Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Straight Talk Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

The Straight Talk WiFi HotSpot allows you to enjoy wireless Internet while on the go. This innovative device requires no contract and can connect more than one device at a time to WiFi. Take it along to the local library or coffee shop for instant access to the Internet. With the Straight Talk mobile hotspot, there is no software to install. As many as five devices can be connected at the same time. It features a user-friendly interface and may be used with a laptop or tablet. There are no monthly fees or charges with the Straight Talk HotSpot (3G) and flexible data cards are available for purchase.
Average Customer Rating:
3.185 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(189 Reviews) 189
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
37
3 stars
15
2 stars
20
1 star
54
Customer Recommendation60%114 out of 189reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
302 Questions | 619 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
37
3 stars
15
2 stars
20
1 star
54
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Waste of Money. Just Awful. Don't even bother

11/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the wi fi hotspot in store with a $50 card. $157 later I was on my way home. Set up was pretty simple. Once set up was complete, I connected it to my phone. Immediately I noticed how slow it was. So I tried to set it up to my smart TV, once it got connected to the internet, it kept kicking me off. Forget about using it to use any apps, especially YouTub, or even to update your Apple products it simply does not work. It shows all bars for service, I Still have 4,913.12 MB on it but it just never connects. I called the customer care and all they could do was to help me re-set it up and it still didn't work. I feel like a fool. Don't bother buying this, save your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

BUYER BEWARE Straight Talk Mobile HotSpot

12/22/2013
By ,
TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cannot recommend this product for the general public.
Set up can be very confusing with the instructions supplied.
Almost impossible to reconnect with unit after a reset.
Battery life falls well short of advertisement.
In high web traffic areas, disconnect and dropped connections are many as the major carriers with which Straight Talk has contracts " throttle back " band width to serve their own customers at peek hours.
Straight Talk and UMX have very little or nonexistent technical support.
Straight Talk must have used a quantum physics formula to figure data usage as the low end data cards are practically used up in the blink of an eye. DO NOT BUY A LARGE DATA CARD UNTIL YOU SEE IF YOU ARE HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE. DATA CARDS ARE NOREFUNDABLE !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Definitely would not recommend this to the average customer, suspect returns will be astronomical.
My unit is on the way back to Walmart.
BUYER BEWARE !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+127points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Beware huge security risk

04/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One big reason I got this hotspot is so I can carry my own private wifi network with me when traveling, not rely on unsecure public or hotel networks. But I discovered by accident that the device defaults to NO SECURITY AT ALL. In other words the guy sitting next to you in the airport may be connected to your hotspot and sucking up the data you paid for, never mind maybe hacking into your computer, and you will never know.
You can set up security via the Wifi tab on the setup home page, but you are not prompted to do that and the available codes are complicated and over the head of the average user. Straight Talk should change the default settings so that connecting requires entering a password, like the serial number of the device, that confirms you have physical possession of it. Until they do, your security is up to you. Good advice available online via Google, the owners manual is useless for this.
Other than the security risk, the device is easy to set up, battery life is good, and it works well as long as there is Verizon available. A good choice if you only need your own wifi occasionally, because you can let it go dormant when you are not traveling and then re-activate it any time you need it (1 GB/30 days minimum).
Recommends this product? Yes
+172points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Clarksville, TN
Does have a Secure security
Posted 06/02/2014
I got my I went in setup. it does have security all you need to change from Open to WPA or WPA 2 or WEP inside.
I have No problem. I set in WPA 2.
as long don't set a OPEN to Public. change to any WEP or WPA in setting.
Hope this Help.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 24 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

DID NOT WORK

10/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for this little device, but sadly it did not work as expected. Setting it up was frustrating and time consuming, and then it finally seemed like it was working. The speed however reminded me of the old 'dial-up' days, very slow. Then after a few days it just stopped working. I didn't do anything different. I tried a couple of things to fix it but to no avail. I even emailed Straight Talk customer service but they basically told me that it was to complicated to explain via email and that I should call in. At that point I said forget it. I returned to the item to the store and got my money back within 15 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Basic Mobile Hotspot

08/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a basic mobile hot spot to use in an industrial business location. It takes approximately 10 minutes to setup. The default setting is an open network but it's pretty easy to set a password if need be. We will not be using a lot of data, mostly web surfing, so we are not going through more than 100Mb a day or so. If you need serious data this may not be ideal. The signal is very strong within about 15 feet of the device but nearly absent anywhere past this range. You can purchase the data plans in different Gb options. You will have to setup a Straight Talk account and load the data card number there to activate the data plan as well as this mobile hotspot. I only rated this a 4 because of the signal range but overall great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

hotspot on the spot

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this and set it up on the 15th of July 2014.
This hotspot setup up was just as simple as setting up a straighttalk phone. But don't be thinking that it'll replace your dsl service. This is a lot slower and you have to be careful on the data you buy. I used 2 gigs in 24 hours. I complained and they gave me another 2 gigs for free. But that only lasted a few more days. So then I bought a 5 gig and have been real careful about watching videos and playing games. I checked my balance this morning and I had used almost a gig of data. So, in summery, go to someplace that has free wifi if you plan on hitting it heavy. Best speed I got out of it was 1.9 mbps download and .67 mbps upload.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Works like a charm!

03/05/2014
By ,
Denver, Co.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my camper. Brought it back and followed the directions for install. It would have been a smooth install IF... I could understand the operator. Witch was a little frustrating but after hanging up with the operator i opened the book and followed everything i might have missed. Fired right up. Now remember wherever your going to use this you have to have a cell phone signal for a Verizon tower. The stronger the signal the less lag you will get.
I loaded the 1 GB card that comes with the device. I also purchased a 5 GB card for $50 but want to see how fast 1 GB gets used.
All in all I set it up with minimal effort. ( if you can follow instructions its quite simple. As a mater of fact i am sitting in the middle of the woods in the Rockies typing this in my camper.. way cool i might add lol
I play games without lag.. i have 4 out of 5 bars here on my phone and its with the same company. How fast the usage goes has yet to be discovered. I've been on most of the day tho watching YouTube videos. So far video has no lag. I'm impressed. I have cable internet at home and I can see its a little slower but not much it sure isn't as slow as old dial up. Anyways... hope this helped you and for those who want to know I bought this device because its my cell phone provider also. The price was good and i can reload anytime with my cc online wherever I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+178points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SEattle
DON'T BUY
Posted 07/20/2014
The first one I bought didn't work at all. The replacement worked for 2 weeks and never worked again. AVOID!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Good unit for internet access in 3g areas.

12/11/2013
By ,
Chatham, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got the hotspot to access the 3g coverage. I have been using an old MiFi 2200 that is extremely slow and wanted to see how this would work in our area. It was a little bit of a gamble, but knowing that it worked on the Verizon signal and that Verizon is the best network in our area prompted me to try it out. I normally use about 2 GB of data a month with my old system, with this I used up a GB in 5 days. I can watch movies on NetFlix now if I want to, but the data usage would be through the roof. Also upgrading my speed caused YouTube to upgrade my video streaming and that burned through some serious data. Straight Talk also has some issues to deal with... having reserve or auto pay for this device would be senseless unless you know you won't use up your data in the allotted time. If you use up your data before the end of the date cycle of the card you will have to call Straight Talk to manage your reserve cause you can't do it online without internet access. I suppose if I got a smart phone I could recharge it there, but Straight Talk needs to revamp the system to keep the unit going as long as I have data in reserve! Otherwise, WHAT'S THE POINT!? It is kind of like having a spare tire, but leaving it at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
Verizon signal?
Posted 12/16/2013
"...knowing that it worked on the Verizon signal and that Verizon is the best network in our area.."
What exactly shows which network it operates on? I was able to figure this out for their no-contract phones, but where does it give this information for the HotSpot device?
Thanks for a great review!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 29 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Best price for a hotspot using Verizon's network.

12/12/2013
By ,
Aiken, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Verizon jetpack 4G hotspot, and while it worked well, I had to pay $60 a month for 3 gb of data. Because this one is limited to 3G speeds, the monthly cost is dramatically lower. 3G is more than adequate for email, some Internet browsing, social networks, and even the occasional YouTube video. However, if you think this is the way to get cheap access to Netflix and other data-intense streaming services, you'll be disappointed. The speed won't be enough, and you'll burn through your allotted data in no time. For frequent travelers like myself, the ability to have affordable, basic Internet and email on the road makes it highly attractive. If your data consumption is low, this is the way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+212points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Hotspot but pay attention to what your data plan

11/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall the device works o.k. It took me a while to get it started. Be prepared to share personal info. with the company when you call to activate it. They want to know DOB, etc. The biggest complaint that I have is that it is easy to purchase the wrong card when you are trying to prepay for your data. I unintentionally purchased time for a home phone when I intended to purchase a data plan. The company converted it over to a data plan for me but told me that they would only do that once. If this happens to me again, I will probably just go with a different kind of hotspot.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

handy device for travelling

10/19/2014
By ,
Medina NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for a road trip to be able to use ipad and laptop in car. Only used it for 1 week, worked great where there was verizon 3G coverage, but had to go to mcdonalds a couple times due to no verizon coverage. When I set it up, which was simple (see you tube videos), I tested the speed on speedtest.net and it was 4 times faster than my home internet speed which is a pitiful .40 Mbps at best (hughesnet 1Mbps service). The price for the for the data by using the prepaid cards makes it much more expensive than hughesnet for the same data allowance even though it is much faster than my hughesnet. So I will not use it for my primary internet usage. It is great to have around in case you need it for trips, camping or just to keep in car. When you need to use it just buy another card, hopefully, that is the plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Product (step-by-step setup instructions)

03/15/2014
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up tip! Like many other reviewers, I couldn't access 192.168.1.1. These instructions are provided so that even the most inexperienced computer user can follow along and easily set up their new hotspot.
1. Locate the red card that says START HERE! Follow the 4 steps on the card in order to activate your hotspot. Keep this handy as you will need the serial number shortly.
2. Turn on your hotspot by holding down the power button until all 5 indicator lights come on (5-10 seconds or so).
3. On your computer:
A. Click the start icon (it looks like the windows logo inside a bubble)
B. Roll your mouse over CONTROL PANEL and left click
C. Click on NETWORK AND INTERNET
D. Click on CONNECT TO A NETWORK (under network and sharing center)
E. Locate your device and click on it (starts with UMX$)
F. Click on CONNECT
G. Open your internet browser (internet explorer, google chrome, firefox, etc.)
H. In the top line where you put in web addresses, type in 192.168.1.1 and press enter.
4. Go back to your red card and open it up. You are now ready to begin Step #3 under the letter A. Now just follow the rest of the instructions on the card and you'll be surfing the web in no time.
You can do an internet search for data use estimator and find about how much data you might need to purchase (I was unable to paste a link into this review.) My suggestion is to buy less, not more, data than you think you will need. When you refill your hotspot, make sure there is no remaining data on your account or you will lose it... the refill doesn't ADD to your data, it starts it over. For example, if I still had 1.5GB of data and I refilled the device with 4GB of data, I wouldn't have 5.5GB, I would have 4GB.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+275points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Device

11/29/2013
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this 2 days ago after losing a long fight with T-mobile over their mobile hotspot that stopped working and started burning up gigabytes like crazy.
Already I'm impressed with this device. Reception has been great; way better than T-mobile's 4g.
I also think that the rate plans are reasonable as long as you're not doing a lot of video streaming.
I will be travelling for the next 5 months and look forward to having internet access wherever I go.
I understand this is on the Verizon network so reception should be good everywhere. One caution: Read ALL of the instructions before you use it. It's an easy activation via phone. Just have all of your information ready and accessible. Once you've activated it you can set it up on line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Omaha
Straight talk is better in one aspect.............
Posted 11/30/2013
Just be careful with your usage. If you do the same type of internet surfing you did before you will have the same results except that AT$T for example will keep letting you use gigabyte after gigabyte and if you had used 8 gigs for example, you owe them 80.00 for that month where straight talk will just cut you off after your 4gb if that is the card you purchased before.
+2points
Customer Avatar
gettysbur pa
prices
Posted 11/30/2013
does anyone no how much a month this cost. I currently have Verizon and its 80 a month for 8gb. with kids on computer it eats the gb very fast.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 34 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Internet Connection on the Go,very nice product.

11/22/2013
By ,
cedar rapids iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Cedar Rapids,Ia. and I saw this hotspot last week, I'd never heard of St. Talk having a hotspot, so I snapped it up Quick. It is on VERIZON towers, which is the best in my area. The writing in the instruction book is tiny, so get out the mag. glasses. I was really excited to open it up and use it, TAKE your TIME and READ the Instructions. You have to activate it BEFORE you open up the browser 192.168.1.1 like it says to do. Once activated, turn device on (charge it first)and open that address in top address bar of your browser. The username and password are in that instruction book(don't throw away) Once you do that you will be in the program settings for it. I changed the user name and password so I would be able to remember it. It looks like a little rubber hockey puck. Now I don't have to pay Mediacom for internet. I bought the $50 card which is good for 2 months and has 5GB of data. If you are a (lite) internet user, and you only check e-mail and news etc. you could probably get by with the $15 card that is good for 30 days with a 1GB data. They also offer a 30 day card with 2GB for $25, and a 60 day card with 4GB for $40 or a $75 card for 60 days with 7GB. Does NOT have a sim card, it is CDMA VERIZON. Here is a link to the pdf. manual, it can be downloaded, much easier than trying to read the tiny writing in the instruction book.
http://www.straighttalk.com/wps/wcm/connect/d9ff38af-b3cb-4777-a962-b256b381bbc3/U240C_UM_eng.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CACHEID=d9ff38af-b3cb-4777-a962-b256b381bbc3
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+810points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Omaha
Beware of products like this, an unexagerrated ex:
Posted 11/27/2013
It looks good huh, wireless internet for ALL of your devices. Wow! 4 GB for $40.00 for the internet and I can connect 5 devices at once! Sounds too good to be true! Or is it? Now lets see, if you like to watch youtube videos which is STREAMING, that 4GB should last forever right? But wait, it's only been 20 minutes and my family of 5 are loving the speed and everything and then................ STOP! What happened to the internet you guys? It's not working. I better call ST tech support, I know they can help me. What? I used up my $40.00 card? No! That can't be. All 5 of us were only on for 20 minutes and Bam! The internet just stopped. It shows I am connected but nothing is coming through. Ugh! What do you mean streaming video on youtube uses more GB of DATA much more than downloading internet files, ,mp3's, pics etc.... O well, I can just by another $40.00 card, that's all but wow it sure adds up quick. This is a realistic example of what you get with these wireless devices, Verizon, AT&T, ETC, all have similar stuff. I know someone who was TIED down to those low 4gb plans and talk about feeling restrained. He spent upwards of $90 one month and I told him he should get rid of that unit. But if you just want to use it for that very quick check of email and news, (just don't watch the news video because it's streaming too) then it may be ok. Now remember folks, most places have FREE wireless internet no matter where you go to check your email, news and watch streaming video including youtube and spend 2 hours there and have it free. So if you purchase one of these devices and waste your hard earned money on one of those plans on top of it, you will see just how far you go with it. You might as well flush the money you just spent down the toilet. Let's face it, how many of you actually use 4 gb in a matter of hours by yourself lf you like to listen to or watch youtube. Unless your a hermit who only reads text and does not have your pics, flash or video activated in your internet browser, this is the thing for you. I hope after you read the very small print, that you see what you really get and thanks to this review, I just saved you $120.00 for the unit and the monthly plan. So be careful when you see something like this that looks too good to be true because it may just drain your wallet.
+2points
Customer Avatar
boise
can you plug it directly into your laptop?
Posted 11/25/2013
Are you able to plug this directly into your laptop as well or is it wireless only?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Thank You
Posted 11/25/2013
Thank you for being so thorough in explain this device! I personally appreciate it a lot :) Now I looking forward to getting this gizmo :)
0points
Customer Avatar
virginia beach, va
Monthly cost to use
Posted 11/23/2013
If I was to purchase this to use on my ipad how much would the monthly fee be? I already use the phone with straight talk and have been for years but would really like to have this for my other devices
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 35 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

If you know how to teather stay away from this

10/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had this product for about 8 months. It has quit working three times in which I had to call tech support and have them change settings on their end to make it work. All of the tech support is outsourced, and your have to get to the second or third person before they can actually fix anything.
As far as basic setup. If you can read directions you won't have a problem.
-Tethering through my strait talk phone is significantly faster than this thing. I don't even bother to buy plans for it anymore.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Coeur d' Alene, Id
How do you "teather" on straight talk?
Posted 11/15/2014
I'm a novice, but would like to use my tablet away from my house and McDonald's!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 36 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

does what is says

11/03/2014
By ,
Columbia SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Make sure background data is off or it will eat your data fast. Forget youtube and downloads.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Option for on the go WiFi!

10/14/2014
By ,
Cleveland, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this device for when I am at work or in an area with no WiFi. This little gadget has made break time more fun since I can get online and social media w/o losing the weak WiFi the city offers. If I am at a clients house I can look up info for them. If I need directions I can get online as long as it sniffs out a cell signal.
The battery life is TERRIBLE, but with an a adapter and USB cord, you can plug it I virtually anywhere. I keep it plugged in when using at work then turn it off when I leave so the battery does not drain when not in use. It's not a deal breaker but can be annoying.
So far the service has been great. I use it daily unless I'm at home with regular WiFi. I wouldn't use it as my only for of WiFi, but I recommend it for those troublesome spots. LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Worked first try.

11/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a pretty foolproof hotspot at a good price. The website for setup and adding time requires some patience (or do it at 3am). It's not a good buy for streaming video or uploading your vacation pictures, but for email and a reading mostly text pages on the web it works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

GARBAGE

04/08/2014
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this for my father's birthday. The hotspot lasted for about 1 month and would no longer connect to a cell service. After speaking with a service rep, a ticket was made for replacement. This ticket was lost by Straight Talk and I had to make another ticket to return. Finally, the hotspot was replaced about 2 weeks later. Great, Dad was back in business! Not for long, this one lasted another month and stopped connecting to a cell service again. Tired of playing this game, I tried to return it to Walmart with no luck, purchase was more than 90 days. Tried to return to Straight Talk with no luck, purchase was more than 30 days. No one wanted to hear that it was more than 90 days, but only worked for 60 days. STAY AWAY, I THREW MINE IN THE GARBAGE !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Service, apparently, is stopped if not used daily

12/09/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my Mother who only wanted to be able to check on sites such as Facebook for family posts. Setup wasn't to bad and it seemed to work fine for the first few days. Checking back a week or so later I found out it had quit and she had tried the basic things such as turning it back on, and resetting.
When I went by to check on it I had a hard time and I'm tech savvy. After several attempts I called customer service and immediately after giving them the required information, the unit started working. They stated that they had done nothing. hmm
A little time passes and I find out the unit is down again, so I call customer service and the unit magically starts working again while "they" insist they did nothing.
So, as another poster stated on this site, it appears they shut the unit down after several days of inactivity and the only thing that turns it back on is to call customer service.
That is not the way this should work. Everyone reading this has paid for a service and it should be there waiting for use whenever WE decide to use it and not disabled by ST as it serves some unknown purpose.
Walmart gave life to "Straight Talk" and although the phone service is a good deal with good service, the internet hotspot is terrible and this needs to be addressed by Walmart as we rely on them to back us up as they rely on us to keep them in business. So, I ask Walmart to please address this issue.
Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 189 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next