Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Announcing the Pioneer 7" Android Tablet on the Android platform (4.2 Jelly Bean) that is ideal for watching movies, listening to music, playing games, surfing the Internet, answering e-mails, reading eBooks, and more. Connect face-to-face with friends and family using the built-in webcam. With Google Play, you have access to thousands of applications including games, social media, and productivity tools that meet your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.428 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(530 Reviews) 530
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
194
4 stars
129
3 stars
44
2 stars
36
1 star
127
Customer Recommendation66%349 out of 530reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
102 Questions | 321 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
194
4 stars
129
3 stars
44
2 stars
36
1 star
127
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Not sure why the bad reviews

03/05/2014
By ,
tacoma, wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these, one for myself and one for my son. I first read the reviews because I was sceptical on how inexpensive it was compared to other tablets in its price range. First off, let me tell you that the quality is all there! The screen protector was all scratched up but thats why they put one on there for packaging..So take it off and toss it in the garbage and along with it the extra one they send with the tablet and go get yourself a better one. All in all I have no complaints about this tablet. Its fast. lightwieight and does everything I would expect it to do and then some. Comes with google play and all sorts of other cool apps. I think its fair to point out that I have a samsung galaxy tab 3 7" as well that I was replacing because my dog stepped on the screen and broke it while it was charging and for the price I felt obligated to get my son one too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

A nice tablet!

02/17/2014
By ,
Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second tablet. I got it for $59.99 when it is on sale.
I am not looking for a tablet that I can do everything but just receiving emails, listening to music, talking with someone on-line, or so. I totally don't expect this one can handle anything document editing at all. If short, I am trying to replace clock, radio, calculator, and telephone (?) with this device. So far, the tablet does these jobs nicely and respond to my request quickly. The sound quality is good to me and the image quality is excellent 60 cm away. I leave it next to my desktop with a hand-made stand so that I can do these things without affecting what I really work on using MS Office. Therefore, this one is a perfect match to me.
There are few cons on this device, too.
1. While charging and surfing simultaneously, this device does get hot -- but not totally unacceptable.
2. I don't consider the touch screen is very responsive. If you try to take notes with handwriting, this device will heavily disappoint you. Though it is not unusable, but the handwriting output is definitely far from "good quality". My Lenovo Idealpad K1 can do a much better job.
3. The volume of microphone is low. You need to speak up so you can be heard.
Overall, I like this device. It meets most of my requirements. With the price I pay, I definitely recommend this to my friends !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Texas
PIONEER TABLET WONT TURN ON HELP
Posted 06/16/2014
Does anyone have any information on how to maybe get the tablet back on, the screen somewhat lights up some. But the screen will not fully come on. Has anyone experienced this, and if so is it possible to get back on? Or do you think it is OUT
0points
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles, CA
Posted 02/21/2014
i am so interested in this table, i just want to know if the webcam is back and front ? please let me know before i purchase. thank you
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 23 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Birthday Gift..do not buy!!!

07/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In April 2014 I bought this for my grandson's birthday along with extended warranty. Worked one week and the charger would not stay in tablet to charge. Called Walmart and told to call Pioneer. After several phone calls I had to send it to Pioneer in Walnut, Ca. at my expense. After 2 1/2 months a phone call and they were replacing tablet. Yippy!! Grandson finally getting his gift. Well it arrived 2 days later but they neglected to put in the charger. So several emails and phone calls and now am waiting for charger to be sent. Gee, it's only the end of July and my grandson has yet to enjoy his gift. It is my first and last dealing with Pioneer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great tablet even better price

12/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price point is amazing -- and the tablet is great! I bought an additional one for myself as an extra tablet to have at home and so far I am loving it. Connects to the internet quickly, access to google play offers thousands of apps. Picture is incredible, I have been laying in bed for a week :). If you want a great tablet that won't hurt your pocket and works greets this the tablet for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Stopped Charging after a couple days.

05/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought for my 8 year old daughter. It worked well for a couple days and I was impressed with the quality. But I noticed that it took a long time to charge and then eventually stopped charging all together. It was plugged into the charger but not being recognized for some reason. After a few days, the battery completely drained and there was nothing we could do about it other than return it.
Out of the box, it was definitely worth the price. It set up quickly and easily with our router and the speed was decent. It was perfect for our daughter. The reviews on it were decent so I must have received the lemon. I will probably order another one for my daughter in hopes it was just a fluke.
Only other negatives--it gets hot quickly and it can only be viewed straight on. I tried peeking at my daughters game but couldn't see it until I tilted the screen toward my eyes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

WARNING: Take off screen protector!!!!

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my tablet and I ope it up looked SCRATCHED, I was so angry. But then when I'm writing email to Walmart and I'm playing with it I see there is screen protector. So happy because picture is really good, and tablet is fast. I love it, but take off screen protect or else you will not be happy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great Screen Resolution and Speed

02/13/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, the screen is not scratched. There is a film covering the screen. That's normal for many electronic products. It has to be peeled off. That seemed to be the major complaint from people. It is extremely fast and is compatible with so many games due to the speed. The quality is outstanding for the price. Great product!!! Watching movies is also great. I also saw someone claim the speaker is low. I'm not sure what is wrong with theirs because this one is extremely loud. My son played a song and it shocked us with how loud it is. This was in a house with six kids, two dogs, and 2 cats. It's not quiet here, but this thing cranked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

You get what you pay for....

05/03/2014
By ,
Spanaway, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased 4 of these tablets for my kids after reading such amazing reviews on them, plus they were such a great price. One froze on the second day and I had to let it run until it died because you cannot pop the battery out, or do anything if it does freeze. Another one would not power on by day 17 and I have to send it in to get a replacement. It also seems like all of the ones that work okay freeze a lot or have problems charging. If you charge it to full battery, even with the power off, the battery is drained within a couple of hours of it not being used. I feel like they always have to be on the charger, which gets really hot. I will be buying better tablets for them next year. These are not worth the headache!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kalamazoo,MI
On Freezing
Posted 05/18/2014
If the tablet froze you just have to put a pin in the hole in back of tablet this will reset tablet and you will not lose anything. to reset the tablet when it freezes just put a pin in the back hole.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 29 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

A total piece of junk and a worse customer service

06/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my son (12), he had it one week before it started having trouble. It froze all the time, then within a month would not turn on. Shipped it to pioneer's authorized service center, they had it over 45 days and still haven't told me what's wrong with it. I know it's a low priced tablet, but I expected to last at least a year or so, not at all happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Lasted a week...

02/11/2014
By ,
bummed-out in swmi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I previously purchased a cheap Asus 7" tablet for general surfing, reading ebooks and that's about it. It's worked well. This Pioneer appeared to be a decent choice for my spouse to use in a similar capacity. Not a good decision. From day one, we noticed the display angle was fair-to-poor. You have to view the tablet head-on for a decent display. Within the first week, the tablet started to lock up, randomly restarted, continuously resized the screen, and other symptoms. No firmware or other updates were available. Performing a factory reset also did not resolve the issue. We decided, for the price, this tablet simply was just not worth the hassle, so we returned it to our local Wal-Mart for a refund. As another user described, you get what you pay for. Sometimes you win, and unfortunately with this one, we lost. Hold out for something better even if you have to spend a bit more...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Quit after a few days of use.

06/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this for my granddaughter for her birth day. I ordered it late, so didn't expect her to get it in time, but it was delivered the day of her party, man was she psyched. She used it three days, the first day at her house, the next day at her grandmothers, and I got to see it there. When I tried it the back side of the tablet was too hot to touch in one area. I have thirty years of experience as an electronics technician and I have never seen anything with a processor run that hot and last. Well, on the third day, she went to my son'd house, took it out to play with and it wouldn't turn on. I don't live in the area and it will be a couple of weeks till I go down that way. I ordered it online, so not sure if they will just swap it out because of the short time she had it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Good tablet, good value

02/08/2014
By ,
Ann Arbor, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought an iPad (3rd generation) with Retina display shortly after it came out; about 2 years ago. It cost 10X as much as this Pioneer R1. The iPad display is extremely clear and easy to read.
I bought this Pioneer tablet for $60 during a sale. I have paid more for a tank of gas for my mini-van. I work on websites for a few clients and I wanted to see how they looked on Android tablets. I have no experience with Android and wanted to learn more about it.
The screen: The colors are good, quite bright. The viewing angle is not great. It is difficult to view this screen "off angle". I was showing a video to my wife and she couldn't see it until I turned the screen almost directly at her. Once the screen turns away the colors flatten out and the contrast drops off. The resolution is quite good for this price point. Small text is readable but only just. Oh and my screen had the screen protector from the factory on it. The plastic is thin and tightly fit, almost no bubbles to clue you in to being there. Once removed the glass is perfect and the contrast and color is much improved. Remove the plastic and you'll be happy.
Speed: The CPU changes speed based on load. Using a performance tool I can see the tablet can run at 1.2GHz but it usually runs at about .4GHz when working on the desktop. Touch sensitivity and reaction time are ok. It doesn't feel as responsive as the iPad. I have to touch smaller screen elements several times on occasion to properly activate. It's my only experience with and Android tablet so I nothing to compare it to. It is not as snappy as my 2 year old iPad. I am curious if a Google Nexus tablet would have a snapper feel to it.
Size and battery: 7" tablet is a nice size to carry around. This Pioneer tablet is thicker than my iPad. I like the rubberized back. Easy to hold. The battery life is rated at 5 hrs. I haven't used the tablet continuously to confirm that time. This tablet doesn't sleep well. Let it fall asleep overnight and your battery will be near dead in the morning. To save your battery you have to turn off the tablet between uses. It takes 30+ second to boot it. The iPad on the other hand has at least a 10hour battery and will sleep for days without loosing much of its charge. If I take my iPad to work with 50% charge I know I can go all day using it on and off and not worry about the battery. If I go to work with 50% battery on the R1 I will have a dead tablet by lunch if I just sleep it.
Build quality is pretty good. I like the micro SD slot. I put a bunch of MP4s made on my Mac on the card and put it into to the R1. I was able to play the videos easily. I can't to this with the iPad or a Nexus, no sd slot. The webcam is ok for video chats but you'll never take a picture you want to keep with it.
I think this tablet is an incredible value. I can't comprehend how they can make a tablet so capable with so many features for so little money. It works very well for such a bargain price. For reviewing websites this suites my needs. The voice searching is very good. I like how Google shows the text as you say it.
If I could own only one tablet it would be an iPad, no question. The IOS operating system is much more enjoyable to use. Android feels like Windows does to a Mac user. The battery life and performance would be a deal breaker compared to iPad.
Is this tablet worth the money? Yes. It absolutely is. Great tablet for kids and teens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Inexpensive Tablet

06/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to take along on trips to check on email, as it is getting near impossible to find an "internet café" with desktops. Seems the world is going "Wi-Fi", and our HP laptop is just too heavy to lug. This tablet is small, lightweight and inexpensive, but not lightning fast. The operating system leaves much to be desired [you cannot "sign out" but have to "remove" your email address or it will go directly to your email without needing a password]. But it does connect to our wireless network at home and allows us to check email which is all we really wanted.
The instruction manual is poorly written and nearly useless, but calls to the toll-free number for assistance were promptly answered. For the price we paid, it appears to be what we wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Trying to get away from the laptop

02/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tablet does everything I wanted it to. Netflix, email, facebook, news and apps galore. Just trying to get away from my laptop all of the time. Microphone for Skype is a little weak, that’s why it got four starts but I am extremely happy and will purchase one for my husband as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great little tablet for the money.

06/25/2014
By ,
Sumter,South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the ease of using this little tablet,works great surf the net Facebook you have it all in this little tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

nice tablet for money.poor battery.

07/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Worked fine for less than two weeks then all of a sudden would not accept a charge.still works as long as its plugged in to the charger.minor issues getting it to come on but all in all a decent tablet
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Pioneer Badged Tablet

02/02/2014
By ,
Southern California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great tablet for the price. Really fast all around. Does get warm when charging and watching videos. I bought this back on 12/2/2013. Only only couple issues I have are that my screen did come scratched but did not effect how I used it. My touchscreen cracked right out side of warranty and I cant find a replacement now. I know Gigabyte made the tablet and Pioneer put their name on it but there should be replacement parts somewhere. No matter what I still am happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Died after 2 months

04/14/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the tablet on sale in the beginning of February. Initial impressions of the R1 were positive. It was relatively responsive, fairly intuitive (we have an older android tablet, so no learning curve at all) and seemed to be put together well. It did run hot, and the charge port always seemed a bit loose. Now after two months of daily use by our family, the R1 will no longer boot up. After pressing the power button, the screen will blink quickly, and glow darkly. When plugged into the charger, there is no charge indicator on the screen (which was there when working properly). Sorry to say, but it's going back to the store for a refund. I see by the reviews that my experience isn't unique, so buyer beware.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great tablet for the price

07/03/2014
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love love love this tablet. It's my first one. Actually, the second, I accidently broke the screen on the first Pioneer I bought 4 months ago by hitting it on the table. BUT...I couldn't wait to get another one just like it! And for the price, I can afford to replace these every once in awhile (hopefully more than just every 4 months!) I have wi-fi, FB, email, google, maps, weather. We are taking it on our trip to Oregon next Fall...and are confident not only will it provide us with games, but will help with weather reports and directions! I've never owned a more expensive tablet, but I can't see how it can be better than what I've got for $70!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Horrible

07/22/2014
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It froze and quit working after 2 weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 530 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next