Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Straight Talk Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

The Straight Talk WiFi HotSpot allows you to enjoy wireless Internet while on the go. This innovative device requires no contract and can connect more than one device at a time to WiFi. Take it along to the local library or coffee shop for instant access to the Internet. With the Straight Talk mobile hotspot, there is no software to install. As many as five devices can be connected at the same time. It features a user-friendly interface and may be used with a laptop or tablet. There are no monthly fees or charges with the Straight Talk HotSpot (3G) and flexible data cards are available for purchase.
Average Customer Rating:
3.185 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(189 Reviews) 189
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
37
3 stars
15
2 stars
20
1 star
54
Customer Recommendation60%114 out of 189reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
302 Questions | 619 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
37
3 stars
15
2 stars
20
1 star
54
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great mobile internet for a pay as you go service

03/18/2014
By ,
Kernersville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to use at work so I can use my ipad at break and and lunch. I have AT&T for my cell phone and we get really bad service at work and this works great.
This is the cheapest pay as you go mobile hot spot service out there. Surfing is fast and coverage is great. The device feels well made but I really wished it had a LCD screen but I'm quite happy without it.
If you need the ability to browse the internet, then this is the best device. No contract, pay as you and for what you want. Well pleased.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+317points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Love it!!!!

11/29/2013
By ,
Tacoma, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hotspot is fantastic.....I seen it on walmarts site, and went right out a purchased it. I didn't have internet at home...It is perfect for me and my daughter......And simple to use..:)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+369points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Forest Lake
3G Hotspot unit runs with only a 1 GB Data card?
Posted 11/02/2014
What will the 3G Hotspot unit run with only a 1 GB Data Card?
Will it run 2 laptops and an Apple TV?
0points
Customer Avatar
Omaha
Have you wiped out your data card yet???
Posted 12/06/2013
Won't take long for that to happen. Alot of people buy this on a whim then find out how much these cards eat up data up really fast and by that time it's time to buy another one. You might get a few hours or a few days or maybe even a week out of these plans but you will soon see how much those data cards will go through your wallet in no time. Read my review under wurlitzer11
-6points
Customer Avatar
Thomasville GA
So far, not bad
Posted 11/30/2013
Just bought it today (11/30/13). Upload speed in Thomasville GA was 1.26Mbps download 0.74Mbps per speedtest.net. In comparison, my cable is 5.37Mbps upload and and 1.02 download. WiFi signal strength is excellent.
The pre-paid plans are excellent, about $10 per GB.
Setting up was OK. Setup for wireless security was easy. However, I couldn't figure out how to change the password for the home screen for the device. Whenever I tried this I could not get access to my home screen with either the old or the new passwords. I had do a master rest to get the original userid and password active again. I bet this will take a firmware upgrade to fix. I don't think this is a big issue for security. People have to access the device first via the secure network, before they can get at the home screen.
The next big thing for me is to see how long the battery lasts in a standby mode, with the wireless on. I would trade a weaker wifi strength for a longer battery life.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Hard to set up, but worth the wait!

10/09/2014
By ,
Browerville, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am so glad I researched this item online before purchasing. I found a great blog that gave step by step instructions on how to set this up. Without that, it would have been a disaster as the instructions included were not nearly clear enough. The wifi does work in the middle of nowhere where our cabin is located, with this mobile hotspot. It seems to need recharging quite often, so we just leave it plugged in. It can be slow at certain times, but all in all, it was a good buy. Once you pay the $80 for the gadget itself, you just buy a data card for $15 or $25 depending on the amount of data you use and that is it. Way cheaper than what we pay at home in the cities. Because we are not the most tech-savvy people in the world, we first had to figure out how to connect one of our phones to a laptop long enough to get on the internet to find the Straight Talk website and get it going. That was a little frustrating, but like I said, once you get it going, it works fine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

needs help

08/24/2014
By ,
merrillville.in
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have not been able to get it to work
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
-17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Bobthebear
Posted 08/28/2014
Does the unit show that you are receiving a signal? Take a picture of the screen and post it. That will really help figure this out for you. I've had several and I know what I'm talking about
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

If you do not use it frequently, service disabled

08/22/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this for use on weekends at a location without internet so we only use it once or twice a month. It seems when you do not use it for a week or more your service is disabled and there is nothing you can do yourself to reactivate it. You MUST call the service center to have technical support "update" your account information. It happens every time we do not use it for a week.
Secondly, the fact that you can choose to add more data using data cards is nice BUT BUT BUT you cannot load them on top of each other. If you have 500MB of data left, up load a new card, YOU LOSE the 500MB you had left and it updates with whatever your card amount was. IN order to not lose data MBs that you paid for you have to try and time it to when you reach almost 0MB left but have just enough to process the update OR you are calling the service center again to "update" your account information.
I would not get Straight talk again. Choose another vendor.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+130points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Just what I needed

09/14/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a truck driver and need internet access to book loads, check my settlements, fuel account etc. I have had a U.S. Cellular USB modem that I got only because we had had their phone service for many years and I didn't know any better. The service was extremely slow and coverage very limited. I could be in downtown Chicago and not load a page. I had 5 gigs per month for 52.00 but couldn't use it because the service was so bad. I wanted to get on the verizon network because they have the best coverage map, but didn't want to get into another contract.My grown son kept telling me to get on Straight Talk and I finally pulled the trigger.
The difference is amazing. I can load pages on the road as fast as I can at home with Broadband. I've used it in IL,IN,KY,IA,OH and MO so far and have never had a problem. I have not yet used it to watch Netflix etc. yet because I want to get a handle on my monthly usage for the business but based on past experience I expect the data to cost less than half of what US Cellular was charging me. This may not be the answer for everyone but it's just what I needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Burned through 1GB Data Allotment in two days

07/10/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The device itself was easy to setup following the instructions. The device worked as promoted. The downside is the data usage seems off. I burned through almost 1 GB in two days with minimal usage other than checking email, facebook, a couple hours of internet browsing and downloading one Kindle book. We did not use our devices to stream any video, pictures etc.
To put this in perspective we own several ios devices with data plans on AT&T and one device (Ipad mini) on Tmobile, and have a Tmobile 3G hotspot. None of my other devices even come close to this rate of data usage for the activities listed above. Something is just not right.
So I called straight talk customer support. They do not have any tools available to track data usage. I was told that they bill in 1KB increments. I plan to do some more experimentation using my ios devices ability to track data usage.
Wondering if anyone has noticed the same problem or figured out any solutions?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+156points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
texas
hotspot
Posted 12/05/2014
just make sure you have a password to login so that anyone close to you doesnt login on your acct. i almost made that mistake. had go back into my acct and the device and setup password. hope this helps
0points
Customer Avatar
Plymouth, IN
Straightalk Hotspot
Posted 09/22/2014
Il also have had trouble with Straightalk burning up data fast. I have had my hotspot since Dec. of 2013 and just this month I was told I used 2 GB in less than 3 weeks, NO WAY!!! I called asking what happened to my Sept 3 $50 renew got a run around. My husband put another $75 worth of dated back on to get the computer up and running but this will be last time I use Straightalk. I only have 1 laptop I down load no games or movies were did data go?
+3points
Customer Avatar
Update on Orignal Review
Posted 07/12/2014
I did further testing on data usage and found that my device useage charged by Straight Talk was pretty close. I found the ios Dataman app very helpful. What I realized was my devices used more data when on wifi then when using a straight 3G data connection. My ios devices are configured to not use 3G for many apps and background processes. Unfortunately you cannot configure wifi with the same restrictions. Also I was able to track significant data useage by my device when not being used. One device I monitored used close to 100 meg overnight.
My recommendation to stretch your data allot is to only turn the device when you are actively using wifi.
I would recommend the device and give it a higher rating if I could edit my orIginal review.
+27points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 8 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

performance issues

08/25/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
no, i currently don't own the device, but i plan to purchase it soon for our rv.
i'm a very seasoned PC person with a Master's in Computer Science. I am very knowledgeable in communication theory. I'd like to try to explain some performance issues.
1) 3G is only rated to transmit at 200 kbits per second. That puts it well behind wired Ethernet and current wi-fi speeds.
2) Almost all communications media advertise their "top" speed. In reality, most communications speeds fall way short of their advertised speeds (due to interference, media sharing, etc).
3) Almost all communications media have a "fall-back" protocol. They always try to initiate communications at their highest speed, but if they fail, they will "fall-back" to their next lowest speed. This continues until they can no longer communicate and they will drop the connection.
Maybe too much information, but i hope it helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+136points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Product...

08/06/2014
By ,
St. Helen, Mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This unit is a great unit if you are in a spot where high speed cable, DSL, or Satellite can't be an option... The service is through Verizon Wireless Cellular Towers. It is manufactured by a company called UNIMAX. It produces its own version. There version is the same... Other then it is more expensive... The service is more per month also. I bought a 5gb card for the two month time limit. I have been surfing the web all day and haven't used that much pre paid data. I was informed that the more data you use (Netflix, youtube, web radio, ect.) it will be less effective. For the use of web surfing its great. You can use up to 5 devices on this unit. If your in a dead spot or get a yellow or red signal reading. You can invest in a Cellphone Tower Repeater on ebay. They have to run on 850mhz 3g towers. 1900 MHz tower work 4g. So look up if your area is within 12 to 15 miles from your location. If you have hills around you with tree's signals with decrease. Therefore you will need a Cellular repeater. Otherwise its a great unit. The time or gigs you buy are for 2 months. Not like regular Verizon, Att, ect. So enjoy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

It doesn't work, at least not for long

09/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this about 6 weeks ago. I set it up, and it worked fine for a few day. Then, after not using it for a few weeks, I turned it on, and it wouldn't connect to the internet. I could connect my laptop to it, and everything seemed to be configured correctly, but it wouldn't connect to the internet. I called Straight Talk customer service, and reset it and updated the PRL as instructed (several times). Eventually we got it working again. I tried using it again a few days ago, and was having the same problem again. I contacted customer service again, and was eventually told that I had to talk to another department that was "closed today." I was told that I should call back tomorrow. The representative wouldn't tell me the name of the department I had to talk to, and hung up on me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

You must put personal info on Facebook to activate

11/22/2014
By ,
Keyport, Wa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nothing on the box says you must set up a Facebook account to activate the device. I don't want my name, address, phone number and email address in a public place. They don't need my personal info to do this. It can all be managed with a password & pin. Activating by phone was useless. They get a little info then send you back to the website to finish; where you have to give up your info. There is no number marked "Customer Service". One number offers it on the LAST choice on the automated phone system. Never got to talk to a human. This is some of the worst "Customer Service" I've ever seen. I bought it today; it's going back tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Not true
Posted 12/08/2014
I don't have a facebook account and I have this device setup and running. I had to call customer service do to a minor glitch during setup and talked to real people, all was taken care of satisfactorily.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Great Hotspot w/ Verizon Coverage

03/16/2014
By ,
Auburn, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this hotspot is limited to 3G you could not ask for better coverage across both urban and rural areas. I did not want to pay the higher monthly cost of a Verizon hotspot and was willing to live without 4g. It works well with my Win7 laptop, Win 8.1 tablet, and Google Chromebook. Great for data on the go at a low cost, just don't expect to replace your cable/dsl broadband with it.
Warning: Straight Talk will waste an hour of your time activating the hotspot on the phone. They would not allow it to be activated online for me and instead left me in customer service limbo with a gentleman who most likely was not from this country and could not understand me very well.
After it was finished getting activated it was easy enough to change the network settings on the device (it comes unsecured by default). Be careful changing admin login settings as it did not seem to work right when I did.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+128points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
norman, ok
great value
Posted 05/19/2014
we live in an area we can hardly get a signal , but this device has been outstanding, it is economical an realialbe who needs at&t or sprints high prices ??
the 4gb $40.00 plan is good for two months and if your not downloading a lot of videos it will last two months! half the price of the other companies !!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Solid hotspot on the cheap

11/05/2014
By ,
Madison, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've heard bad things about the straight talk hotspot that it is difficult to setup, slow, and just all around very bad. In all honesty, it's actually really good...for what you pay. To put it blunt, setup was absolutely terrible. In the quick start guide it said to connect to it and open your browser and go to 192.168.0.1, but when I tried it, nothing loaded. Then I looked in the thicker quick manual and that one said to visit 192.168.1.1 which did work. Then my browser asked for a username AND password, the guides only told you what the password was. After a few tries with no username, I tried "admin" (no quotes) as the username, that worked. I later downloaded the manual off straight talks website and that had everything correct (web address and a listed username). Once logged in, activation was very easy and so was changing the network name and creating a password. You will need to create a password as by default it's an open network meaning someone near you could connect and start using up your data. Once setup, speeds were really fast in my area, peaked at 2mbit/sec which is very fast for 3G and was a pretty consistent 1.2-5 mbit/sec download. After a few days I did noticed the download was really slow (around 0.2-4 mbit/sec), but a simple PRL update from the admin interface solved it. So overall, for the cost for data per month, this is a solid buy for a hotspot on the cheap. The only thing that I would like to see different is a password on the network from the factory and your remaining data balance in the admin interface as well as quick start guides that are all on the same page.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

NEVER A DEAD SPOT...REALLY

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is a MUST... I am surprised how well it works. Wife needed to stay in touch on the net using her Fire Kindle while out away from home.
To Her surprise AND Mine, it works for a long time on the first 15$ card still in use. She has been away with it for over a week, using it every day and has plenty of usage left.
Even her sister can tap into the little unit to go on line (both on line and it reacts FAST). ONLY One charge of the little units battery has been needed so far.
Very VERY Satisfied...
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Disappointed & We use ours A Lot

10/04/2014
By ,
Crestview, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you don't mind getting booted OFF the internet 40 times
during an hours use and also LOSING Mbps TO GET BACK
ON-LINE EVERY TIME YOU RECONNECT (I was told this by Straight Talk
Customer Service when they explained to me how I might have used
One gig in one day)- then, by all means, get yourself a Straight Talk Hotspot.
By the way, our frequent disconnect problem is not a weak signal to the cell tower.
We have a very strong cell phone signal where our hotspot keeps getting disconnected.
P.S. I was disconnected several times while trying to complete this review process.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

works as expected...

08/04/2014
By ,
rockhill, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchased this for use for me and my wife when camping (RV)...runs on verizon network so i get good coverage...have had no issues. i seen some people complaining about other people being able to connect to it and use up the data package, but if you set up the security (dont leave it set to "open") you wont have any issues..use it mainly with our Ipads, and speeds were really fast, a lot faster than i expected. like the fact that they have different data packages i can buy. usually just buy the 1gb card since we only use it when we are on the road and that's plenty for us to use with our pads for a few days to a week out of the month when camping. (as long as you are not watching Tv shows or movies) when not using camping, like during the winter, i just let the plan run out then reactivate as needed...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Good product....but GB's disappear quickly..

04/05/2014
By ,
Rock Hill, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was one of the last "dial up" customers and was forced to find another source for my internet. The "HotSpot" works as described....very good signal strength at my location....it is easy to operate....There is one serious drawback....Even though my old dial up was slower....it was unlimited....I started with a 1 GB card with the hotspot just to see how long it would last for me.....I don't do U Tube , any streaming video or movies....basically check my email, do banking and manage my healthcare on the VA website and play a few games on a social website. The ! GB only lasts me about 2 weeks.....and I was seriously limiting my time online as I saw how fast my card was being used up. Living on a fixed income I have to keep my bills down....so even though the Hotspot is good service it means alot less time online for me now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Do Not Buy On the Internet

08/16/2014
By ,
Alameda, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WARNING: This product's bar code needs to be scanned before it can be activated. I purchased it on the Internet and the bar code was not scanned. The customer service at Straight Talk is terrible. No one can straighten out the problem. It took them two days to tell me to FAX them a scan of the bar code. Since I did, they said it would be another 72 hours before they can activate my device.
My best guess is that I will have to take the device into a store so they can scan the bar code. My advice is to buy it at a store in the first place.
My poor rating is based entirely on the activation of the device. Once I get it activated, I will write a review on its performance. I am still hopeful it is good device based on the technical information.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

Maybe good for a one person

04/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have used this product for the past 2 weeks and will be returning it. I bought it to hopefully lower my monthly fees. It would work OK for just me because I do not stream videos or music. If you only need to use the internet a few times a week for social media or research, then this product will lower your monthly bills. However, if you use the internet daily and stream anything then you will use up at least 1 GB in a day. That is 30 GB a month or $300 of cards. Better off getting a monthly service for $40 to $50. If you share this product with even one person even if you don't stream anything then forget it and buy a monthly service. I only see this product as useful for one person who needs it infrequently or for on the road if they want more security then using a public wi-fi. Also people complained about the security. It is unsecured until you go in and change it. Just click on Wi-Fi and change the security to WPA2-PSK. If you leave it open then other people nearby my use your Wi-Fi which is how some people may see their GB used up quickly. One more thing, the internet is slow. Seems to run about the same as when I had AT&T which ran at 2.5 to 3.0 mps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk WiFi Mobile HotSpot (3G)

No help with product service

09/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought the hotspot and a data card for a recent long trip in our RV. After talking to a tech for over an hour it was up and running. The hot spot worked from good to excellent depending on the strength of service. Luckily we have a Verizon phone and since the hot spot uses Verizon towers I could tell by checking the phone how good my wifi was likely to be. All was well for about a month. I had good wifi one evening at a campsite but the next morning...hadn't moved, same spot...we had no service. As in zippo service. As we were moving on to another area that day I waited until that evening to try again. Once more, no wifi but the hot spot showed excellent signal. I used the campground wifi service to go online and had an online chat with customer service. After an hour out of my life that I will never get back I was finally told that I needed to call the service number and talk to a person live which I did. Another hour on the phone went by until I was finally told (I am not making this up) that, "The mobile hot spot is not to be used except in the zip code in which it was registered and they would be glad to change the zip code to the area I was in but I would have to remain there in order for it to work." After asking him to repeat himself twice to make sure I understood him correctly, I said I would return the hotspot to the next Walmart we came to, thanked him and hung up. Then I remembered the old truism...if your computer is hung up, turn it off and reboot. I got a paper clip and punched it into the tiny hole on the unit, it rebooted and continued to work very well on the rest of the trip. My point is that this product could be rated a five all the way at least if you are using it as we did as we traveled in an RV for email, some web surfing and so on. Much cheaper than a contract if you just need the service for short and periodic times. Don't think it would be all that great as your only wifi service. The biggest problem is with the tech service...not once did anyone suggest a reboot and I would think that would have been the first suggestion. I finally found the paper clip suggestion in tiny print on the documentation and would suggest to anyone having this problem to reboot and save yourself the aggravation of contacting support.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 189 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next