Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Mongoose 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

The Mongoose Dolomite 26" Men's Bike provides off-road capabilities and everyday riding performance. The 26" by 4" knobby tires give riders enhanced stability when conquering different types of terrain and the extra width helps riders handle bumps and obstacles in the road. Dual disc brakes help the user stop safely even in wet and hazardous conditions and the seven-speed rear derailleur is highly responsive. Changing gears to tackle hills and other inclines is not a problem with this Mongoose Men's bike because the derailleur works with twist shifters for more control over the gears. The bike has an aluminum/steel frame and alloy wheels for lightweight durability. This navy blue/red bike has style as well and a rider can feel proud displaying it around town. The bike is 38" tall, making it suitable for people of many different heights. Some assembly is required.
Average Customer Rating:
4.014 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
29
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation89%62 out of 70reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 75 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
29
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Nice!

05/07/2014
By ,
NY, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cool Bike for the money. It is heavy, but lighter replacement parts are available.
Shipped well. Arrived without damage. It is a good idea to go over the bike slowly before riding. Grease the bearings, make sure everything is tight and adjusted.
If you cannot do that, your local bike shop will gladly give it a "tune-up/set-up" for a reasonable fee.
I also put an old pair of BMX pedals on that I had laying around.
This bike is a conversation starter. Expect to be asked many questions when riding.
I'm looking forward to riding on the beach this summer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Great deal for the money

03/24/2014
By ,
Folsom
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At $299, this is a great bike. No, it's not a "real" fatbike, but it's still a lot of fun.
The bike was packaged well. No damage or scratches. It was fairly easy to assemble. The only things that needed adjusting were the brakes and the front hub (it was WAY too tight.
The tires/tubes that come on this bike are junk and are WAY too heavy. I replaced them with some "real" fat bike tires and tubes and dropped a LOT of weight. I also replaced the stem and bars with some lighter ones i had laying around.
With these slight modifications, this is a perfectly sand/mud-worthy fat bike and is a ton of fun. This is nowhere close to what you'll get spending $1k+ on a real fat bike, but it's somewhere to start. Now my girlfriend has a fat bike to tool around on with me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arecibo PUERTO RICO 00612
When it is available in P. R the mongoose dolomite
Posted 06/19/2014
When will be ready in P. R Arecibo 00612 the mongoose dolomite 26? Try to buy it for its direction but the shipping is expensive mui. Have a delivery date for P. R?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Great Conversation Peice!

04/01/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a fun bike to ride. You sure get allot of attention while riding it. I rode Fort Lauderdale's Critical Mass and was stopped so many times because riders wanted to take a look at it. Its a great bike for the price. With some newer brakes and a few other things it will be a better bike. Its a heavy bike
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

like riding a tank.

07/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This purchase was many firsts for me. my first ship to store purchase, the first bicycle i have purchased without riding it first, my first experience with a walmart employee who didn't speak english as a first language, and the first product i have reviewed online. the quality of the bike was actually beyond my expectations, (350 plus dollars it had better be durable) the only issues i had with it were that the box was completely mutilated when i picked it up. i had to do a full inventory of what was in the remains of the box to ensure i ended up with a ride-able bike. the other issue was the front disc brakes. the inner brake pad was askew, and it took some doing to get the wheel in place without it falling askew again. ( have the store put the bike together and you won't have a similar problem) the gears were slightly out of sync, but a couple adjustments with a #1 phillips screwdriver and everything was clicking.
they say that a fat bike doesn't do anything fast. well i say that is an under statement. the steering is slow, the ride is sluggish, and the bike is really heavy, (i am guessing about 45-50 pounds) but here is the key, i never lost traction, on anything, wet roots, slick mud, leaves, steel rails. those 4 inch tires are real monsters.
i went to pick up my bicycle at the store "ship to store" desk, and the girl at the counter asked for an id. so i pull out my wallet (that has a small pocket knife attached to it) and she acted as if i was going to rob her. i pulled the id out of the wallet and put the wallet back in my pocket, and then the issue of English became a problem, since my name is Stephen, but i ordered the bike under the pseudonym of steve, the girl who didn't speak english as a first language thought i was obviously pulling one over on her. it only took a couple minutes to clear it up but was worth mentioning.
I would buy the bike again, and have no buyers remorse. and only bought this to see how a fat bike rides on trails. before buying a 2000 dollar fat bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Fun fat bike for $300

05/31/2014
By ,
Golden, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a mountain biker. I love fat tires! I wanted try try a fattie but didn't want to spend a fortune on it. I primarily plan to use this on the bike trails, cruising around town, and maybe on a snow ride on the trails..
Now to the bike.. The packaging was pretty good; there was no damage on the bike.. It is pretty heavy and the components are low end.. I went online and bought a new seat and a rapid fire trigger shifter (to replace the grip shifter)... Not that there was anything wrong with them... Just my preference.. The brakes are kind of squeaky and the levers feel really cheap.. If you plan to ride it on real mtb trails, you might consider changing the rear cassette to a shimano cassette with the ultra low granny gear (maybe a $20 upgrade)... And put a couple of extra links in the chain as the granny gear really takes up some of its length and pulls on the derailleur... I plan to keep any upgrade to $20 bucks or less.. Like the seat was 10 bucks, the shifter < $20.. I plan to upgrade the brakes to hydraulic disc when I find a killer deal on them.. I call it personalization... On the cheap..
Overall: a smokin' deal at $250 (that would be a 5 star rating), a fun bike for 300 bucks(4 stars)... I don't know if I would have purchased it for $350 though (3 stars)..
Don't buy this bike if you are trying to make it into a pugsley, surley, or other high end fat bike on the cheap. Save your time, money, and frustration and go buy a real fat bike.
Buy this bike if you want to have fun cruising around, don't have tons of cash to throw at a real fat bike.
Cheers!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Great bike for the price

06/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this bike, it arrived on time, was easy to assemble is fun to ride and people really notice how fat the tires are. I made mine a 21 speed with the addition of multiple front sprockets and a deraileur. I am 6 2 and it fits me well although I did change the bars to some with a 4.5 inch rise.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Worth it.

04/07/2014
By ,
Cary, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As many have said, this is not a Surly Pugsley or equivalent. Those bikes have much better components, are lighter and also cost over $2K. I wanted a bike for my 5' tall, 11 year old son who was just about ready to graduate to a 26" MTB. I was going to build him a full suspension ride but I though at lower tire pressures, this would be a decent alternative and the price was right.
It is heavy...very heavy! However it is trail worthy when riding low tire pressure. The breaks are mediocre at best. They will need to go and will het swapped out for a hydraulic setup. The gearing is not right. The 7-Speed grip shift is OK but it needs a much taller gear or two in the rear. Will be changing that as well. Handlebar, stem and seat are adequate but cheapo. Not unexpected and things I was planning to change over time.
All-and-all......good purchase. Highly recommended.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Excellent big tired bike for the price

06/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ride on gravel country roads to exercise my dogs. The large tires go so much better than the tires on my regular mountain bike.
The bike itself is heavier than the $1500.00 models available, however I am very happy with it and the price especially since I could afford it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Very nice entry level 'Fat Bike'

03/22/2014
By ,
Sandusky, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I jumped on this bike when it first came online in early March for $225. A really great deal at that price and much more bike than the Beast for only $25 more. Not sure I would have ordered the Dolomite at the current price of $350, just glad I got mine when I did. I changed the tires on mine since I am only planning to ride on the street. Also switched to a rapid fire thumb shifter and changed the grips to something more comfortable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Much capability for the price.

03/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for use on bike paths and loose sand conditions. This bike is very sturdy and can handle a heavier rider. I haven't crushed it into the ground as I have others. Good low speed stability. The bicycle is heavy. The lowest gear is too high. The 5 star rating is based on my expectations of a bike at the initial offer price. I am very pleased with the purchase, it was a "no brainer".
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ann Arbor Michigan
dual front gearing on the crank wheel
Posted 06/25/2014
I think that will solve your issues take a few teeth off the current one for your lower gearing and add a few for the other for more top speed
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Step above the Beast Mongoose

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike was double boxed packing saved all but the smallest of paint damage. Harder to adjust disc brakes as was not aligned from Mongoose. Fine bike for play and exercise offroad and on.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Needs work out of the box

04/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall it's a good fat tire bike. I set it up from the box with some internet help. The brakes need to be centered and adjusted (no biggy) The delrailler was frustrating. I could get the first six gears ok but I could not get enough adjustment to get the seventh. I took it to a very good bike shop and even they had a difficult time to get the chain to jump up to 7. Now it does get the 7th gear (with some extra twist on the shifter. I'll just live with it. But it did not cost 3K........
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ann Arbor Michigan
gpb26 it would help if you could post the address
Posted 06/22/2014
to where you found set up information . I purchased one of these after seeing it in person . Not sure if I can peddle it as I am older with a bad back . I have a electric fat bike I ride daily and wanted to try to ride a real bike . When I first purchased my electric I could barely hold on and let the motor pull me now I peddle behind the motor with very little resistance and go on 5 mile rides everyday if able . I have a goal of first going 1/4 mile on this up to a ride to a country store 1 1/4 mile away . Bikes are a huge hobby out here in Ann Arbor Michigan with many riders going on either group 50 , 75 or 100 mile rides every weekend . We also have bike trails / parks through out the area and State . Take care enjoy your bike . Fat bikes are awesome one thing I learned is you need very low gearing for the trails and tall for the road so putting a dual chainwheel on the front to accomplish that is a great upgrade . On the front you want to add teeth for top speed and take them off for torque on trails or hills . The rear wheel is the opposite . Hopefully the cassette is fine with the change to the front .
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Fat Sand bike conversion

04/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fat Sands bike conversion pic. Made my old Fat Sand bike single speed into a 7 speed with some Dolomite parts.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

26'' Mongoose Dolomite is a fun bike to rida and a

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK other than it seamed like it took forever to get the bike site to store I'm more than happy.
How long does it take site to store? Ordered mine online on 06/09/2014 got it on 06/24/2014 not bad at all. The bike was in SC and I'm in Florida so I really didn't think it would take as long as it did.
Bought a cloud 9 seat and two V8 tires and Surly tubes. Drilled out the front rim and will do the rear in a day or so. Changing to a Shimano Super Low 14-34T for a really high low gear. This bike feels great to me. NOW if your some kind of a Pro Racer or something this bike is not for you. Your not going to get $2,000 bike for $275. For the price you can't beat this bike I love it.
No adjustments needed, opened the box and not one scratch! These will be as popular as the Stingray when they came out. You want to do 90 miles an hour then don't buy one of these bikes. If you want to ride and roll over stuff you never thought you could and leave your friends behind then get one. Front tire off the rim weight was 8 pounds. New V8 is 3.2. Saved about 9 pounds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Excellent for competent bike mechanic, at 225$

03/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It came quick. The crank was way too tight, after loosening it, and putting a little grease on it was very smooth. It did come greased, I just added a little since I was already in there.
Great fun to ride, the gear range needs to be lower for my hilly area, especially if you want to go off road.
Brakes works way better than expected once bedded in, the brake levers however are poor. I would recommend getting some all metal brake levers on their as soon as possible. Once I put a set I had on hand it became much more capable.
I would not buy this for more than 250$. I got mine for 225$ and probably would have gone with a bikesdirect fat bike if they had one less than 400.
I got some upgrades on the way, triple crank, front derailler, mega range freewheel, stem riser, shifters. Pounce I get it situated I intend to put many miles on it. It is comfortable and capable for what I ride.
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

good bike, but keeps going up in price

03/18/2014
By ,
Erie, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Initial riding impressions are good. Time will tell if it holds up.
It was a very good value when it was first introduced. Now it's gone up over 50%, I would not buy it again at the current price.
The gearing needs to be lower and I'll likely be replacing the freewheel soon.
Overall, the assembly was pretty straight forward.
The rear derailleur being bent due to shipping seems to be a common complaint. I need to see if Pacific Cycles will replace under warranty or not.
I went through and re-adjusted all the bearings. Most of them had enough grease on them (no extra, but enough). The rear disc brake seems to rub a bit and I can't get that sorted out yet. I'm suspecting something may be bent there too.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Worth every penny

07/22/2014
By ,
Ventura County
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No way could I afford a Moonlander or Pugsley to see if I liked this kind of bike. But with the Walmart Mongoose Dolomite, I get a brand new bike for a very affordable price. The bike does require a fair amount of bike experience to lubricate and adjust the bearings and running gear. It is not turn key but with a little patience, it makes a very fun and functional bike. This is a great bike for endurance training as it does take considerably more energy to propel down the road. Especially uphill. Another thing I noticed that I have not seen in any discussions about this kind of bike is the mass of the wheel when turning even slowly develops a large amount of gyroscopic force combined with the large contact patch with the ground, makes turning on pavement more difficult. The bike wants to keep going in a straight line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

For the price neat bike

05/02/2014
By ,
Eden Prairie, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off, I like the bike. ( Read all of review) Site to store QUICK!! And the box looked like it. Beat up, holes in cardboard, loose tape. More than a little worried. Unpacked and found seat post and seat loose; plastic axle protectors laying in bottom. Cardboard tube to protect front axle broken in two. Went together well, other than I had front fork 180 degrees off. If the tire is really close to the frame down tube, you got it wrong. Disc brake goes on left of bike, like rear wheel. Found paint scrape, damaged brake cable, and broken reflector on handle bar. All are somewhat cosmetic in nature. Thought about returning it and ordering another, but it might be worse. Talked to manager at Walmart and we came to an agreement/adjustment. Bike does ride well (once I got the fork turned correctly DUHHHH! <GRIN> ). Easy to pedal for an old guy. Meets my needs for a "Street bike". The fat tires and 30PSI gives a better ride than the skinny tire bikes. I'll keep it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Bike needed work

04/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wheel would not fit on fork, either the cut of the slot or slag from stamping slot. Had to knock extra off to get the front wheel on. Front brake rubbed loudly, back brake made noise and no grease in the handle bar stem bearings made it pull to one side. The shipping box had three small holes and the bike ended up with light scratches. Cool looking bike but it was kind of not cool to find out the in store price that matches up to the bar code when they scanned it said $225.00 when I paid $349.00 A walmart bike builder tried to fix everything and came close but it still made noise. The only way to get the brakes to quit rubbing to hard was removing washers on the front axle that came with it. If it were $225 I may have put up with the issues and fixed it myself. For $349 I returned it. Didn't expect high end but did want to be able to ride it. The bike is really heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 26" Mongoose Dolomite Mens 7-speed Fat Tire Mountain Bike, Navy Blue/Red

Caution!

07/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I bought this bike that I was in awe with. It is very striking to look at with those monster tires. I really was smitten when I saw this bike in the store. The very same night I saw the bike I hurried home and researched fat tire bikes on the internet till my heart was content. The next day, 7/4/2014, I went to the store and purchased this sweet looking ride. After the transaction was completed I started my journey home on the bike. I made it about 600 yards from the store before the bike was unable to be driven. The tires sidewall blew out of the rim. I loved the ride of this style of bike and will be purchasing a different one from a different company. I am unsure as to why the tire came undone. The tire PSI was pumped to 28, I was not jumping or doing any stunts. I am 5'10" and 300lbs. I did not feel safe riding that bike after that!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IMPORPERLY ASSEMBLED
Posted 07/08/2014
That is very unfortunate, as that bike type & design could be excellent for you. Your bike was put together by a Walmart employee who did not know what they were doing.
Unless you are an experience mechanic, you should take ANY new bike to a bicycle shop to be checked over, assembled and adjusted.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next