Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Bissell Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

The Bissell PowerForce Helix Vacuum offers an exclusive helix dirt separation system that captures more fine dust to keep your filters clean longer. Less dirt and dust in the home means that allergies and allergic reactions can be reduced, helping to keep you healthy. The Bissell carpet vacuum 1240's helix dirt separation system extends the suction power and cleaning performance of your vacuum. Ground-in dirt on rugs and carpets is quickly and effectively lifted away to leave behind clean, tidy floors. Five height adjustments make it easy for this bagless upright vacuum to clean almost any floor surface. Start out in your living room to remove dirt tracked in by the kids, then move to the kitchen to pick up crumbs from the tile floor. This item is durable and will be a welcome addition to any household.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(2146 Reviews) 1850
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,308
4 stars
534
3 stars
85
2 stars
78
1 star
141
Customer Recommendation88%1,769 out of 2,002reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 256 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,308
4 stars
534
3 stars
85
2 stars
78
1 star
141
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Good cleaning action but hard to clean

05/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kit was easy to assemble. It is a great cleaner, it picks up lint and dust, the carpet looked great afterward. The attachments work well and it has good suction when it's clean. It's not super loud either. Louder than some but not as loud as others I have had. It has the usual attachments and they works like a typical upright. It took me a while to figure out that you store the snout inside the extension tube. One disadvantage, there is no bag, which is good in some ways, no bags to buy or run out of, but the container fills up really fast and emptying it is messy. Best done outside. And cleaning the foam is another step that doesn't have to be done with a bag system. Maybe I'll get better at it with practice. I am definitely keeping it as it cleans well and that's what it's all about.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

CHECK!! Carpet Height adjuster knob is functional

08/05/2011
By ,
Elkton,MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this in the mail and was super excited! My trusty,heavy 15 year old Phantom Lighting had seen better days and finding replacement belts is near to impossible. After much browsing I opted for the Bissell Powerforce based on the reviews it has gotten.
I opted for the bright pink and let me tell you it is BRIGHT PINK- Love it!! Assembly was simple; two screws and off I went vacuuming. I seriously couldn't believe the amount of dirt is had collected on my 7 year old carpet.((Enclosed Picture))
The trouble began when I went to vacuum my hard wood floors. I adjusted the knob and it moved smooth-probably to smooth. I went to vacuum and noticed it shooting little things at me. I tilted the machine and check everything and the stupid little height adjusting wheels are stuck on HIGH. I used a shoe and tried to beat it down in to position to no avail. I am taking this back to get another of the same kind- I love it, being the wheel issue my only problem.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
KCMO
the height adjuster wasn't broken !
Posted 03/30/2014
the height adjusts only by turning the adjustment knob when the vacuum is in the locked upright position and then changes (raises or lowers) when you step on the arm release lever .... in other words adjust the knob (low to high) first; then step on the release (to tilt back the vacuum) and you'll note the head's adjusted height. this vacuum's deck lifts up into a higher non working level when in the locked position and then sets down to your selected height only when the arm has been released. the adjustment knob will not raise and lower the head by itself. you might have to play with it a couple times to get the perfect height, but then just mark it with a marker on the dial for each surface for future ease. adjust towards high for carpet to very lowest for hardwood and tile.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Ohio
I was very disappointed!
Posted 02/20/2014
You get what you pay for! I took it out of the box and was shocked. Very cheaply made and the hose would not snap into the back of the vacuum after several attempts. I am returning it, not in exchange for another. Was very loud and no light on front.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Great product, but HORRIBLE customer service!

02/21/2014
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My previous vacuum had broken, and I had been w/out a vacuum for a month, so my floors were HORRIBLY dirty! The first time I ran the vacuum, you will see what all it picked up in my pictures! I have really long hair, plus I have a cat, and it picked it all up and didn't get tangled or etc. inside the vacuum. It is so easy to take apart and clean. There are only maybe 5 pieces that you empty, rinse out, let dry, and reassemble.
It was very easy to assemble and put together, the instructions were simple and easy to follow. You do need your own screwdriver to put in 2 screws (which I found out the hard way, of course!#.
I DID have a problem figuring out how to put everything BACK together, so I called the 800 number for customer service on the little booklet that comes w/ it. This was a DISASTER! First I had to wait on hold for OVER 20 MINUTES! By that time, I had finally figured out how to put everything back together, but I was so aggravated I asked to speak to a supervisor. Then I had to WAIT AGAIN! The supervisor was busy at the moment, so then they transferred me to the CORPORATE OFFICE. Well, I FINALLY was able to speak w/ someone, and I did my ranting and raving #in a nice and polite fashion!).
In summary, I would say that the product itself is a great buy and great value, but if you need help w/ anything product related, I would probably try the website first before calling the 800 number, otherwise, be prepared to wait a while!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Excellent Vacuum & Great Price

08/01/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum last weekend at Walmart. We were using an old outdated one and when I saw that this one was on sale, I decided to go ahead and try it after reading all the good reviews. I must say that I absolutely love it!! It has all the specs I was looking for: Bagless, lightweight, attachments, 5 adjustable height settings, 12 amps power, and washable filters. I have two cockatiels which get seed, pellets, food, dust, feathers etc. all over our carpet and this vacuum definitely stands up to the challenge. I had no idea what was lurking in our bedroom carpet until I used this vaucum. I took a couple of pictures of the first time that I used it and only about half of our bedroom was vacuumed and what is in these photos came out.
The only thing that can get a little annoying is how much air comes out of the front of the vacuum. It can blow stuff away. Other than this, it is AWESOME!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fulton, Mo.
No loss of suction due to filters?
Posted 11/05/2013
Maybe I got a lemon but I found trying to keep it sucking and the amount of suction were both very lacking has no suction power and if you don't clean it out top to bottom every time you use it it looses what little it does have.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Very Happy With My Purchase

12/28/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed an inexpensive vacuum with great suction power for the area rug in my living room. Hair, dust and lint were stuck on the carpet so much so that a simple stick vacuum wasn't cleaning the way I needed it to. This vacuum was easy to assemble and I was very impressed with the suction and power. The amount of dust and lint it picked up during its first use was very satisfying! I am glad that I didn't have to pay at least $80 to get a good vacuum that does what I need it to do.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Great Product and Great Price

03/10/2014
By ,
Baltimore, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bissell PowerForce is awesome! I have a dog and it does a great job of picking up his hair right on contact. I like that the attachments to the main hose makes reaching in corners and underneath of things makes it so much easier on my back. The filter is washable which makes it even better! I love it! I haven't had it for very long so I cannot give it 5 stars, but I hope it continues to perform just as well ...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

A great vacuum for anyone on a budget!

11/29/2010
By ,
Weymouth, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had purchased this vacuum on Black Friday, along with the Shark steam mop. I was able to get it for the $39 in store, versus the $46.
I had just recently moved into my new apartment and it was "cleaned", but you can never be too sure. We didnt have a vacuum yet, so we used my boyfriend vacuum from his work (which is an Oreck, which was HORRIBLE on our carpet (we have plush) because it was so hard to push). I used the Oreck probably twice since we moved in. But I wanted my own vacuum, and one that has a hose.
I wanted something basic, and not one with all the bells and whistles cause its just two of us in a two bedroom apartment. The reviews were decent, and I figured for the price, it would be worth a try.
I got home that morning and assembled it (a whole two screws!) and started cleaning away. I only cleaned the living room, the small "hallway" and the bedroom. It picked up SOOO much junk that the Oreck missed and when the apartment complex "cleaned". I took a photo cause I just couldnt believe it (which is enclosed in this review).
The vacuum moves nicely. Theres really no resistance at all. The hose has a nice suction to it.
The only downfalls about this vacuum is the hose doesn't seem to stretch well (but this also could be because the vacuum is still new) and it doesnt get right up to the wall (but this is also where you can use the hose).
So far, Im glad I bought this vacuum and hope it keeps me happy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+145points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

I'm in LOVE!!

05/31/2012
By ,
Jefferson City, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this vacuum & can't say how much I love it without boring you.. Basically, put it together in about 5 minutes & started doing the carpets... I have two boxers and they are shedding their winter coat which ended up in the bag less cup along with a ton of other stuff.. It also fluffed my carpet it and now it's back to feeling like when I first moved in.. Filters are easy to clean and put back together.. I haven't found any cons but if you were a little worried about the price for this vac and thinking twice on it..... DON'T you won't be disappointed.. Love love love it!!!
***The picture below is just from vacuuming one little section in my hallway***
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rome ny
This vacuum was...
Posted 06/22/2014
This vacuum is great for the price .
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Good Deal

01/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already had one of these vacuums. I got one for my daughter for Christmas. She sent me a picture of her first use. The canister was half full of sand. Her old vacuum had not been doing a very good job.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Great product

06/07/2012
By ,
Chico, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old one cost 4x as much and was starting to not do so hot. I bought this because of the cost, weight and the fact it was bagless. I had clean carpets in my living room with the old one and did them with the new one and was disgusted with the amount of pet hair and sheer filth that the old one had left behind.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Great Small Machine

12/23/2011
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy cleaning this townhouse now, because of the light weight. It's very powerful and I don't have to spend any more money on vaccuum cleaner bags. Even my grandson likes cleaning his room now, and this baby picks up. I like the attachment for the corners and getting dust off the sofa. It' a great little machine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Glad I bought a new one!

05/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am going to start with the negatives first. I wish I would have gone up one step, buying the Bissell vacuum with the retractable cord and attached stair brush. It was only like $12 more dollars and I should have spent the extra money.
That said, this is an excellent vacuum cleaner. I received it and put it together immediately. I vacuumed the first floor and also upstairs and could not believe the dirt this thing picked up. Now don't get me wrong, I am a neat freak and vacuum my home every other day, sometimes every day, so you can understand my amazement with all the dirt picked up since I had just vacuumed the day before. The vacuum is light and easy to maneuver. The parts are easy to clean as well.
One of the reasons I bought this vacuum is because it is like the old vacuums. Most of the new vacuums have the one click release lever to clean out the dirt. I had one of those, used it about 6 times and ended up giving it to my daughter.
This is a great vacuum and would recommend it to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Disappointed

05/31/2009
By ,
Deer Park, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I picked up this vacuum at Wal-Mart on April 09, 2009, took it home and ran it around my 2 room apartment. It did a beautiful job. Ten day later I began to run it a second time and the belt broke. When I got the new belt and installed it, it was noisy like a double winger airplane but still picked up. Having been bedridden for a few weeks it sat until today. I vacuumed my computer keyboard and the belt broke again. I installed its 3rd belt in 43 days and as soon as I turned it on, that belt broke and it was melted to the roller. It was installed correctly, as I've been putting belts on for some 54 years (I'm 72) and I know what I'm doing. The belts are shoddy and the vacuum apparently isn't much better. The performance stinks. Can I return this or do I eat my loss? I used to own a Bissell Shampoo Cleaner for my house and it was a worker. I made my purchase of your vacuum judging by that cleaners performance. Very sorry I did. I wrote a glowing review when I first used the thing and now eat my words.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

spits dirt out of the back, not even full.

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had for only a few days. The vacuum will spit dirt out of the back if you click it upright while it is running.There should be nothing coming out! The belt came off track very quickly and I had to put it back on track. Piece of junk. I do not recommend this at all if you are trying to clean your house. Bissell has lost my business!
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Cord is very short and wand does not extend.

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product Name: Bissell Powerforce Helix
Model: 1240
Serial: 14056101E
Comment: This is a good product for vacuuming, but the power cord is way too short. I live in a small apartment (850 square feet) and I have had to plug it in three times each time I vacuum in order to clean my apartment.
Also, the wand is also too short and does not extend. I cannot reach the tops of vents or draperies. Usually there are two extenders that fit together.
I will turn 70 on my next birthday, and I could not have been more disappointed in a product. One does not expect to be tricked by a company like Bissell.
When I contacted them they told me that there is not wand extension, and I was not to use an extension cord. They suggested I pack it up and take it to the store. I had the vacuum delivered by Wal-Mart because I am unable to do this.
I am terribly disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

you get what you pay for

02/10/2014
By ,
upstate, ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
first, the good: it does a fine job vacuuming and is very easy to maneuver. it looks cool and the dirt cup holds quite a bit. also, some people complained about the noise but it isn't that obtrusive. now, for the bad: for one, attaching the handle with the supplied screws takes quite a bit of wrist strength, and can get aggravating. also, the dirt cup is one of three removable cups...and it can get messy. infact, I felt the need to vacuum the vacuum after I was done. also, the attachment hose is really short...so be aware that you will be tipping over the unit the whole time using it for something like baseboards unless you hold onto it. I mean for the money, it does the job. but due to the dirtiness and short hose, and also annoying swivel attachment for brush and upholstery use, I ended up taking the vacuum back and splurged for a more expensive Bissell at target
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

waste of money

04/22/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like a lot of people we were on a budget and when it came time to purchase a vacuum we didnt take the time to read reviews or shop around. Instead we bought it due to it's price. We regret buying this vacuum. The hose attachment has no reach,the cord to the vacuum is not long im always ripping the cord out of the wall or having to plug it in many outlets just to vacuum a 1200 sqft house.It is easier to adjust the height adjustment if you lock it up right position if not the weight of this plastic vacuum makes it hard to adjust. The sucking power of this machine well lets just say I can get on all fours and inhale the dirt off the floor better than this vacuum can. When vacuuming I noticed the vacuum going towards the right instead of in a straight line. (Since when do we need to take it to the shop to get in in lined?) Folks Im not trying to be funny here Im giving my honest opinion and if you are on a budget look to spend a few dollars more and purchase something that is dependable and well built
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Waste Of Money

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my 4th...yes 4th.... Bissell vac in 3 yrs....All different models....all garbage right out of their boxes......This recent one is very noisy, makes a whistling sound, air blows out of the front, has poor suction and after using it twice, the height adjustment does not work....If I add up all the $$$ I've wasted on the Bissell vacs I could have/should have purchased, and will be purchasing, a better quality brand.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Angry!

02/01/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this vacuum less than 2 weeks ago. I opened the box and used it immediately vacuuming a small hall and kitchen. I was pretty impressed with the suction, however the filters clogged quickly which I had to remove and wash and let them dry overnight. A few days later, I vacuumed the whole first floor. Suction was great, though the filters clogged quickly. Again I had to wash them and let them dry overnight. Tonight, I started to vacuum and it lost the power head. The smell was awful, like burning rubber from the belt which was hanging in the power head. The belt had broken and now the vacuum is useless. The belt had a date on it, 7/10. Which means the belt was sitting in the vacuum for over 2 years. Also, the belt was held together with a tiny spot of glue. I will be returning the vacuum to Walmart in the next couple of days. Now the hunt begins for a vacuum that is not only reasonably priced, but also has a lifespan of more than 2 weeks. What a useless piece of garbage!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum

Affordable and gets the job done...

07/13/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum cleaner because of the affordable price and positive reviews. I'll go ahead and add that this vacuum cleaner is very easy to assemble (2 screws and connect the hose), it's much more quieter than the other vacuum I had, and it gets the job done with no problem for the 3 bedroom house I have. Also, while your vacuuming you can look at the plastic container and see the cyclone/vortex of dirt its picking, pretty cool and its very easy to empty as well.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,710 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  86 Next