the stores {Costcohar/best buy] . Price at Walmart is hundreds of dollars below the other name brand tv"s and it was easy to set up and mount on the wall by myself. Looks great and picture is great. Highly recommend for a large led HDTV 120 hz tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Sanyo 55D33 55" LED TV

12/27/2013
By ,
USA, Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 hdmi ports are good. picture is great. thin border around tv is nice. remote could be a little better. sound is ok. led is better than lcd. has little green light when on front bottom left, when on. setup and menu is easy to understand. and the Sanyo brand is great. im using it with a x-box, Blu-ray player and cable tv. this is not a smart tv and is not wireless capable. has 1 usb port, audio ports, coaxial cable input.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Very good TV

04/18/2014
By ,
chesapeake, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen is crystal clear. The picture is so good the you can see all the blemishes on a person's face.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Great TV

02/05/2014
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best 55 inch TV I have seen in years. Great color, sound and overall ease of setup. Plug and go. Don't worry about the non samsung, sony name. In my mind Sanyo out performs all. This is my 2nd Sanyo and will be going back for more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Very good value, though not perfect.

05/19/2014
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this tv for over a week now and I think it's pretty good, and I would definitely buy it again. So far I'd say it's Seems as good as more expensive tvs from more reputable manufacturers, with some caveats:
1. There is some minor banding on the image (light dark horizontal lines), visible under certain conditions like the red netflix loading screen. Otherwise the image is quite good after adjustment. FYI there are individual RGB adjustments for the white balance.
2. The built in speakers are not so great.
3. No analog or optical audio out. There is Coaxial S/PDIF, but be aware this will not work with many soundbars though some do have S/PDIF in. Not an issue with home theater receivers.
4. 120hz motion sync makes the image look really weird, needs to be turned off in the menu.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Have to Drive 30 Miles For Repair

08/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
About six months after purchase the picture started going out on all inputs (cable and DVD). The sound is usually okay but occasionally that goes out. Turn the TV off and back on and the picture comes back for a few minutes.
Purchased the 3-year warranty but because I only had the TV six months I had to call Sanyo. They want me to take the TV to a repair shop 30 miles away. I drove five miles to purchase the product but I am expected to drive 30 miles to have a defective product repaired?
The picture is good but isn't worth the hassle. I doubt I would buy another Sanyo product or any electronic product from Walmart.
Best Buy is a lot less hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Excellent Value, Excellent Picture Quality

04/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture quality at a great price. Looked at many other brands online before choosing this TV. Went to the store before finalizing purchase to compare in person and for the money, nothing else came close to this TV in 55". Light weight is great because it will be wall mounted and setup took less than 10 minutes! I would recommend this set to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

sanyo good stuff

04/22/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i returned a vizio e series 48 inch yes the pic was awesome but it was small the smart part of the tv was not good and hard to use with a bad cheep non responsive remote, this sanyo 55 with a ruku 49 bucks is perfect and cost less than the vizio , im getting 7 extra inches, the pic is good not great buy worth the trade off the frame is thin maybe 1/2 inch all around yes it comes with legs as the stand and they are nice, not cheap there metal and feel strong, it seems energy efficient and is simple to set up with large clear words 3 hdmi ports 1 usb port worth the 598 price only complaint is the screen is gloss and will reflect also no swivel, thats seems to be hard to find seems companies are getting away from swivel bases thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sanyo DP55D33 55" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Great TV for the price.

05/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was looking for a TV to replace my last one. This was a great replacement. Picture is good, sound quality is good and teh price was great. Easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next