Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Announcing the Pioneer 7" Android Tablet on the Android platform (4.2 Jelly Bean) that is ideal for watching movies, listening to music, playing games, surfing the Internet, answering e-mails, reading eBooks, and more. Connect face-to-face with friends and family using the built-in webcam. With Google Play, you have access to thousands of applications including games, social media, and productivity tools that meet your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.421 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(532 Reviews) 532
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
194
4 stars
129
3 stars
44
2 stars
37
1 star
128
Customer Recommendation66%349 out of 532reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
103 Questions | 322 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
194
4 stars
129
3 stars
44
2 stars
37
1 star
128
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great for price kids love them

02/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for day to day use
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Pioneer R1 7" tablet

03/30/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bearing in mind this was my first ever tablet, it took a little getting used to the Android 4.2.2 Jellybean OS. Setting it up with my wireless network and getting everything arranged like I wanted them took me a couple of days of fiddling with it, off and on. I was a little tentative about trying to delete apps I had no use for because of the warning about "deleting this app may cause other apps to malfunction or stop working". If you have reliable information about this I would appreciate some feedback. I am used to the speed of the 8 core, 4.7 OC processer in my desktop and the tablet's dual core processer seems really, really slow even though it really isn't. Sadly, on the third day I had it, my nurse/ caregiver picked it up to look at it, dropped it and the screen shattered into hundreds of splinters. I'm waiting for the replacement to get here so I can start all over. Yeah, it was good enough that I had no hesitation about reordering the same tablet as a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Pioneer Scores BIG!!!

12/27/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First let me put this out there. For those who do not know (and you really should) when they package electronics (ie. Tablets Laptops TV's) they will put a flat matted protective piece of plastic on the screen to protect from getting scratched. I read a few of the reviews on here stating that the Pioneer tablet is scratched and it is not. Just remove the protective screen and you will see. Then take out the screen protector they give you and place it on the tablet screen to protect when you use it. Now to the tablet, I gave it to my wife as a Christmas gift from my daughter and she loves it. It was very easy to set up and install the update. Nice size nice weight and smooth performance. She has been playing her games on it since she received it. For the money you can't beat it. Battery life comes in around 5 hours like it says. It really is a nice little tablet for the price. I even purchased the protection plan for 28 dollars and that is for 2 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+212points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/04/2014
Everyone is talking about this screen protector that comes on it. I just received mine and I do not see one on it nor is there a tab to remove one.
0points
Customer Avatar
Herndon, VA
Thanks for the clarification.
Posted 02/18/2014
We were about to call customer service because we too saw the screen all scratched, and up to now, we can't find the edge of the protector plastic... but other than that, we are loving it! it responds very quickly and the most important, my son is very happy with it. Thanks for this helpful information.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great Tablet For Anyone Pioneer Great Name!

05/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Tablet because i had lots of Pioneer products. This is great for the price. It works great and there are plenty of apps from google play store, free. I have put google play on my P/C Desktop and what it does is send the app i install to the tablet, Amazing. The sound is great, Louder then the Laptop i have. I was really impresed with this Pioneer tablet. Also i have lots of Bookmarks. Theres an app for bookmarks makes it easy to get to a site. I actually went out and bought one for my wife, It even downloads books and you can get the Kindle app and read books. I have had this 3 months, No problems, So if your looking for a cheap but great tablet get this one. I really never write reviews but did because it is so great!! The battery last about 4 hours not to bad. I also put in a 32gig byte Micro sd card in it.Thanks for reading this review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great tablet once you figure out the charger.

03/28/2014
By ,
Lower Burrell Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one super tablet for the price. Not owning any Android product, I was worried that set up would be difficult. It was a snap. I read all the 1 star negative reviews and most seem to be about two items. 1. The screen is not scratched. It has a protective film that needs removed. 2. More disturbing is the charging system. Many people returned this great tablet because it would not charge. It will charge but Gigabyte(the manufacturer) has a convaluted method for charging. No other electronic device charges like this. If you plug in the charger, the display shows it is charging. It is NOT. You need to leave the tablet turned on-plug in the charger- and walk away. In a few seconds the screen will turn off and the charging begins. After a few hours, unplug the charger and the tablet will come back on fully charged. No where in any literature is this method mentioned. How many people returned this great value tablet when it worked perfectly. Hopefully people will read this and purchase this tablet. The only negative is the navagation apt closes before it can be used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

These tablets are great at first

04/11/2014
By ,
toledo oh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have purchase a total of 7 tablets now because they were a great deal, but i had two that were defective within the 15 days so they got returned. one wouldn't go off the pioneer screen and the other stopped working. now i have had them for a couple months and my husbands reset its self to factory mode then when i set it back up you are unable to download apps and it says there is no memory. so i contacted the manufacture i plan to ship it out and hopefully get it fixed but now today my tablet will not turn on at all :( this is starting to make me angry. and my sons tablet is skipping and freezing up when he is playing on his and my daughter her don't want to charge half the time and sometimes wont even come on. I think that these are great tablets but they just need to work out the issues with them. I seen that other people were having the same issues I hope they get resolved I feel that maybe they should recall them because apparently they don't last after 2 months. I purchased mine in February 2014 and March 2014 so haven't had them long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kalamazoo,MI
Reseting tablet
Posted 05/18/2014
do you know there is a pin hole in back of tablet? you can reset the tablet and not lose anything. just poke a pin in the hole then turn on your tablet. this works!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Stay away, do not buy without a service plan

05/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased my tablet back on feb 28th and held off on writing a review. Now I'm glad I did, at first it worked fine, stuttering occasionally in graphic intensive games. I put it through normal day to day use up until Friday morning May 02/14. Tablet was slow and unresponsive so I rebooted the device, it booted back up into a static pioneer logo (normally its animated) and hung for an hour.
I then rebooted the device again and so my troubles began, now it sits in bootloop endlessly playing the pioneer logo. normally one would simply reboot into android recovery and wipe_data/factory_reset. Now this is where it gets fuzzy, Pioneer licensed out its logo and name to E & S International Enterprises, Inc. for the tablet distribution and they also hired a call center outside of pioneer to handle technical questions about their products.
I've yet to have this issue resolved outside of "send us the tablet and we will inspect it and if it's not a HARDWARE issue you will be charged to fix it" really that is what Cs told me today. Seems the company that they hired for technical questions cant answer the one i need answering.
How do you put the device into recovery mode to do a factory reset ?
Their answer today was: "we dont have that information pioneer did not tell us how"
So now I own a 75$ paperweight unless I want to pay more money for them to "fix" the issue,given that If I knew how to reboot into recovery i could fix it myself?
If you read this review and still plan on purchasing the tablet buy walmart's service plan
Pioneer's Cs reps will just frustrate you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great buy if you need a basic tablet.

02/05/2014
By ,
Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I've read several 1 star reviews for this tablet, most of which pertain to the screen being scratched. This tablet comes with a protective film that you remove, then you can apply the included screen protector if you choose. A lot of people jumped the gun with their poor review due to user error and some even went to far as to return the tablet as defective. Those people must feel really foolish now.
The tablet itself is a great buy for under $60. Processor and memory is sufficient for 90% of what people buy a tablet for. I use mine for games, email, instagram, snapchat, web browsing, music and netflix. It will run most games just fine, including The Pinball Arcade. I'm sure some of the more demanding games may not run well, since this is a dual core processor and not a quad core like some of the tablets that are much more expensive.
in the end, this is a great budget tablet and has a solid, quality feel to it. Screen is nice enough and battery life seems fine. Some aps like instagram aren't available through the google store, but you can get them through other stores, which is what I did. Highly recommended and I'm not uncomfortable letting my young kids use this for fear of them breaking it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+111points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
37658
instagram not available
Posted 03/07/2014
so i read in ur comment u said instagram is available in the store but it comes with google play store right? so if it does then i have google play store on my phone and it has instagram. just curious thanks.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Poor construction mars what could be a good tablet

07/10/2014
By ,
Portland, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ordered this tablet for our children to use in the van on a cross-country family vacation. The tablet was relatively easy to set up, the screen looked good, and the kids didn't have any issues using it. All-in-all, the tablet seemed to be a good value for the money. However, about a week or so in to our trip the tablet stopped accepting a charge. We could turn the tablet on if it was plugged in to the charger, but it would not retain a charge. I tried charging the tablet while it was turned on and while it was off and nothing would get the battery to charge. As a tablet is pretty worthless if it has to be plugged in to work, we will be returning the tablet. I noticed that some other buyers had experienced similar issues, but I hoped that it was a rare problem considering the number of positive reviews of the tablet. Spend a little extra for a better made tablet and stay away from this poorly made product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

All good with this purchase.

12/17/2013
By ,
Riverside, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Little hesitant ordering this tablet when it went available on walmart site with no review yet but for $89 bucks, what the heck. I received the item a week ago and the first thing I noticed was scratches on the LCD but found out it was only the film plastic that protect the screen. I peeled it off and applied the free lcd protector and its all good. Connected to my wifi in seconds with no issue and downloaded the updated driver (first thing to do as instructed on the box) and from then on everything ran smoothly.
I played it for at least an hour + and started to like it but this one is for my daughter so I put it back in the box, wrapped and goes straight under the tree. I guess I got lucky receiving the tablet with no scratches (as it should being as new) as what other buyers experienced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Shady manufacturer put a used tablet in a new box!

05/11/2014
By ,
california
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Inside the box was a used tablet. The box was factory sealed with new stickers on the outside, so that means the manufacturer tried to do something shady. The screen was scratched up and the charger was missing. I read another review on here with a similar experience. DO NOT BUY! Also, I went to the Pioneer company website and at the bottom of their tablet website, it says "Pioneer and the Pioneer logo are registered trademarks of Pioneer Corporation, and are used by E & S International Enterprises, Inc. under license." THIS MEANS that Pioneer doesn't even make or oversee the tablets.. Pioneer is renting their brand logo to a shady company called E & S International Enterprises, who produces these tablets. BEWARE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

My kids love it!

01/23/2014
By ,
Canoga Park, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my two boys who are ALWAYS on my iPad and they have downloaded all of the games onto this tablet. They love it and it didn't cost me a fortune. Even if they break it, I can replace it for less than $100. My iPad is a totally different story. I was a little surprised to know that Pioneer made tablets. I have an awesome Pioneer radio in my truck that is synced to my phone through in android app so I guess the next thing for them is making tablets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Pioneer tablet

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little starter tablet for kids. Had it for two weeks with no issues. Wi-fi, expandable hard drive, camera on front only, no flash and not very good that's the only downside, decent processor speed for games. Worth the money for a first tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Very fast...1st take off screen protector

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this tablet for two weeks and I am extremely happy. When I first opened the box I was about to throw a fit because the screen looked completely scratched, but then my son showed me that there was a screen protector on there. As soon as he took it off that's when my eyes lit up. Playing movies on it is GREAT!! The screen is crisp and clear, the movies play without buffering once, Bluetooth and wifi have very strong connections and it has an endless amount of apps. Highly recommend this tablet but first take off the screen protector so you're not disappointed like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Good value once you tune it up

03/14/2014
By ,
Monroe, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My phone is a android device so I was already familiar with the operating system, my stereo gear is Pioneer so I have confidence in the brand. The purchase through Walmart was painless and the delivery sooner than expected. The tablet was packaged nicely. The user manual could be written a little better, but the essential information is there. Be ready with your Google account information because all of the essential aps on the tablet are coordinated through those aps. I had to Google search using my laptop to find some fixes and aps from the Google Play Store to get my tablet running at an acceptable level. I've used it every day now for a week and find it stable and easy to use. Be patient while aps like YouTube load. One of the main reasons I wanted a tablet was access to streaming music. This tablet works well for that application.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
yuuuup
Posted 03/21/2014
This was my first Android device of any kind (luddite) and I was very tentative getting it up and running. The manual? YIKES! There is no excuse for such poor translation. Especially when the tablet has a translation app built in. Still trying to learn the OS but it seems to be a good little tablet.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

decent tablet for the price

02/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i got what i thought i was going to get for 60 bucks and that is a decent tablet. i bought this specifically as a book reader and it does that job with no problems.
however, stacked up against other tablets that i've used, this rebranded Gigabyte R1 is not very good. the viewing angle is really bad from some sides and 'normal' from other sides. i ran into significant slowdowns (webpages taking several minutes to load) while surfing with Dolphin browser, maybe it just doesn't do well with that browser. also, the screen protector is terrible and yes, i peeled off the plastic film before applying. it just would not apply without small bubbles and one of the corners would not stick so there was a giant air bubble there. i tried applying with water, credit card, and microfiber cloth but still no luck.
if you need a book reader, a kid's tablet, or a very casual tablet that you don't have to worry about stepping on then this is a good value. i would probably save the money and put it toward a Nexus or something higher end.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Pioneer is no longer quality product

07/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this pioneer tablett for my 10 yr. old daughter as a birthday gift. Unfortunately, she wasn't able to enjoy it because the tablet would't charge! I plugged it up that morning(7am) and we came home (6pm) it was not charged. I plugged it in to other sockets for another 30 min to an hour and it still didn't charge. I purchased another one that night from another store and it showed it had life and was charging. The pioneer never showed any life or that it was charging.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Stopped Charging after 2 weeks

07/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please do not buy this tablet. It will not hold the charge.This is llike wasting my money. Im disappointed walmart continue to sell this no good tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great first tablet!

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second tablet purchased for Grandchildren (youngest is six yrs old) as presents for $69.00 each. Pros: Screen is bright and "comes with protector film already applied", and an extra one in the box. Keep this in mind if you purchase one. I've read complaints of screen being scratched when unpacked for the first time. It's the "film" and not the screen should this occur. Action is fast and smooth with good resolution. Super easy to set up and begin using. Apps and Programs are also easy to locate and download from the online store. Cons: A little slow to cold start. Other than that, well satisfied with battery life, sound, brightness, ease of use for small children, etc. Can't go wrong for the investment, brand, and retailer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Does a lot for a low price!

01/26/2014
By ,
Brainerd, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a tablet that I could read kindle books on, use Skype, check email, and occasionally browse the internet. This tablet does all of that. Touchscreen is great. Sound gets loud out of the speakers and it runs very well. Internet seems very fast compared to other tablets I have tried. Netflix works and looks awesome!
The cons:
Battery life isn't the greatest (advertised on the box as 3 hours video/5 hours music), but it gets what they say. With the screen dimmed down to 25% (which still leaves it plenty bright), I can get at least 3.5 hours of web surfing or movie watching on this thing. I would guess in airplane mode while reading a book with the Kindle app, you could easily get 5-6 hours. I haven't tried this however. As another reviewer stated, there is an annoying "capture screen" button right in the bottom middle where you would expect the "home" button that I have hit several times on accident. I have no idea why you would need this, much less front and center. Once you are used to it, it isn't a big deal. I have had the occasional app crash, but once I restart it seems to work fine. The pre-installed YouTube app would lock up the tablet every time. After updating it, it works, but the video has to constantly buffering. If I go to YouTube through Google Chrome, it works great.
Overall, it is a great tablet for the $59.99 I paid for it. My father was wishing he would have bought this one instead of his new Kindle Paperwhite because it had more options and the Kindle app looks better on this than his Kindle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brainerd, MN
*Update
Posted 02/19/2014
After doing some checking, the YouTube app should have been working. I ended up returning this and reordering the same thing. Got the new tablet and it worked much better! That was until I went to put the included screen protector on and noticed the front face camera looked crooked (I hadn't tried this yet). I went to the camera app to take a picture of myself and sure enough, I could only see half the screen. I finally gave up on this tablet. Sick of returns and waiting for the next one. Support was hard to get a hold of. They would NEVER answer the phone. They did call me back after a couple of days. Not acceptable in this day and age when you are competing with so many others. I ended up finding a Kurio 7s on clearance for $32! A little slower, but otherwise seems to be a much better tablet and has a rear facing camera.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 532 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next