Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Announcing the Pioneer 7" Android Tablet on the Android platform (4.2 Jelly Bean) that is ideal for watching movies, listening to music, playing games, surfing the Internet, answering e-mails, reading eBooks, and more. Connect face-to-face with friends and family using the built-in webcam. With Google Play, you have access to thousands of applications including games, social media, and productivity tools that meet your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.243 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(793 Reviews) 793
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
255
4 stars
186
3 stars
70
2 stars
61
1 star
221
Customer Recommendation60%479 out of 793reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
255
4 stars
186
3 stars
70
2 stars
61
1 star
221
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

A nice tablet!

02/17/2014
By ,
Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second tablet. I got it for $59.99 when it is on sale.
I am not looking for a tablet that I can do everything but just receiving emails, listening to music, talking with someone on-line, or so. I totally don't expect this one can handle anything document editing at all. If short, I am trying to replace clock, radio, calculator, and telephone (?) with this device. So far, the tablet does these jobs nicely and respond to my request quickly. The sound quality is good to me and the image quality is excellent 60 cm away. I leave it next to my desktop with a hand-made stand so that I can do these things without affecting what I really work on using MS Office. Therefore, this one is a perfect match to me.
There are few cons on this device, too.
1. While charging and surfing simultaneously, this device does get hot -- but not totally unacceptable.
2. I don't consider the touch screen is very responsive. If you try to take notes with handwriting, this device will heavily disappoint you. Though it is not unusable, but the handwriting output is definitely far from "good quality". My Lenovo Idealpad K1 can do a much better job.
3. The volume of microphone is low. You need to speak up so you can be heard.
Overall, I like this device. It meets most of my requirements. With the price I pay, I definitely recommend this to my friends !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Texas
PIONEER TABLET WONT TURN ON HELP
Posted 06/16/2014
Does anyone have any information on how to maybe get the tablet back on, the screen somewhat lights up some. But the screen will not fully come on. Has anyone experienced this, and if so is it possible to get back on? Or do you think it is OUT
0points
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles, CA
Posted 02/21/2014
i am so interested in this table, i just want to know if the webcam is back and front ? please let me know before i purchase. thank you
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 22 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!

08/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this tablet as a replacement for our 8 year old. It locked up within a month of using it. It was returned to the manufacturer for repair (we had to pay shipping). It has been 6+ weeks and I cannot get an answer from them as to when we will get it back. They have the absolute, I mean absolute worst customer service I have ever experienced. Please avoid the headache and look elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+23points
Review 23 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Does a lot for a low price!

01/26/2014
By ,
Brainerd, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a tablet that I could read kindle books on, use Skype, check email, and occasionally browse the internet. This tablet does all of that. Touchscreen is great. Sound gets loud out of the speakers and it runs very well. Internet seems very fast compared to other tablets I have tried. Netflix works and looks awesome!
The cons:
Battery life isn't the greatest (advertised on the box as 3 hours video/5 hours music), but it gets what they say. With the screen dimmed down to 25% (which still leaves it plenty bright), I can get at least 3.5 hours of web surfing or movie watching on this thing. I would guess in airplane mode while reading a book with the Kindle app, you could easily get 5-6 hours. I haven't tried this however. As another reviewer stated, there is an annoying "capture screen" button right in the bottom middle where you would expect the "home" button that I have hit several times on accident. I have no idea why you would need this, much less front and center. Once you are used to it, it isn't a big deal. I have had the occasional app crash, but once I restart it seems to work fine. The pre-installed YouTube app would lock up the tablet every time. After updating it, it works, but the video has to constantly buffering. If I go to YouTube through Google Chrome, it works great.
Overall, it is a great tablet for the $59.99 I paid for it. My father was wishing he would have bought this one instead of his new Kindle Paperwhite because it had more options and the Kindle app looks better on this than his Kindle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+75points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brainerd, MN
*Update
Posted 02/19/2014
After doing some checking, the YouTube app should have been working. I ended up returning this and reordering the same thing. Got the new tablet and it worked much better! That was until I went to put the included screen protector on and noticed the front face camera looked crooked (I hadn't tried this yet). I went to the camera app to take a picture of myself and sure enough, I could only see half the screen. I finally gave up on this tablet. Sick of returns and waiting for the next one. Support was hard to get a hold of. They would NEVER answer the phone. They did call me back after a couple of days. Not acceptable in this day and age when you are competing with so many others. I ended up finding a Kurio 7s on clearance for $32! A little slower, but otherwise seems to be a much better tablet and has a rear facing camera.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 24 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

My kids love it!

01/23/2014
By ,
Canoga Park, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my two boys who are ALWAYS on my iPad and they have downloaded all of the games onto this tablet. They love it and it didn't cost me a fortune. Even if they break it, I can replace it for less than $100. My iPad is a totally different story. I was a little surprised to know that Pioneer made tablets. I have an awesome Pioneer radio in my truck that is synced to my phone through in android app so I guess the next thing for them is making tablets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Review 25 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

My disappointing 'Pioneer' product buy.....

01/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews on this product prior to purchasing it for my 2 year old. I thought I was more convinced it would be a great purchase because I like the manufacturer "Pioneer". To my surprise, there were a few issues with this product. I have had a few tablets in my lifetime and this one was by far one of the less quality ones. I bought a less branded and less expensive tablet for my 5 year old and it turned out to be faster in speed as well as had better applications. First, after connecting Wi-fi it was still super slow which made my son inpatient and cranky. Then, the screen rotation was out of wack. It would face away from me and as many times as I rotated the entire tablet to adjust it continued to turn to the opposite way. The only thing I liked about the tablet was the outside look , but the quality was disappointing. I have requested to process a return.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 26 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Very fast...1st take off screen protector

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this tablet for two weeks and I am extremely happy. When I first opened the box I was about to throw a fit because the screen looked completely scratched, but then my son showed me that there was a screen protector on there. As soon as he took it off that's when my eyes lit up. Playing movies on it is GREAT!! The screen is crisp and clear, the movies play without buffering once, Bluetooth and wifi have very strong connections and it has an endless amount of apps. Highly recommend this tablet but first take off the screen protector so you're not disappointed like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+92points
Review 27 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Poor customer service

03/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked 3months before quiting and has been back in the Pioneer warranty dept for 9 months. Pioneer keeps telling me they are running tests and have been since I sent my 1st inquiry about the status 3months after they received back at the factory.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 28 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great Screen Resolution and Speed

02/13/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, the screen is not scratched. There is a film covering the screen. That's normal for many electronic products. It has to be peeled off. That seemed to be the major complaint from people. It is extremely fast and is compatible with so many games due to the speed. The quality is outstanding for the price. Great product!!! Watching movies is also great. I also saw someone claim the speaker is low. I'm not sure what is wrong with theirs because this one is extremely loud. My son played a song and it shocked us with how loud it is. This was in a house with six kids, two dogs, and 2 cats. It's not quiet here, but this thing cranked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 29 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Lasted a week...

02/11/2014
By ,
bummed-out in swmi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I previously purchased a cheap Asus 7" tablet for general surfing, reading ebooks and that's about it. It's worked well. This Pioneer appeared to be a decent choice for my spouse to use in a similar capacity. Not a good decision. From day one, we noticed the display angle was fair-to-poor. You have to view the tablet head-on for a decent display. Within the first week, the tablet started to lock up, randomly restarted, continuously resized the screen, and other symptoms. No firmware or other updates were available. Performing a factory reset also did not resolve the issue. We decided, for the price, this tablet simply was just not worth the hassle, so we returned it to our local Wal-Mart for a refund. As another user described, you get what you pay for. Sometimes you win, and unfortunately with this one, we lost. Hold out for something better even if you have to spend a bit more...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 30 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer 7" Tablet 8 gb

10/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product for my grandson to play mainly on line games and take photos with.
When we first open it we noticed the screen had scratches on it .We powered the unit up and after a short time on occasion it would freeze up on us and we would shut it down.I had purchased for $28.00
the extended warranty so we decided to return it. Not thinking that this could happen again we purchased another identical Pioneer 7" tablet with another extended warranty this unit after being powered up constantly freezes up and makes a clicking noise while this is happening.
What turned out to be a thoughtful gift has turned out to be a fiasco, my grandson does not have his gift and my wife and myself are out $56.00 in warranty fee's
I've had a few other Pioneer products before and generally consider them to be of relatively high quality, I surely cannot say that of this product !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 31 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

You get what you pay for...

09/29/2014
By ,
Kansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tablet is at a fantastic price for $40 (refurb), but is a poor choice.
The Good:
-- Price
-- 7" size
The Bad:
-- Clunky Interface with Jelly Bean, but serviceable if you are using to surf the web and set a calendar, check email, etc
-- Back of unit get's hot upon any extended use (e.g. over 30 minutes)
-- You Tube junkies look elsewhere, constant buffering even though my cable premium service streams perfectly to every other device I own
The Ugly:
-- Not waiting to report on that, will be returned
Just light surfing or email checking would be ok, but little else
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+4points
Review 32 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Taking it back tomorrow.....disappointed.

10/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got out order through shipping to our home on 9/22 and the first 10 days was great. The past 2 days the tablet stopped taking a charge at all.....no matter how long it was plugged in. Even when my son tried to use it while plugged in, it wouldn't stay lit up because obviously there is an internal issue. No rough play....he sits in a chair to play it...so it had to have come with a shoddy inside somewhere....
It is the cheapest 7 inch tablet I found and now I know why....I ignored numerous poor ratings and bought it anyway hoping we would get a better situation....but I was wrong.
I am taking it back tomorrow on 10/5....13 days after receiving it.....and I am expecting a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 33 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Smooth Operator

12/14/2013
By ,
Moore, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter for Christmas took it home to set it up and install apps. make sure everything works well. I am no computer geek but found this system very smooth.watched a HD video with no hesitations at all. which I know will play a lot of. downloaded a bunch of girl games. played them awesome. I would say it works smoother than my wife's Samsung 4s. she had to take it out of my hands and put it back in the box and hide it from me..great deal. I only took one pic. it seemed decent enough from what I remember.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Review 34 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

You get what you pay for....

05/03/2014
By ,
Spanaway, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased 4 of these tablets for my kids after reading such amazing reviews on them, plus they were such a great price. One froze on the second day and I had to let it run until it died because you cannot pop the battery out, or do anything if it does freeze. Another one would not power on by day 17 and I have to send it in to get a replacement. It also seems like all of the ones that work okay freeze a lot or have problems charging. If you charge it to full battery, even with the power off, the battery is drained within a couple of hours of it not being used. I feel like they always have to be on the charger, which gets really hot. I will be buying better tablets for them next year. These are not worth the headache!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kalamazoo,MI
On Freezing
Posted 05/18/2014
If the tablet froze you just have to put a pin in the hole in back of tablet this will reset tablet and you will not lose anything. to reset the tablet when it freezes just put a pin in the back hole.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Do NOT buy this Tablet!

02/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tablet last year and loved it for the first 2 months. Since then it has been in and out of the hands of Pioneer's support team. But don't let that fool you. If you call in to get a status, the phone calls are being handled by a third party who has no contact with where the tablets are being "repaired". They also have no idea how to find out. If you email them, you will get a generic email that if you follow their instructions about following up with them in two weeks, they send a new one yelling at you that they can not skip steps in the repair. The initial email they send out tells you the average time for repair is 3 to 6 weeks. That is a lie. The first time I had to send it in, it took 3 months to get it back. I sent it to them this last time 8 weeks ago now and they let me know that it has not even gone through the initial troubleshooting or repair. That says to me that they have so many to repair that they will eventually "get to it". Also if the boot locks up or if you have issues with the operating system. There is no option to externally reset to factory settings. There is only one button - the power button. No matter what you try to do to get into the operating system if anything goes wrong - there is no way to do it. You will have to send it in and wait 2 to 4 months to get it back. I have owned this tablet for 1 year and it has only worked about 3 to 4 of those months.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 36 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer Badged Tablet

02/02/2014
By ,
Southern California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great tablet for the price. Really fast all around. Does get warm when charging and watching videos. I bought this back on 12/2/2013. Only only couple issues I have are that my screen did come scratched but did not effect how I used it. My touchscreen cracked right out side of warranty and I cant find a replacement now. I know Gigabyte made the tablet and Pioneer put their name on it but there should be replacement parts somewhere. No matter what I still am happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 37 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

It get hot and freezing it make you scared it will

03/04/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Explode
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 38 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Waste of Money!!!

02/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought three of these for my three kids and have had nothing but issues! They sometimes wont turn on and have to be reset (several times), they wont charge from wall charger, sometimes on computer. Now I have one that says its charging but is at 0% and been plugged in over night. If you do buy one make sure you get the limited warranty as I SHOULD have done....really disappointed!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 39 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Good tablet, good value

02/08/2014
By ,
Ann Arbor, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought an iPad (3rd generation) with Retina display shortly after it came out; about 2 years ago. It cost 10X as much as this Pioneer R1. The iPad display is extremely clear and easy to read.
I bought this Pioneer tablet for $60 during a sale. I have paid more for a tank of gas for my mini-van. I work on websites for a few clients and I wanted to see how they looked on Android tablets. I have no experience with Android and wanted to learn more about it.
The screen: The colors are good, quite bright. The viewing angle is not great. It is difficult to view this screen "off angle". I was showing a video to my wife and she couldn't see it until I turned the screen almost directly at her. Once the screen turns away the colors flatten out and the contrast drops off. The resolution is quite good for this price point. Small text is readable but only just. Oh and my screen had the screen protector from the factory on it. The plastic is thin and tightly fit, almost no bubbles to clue you in to being there. Once removed the glass is perfect and the contrast and color is much improved. Remove the plastic and you'll be happy.
Speed: The CPU changes speed based on load. Using a performance tool I can see the tablet can run at 1.2GHz but it usually runs at about .4GHz when working on the desktop. Touch sensitivity and reaction time are ok. It doesn't feel as responsive as the iPad. I have to touch smaller screen elements several times on occasion to properly activate. It's my only experience with and Android tablet so I nothing to compare it to. It is not as snappy as my 2 year old iPad. I am curious if a Google Nexus tablet would have a snapper feel to it.
Size and battery: 7" tablet is a nice size to carry around. This Pioneer tablet is thicker than my iPad. I like the rubberized back. Easy to hold. The battery life is rated at 5 hrs. I haven't used the tablet continuously to confirm that time. This tablet doesn't sleep well. Let it fall asleep overnight and your battery will be near dead in the morning. To save your battery you have to turn off the tablet between uses. It takes 30+ second to boot it. The iPad on the other hand has at least a 10hour battery and will sleep for days without loosing much of its charge. If I take my iPad to work with 50% charge I know I can go all day using it on and off and not worry about the battery. If I go to work with 50% battery on the R1 I will have a dead tablet by lunch if I just sleep it.
Build quality is pretty good. I like the micro SD slot. I put a bunch of MP4s made on my Mac on the card and put it into to the R1. I was able to play the videos easily. I can't to this with the iPad or a Nexus, no sd slot. The webcam is ok for video chats but you'll never take a picture you want to keep with it.
I think this tablet is an incredible value. I can't comprehend how they can make a tablet so capable with so many features for so little money. It works very well for such a bargain price. For reviewing websites this suites my needs. The voice searching is very good. I like how Google shows the text as you say it.
If I could own only one tablet it would be an iPad, no question. The IOS operating system is much more enjoyable to use. Android feels like Windows does to a Mac user. The battery life and performance would be a deal breaker compared to iPad.
Is this tablet worth the money? Yes. It absolutely is. Great tablet for kids and teens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 40 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Quit after a few days of use.

06/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this for my granddaughter for her birth day. I ordered it late, so didn't expect her to get it in time, but it was delivered the day of her party, man was she psyched. She used it three days, the first day at her house, the next day at her grandmothers, and I got to see it there. When I tried it the back side of the tablet was too hot to touch in one area. I have thirty years of experience as an electronics technician and I have never seen anything with a processor run that hot and last. Well, on the third day, she went to my son'd house, took it out to play with and it wouldn't turn on. I don't live in the area and it will be a couple of weeks till I go down that way. I ordered it online, so not sure if they will just swap it out because of the short time she had it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
21-40 of 793 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  40 Next