Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Straight Talk Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

The Straight Talk WiFi HotSpot allows you to enjoy wireless Internet while on the go. This innovative device requires no contract and can connect more than one device at a time to WiFi. Take it along to the local library or coffee shop for instant access to the Internet. With the Straight Talk mobile hotspot, there is no software to install. As many as five devices can be connected at the same time. It features a user-friendly interface and may be used with a laptop or tablet. There are no monthly fees or charges with the Straight Talk HotSpot (3G) and flexible data cards are available for purchase.
Average Customer Rating:
3.101 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(218 Reviews) 218
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
41
3 stars
18
2 stars
23
1 star
67
Customer Recommendation57%125 out of 218reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
343 Questions | 694 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
41
3 stars
18
2 stars
23
1 star
67
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great mobile internet for a pay as you go service

03/18/2014
By ,
Kernersville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to use at work so I can use my ipad at break and and lunch. I have AT&T for my cell phone and we get really bad service at work and this works great.
This is the cheapest pay as you go mobile hot spot service out there. Surfing is fast and coverage is great. The device feels well made but I really wished it had a LCD screen but I'm quite happy without it.
If you need the ability to browse the internet, then this is the best device. No contract, pay as you and for what you want. Well pleased.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+396points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Love it!!!!

11/29/2013
By ,
Tacoma, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hotspot is fantastic.....I seen it on walmarts site, and went right out a purchased it. I didn't have internet at home...It is perfect for me and my daughter......And simple to use..:)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+415points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Forest Lake
3G Hotspot unit runs with only a 1 GB Data card?
Posted 11/02/2014
What will the 3G Hotspot unit run with only a 1 GB Data Card?
Will it run 2 laptops and an Apple TV?
0points
Customer Avatar
Omaha
Have you wiped out your data card yet???
Posted 12/06/2013
Won't take long for that to happen. Alot of people buy this on a whim then find out how much these cards eat up data up really fast and by that time it's time to buy another one. You might get a few hours or a few days or maybe even a week out of these plans but you will soon see how much those data cards will go through your wallet in no time. Read my review under wurlitzer11
-4points
Customer Avatar
Thomasville GA
So far, not bad
Posted 11/30/2013
Just bought it today (11/30/13). Upload speed in Thomasville GA was 1.26Mbps download 0.74Mbps per speedtest.net. In comparison, my cable is 5.37Mbps upload and and 1.02 download. WiFi signal strength is excellent.
The pre-paid plans are excellent, about $10 per GB.
Setting up was OK. Setup for wireless security was easy. However, I couldn't figure out how to change the password for the home screen for the device. Whenever I tried this I could not get access to my home screen with either the old or the new passwords. I had do a master rest to get the original userid and password active again. I bet this will take a firmware upgrade to fix. I don't think this is a big issue for security. People have to access the device first via the secure network, before they can get at the home screen.
The next big thing for me is to see how long the battery lasts in a standby mode, with the wireless on. I would trade a weaker wifi strength for a longer battery life.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

needs help

08/24/2014
By ,
merrillville.in
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have not been able to get it to work
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
-31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Bobthebear
Posted 08/28/2014
Does the unit show that you are receiving a signal? Take a picture of the screen and post it. That will really help figure this out for you. I've had several and I know what I'm talking about
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Hard to set up, but worth the wait!

10/09/2014
By ,
Browerville, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am so glad I researched this item online before purchasing. I found a great blog that gave step by step instructions on how to set this up. Without that, it would have been a disaster as the instructions included were not nearly clear enough. The wifi does work in the middle of nowhere where our cabin is located, with this mobile hotspot. It seems to need recharging quite often, so we just leave it plugged in. It can be slow at certain times, but all in all, it was a good buy. Once you pay the $80 for the gadget itself, you just buy a data card for $15 or $25 depending on the amount of data you use and that is it. Way cheaper than what we pay at home in the cities. Because we are not the most tech-savvy people in the world, we first had to figure out how to connect one of our phones to a laptop long enough to get on the internet to find the Straight Talk website and get it going. That was a little frustrating, but like I said, once you get it going, it works fine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Customer service

12/22/2014
By ,
Ellsworth, ME
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really like the Hotspot--1 GB a month is more than I need. The price cannot be beat.
However, the customer support is HORRIBLE--ATROCIOUS! I talked with several reps on the phone and sent e-mails--they didn't have a clue about my problem or question and I could hardly understand them.
I signed up for auto-refill thinking it would be seamless each month. NOT SO! At the end of the service month--it STOPS and it is several hours before it goes back on, even with auto-refill. One rep told me I had used my 1 GB--(I only had used about 800 MBs). She told me it would be on again in about 2 hours...it was about 6. So, I now will just do a manual re-fill, forget the auto re-fill.
There is nothing like this product for the price--the next nearest was over 45 dollars a month. So, while I checked "no" for recommending, it would be conditional. Good product, super price but ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE.
If you do choose to buy this, OK, but I strongly suggest you don't use 'auto-refill', you will be out of service for several hours every month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Richmond, VA
Just the Device Please
Posted 03/02/2015
Please rate and review the device please. You are saying the device is great, but giving it one star. The customer service is a completely different subject. You hurt the rating of the product (which is the device) with the 1 star...which you said was actually great. One employee who represents "customer service" should not be a reflection on how well the device is made and how well it works.
0points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
MONTHLY PAYMENT
Posted 01/20/2015
SO YOU HAVE TO PAY MONTHLY FOR THE WIFI RIGHT?
0points
Customer Avatar
texas
carol
Posted 01/04/2015
i did all my conversations by chat were a whole lot more helpful and didnt have to wait on responses. hope this helps
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 6 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

hoped for the best...dropped straight talk hotspot

04/20/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How did it work? The unit worked fine until it needed to be updated....They told me I could update it online, but if it it's not working properly....HOW could I do that? TO update or find the problem ,I had to deal with customer service..I am a polite person so I would say, "I'm sorry, could you repeat that?." After repeated dealings every month, I reached the desperate level...I actually said..."You need to enunciate by speaking slowly and carefully so that you can be understood."
Customer Satisfaction...Changed to another carrier with unlimited usage and NO slowdowns for "Excessive usage (Excessive usage should mean you have exceeded your purchase card....NOT with this service)"for $31 per month...I will give them the excuse that they grew too quickly and I joined at that time...Too many problems for me...I can be on all the time with my new service and it actually works without me sitting here watching the circle spin and spin and spin and spin.....well u get the circle...oh, oh ,oh , I mean the point
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

If you do not use it frequently, service disabled

08/22/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this for use on weekends at a location without internet so we only use it once or twice a month. It seems when you do not use it for a week or more your service is disabled and there is nothing you can do yourself to reactivate it. You MUST call the service center to have technical support "update" your account information. It happens every time we do not use it for a week.
Secondly, the fact that you can choose to add more data using data cards is nice BUT BUT BUT you cannot load them on top of each other. If you have 500MB of data left, up load a new card, YOU LOSE the 500MB you had left and it updates with whatever your card amount was. IN order to not lose data MBs that you paid for you have to try and time it to when you reach almost 0MB left but have just enough to process the update OR you are calling the service center again to "update" your account information.
I would not get Straight talk again. Choose another vendor.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+185points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rock hill, sc
you may be misinformed about the service
Posted 01/27/2015
if you only use it once or twice a month, your data plan will run out...your data plan is only good for 30 days..after that you have to add more data...i have been using this now for over a year..me and my wife use it while we are RV camping..also, if you have 500 mb left, you can purchase a data plan ahead of time and add it to reserve that will automatically add the data at the end of your service date (via your online account). i have never had my account disabled after a week or two of non use, and when i do let the service run out during the winter (since we don't go camping in the winter) i just reactivate online......the only downfall that i have found about it is if you turn it on and are not actively using it, the unit will turn off automatically even when it plugged into a receptacle....just have to turn it back on......
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Burned through 1GB Data Allotment in two days

07/10/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The device itself was easy to setup following the instructions. The device worked as promoted. The downside is the data usage seems off. I burned through almost 1 GB in two days with minimal usage other than checking email, facebook, a couple hours of internet browsing and downloading one Kindle book. We did not use our devices to stream any video, pictures etc.
To put this in perspective we own several ios devices with data plans on AT&T and one device (Ipad mini) on Tmobile, and have a Tmobile 3G hotspot. None of my other devices even come close to this rate of data usage for the activities listed above. Something is just not right.
So I called straight talk customer support. They do not have any tools available to track data usage. I was told that they bill in 1KB increments. I plan to do some more experimentation using my ios devices ability to track data usage.
Wondering if anyone has noticed the same problem or figured out any solutions?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+202points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
VA
Posted 01/30/2015
I had the same problem but after getting used to it, was not to bad, I had left it on all night all I ever had was dial up and with their (almost none) directions it was crazy now after having it for a few months I am happy
+1point
Customer Avatar
North Carolina,
Did you set a password
Posted 01/11/2015
IT's funny. The same thing happened to me when I initially setup my hotspot. I live in an apartment complex and before I set my password the 1gb I bought was getting sucked up right before my eyes. As soon as I set my password the usage slowed down, so it seems that someone was using my service. I haven't had any problems since i setup my password. Good luck to you.
+1point
Customer Avatar
texas
carol
Posted 01/04/2015
hi,
make sure no one else cant get on your device that almost happened to me. so go back into setting and change it to a private password
0points
Customer Avatar
texas
hotspot
Posted 12/05/2014
just make sure you have a password to login so that anyone close to you doesnt login on your acct. i almost made that mistake. had go back into my acct and the device and setup password. hope this helps
+1point
Customer Avatar
Plymouth, IN
Straightalk Hotspot
Posted 09/22/2014
Il also have had trouble with Straightalk burning up data fast. I have had my hotspot since Dec. of 2013 and just this month I was told I used 2 GB in less than 3 weeks, NO WAY!!! I called asking what happened to my Sept 3 $50 renew got a run around. My husband put another $75 worth of dated back on to get the computer up and running but this will be last time I use Straightalk. I only have 1 laptop I down load no games or movies were did data go?
+8points
Customer Avatar
Update on Orignal Review
Posted 07/12/2014
I did further testing on data usage and found that my device useage charged by Straight Talk was pretty close. I found the ios Dataman app very helpful. What I realized was my devices used more data when on wifi then when using a straight 3G data connection. My ios devices are configured to not use 3G for many apps and background processes. Unfortunately you cannot configure wifi with the same restrictions. Also I was able to track significant data useage by my device when not being used. One device I monitored used close to 100 meg overnight.
My recommendation to stretch your data allot is to only turn the device when you are actively using wifi.
I would recommend the device and give it a higher rating if I could edit my orIginal review.
+37points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 9 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Just what I needed

09/14/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a truck driver and need internet access to book loads, check my settlements, fuel account etc. I have had a U.S. Cellular USB modem that I got only because we had had their phone service for many years and I didn't know any better. The service was extremely slow and coverage very limited. I could be in downtown Chicago and not load a page. I had 5 gigs per month for 52.00 but couldn't use it because the service was so bad. I wanted to get on the verizon network because they have the best coverage map, but didn't want to get into another contract.My grown son kept telling me to get on Straight Talk and I finally pulled the trigger.
The difference is amazing. I can load pages on the road as fast as I can at home with Broadband. I've used it in IL,IN,KY,IA,OH and MO so far and have never had a problem. I have not yet used it to watch Netflix etc. yet because I want to get a handle on my monthly usage for the business but based on past experience I expect the data to cost less than half of what US Cellular was charging me. This may not be the answer for everyone but it's just what I needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Hotspot w/ Verizon Coverage

03/16/2014
By ,
Auburn, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this hotspot is limited to 3G you could not ask for better coverage across both urban and rural areas. I did not want to pay the higher monthly cost of a Verizon hotspot and was willing to live without 4g. It works well with my Win7 laptop, Win 8.1 tablet, and Google Chromebook. Great for data on the go at a low cost, just don't expect to replace your cable/dsl broadband with it.
Warning: Straight Talk will waste an hour of your time activating the hotspot on the phone. They would not allow it to be activated online for me and instead left me in customer service limbo with a gentleman who most likely was not from this country and could not understand me very well.
After it was finished getting activated it was easy enough to change the network settings on the device (it comes unsecured by default). Be careful changing admin login settings as it did not seem to work right when I did.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+138points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
norman, ok
great value
Posted 05/19/2014
we live in an area we can hardly get a signal , but this device has been outstanding, it is economical an realialbe who needs at&t or sprints high prices ??
the 4gb $40.00 plan is good for two months and if your not downloading a lot of videos it will last two months! half the price of the other companies !!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Service, apparently, is stopped if not used daily

12/09/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my Mother who only wanted to be able to check on sites such as Facebook for family posts. Setup wasn't to bad and it seemed to work fine for the first few days. Checking back a week or so later I found out it had quit and she had tried the basic things such as turning it back on, and resetting.
When I went by to check on it I had a hard time and I'm tech savvy. After several attempts I called customer service and immediately after giving them the required information, the unit started working. They stated that they had done nothing. hmm
A little time passes and I find out the unit is down again, so I call customer service and the unit magically starts working again while "they" insist they did nothing.
So, as another poster stated on this site, it appears they shut the unit down after several days of inactivity and the only thing that turns it back on is to call customer service.
That is not the way this should work. Everyone reading this has paid for a service and it should be there waiting for use whenever WE decide to use it and not disabled by ST as it serves some unknown purpose.
Walmart gave life to "Straight Talk" and although the phone service is a good deal with good service, the internet hotspot is terrible and this needs to be addressed by Walmart as we rely on them to back us up as they rely on us to keep them in business. So, I ask Walmart to please address this issue.
Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

performance issues

08/25/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
no, i currently don't own the device, but i plan to purchase it soon for our rv.
i'm a very seasoned PC person with a Master's in Computer Science. I am very knowledgeable in communication theory. I'd like to try to explain some performance issues.
1) 3G is only rated to transmit at 200 kbits per second. That puts it well behind wired Ethernet and current wi-fi speeds.
2) Almost all communications media advertise their "top" speed. In reality, most communications speeds fall way short of their advertised speeds (due to interference, media sharing, etc).
3) Almost all communications media have a "fall-back" protocol. They always try to initiate communications at their highest speed, but if they fail, they will "fall-back" to their next lowest speed. This continues until they can no longer communicate and they will drop the connection.
Maybe too much information, but i hope it helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+154points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Product...

08/06/2014
By ,
St. Helen, Mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This unit is a great unit if you are in a spot where high speed cable, DSL, or Satellite can't be an option... The service is through Verizon Wireless Cellular Towers. It is manufactured by a company called UNIMAX. It produces its own version. There version is the same... Other then it is more expensive... The service is more per month also. I bought a 5gb card for the two month time limit. I have been surfing the web all day and haven't used that much pre paid data. I was informed that the more data you use (Netflix, youtube, web radio, ect.) it will be less effective. For the use of web surfing its great. You can use up to 5 devices on this unit. If your in a dead spot or get a yellow or red signal reading. You can invest in a Cellphone Tower Repeater on ebay. They have to run on 850mhz 3g towers. 1900 MHz tower work 4g. So look up if your area is within 12 to 15 miles from your location. If you have hills around you with tree's signals with decrease. Therefore you will need a Cellular repeater. Otherwise its a great unit. The time or gigs you buy are for 2 months. Not like regular Verizon, Att, ect. So enjoy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Good product....but GB's disappear quickly..

04/05/2014
By ,
Rock Hill, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was one of the last "dial up" customers and was forced to find another source for my internet. The "HotSpot" works as described....very good signal strength at my location....it is easy to operate....There is one serious drawback....Even though my old dial up was slower....it was unlimited....I started with a 1 GB card with the hotspot just to see how long it would last for me.....I don't do U Tube , any streaming video or movies....basically check my email, do banking and manage my healthcare on the VA website and play a few games on a social website. The ! GB only lasts me about 2 weeks.....and I was seriously limiting my time online as I saw how fast my card was being used up. Living on a fixed income I have to keep my bills down....so even though the Hotspot is good service it means alot less time online for me now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

It doesn't work, at least not for long

09/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this about 6 weeks ago. I set it up, and it worked fine for a few day. Then, after not using it for a few weeks, I turned it on, and it wouldn't connect to the internet. I could connect my laptop to it, and everything seemed to be configured correctly, but it wouldn't connect to the internet. I called Straight Talk customer service, and reset it and updated the PRL as instructed (several times). Eventually we got it working again. I tried using it again a few days ago, and was having the same problem again. I contacted customer service again, and was eventually told that I had to talk to another department that was "closed today." I was told that I should call back tomorrow. The representative wouldn't tell me the name of the department I had to talk to, and hung up on me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

BUYER BEWARE Straight Talk Mobile HotSpot

12/22/2013
By ,
TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cannot recommend this product for the general public.
Set up can be very confusing with the instructions supplied.
Almost impossible to reconnect with unit after a reset.
Battery life falls well short of advertisement.
In high web traffic areas, disconnect and dropped connections are many as the major carriers with which Straight Talk has contracts " throttle back " band width to serve their own customers at peek hours.
Straight Talk and UMX have very little or nonexistent technical support.
Straight Talk must have used a quantum physics formula to figure data usage as the low end data cards are practically used up in the blink of an eye. DO NOT BUY A LARGE DATA CARD UNTIL YOU SEE IF YOU ARE HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE. DATA CARDS ARE NOREFUNDABLE !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Definitely would not recommend this to the average customer, suspect returns will be astronomical.
My unit is on the way back to Walmart.
BUYER BEWARE !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+135points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Maybe good for a one person

04/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have used this product for the past 2 weeks and will be returning it. I bought it to hopefully lower my monthly fees. It would work OK for just me because I do not stream videos or music. If you only need to use the internet a few times a week for social media or research, then this product will lower your monthly bills. However, if you use the internet daily and stream anything then you will use up at least 1 GB in a day. That is 30 GB a month or $300 of cards. Better off getting a monthly service for $40 to $50. If you share this product with even one person even if you don't stream anything then forget it and buy a monthly service. I only see this product as useful for one person who needs it infrequently or for on the road if they want more security then using a public wi-fi. Also people complained about the security. It is unsecured until you go in and change it. Just click on Wi-Fi and change the security to WPA2-PSK. If you leave it open then other people nearby my use your Wi-Fi which is how some people may see their GB used up quickly. One more thing, the internet is slow. Seems to run about the same as when I had AT&T which ran at 2.5 to 3.0 mps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

not what I expected

04/09/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had this for quite a while. I live out in the middle of nowhere, but get decent coverage, so it's been worth it. The things I don't like are: it turns off if you stay at the same place for awhile while downloading, Customer service is hard to reach and hard to understand, you have to check constantly to make sure you don't run out, and worst of all is that it doesn't roll over, so even if you have 500MB left when the 30 days (or how ever long you purchase it for), tough luck, you lose it. I'm in the market for something else.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Disappointed & We use ours A Lot

10/04/2014
By ,
Crestview, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you don't mind getting booted OFF the internet 40 times
during an hours use and also LOSING Mbps TO GET BACK
ON-LINE EVERY TIME YOU RECONNECT (I was told this by Straight Talk
Customer Service when they explained to me how I might have used
One gig in one day)- then, by all means, get yourself a Straight Talk Hotspot.
By the way, our frequent disconnect problem is not a weak signal to the cell tower.
We have a very strong cell phone signal where our hotspot keeps getting disconnected.
P.S. I was disconnected several times while trying to complete this review process.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

works as expected...

08/04/2014
By ,
rockhill, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchased this for use for me and my wife when camping (RV)...runs on verizon network so i get good coverage...have had no issues. i seen some people complaining about other people being able to connect to it and use up the data package, but if you set up the security (dont leave it set to "open") you wont have any issues..use it mainly with our Ipads, and speeds were really fast, a lot faster than i expected. like the fact that they have different data packages i can buy. usually just buy the 1gb card since we only use it when we are on the road and that's plenty for us to use with our pads for a few days to a week out of the month when camping. (as long as you are not watching Tv shows or movies) when not using camping, like during the winter, i just let the plan run out then reactivate as needed...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 218 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next