Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

This knitting machine isn't for pretend play, it really works. To knit, simply thread the yarn onto the spindles and turn the crank. Make gloves, mittens, hats, fun figures, leg warmers, striped scarves, shawls and more. Just use your imagination to create terrific accessories.
Average Customer Rating:
2.355 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation39%12 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Great fun and works great

07/10/2007
By ,
Payson, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this little knitting machine just to fool around with. I made some leg warmers for my grand-daughter and she loves them, especially the ones made with the eyelash yarn. Next visit I will show her how the machine works and eventually it will be hers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 2 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Remarkable

11/21/2007
By ,
Cold Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for one of my daughters for this Christmas. It just arrived and I tested it out as I do all of our Christmas toys before I wrap them.
I had so much fun with this that it was hard to stop turning the handle. It works beautifully and is incredibly easy to thread and use! Now I want to buy two more as gifts and find that they are now out of stock. Go figure! I'll keep searching online because I know they will make good gifts.
Remarkable machine for the price! I'm happy and I know my daughter will spend endless hours making gifts with this on Christmas day.
Pick up some extra eyelash yarn for this because you will need it. It is just too much fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 3 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Excellent choice!

01/20/2008
By ,
Southern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews prior to purchasing this for my 8 yr old daughter. Seen some negatives in regards to quality of product plus the difficulty of use. I figured with Walmart's return policy I would give it a shot as I did come across a couple of positive reviews as well. Well, if you can follow directions you should have absolutely NO PROBLEMS!!! I did have to play/learn with it prior to teaching my daughter how to but she focused in on my step by step directions, I had told her she would have to or she won't get a nice final product. She tuned in and then on her very own from start to finish made a beautiful scarf. She is now working on a hat that I will have to help her with once she gets the pieces done. I do highly recommend this product!! Lots of fun on those cold days staying indoors!!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Don't bother.

03/18/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine only knits in the stockinette stitch. It promises flat panels, but the ones it makes are terrible looking. It does tube knitting much better, but has a tendency to randomly skip stitches. To avoid that, you have to have a nice even pace going; but your pace is fast enough that you won't notice a slipped stitch until it's too late. The beginning and ending rows are loose and sloppy looking. Also, the machine will take nothing higher than worsted weight; but it works best with baby or sport weight.
If all you want are boring stockinette tube scarves, and don't mind slipped stitches, then this will be fine. It doesn't do much else very well; frankly, the time it "saves" you would be better spent on traditional knitting.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 5 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Big Disappointment

08/17/2007
By ,
Poulsbo, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this Easy Sewing Knitting Machine online for my granddaughter's 10th birthday and had it shipped directly to her. She had asked for this knitting machine and was SO-ooo excited when she received it. Unfortunately, several of the "teeth" on the knitting device and the crank mechanism broke the first night. We don't live in the same state and she lives 4 hours from the nearest Walmart, we couldn't just return it. I am very disappointed in this product and will never buy another one. I am now searching for a different brand of better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 6 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

This product is pure junk!

12/26/2007
By ,
Pittsburgh, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please don't make the mistake of buying this for your child for a birthday or Christmas! We started off thinking it was going to be fun and easy, threading the machine was a snap and getting started, but no matter how closely we watched the machine kept missing stitches we ended up trying to loop each hook ourselves rather than relying on the machine to do it for us and still the machine would make holes in the material, not only that but shortly after the handle broke off - cheap plastic! We still tried to use it using your thumbs to turn the wheel with the hooks ourselves it was more trouble than it was worth and was very disheartening! JUNK JUNK JUNK! Does not do what it promises. Made my daughter cry!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 7 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Fast knitting, no doubt

01/01/2008
By ,
Mishawaka, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recieved this as a gift a few years ago, I thought it was silly because I was a sophomore in college and it was a childs toy. Once I started using the gift I thought it was great though. At the time I had not known how to knit so I could simply thread the yarn and turn the handle and it did a great job.
My friends saw me using it and said I was cheating though, so I had to learn to knit for real, so I don't use the machine much anymore.
It's easy to use, the only problems with it is that sometimes the yarn slips off the hooks, especially if you don't use the type of yarn provided, and there's not a whole lot of creativity (options for things you can make) in using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 8 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Nana's Grand-daughter sad.

12/29/2007
By ,
Kitty Hawk, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I gave this to my grand-daughter as one of her Christmas gifts. We read the directions and they were easy to understand. We proceeded with caution as the machine is made with plastic parts. In about 3 turns the machine jammed up. I fixed it and it kept jamming up. I was so sad for her that we could not get the machine to work. We turned the handle with such caution as not to jam it up. It is poorly made and would be great if the parts were made with medal. She was so sad and kept trying to make it work. We sent it back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 9 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Did not expecet this...

12/09/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this last Christmas for my 10 year old sister. It looked like a lot of fun but it wasn't. The directions were very complicated to start with. I read the directions 4 times and took it step by step, I would get a few turns of the handle then the yarn would get jammed. What started as the perfect gift, turned out to be the perfect nightmare. I gave up trying and just threw it out. NOT KID FRIENDLY MORE FOR A PROFESSIONAL.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 10 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Fun while it lasted

01/06/2008
By ,
Corinth, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think I had more fun with this than my 8 year old did. It was hard for her to get it started and then after turning the handle for a while she got bored. She made A sock, she didn't want to make the other, and a tube. We tried to make a flat scarf, but always ended up with large holes in the knitting pattern. She played with it for about 3 days and now it is sitting in the floor of her closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Easy Knitting Knitting machine

01/22/2008
By ,
Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Even for an adult who has had experience with circular knitting machines this one is difficult to get working right. It drops stitches constantly and makes lots of slipped stitches. I would not recommend this product be purchase for children. All it would do is cause lots of frustrations in trying to use it. Since purchasing it I have not managed to get one project done at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Horrible!!

12/26/2007
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this for my daughter for Christmas this year and when we tried it out, it didn't work. The hooks were already not working properly and you couldn't get it to make a full turn. It would stop every few turns of the handle. The yarn was awful and it snagged several times...Needless to say, IT IS GOING BACK!!! Do not waste your time with this piece of junk!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 13 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Totally Horrible

12/17/2007
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got this as a gift to my daughter, After the hour it took to figure out how to wind the yarn, then the yarn got tangled.. not to mention the yarn wasn't real yarn.. it had bits of plastic in it and a rough feel to it.. wel after all of this the hooks started to snap... I felt so bad for my little girl.. this was suppose to be fun and just made her cry.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Very good product

01/25/2008
By ,
IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my 10 and 8 year old. It is fairly easy to use but had to help them. Very quick to make leg warmers and scarfs. It does take close attention when making them. It is make a bit cheap and broke a piece off but it still works fine without that. It is a good product because we can make the scarfs and leg warmer extremly quick. Lots of fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 15 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

my daughter really likes this

01/22/2008
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not very crafty myself but my 6 year old daughter is and I bought the sewing knitting machine in hopes that she could start to knit or sew without any instruction from me and it worked. It has satisfied her bug. It is very simple to use and makes real items that she can wear and be proud of. She loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 16 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL

01/19/2008
By ,
Upstate NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS. IT IS A CHEAP PIECE OF PLASTIC THAT WILL SURELY END UP HELPING TO FILL A LANDFILL. IT DOES NOT WORK. THE HOOKS ARE REALLY CHEAP PLASTIC THAT MISS ALMOST EVERYTIME AND THEN EVERYTHING GETS ALL TANGLED. I REALLY CAN SAY NOTHING GOOD ABOUT THIS. SAVE YOUR HARD EARNED CASH.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Horrible! Not a toy!

12/29/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My 8-year-old became very annoyed with the knitting machine. It is too tedious and she had to start over several times. The machine is not sturdy, breaks easily (becoming completely useless), and is difficult and tedious even for a grown adult. We exchanged it for something kid-friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 18 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

Just Plain Fun!

09/26/2007
By ,
Concord, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up, and makes a long tube in minutes! Used it to make "snakes" to stuff and put in front of doorways to keep out drafts. Then they move to window tops in the summer over the air conditioner! Machine makes a tube too small for adult socks, but perfect for a small child.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 19 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

not as easy as they make it sound...

01/03/2008
By ,
at home in Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well, there's been a lot of frustration and quite a bit of yarn throw away -- this machine works really well with the yard that comes with it - which is enough to make a 4 foot long 'scarf', but then when we use other yarn there are all sorts of problems.. We'll keep trying...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Easy Sewing Knitting Machine

I was very disappointed

11/14/2007
By ,
Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this machine on 3 different occasions hoping for a different outcome. Each time the machine broke with in minutes of using it. I was only able to make a tube 2 inches in length before a hook would break. The hooks that knit the yarn are plastic and break easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next