Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tracfone TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Tracfone TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

The TracFone ZTE Valet Android Phone with Triple Minutes for Life is 3G compatible. It features a 3.5" capacitive touchscreen, multi-touch and Google browser. The ZTE cell phone offers Bluetooth, Wi-Fi and a Qualcomm chipset that is fast enough for high-speed Internet. This mobile device comes with a three megapixel camera, a 4GB memory card and expandable memory. It supports GPS, browsing the Internet, taking memorable pictures and sending SMS, MMS, IM and emails. The TracFone ZTE Valet Android Phone also includes triple minutes for life, meaning that you will actually receive three times as much airtime as what you purchase. An activation card is included with this item. Airtime must be purchased separately in order to keep minutes active.
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation55%12 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
64 Questions | 69 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

A tracfone customer since 1998

12/19/2013
By ,
COLUMBUS,OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the zte valet, being a long time tracfone customer I feel like I am going from a VW to a BMW but I know I am not. the zte valet is at the low end of android phone barrel. This is a true smartphone unlike my LG 800, but it was a good call phone.
I have a ton of apps on the valet and I have customized it just how I want. The Super-Bright LED Flashlight Surpax Technology Inc is a handy app.
The TRACFONE APP from google play store is a good one to check your balance and service date and to add min and data time.
The power bar widget(COMES WITH PHONE) is the one I use the most, I use it to turn the data off so I don't lose it all. You can turn the wi-fi on from there,and turn sync on, GPS, bluetooth and the screen brightness. I will take a picture of the power bar and put on customer images on this phones main page.( Remember to turn off data when you're not using it. )
I have norton anti-malware (free) app and it works great, It always checks every new app I install and if it updates a app it checks that also.
I have had the phone for 3 weeks now and have not had any problems, I read all the review sites and blogs and that has helped. I just seen in the Q&A on the phones home page on this site what the mirow was for and they told you about a good flashlight app on google,it works great...If you need a 9 or 10 rated phone you will probbley will not be happy with this low end phone, but for a pre-paid phone I like mine.
I do notice that I do not have as many signal bars as I did on my other tracfones but I can use this phone where the others would not work and have not dropped any calls..
So what I am trying to say here is that I can call and talk just about anywhere I go west va - ohio - ky. ( On this phone mabey 1 to 3 bars and my others phones I would have 3 and 4 bars...)
Voice is good. camera indoors is really bad and outside is just O K.
Hint, have your kids buy you time cards, google play cards and data cards for fathers, mothers, birthdays and xmas... ha ha.
I bought my first T. F. in 1998, I seen it in a jeep mag and took it out west Leadville, CO and it worked,I was shocked.
What's great about it: Android 4.1 Operating System, 1.0Ghz processor.
What's not so great: Camera indoor pictures.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+120points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
WEST VIRGINIA
ZTE VALET ANDROID
Posted 03/18/2014
I ENJOY THE PHONE AND THE PRICE OF STRAIGHT TALK, SO FAR. I AM HOPING THAT THE PHONE CONTINUES TO PLEASE ME.
0points
Customer Avatar
LaVale MD 21503
sim card
Posted 03/12/2014
Hey does this Tracfone have a sim card in it Please let me know I purchased a phone similar to this one that doesn't have a sim card in it and will not work in my area so I purchased this phone because it said that it does work in this area with the zip code of 21502 and that is what they told me at walmart.com they said it has a sim card in it and i just wnated to confirm it ok thx
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Entry level smartphone

08/06/2014
By ,
Northern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alright for starters this is a very entry level smartphone, if you are familiar with TracFone you know the phones they offer are usually older or lower end, and the smartphones are no different. It only has a 1Ghz cpu and 512MB of ram and the screen is 3.5 inches. Try to get this when WalMart has it on special.
Despite the low numbers and the low special price, this phone works pretty good for what it is. Android Jelly Bean 4.1.1 means it will run nearly all available apps. The phone comes with a 4 gig micro sd card, and it will handle up to a 32 gig card, I would recommend getting at least an 8 or 16 gig and putting as many apps, photos, songs, and videos on the card as possible.
I do recommend downloading a different browser, one of the many lightweight ones on Google Play. I use CM, (Clean Master), Opera and others like it work well also, Chrome really taxes this phones resources, and the other built in browser takes you to some TracFone home page. TracFone has a my account app that will allow you to check your minutes,data and texts, available on TracFones site or Google Play. Unlike other TracFones there is no built in way of checking this data. I also recommend an anti virus and an app like Clean Master optimizer, which cleans junk files allowing the phone to run faster and keeps storage space open.
The smartphones run on Verizon and are 3G only, Walmart's system for checking if the phone works in your area is flawed, use the TracFone site instead. If Verizon is solid in your area, this phone will work great. The Wi-Fi antenna on this phone is a little weak, but Wi-Fi does work very well when you are connected. Triple minutes, other reviewers cover how this works as TracFone uses a different system on the smartphones.
Also you can transfer your minutes and number from another TracFone to this one, even if the other TracFone is not a smartphone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Great basic android phone

08/01/2014
By ,
67212
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about a month now. This has been a very good basic android phone. I have downloaded my favorite apps from the google play store with no problems and they run just as well as my dual core tablet. Pictures are average but then I didn't buy this as a camera. The battery life with average use is running 3 days plus. Not sure why the complaints about this phone? Unless you are downgrading from a iphone or top of the line Samsung this phone will handle most of the needs for the average user. The wifi signal could be a little stronger but has no problems connecting. Sound is terrific and plenty of volume on mine. For the price you can't beat it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Don't waste your money

05/17/2014
By ,
Montana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Being this is my first (Smart phone)type cell phone I don't have any thing to compare it to.
I don't have any complaints about it being an Android phone.
My complaint is the phone it self
No matter what you do you cant hear it when it ring. I am no spring chicken, but I am not def. either I had to download a ship's horn as a ringtone and keep the volume as high as it goes so I could hear it when it rings. and yes I check the volume several times a day to make sure I can hear it
The pictures it take aren't very good I tried to download A check to my account and I couldn't because the check could not be seen clearly.
I did this out side on a clear sunny afternoon. also It wont let you send pictures you take with the phone in a text message
I would not recommend this phone to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

It is an Android Phone, but...

08/02/2014
By ,
CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As many have said, its a very entry level Android phone.
This may be a good choice for your young teen, unless they are set on wanting an "I" product.
It is capable of meeting your basic phone needs, some web surfing, Google Maps, texting, etc.
I wouldn't depend on it for like what you would use your home tablet devices for... it just doesn't have the speed, memory, or bright clear display.
When I do multitasking, it often lags and seems to take a long time for the apps to run or finish.
The screen is not sharp and difficult to see in bright places or outdoors.
The Wi-Fi reception is not as strong as I like it to be, I must have the phone closer to my wireless router for the best results.
Since it is on Verizon towers, it does work in my area where typically no other wireless service can provide.
I use this as a backup phone to my BlackBerry that I have for work, so if I'd compare the two...
Then I would say this phone is doable.
I am hoping that Tracfone will start to offer a little better quality level phones soon.
Straight Talk is part of the Tracfone family and they have a lot of excellent phone choices like iPhone 5S, Galaxy S4, etc.
Looking forward to see more higher level phone choices from Tracfone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Check with tracfone before ordering for your area

02/19/2014
By ,
Nettie West Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
On this site they ask for your zip to see if the phone will work in your area and the results are not accurate. It said i would have service in my zip code but i do not. If you call tracfone they will tell you if it will work or not. You have to have Verizon service in your area for the phone to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LaVale MD 21503
tracfone
Posted 03/12/2014
Yes I know the CDMA phone will not work in my area either but this is a differnet model number and here is the model number TFZEZ665CTMP-5 and the other phone has a model number of TFZEZ665CTMP so what is the difference between phones
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Not worth it!

09/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone, and it is very cheap in every way. The touch screen only works when it wants.. The volume for the speaker is too low, and the screen is very grainy. Would not buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

A great starter android phone...

10/22/2014
By ,
Castle Rock, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is easy to function. It's a great phone for those learning the android program. The options that the phone carries are excellent. The fact that it comes with a (small but good) disc also makes it desirable for those new to phones who are learning it's expandable capabilities as well.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

I got a lemon

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nothing but trouble with this phone since the day I got it and Tracfone customer service is terrible. Now have a phone that won't make or receive calls.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Astoria , New, York
this phone requires verizon
Posted 09/08/2014
this Phone requires Verizon as the cell carrier for Trafcone
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Piece of junk!!!

06/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst phone ever made. It does things on it's own, like calls, changes settings, like going from ringing to silent and this is when it is just sitting on a table. You can call the phone and it won't ring. It is very hard to maneuver to set things up like contacts. It is just a piece of junk and I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. This phone is not worth the money. Also, you cannot transfer the minutes from this phone to any other Tracfone. Tracfone only allows a transfer of the telephone number and service, but not minutes. This is the worst phone ever made!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Tug of war!

02/26/2014
By ,
Sarasota County, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tracfone had a great idea when they decided to incorporate Android devices on their pay by the airtime card design. This phone (ZTE's Valet) feels like most entry-level androids with its capabilities to download and use games and other apps from Google's Play Store. Tracfone has input a downloadable Balance App that allows customers to view and receive an updated balance message that shows remaining minutes, service days, messages and MBs of data.
Pros: there is no monthly bill, instead the allotment of minutes, messages, and data all come from the airtime card purchased. For example, purchasing the 450 unit airtime card with this phone provided 90 days of service, 1350 minutes, 1350 text messages, and 1350 Mb of data.
Cons: the network on the Valet is infrequently available. Calls may or may not connect. The valet displays service connectivity via the bars where the smallest bar is a dot and the largest bar is a long line. There are two colors for the bars. Gray means signal is available but messages will not send or receive. Blue bars means, depending on how many are lit the messages may or may not send! This unreliable account for sending and receiving messages is NOT helping. Don't count on sending or receiving picture or multimedia messages with the allotment of text messages. They may or may not send depending of many circumstances. A customer might think, as with other tracfones, sending and receiving multimedia messages would require data (many minutes) and messages (minutes) and be allowed. In my experience, "message not sent" or "SENDING..." Shows up every time!!! Not knowing if the VALET uses Verizon or Sprint towers is annoying. Both company's signal is available in my area but Verizon's signal is stronger! Good luck using data! I have had numerous occasions in the last week when I have attempted to access the internet and was unable. 3G is available all over my area for Verizon and Sprint, but I have been unable to access the internet when away from a WIFI connection! This error (or lack of access to any network outside of WIFI) limits the ability to consider this VALET as a replacement or alternative to the monthly obligation used with other subsidiaries of TRACFONE and other wireless carriers!
I thought Tracfone had hit the nail on the head by bringing Android phones to their no-monthly-bills wireless but I was wrong! I'm stuck between keeping the ZTE Valet (and keeping the text + talk allotment of minutes while sacrificing the data allotment because the Valet doesn't connect to the internet when away from WIFI, and therefore, doesn't use much data) or going back to a phone that allows me to utilize every aspect I'm paying for. Somehow, data is being used even though no websites connect outside of WIFI. It would be advantageous to the Tracfone customer to find advanced Android devices, such as the Samsung Galaxy sIII and S4 available on the tracfone not-by-the-month service without the network issues! There is NO sense in paying more money for the same issues.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

I wanted a smart phone

10/06/2014
By ,
Smithfield Twp, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a tracfone smart phone. This one is inexpensive and works well. Still don't have it all figured out yet, but, that's what my teenager is for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Mediocre garbage with a short lifespan

10/06/2014
By ,
Palo Alto, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Generally speaking, this is a 3-star phone at best. It's not because of the low-end specs you'd expect at its discount price point -- 3G, 3.5" screen, 1 GHz single-core processor, blurry 3 megapixel camera with no autofocus -- all of which are fine with me. Actually, having Android 4.1 Jelly Bean and 4 GB of internal storage is kind of impressive.
But a couple things are broken out of the box. The touch screen is insensitive and inconsistent, sometimes registering your fingers and sometimes not. The Wi-Fi is weak, barely able to see the router in your own living room. Apps and the camera sometimes crash, requiring a reboot to get them working again. There's also this quirk that causes it to randomly add extra home screens that I have to delete every few days. Annoying.
Then after a while, stuff starts to break for real. At some point it starts spontaneously forgetting your settings (sounds, ringtones, vibration, screen rotation). Then the in-call menu starts being unstable, making it impossible to use the dialpad or speakerphone, or even hang up. For me, the final nail in the coffin (literally) came at the 8-month mark -- I stopped being able to speak into the phone. No matter who calls who, I can hear the other person but they can't hear me. So as far as being a phone, this one couldn't even make it to the 1-year mark. Pathetic.
If you're thinking of the other three Tracfone models, keep in mind that two of them are even worse:
-The Samsung Galaxy Centura ($130) has decent specs (Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich, 1 GHz processor, more memory) but everyone says it's prone to randomly crashing, freezing, and forgetting what time it is.
-The Huawei Glory ($100), which is even more broken. See any review for details.
-The third one is the LG Optimus Dynamic II -- the only one that's worth even looking at. I replaced my Valet with it and am happy so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

disappointed

03/23/2014
By ,
LaVale MD 21503
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I give this phone a bad review because you all sell tracfone's that don't work in this area and I would like to point out that you shouldn't let people know when they punch in the zip code for this area that this phone is a CDMA phone and these phones don't support towers for this area so therefore this phone will not work in this area
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indiana
Call Support
Posted 04/25/2014
I bought a Tracfone that was sold in store and told it would work in my zip area, it did not. I called customer support and was told the phones sim card and programming were for a different region, they sent out a new phone for my location and added 450 minutes for my troubles. The new phone took two days to get delivered.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

My first smartphone. two thumbs up

01/29/2014
By ,
Dallas,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for me. Android phone with google apps. I can use skype at my house to call cheap anywhere! I get bad cell phone reception so wanted a phone that could connect to my internet to place calls. I got the 2 year optional agreement plan also. Good deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Awesome Phone

03/21/2014
By ,
Havelock, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a sweet phone for your buck.
Highly recommend this phone, with triple minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Good basic phone and phone service for the money.

03/19/2014
By ,
Beckley & Mount Hope WV Area.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far it has worked excellent. I am not a heavy phone user but I am happy with the purchase and use of the phone for now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

I SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT A MORE EXPENSIVE PHONE....

07/14/2014
By ,
CLEARFIELD PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
VERY DIFFICULT.... Have not mastered yet... may be impossible,,,, very frustrating......... can't find way around.... May decide to throw it under the car tires and run over, and over, and over, and over................................ Should have bought iPhone!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Northern Indiana
Google is your friend.
Posted 08/06/2014
Android is very common and very simple, plus my phone came with a manual. Manuals are also available for download at ZTE and probably other sites. Android user guides are surely available, just do a google search. You could spend five hundred on phone instead though, its your money.
0points
Customer Avatar
Kentucky
Agreed
Posted 07/22/2014
My husband bought this phone on the same day you did. It has been a constant headache since then. He is on our landline phone now trying to get some help. The phone has locked up and no matter what he does, it will not work and a voice keeps talking to him but he can't turn that off either. It won't scroll, it won't dial out, nothing. We really wish we would have spent more money too because even though we thought the screen would be big enough, he is using a stylus. It is a huge disappointment and we are considering using "Buyer's Remorse" to return it and get a bigger phone.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

nice phone for the money

12/14/2013
By ,
flint, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TracFone ZTE Valet Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Good smart phone for a young person.

05/06/2014
By ,
Havelock, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far the phone is working great for our grandson and for him to learn responsibility in taking care of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next