Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Straight Talk Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

The Straight Talk WiFi HotSpot allows you to enjoy wireless Internet while on the go. This innovative device requires no contract and can connect more than one device at a time to WiFi. Take it along to the local library or coffee shop for instant access to the Internet. With the Straight Talk mobile hotspot, there is no software to install. As many as five devices can be connected at the same time. It features a user-friendly interface and may be used with a laptop or tablet. There are no monthly fees or charges with the Straight Talk HotSpot (3G) and flexible data cards are available for purchase.
Average Customer Rating:
3.101 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(218 Reviews) 218
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
41
3 stars
18
2 stars
23
1 star
67
Customer Recommendation57%125 out of 218reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
343 Questions | 694 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
41
3 stars
18
2 stars
23
1 star
67
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Worthless

03/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the hotspot and was excited about getting it. It worked great at first. Now when I call to add data to my hotspot my phone number is not a recognized straight talk phone number even though it was the number they gave me when I set it up. My sister has had the same problems with her hotspot. She was also told that her hotspot had been sent back to the factory according to her serial number. Then the lady she talked to on the phone said she needed to send proof of her purchase along with other documents. When she tried to send it via email to the address the lady gave her it would not go through. The lady gave her the wrong email address. So all in all we are glad we bought extended warranties on our hotspots cause we are returning them. I also thought about going with a straight talk cell phone plan but decided against that after having so much trouble with our hotspots.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Beware huge security risk

04/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One big reason I got this hotspot is so I can carry my own private wifi network with me when traveling, not rely on unsecure public or hotel networks. But I discovered by accident that the device defaults to NO SECURITY AT ALL. In other words the guy sitting next to you in the airport may be connected to your hotspot and sucking up the data you paid for, never mind maybe hacking into your computer, and you will never know.
You can set up security via the Wifi tab on the setup home page, but you are not prompted to do that and the available codes are complicated and over the head of the average user. Straight Talk should change the default settings so that connecting requires entering a password, like the serial number of the device, that confirms you have physical possession of it. Until they do, your security is up to you. Good advice available online via Google, the owners manual is useless for this.
Other than the security risk, the device is easy to set up, battery life is good, and it works well as long as there is Verizon available. A good choice if you only need your own wifi occasionally, because you can let it go dormant when you are not traveling and then re-activate it any time you need it (1 GB/30 days minimum).
Recommends this product? Yes
+184points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Clarksville, TN
Does have a Secure security
Posted 06/02/2014
I got my I went in setup. it does have security all you need to change from Open to WPA or WPA 2 or WEP inside.
I have No problem. I set in WPA 2.
as long don't set a OPEN to Public. change to any WEP or WPA in setting.
Hope this Help.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Terrible Service and Support

12/30/2014
By ,
College Station, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this HotSpot to use while out of town working. I have been unable to use the product just as much as I've been able to use it. I have had to call support once a month for three months straight to get them to fix an issue on their end. I might add that tech support is EXTREMELY poor. The reps are based overseas and simply go down a checklist to resolve your issue. When they get to the end of the checklist and the issue isn't resolved, they start back at the top and have you repeat all the steps you previously completed. Each time the unit wouldn't connect and I called support they told me that it was an issue on their end and that they had to "refresh the unit". I was told that there is nothing they can do to prevent this from happening again and that I would have to keep calling when the issue arises.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

NEVER A DEAD SPOT...REALLY

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is a MUST... I am surprised how well it works. Wife needed to stay in touch on the net using her Fire Kindle while out away from home.
To Her surprise AND Mine, it works for a long time on the first 15$ card still in use. She has been away with it for over a week, using it every day and has plenty of usage left.
Even her sister can tap into the little unit to go on line (both on line and it reacts FAST). ONLY One charge of the little units battery has been needed so far.
Very VERY Satisfied...
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Solid hotspot on the cheap

11/05/2014
By ,
Madison, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've heard bad things about the straight talk hotspot that it is difficult to setup, slow, and just all around very bad. In all honesty, it's actually really good...for what you pay. To put it blunt, setup was absolutely terrible. In the quick start guide it said to connect to it and open your browser and go to 192.168.0.1, but when I tried it, nothing loaded. Then I looked in the thicker quick manual and that one said to visit 192.168.1.1 which did work. Then my browser asked for a username AND password, the guides only told you what the password was. After a few tries with no username, I tried "admin" (no quotes) as the username, that worked. I later downloaded the manual off straight talks website and that had everything correct (web address and a listed username). Once logged in, activation was very easy and so was changing the network name and creating a password. You will need to create a password as by default it's an open network meaning someone near you could connect and start using up your data. Once setup, speeds were really fast in my area, peaked at 2mbit/sec which is very fast for 3G and was a pretty consistent 1.2-5 mbit/sec download. After a few days I did noticed the download was really slow (around 0.2-4 mbit/sec), but a simple PRL update from the admin interface solved it. So overall, for the cost for data per month, this is a solid buy for a hotspot on the cheap. The only thing that I would like to see different is a password on the network from the factory and your remaining data balance in the admin interface as well as quick start guides that are all on the same page.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Good unit for internet access in 3g areas.

12/11/2013
By ,
Chatham, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got the hotspot to access the 3g coverage. I have been using an old MiFi 2200 that is extremely slow and wanted to see how this would work in our area. It was a little bit of a gamble, but knowing that it worked on the Verizon signal and that Verizon is the best network in our area prompted me to try it out. I normally use about 2 GB of data a month with my old system, with this I used up a GB in 5 days. I can watch movies on NetFlix now if I want to, but the data usage would be through the roof. Also upgrading my speed caused YouTube to upgrade my video streaming and that burned through some serious data. Straight Talk also has some issues to deal with... having reserve or auto pay for this device would be senseless unless you know you won't use up your data in the allotted time. If you use up your data before the end of the date cycle of the card you will have to call Straight Talk to manage your reserve cause you can't do it online without internet access. I suppose if I got a smart phone I could recharge it there, but Straight Talk needs to revamp the system to keep the unit going as long as I have data in reserve! Otherwise, WHAT'S THE POINT!? It is kind of like having a spare tire, but leaving it at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
Verizon signal?
Posted 12/16/2013
"...knowing that it worked on the Verizon signal and that Verizon is the best network in our area.."
What exactly shows which network it operates on? I was able to figure this out for their no-contract phones, but where does it give this information for the HotSpot device?
Thanks for a great review!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Best price for a hotspot using Verizon's network.

12/12/2013
By ,
Aiken, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Verizon jetpack 4G hotspot, and while it worked well, I had to pay $60 a month for 3 gb of data. Because this one is limited to 3G speeds, the monthly cost is dramatically lower. 3G is more than adequate for email, some Internet browsing, social networks, and even the occasional YouTube video. However, if you think this is the way to get cheap access to Netflix and other data-intense streaming services, you'll be disappointed. The speed won't be enough, and you'll burn through your allotted data in no time. For frequent travelers like myself, the ability to have affordable, basic Internet and email on the road makes it highly attractive. If your data consumption is low, this is the way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+225points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Do Not Buy On the Internet

08/16/2014
By ,
Alameda, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WARNING: This product's bar code needs to be scanned before it can be activated. I purchased it on the Internet and the bar code was not scanned. The customer service at Straight Talk is terrible. No one can straighten out the problem. It took them two days to tell me to FAX them a scan of the bar code. Since I did, they said it would be another 72 hours before they can activate my device.
My best guess is that I will have to take the device into a store so they can scan the bar code. My advice is to buy it at a store in the first place.
My poor rating is based entirely on the activation of the device. Once I get it activated, I will write a review on its performance. I am still hopeful it is good device based on the technical information.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Device

11/29/2013
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this 2 days ago after losing a long fight with T-mobile over their mobile hotspot that stopped working and started burning up gigabytes like crazy.
Already I'm impressed with this device. Reception has been great; way better than T-mobile's 4g.
I also think that the rate plans are reasonable as long as you're not doing a lot of video streaming.
I will be travelling for the next 5 months and look forward to having internet access wherever I go.
I understand this is on the Verizon network so reception should be good everywhere. One caution: Read ALL of the instructions before you use it. It's an easy activation via phone. Just have all of your information ready and accessible. Once you've activated it you can set it up on line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+135points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Omaha
Straight talk is better in one aspect.............
Posted 11/30/2013
Just be careful with your usage. If you do the same type of internet surfing you did before you will have the same results except that AT$T for example will keep letting you use gigabyte after gigabyte and if you had used 8 gigs for example, you owe them 80.00 for that month where straight talk will just cut you off after your 4gb if that is the card you purchased before.
+2points
Customer Avatar
gettysbur pa
prices
Posted 11/30/2013
does anyone no how much a month this cost. I currently have Verizon and its 80 a month for 8gb. with kids on computer it eats the gb very fast.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 30 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

You must put personal info on Facebook to activate

11/22/2014
By ,
Keyport, Wa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nothing on the box says you must set up a Facebook account to activate the device. I don't want my name, address, phone number and email address in a public place. They don't need my personal info to do this. It can all be managed with a password & pin. Activating by phone was useless. They get a little info then send you back to the website to finish; where you have to give up your info. There is no number marked "Customer Service". One number offers it on the LAST choice on the automated phone system. Never got to talk to a human. This is some of the worst "Customer Service" I've ever seen. I bought it today; it's going back tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Not true
Posted 12/08/2014
I don't have a facebook account and I have this device setup and running. I had to call customer service do to a minor glitch during setup and talked to real people, all was taken care of satisfactorily.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 31 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Ugh - intermittent on and off, disconnects, etc...

04/07/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought the hotspot and discovered quickly that it disconnected us at random times. Didn't use it for a few days and was dismayed to find out that I (ultimately) had to call customer service to get it connected again. After an hour on the phone, I went back to the intermittent internet connection.
The 3 G service was fair to non-existent, and slow when it worked ... I really wanted this device to work, it did, but it was one thing after another. Having kept it beyond the return date, I was out the money.
It was replaced by a Verizon account and hotspot - which btw works great... I like Straight talk, have my phones with them and have been a customer for years. This product wasn't able to do the job, or worth it. If you choose to buy it, best wishes!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Internet Connection on the Go,very nice product.

11/22/2013
By ,
cedar rapids iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Cedar Rapids,Ia. and I saw this hotspot last week, I'd never heard of St. Talk having a hotspot, so I snapped it up Quick. It is on VERIZON towers, which is the best in my area. The writing in the instruction book is tiny, so get out the mag. glasses. I was really excited to open it up and use it, TAKE your TIME and READ the Instructions. You have to activate it BEFORE you open up the browser 192.168.1.1 like it says to do. Once activated, turn device on (charge it first)and open that address in top address bar of your browser. The username and password are in that instruction book(don't throw away) Once you do that you will be in the program settings for it. I changed the user name and password so I would be able to remember it. It looks like a little rubber hockey puck. Now I don't have to pay Mediacom for internet. I bought the $50 card which is good for 2 months and has 5GB of data. If you are a (lite) internet user, and you only check e-mail and news etc. you could probably get by with the $15 card that is good for 30 days with a 1GB data. They also offer a 30 day card with 2GB for $25, and a 60 day card with 4GB for $40 or a $75 card for 60 days with 7GB. Does NOT have a sim card, it is CDMA VERIZON. Here is a link to the pdf. manual, it can be downloaded, much easier than trying to read the tiny writing in the instruction book.
http://www.straighttalk.com/wps/wcm/connect/d9ff38af-b3cb-4777-a962-b256b381bbc3/U240C_UM_eng.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CACHEID=d9ff38af-b3cb-4777-a962-b256b381bbc3
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+897points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Omaha
Beware of products like this, an unexagerrated ex:
Posted 11/27/2013
It looks good huh, wireless internet for ALL of your devices. Wow! 4 GB for $40.00 for the internet and I can connect 5 devices at once! Sounds too good to be true! Or is it? Now lets see, if you like to watch youtube videos which is STREAMING, that 4GB should last forever right? But wait, it's only been 20 minutes and my family of 5 are loving the speed and everything and then................ STOP! What happened to the internet you guys? It's not working. I better call ST tech support, I know they can help me. What? I used up my $40.00 card? No! That can't be. All 5 of us were only on for 20 minutes and Bam! The internet just stopped. It shows I am connected but nothing is coming through. Ugh! What do you mean streaming video on youtube uses more GB of DATA much more than downloading internet files, ,mp3's, pics etc.... O well, I can just by another $40.00 card, that's all but wow it sure adds up quick. This is a realistic example of what you get with these wireless devices, Verizon, AT&T, ETC, all have similar stuff. I know someone who was TIED down to those low 4gb plans and talk about feeling restrained. He spent upwards of $90 one month and I told him he should get rid of that unit. But if you just want to use it for that very quick check of email and news, (just don't watch the news video because it's streaming too) then it may be ok. Now remember folks, most places have FREE wireless internet no matter where you go to check your email, news and watch streaming video including youtube and spend 2 hours there and have it free. So if you purchase one of these devices and waste your hard earned money on one of those plans on top of it, you will see just how far you go with it. You might as well flush the money you just spent down the toilet. Let's face it, how many of you actually use 4 gb in a matter of hours by yourself lf you like to listen to or watch youtube. Unless your a hermit who only reads text and does not have your pics, flash or video activated in your internet browser, this is the thing for you. I hope after you read the very small print, that you see what you really get and thanks to this review, I just saved you $120.00 for the unit and the monthly plan. So be careful when you see something like this that looks too good to be true because it may just drain your wallet.
+2points
Customer Avatar
boise
can you plug it directly into your laptop?
Posted 11/25/2013
Are you able to plug this directly into your laptop as well or is it wireless only?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Thank You
Posted 11/25/2013
Thank you for being so thorough in explain this device! I personally appreciate it a lot :) Now I looking forward to getting this gizmo :)
0points
Customer Avatar
virginia beach, va
Monthly cost to use
Posted 11/23/2013
If I was to purchase this to use on my ipad how much would the monthly fee be? I already use the phone with straight talk and have been for years but would really like to have this for my other devices
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 33 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Product (step-by-step setup instructions)

03/15/2014
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up tip! Like many other reviewers, I couldn't access 192.168.1.1. These instructions are provided so that even the most inexperienced computer user can follow along and easily set up their new hotspot.
1. Locate the red card that says START HERE! Follow the 4 steps on the card in order to activate your hotspot. Keep this handy as you will need the serial number shortly.
2. Turn on your hotspot by holding down the power button until all 5 indicator lights come on (5-10 seconds or so).
3. On your computer:
A. Click the start icon (it looks like the windows logo inside a bubble)
B. Roll your mouse over CONTROL PANEL and left click
C. Click on NETWORK AND INTERNET
D. Click on CONNECT TO A NETWORK (under network and sharing center)
E. Locate your device and click on it (starts with UMX$)
F. Click on CONNECT
G. Open your internet browser (internet explorer, google chrome, firefox, etc.)
H. In the top line where you put in web addresses, type in 192.168.1.1 and press enter.
4. Go back to your red card and open it up. You are now ready to begin Step #3 under the letter A. Now just follow the rest of the instructions on the card and you'll be surfing the web in no time.
You can do an internet search for data use estimator and find about how much data you might need to purchase (I was unable to paste a link into this review.) My suggestion is to buy less, not more, data than you think you will need. When you refill your hotspot, make sure there is no remaining data on your account or you will lose it... the refill doesn't ADD to your data, it starts it over. For example, if I still had 1.5GB of data and I refilled the device with 4GB of data, I wouldn't have 5.5GB, I would have 4GB.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+338points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Works like a charm!

03/05/2014
By ,
Denver, Co.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my camper. Brought it back and followed the directions for install. It would have been a smooth install IF... I could understand the operator. Witch was a little frustrating but after hanging up with the operator i opened the book and followed everything i might have missed. Fired right up. Now remember wherever your going to use this you have to have a cell phone signal for a Verizon tower. The stronger the signal the less lag you will get.
I loaded the 1 GB card that comes with the device. I also purchased a 5 GB card for $50 but want to see how fast 1 GB gets used.
All in all I set it up with minimal effort. ( if you can follow instructions its quite simple. As a mater of fact i am sitting in the middle of the woods in the Rockies typing this in my camper.. way cool i might add lol
I play games without lag.. i have 4 out of 5 bars here on my phone and its with the same company. How fast the usage goes has yet to be discovered. I've been on most of the day tho watching YouTube videos. So far video has no lag. I'm impressed. I have cable internet at home and I can see its a little slower but not much it sure isn't as slow as old dial up. Anyways... hope this helped you and for those who want to know I bought this device because its my cell phone provider also. The price was good and i can reload anytime with my cc online wherever I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+205points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SEattle
DON'T BUY
Posted 07/20/2014
The first one I bought didn't work at all. The replacement worked for 2 weeks and never worked again. AVOID!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

No help with product service

09/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought the hotspot and a data card for a recent long trip in our RV. After talking to a tech for over an hour it was up and running. The hot spot worked from good to excellent depending on the strength of service. Luckily we have a Verizon phone and since the hot spot uses Verizon towers I could tell by checking the phone how good my wifi was likely to be. All was well for about a month. I had good wifi one evening at a campsite but the next morning...hadn't moved, same spot...we had no service. As in zippo service. As we were moving on to another area that day I waited until that evening to try again. Once more, no wifi but the hot spot showed excellent signal. I used the campground wifi service to go online and had an online chat with customer service. After an hour out of my life that I will never get back I was finally told that I needed to call the service number and talk to a person live which I did. Another hour on the phone went by until I was finally told (I am not making this up) that, "The mobile hot spot is not to be used except in the zip code in which it was registered and they would be glad to change the zip code to the area I was in but I would have to remain there in order for it to work." After asking him to repeat himself twice to make sure I understood him correctly, I said I would return the hotspot to the next Walmart we came to, thanked him and hung up. Then I remembered the old truism...if your computer is hung up, turn it off and reboot. I got a paper clip and punched it into the tiny hole on the unit, it rebooted and continued to work very well on the rest of the trip. My point is that this product could be rated a five all the way at least if you are using it as we did as we traveled in an RV for email, some web surfing and so on. Much cheaper than a contract if you just need the service for short and periodic times. Don't think it would be all that great as your only wifi service. The biggest problem is with the tech service...not once did anyone suggest a reboot and I would think that would have been the first suggestion. I finally found the paper clip suggestion in tiny print on the documentation and would suggest to anyone having this problem to reboot and save yourself the aggravation of contacting support.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Waste of Money. Just Awful. Don't even bother

11/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the wi fi hotspot in store with a $50 card. $157 later I was on my way home. Set up was pretty simple. Once set up was complete, I connected it to my phone. Immediately I noticed how slow it was. So I tried to set it up to my smart TV, once it got connected to the internet, it kept kicking me off. Forget about using it to use any apps, especially YouTub, or even to update your Apple products it simply does not work. It shows all bars for service, I Still have 4,913.12 MB on it but it just never connects. I called the customer care and all they could do was to help me re-set it up and it still didn't work. I feel like a fool. Don't bother buying this, save your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

GARBAGE

04/08/2014
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this for my father's birthday. The hotspot lasted for about 1 month and would no longer connect to a cell service. After speaking with a service rep, a ticket was made for replacement. This ticket was lost by Straight Talk and I had to make another ticket to return. Finally, the hotspot was replaced about 2 weeks later. Great, Dad was back in business! Not for long, this one lasted another month and stopped connecting to a cell service again. Tired of playing this game, I tried to return it to Walmart with no luck, purchase was more than 90 days. Tried to return to Straight Talk with no luck, purchase was more than 30 days. No one wanted to hear that it was more than 90 days, but only worked for 60 days. STAY AWAY, I THREW MINE IN THE GARBAGE !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

hotspot on the spot

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this and set it up on the 15th of July 2014.
This hotspot setup up was just as simple as setting up a straighttalk phone. But don't be thinking that it'll replace your dsl service. This is a lot slower and you have to be careful on the data you buy. I used 2 gigs in 24 hours. I complained and they gave me another 2 gigs for free. But that only lasted a few more days. So then I bought a 5 gig and have been real careful about watching videos and playing games. I checked my balance this morning and I had used almost a gig of data. So, in summery, go to someplace that has free wifi if you plan on hitting it heavy. Best speed I got out of it was 1.9 mbps download and .67 mbps upload.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Easy to use

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This would have been simple to set up, but the directions contained a misprint in the address. However, I very nice phone tech quickly got me going. Excellent service.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Basic Mobile Hotspot

08/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a basic mobile hot spot to use in an industrial business location. It takes approximately 10 minutes to setup. The default setting is an open network but it's pretty easy to set a password if need be. We will not be using a lot of data, mostly web surfing, so we are not going through more than 100Mb a day or so. If you need serious data this may not be ideal. The signal is very strong within about 15 feet of the device but nearly absent anywhere past this range. You can purchase the data plans in different Gb options. You will have to setup a Straight Talk account and load the data card number there to activate the data plan as well as this mobile hotspot. I only rated this a 4 because of the signal range but overall great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 218 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next