Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Straight Talk Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

The Straight Talk WiFi HotSpot allows you to enjoy wireless Internet while on the go. This innovative device requires no contract and can connect more than one device at a time to WiFi. Take it along to the local library or coffee shop for instant access to the Internet. With the Straight Talk mobile hotspot, there is no software to install. As many as five devices can be connected at the same time. It features a user-friendly interface and may be used with a laptop or tablet. There are no monthly fees or charges with the Straight Talk HotSpot (3G) and flexible data cards are available for purchase.
Average Customer Rating:
3.272 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation62%78 out of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
217 Questions | 424 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great mobile internet for a pay as you go service

03/18/2014
By ,
Kernersville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to use at work so I can use my ipad at break and and lunch. I have AT&T for my cell phone and we get really bad service at work and this works great.
This is the cheapest pay as you go mobile hot spot service out there. Surfing is fast and coverage is great. The device feels well made but I really wished it had a LCD screen but I'm quite happy without it.
If you need the ability to browse the internet, then this is the best device. No contract, pay as you and for what you want. Well pleased.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+146points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Love it!!!!

11/29/2013
By ,
Tacoma, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hotspot is fantastic.....I seen it on walmarts site, and went right out a purchased it. I didn't have internet at home...It is perfect for me and my daughter......And simple to use..:)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+256points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Omaha
Have you wiped out your data card yet???
Posted 12/06/2013
Won't take long for that to happen. Alot of people buy this on a whim then find out how much these cards eat up data up really fast and by that time it's time to buy another one. You might get a few hours or a few days or maybe even a week out of these plans but you will soon see how much those data cards will go through your wallet in no time. Read my review under wurlitzer11
-5points
Customer Avatar
Thomasville GA
So far, not bad
Posted 11/30/2013
Just bought it today (11/30/13). Upload speed in Thomasville GA was 1.26Mbps download 0.74Mbps per speedtest.net. In comparison, my cable is 5.37Mbps upload and and 1.02 download. WiFi signal strength is excellent.
The pre-paid plans are excellent, about $10 per GB.
Setting up was OK. Setup for wireless security was easy. However, I couldn't figure out how to change the password for the home screen for the device. Whenever I tried this I could not get access to my home screen with either the old or the new passwords. I had do a master rest to get the original userid and password active again. I bet this will take a firmware upgrade to fix. I don't think this is a big issue for security. People have to access the device first via the secure network, before they can get at the home screen.
The next big thing for me is to see how long the battery lasts in a standby mode, with the wireless on. I would trade a weaker wifi strength for a longer battery life.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Burned through 1GB Data Allotment in two days

07/10/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The device itself was easy to setup following the instructions. The device worked as promoted. The downside is the data usage seems off. I burned through almost 1 GB in two days with minimal usage other than checking email, facebook, a couple hours of internet browsing and downloading one Kindle book. We did not use our devices to stream any video, pictures etc.
To put this in perspective we own several ios devices with data plans on AT&T and one device (Ipad mini) on Tmobile, and have a Tmobile 3G hotspot. None of my other devices even come close to this rate of data usage for the activities listed above. Something is just not right.
So I called straight talk customer support. They do not have any tools available to track data usage. I was told that they bill in 1KB increments. I plan to do some more experimentation using my ios devices ability to track data usage.
Wondering if anyone has noticed the same problem or figured out any solutions?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Update on Orignal Review
Posted 07/12/2014
I did further testing on data usage and found that my device useage charged by Straight Talk was pretty close. I found the ios Dataman app very helpful. What I realized was my devices used more data when on wifi then when using a straight 3G data connection. My ios devices are configured to not use 3G for many apps and background processes. Unfortunately you cannot configure wifi with the same restrictions. Also I was able to track significant data useage by my device when not being used. One device I monitored used close to 100 meg overnight.
My recommendation to stretch your data allot is to only turn the device when you are actively using wifi.
I would recommend the device and give it a higher rating if I could edit my orIginal review.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Hotspot w/ Verizon Coverage

03/16/2014
By ,
Auburn, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this hotspot is limited to 3G you could not ask for better coverage across both urban and rural areas. I did not want to pay the higher monthly cost of a Verizon hotspot and was willing to live without 4g. It works well with my Win7 laptop, Win 8.1 tablet, and Google Chromebook. Great for data on the go at a low cost, just don't expect to replace your cable/dsl broadband with it.
Warning: Straight Talk will waste an hour of your time activating the hotspot on the phone. They would not allow it to be activated online for me and instead left me in customer service limbo with a gentleman who most likely was not from this country and could not understand me very well.
After it was finished getting activated it was easy enough to change the network settings on the device (it comes unsecured by default). Be careful changing admin login settings as it did not seem to work right when I did.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
norman, ok
great value
Posted 05/19/2014
we live in an area we can hardly get a signal , but this device has been outstanding, it is economical an realialbe who needs at&t or sprints high prices ??
the 4gb $40.00 plan is good for two months and if your not downloading a lot of videos it will last two months! half the price of the other companies !!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Maybe good for a one person

04/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have used this product for the past 2 weeks and will be returning it. I bought it to hopefully lower my monthly fees. It would work OK for just me because I do not stream videos or music. If you only need to use the internet a few times a week for social media or research, then this product will lower your monthly bills. However, if you use the internet daily and stream anything then you will use up at least 1 GB in a day. That is 30 GB a month or $300 of cards. Better off getting a monthly service for $40 to $50. If you share this product with even one person even if you don't stream anything then forget it and buy a monthly service. I only see this product as useful for one person who needs it infrequently or for on the road if they want more security then using a public wi-fi. Also people complained about the security. It is unsecured until you go in and change it. Just click on Wi-Fi and change the security to WPA2-PSK. If you leave it open then other people nearby my use your Wi-Fi which is how some people may see their GB used up quickly. One more thing, the internet is slow. Seems to run about the same as when I had AT&T which ran at 2.5 to 3.0 mps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Good product....but GB's disappear quickly..

04/05/2014
By ,
Rock Hill, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was one of the last "dial up" customers and was forced to find another source for my internet. The "HotSpot" works as described....very good signal strength at my location....it is easy to operate....There is one serious drawback....Even though my old dial up was slower....it was unlimited....I started with a 1 GB card with the hotspot just to see how long it would last for me.....I don't do U Tube , any streaming video or movies....basically check my email, do banking and manage my healthcare on the VA website and play a few games on a social website. The ! GB only lasts me about 2 weeks.....and I was seriously limiting my time online as I saw how fast my card was being used up. Living on a fixed income I have to keep my bills down....so even though the Hotspot is good service it means alot less time online for me now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Beware huge security risk

04/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One big reason I got this hotspot is so I can carry my own private wifi network with me when traveling, not rely on unsecure public or hotel networks. But I discovered by accident that the device defaults to NO SECURITY AT ALL. In other words the guy sitting next to you in the airport may be connected to your hotspot and sucking up the data you paid for, never mind maybe hacking into your computer, and you will never know.
You can set up security via the Wifi tab on the setup home page, but you are not prompted to do that and the available codes are complicated and over the head of the average user. Straight Talk should change the default settings so that connecting requires entering a password, like the serial number of the device, that confirms you have physical possession of it. Until they do, your security is up to you. Good advice available online via Google, the owners manual is useless for this.
Other than the security risk, the device is easy to set up, battery life is good, and it works well as long as there is Verizon available. A good choice if you only need your own wifi occasionally, because you can let it go dormant when you are not traveling and then re-activate it any time you need it (1 GB/30 days minimum).
Recommends this product? Yes
+134points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Clarksville, TN
Does have a Secure security
Posted 06/02/2014
I got my I went in setup. it does have security all you need to change from Open to WPA or WPA 2 or WEP inside.
I have No problem. I set in WPA 2.
as long don't set a OPEN to Public. change to any WEP or WPA in setting.
Hope this Help.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Works like a charm!

03/05/2014
By ,
Denver, Co.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my camper. Brought it back and followed the directions for install. It would have been a smooth install IF... I could understand the operator. Witch was a little frustrating but after hanging up with the operator i opened the book and followed everything i might have missed. Fired right up. Now remember wherever your going to use this you have to have a cell phone signal for a Verizon tower. The stronger the signal the less lag you will get.
I loaded the 1 GB card that comes with the device. I also purchased a 5 GB card for $50 but want to see how fast 1 GB gets used.
All in all I set it up with minimal effort. ( if you can follow instructions its quite simple. As a mater of fact i am sitting in the middle of the woods in the Rockies typing this in my camper.. way cool i might add lol
I play games without lag.. i have 4 out of 5 bars here on my phone and its with the same company. How fast the usage goes has yet to be discovered. I've been on most of the day tho watching YouTube videos. So far video has no lag. I'm impressed. I have cable internet at home and I can see its a little slower but not much it sure isn't as slow as old dial up. Anyways... hope this helped you and for those who want to know I bought this device because its my cell phone provider also. The price was good and i can reload anytime with my cc online wherever I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+144points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SEattle
DON'T BUY
Posted 07/20/2014
The first one I bought didn't work at all. The replacement worked for 2 weeks and never worked again. AVOID!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Product (step-by-step setup instructions)

03/15/2014
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up tip! Like many other reviewers, I couldn't access 192.168.1.1. These instructions are provided so that even the most inexperienced computer user can follow along and easily set up their new hotspot.
1. Locate the red card that says START HERE! Follow the 4 steps on the card in order to activate your hotspot. Keep this handy as you will need the serial number shortly.
2. Turn on your hotspot by holding down the power button until all 5 indicator lights come on (5-10 seconds or so).
3. On your computer:
A. Click the start icon (it looks like the windows logo inside a bubble)
B. Roll your mouse over CONTROL PANEL and left click
C. Click on NETWORK AND INTERNET
D. Click on CONNECT TO A NETWORK (under network and sharing center)
E. Locate your device and click on it (starts with UMX$)
F. Click on CONNECT
G. Open your internet browser (internet explorer, google chrome, firefox, etc.)
H. In the top line where you put in web addresses, type in 192.168.1.1 and press enter.
4. Go back to your red card and open it up. You are now ready to begin Step #3 under the letter A. Now just follow the rest of the instructions on the card and you'll be surfing the web in no time.
You can do an internet search for data use estimator and find about how much data you might need to purchase (I was unable to paste a link into this review.) My suggestion is to buy less, not more, data than you think you will need. When you refill your hotspot, make sure there is no remaining data on your account or you will lose it... the refill doesn't ADD to your data, it starts it over. For example, if I still had 1.5GB of data and I refilled the device with 4GB of data, I wouldn't have 5.5GB, I would have 4GB.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+197points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

BUYER BEWARE Straight Talk Mobile HotSpot

12/22/2013
By ,
TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cannot recommend this product for the general public.
Set up can be very confusing with the instructions supplied.
Almost impossible to reconnect with unit after a reset.
Battery life falls well short of advertisement.
In high web traffic areas, disconnect and dropped connections are many as the major carriers with which Straight Talk has contracts " throttle back " band width to serve their own customers at peek hours.
Straight Talk and UMX have very little or nonexistent technical support.
Straight Talk must have used a quantum physics formula to figure data usage as the low end data cards are practically used up in the blink of an eye. DO NOT BUY A LARGE DATA CARD UNTIL YOU SEE IF YOU ARE HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE. DATA CARDS ARE NOREFUNDABLE !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Definitely would not recommend this to the average customer, suspect returns will be astronomical.
My unit is on the way back to Walmart.
BUYER BEWARE !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great as a backup web connection

07/16/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product arrived quickly (2 day delivery) however it was not correctly scanned/allocated when it was sold. End result: Straight Talk could NOT activate it on their system. (ST Web site simply returned the error of: "Serial Number Status Incorrect") Went to a local Wal-Mart (with printed e-mails in hand that had the transaction barcode) where they had to scan the activation code on the ST product box (showing that the item was SOLD and NOT stolen) so it could be activated on the ST web site.
This was obviously an error at the order fulfillment center. Had the product been activated when it was sold this would have saved some time/frustration. I ordered online to save a trip to the local WM store.
Have not yet fully tested the speeds however the hardware speaks for itself as it is only 3G. Seems to work well for checking e-mail and some casual web page surfing as this is all that I really needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Best price for a hotspot using Verizon's network.

12/12/2013
By ,
Aiken, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Verizon jetpack 4G hotspot, and while it worked well, I had to pay $60 a month for 3 gb of data. Because this one is limited to 3G speeds, the monthly cost is dramatically lower. 3G is more than adequate for email, some Internet browsing, social networks, and even the occasional YouTube video. However, if you think this is the way to get cheap access to Netflix and other data-intense streaming services, you'll be disappointed. The speed won't be enough, and you'll burn through your allotted data in no time. For frequent travelers like myself, the ability to have affordable, basic Internet and email on the road makes it highly attractive. If your data consumption is low, this is the way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+194points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Good unit for internet access in 3g areas.

12/11/2013
By ,
Chatham, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got the hotspot to access the 3g coverage. I have been using an old MiFi 2200 that is extremely slow and wanted to see how this would work in our area. It was a little bit of a gamble, but knowing that it worked on the Verizon signal and that Verizon is the best network in our area prompted me to try it out. I normally use about 2 GB of data a month with my old system, with this I used up a GB in 5 days. I can watch movies on NetFlix now if I want to, but the data usage would be through the roof. Also upgrading my speed caused YouTube to upgrade my video streaming and that burned through some serious data. Straight Talk also has some issues to deal with... having reserve or auto pay for this device would be senseless unless you know you won't use up your data in the allotted time. If you use up your data before the end of the date cycle of the card you will have to call Straight Talk to manage your reserve cause you can't do it online without internet access. I suppose if I got a smart phone I could recharge it there, but Straight Talk needs to revamp the system to keep the unit going as long as I have data in reserve! Otherwise, WHAT'S THE POINT!? It is kind of like having a spare tire, but leaving it at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
Verizon signal?
Posted 12/16/2013
"...knowing that it worked on the Verizon signal and that Verizon is the best network in our area.."
What exactly shows which network it operates on? I was able to figure this out for their no-contract phones, but where does it give this information for the HotSpot device?
Thanks for a great review!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

GARBAGE

04/08/2014
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this for my father's birthday. The hotspot lasted for about 1 month and would no longer connect to a cell service. After speaking with a service rep, a ticket was made for replacement. This ticket was lost by Straight Talk and I had to make another ticket to return. Finally, the hotspot was replaced about 2 weeks later. Great, Dad was back in business! Not for long, this one lasted another month and stopped connecting to a cell service again. Tired of playing this game, I tried to return it to Walmart with no luck, purchase was more than 90 days. Tried to return to Straight Talk with no luck, purchase was more than 30 days. No one wanted to hear that it was more than 90 days, but only worked for 60 days. STAY AWAY, I THREW MINE IN THE GARBAGE !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

I will not recommend it.

05/23/2014
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased it just a week ago. I spent my time setting-it up and calling costumer service because I can't pass thru 198.168.1.1. It always says "it cannot be connected and the unit keeps on turning-off. I just returned it and feeling very disappointed. Waste my $15.00 that I put in there too.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Bad device

05/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately I have a bad experience with this device. At exactly one month device begin to turn off by it self. And now the whole time even if the light is on I don't get internet signal anymore. I purchased a data worth $40 for 4gb for two months. I still have a lot of data and will expire on June 8. Obviously, that Data is going to be waisted.. I am very disappointed with this straight talk device. I just waisted my money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Most awful product I have ever used

06/11/2014
By ,
Syracuse, Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product it was not activated when sent to me so they thought it was stolen and would not turn on for me to use. Took back to the store gave me a new one. Very hard to use Straight Talk website. I would not waste good money on this pile of junk!!!!! Straight Talk very unhelpful!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Device

11/29/2013
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this 2 days ago after losing a long fight with T-mobile over their mobile hotspot that stopped working and started burning up gigabytes like crazy.
Already I'm impressed with this device. Reception has been great; way better than T-mobile's 4g.
I also think that the rate plans are reasonable as long as you're not doing a lot of video streaming.
I will be travelling for the next 5 months and look forward to having internet access wherever I go.
I understand this is on the Verizon network so reception should be good everywhere. One caution: Read ALL of the instructions before you use it. It's an easy activation via phone. Just have all of your information ready and accessible. Once you've activated it you can set it up on line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+129points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Omaha
Straight talk is better in one aspect.............
Posted 11/30/2013
Just be careful with your usage. If you do the same type of internet surfing you did before you will have the same results except that AT$T for example will keep letting you use gigabyte after gigabyte and if you had used 8 gigs for example, you owe them 80.00 for that month where straight talk will just cut you off after your 4gb if that is the card you purchased before.
+2points
Customer Avatar
gettysbur pa
prices
Posted 11/30/2013
does anyone no how much a month this cost. I currently have Verizon and its 80 a month for 8gb. with kids on computer it eats the gb very fast.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Internet Connection on the Go,very nice product.

11/22/2013
By ,
cedar rapids iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Cedar Rapids,Ia. and I saw this hotspot last week, I'd never heard of St. Talk having a hotspot, so I snapped it up Quick. It is on VERIZON towers, which is the best in my area. The writing in the instruction book is tiny, so get out the mag. glasses. I was really excited to open it up and use it, TAKE your TIME and READ the Instructions. You have to activate it BEFORE you open up the browser 192.168.1.1 like it says to do. Once activated, turn device on (charge it first)and open that address in top address bar of your browser. The username and password are in that instruction book(don't throw away) Once you do that you will be in the program settings for it. I changed the user name and password so I would be able to remember it. It looks like a little rubber hockey puck. Now I don't have to pay Mediacom for internet. I bought the $50 card which is good for 2 months and has 5GB of data. If you are a (lite) internet user, and you only check e-mail and news etc. you could probably get by with the $15 card that is good for 30 days with a 1GB data. They also offer a 30 day card with 2GB for $25, and a 60 day card with 4GB for $40 or a $75 card for 60 days with 7GB. Does NOT have a sim card, it is CDMA VERIZON. Here is a link to the pdf. manual, it can be downloaded, much easier than trying to read the tiny writing in the instruction book.
http://www.straighttalk.com/wps/wcm/connect/d9ff38af-b3cb-4777-a962-b256b381bbc3/U240C_UM_eng.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CACHEID=d9ff38af-b3cb-4777-a962-b256b381bbc3
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+725points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Omaha
Beware of products like this, an unexagerrated ex:
Posted 11/27/2013
It looks good huh, wireless internet for ALL of your devices. Wow! 4 GB for $40.00 for the internet and I can connect 5 devices at once! Sounds too good to be true! Or is it? Now lets see, if you like to watch youtube videos which is STREAMING, that 4GB should last forever right? But wait, it's only been 20 minutes and my family of 5 are loving the speed and everything and then................ STOP! What happened to the internet you guys? It's not working. I better call ST tech support, I know they can help me. What? I used up my $40.00 card? No! That can't be. All 5 of us were only on for 20 minutes and Bam! The internet just stopped. It shows I am connected but nothing is coming through. Ugh! What do you mean streaming video on youtube uses more GB of DATA much more than downloading internet files, ,mp3's, pics etc.... O well, I can just by another $40.00 card, that's all but wow it sure adds up quick. This is a realistic example of what you get with these wireless devices, Verizon, AT&T, ETC, all have similar stuff. I know someone who was TIED down to those low 4gb plans and talk about feeling restrained. He spent upwards of $90 one month and I told him he should get rid of that unit. But if you just want to use it for that very quick check of email and news, (just don't watch the news video because it's streaming too) then it may be ok. Now remember folks, most places have FREE wireless internet no matter where you go to check your email, news and watch streaming video including youtube and spend 2 hours there and have it free. So if you purchase one of these devices and waste your hard earned money on one of those plans on top of it, you will see just how far you go with it. You might as well flush the money you just spent down the toilet. Let's face it, how many of you actually use 4 gb in a matter of hours by yourself lf you like to listen to or watch youtube. Unless your a hermit who only reads text and does not have your pics, flash or video activated in your internet browser, this is the thing for you. I hope after you read the very small print, that you see what you really get and thanks to this review, I just saved you $120.00 for the unit and the monthly plan. So be careful when you see something like this that looks too good to be true because it may just drain your wallet.
+2points
Customer Avatar
boise
can you plug it directly into your laptop?
Posted 11/25/2013
Are you able to plug this directly into your laptop as well or is it wireless only?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Thank You
Posted 11/25/2013
Thank you for being so thorough in explain this device! I personally appreciate it a lot :) Now I looking forward to getting this gizmo :)
0points
Customer Avatar
virginia beach, va
Monthly cost to use
Posted 11/23/2013
If I was to purchase this to use on my ipad how much would the monthly fee be? I already use the phone with straight talk and have been for years but would really like to have this for my other devices
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 20 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Ok product

07/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product is ok if you use the web for email and light surfing. If you watch movies or TV via the web then this is not for you. It's easy to set up, takes only minutes, you refill your data/time via the web using your credit card. One major issues is when you run out of data to use, you have no access to the web to pay for more data. There also seems to be no way of getting an alert of when you are running low on data. Forget calling customer no-service, you are using the straight talk phone tree which is terrible, and when you finally get someone on the line, its hard to hear/understand them. The device seems to turn it self off after a few hours. The internet speed is not that great, but it serves it's purpose as email and slow surfing. It is cheap though, so you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next