Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Straight Talk Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

The Straight Talk WiFi HotSpot allows you to enjoy wireless Internet while on the go. This innovative device requires no contract and can connect more than one device at a time to WiFi. Take it along to the local library or coffee shop for instant access to the Internet. With the Straight Talk mobile hotspot, there is no software to install. As many as five devices can be connected at the same time. It features a user-friendly interface and may be used with a laptop or tablet. There are no monthly fees or charges with the Straight Talk HotSpot (3G) and flexible data cards are available for purchase.
Average Customer Rating:
3.272 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation62%78 out of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
216 Questions | 424 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

BEWARE - Piece of TRASH

04/10/2014
By ,
Jonesboro, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this device because I needed mobile internet access for my job. It worked fine for 2 or 3 weeks and then stopped working. I called StraightTalk customer service and went through the process of troubleshooting the problem. The rep determined that it was the device and I was sent a new one that worked, again, for 2 or 3 weeks. This was a TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY...for the device and for the data packages because I've not been able to use all of the data due connectivity issues with the device. The devices stop working before I can use all of the data and by the time I get a new device, the data package has expired.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

I am writing an updated review

07/07/2014
By ,
High Point, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We have had this hotspot for a few months now. At this juncture I think I can speak with some authority about this item. The upside is that it's very portable but.. The battery wont last very long so, don't expect to do very much when running on battery. This hotspot is through Verizon which might lead you to believe that the data transfer rate is fast. Most of the time it's not. Sometimes it makes dial-up seem fast. Other times, like late in the evening when the cell towers slow down the speeds pick up. At peak hours, like the evening traffic rush hour it's not much fun to use this hotspot. You can pretty much forget streaming video except early in the morning or late in the evening, etc.. I said that I would recommend this. That is with the understanding that it can be very slow.
The hotspot it's self is unimpressive. The security feature worked for about a month. Now it will not function at all with the security turned on. Straightalk says ship it to us and we will send you a new one. Which means, we are without internet for however long that process takes.
So, if you get this just know that it will get you on the internet from anywhere that you can access Verizon wireless. But, it's not fantastic. Before this I had a Sprint wireless USB card and it was way better. It was as fast as DSL pretty much all the time. This thing is rarely if ever as fast as DSL. On a good day the speed is somewhere between dial up and DSL.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

hotspot on the spot

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this and set it up on the 15th of July 2014.
This hotspot setup up was just as simple as setting up a straighttalk phone. But don't be thinking that it'll replace your dsl service. This is a lot slower and you have to be careful on the data you buy. I used 2 gigs in 24 hours. I complained and they gave me another 2 gigs for free. But that only lasted a few more days. So then I bought a 5 gig and have been real careful about watching videos and playing games. I checked my balance this morning and I had used almost a gig of data. So, in summery, go to someplace that has free wifi if you plan on hitting it heavy. Best speed I got out of it was 1.9 mbps download and .67 mbps upload.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

HUGE DISSAPOINTMENT

01/16/2014
By ,
TACOMA, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PURCHASED $40.00 DATA CARD THAT LASTS 2 MONTHS. SERVICE ONLY LASTED ONE WEEK AND I DID NOT WATCH ANY VIDEOS OR HIGH STREAMING PROGRAMS. INTERNET SERVICE WOULD COST ME $160.00 A MONTH AT THIS RATE. UNLESS YOU HAVE MONEY TO BURN, I WOULD ADVISE YOU TO NOT BUY THIS MOBILE HOTSPOT. THE 3G SPEED WAS SLOW ALSO. WHEN I WENT ON STRAIGHT TALK WEBSITE TO CHECK MY BALANCE IT WOULD SAY PROCESSING TRANSACTION AND THEN SEND ME BACK TO PREVIOUS SCREEN WHERE YOU ENTER PHONE NUMBER TO THEN CHECK BALANCE. REPEATEDLY DID THIS SAME THING AND THEN I GET A MESSAGE ON SCREEN SAYING DUE TO HIGH VOLUMN OF USAGE DURING THE HOLIDAYS, THIS WEBSITE IS TEMPORARILY UNAVAILABLE. TRY BACK AGAIN LATER. EXCUSE ME THIS IS JAN 16TH, THE HOLIDAYS ARE OVER!! WOW - I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO DISSAPOINTED.....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

not sure their data usage calculation is legit

12/10/2013
By ,
midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
when I purchased this only a couple weeks ago there was only a glowing happy review of this product so I jumped in. Well I wish I hadn't.
first off, the unit won't stay charged. only has a small time frame to use it without having to plug it back in again.
But the biggest issue is the over use of data! I have another hot spot box that is directly from Verizon but it is getting old and I didn't want to renew my plan so I thought I'd try this thing. I've never had a pay as you go phone or wifi before. Well Straight Talk must calculate it's data usage way different than Verizon does. In just one single week I used up my data plan with this thing and I don't use that much data with my verizon box in an entire month. It wouldn't work so I had to call ST and of course got switched between multiple people that I couldn't understand until I finally had someone I could understand. She right away told me I probably used all my data and kept telling me youtube and netflix use a lot of data. I repeatedly said I never watch video on my computer, never ever! I don't download stuff. I am the most boring internet user ever. So she then blamed it on someone stealing my data without me knowing it. But that wasn't possible either. I live in the country and have no neighbors and I changed the security settings right when I set it up so that nobody could steal my data.
I know my monthly usage with Verizon and there is NO WAY I used that much data in a single week!
I truly believe there is something fishy about their data usage calculations!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+147points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Straight Talk Wifi Mobile Hotspot 3G

12/08/2013
By ,
Boynton Beach, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This device was purchased for me as a birthday present on 11/30/13. As previously stated, this device is compact and easy to use. I had good reception as long as I was next to a window. The setup process via the Unimax web server (192.168.1.1) was relatively easy as well.
I encountered multiple connection problems accessing the WIFI and security settings of the device through my browser (Firefox 25.0.1). After selecting a feature to modify, my browser would become stuck and continually display the message “connecting please wait.” Through trail and error, I eventually resolved this issue on my own. It had nothing to do with restarting the computer in safe mode, adjusting computer settings, having a virus, using antivirus programs, and firewall settings.
Okay, let's check the amount of data used thus far. Another challenge in and of itself. What! I have used 6.97GB of 7GB of my data allowance. I did not check my email, do any light web surfing, nor stream web videos. According to Walmart, my data plan is good for 60 days!
Low and behold, each time you access the Unimax web server it deducts from your data allowance. And, everything is rounded up to the next MB. It does not matter if you successfully connect to the desired web page.
The Unimax web server is the only way you can access, modify or view the settings of the U240C. Whose brilliant idea was this? What is the ROI to the consumer?
By the way, I spent an hour on the telephone with Straighttalk customer service department. However, their solution was to “escalate” my issue to the next level. I declined the invitation and promptly returned the device to Walmart for a refund.
I suggest that anyone seriously considering buying this device, weight the pros and cons carefully before purchasing it. There are numerous alternatives available on the market that are more efficient, cost-effective, and reliable.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Perfect for vacation home internet

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been tethering off of my cell phone for wifi at the lake house. It was slow, and very expensive. I would eat through my cell plans data allotment in no time. I saw this on the internet and most of the reviews were positive and 1GB for $15 was a real bargain. To top it off it was using the only carrier I can get at the lake..verizon. I just got back from the lake and this hotspot worked GREAT. Speeds were greatly improved over tethering. My wife and I could use the internet as much as we needed and I still have plenty of data left. Another benefit is that when I was tethering with my cell my tablet would not connect to the cell phone hot spot. No problem with the tablet and this hotspot. I hope this device is reliable and works forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Connection, Speed, and Price!

04/30/2014
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After years with a contract internet-service provider and then a prepaid provider, I had to change when I upgraded to Windows 8 (my previous provider, which required using a USB stick, wasn't upgrading their software to handle Windows 8). It was with some fear that I tried a WiFi Mobile Hotspot (I had heard that the speed wasn't as good.)
The Straight Talk WiFi Mobile Hotspot turned out to be a wise choice!
Following are the "pros"-
1) Easy to activate (be sure to read the red activation card AND user manual BEFORE you begin - the manual is tiny, so you may need a magnifying glass!)
2) Excellent Signal Strength. I almost ALWAYS have five bars (with my previous two providers, I RARELY got four - usually they would vary between just two and three).
3) Speed (VERY pleasantly surprised - my fears were unfounded, as the Mobile Hotspot is usually FAR FASTER than my previous two were).
4) Price (far, far cheaper. I get 2GB from Straight Talk for the same price I paid for only 300MB from my previous prepaid provider).
The only "cons" -
1) Unlike my previous providers, Straight Talk doesn't have a meter or dial that you can click on while connected that shows your remaining balance. Instead, you have to go to their website to obtain this information.
2) I have some doubt as to the accuracy of the "balance" shown on that website. Sometimes, after streaming a short video clip or two (which should have used up a fairly large amount), I'll check it and the balance was barely reduced; other times, after visiting a site that is mainly text (and should have hardly used any), I'll check and its been reduced by quite a bit.
3) There's no consistency as to when the balance is updated (my previous prepaid provider updated the balance every 15 minutes). I would recommend getting a service plan one size LARGER than the one you "estimate" you'll need, just to be on the safe side.
Still, an overall winner and BY FAR THE BEST of the three I've had over the years!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Highly Disappointed

12/17/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne,. IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I travel a lot due to my job and I purchased this device because of the descent reviews. I went to set it up and encountered a nightmare. I could not get passed the URL website they tell you to go to in order to set this up. Kept saying 'Password is Incorrect'. So, I tried calling Straight Talk (many times)... good luck getting an actual person! After many different tries to reach someone (other than the voice prompt) via phone, I finally 'chatted' online only for the rep to tell me to call the 1-877 number for assistance and then he/she quickly disconnected because they could not figure out the problem. The next person I 'chatted' with I was rude and persistent (had to be) on talking to an actual person and they gave me another number with a reference pin I had to use in order to get through. Did that.. WA-LA! An actual human being in about an hour!! On track now, right? Wrong! After another hour tech support said they didn't know what the problem was because I was doing everything right and "it should connect". Then they said to send in the device. Ok, I am done. I just bought this yesterday and if I am having this much problems from the get go, I have little to no faith it in it and I have no desire to even entertain the thought of keeping this thing. Will promptly be returning this tomorrow. FYI: If you do purchase this and it works for you, then great! However, if it doesn't, you have 14 days from the time of purchase to return it to Wal-Mart. You cannot, however, get a refund on any Data cards you may have purchased ($15 for 1GB, $25 for 2GB, etc) so I would highly suggest buying the cheap data plan just to make sure it will work for you. This way you are out $15 instead of the more high dollar data plans.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

I love this!

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this a couple of days ago and I absolutely love it. it works great I don't have to be beside it for it to work. I love how you can put a password so no one else can steal your wifi. and to set up was as easy as setting up a straight talk phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great for your first hotspot

06/26/2014
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I needed for someone who is not a WiFi hog like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Beware!

06/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You will have to call customer service every time you need to refill, maybe 2 or 3 times in the same day.
The web site to refill this hotspot does not WORK! 192.168.1.1
Customer Service is the straight talk phone number, and you will have to be transferred after several phone options are pressed to refill and go through the same steps again.
You can not check your balance on data left on the hotspot. The web site does not work for that either. 192.168.1.1
If you do not program a password/number in this everyone can burn up your data. By default, it does not have a password/number programmed in it.
I also believe that date gets used up, when it is not even being used. Just laying around on the shelf, you will see that your megabytes will run out. Strange I know.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great product

05/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to be able to be on my tablet. It works so great. The speed is fast. I can keep track online of how much data I am using. I is easy to set up and start using. The price of the Dara is the cheapest out there. Coverage is awesome it work just about anywhere. It does have a short battery life. I keep it plugged in in the car. But when I'm out it only last about 3 hours. If your ot using it after a while it shuts itself off and you will need to reconnect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Hotspot is cold

07/20/2014
By ,
Andover, Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There's very little instructions on how to operate. You need to constantly reset and reactivate it because it doesn't get a great signal strength. The lights don't stay lit so you can't tell how it's operating and how your signal is. Worse then dial-up. Returned to store before my thirty days were up for returns. Will not recommend this product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Piece of junk

02/04/2014
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this on 01/25/14. As others have noted, the 192.168.1.1 was impossible to access. Ended up calling customer service. Technician spent 35 minutes just to get this device to activate. On 02/03/14, Lithium-ion battery burned out. Returned to WalMart for refund, although I was out of $15 for 1GB card I purchased for additional airtime.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Very Impressed!

03/10/2014
By ,
Westminster, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live in DEEP valley, on the river and this little bitty thing pulls in a great signal.
Thank you Straight Talk for making this product so affordable. Our family is so excited to finally have internet excess.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Received very little service.

07/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I do not recommend this product. The unit gets hot and doesn't keep a charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great for on the go use.

12/21/2013
By ,
Dawsonville, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great but expensive to keep time on. Will be using only when I'm not at home, and keep extra card for back-up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Total waste of good money

06/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am sure the device is fine but Straight Talk refuses to address technical issues with activation so I am stuck paying for an inoperable device now. I still have no internet on my computer. My computer sees and connects with the device but it will not activate and attempts to solve the issue with Tech support have been a flat out denial of service. I explained to the tech that people in our area have had Straight Talk service for years but the tech took my zip code and flat out said "we do not service that area" and refused to do anything to make it work. Straight Talk is bad news. With customer service like this, they get a total zero for not even trying.
Go with another company.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Works well once it is set up

07/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Device took a little work to get set up. Found a website that provides step-by-step instructions on how to get it set up, including on what to watch for when connecting to the required server. Once connected, works very well and is very reliable.....so far. Purchased it less than a month ago so time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 125 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next