Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Announcing the Pioneer 7" Android Tablet on the Android platform (4.2 Jelly Bean) that is ideal for watching movies, listening to music, playing games, surfing the Internet, answering e-mails, reading eBooks, and more. Connect face-to-face with friends and family using the built-in webcam. With Google Play, you have access to thousands of applications including games, social media, and productivity tools that meet your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.376 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(551 Reviews) 551
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
196
4 stars
131
3 stars
46
2 stars
40
1 star
138
Customer Recommendation64%353 out of 551reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
105 Questions | 325 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
196
4 stars
131
3 stars
46
2 stars
40
1 star
138
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Not sure why the bad reviews

03/05/2014
By ,
tacoma, wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these, one for myself and one for my son. I first read the reviews because I was sceptical on how inexpensive it was compared to other tablets in its price range. First off, let me tell you that the quality is all there! The screen protector was all scratched up but thats why they put one on there for packaging..So take it off and toss it in the garbage and along with it the extra one they send with the tablet and go get yourself a better one. All in all I have no complaints about this tablet. Its fast. lightwieight and does everything I would expect it to do and then some. Comes with google play and all sorts of other cool apps. I think its fair to point out that I have a samsung galaxy tab 3 7" as well that I was replacing because my dog stepped on the screen and broke it while it was charging and for the price I felt obligated to get my son one too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

poor product design

08/17/2014
By ,
Valders, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had a NEXTBOOK tablet that was replaced because the screen cracked.
We replaced it with this one by Pioneer because the NEXTBOOK product wasn't available.
The Pioneer tablet worked for about two weeks, but then, after charging it up,
it would get to the Pioneer image on the startup screen and that was it. It wouldn't go any farther.
The troubleshooting PAGE, which consisted of NINE whole sentences was pretty much a joke.
It told us to press the reset button. When I placed a paperclip into the reset button hole, there was no feel of a button there. Usually you feel a small click. When I pressed in, it hit a solid object, there was no feeling of a depression as if hitting a button. and it did nothing. The Pioneer screen image just sat there.
With the NEXTBOOK you could hold the volume button and power button and were given the option to reset the tablet to factory settings or just do a reboot of the system software.
Pioneer gives you no such option.
If you're looking for a VERY temporary tablet, or a throwaway tablet for a couple of weeks use, this is the one for you...
If you want a tablet that will last and is user friendly, then GO ELSEWHERE... as fast as you can.
I called the Pioneer support number and was instructed (by a recording) to go to Pioneer.com for support help.
What I got was Pioneer's MAIN web page, which is not easy to maneuver through when you're looking for any support at all...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

WARNING: Take off screen protector!!!!

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my tablet and I ope it up looked SCRATCHED, I was so angry. But then when I'm writing email to Walmart and I'm playing with it I see there is screen protector. So happy because picture is really good, and tablet is fast. I love it, but take off screen protect or else you will not be happy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

the price is good But???

08/07/2014
By ,
Ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tablet in March it worked good until it no longer would turn on...had to send it back for repair I put it in the mail on May 20th they received the tablet on 29th of May ... after weeks without my tablet I called and was told they were working on it that they had steps they had to go by... Well on July 19th they called me and said they would have to replace the tablet but didn't have it in pink so would I want a white or black one which white would be fine.. she told me that my new tablet would be in the mail on the 21st or 22nd I would receive an email so I could track the tablet...well here it is Aug 7th and no email and still no tablet... lesson learned NEVER buy anything Pioneer...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Pioneer tablet

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little starter tablet for kids. Had it for two weeks with no issues. Wi-fi, expandable hard drive, camera on front only, no flash and not very good that's the only downside, decent processor speed for games. Worth the money for a first tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great Screen Resolution and Speed

02/13/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, the screen is not scratched. There is a film covering the screen. That's normal for many electronic products. It has to be peeled off. That seemed to be the major complaint from people. It is extremely fast and is compatible with so many games due to the speed. The quality is outstanding for the price. Great product!!! Watching movies is also great. I also saw someone claim the speaker is low. I'm not sure what is wrong with theirs because this one is extremely loud. My son played a song and it shocked us with how loud it is. This was in a house with six kids, two dogs, and 2 cats. It's not quiet here, but this thing cranked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

bad tablet

06/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
do not buy...poor product..had only 3months and tablet froze up..contaced manufactuer and they only deal with you via email . then they will not supply a return slip. then they want to charge $15.00 plus just to check out the tablet at your expence.then still will not guarantee a replacement..horrible transaction!!!!!!!!!!!give me the runaround do not recommend to anyone ..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

For all tablet users, here's few study

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had own 2 tablets from this brand for less than a year and never even had the opportunity to explore most of hundreds of apps I downloaded using amazon.com and I just cannot believe that it stopped running properly and the other one did not start anylonger, I bought this using my college funds and see,what a waste. I just only believe that app programs are held responsible for damaging my tablets, as the statement those apps from amazon says....."it can harm your device",etc....so what is the sense of those apps when they only destroy and break it,they do not give respect for such users or device owners,one has choice to remove such apps he or she don't like to keep (for other reasons),and if they are bothered,well they have nothing to do with it.
It felt sad to realise that I am not be able to return both tablet. For me,still,this tablet has a unique form and design.....compact,durable and beautiful...... and the thing is,don't download unsafe programs,it is worthless,it is like app programmers curse the user and never gave tablet users the opportunity and sincerity of happiness....well,you can download it again if you want at anytime,but please do not damage the tablet like it will never run again........only lesson learned is to be careful to abusive device hackers and what you clicking or downloading. Read app informations and see the truth.
Apps from internet sites may be lying to the tablet device and users,whatever informations it may provide.
.........I expect my devices will turn on again and run normally,thank heavens.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Stopped Charging after a couple days.

05/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought for my 8 year old daughter. It worked well for a couple days and I was impressed with the quality. But I noticed that it took a long time to charge and then eventually stopped charging all together. It was plugged into the charger but not being recognized for some reason. After a few days, the battery completely drained and there was nothing we could do about it other than return it.
Out of the box, it was definitely worth the price. It set up quickly and easily with our router and the speed was decent. It was perfect for our daughter. The reviews on it were decent so I must have received the lemon. I will probably order another one for my daughter in hopes it was just a fluke.
Only other negatives--it gets hot quickly and it can only be viewed straight on. I tried peeking at my daughters game but couldn't see it until I tilted the screen toward my eyes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Pioneer is no longer quality product

07/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this pioneer tablett for my 10 yr. old daughter as a birthday gift. Unfortunately, she wasn't able to enjoy it because the tablet would't charge! I plugged it up that morning(7am) and we came home (6pm) it was not charged. I plugged it in to other sockets for another 30 min to an hour and it still didn't charge. I purchased another one that night from another store and it showed it had life and was charging. The pioneer never showed any life or that it was charging.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great first tablet!

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second tablet purchased for Grandchildren (youngest is six yrs old) as presents for $69.00 each. Pros: Screen is bright and "comes with protector film already applied", and an extra one in the box. Keep this in mind if you purchase one. I've read complaints of screen being scratched when unpacked for the first time. It's the "film" and not the screen should this occur. Action is fast and smooth with good resolution. Super easy to set up and begin using. Apps and Programs are also easy to locate and download from the online store. Cons: A little slow to cold start. Other than that, well satisfied with battery life, sound, brightness, ease of use for small children, etc. Can't go wrong for the investment, brand, and retailer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Worked great at first then not so great

08/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My daughter recieved the tablet and loved it at first. Then it would do a loud beep and shut off for no reason. Had to return it in a week to walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Lasted a week...

02/11/2014
By ,
bummed-out in swmi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I previously purchased a cheap Asus 7" tablet for general surfing, reading ebooks and that's about it. It's worked well. This Pioneer appeared to be a decent choice for my spouse to use in a similar capacity. Not a good decision. From day one, we noticed the display angle was fair-to-poor. You have to view the tablet head-on for a decent display. Within the first week, the tablet started to lock up, randomly restarted, continuously resized the screen, and other symptoms. No firmware or other updates were available. Performing a factory reset also did not resolve the issue. We decided, for the price, this tablet simply was just not worth the hassle, so we returned it to our local Wal-Mart for a refund. As another user described, you get what you pay for. Sometimes you win, and unfortunately with this one, we lost. Hold out for something better even if you have to spend a bit more...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Save your money

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item and had it sent site to store. When I opened the box, the unit looked like someone had been skateboarding on it. The screen was all scratched up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

You get what you pay for....

05/03/2014
By ,
Spanaway, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased 4 of these tablets for my kids after reading such amazing reviews on them, plus they were such a great price. One froze on the second day and I had to let it run until it died because you cannot pop the battery out, or do anything if it does freeze. Another one would not power on by day 17 and I have to send it in to get a replacement. It also seems like all of the ones that work okay freeze a lot or have problems charging. If you charge it to full battery, even with the power off, the battery is drained within a couple of hours of it not being used. I feel like they always have to be on the charger, which gets really hot. I will be buying better tablets for them next year. These are not worth the headache!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kalamazoo,MI
On Freezing
Posted 05/18/2014
If the tablet froze you just have to put a pin in the hole in back of tablet this will reset tablet and you will not lose anything. to reset the tablet when it freezes just put a pin in the back hole.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 36 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

perfect for a 5 year old

08/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i was'nt looking to pay that amount but i tried something a little cheaper and this is more buck for the money thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Good tablet, good value

02/08/2014
By ,
Ann Arbor, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought an iPad (3rd generation) with Retina display shortly after it came out; about 2 years ago. It cost 10X as much as this Pioneer R1. The iPad display is extremely clear and easy to read.
I bought this Pioneer tablet for $60 during a sale. I have paid more for a tank of gas for my mini-van. I work on websites for a few clients and I wanted to see how they looked on Android tablets. I have no experience with Android and wanted to learn more about it.
The screen: The colors are good, quite bright. The viewing angle is not great. It is difficult to view this screen "off angle". I was showing a video to my wife and she couldn't see it until I turned the screen almost directly at her. Once the screen turns away the colors flatten out and the contrast drops off. The resolution is quite good for this price point. Small text is readable but only just. Oh and my screen had the screen protector from the factory on it. The plastic is thin and tightly fit, almost no bubbles to clue you in to being there. Once removed the glass is perfect and the contrast and color is much improved. Remove the plastic and you'll be happy.
Speed: The CPU changes speed based on load. Using a performance tool I can see the tablet can run at 1.2GHz but it usually runs at about .4GHz when working on the desktop. Touch sensitivity and reaction time are ok. It doesn't feel as responsive as the iPad. I have to touch smaller screen elements several times on occasion to properly activate. It's my only experience with and Android tablet so I nothing to compare it to. It is not as snappy as my 2 year old iPad. I am curious if a Google Nexus tablet would have a snapper feel to it.
Size and battery: 7" tablet is a nice size to carry around. This Pioneer tablet is thicker than my iPad. I like the rubberized back. Easy to hold. The battery life is rated at 5 hrs. I haven't used the tablet continuously to confirm that time. This tablet doesn't sleep well. Let it fall asleep overnight and your battery will be near dead in the morning. To save your battery you have to turn off the tablet between uses. It takes 30+ second to boot it. The iPad on the other hand has at least a 10hour battery and will sleep for days without loosing much of its charge. If I take my iPad to work with 50% charge I know I can go all day using it on and off and not worry about the battery. If I go to work with 50% battery on the R1 I will have a dead tablet by lunch if I just sleep it.
Build quality is pretty good. I like the micro SD slot. I put a bunch of MP4s made on my Mac on the card and put it into to the R1. I was able to play the videos easily. I can't to this with the iPad or a Nexus, no sd slot. The webcam is ok for video chats but you'll never take a picture you want to keep with it.
I think this tablet is an incredible value. I can't comprehend how they can make a tablet so capable with so many features for so little money. It works very well for such a bargain price. For reviewing websites this suites my needs. The voice searching is very good. I like how Google shows the text as you say it.
If I could own only one tablet it would be an iPad, no question. The IOS operating system is much more enjoyable to use. Android feels like Windows does to a Mac user. The battery life and performance would be a deal breaker compared to iPad.
Is this tablet worth the money? Yes. It absolutely is. Great tablet for kids and teens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

works nice but over heats

08/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Tablet works fine great images. The tablet heats up quickly after a few minutes use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Trying to get away from the laptop

02/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tablet does everything I wanted it to. Netflix, email, facebook, news and apps galore. Just trying to get away from my laptop all of the time. Microphone for Skype is a little weak, that’s why it got four starts but I am extremely happy and will purchase one for my husband as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Birthday Gift..do not buy!!!

07/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In April 2014 I bought this for my grandson's birthday along with extended warranty. Worked one week and the charger would not stay in tablet to charge. Called Walmart and told to call Pioneer. After several phone calls I had to send it to Pioneer in Walnut, Ca. at my expense. After 2 1/2 months a phone call and they were replacing tablet. Yippy!! Grandson finally getting his gift. Well it arrived 2 days later but they neglected to put in the charger. So several emails and phone calls and now am waiting for charger to be sent. Gee, it's only the end of July and my grandson has yet to enjoy his gift. It is my first and last dealing with Pioneer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 551 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  28 Next