Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Announcing the Pioneer 7" Android Tablet on the Android platform (4.2 Jelly Bean) that is ideal for watching movies, listening to music, playing games, surfing the Internet, answering e-mails, reading eBooks, and more. Connect face-to-face with friends and family using the built-in webcam. With Google Play, you have access to thousands of applications including games, social media, and productivity tools that meet your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.352 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(562 Reviews) 562
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
197
4 stars
133
3 stars
46
2 stars
43
1 star
143
Customer Recommendation63%356 out of 562reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
108 Questions | 328 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
197
4 stars
133
3 stars
46
2 stars
43
1 star
143
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

A nice tablet!

02/17/2014
By ,
Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second tablet. I got it for $59.99 when it is on sale.
I am not looking for a tablet that I can do everything but just receiving emails, listening to music, talking with someone on-line, or so. I totally don't expect this one can handle anything document editing at all. If short, I am trying to replace clock, radio, calculator, and telephone (?) with this device. So far, the tablet does these jobs nicely and respond to my request quickly. The sound quality is good to me and the image quality is excellent 60 cm away. I leave it next to my desktop with a hand-made stand so that I can do these things without affecting what I really work on using MS Office. Therefore, this one is a perfect match to me.
There are few cons on this device, too.
1. While charging and surfing simultaneously, this device does get hot -- but not totally unacceptable.
2. I don't consider the touch screen is very responsive. If you try to take notes with handwriting, this device will heavily disappoint you. Though it is not unusable, but the handwriting output is definitely far from "good quality". My Lenovo Idealpad K1 can do a much better job.
3. The volume of microphone is low. You need to speak up so you can be heard.
Overall, I like this device. It meets most of my requirements. With the price I pay, I definitely recommend this to my friends !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Texas
PIONEER TABLET WONT TURN ON HELP
Posted 06/16/2014
Does anyone have any information on how to maybe get the tablet back on, the screen somewhat lights up some. But the screen will not fully come on. Has anyone experienced this, and if so is it possible to get back on? Or do you think it is OUT
0points
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles, CA
Posted 02/21/2014
i am so interested in this table, i just want to know if the webcam is back and front ? please let me know before i purchase. thank you
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 22 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

WARNING: Take off screen protector!!!!

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my tablet and I ope it up looked SCRATCHED, I was so angry. But then when I'm writing email to Walmart and I'm playing with it I see there is screen protector. So happy because picture is really good, and tablet is fast. I love it, but take off screen protect or else you will not be happy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Do not buy!

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had problems with this tablet from the very beginning! I have only had it for about 3 months, and it will not turn on. I have tried contacting pioneer technical support multiple times, and I cannot get anybody. Don't fall for the low price, you will get less that what you pay for!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Not sure why the bad reviews

03/05/2014
By ,
tacoma, wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these, one for myself and one for my son. I first read the reviews because I was sceptical on how inexpensive it was compared to other tablets in its price range. First off, let me tell you that the quality is all there! The screen protector was all scratched up but thats why they put one on there for packaging..So take it off and toss it in the garbage and along with it the extra one they send with the tablet and go get yourself a better one. All in all I have no complaints about this tablet. Its fast. lightwieight and does everything I would expect it to do and then some. Comes with google play and all sorts of other cool apps. I think its fair to point out that I have a samsung galaxy tab 3 7" as well that I was replacing because my dog stepped on the screen and broke it while it was charging and for the price I felt obligated to get my son one too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

bad tablet

06/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
do not buy...poor product..had only 3months and tablet froze up..contaced manufactuer and they only deal with you via email . then they will not supply a return slip. then they want to charge $15.00 plus just to check out the tablet at your expence.then still will not guarantee a replacement..horrible transaction!!!!!!!!!!!give me the runaround do not recommend to anyone ..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Stopped Charging after 2 weeks

07/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please do not buy this tablet. It will not hold the charge.This is llike wasting my money. Im disappointed walmart continue to sell this no good tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great Screen Resolution and Speed

02/13/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, the screen is not scratched. There is a film covering the screen. That's normal for many electronic products. It has to be peeled off. That seemed to be the major complaint from people. It is extremely fast and is compatible with so many games due to the speed. The quality is outstanding for the price. Great product!!! Watching movies is also great. I also saw someone claim the speaker is low. I'm not sure what is wrong with theirs because this one is extremely loud. My son played a song and it shocked us with how loud it is. This was in a house with six kids, two dogs, and 2 cats. It's not quiet here, but this thing cranked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Gets to hot

09/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I brought this for my grand daughter and I noticed when it's charging it gets very warm I'm thinking about taking it back and getting her something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Shady manufacturer put a used tablet in a new box!

05/11/2014
By ,
california
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Inside the box was a used tablet. The box was factory sealed with new stickers on the outside, so that means the manufacturer tried to do something shady. The screen was scratched up and the charger was missing. I read another review on here with a similar experience. DO NOT BUY! Also, I went to the Pioneer company website and at the bottom of their tablet website, it says "Pioneer and the Pioneer logo are registered trademarks of Pioneer Corporation, and are used by E & S International Enterprises, Inc. under license." THIS MEANS that Pioneer doesn't even make or oversee the tablets.. Pioneer is renting their brand logo to a shady company called E & S International Enterprises, who produces these tablets. BEWARE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Quit after a few days of use.

06/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this for my granddaughter for her birth day. I ordered it late, so didn't expect her to get it in time, but it was delivered the day of her party, man was she psyched. She used it three days, the first day at her house, the next day at her grandmothers, and I got to see it there. When I tried it the back side of the tablet was too hot to touch in one area. I have thirty years of experience as an electronics technician and I have never seen anything with a processor run that hot and last. Well, on the third day, she went to my son'd house, took it out to play with and it wouldn't turn on. I don't live in the area and it will be a couple of weeks till I go down that way. I ordered it online, so not sure if they will just swap it out because of the short time she had it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Not worth the money

09/08/2014
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my son after he broke his. This tablet over heats, the plug even gets hot! It doesn't charge or turn on half the time. My 6 year old son hates this tablet. We are taking it back. Have only had it 10 days. Disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Lasted a week...

02/11/2014
By ,
bummed-out in swmi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I previously purchased a cheap Asus 7" tablet for general surfing, reading ebooks and that's about it. It's worked well. This Pioneer appeared to be a decent choice for my spouse to use in a similar capacity. Not a good decision. From day one, we noticed the display angle was fair-to-poor. You have to view the tablet head-on for a decent display. Within the first week, the tablet started to lock up, randomly restarted, continuously resized the screen, and other symptoms. No firmware or other updates were available. Performing a factory reset also did not resolve the issue. We decided, for the price, this tablet simply was just not worth the hassle, so we returned it to our local Wal-Mart for a refund. As another user described, you get what you pay for. Sometimes you win, and unfortunately with this one, we lost. Hold out for something better even if you have to spend a bit more...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Rather a Disappointment

09/04/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs,CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this as a birthday gift for my wife. She doesn't like it because it only has a forward facing camera which makes it difficult to take pictures with other than selfies. Dual core is very slow in comparison with her LG smart phone. Battery has a much shorter life than advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Sucky product

09/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked for a few days then won't even turn on
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Stopped Charging after a couple days.

05/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought for my 8 year old daughter. It worked well for a couple days and I was impressed with the quality. But I noticed that it took a long time to charge and then eventually stopped charging all together. It was plugged into the charger but not being recognized for some reason. After a few days, the battery completely drained and there was nothing we could do about it other than return it.
Out of the box, it was definitely worth the price. It set up quickly and easily with our router and the speed was decent. It was perfect for our daughter. The reviews on it were decent so I must have received the lemon. I will probably order another one for my daughter in hopes it was just a fluke.
Only other negatives--it gets hot quickly and it can only be viewed straight on. I tried peeking at my daughters game but couldn't see it until I tilted the screen toward my eyes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Good tablet, good value

02/08/2014
By ,
Ann Arbor, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought an iPad (3rd generation) with Retina display shortly after it came out; about 2 years ago. It cost 10X as much as this Pioneer R1. The iPad display is extremely clear and easy to read.
I bought this Pioneer tablet for $60 during a sale. I have paid more for a tank of gas for my mini-van. I work on websites for a few clients and I wanted to see how they looked on Android tablets. I have no experience with Android and wanted to learn more about it.
The screen: The colors are good, quite bright. The viewing angle is not great. It is difficult to view this screen "off angle". I was showing a video to my wife and she couldn't see it until I turned the screen almost directly at her. Once the screen turns away the colors flatten out and the contrast drops off. The resolution is quite good for this price point. Small text is readable but only just. Oh and my screen had the screen protector from the factory on it. The plastic is thin and tightly fit, almost no bubbles to clue you in to being there. Once removed the glass is perfect and the contrast and color is much improved. Remove the plastic and you'll be happy.
Speed: The CPU changes speed based on load. Using a performance tool I can see the tablet can run at 1.2GHz but it usually runs at about .4GHz when working on the desktop. Touch sensitivity and reaction time are ok. It doesn't feel as responsive as the iPad. I have to touch smaller screen elements several times on occasion to properly activate. It's my only experience with and Android tablet so I nothing to compare it to. It is not as snappy as my 2 year old iPad. I am curious if a Google Nexus tablet would have a snapper feel to it.
Size and battery: 7" tablet is a nice size to carry around. This Pioneer tablet is thicker than my iPad. I like the rubberized back. Easy to hold. The battery life is rated at 5 hrs. I haven't used the tablet continuously to confirm that time. This tablet doesn't sleep well. Let it fall asleep overnight and your battery will be near dead in the morning. To save your battery you have to turn off the tablet between uses. It takes 30+ second to boot it. The iPad on the other hand has at least a 10hour battery and will sleep for days without loosing much of its charge. If I take my iPad to work with 50% charge I know I can go all day using it on and off and not worry about the battery. If I go to work with 50% battery on the R1 I will have a dead tablet by lunch if I just sleep it.
Build quality is pretty good. I like the micro SD slot. I put a bunch of MP4s made on my Mac on the card and put it into to the R1. I was able to play the videos easily. I can't to this with the iPad or a Nexus, no sd slot. The webcam is ok for video chats but you'll never take a picture you want to keep with it.
I think this tablet is an incredible value. I can't comprehend how they can make a tablet so capable with so many features for so little money. It works very well for such a bargain price. For reviewing websites this suites my needs. The voice searching is very good. I like how Google shows the text as you say it.
If I could own only one tablet it would be an iPad, no question. The IOS operating system is much more enjoyable to use. Android feels like Windows does to a Mac user. The battery life and performance would be a deal breaker compared to iPad.
Is this tablet worth the money? Yes. It absolutely is. Great tablet for kids and teens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Trying to get away from the laptop

02/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tablet does everything I wanted it to. Netflix, email, facebook, news and apps galore. Just trying to get away from my laptop all of the time. Microphone for Skype is a little weak, that’s why it got four starts but I am extremely happy and will purchase one for my husband as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

One Problem

08/29/2014
By ,
Barbados
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really love this tablet, but i am very disappointed to say i bought it on in July and only started using it on the 3rd of August and this is the second time it appears to have frozen . Am i doing something wrong or is this a mal-function. I cannot afford to have it returned so i hope i can be advised accordingly
thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Pioneer tablet

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little starter tablet for kids. Had it for two weeks with no issues. Wi-fi, expandable hard drive, camera on front only, no flash and not very good that's the only downside, decent processor speed for games. Worth the money for a first tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great first tablet!

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second tablet purchased for Grandchildren (youngest is six yrs old) as presents for $69.00 each. Pros: Screen is bright and "comes with protector film already applied", and an extra one in the box. Keep this in mind if you purchase one. I've read complaints of screen being scratched when unpacked for the first time. It's the "film" and not the screen should this occur. Action is fast and smooth with good resolution. Super easy to set up and begin using. Apps and Programs are also easy to locate and download from the online store. Cons: A little slow to cold start. Other than that, well satisfied with battery life, sound, brightness, ease of use for small children, etc. Can't go wrong for the investment, brand, and retailer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 562 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next