Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Straight Talk Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

The Straight Talk WiFi HotSpot allows you to enjoy wireless Internet while on the go. This innovative device requires no contract and can connect more than one device at a time to WiFi. Take it along to the local library or coffee shop for instant access to the Internet. With the Straight Talk mobile hotspot, there is no software to install. As many as five devices can be connected at the same time. It features a user-friendly interface and may be used with a laptop or tablet. There are no monthly fees or charges with the Straight Talk HotSpot (3G) and flexible data cards are available for purchase.
Average Customer Rating:
3.065 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(230 Reviews) 230
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
42
3 stars
18
2 stars
25
1 star
73
Customer Recommendation56%129 out of 230reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
371 Questions | 706 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
42
3 stars
18
2 stars
25
1 star
73
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Beware huge security risk

04/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One big reason I got this hotspot is so I can carry my own private wifi network with me when traveling, not rely on unsecure public or hotel networks. But I discovered by accident that the device defaults to NO SECURITY AT ALL. In other words the guy sitting next to you in the airport may be connected to your hotspot and sucking up the data you paid for, never mind maybe hacking into your computer, and you will never know.
You can set up security via the Wifi tab on the setup home page, but you are not prompted to do that and the available codes are complicated and over the head of the average user. Straight Talk should change the default settings so that connecting requires entering a password, like the serial number of the device, that confirms you have physical possession of it. Until they do, your security is up to you. Good advice available online via Google, the owners manual is useless for this.
Other than the security risk, the device is easy to set up, battery life is good, and it works well as long as there is Verizon available. A good choice if you only need your own wifi occasionally, because you can let it go dormant when you are not traveling and then re-activate it any time you need it (1 GB/30 days minimum).
Recommends this product? Yes
+186points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Clarksville, TN
Does have a Secure security
Posted 06/02/2014
I got my I went in setup. it does have security all you need to change from Open to WPA or WPA 2 or WEP inside.
I have No problem. I set in WPA 2.
as long don't set a OPEN to Public. change to any WEP or WPA in setting.
Hope this Help.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Good unit for internet access in 3g areas.

12/11/2013
By ,
Chatham, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got the hotspot to access the 3g coverage. I have been using an old MiFi 2200 that is extremely slow and wanted to see how this would work in our area. It was a little bit of a gamble, but knowing that it worked on the Verizon signal and that Verizon is the best network in our area prompted me to try it out. I normally use about 2 GB of data a month with my old system, with this I used up a GB in 5 days. I can watch movies on NetFlix now if I want to, but the data usage would be through the roof. Also upgrading my speed caused YouTube to upgrade my video streaming and that burned through some serious data. Straight Talk also has some issues to deal with... having reserve or auto pay for this device would be senseless unless you know you won't use up your data in the allotted time. If you use up your data before the end of the date cycle of the card you will have to call Straight Talk to manage your reserve cause you can't do it online without internet access. I suppose if I got a smart phone I could recharge it there, but Straight Talk needs to revamp the system to keep the unit going as long as I have data in reserve! Otherwise, WHAT'S THE POINT!? It is kind of like having a spare tire, but leaving it at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
Verizon signal?
Posted 12/16/2013
"...knowing that it worked on the Verizon signal and that Verizon is the best network in our area.."
What exactly shows which network it operates on? I was able to figure this out for their no-contract phones, but where does it give this information for the HotSpot device?
Thanks for a great review!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Disappointed & We use ours A Lot

10/04/2014
By ,
Crestview, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you don't mind getting booted OFF the internet 40 times
during an hours use and also LOSING Mbps TO GET BACK
ON-LINE EVERY TIME YOU RECONNECT (I was told this by Straight Talk
Customer Service when they explained to me how I might have used
One gig in one day)- then, by all means, get yourself a Straight Talk Hotspot.
By the way, our frequent disconnect problem is not a weak signal to the cell tower.
We have a very strong cell phone signal where our hotspot keeps getting disconnected.
P.S. I was disconnected several times while trying to complete this review process.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Great Device

11/29/2013
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this 2 days ago after losing a long fight with T-mobile over their mobile hotspot that stopped working and started burning up gigabytes like crazy.
Already I'm impressed with this device. Reception has been great; way better than T-mobile's 4g.
I also think that the rate plans are reasonable as long as you're not doing a lot of video streaming.
I will be travelling for the next 5 months and look forward to having internet access wherever I go.
I understand this is on the Verizon network so reception should be good everywhere. One caution: Read ALL of the instructions before you use it. It's an easy activation via phone. Just have all of your information ready and accessible. Once you've activated it you can set it up on line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+135points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Omaha
Straight talk is better in one aspect.............
Posted 11/30/2013
Just be careful with your usage. If you do the same type of internet surfing you did before you will have the same results except that AT$T for example will keep letting you use gigabyte after gigabyte and if you had used 8 gigs for example, you owe them 80.00 for that month where straight talk will just cut you off after your 4gb if that is the card you purchased before.
+2points
Customer Avatar
gettysbur pa
prices
Posted 11/30/2013
does anyone no how much a month this cost. I currently have Verizon and its 80 a month for 8gb. with kids on computer it eats the gb very fast.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 25 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Best price for a hotspot using Verizon's network.

12/12/2013
By ,
Aiken, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Verizon jetpack 4G hotspot, and while it worked well, I had to pay $60 a month for 3 gb of data. Because this one is limited to 3G speeds, the monthly cost is dramatically lower. 3G is more than adequate for email, some Internet browsing, social networks, and even the occasional YouTube video. However, if you think this is the way to get cheap access to Netflix and other data-intense streaming services, you'll be disappointed. The speed won't be enough, and you'll burn through your allotted data in no time. For frequent travelers like myself, the ability to have affordable, basic Internet and email on the road makes it highly attractive. If your data consumption is low, this is the way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+235points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Internet Connection on the Go,very nice product.

11/22/2013
By ,
cedar rapids iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Cedar Rapids,Ia. and I saw this hotspot last week, I'd never heard of St. Talk having a hotspot, so I snapped it up Quick. It is on VERIZON towers, which is the best in my area. The writing in the instruction book is tiny, so get out the mag. glasses. I was really excited to open it up and use it, TAKE your TIME and READ the Instructions. You have to activate it BEFORE you open up the browser 192.168.1.1 like it says to do. Once activated, turn device on (charge it first)and open that address in top address bar of your browser. The username and password are in that instruction book(don't throw away) Once you do that you will be in the program settings for it. I changed the user name and password so I would be able to remember it. It looks like a little rubber hockey puck. Now I don't have to pay Mediacom for internet. I bought the $50 card which is good for 2 months and has 5GB of data. If you are a (lite) internet user, and you only check e-mail and news etc. you could probably get by with the $15 card that is good for 30 days with a 1GB data. They also offer a 30 day card with 2GB for $25, and a 60 day card with 4GB for $40 or a $75 card for 60 days with 7GB. Does NOT have a sim card, it is CDMA VERIZON. Here is a link to the pdf. manual, it can be downloaded, much easier than trying to read the tiny writing in the instruction book.
http://www.straighttalk.com/wps/wcm/connect/d9ff38af-b3cb-4777-a962-b256b381bbc3/U240C_UM_eng.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CACHEID=d9ff38af-b3cb-4777-a962-b256b381bbc3
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+981points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Omaha
Beware of products like this, an unexagerrated ex:
Posted 11/27/2013
It looks good huh, wireless internet for ALL of your devices. Wow! 4 GB for $40.00 for the internet and I can connect 5 devices at once! Sounds too good to be true! Or is it? Now lets see, if you like to watch youtube videos which is STREAMING, that 4GB should last forever right? But wait, it's only been 20 minutes and my family of 5 are loving the speed and everything and then................ STOP! What happened to the internet you guys? It's not working. I better call ST tech support, I know they can help me. What? I used up my $40.00 card? No! That can't be. All 5 of us were only on for 20 minutes and Bam! The internet just stopped. It shows I am connected but nothing is coming through. Ugh! What do you mean streaming video on youtube uses more GB of DATA much more than downloading internet files, ,mp3's, pics etc.... O well, I can just by another $40.00 card, that's all but wow it sure adds up quick. This is a realistic example of what you get with these wireless devices, Verizon, AT&T, ETC, all have similar stuff. I know someone who was TIED down to those low 4gb plans and talk about feeling restrained. He spent upwards of $90 one month and I told him he should get rid of that unit. But if you just want to use it for that very quick check of email and news, (just don't watch the news video because it's streaming too) then it may be ok. Now remember folks, most places have FREE wireless internet no matter where you go to check your email, news and watch streaming video including youtube and spend 2 hours there and have it free. So if you purchase one of these devices and waste your hard earned money on one of those plans on top of it, you will see just how far you go with it. You might as well flush the money you just spent down the toilet. Let's face it, how many of you actually use 4 gb in a matter of hours by yourself lf you like to listen to or watch youtube. Unless your a hermit who only reads text and does not have your pics, flash or video activated in your internet browser, this is the thing for you. I hope after you read the very small print, that you see what you really get and thanks to this review, I just saved you $120.00 for the unit and the monthly plan. So be careful when you see something like this that looks too good to be true because it may just drain your wallet.
+2points
Customer Avatar
boise
can you plug it directly into your laptop?
Posted 11/25/2013
Are you able to plug this directly into your laptop as well or is it wireless only?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Thank You
Posted 11/25/2013
Thank you for being so thorough in explain this device! I personally appreciate it a lot :) Now I looking forward to getting this gizmo :)
0points
Customer Avatar
virginia beach, va
Monthly cost to use
Posted 11/23/2013
If I was to purchase this to use on my ipad how much would the monthly fee be? I already use the phone with straight talk and have been for years but would really like to have this for my other devices
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 27 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Terrible Service and Support

12/30/2014
By ,
College Station, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this HotSpot to use while out of town working. I have been unable to use the product just as much as I've been able to use it. I have had to call support once a month for three months straight to get them to fix an issue on their end. I might add that tech support is EXTREMELY poor. The reps are based overseas and simply go down a checklist to resolve your issue. When they get to the end of the checklist and the issue isn't resolved, they start back at the top and have you repeat all the steps you previously completed. Each time the unit wouldn't connect and I called support they told me that it was an issue on their end and that they had to "refresh the unit". I was told that there is nothing they can do to prevent this from happening again and that I would have to keep calling when the issue arises.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Do Not Buy On the Internet

08/16/2014
By ,
Alameda, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WARNING: This product's bar code needs to be scanned before it can be activated. I purchased it on the Internet and the bar code was not scanned. The customer service at Straight Talk is terrible. No one can straighten out the problem. It took them two days to tell me to FAX them a scan of the bar code. Since I did, they said it would be another 72 hours before they can activate my device.
My best guess is that I will have to take the device into a store so they can scan the bar code. My advice is to buy it at a store in the first place.
My poor rating is based entirely on the activation of the device. Once I get it activated, I will write a review on its performance. I am still hopeful it is good device based on the technical information.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Works like a charm!

03/05/2014
By ,
Denver, Co.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my camper. Brought it back and followed the directions for install. It would have been a smooth install IF... I could understand the operator. Witch was a little frustrating but after hanging up with the operator i opened the book and followed everything i might have missed. Fired right up. Now remember wherever your going to use this you have to have a cell phone signal for a Verizon tower. The stronger the signal the less lag you will get.
I loaded the 1 GB card that comes with the device. I also purchased a 5 GB card for $50 but want to see how fast 1 GB gets used.
All in all I set it up with minimal effort. ( if you can follow instructions its quite simple. As a mater of fact i am sitting in the middle of the woods in the Rockies typing this in my camper.. way cool i might add lol
I play games without lag.. i have 4 out of 5 bars here on my phone and its with the same company. How fast the usage goes has yet to be discovered. I've been on most of the day tho watching YouTube videos. So far video has no lag. I'm impressed. I have cable internet at home and I can see its a little slower but not much it sure isn't as slow as old dial up. Anyways... hope this helped you and for those who want to know I bought this device because its my cell phone provider also. The price was good and i can reload anytime with my cc online wherever I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+205points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SEattle
DON'T BUY
Posted 07/20/2014
The first one I bought didn't work at all. The replacement worked for 2 weeks and never worked again. AVOID!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Solid hotspot on the cheap

11/05/2014
By ,
Madison, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've heard bad things about the straight talk hotspot that it is difficult to setup, slow, and just all around very bad. In all honesty, it's actually really good...for what you pay. To put it blunt, setup was absolutely terrible. In the quick start guide it said to connect to it and open your browser and go to 192.168.0.1, but when I tried it, nothing loaded. Then I looked in the thicker quick manual and that one said to visit 192.168.1.1 which did work. Then my browser asked for a username AND password, the guides only told you what the password was. After a few tries with no username, I tried "admin" (no quotes) as the username, that worked. I later downloaded the manual off straight talks website and that had everything correct (web address and a listed username). Once logged in, activation was very easy and so was changing the network name and creating a password. You will need to create a password as by default it's an open network meaning someone near you could connect and start using up your data. Once setup, speeds were really fast in my area, peaked at 2mbit/sec which is very fast for 3G and was a pretty consistent 1.2-5 mbit/sec download. After a few days I did noticed the download was really slow (around 0.2-4 mbit/sec), but a simple PRL update from the admin interface solved it. So overall, for the cost for data per month, this is a solid buy for a hotspot on the cheap. The only thing that I would like to see different is a password on the network from the factory and your remaining data balance in the admin interface as well as quick start guides that are all on the same page.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Great Product (step-by-step setup instructions)

03/15/2014
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up tip! Like many other reviewers, I couldn't access 192.168.1.1. These instructions are provided so that even the most inexperienced computer user can follow along and easily set up their new hotspot.
1. Locate the red card that says START HERE! Follow the 4 steps on the card in order to activate your hotspot. Keep this handy as you will need the serial number shortly.
2. Turn on your hotspot by holding down the power button until all 5 indicator lights come on (5-10 seconds or so).
3. On your computer:
A. Click the start icon (it looks like the windows logo inside a bubble)
B. Roll your mouse over CONTROL PANEL and left click
C. Click on NETWORK AND INTERNET
D. Click on CONNECT TO A NETWORK (under network and sharing center)
E. Locate your device and click on it (starts with UMX$)
F. Click on CONNECT
G. Open your internet browser (internet explorer, google chrome, firefox, etc.)
H. In the top line where you put in web addresses, type in 192.168.1.1 and press enter.
4. Go back to your red card and open it up. You are now ready to begin Step #3 under the letter A. Now just follow the rest of the instructions on the card and you'll be surfing the web in no time.
You can do an internet search for data use estimator and find about how much data you might need to purchase (I was unable to paste a link into this review.) My suggestion is to buy less, not more, data than you think you will need. When you refill your hotspot, make sure there is no remaining data on your account or you will lose it... the refill doesn't ADD to your data, it starts it over. For example, if I still had 1.5GB of data and I refilled the device with 4GB of data, I wouldn't have 5.5GB, I would have 4GB.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+379points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

NEVER A DEAD SPOT...REALLY

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is a MUST... I am surprised how well it works. Wife needed to stay in touch on the net using her Fire Kindle while out away from home.
To Her surprise AND Mine, it works for a long time on the first 15$ card still in use. She has been away with it for over a week, using it every day and has plenty of usage left.
Even her sister can tap into the little unit to go on line (both on line and it reacts FAST). ONLY One charge of the little units battery has been needed so far.
Very VERY Satisfied...
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Just stopped working after a few minutes

06/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just stopped working after a few minutes had to add more minutes to get it to even though I was no where near the limit. Plan is a waste of money.
Recommends this product? No
From TracFone Wireless07/03/2015
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. In order to get this resolved, we would need to gather more information. To better assist you, please send us an email at ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straighttalk.com. Please include your name, phone number and the serial number or the IMEI/MEID of the phone. TracFoneWireless
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

not what I expected

04/09/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had this for quite a while. I live out in the middle of nowhere, but get decent coverage, so it's been worth it. The things I don't like are: it turns off if you stay at the same place for awhile while downloading, Customer service is hard to reach and hard to understand, you have to check constantly to make sure you don't run out, and worst of all is that it doesn't roll over, so even if you have 500MB left when the 30 days (or how ever long you purchase it for), tough luck, you lose it. I'm in the market for something else.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

It's not the product, it's the service

05/12/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
All I’ve ever used this mobile hotspot for was to check e-mail. No videos, no music. I turned it on, read my e-mail and answered it, using the device for a maximum of two hours a day, usually much less. I had it password protected from the get-go, and kept track of my data usage. I thought the best way to give this company the sort of review that it earned would be a transcript of a “customer service” session.
1.
2. Chat History
3. Arlene has entered the session.
Patricia: This is my reference number for a question already submitted
631667
Arlene: Hi Patricia. Thank you for visiting Straight Talk Wireless.
Arlene: Alright. Please allow me few a minutes to check your account first.
Patricia: Do I need to redescribe my problem or is my reference number enough?
Arlene: One moment please...
Arlene: I do not have any reference or notes which regards with your question.
Arlene: What was it?
Patricia: Ah. Good thing I saved it all as a word document.
Arlene: I am sorry for this.
Patricia: I have a mobile hotspot. My service is slow and cuts off randomly. It can take five minutes for a page to load. And:
I wrote this on April 24th :
Service cut off at Midnight
1. If I am on auto-refill why does my service always cut off at midnight on the day it’s supposed to renew? It seems it should be continuous. The whole idea behind the auto-refill is that it’s “no hassle.” It was supposed to refill on April 24th but as soon as it was the 24th it cut off and I was without service until noon.
2. When I called customer service everything the representative suggested I do was totally useless.
3. Suddenly the service connected after all those attempts failed. I was not doing anything. I could not get into the web site with the numerical address at all—couldn’t log in—so I know that wasn't it.
4. Once again I was deducted for data “USED” while I was wasting time trying to get online. When I finally got internet access my data was already partially depleted.
5. Today, I got cut off, twice. Right after the refill was finally processed. I could not have used up all my data in three hours.
6. The connection is so slow I have to keep a book on hand to read while waiting for web pages to load.
7. The service is so bad I drove in to my office to send this message because I realized it’s faster to do that than to try to use your service. And the whole reason I even got the service was to save time so I wouldn’t have to drive to the office to get on the internet. Why am I spending fifteen dollars a month on this? It’s not worth even fifteen dollars. I don’t spend that much on gas going to the office. And the minutes I spend waiting for pages to load are at least as many or more than I’d spend driving.
Arlene: One moment please...
Arlene: It shows that you already used the 1GB of data from your hotspot device that is the reason why your data speed was reduced. You will have slow speed of data until a new plan is added to your device.
Patricia: I checked a day ago and I had 500 or so MB left. And my point is:
I waste time online trying to get help'
I waste time trying to get online and I waste time waiting for pages to load and then I am charged for those minutes,
The point is my money and time are wasted,
And what about the cutting off at midnight when I’m on auto refill?
Arlene: Your automatic refill will be process every service end date of the plan.
Patricia: Really? Then why do end up with half a day or more with no service every time? WHY DOES IT CUT OFF HOURS AT A TIME?
Arlene: It will not be added automatically if your 1GB was reach.One moment please...
Patricia: I just checked my balance and it is not used up. I have 474.5 MB of Web Browsing left. I have never used up my whole balance, ever.
Arlene: If you are not using the internet. You need to make sure that you are no longer connected to your hotspot device because it will keep running even if you are not using it. It will cause the slow speed of data.
Patricia: I turn the thing off as soon as I'm done using it, every time. There is something wrong with your service, is that clear?
Arlene: Let me check the exact balance.
Patricia: I have it on my screen right now. I'm on the computer in my office.
Arlene: I need to check it as well.
Patricia: Will you be able to explain and resolve the cutting off at midnight and lack of service until half-way through the next day on my renewal dates? This happens whether I have 30 MB left or 100.
Patricia: And the slowness happens even right after I renew. It is 100% irrelevant to how much data I have left.
Arlene: I am sorry but, here in my system. You already used the entire 1GB of data plan that cause the data speed to slow. I cannot troubleshoot the device since it is clearly shows in our system that all the data was used.
Patricia: Your system is a mess.
Arlene: We can be able to troubleshoot the device if it shows that you have not yet used all the GB from your plan but if it displays that the data plan were used, we will only advice you to purchase a new data card.
Arlene: I am sorry for this.
Patricia: This has been useless.
Arlene: Do you have any further questions or concerns?
Patricia: No. Wasted my time. Done.
Arlene: Thank you for chatting with Straight Talk Wireless. If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact one of our customer care representatives at 1-877-430-2355. For your convenience, our representatives are available Monday-Sunday from 8:00 AM to 11:45 PM EST.
Arlene has exited the session.
You are the only user left in the session.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

GARBAGE

04/08/2014
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this for my father's birthday. The hotspot lasted for about 1 month and would no longer connect to a cell service. After speaking with a service rep, a ticket was made for replacement. This ticket was lost by Straight Talk and I had to make another ticket to return. Finally, the hotspot was replaced about 2 weeks later. Great, Dad was back in business! Not for long, this one lasted another month and stopped connecting to a cell service again. Tired of playing this game, I tried to return it to Walmart with no luck, purchase was more than 90 days. Tried to return to Straight Talk with no luck, purchase was more than 30 days. No one wanted to hear that it was more than 90 days, but only worked for 60 days. STAY AWAY, I THREW MINE IN THE GARBAGE !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

Works half the time

06/23/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Works intermittently. Runs off of a Verizon tower as does my phone. This doesn't have as good of a signal. The internal battery is completely dead and will not hold a charge after only owning it about 6 months. Buy a warranty
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

You must put personal info on Facebook to activate

11/22/2014
By ,
Keyport, Wa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nothing on the box says you must set up a Facebook account to activate the device. I don't want my name, address, phone number and email address in a public place. They don't need my personal info to do this. It can all be managed with a password & pin. Activating by phone was useless. They get a little info then send you back to the website to finish; where you have to give up your info. There is no number marked "Customer Service". One number offers it on the LAST choice on the automated phone system. Never got to talk to a human. This is some of the worst "Customer Service" I've ever seen. I bought it today; it's going back tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Not true
Posted 12/08/2014
I don't have a facebook account and I have this device setup and running. I had to call customer service do to a minor glitch during setup and talked to real people, all was taken care of satisfactorily.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 39 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

No help with product service

09/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought the hotspot and a data card for a recent long trip in our RV. After talking to a tech for over an hour it was up and running. The hot spot worked from good to excellent depending on the strength of service. Luckily we have a Verizon phone and since the hot spot uses Verizon towers I could tell by checking the phone how good my wifi was likely to be. All was well for about a month. I had good wifi one evening at a campsite but the next morning...hadn't moved, same spot...we had no service. As in zippo service. As we were moving on to another area that day I waited until that evening to try again. Once more, no wifi but the hot spot showed excellent signal. I used the campground wifi service to go online and had an online chat with customer service. After an hour out of my life that I will never get back I was finally told that I needed to call the service number and talk to a person live which I did. Another hour on the phone went by until I was finally told (I am not making this up) that, "The mobile hot spot is not to be used except in the zip code in which it was registered and they would be glad to change the zip code to the area I was in but I would have to remain there in order for it to work." After asking him to repeat himself twice to make sure I understood him correctly, I said I would return the hotspot to the next Walmart we came to, thanked him and hung up. Then I remembered the old truism...if your computer is hung up, turn it off and reboot. I got a paper clip and punched it into the tiny hole on the unit, it rebooted and continued to work very well on the rest of the trip. My point is that this product could be rated a five all the way at least if you are using it as we did as we traveled in an RV for email, some web surfing and so on. Much cheaper than a contract if you just need the service for short and periodic times. Don't think it would be all that great as your only wifi service. The biggest problem is with the tech service...not once did anyone suggest a reboot and I would think that would have been the first suggestion. I finally found the paper clip suggestion in tiny print on the documentation and would suggest to anyone having this problem to reboot and save yourself the aggravation of contacting support.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Unimax U240C 3G WIFI Mobile Hotspot

not sure their data usage calculation is legit

12/10/2013
By ,
midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
when I purchased this only a couple weeks ago there was only a glowing happy review of this product so I jumped in. Well I wish I hadn't.
first off, the unit won't stay charged. only has a small time frame to use it without having to plug it back in again.
But the biggest issue is the over use of data! I have another hot spot box that is directly from Verizon but it is getting old and I didn't want to renew my plan so I thought I'd try this thing. I've never had a pay as you go phone or wifi before. Well Straight Talk must calculate it's data usage way different than Verizon does. In just one single week I used up my data plan with this thing and I don't use that much data with my verizon box in an entire month. It wouldn't work so I had to call ST and of course got switched between multiple people that I couldn't understand until I finally had someone I could understand. She right away told me I probably used all my data and kept telling me youtube and netflix use a lot of data. I repeatedly said I never watch video on my computer, never ever! I don't download stuff. I am the most boring internet user ever. So she then blamed it on someone stealing my data without me knowing it. But that wasn't possible either. I live in the country and have no neighbors and I changed the security settings right when I set it up so that nobody could steal my data.
I know my monthly usage with Verizon and there is NO WAY I used that much data in a single week!
I truly believe there is something fishy about their data usage calculations!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+188points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 230 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next