Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone features a 4.3-inch WVGA Super AMOLED display, virtual keyboard with Swype and Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) operating system for quick and easy navigation of all of your applications and messaging. This Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone features dual cameras that let you document your life and video chat with your friends and family while you're on the go! Additional features of this Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone include HSPDA+/WiFi connectivity, 1.2GHz dual-core processor, advanced GPS capabilities, music player and ThinkFree Office Mobile. Your Samsung Prepaid Cell Phone also includes threaded text messaging, multimedia messaging, personal email and IM, Speech-to-Text and a social and media hub. 12GB storage memory and battery talk time of up to eight hours round out this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone.
Average Customer Rating:
4.387 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation90%140 out of 155reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

i just hope no one else has the same issues here!

12/17/2013
By ,
ontario ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I must say I was happy with the phone till about one month after the yearly warranty ran out my phone just dies for no good reason,as I turned it off at night,it was working fine, but when I turned it back on in the morning,it would not work right,as all it would say on my screen is the name of the phone and wouldn't go any further,so ended up I called straight talk hopeing they could get my phone to work from their end,only they couldn't and told me the phone was no good now why,as I treat my phones,very nice,and it was just over a year I bought it,and I was also told I'd have to buy another phone,and i just put time on it,so loose that also,I think it's unfair,very expensive phone to only have it last that long ,very disappointed,so now I have to buy another phone,and more time to put on it,its just not right to me or any other good customers,who have been with straight talk for as long time, as I have, it's ridiculous,and unfair!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+25points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Podunk, Oklahoma
transfer minutes
Posted 12/27/2013
they can transfer the minutes from your old phone to your new one
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone.

01/09/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am new to smartphones in general but the ease of use and functions of this phone are great. I am fairly tech savvy as it is, so there may be some learning curve but I found it to be very easy to navigate and use. The interface is very customizable and in general, the phone is just fantastic. It's like having a small computer on the go. I would recommend getting a solid case for this thing immediately though, it's thin and seems like it would be frail if you are not careful.
I also switched from one of the big providers to Straight Talk. I'm loving it so far. No hidden charges, the quality of my service is excellent. I even switched my number with the help of the people at Straight Talk (my former provider was not being very helpful in this request, almost as if they were trying to deny me the phone number). I'm going on the second month now and I couldn't be happier. I also have a little more cash in my wallet when bills are due.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome phone

12/02/2013
By ,
Central IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this phone almost 2 yrs ago and it's been a excellent phone! Went from a flip phone with Verizon paying almost $100 per month, to Straight Talk and a Smart phone and only paying $45.00 per phone, which enabled me to get one for my daughter for what I was paying in a contract for one flip phone... Just ordered the Samsung Galaxy 3 and it will be arriving soon, but debating on keeping my Galaxy 2 and letting my daughter have the Galaxy 3 , have to see how it looks, feels and operates.... Guess I'm a little attached to my Galaxy 2!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+66points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Emmett, Idaho
TeresaB89 What app did you use for the Ringtones?
Posted 12/02/2013
I read in the questions you used an app to actually make ringtones.
on my current LG 505c straighttalk phone i can make and send ringtones to my LG phone from Phonezoo.
im stuck on wanting and for sure going to buy this phone now so i would really love to know. :)
if you could let me know id be forever grateful :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Samsung Galaxy SII

11/29/2013
By ,
Midway Park, NC.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had it for about a month now and I couldn't be happier! It's a great phone and I would recommend it to anyone. It even fell in water and after it dried for about an hour it was perfectly fine. It's a great smart phone and I wouldn't trade it for any other phone! Plus, through Straighttalk.com you can get a year warranty for it covering accidental drops, spills, etc. for only $19.99. Totally worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+133points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone and easy to use

12/01/2013
By ,
Ormond Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Samsung galaxy proclaim before this phone. The great thing about Samsung is that if you have ever had one you know the system from one phone to the next, if not it is so easy to pick up. I have had the phone for about a week and it has surpassed my expectation with the picture quality both on screen and in the camera. I love it!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Wonderful phone and Great camera

12/04/2013
By ,
Bluefield, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had Straight Talk for a couple of years and have had several different phone, but this one is the greatest. Takes beautiful pictures. Very easy to use and easily connects to bluetooth devices. Thanks, Straight Talk
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Blackberry user converted to Android

12/14/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reluctantly, I finally decided to let my Blackberry go and purchase the Samsung Galaxy S 2. Having changed from a major provider to Straighttalk to lower monthly charges, I used the "bring your own phone" plan and just bought a SIM card and unlimited service plan. However, that move limited my capabilities with data. So, Cyber Monday presented a sale for this device and I got it! GSM is a necessity where I live, so I had to go with this model. I like it alot. Miss my Blackberry old school keypad and some of the tools (vs apps). But overall, this phone has everything I need and more. Very simple to use. Battery life not so good. No complaints here. Photo quality is excellent. If you are like me and refuse to buy into the a p p l e world, Android will not let you down. I recommend this phone and I'm sure the newer versions are even better!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
texas
location
Posted 01/06/2014
Does this phone work with Verizon towers ?
0points
Customer Avatar
ga
Posted 12/28/2013
where can i find a galaxy 2 been looking for one
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Older Phone

12/04/2013
By ,
Crowley,La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have Had Mine For 2 Weeks. Battery stays charged for 36 hours. Use phone daily
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone, couldn't be happier...

11/30/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone many months ago and love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone. Great Price.

12/05/2013
By ,
Kingman, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The amount of goodies with this phone is remarkable. I am truly impressed. The battery life is exceptional. I am getting on average 9-10 hours and about 5 if fully wifi connected and using GPS with voice commands. Quick and functional.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome phone

12/06/2013
By ,
Springfield , IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't ask for a better phone. It works like a dream. It takes wonderful pics and has awesome sound quality. All the features are terrific. I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Non-stop problems

12/19/2013
By ,
New Mexico
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife and I both have this phone. Luckily, mine seems to work without a problem. On the other hand my wife's phone stopped connecting to the wireless cell network after 6 months. After hours of discussion with Straight-Talk, they replaced it (which meant that my wife was 2 weeks without a phone!). Four months later, the new phone totally died (would not even turn on). The even newer phone needs to be turned off a couple of times a day - otherwise the outgoing voice is garbled. Any dealing with Straight Talk is nightmarish - lengthy waits, incompetent support, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Wrong phone sent for my zip code

12/23/2013
By ,
Cherokee Village, Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Website said it would work in Zip 72529. The Walmart store for that county only sells prepaid phones for the Verizon network. This was a Straight Talk phone for AT&T. Code on box should have been "CDMA-V". Instead it was a "GSM" for AT&T. AT&T only offers service in about 1/2 of that county, Sharp County, Arkansas. There was no way to add a note to the order that a CDMA-V phone was needed. Knowledgeable people in my store had made me aware of what was needed. I had to order the phone since it was more expensive than any they normally stocked. Walmart probably had a Verizon phone they could have sent, if you had any way to communicate this to them. It appears this was a great value as the initial shipment quickly sold out online. I wound up paying $200 more for the Samsung SIII and it works great, but I believe I would have been just as satisfied with the SII. The problem is Walmart.com . The store refund was quick and painless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Great option from Straight Talk

12/15/2013
By ,
Southern Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone as a replacement for my old LG Optimus Logic. I'd been wanting to branch up in terms of smartphones for a while, but still didn't want to pay more with a bigger cell phone company, and I definitely didn't have $300 or more dollars for one of the newest models. So when the SII went down in price, I decided to take a leap and upgrade.
VERY glad that I did.
Pros:
1# EXCELLENT hardware and memory. One of the biggest issues I had with my Optimus Logic was the lack of memory, and the inability to run larger apps or more complex apps. I've got about 12 GBs of space for apps on the SII, at least 2 available for the RAM, and the processor runs several of them at one time without issue. Seriously smooth, and I have no complaints.
2) The design is slim, but still feels sturdy. I bought a case for it, but without it, the back feels more "grippy" than some phones I've had, and I appreciated that. Though I'm not a huge fan of the fact that there's no dedicated "home" key #some of the other versions of the SII on different carriers have a dedicated home button#, that's more of a personal preference than hindrance, and I don't count it against the phone in terms of usability.
3) The screen is large, with great contrast. The pictures, videos, and pixels are sharp and colorful, and render very well. It's very easy to type on, and is very functional without being overbearingly large.
4) Love the 8MP camera on the back. I tend to forget my own camera quite often, and the camera on this version does a great job with pretty good picture results. There is also the option to edit photos that comes on the phone, which makes for a good media experience. I also appreciate the 2MP camera, which I have found handy when Skyping. It's great to have the option available, though I don't use it all that often.
Cons:
1) This version of the Galaxy SII comes with Android 2.3, which isn't the newest version. It also doesn't come with the ability to upgrade to a newer version because Straight Talk locks that ability unless you try and root it. Not a huge deal for me, because generally speaking, I like the usability of the older version and don't have issues with not being able to upgrade, but I do wish that the option were there.
2) Another preference that I would rather have would be that the power button weren't on the side. I tend to end up bumping it or pushing it accidentally, and I'd just prefer it to be on the top. Totally personal preference, but usability for me is a bit more awkward when the button is on the side.
Overall, I'd definitely recommend this is you're looking for a higher-quality smartphone on the Straight Talk line that's not going to totally bankrupt you. It's a bit of an investment, since it's still $199, but considering that you'd pay that much and more if you went into a two-year contract in a larger wireless company for a "free" phone, long-term, it definitely makes sense.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Good

12/28/2013
By ,
66801 Emporia,Ks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The item is not as show on your web site. It says it is a verzion phone, but is an AT&t phone. The phone is a good phone, but I need Verzion service in my location.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

I am pleased so far!

12/11/2013
By ,
Keystone Heights, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited a long time to get this phone! I have not been disappointed so far. I have only had the phone for a few days but it is working like a charm. This phone works off of AT&T which is the only service I get where I live. I have not had one dropped call, The audio is clear, and the internet connection is awesome!! I am so glad I was finally able to get it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

12/19/2013
By ,
NW Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to get most of the features activated before it worked/sounded right. Highly recommend setting it on battery saver, I don't need to charge it but every other day if not playing any games or videos. Also worth getting a gel cover to make it easier to manage in the hand. Great call ability for NW Arkansas. Lots of good apps, plenty of space on the internal memory. This one has 12, not the 16 like the International version. Haven't done much with the camera, but should be good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

a smartphone value

12/04/2013
By ,
Tampa fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased 2 recently 4 all together 2 worked excellent before they were damaged no fault of Samsung the 3rd still works fine and the 4th one,I am returning buffering problems upgraded to Samsung s4 This is(Samsung galaxy ll) probably the best phone for the money and then sum. It is not 4g and it is no 3g but the wireless is some ware in-between. In FL. it works well. It's truly all the phone you need also the wireless internet 90% of the time works like 4g
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone

12/04/2013
By ,
tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone and ditched sprint "service" after 11 years. this phone works excellent, nice bright display, more importantly it has perfectly clear call quality from my home in the country which sprint NEVER had. its a great phone. bought a cell-nerds otterbox knock-off from amazon that fits great. happy with the whole set-up now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S2 Prepaid Cell Phone

Which service towers???

12/20/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is for AT&T. I figured that the "frequently purchased with" items being almost all Verizon prepaid cards, that it was the Verizon one. Walmart needs to be more clear about this on the website as there's no way to tell which phone goes with which service.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Valley of the Sun
SERVICE TOWERS ON PHONE PACKAGE
Posted 12/23/2013
ON THE FRONT OF ALL THE STRAIGHTTALK PACKAGES IS A CODE. THE VERIZON PHONES HAVE A "CDMA-V" ON THE FRONT.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 155 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next