Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Venue 8 Pro Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Venue 8 Pro Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

The Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet 32GB Memory Featuring Windows 8.1 lets you connect to your world on the go. The new Windows lets you complete any task. Connect with friends and family on the built-in webcams.
Average Customer Rating:
4.006 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(164 Reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation79%129 out of 164reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
87 Questions | 148 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

very impressed

04/18/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't beat the value, very powerful 8 inch tablet. I have no complaints for the price. Personally I do not run legacy apps on such a small screen and they take up a lot of disk space. There are plenty of start menu apps for what I do. I have attached a wireless mouse and keyboard using an OTG adapter and USB hub and office works fine as well as my brother laser printer, but you can't use these and charge at the same time, due to only 1 micro USB output. There is no video out, like a HDMI or VGA, but if you need to use another display you can get a miracast receiver for a TV and use the built in wireless display capabilities of the Intel CPU or get a Pluggable USB video adapter. This tablet is comfortable to hold and there are lots of good inexpensive cases and Bluetooth keyboards. Battery life is good, my only complaint is the hard drive fills up fast, but you can add a micro SD card which helps or use onedrive or other cloud storage. Build quality is good and the tablet feels good in your hands and the back has a rubberized material.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

PC in an inexpensive tablet

12/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked this up Black Friday for only $229. It functions extremely well as a Windows 8.1 tablet. Came with 8; upgrade to 8.1 was easy. Comes with real versions of Word and Excel which is a plus for me. But to my surprise it also functions extremely well as a desktop when paired with a Plugable USB Docking station. Using a Plugable UD-3900 docking station, a 19 inch monitor, usb keyboard & usb mouse turns the tablet into a dual monitor desktop - tablet is monitor 1 and 19 inch is monitor 2. Check out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPPY4m8iY0k for Plugable "plug" from the manufacturer on this setup. Only con is the storage on this model, only 32GB, and the OS/installed software consumes 2/3's of the storage leaving you only about 10GB for personal use. I added a 64GB Sandisk Ultra micro SD to increase personal local storage. Use Microsoft Skydrive and this is an all around solution that really works for web, email and MS Office work. Mobile when I want but I can use a real monitor/keyboard/mouse for desktop work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Amazing product for the price!

08/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a grad student, and I have to constantly lug books around, add a 5 lb laptop onto that textbook load and future low back problems are suddenly not so distant! However for years in undergrad this had to be done for the purpose of lengthy assignments and library sessions.
I even entered a period where I purchased an Ipad mini, I returned it within a 2 weeks since it was so costly and didn't provide much benefit. I saw myself still bringing my laptop constantly because it lacked in much of what I needed.
About 2 months ago I came upon this product, researched and watched reviews. Finally I tried it out. Now im extremely happy with it after having used it for 2 months. Just the value it brings to the table in running .exe files is amazing, not to mention that it runs office. Viewing editing and creating PowerPoints , word docs, and excel spreadsheets was a must.
For the value and what you get this product is amazing, its not the laptop replacement or the end all be all but it certainly is convenient for a student and very very reasonably priced for all of its features. Far surpassed my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Small and powerful tablet PC, love it

12/19/2013
By ,
Lowell MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this tablet during Thanks Giving sale from Walmart for $230 and have been using for over 3 weeks. It is a great little yet powerful tablet. I use it for general browsing, skype, music, youtube and also playing games. I like the ability to access and play music from my desktop, use Picassa, Chrome and the skydrive synchronization. Build quality by Dell is pretty good. The screen is bright and audio very loud for the size. This tablet PC runs the full version of Windows 8.1 which is great as legacy applications are supported. Further Windows 8.1 made good improvements from its predecessor. Intel Baytrail processor is pretty fast and offers good battery life. Windows App store is decent. In addition I run Android apps using Bluestacks emulator. Haven't tried Miracast wireless streaming to TV yet but intend to get the Netgear PTV WiDi adapter. The tablet comes with one micro usb port and SD card slot. My suggestions for future improvement for Dell are to have 64GB as default and have 2 usb ports. Also provide recovery image in SD card so additional disk space can be freed up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Nice tablet for the price

07/13/2014
By ,
East Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
Well built, feels solid
Like the non-slip backing
Excellent display
Good tablet size
Pretty darn fast
So far great battery life
Ability to connect USB devices, keyboard, mouse, flashdrives etc (via a $2 OTG cable not included)
Can run 3rd party programs just like a PC
Basically a miniature PC with Windows 8.1/MS Office in your hands
MicroSD slot
Seems to already have good accessory choices (although many are 3rd party)
Cons (Venue 8 Pro):
Would be nice to be able to charge/power the tablet and also have things plugged into the USB. You cannot do these things at the same time, it's either or.
If I had it to do all over again, I would have opted for the 64GB model.
Cons (Windows):
These are not related to the Dell Venue but rather Windows/MS itself
Windows 8.1 takes some getting used to
Windows 8.1 on this screen size is difficult to see
Tough transition from Android devices and apps
Windows app availability growing but not all that great
Really need a stylus to hit all the small boxes, pull down menus, etc on the screen. Can be tricky with just a finger. Just picture everything you currently see on your desktop or laptop monitor using Windows and Windows-based programs condensed on an 8" tablet. That is what this is (but it is clear).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Ok, here it is. I purchased two. Had high hopes,

08/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two of these. Thankfully I also purchased an extended warranty. I have used that extended warranty over and over. I really wanted these to work. Within 3 months, one wouldn't charge. Then about a month later, the other quit as well. I need these, it's not some toy to get online. So here I am, stuck with these tablets that I send back to the company to get fixed every three months while I have nothing to use. Then I have to go through setting everything back up each time. :( What is going to happen when my warranty is out. I suggest to stay away until Dell does something to make these better. I do love the size and function when they work, however they really need more ram for excel and other ram hungry software. I have mine in the hard targus case with a permanent screen cover. I love that cover. It is very protective. The dell venue pro is a great idea, just not ready for prime time as far as I am concerned. Dell, wake up and fix these so they can handle daily use. I'm not hard on them either. The surprising part is the one that was used the least went down the fastest.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WA
probably caused by you not the dell venue
Posted 09/24/2014
sounds like you have a problem with your electricity or something else causing the venues to stop working. battery charging is not a known issue with these so blame yourself before you start jumping to conclusions
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

great tablet for everything

09/26/2014
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dell tablets are great. I bought the venue 8 for myself and use it everyday as I would a computer. I bought the dell venue 8 pro online from Walmart.com for my son for high school and also bought the keyboard and case combo from dell. I highly recommend the two year service plan on the tablet because my son dropped it the first day he took it to school , this is before we got the keyboard and case. The screen broke and you can't take it back to the store to be replaced, you have to do through the service plan. It took awhile but they sent us a new one and we did have to
buy a new service plan but it is worth it. The pro is amazing and I am going to get one for myself and give my venue 8 to my daughter. Dell did it right with there tablet's you won' t find a better one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Dell Venue Pro8- Perfect Office on the Go

12/08/2013
By ,
Palmer, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The new Dell Venue Pro 8 is a fantastic productivity too, especially if you need to take your "office" with you. With the full version of Microsoft Office 2013, you can save, edit & create documents, spreadsheets & presentations on the fly. The screen is pretty small, have had to increase font a few times to read. Lasts about 9 hrs if you set brightness to 60%. Extremely light & portable. I also bought the Asus bluetooth keyboard, doesn't specify for Dell Venue, but it fits in slot perfectly. Windows 8.1 already loaded so you don't have to deal with an upgrade. You can tweak settings so Win8.1 looks & feels like Win7. I still use my Nook for most reading, music, videos & internet, larger screen easier on the eyes. Dell got this one right and will definitely lead the pack for a while. I haven't seen any other company do what Dell has done with the Venue Pro 8 (I have 64gb version). Easily expand storage with microSD slot, put a high speed class10 in mine and it is perfect & fast. You can't go wrong. Plus I bought this when Wal Mart had it on sale for $229 a couple weeks ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great Tablet but needed a little tweeking

12/25/2013
By ,
Chuckey, Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great tablet if you don't plan to run intensive computing. Hey it is a tablet and not a Desktop. Yes, the software library is not as intensive as others but realize this computer will run programs written for windows. I run full blown office without a problem. Just don't carried away with huge spreadsheets. NOW I DID SAY A LITTLE TWEEKING. When you get your tablet make sure you go to the support section at Dell.com and download all the current drivers. Some of the drivers just came out in December 2013. There will be compatibility problems until you do this. This should be done with any new computer that you get. This is why I knocked off a star. The tablet will not check for these updates. Once I have installed these updates I was a happy camper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great for the price

04/17/2014
By ,
Oakley Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I kick myself for not going for the samsung I was looking at but oh well water under the bridge. This has worked well so far (am not sure what people would run on this that would use all the memory as I haven't even come close) All I do is check e-mail and surf the net, watch videos and so far so good. It has frozen a couple of times but it always (so far) has unlocked after I left alone for a couple of hours. Like I said so far so good I have no problems. I would reccomend the 2 year warranty extension though just to be safe, doesn't seem like it will take too much to break it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Athens, TN
Windows > Android
Posted 07/15/2014
Having experienced Android on a recent and powerful tablet I have come to the conclusion that it still can't hold up to Windows. Unless you wanted the note taking or drawing features of a Samsung Note device you are better off with this Dell.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Amazing Value for a Full Windows tablet!

11/27/2013
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really impressed with the Dell Venue 8 Pro. I didn't think Windows would work well on an 8 inch tablet but it does! It feels great in the hand with its textured back and does a great job resisting fingerprints. The screen is vibrant with great viewing angles...I recommend you turn off auto brightness. Included is a full version of Microsoft Office 2013 - Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote. This is huge as Office costs over $100 if you buy it separately.
Performance is great - apps run smoothly, start up/shutdown times are fast, and browsing the web is lag-free. I recommend using Internet Explorer as it's optimized for Windows tablets. I also installed Firefox as an alternate browser. Battery life is fantastic as it lasts the whole day for me with moderate usage.
There's a single speaker on the side of the tablet and it's very loud! It's great for watching videos and listening to music. There's also a MicroSD card slot on the side - it accepted my 64 GB card with no issues.
One unique thing is the placement of the Windows button on the side and making it a physical button rather than capacitive. I'm glad Dell designed it this way to prevent accident presses when holding the tablet with both hands in landscape mode.
Overall this is an amazing tablet, especially if you can get it on sale! I bought mine at Walmart.com and picked it up at the store. Looking now to get a case and stylus for it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great product, especially for the price!

12/10/2013
By ,
Linden, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a tablet that could also function as a full computer (like a laptop). This one fills the bill for a lot less than I expected to pay. It is a full windows 8.1 machine and even comes with Office 2013 Home and Office, which is worth over $100 alone. I purchased a bluetooth keyboard and a travel mouse, and I can use it just like a laptop. The screen is bright and sharp (once you turn off auto brightness and adjust it yourself). The only reason I did not rate it a 5, was because I have had to go to Dell tech support a few times to resolve issues that were mainly software compatability problems with Windows 8.1 (updates should be coming soon), but the tech support was excellent and they solved my problems. The camera stopped working once, but they got it going again. I'm only a couple weeks in, but I'm very happy with it at this point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Would be nice if I could charge it.

10/03/2014
By ,
Tacoma, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were unable to charge the unit out of the box. It would not accept the charger plug. We bought it ON SALE at Walmart, but when we attempted to exchange, Walmart told us there were no more available - either in my state or online. They agreed the problem was the unit and not the charger. As a result Walmart suggested we negotiate an exchange with Dell - which was a nightmare. DELL would not accept the unit back for warranty repair unless we paid to ship it to them and agreed to wait 6 to 8 weeks. When we questioned why they wouldn't simply exchange it, DELL suggested we return the unit to Walmart and then go buy one somewhere else (at full price). After hours of haggling with DELL on the phone, multiple disconnects and hand offs to other service people we finally got a call back from DELL saying they had been monitoring our conversation with the last service agent and apologized for his instructions telling us we should just absorb the lost savings (from the one we bought on sale) and buy another unit at full price at Staples. Dell agreed to ship us a new unit at their cost right away. So in the end, if this new unit works when it gets here, I guess we eventually will have what we hoped we would get when we bought the first one. Can't review the performance of the unit until we get the new one in hand...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

PC at Heart, Tablet in hand

11/25/2013
By ,
Graham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A user in the past of Kindle Fire, Surface and they are all now on eBay or given to family. This device is responsive, incredibly worthy of the Windows 8 experience w/ touch. The ability to have full office, along with no site being empty (this device allows Flash), and lastly can have any software I like on this machine.
I've used this to watch video (ESPN 3), Xbox Video, and it was really nice to throw on some music & videos on an SD card and take with me wherever I like. This device in early days is very good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Good size for trips.

10/18/2014
By ,
Huntsville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm downsizing and gearing up for road trips, so I 'cut the cord'. I paired this tablet with data only mobile hotspot device and it and it works great for surfing, email etc. This tablet will stream video very good, but my data plan won't support that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Best 8" Windows Tablet Currently

11/24/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the 32gb version from my local Walmart. I am very familiar with the tablet world. I have been using the ipad mini for the most part of this past year. Why, because it is a good tablet and lack of options. I have to note that I have tried but did not like the Galaxy tab 3 8-inch model. Enter Dell with what I would consider the best sub-10 inch Windows tablet. Like I said, I was very happy with the iPad mini as a consumption device. But I had grown bored and was looking for something that would allow me to also be productive. The Dell tablet has filled that void. Granted I doubt I will be generating any reports or spreadsheets, but what this little device allows me to do is tweak docs and spreadsheets without having to boot up my laptop.
Battery life is good...I would say its about 90% of the battery life I would get with the iPad mini. But that is based on my usage. The screen is very nice to view. I have left mine set at default because having brightness set real high actually bothers my eyes. The screen is crisp and I would say is better than the screen on the iPad mini (first gen mini).
Keep in mind that this tablet is a full blown computer in a tablet body. This means you have everything available to you. The processor is really fast. I have tested it to determine when I would start seeing lag. I tried having multiple flash heavy web sites and apps open in the background while playing graphics heavy video games... no lag that I was able to detect.
The tablet has a quality build. I would say close if not on par with the iPad. Yes the iPad uses a different material of construction so my comment is relative. The app store is very good and growing. While it is not as developed as apples or androids, it is improving at a very fast pace. With the exception of a few games I played on my iPad mini, I have found all the apps or equivalent in the windows app store. Not only that, remember you can install actual software programs and don't have to rely on an app to be available.
Overall, I would recommend this tablet. Walmart has even reduced the price of the tablet by $20. Which makes an already reasonably price tablet even better. I only knocked the overall score by one star because I feel they should've offered the micro SD adapter in the package. Aside from that, they have set the bar high with this tablet. Its a keeper for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+127points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

I couldn't figure out how to use it.

10/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was too hard for me to learn how to use it quickly. If I had more time to mess around with it, it would be fine but I am on a time crunch.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Laptop in a Tablet

12/08/2013
By ,
Chicago,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thoroughly surprised to see such a small tablet with great performance. It was not the windows 8 rt, but had the full version of windows 8.1 and the full version of office 13, I couldn't be more satisfied with purchase, particularly since I was able to get it at a bargain price for $229.00 the date of the sale. I could use a little more space, perhaps 64gb, but it does have an expansion slot and you are able to use a flash drive to transfer files, pictures, music, etc. (with a usb adapter) which I was able to pickup for $6.00. It also works well with a Bluetooth Keyboard and Mouse. Battery Life has also proved to sufficient although I have not played a lot of videos, I have gotten more that 8 hrs. before charging again. Great for work or school. So far I am totally satisfied with my purchase and would definitely recommend it to others
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great tablet

12/07/2013
By ,
Dallas, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I've had this tablet now for about 2 weeks and I have to say I'm pleasantly surprised. I didn't know if the Intel Atom processor was going to be up to the task of running a full version of windows, but I have to say that this little tablet is very quick. Switching between apps is quick, web pages pull up quick, and programs don't seem to have any lag. I use this tablet for small tasks while working as well as for media consumption and web browsing. The battery life seems to be close to the stated 10 hours but I usually stop using it before the battery hits 40% which is about 5-6 hours of use. I thought the 2 GB of memory would be an issue but so far with everything running and several apps open at the same time, I have only had it using 1.3 GB. Beware that using the desktop on a screen this small will be pretty difficult since everything is so small but that is to be expected. You really would need a wireless mouse to make it work well. The tablet is really lightweight and very easy to use with one hand. It works well in portrait and landscape modes. I'm not a user of any particular brands of items so I have no loyalty to any brand but this is a very well built and solid feeling tablet and I think dell did a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dell Venue 8 Pro 8" Tablet with 32GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Big enough, yet small enough

10/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tablet is the computer my daughter uses to do school. It's small enough to be portable, yet large enough to do her lessons. It's fast too, no performance lags, even with several programs running.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 164 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next