Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Venue 8 Pro Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Venue 8 Pro Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

The Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet 32GB Memory Featuring Windows 8.1 lets you connect to your world on the go. The new Windows lets you complete any task. Connect with friends and family on the built-in webcams.
Average Customer Rating:
4.098 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation81%108 out of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
81 Questions | 144 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

very impressed

04/18/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't beat the value, very powerful 8 inch tablet. I have no complaints for the price. Personally I do not run legacy apps on such a small screen and they take up a lot of disk space. There are plenty of start menu apps for what I do. I have attached a wireless mouse and keyboard using an OTG adapter and USB hub and office works fine as well as my brother laser printer, but you can't use these and charge at the same time, due to only 1 micro USB output. There is no video out, like a HDMI or VGA, but if you need to use another display you can get a miracast receiver for a TV and use the built in wireless display capabilities of the Intel CPU or get a Pluggable USB video adapter. This tablet is comfortable to hold and there are lots of good inexpensive cases and Bluetooth keyboards. Battery life is good, my only complaint is the hard drive fills up fast, but you can add a micro SD card which helps or use onedrive or other cloud storage. Build quality is good and the tablet feels good in your hands and the back has a rubberized material.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

PC in an inexpensive tablet

12/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked this up Black Friday for only $229. It functions extremely well as a Windows 8.1 tablet. Came with 8; upgrade to 8.1 was easy. Comes with real versions of Word and Excel which is a plus for me. But to my surprise it also functions extremely well as a desktop when paired with a Plugable USB Docking station. Using a Plugable UD-3900 docking station, a 19 inch monitor, usb keyboard & usb mouse turns the tablet into a dual monitor desktop - tablet is monitor 1 and 19 inch is monitor 2. Check out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPPY4m8iY0k for Plugable "plug" from the manufacturer on this setup. Only con is the storage on this model, only 32GB, and the OS/installed software consumes 2/3's of the storage leaving you only about 10GB for personal use. I added a 64GB Sandisk Ultra micro SD to increase personal local storage. Use Microsoft Skydrive and this is an all around solution that really works for web, email and MS Office work. Mobile when I want but I can use a real monitor/keyboard/mouse for desktop work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Nice tablet for the price

07/13/2014
By ,
East Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
Well built, feels solid
Like the non-slip backing
Excellent display
Good tablet size
Pretty darn fast
So far great battery life
Ability to connect USB devices, keyboard, mouse, flashdrives etc (via a $2 OTG cable not included)
Can run 3rd party programs just like a PC
Basically a miniature PC with Windows 8.1/MS Office in your hands
MicroSD slot
Seems to already have good accessory choices (although many are 3rd party)
Cons (Venue 8 Pro):
Would be nice to be able to charge/power the tablet and also have things plugged into the USB. You cannot do these things at the same time, it's either or.
If I had it to do all over again, I would have opted for the 64GB model.
Cons (Windows):
These are not related to the Dell Venue but rather Windows/MS itself
Windows 8.1 takes some getting used to
Windows 8.1 on this screen size is difficult to see
Tough transition from Android devices and apps
Windows app availability growing but not all that great
Really need a stylus to hit all the small boxes, pull down menus, etc on the screen. Can be tricky with just a finger. Just picture everything you currently see on your desktop or laptop monitor using Windows and Windows-based programs condensed on an 8" tablet. That is what this is (but it is clear).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Small and powerful tablet PC, love it

12/19/2013
By ,
Lowell MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this tablet during Thanks Giving sale from Walmart for $230 and have been using for over 3 weeks. It is a great little yet powerful tablet. I use it for general browsing, skype, music, youtube and also playing games. I like the ability to access and play music from my desktop, use Picassa, Chrome and the skydrive synchronization. Build quality by Dell is pretty good. The screen is bright and audio very loud for the size. This tablet PC runs the full version of Windows 8.1 which is great as legacy applications are supported. Further Windows 8.1 made good improvements from its predecessor. Intel Baytrail processor is pretty fast and offers good battery life. Windows App store is decent. In addition I run Android apps using Bluestacks emulator. Haven't tried Miracast wireless streaming to TV yet but intend to get the Netgear PTV WiDi adapter. The tablet comes with one micro usb port and SD card slot. My suggestions for future improvement for Dell are to have 64GB as default and have 2 usb ports. Also provide recovery image in SD card so additional disk space can be freed up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Unreliable operation after 1 day of casual use

07/07/2014
By ,
central new jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit performed as required out of box. Able to establish account, connect to internet. Software updated without issues. Item was turned off after operating about 4 hours. Second day it would not connect to WIFI. Error message was "limited access" After trying to operate for the day, I called Dell Support. Dell agent did everything he could to correct. He was outstanding and superb. After 2 hours on phone he updated drivers and item was working. I turned off unit. Next day limited access message repeated. Went away after 5 minutes. Limited WIFI connectivity problem returned every time unit was powered off and on. 5 minutes to establish connectivity on a FIOS router. I returned unit.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Dell Venue Pro8- Perfect Office on the Go

12/08/2013
By ,
Palmer, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The new Dell Venue Pro 8 is a fantastic productivity too, especially if you need to take your "office" with you. With the full version of Microsoft Office 2013, you can save, edit & create documents, spreadsheets & presentations on the fly. The screen is pretty small, have had to increase font a few times to read. Lasts about 9 hrs if you set brightness to 60%. Extremely light & portable. I also bought the Asus bluetooth keyboard, doesn't specify for Dell Venue, but it fits in slot perfectly. Windows 8.1 already loaded so you don't have to deal with an upgrade. You can tweak settings so Win8.1 looks & feels like Win7. I still use my Nook for most reading, music, videos & internet, larger screen easier on the eyes. Dell got this one right and will definitely lead the pack for a while. I haven't seen any other company do what Dell has done with the Venue Pro 8 (I have 64gb version). Easily expand storage with microSD slot, put a high speed class10 in mine and it is perfect & fast. You can't go wrong. Plus I bought this when Wal Mart had it on sale for $229 a couple weeks ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great for the price

04/17/2014
By ,
Oakley Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I kick myself for not going for the samsung I was looking at but oh well water under the bridge. This has worked well so far (am not sure what people would run on this that would use all the memory as I haven't even come close) All I do is check e-mail and surf the net, watch videos and so far so good. It has frozen a couple of times but it always (so far) has unlocked after I left alone for a couple of hours. Like I said so far so good I have no problems. I would reccomend the 2 year warranty extension though just to be safe, doesn't seem like it will take too much to break it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Athens, TN
Windows > Android
Posted 07/15/2014
Having experienced Android on a recent and powerful tablet I have come to the conclusion that it still can't hold up to Windows. Unless you wanted the note taking or drawing features of a Samsung Note device you are better off with this Dell.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great Tablet but needed a little tweeking

12/25/2013
By ,
Chuckey, Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great tablet if you don't plan to run intensive computing. Hey it is a tablet and not a Desktop. Yes, the software library is not as intensive as others but realize this computer will run programs written for windows. I run full blown office without a problem. Just don't carried away with huge spreadsheets. NOW I DID SAY A LITTLE TWEEKING. When you get your tablet make sure you go to the support section at Dell.com and download all the current drivers. Some of the drivers just came out in December 2013. There will be compatibility problems until you do this. This should be done with any new computer that you get. This is why I knocked off a star. The tablet will not check for these updates. Once I have installed these updates I was a happy camper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great Product!!!

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the fact that to OS is a full version of windows I can run anything on this I can on my laptop. That means I now have a small portable go anywhere computer. I would recommend this tablet to anyone who needs the convenience of a laptop in the palm of your hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Amazing Value for a Full Windows tablet!

11/27/2013
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really impressed with the Dell Venue 8 Pro. I didn't think Windows would work well on an 8 inch tablet but it does! It feels great in the hand with its textured back and does a great job resisting fingerprints. The screen is vibrant with great viewing angles...I recommend you turn off auto brightness. Included is a full version of Microsoft Office 2013 - Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote. This is huge as Office costs over $100 if you buy it separately.
Performance is great - apps run smoothly, start up/shutdown times are fast, and browsing the web is lag-free. I recommend using Internet Explorer as it's optimized for Windows tablets. I also installed Firefox as an alternate browser. Battery life is fantastic as it lasts the whole day for me with moderate usage.
There's a single speaker on the side of the tablet and it's very loud! It's great for watching videos and listening to music. There's also a MicroSD card slot on the side - it accepted my 64 GB card with no issues.
One unique thing is the placement of the Windows button on the side and making it a physical button rather than capacitive. I'm glad Dell designed it this way to prevent accident presses when holding the tablet with both hands in landscape mode.
Overall this is an amazing tablet, especially if you can get it on sale! I bought mine at Walmart.com and picked it up at the store. Looking now to get a case and stylus for it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great product, especially for the price!

12/10/2013
By ,
Linden, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a tablet that could also function as a full computer (like a laptop). This one fills the bill for a lot less than I expected to pay. It is a full windows 8.1 machine and even comes with Office 2013 Home and Office, which is worth over $100 alone. I purchased a bluetooth keyboard and a travel mouse, and I can use it just like a laptop. The screen is bright and sharp (once you turn off auto brightness and adjust it yourself). The only reason I did not rate it a 5, was because I have had to go to Dell tech support a few times to resolve issues that were mainly software compatability problems with Windows 8.1 (updates should be coming soon), but the tech support was excellent and they solved my problems. The camera stopped working once, but they got it going again. I'm only a couple weeks in, but I'm very happy with it at this point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

The New Netbook

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one of these for 3 weeks and I must say it is a fantastic replacement for a laptop. I would highly recommend it for Students. Unless you need a lot of computing power , it will perform most tasks flawlessly. With Miracast Monitor and a Bluetooth Keyboard / mouse , it can be a full size work station. The quad core atom and a SSD built in does wonders for speed. The appeal of a netbook was a cheap portable Laptop that you can take for basic computer needs. they sold tons. This is it's evolution. And it is real Windows 8.1 ( Not RT )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

PC at Heart, Tablet in hand

11/25/2013
By ,
Graham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A user in the past of Kindle Fire, Surface and they are all now on eBay or given to family. This device is responsive, incredibly worthy of the Windows 8 experience w/ touch. The ability to have full office, along with no site being empty (this device allows Flash), and lastly can have any software I like on this machine.
I've used this to watch video (ESPN 3), Xbox Video, and it was really nice to throw on some music & videos on an SD card and take with me wherever I like. This device in early days is very good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

not impressed

07/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this for a month, was bought for me for a gift. I was using for work and school and it was working out great until it stopped charging. This is a known common problem that Dell refuses to fix. The charging port shorts out or pieces break very easily so the tablet looks as thought it might be charging and then the light goes out and it doesn't actually charge. Then the light doesn't come on at all indicating a charge so now I am stuck with an expensive paper weight, have to explain to my father the tablet he bought doesn't work, I lost all the information stored on the tablet and now have to find something to replace this tablet asap as I use it for school.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Athens, TN
Ham fisted.
Posted 07/15/2014
Treat electronics the way they were meant to be treated, with care, and they last for ages. Bang em around and they end up being expensive paperweights.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Very Happy with purchase

06/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish the window app store was a little farther along having the apps I was used to with my android, but having the ability to do just about anything more than makes up for it. Perfect for a mini comp on the go. A desktop replacement it is not, but nonetheless a fantastic value. Love my dell venue pro.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Best 8" Windows Tablet Currently

11/24/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the 32gb version from my local Walmart. I am very familiar with the tablet world. I have been using the ipad mini for the most part of this past year. Why, because it is a good tablet and lack of options. I have to note that I have tried but did not like the Galaxy tab 3 8-inch model. Enter Dell with what I would consider the best sub-10 inch Windows tablet. Like I said, I was very happy with the iPad mini as a consumption device. But I had grown bored and was looking for something that would allow me to also be productive. The Dell tablet has filled that void. Granted I doubt I will be generating any reports or spreadsheets, but what this little device allows me to do is tweak docs and spreadsheets without having to boot up my laptop.
Battery life is good...I would say its about 90% of the battery life I would get with the iPad mini. But that is based on my usage. The screen is very nice to view. I have left mine set at default because having brightness set real high actually bothers my eyes. The screen is crisp and I would say is better than the screen on the iPad mini (first gen mini).
Keep in mind that this tablet is a full blown computer in a tablet body. This means you have everything available to you. The processor is really fast. I have tested it to determine when I would start seeing lag. I tried having multiple flash heavy web sites and apps open in the background while playing graphics heavy video games... no lag that I was able to detect.
The tablet has a quality build. I would say close if not on par with the iPad. Yes the iPad uses a different material of construction so my comment is relative. The app store is very good and growing. While it is not as developed as apples or androids, it is improving at a very fast pace. With the exception of a few games I played on my iPad mini, I have found all the apps or equivalent in the windows app store. Not only that, remember you can install actual software programs and don't have to rely on an app to be available.
Overall, I would recommend this tablet. Walmart has even reduced the price of the tablet by $20. Which makes an already reasonably price tablet even better. I only knocked the overall score by one star because I feel they should've offered the micro SD adapter in the package. Aside from that, they have set the bar high with this tablet. Its a keeper for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+123points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great tablet

12/07/2013
By ,
Dallas, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I've had this tablet now for about 2 weeks and I have to say I'm pleasantly surprised. I didn't know if the Intel Atom processor was going to be up to the task of running a full version of windows, but I have to say that this little tablet is very quick. Switching between apps is quick, web pages pull up quick, and programs don't seem to have any lag. I use this tablet for small tasks while working as well as for media consumption and web browsing. The battery life seems to be close to the stated 10 hours but I usually stop using it before the battery hits 40% which is about 5-6 hours of use. I thought the 2 GB of memory would be an issue but so far with everything running and several apps open at the same time, I have only had it using 1.3 GB. Beware that using the desktop on a screen this small will be pretty difficult since everything is so small but that is to be expected. You really would need a wireless mouse to make it work well. The tablet is really lightweight and very easy to use with one hand. It works well in portrait and landscape modes. I'm not a user of any particular brands of items so I have no loyalty to any brand but this is a very well built and solid feeling tablet and I think dell did a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

I had very poor experience

06/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Poor for my part. Dell should have sent me a new replacement after I spent the better part of two days with their array of customer service people! I kept getting cut off and would have to call back numerous times. I liked the unit, but was never able the first day to get it to connect and the second day I had it, it would not come on, no lights or anything. I kept calling Dell and talking with someone in India whom I could not half understand, nor they me and then get cut off! Time and time again. The last man I spoke with said he would tell ME where to take it to get fixed and I thought that was not acceptable since I had it only two days!!! They should have replaced it with new one!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great product at an unbeatable price

06/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Dell Venue 8 Pro is a great alternative to an Android tablet or iPad. The first and biggest aspect that beats the competition is that it runs Windows 8.1, instead of the limited Windows RT. This allows it to run just about anything that will run on a normal computer, because that's what it is. A computer. It's a tablet that runs like a netbook, but instead of the typical hobbled netbook experience, the quad-core Intel Atom processor is surprisingly fast despite it's lower clock speed (1.33 Ghz base, 1.8 Ghz max). The screen is beautiful and the whole thing feels like it should cost more than it does. The build quality here is superb, the textured back and beveled edges fit nicely in the palm of your hand, the front and rear facing cameras are a nice added touch and the buttons on the sides feel smooth and rigid instead of wobbly and cheap. On top of this, Dell includes a license key for Microsoft Office Home and Student 2013 for free, allowing you to have Word, Powerpoint, Excel, and Outlook absolutely free of charge. No bloatware here, it's the real deal.
However, despite it's pros the Venue 8 Pro has cons of it's own. Firstly, the storage space. It's equipped with 32 Gb of onboard storage but the difference between advertised space and actual space means you're gonna have a little less than that total. Couple this with Windows 8.1 partitioning about 6 Gb of that space to a recovery partition (not really a bad thing, this allows for a full recovery of the operating system without need for a separate disc) and the actual OS and Office (should you choose to complete the install of it) taking a considerable amount of space means you're gonna be left with around 11 Gb of free space for your files. Word to the wise, you're actually gonna want to leave about 2 Gb free so that the OS will have room to update when the time comes. In short, get a micro SD card. The tablet supports micro SD cards up to 128 Gb in space, but I doubt many people will need more than 32 unless they're installing all kinds of software onto it.
Additionally, if you want to improve your experience, get a Dell Active Stylus. You can usually find one for 20 to 30 dollars on eBay. The Active Stylus is specifically made for the Venue 8 Pro and Venue 11 Pro tablets and works quite well for the cost. A Bluetooth keyboard and carrying case wouldn't hurt either.
All in all, for the price, this tablet is a definite buy if you're on a budget and need something powerful, portable, but won't break the bank.
(between you and me, if you have the money, spring for a surface pro or surface pro 2, though, those guys have way more power under the hood)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

I like it, but!

12/01/2013
By ,
Cherokee, Ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am buying these for business purposes. Already bought the early acer w3-810 tablet. Dont care for the acer w3 screen issues (flicker and poor viewing) but do like the hdmi port. Several days ago i bought the new venue 8 pro from walmart. Got lucky only paid $229.00 each. I like these better. Dont like the fact that it doesnt have a hdmi port so i could hook up to a large tv but took a chance because windows 8.1 has wireless miracast. After searching for good reviews for a hdmi adapter for my lcd tv i see that their is none. Even the couple that had user reviews above 2 werent rated that well. Searched dell venue 8 pro sights and found miracast is not working well on these tablets but to be fair they also not working well yet with the acer. Its claimed that microsoft is working on a fix but not done yet.
Found several issues with venue 8 but you can work around them. If on your tablet you use the dell register my pc app you will find that it doesnt work. First use the my dell app to get to dell then go to drivers and down loads. One of the downloads will fix the register app problem.
I tried to select the updates by adding them to my "Add to my download list" then downloading them all at once but their is a problem with the Dell digital delivery software that crashes the download. To get my downloads i had to download them one at a time as a save file, then used the run command. Be sure to go to power setting and change when the computer goes to sleep because the downloads will stop until the computer wakes.
I would highly suggest that you consider buying the 64 gb version. Also you will need a stylus. If buying for a kid get a case. If you are planning to hook up usb devices (keyboard, mouse ect) get a usb hub with power. Setting up the updates is a pain but be sure to do this. Uninstall norton anti virus then download free avg viruse software. The trial only good for 30 days but when you go to uninstall it, at the control panel, it will offer you the free version Have been using this avg for years with out problems.
Some of the other issues owners have complained about such as wifi disconnects i have had no problems with. Maybe the user is having problems with their wireless router and blaming it on the tablet. I Did notice when tapping with the stylus sometimes got a double text but was able to go to the control panel under pin and touch and made it less sensitive.
Good luck with your new tablet and enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 133 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next