Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for INSTYLER InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

INSTYLER InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler lets you enhance your hair in various ways. With the same functions as a flat iron, curling iron, conical wand and round brush, it works on all types of hair. Dual ionic ceramic technology provides added smoothness, shine and body. This ionic hair styler also curls or straightens your hair, allowing you to create numerous styles and also tame frizz. Made of ceramic, the barrel is cool to the touch but also provides instant heat for your hair. It also has multiple heat settings for different styles. A non-slip rubber grip lets you keep a secure hold on the styler. It is small enough to take with you while you travel and make your hair look its best wherever you go.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation65%42 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 67 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

InStyler leaves my hair beautiful and shiny!

07/21/2014
By ,
Deer Park Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler
is wonderful and at a great price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Too good to be true

07/22/2014
By ,
las vegas, nv
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product says it's a 4 in 1 and says it can straighten hair. My daughter and I thought it looked just like the InStyler ProStyler that sells on their website for over $100. So this would be a great deal at under $50 if it were the same thing. But it's not. The Walmart website only shows one photo and you can't tell if the unit opens to be a straightener. The wording says one of the four things it does is straighten. This does not have a straightening feature and the unit does not open to pull your hair through. They expect you to run the round brush through your hair to straighten it. That will not work if your hair is thick and curly like mine. My daughter's hair is more manageable, but it didn't straighten hers and really didn't do a great job curling it either. Your hair gets stuck in the bristles easily. For half the price you can get a curling iron to curl or a straightener to straighten. I hope the local Walmart will take this back.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Practice first before turning on the InStyler iron

05/19/2014
By ,
Orange County California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Once you get the hang of it, it is easy to use, you just have to be careful that you don't get your hair tangled up in it, do not use it like you would a regular curling iron. I recommend that you first practice using this product on your hair before you actually turn it on. At first sight it looks simple to use, but once your hair is wrapped up in it, and you can't get it out, some people may panic. I am a hair dresser and I also got my hair tangled in it; when that happened to me I immediately turned off and unplugged the system, then slowly untangled my hair. I now have it down, I now know how much hair in each section to curl at a time, and how to curl it without wrapping my hair up in the iron. So remember, practice first before turning it on.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Not as good as expected!

01/24/2014
By ,
Hallstead, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this hoping to curl my hair without making my hair frizzy. The first time I used it my hair got stuck in it even though I was being careful not to have that happen. I had to have my husband help me get it out of my hair & it took at least a half hour. I tried to use it again trying to be extra careful not to get it stuck & it got stuck again. My husband told me that he thought it was a piece of junk & to take it back which I will be doing. It may be good for somebody with shoulder length hair or shorter hair. Women with long hair should avoid. I am used to using these kind of brushes since I have a hot air brush that doesn't get hot enough to curl, that is why I bought this styler. I have no problem with the other brush it just doesn't curl like the prestige ionic styler is suppose to. I don't like writing bad reviews about any products unless I have a very good reason.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Great curling iron

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thinking of buying the Perfecter and ran across this item. It looked very similar but not as pricey. I have a conair big roll brush curling iron but it barely curls my hair unless I turn it all the way up and it was really damaging. Right out of the box I noticed this was a well made product. It does a good job curling my hair and it stays pretty well considering the southern heat and humidity. I have only been using for a week and my hair already looks less stressed out. Walmart had the best price. Shuts off automatically and the cord doesn't tangle. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

A Little Disappointed!!!

09/27/2014
By ,
My House SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When it worked, it worked well; however, within 3 days. it went from working to shutting off just when heated. I liked the curl I got when it did work; but, cutting off just when it was ready to be used was useless!!! I bought on Friday & returned on Monday.
I had purchased one of these before from elsewhere & within 4 months, the bristles had become so brittle that they were breaking off. Yes, I had used that one a lot but felt it should have lasted longer also!!! That's why I purchased this one. When I turned this one on, the red light would flash as it was supposed to. When heated & ready to use, the flashing light turned solid. Just as it turned solid, it shut down with an almost immediate cool off. Even doing the unplug reset didn't help!!! As much as I enjoyed the first one, I've decided that for the price, I will NOT be buying a 3rd one!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Bummer, you got a lemon
Posted 10/17/2014
very unfortunate for you. I wouldn't give up tho'. I would return it and get another one. You will really love it and it's unfortunate that you got a lemon. Give it another chance I think you will be glad you did.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Great Hair Tool

03/24/2014
By ,
Ny Ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend bought the more expensive one like this from QVC and so a few of us started searching for something similar, but less expensive. The reviews on the In-Styler were good so I ordered it from Walmart. They had the best price, and there is a local store in case it didn't work out.
It is absolutely great, easy to use. Once you get the hang of it your hair will look good every
day.... even if you just curl the ends. Don't buy the cheaper ones for under $30 they burn the hair.
I am very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

EXCELLENT FOR STRAIGHTENING LONG HAIR

04/10/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have long, thick, wavy, frizzy hair and this works great. I have the original instyler, which I love, but it can burn easily - your head, hand and the bathroom counter. when I saw this one I didn't believe it would work as good and had seen some not so good reviews. I absolutely love it. My hair feels like straw before and is much softer after. It straightens, gets rid of the waves and best of all gets rid of the frizz. I don't use it for curling (just a little at the very ends) and not sure that it would work that good but if you need to tame that long frizzy hair this is the best!!!! I prefer using it once my hair drys, but I have used it on damp hair and it's fine, but takes a little longer - If it's not totally dry when I'm finished, the damp areas wave and sometimes frizz up a little, but not too bad.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Best styler I've ever used.

01/25/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a relief. Finally a styler that doesn't burn you. And the Ionic seems to really work on my hair. I brush it through my dry hair to begin and it smooths all the frizzes away. Then I style it to add soft bounce into my long hair. My hair looked great from the first try. No burn, you can grip the barrel and tip of the styler. You can even start the styler from the scalp with no burn. Just don't stick your fingers between the brush combs. It is hot even on medium. Medium works best for my hair. The value on this styler is half the price of others and the Ionic really helps get the frizz out. Love it, and think I'll buy another for someone else.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Really wanted this to work, but had same problems

05/09/2014
By ,
Springfield, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1. Day one, had some learning curler issues, like tangling, but overall shiny curled hair.
2. Day two and three. The curler was plugged in, and when turned on, the light came on, but no heat. Unplugged and turned on. The heat came on. However, with some spray product now in my hair from yesterday, the brush did not go through the hair smoothly, even with a precombing. The more spray buildup, the worse it gets. Since I only wash my hair every three days, this could be an ongoing problem. The on/off switch is easily turned off accidentally while in use and then the curler needs to reheat. Also, the longer the hair, the more likely it is that this curler will get tangled. I do not know if the heating system is faulty, but was not ready to wait and see if it would permanently quit heating.
I returned it to Walmart. They are great about customer service.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Fast, Easy and Effective

11/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best hair styler I have ever owned. I love that I can use both hands without getting them, or my face, burned. It heats up in seconds and is easy to use. I have thick, layered collar-length hair, and I can style it in 5-10 minutes. Leaves my hair shiny and sleek. I would recommend this styler.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

love it!

01/25/2014
By ,
Greece, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had seen the infomercial for the more expensive, fusion hair perfector. Then, I found this one on Walmart's site. I felt better about ordering it from Walmart in case I had to return it. It works great and smooths out my hair in a thrice. I even have moderate success in using it to curl the ends. The only difficulty is that it seems like it works best to curl if tresses are the same length. It is harder to get curls in my hair with its many layers. But, I love this product for taking my course, just washed and dried hair and making it presentable in about 5 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Doesn't heat up or curl

07/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews before purchasing this Instyler. Unfortunately the infomercials were misleading at how well this product worked. I was surprised at how much it did not meet my expectations. Yes it is cool to touch, but it does not get hot enough to curl your hair. It only has hi, and lo setting. If you have naturally straight hair, you can barely get a curl. At most, it just brushes your hair. Also, the heat temp is not high enough for ethnic hair. I will be returning this back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Pleased overall

02/15/2014
By ,
Everett, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After the first pass through my hair, I noticed immediate shine and smoothness. I have super fine hair cut in a bob, and smoothness is essential. It doesn't give me much lift, but that's ok. Aside from my hair dryer, I will retire most of my other styling tools.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Great Item

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this item with caution...but I absolutely love it, my hair looks soft and shiny everyday. Makes beautiful curls in just minutes. My only issue is where the on/off switch is located sometimes when styling i hit the switch and it turns off, other then that I feel its a great item.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Defective Product Design

03/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BEWARE!!!!! Stay away from this product unless you want to deal with a lot of hassles and frustration. I have had two defective InStyler's ordered from two different stores in the last three weeks. I searched the internet to see if other people were having the same issues that I was with this product, and was stunned to find many dissatisfied customers who had to return the product for the same reason I did. It is made very cheap with a bad switch design. The switch is in a bad place on the handle so it turns off many times while styling your hair if you bump it or touch the handle wrong while styling your hair. It is a very poor design. I could even live with that if the thing worked. The heating element is defective. The first one I ordered lasted four days, and the second one only lasted two days. When it quits working the ready light just blinks continuously but the unit won't heat up. It works great when it works, but you can't ever count on it working when you need it. It's priced way too high for the super cheap quality. Walmart was great about returning the first two defective stylers, but I finally sent the third defective unit to the manufacturer. I had to pay for shipping and insurance to send it back to them and it's been ten days and I've received no product and no response to my letter, emails, and phone messages. I called the customer service number listed in the pamphlet that came in the box. I've really gotten the run around and talked to customer service reps in New York, California, and Connecticut.This is an awful company with the worst customer service I have ever dealt with. I've even dealt with two supervisors who have yet to respond, follow through, or even care about resolving the problem. I very rarely write reviews, but I felt it necessary to warn people from experiencing the nightmare that I have experienced. This company is NOT a reputable company, and they have no clue how to provide effective customer service.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Does what it says

12/10/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had bought the "other" brand of this styler & wound up returning it; for the high price, it just wasn't worth it. This one is about half the price and does the same job. The only improvement (which is with most wand-type stylers), is placement of the on/off/lo/hi switch; I always seem to turn it up or off. However, I will keep the product as it makes my hair smooth.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

This one did not curl my hair....

07/06/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this was the 4-in-1 that had a separate straightener by pushing a button (the informercial said it has a secret button).. but that one is called the In Styler PRO ionic 4-in-1 styler. I originally wanted the revolving Prestige brush for $99.00 but saw a review on You Tube showing the cheaper $49.00 gave the exact same results. Wrong. My hair is almost waist length, not too thick, and I only tried it for maybe 1/2 hour and was so disappointed: it did not make my hair shiny, did not curl it... so I returned it to the store. This is probably a good brush if all you want is a heated brush and your hair is shorter and thin, but it just did not work for me.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

over-rated Ionic styler

11/29/2013
By ,
NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw this advertised on TV and thought it would replace all my other tools for styling hair. It does not work any better than a regular curling iron. I have been using it for about a week and do not see any difference. My curling iron was overheating and is many years old so I needed to replace anyway. I think this is fine for ordinary styling, but do not see the results that are shown on TV at all. My hair is fine and the low setting did absolutely nothing. I used the high setting and got a little wave but nothing like shown in ads! I would recommend for an ordinary curling iron, but not an extraordinary multi-tool styling tool. I am disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler

Great curling brush for those used to one!

02/26/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Curling brush heats up Very Quickly! Glides through the hair and performs beautifully! I have fine thin hair and the curl lasts all day! There is no danger of burns from the unit itself, the bristles stay cool! Does not tangle in hair when used properly.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next