Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Venue 8 Pro Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Venue 8 Pro Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

The Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet 32GB Memory Featuring Windows 8.1 lets you connect to your world on the go. The new Windows lets you complete any task. Connect with friends and family on the built-in webcams.
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation85%80 out of 94reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
60 Questions | 120 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

PC in an inexpensive tablet

12/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked this up Black Friday for only $229. It functions extremely well as a Windows 8.1 tablet. Came with 8; upgrade to 8.1 was easy. Comes with real versions of Word and Excel which is a plus for me. But to my surprise it also functions extremely well as a desktop when paired with a Plugable USB Docking station. Using a Plugable UD-3900 docking station, a 19 inch monitor, usb keyboard & usb mouse turns the tablet into a dual monitor desktop - tablet is monitor 1 and 19 inch is monitor 2. Check out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPPY4m8iY0k for Plugable "plug" from the manufacturer on this setup. Only con is the storage on this model, only 32GB, and the OS/installed software consumes 2/3's of the storage leaving you only about 10GB for personal use. I added a 64GB Sandisk Ultra micro SD to increase personal local storage. Use Microsoft Skydrive and this is an all around solution that really works for web, email and MS Office work. Mobile when I want but I can use a real monitor/keyboard/mouse for desktop work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Small and powerful tablet PC, love it

12/19/2013
By ,
Lowell MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this tablet during Thanks Giving sale from Walmart for $230 and have been using for over 3 weeks. It is a great little yet powerful tablet. I use it for general browsing, skype, music, youtube and also playing games. I like the ability to access and play music from my desktop, use Picassa, Chrome and the skydrive synchronization. Build quality by Dell is pretty good. The screen is bright and audio very loud for the size. This tablet PC runs the full version of Windows 8.1 which is great as legacy applications are supported. Further Windows 8.1 made good improvements from its predecessor. Intel Baytrail processor is pretty fast and offers good battery life. Windows App store is decent. In addition I run Android apps using Bluestacks emulator. Haven't tried Miracast wireless streaming to TV yet but intend to get the Netgear PTV WiDi adapter. The tablet comes with one micro usb port and SD card slot. My suggestions for future improvement for Dell are to have 64GB as default and have 2 usb ports. Also provide recovery image in SD card so additional disk space can be freed up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

very impressed

04/18/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't beat the value, very powerful 8 inch tablet. I have no complaints for the price. Personally I do not run legacy apps on such a small screen and they take up a lot of disk space. There are plenty of start menu apps for what I do. I have attached a wireless mouse and keyboard using an OTG adapter and USB hub and office works fine as well as my brother laser printer, but you can't use these and charge at the same time, due to only 1 micro USB output. There is no video out, like a HDMI or VGA, but if you need to use another display you can get a miracast receiver for a TV and use the built in wireless display capabilities of the Intel CPU or get a Pluggable USB video adapter. This tablet is comfortable to hold and there are lots of good inexpensive cases and Bluetooth keyboards. Battery life is good, my only complaint is the hard drive fills up fast, but you can add a micro SD card which helps or use onedrive or other cloud storage. Build quality is good and the tablet feels good in your hands and the back has a rubberized material.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Dell Venue Pro8- Perfect Office on the Go

12/08/2013
By ,
Palmer, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The new Dell Venue Pro 8 is a fantastic productivity too, especially if you need to take your "office" with you. With the full version of Microsoft Office 2013, you can save, edit & create documents, spreadsheets & presentations on the fly. The screen is pretty small, have had to increase font a few times to read. Lasts about 9 hrs if you set brightness to 60%. Extremely light & portable. I also bought the Asus bluetooth keyboard, doesn't specify for Dell Venue, but it fits in slot perfectly. Windows 8.1 already loaded so you don't have to deal with an upgrade. You can tweak settings so Win8.1 looks & feels like Win7. I still use my Nook for most reading, music, videos & internet, larger screen easier on the eyes. Dell got this one right and will definitely lead the pack for a while. I haven't seen any other company do what Dell has done with the Venue Pro 8 (I have 64gb version). Easily expand storage with microSD slot, put a high speed class10 in mine and it is perfect & fast. You can't go wrong. Plus I bought this when Wal Mart had it on sale for $229 a couple weeks ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Great product, especially for the price!

12/10/2013
By ,
Linden, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a tablet that could also function as a full computer (like a laptop). This one fills the bill for a lot less than I expected to pay. It is a full windows 8.1 machine and even comes with Office 2013 Home and Office, which is worth over $100 alone. I purchased a bluetooth keyboard and a travel mouse, and I can use it just like a laptop. The screen is bright and sharp (once you turn off auto brightness and adjust it yourself). The only reason I did not rate it a 5, was because I have had to go to Dell tech support a few times to resolve issues that were mainly software compatability problems with Windows 8.1 (updates should be coming soon), but the tech support was excellent and they solved my problems. The camera stopped working once, but they got it going again. I'm only a couple weeks in, but I'm very happy with it at this point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Great Tablet but needed a little tweeking

12/25/2013
By ,
Chuckey, Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great tablet if you don't plan to run intensive computing. Hey it is a tablet and not a Desktop. Yes, the software library is not as intensive as others but realize this computer will run programs written for windows. I run full blown office without a problem. Just don't carried away with huge spreadsheets. NOW I DID SAY A LITTLE TWEEKING. When you get your tablet make sure you go to the support section at Dell.com and download all the current drivers. Some of the drivers just came out in December 2013. There will be compatibility problems until you do this. This should be done with any new computer that you get. This is why I knocked off a star. The tablet will not check for these updates. Once I have installed these updates I was a happy camper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Amazing Value for a Full Windows tablet!

11/27/2013
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really impressed with the Dell Venue 8 Pro. I didn't think Windows would work well on an 8 inch tablet but it does! It feels great in the hand with its textured back and does a great job resisting fingerprints. The screen is vibrant with great viewing angles...I recommend you turn off auto brightness. Included is a full version of Microsoft Office 2013 - Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote. This is huge as Office costs over $100 if you buy it separately.
Performance is great - apps run smoothly, start up/shutdown times are fast, and browsing the web is lag-free. I recommend using Internet Explorer as it's optimized for Windows tablets. I also installed Firefox as an alternate browser. Battery life is fantastic as it lasts the whole day for me with moderate usage.
There's a single speaker on the side of the tablet and it's very loud! It's great for watching videos and listening to music. There's also a MicroSD card slot on the side - it accepted my 64 GB card with no issues.
One unique thing is the placement of the Windows button on the side and making it a physical button rather than capacitive. I'm glad Dell designed it this way to prevent accident presses when holding the tablet with both hands in landscape mode.
Overall this is an amazing tablet, especially if you can get it on sale! I bought mine at Walmart.com and picked it up at the store. Looking now to get a case and stylus for it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

PC at Heart, Tablet in hand

11/25/2013
By ,
Graham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A user in the past of Kindle Fire, Surface and they are all now on eBay or given to family. This device is responsive, incredibly worthy of the Windows 8 experience w/ touch. The ability to have full office, along with no site being empty (this device allows Flash), and lastly can have any software I like on this machine.
I've used this to watch video (ESPN 3), Xbox Video, and it was really nice to throw on some music & videos on an SD card and take with me wherever I like. This device in early days is very good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Great Product! Great Value!

04/22/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this windows pc tablet for $249. First off, its great. It has windows so you can do most things you can on the pc. Has 2 webcams, one in front and one in back. Touch screen makes it so easy. I love to play Hearthstone on it, which is a windows game that is small enough to run on it. The disk space is not that great, but has a micro SD slot card so I bought a 32GB micro SD card and more than doubled the space. Takes great pictures, nice and wide, well lit and good rez. The best thing about this is that it comes with a code for Microsoft office 2013 with student edition. This is a $140 value in itself. I actually put it on my laptop for better use with a keyboard for school documents. But, I mean you can't beat the price, and I have had no problems. I love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Best 8" Windows Tablet Currently

11/24/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the 32gb version from my local Walmart. I am very familiar with the tablet world. I have been using the ipad mini for the most part of this past year. Why, because it is a good tablet and lack of options. I have to note that I have tried but did not like the Galaxy tab 3 8-inch model. Enter Dell with what I would consider the best sub-10 inch Windows tablet. Like I said, I was very happy with the iPad mini as a consumption device. But I had grown bored and was looking for something that would allow me to also be productive. The Dell tablet has filled that void. Granted I doubt I will be generating any reports or spreadsheets, but what this little device allows me to do is tweak docs and spreadsheets without having to boot up my laptop.
Battery life is good...I would say its about 90% of the battery life I would get with the iPad mini. But that is based on my usage. The screen is very nice to view. I have left mine set at default because having brightness set real high actually bothers my eyes. The screen is crisp and I would say is better than the screen on the iPad mini (first gen mini).
Keep in mind that this tablet is a full blown computer in a tablet body. This means you have everything available to you. The processor is really fast. I have tested it to determine when I would start seeing lag. I tried having multiple flash heavy web sites and apps open in the background while playing graphics heavy video games... no lag that I was able to detect.
The tablet has a quality build. I would say close if not on par with the iPad. Yes the iPad uses a different material of construction so my comment is relative. The app store is very good and growing. While it is not as developed as apples or androids, it is improving at a very fast pace. With the exception of a few games I played on my iPad mini, I have found all the apps or equivalent in the windows app store. Not only that, remember you can install actual software programs and don't have to rely on an app to be available.
Overall, I would recommend this tablet. Walmart has even reduced the price of the tablet by $20. Which makes an already reasonably price tablet even better. I only knocked the overall score by one star because I feel they should've offered the micro SD adapter in the package. Aside from that, they have set the bar high with this tablet. Its a keeper for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+116points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

NOT WORTH TIME OR MONEY

04/23/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS INSTEAD OF THE ASUS OR SURFACE TABLETS BECAUSE IT WAS $100 LESS AND I'VE HAD GREAT EXPERIENCES WITH ALL MY DELLS PRIOR.... BUT THIS ONE IS LOUSY! NICE LOOKING, SIZE AND WEIGHT ARE ALL THATS GOOD, AND THE SPEAKER IS DECENT SOUND FOR A LIL TABLET, AND WIRELESS REACH IS GOOD,
BUT OTHERWISE CHARGING PORT IS IN POOR POSITION AT TOP INSTEAD OF BOTTOM, TEXT IS FAR TOO SMALL, SCREEN IS TOO DIM NO MATTER HOW BRIGHT YOU MAKE SETTINGS, FUNCTIONALITY IS LESS THAN WHAT YOU'D WANT, AND THE SECOND DAY AFTER I GOT IT THE THING GOT EXPREMELY HOT JUST PLAYING MUSIC, I THOUGHT IT WOULD START ON FIRE! IT'S GOING BACK TOMORROW AND I'M GETTTING THE ASUS TABLET.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Great tablet

12/07/2013
By ,
Dallas, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I've had this tablet now for about 2 weeks and I have to say I'm pleasantly surprised. I didn't know if the Intel Atom processor was going to be up to the task of running a full version of windows, but I have to say that this little tablet is very quick. Switching between apps is quick, web pages pull up quick, and programs don't seem to have any lag. I use this tablet for small tasks while working as well as for media consumption and web browsing. The battery life seems to be close to the stated 10 hours but I usually stop using it before the battery hits 40% which is about 5-6 hours of use. I thought the 2 GB of memory would be an issue but so far with everything running and several apps open at the same time, I have only had it using 1.3 GB. Beware that using the desktop on a screen this small will be pretty difficult since everything is so small but that is to be expected. You really would need a wireless mouse to make it work well. The tablet is really lightweight and very easy to use with one hand. It works well in portrait and landscape modes. I'm not a user of any particular brands of items so I have no loyalty to any brand but this is a very well built and solid feeling tablet and I think dell did a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Laptop in a Tablet

12/08/2013
By ,
Chicago,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thoroughly surprised to see such a small tablet with great performance. It was not the windows 8 rt, but had the full version of windows 8.1 and the full version of office 13, I couldn't be more satisfied with purchase, particularly since I was able to get it at a bargain price for $229.00 the date of the sale. I could use a little more space, perhaps 64gb, but it does have an expansion slot and you are able to use a flash drive to transfer files, pictures, music, etc. (with a usb adapter) which I was able to pickup for $6.00. It also works well with a Bluetooth Keyboard and Mouse. Battery Life has also proved to sufficient although I have not played a lot of videos, I have gotten more that 8 hrs. before charging again. Great for work or school. So far I am totally satisfied with my purchase and would definitely recommend it to others
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

I like it, but!

12/01/2013
By ,
Cherokee, Ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am buying these for business purposes. Already bought the early acer w3-810 tablet. Dont care for the acer w3 screen issues (flicker and poor viewing) but do like the hdmi port. Several days ago i bought the new venue 8 pro from walmart. Got lucky only paid $229.00 each. I like these better. Dont like the fact that it doesnt have a hdmi port so i could hook up to a large tv but took a chance because windows 8.1 has wireless miracast. After searching for good reviews for a hdmi adapter for my lcd tv i see that their is none. Even the couple that had user reviews above 2 werent rated that well. Searched dell venue 8 pro sights and found miracast is not working well on these tablets but to be fair they also not working well yet with the acer. Its claimed that microsoft is working on a fix but not done yet.
Found several issues with venue 8 but you can work around them. If on your tablet you use the dell register my pc app you will find that it doesnt work. First use the my dell app to get to dell then go to drivers and down loads. One of the downloads will fix the register app problem.
I tried to select the updates by adding them to my "Add to my download list" then downloading them all at once but their is a problem with the Dell digital delivery software that crashes the download. To get my downloads i had to download them one at a time as a save file, then used the run command. Be sure to go to power setting and change when the computer goes to sleep because the downloads will stop until the computer wakes.
I would highly suggest that you consider buying the 64 gb version. Also you will need a stylus. If buying for a kid get a case. If you are planning to hook up usb devices (keyboard, mouse ect) get a usb hub with power. Setting up the updates is a pain but be sure to do this. Uninstall norton anti virus then download free avg viruse software. The trial only good for 30 days but when you go to uninstall it, at the control panel, it will offer you the free version Have been using this avg for years with out problems.
Some of the other issues owners have complained about such as wifi disconnects i have had no problems with. Maybe the user is having problems with their wireless router and blaming it on the tablet. I Did notice when tapping with the stylus sometimes got a double text but was able to go to the control panel under pin and touch and made it less sensitive.
Good luck with your new tablet and enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Great for the price

04/17/2014
By ,
Oakley Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I kick myself for not going for the samsung I was looking at but oh well water under the bridge. This has worked well so far (am not sure what people would run on this that would use all the memory as I haven't even come close) All I do is check e-mail and surf the net, watch videos and so far so good. It has frozen a couple of times but it always (so far) has unlocked after I left alone for a couple of hours. Like I said so far so good I have no problems. I would reccomend the 2 year warranty extension though just to be safe, doesn't seem like it will take too much to break it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

This isn't a toy to play with.

12/24/2013
By ,
washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like most everything about it except Dell's Tech Support. First all of the them I have talked with, four so far, are English challenged to be kind, not sure they are even in this country. In spite of difficulty understanding them they have helped me work through three of the four issues, I managed to solve the fourth one myself. You will definitely want the stylus and Bluetooth keyboard to go with it. But all being said, it is not a bad tablet for work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Overall, a very capable device

12/06/2013
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The good - It is responsive, runs anything I throw at it with no issues. Very impressive on that account. Boot up is super fast. Battery life is very good. Screen is not as good as more expensive devices but it is more than adequate.
The bad - The stylus is not worth the trouble. Could use more ports. The materials online talk about bitlocker encryption, but the Standard Windows 8 that comes with the tablet does not include bitlocker. To upgrade to 8 Pro is $100. There is little room left on the SSD after Windows, but so far I have not had issues running out of room, but I am not an app hog,. I store documents, pictures, etc. on the removable mini SD card.
Bottom line, I am very happy with the device. IT IS NOT A LAPTOP REPLACEMENT, but it works perfectly (after the upgrade to Win 8 Pro) for what I wanted it for, secure access to email and light duty tasks when out of the office. Cranking up my laptop takes more time that most of these tasks. This is instant on, I have it paired with my phone for Internet Tethering, and within seconds can read and respond to secure messages that my phone can't open. It is a lot easier to type on than my phone as well. This may be the device that allows me to give up email on my phone all together. It is also good for webbrowsing etc. I have not tested it yet presenting powerpoints using Miracast, but it is on my list to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Best 8" windows tablet at a great price!

12/03/2013
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been in the market for a Windows tablet for a while but I was waiting for the OS to mature and for more hardware selections. Well that time has come!!! This tablet is powerful, fast, has a premium feel and runs a full version of Windows 8.1 right out of the box! If you are worried about the future of Windows RT, this is the way to go. You are not risking it and you can do everything you can do on a full blown Windows computer. I have an Xbox and a Windows 8.1 laptop and they all work great together.
I am a full time student and full time worker and this is great for productivity and entertainment!
If you are looking for an 8" Windows tablet, this gives you the best bang for your buck. I would recommend it to all my friends!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Great 8" tablet for serious professional use

12/11/2013
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the tablet I have been waiting for -- the speed, power and compatibility of a Windows notebook combined with the reasonable size, price, portability, and always-on battery life of an Android tablet (and without the overly high price of an Apple product!). For the first time in my 3+ years of tablet use (previously, Dell Streak 7, iPad, HP Touchpad, Motorola Xoom, and a Xyboard) I finally have a tablet that is actually usable for serious work. I can count on having real multitasking and reliable authoring and modification of complex MS Office documents that will look and work the same on a powerful desktop machine. It is a tremendous bargain, particularly considering it already includes a license for MS Office 2013. The screen is great if you turn off the auto screen brightness. I am already using it part time with a bluetooth keyboard with a "trackpoint" for heavy typing work as no tablet's on-screen keyboard works in that role. The only "misses" -- there should be a USB port and HDMI port separate from the charging port and a Dell keyboard/cover (coming). My next Windows tablet will have Verizon 4G capabilities (no full 8.1 Windows tablets with 4G available there yet). I hope Verizon offers this exact tablet with 4G. I have already used my Galaxy S4's hotspot in an emergency where WIFI was not available while working away from home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dell Venue 8 Pro with WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Windows 8.1 Blue Operating System, Black

Great combination of smaller size and function

12/16/2013
By ,
North Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a smaller tablet that would be helpful for work related projects as well as the fun things most people like in a tablet. Oh, and with a price under $300. To begin with, it's hard to beat the basic specs of the Venue 8 Pro: Intel Atom 1.3 Ghz quad-core processor (turbo to 1.8 Ghz) with 2 MB cache, and 2 GB of ram. Both versions have basic Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, Power Point), and full Windows 8.1. I chose the 32 GB version for reasons I won't go into here, so I have to be more selective in what programs I install. But with a Micro SD slot that can use cards up to 64 GB in size, I can easily store data and larger media files without using the limited on board drive space. After tweaking and scaling the display settings to increase the size of icons, action boxes, etc, I find the Venue 8 Pro to be a very useable tablet, easily held in one hand. I personally like Windows 8.1 and the Metro screen functions (have them on a desktop PC I own), and think it's even better on a hand held touch screen tablet. If you are not a Windows 8 "hater", you should really like using the Dell Venue 8 Pro. I would buy it again, in particular the 64 Gb version if the price was right.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next