Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Announcing the Pioneer 7" Android Tablet on the Android platform (4.2 Jelly Bean) that is ideal for watching movies, listening to music, playing games, surfing the Internet, answering e-mails, reading eBooks, and more. Connect face-to-face with friends and family using the built-in webcam. With Google Play, you have access to thousands of applications including games, social media, and productivity tools that meet your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.275 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(763 Reviews) 763
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
248
4 stars
182
3 stars
69
2 stars
60
1 star
204
Customer Recommendation61%468 out of 763reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
159 Questions | 424 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
248
4 stars
182
3 stars
69
2 stars
60
1 star
204
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!

08/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this tablet as a replacement for our 8 year old. It locked up within a month of using it. It was returned to the manufacturer for repair (we had to pay shipping). It has been 6+ weeks and I cannot get an answer from them as to when we will get it back. They have the absolute, I mean absolute worst customer service I have ever experienced. Please avoid the headache and look elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great affordable tablet

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as a replacement for my 3 year old son's Nabi tablet and it is working great for the most part. I like that it was much cheaper than that one and my husband, who is an IT guy, installed the Kids place app which allows you to add parental restrictions such as blocking certain apps and purchasing apps.
We've had it for a few weeks and I will admit, there has been times when it has frozen on him and I've had to reboot it. However, we have yet to have any heating issues that other reviewers have talked about. So far so good!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Stay away, do not buy without a service plan

05/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased my tablet back on feb 28th and held off on writing a review. Now I'm glad I did, at first it worked fine, stuttering occasionally in graphic intensive games. I put it through normal day to day use up until Friday morning May 02/14. Tablet was slow and unresponsive so I rebooted the device, it booted back up into a static pioneer logo (normally its animated) and hung for an hour.
I then rebooted the device again and so my troubles began, now it sits in bootloop endlessly playing the pioneer logo. normally one would simply reboot into android recovery and wipe_data/factory_reset. Now this is where it gets fuzzy, Pioneer licensed out its logo and name to E & S International Enterprises, Inc. for the tablet distribution and they also hired a call center outside of pioneer to handle technical questions about their products.
I've yet to have this issue resolved outside of "send us the tablet and we will inspect it and if it's not a HARDWARE issue you will be charged to fix it" really that is what Cs told me today. Seems the company that they hired for technical questions cant answer the one i need answering.
How do you put the device into recovery mode to do a factory reset ?
Their answer today was: "we dont have that information pioneer did not tell us how"
So now I own a 75$ paperweight unless I want to pay more money for them to "fix" the issue,given that If I knew how to reboot into recovery i could fix it myself?
If you read this review and still plan on purchasing the tablet buy walmart's service plan
Pioneer's Cs reps will just frustrate you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+104points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

I bought three of these, BIG MISTAKE.....

10/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought three of these, I thought it was a fabulous buy, but boy was I wrong. Within 2 days the first one stopped working, five days later the second stopped working, the next day I decided to return them all....I am still unsure what went wrong with them, screens went black after that I got nothing......Very disappointed....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

worthless

12/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A waste. Freezes all the time. Goes on won't go off. Goes off can't get it back on. You only have 15 days to return. I got took. Wish I could fix it like I do my Lenovo and Samsung. Don't get it just because you are getting it cheap. It was cheap but I'm still out and the money and have a worthless piece of junk!!!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Good value once you tune it up

03/14/2014
By ,
Monroe, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My phone is a android device so I was already familiar with the operating system, my stereo gear is Pioneer so I have confidence in the brand. The purchase through Walmart was painless and the delivery sooner than expected. The tablet was packaged nicely. The user manual could be written a little better, but the essential information is there. Be ready with your Google account information because all of the essential aps on the tablet are coordinated through those aps. I had to Google search using my laptop to find some fixes and aps from the Google Play Store to get my tablet running at an acceptable level. I've used it every day now for a week and find it stable and easy to use. Be patient while aps like YouTube load. One of the main reasons I wanted a tablet was access to streaming music. This tablet works well for that application.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
yuuuup
Posted 03/21/2014
This was my first Android device of any kind (luddite) and I was very tentative getting it up and running. The manual? YIKES! There is no excuse for such poor translation. Especially when the tablet has a translation app built in. Still trying to learn the OS but it seems to be a good little tablet.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great tablet even better price

12/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price point is amazing -- and the tablet is great! I bought an additional one for myself as an extra tablet to have at home and so far I am loving it. Connects to the internet quickly, access to google play offers thousands of apps. Picture is incredible, I have been laying in bed for a week :). If you want a great tablet that won't hurt your pocket and works greets this the tablet for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Broke within a few months

10/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one for each of my kids ages 12 and 15. Both have had constant problems with freezing and the device refusing to even turn on at times. My daughter had to keep hers plugged in because it won't hold a charge anymore. They got these in May and it's only Oct. I have to return one of them because the back fell off and the wires disconnected. We can't get the back to stay on. I had already replaced one when the screen cracked and we got a new one just like the first. We won't be buying this again. I think I'm gonna spend the extra money and get better ones for the kids for Christmas. I'm just glad I got the warranties on these. Not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

THE WORST PURCHASE

12/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The worst purchase I made in my life , the battery lasts a sigh , slow , the screen just by looking at bay , wifi only works with display , fragile , hot, very very bad RECOMMENDED FOR NOTHING. DO NOT RECOMMEND OR MY ENEMY
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

review thru the eyes of a teenager

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my teenagers words about this tablet are i like the quality of this tablet, i like the case, the operating system is easy to use, i think its perfect for me...
my daughter bought this for her birthday and that was her words, she is 15... now for my words, it looks very solid for a tablet, nice case and screen, seams to be very good quality, , very nice sized and system is easy to use, and finally delivery was SUPER FAST, i actually got it 3 days early, way to go Wal-Mart lol...
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

WARNING: Take off screen protector!!!!

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my tablet and I ope it up looked SCRATCHED, I was so angry. But then when I'm writing email to Walmart and I'm playing with it I see there is screen protector. So happy because picture is really good, and tablet is fast. I love it, but take off screen protect or else you will not be happy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Do not buy

11/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This had several good reviews. Maybe it's because I had one that was defective out of the box. I knew how to work everything. The charging issue previously referred to had already been corrected. However, even after an initial charge of 6 hrs., I only had a 50% charge and a 1 and 1/2 hr. usage.
After half an hour's usage, it fizzled down to less than 50 min. usage or so.
I re-charged overnight to no avail. I could only get a 50% charge.
In order to make this a low price, corners had to be cut. The battery is obviously important and I was counting on a 5hr. usage time.
My box was factory sealed. I did not even want to try another item. If the battery issue can be fixed once and for all, this item for the price I paid ($59.99) would be great.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

So disappointing

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picked up my tablet on Saturday and it stopped charging on Monday. Returned on Wednesday. Very disappointed being that pioneer is a brand that I previously trusted.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

My kids love it!

01/23/2014
By ,
Canoga Park, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my two boys who are ALWAYS on my iPad and they have downloaded all of the games onto this tablet. They love it and it didn't cost me a fortune. Even if they break it, I can replace it for less than $100. My iPad is a totally different story. I was a little surprised to know that Pioneer made tablets. I have an awesome Pioneer radio in my truck that is synced to my phone through in android app so I guess the next thing for them is making tablets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

feelingripped

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought the tablet for the camera which is almost useless I would not recommend this product to anyone very dissatisfied
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Would not recommend to my worst enemy

12/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am glad all of you are happy with this tablet, I didn't have mine 2 months when it broke. I returned it under warranty in August. It has been with Pioneer for 4 months. Good luck if you have to return it.!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

A nice tablet!

02/17/2014
By ,
Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second tablet. I got it for $59.99 when it is on sale.
I am not looking for a tablet that I can do everything but just receiving emails, listening to music, talking with someone on-line, or so. I totally don't expect this one can handle anything document editing at all. If short, I am trying to replace clock, radio, calculator, and telephone (?) with this device. So far, the tablet does these jobs nicely and respond to my request quickly. The sound quality is good to me and the image quality is excellent 60 cm away. I leave it next to my desktop with a hand-made stand so that I can do these things without affecting what I really work on using MS Office. Therefore, this one is a perfect match to me.
There are few cons on this device, too.
1. While charging and surfing simultaneously, this device does get hot -- but not totally unacceptable.
2. I don't consider the touch screen is very responsive. If you try to take notes with handwriting, this device will heavily disappoint you. Though it is not unusable, but the handwriting output is definitely far from "good quality". My Lenovo Idealpad K1 can do a much better job.
3. The volume of microphone is low. You need to speak up so you can be heard.
Overall, I like this device. It meets most of my requirements. With the price I pay, I definitely recommend this to my friends !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Texas
PIONEER TABLET WONT TURN ON HELP
Posted 06/16/2014
Does anyone have any information on how to maybe get the tablet back on, the screen somewhat lights up some. But the screen will not fully come on. Has anyone experienced this, and if so is it possible to get back on? Or do you think it is OUT
0points
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles, CA
Posted 02/21/2014
i am so interested in this table, i just want to know if the webcam is back and front ? please let me know before i purchase. thank you
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 38 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Horrible device

09/20/2014
By ,
cocoa, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are not sure if it was just our device but we have had it for only a week or two and device does not charge properly and now is starting to overheat!! The tablet was delivered with scratches on the screen We are very disappointed and returning the device ASAP!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Grandson Loves it

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this as a gift for my grandson and added zoodles to it. Pics are nit great, but it's good for a lil one! Sometimes I have to press the on button twice to cut on, but it seem to work fine. Purchase the care plan warranty as I did for extra security. It's good for the price. ...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Does a lot for a low price!

01/26/2014
By ,
Brainerd, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a tablet that I could read kindle books on, use Skype, check email, and occasionally browse the internet. This tablet does all of that. Touchscreen is great. Sound gets loud out of the speakers and it runs very well. Internet seems very fast compared to other tablets I have tried. Netflix works and looks awesome!
The cons:
Battery life isn't the greatest (advertised on the box as 3 hours video/5 hours music), but it gets what they say. With the screen dimmed down to 25% (which still leaves it plenty bright), I can get at least 3.5 hours of web surfing or movie watching on this thing. I would guess in airplane mode while reading a book with the Kindle app, you could easily get 5-6 hours. I haven't tried this however. As another reviewer stated, there is an annoying "capture screen" button right in the bottom middle where you would expect the "home" button that I have hit several times on accident. I have no idea why you would need this, much less front and center. Once you are used to it, it isn't a big deal. I have had the occasional app crash, but once I restart it seems to work fine. The pre-installed YouTube app would lock up the tablet every time. After updating it, it works, but the video has to constantly buffering. If I go to YouTube through Google Chrome, it works great.
Overall, it is a great tablet for the $59.99 I paid for it. My father was wishing he would have bought this one instead of his new Kindle Paperwhite because it had more options and the Kindle app looks better on this than his Kindle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brainerd, MN
*Update
Posted 02/19/2014
After doing some checking, the YouTube app should have been working. I ended up returning this and reordering the same thing. Got the new tablet and it worked much better! That was until I went to put the included screen protector on and noticed the front face camera looked crooked (I hadn't tried this yet). I went to the camera app to take a picture of myself and sure enough, I could only see half the screen. I finally gave up on this tablet. Sick of returns and waiting for the next one. Support was hard to get a hold of. They would NEVER answer the phone. They did call me back after a couple of days. Not acceptable in this day and age when you are competing with so many others. I ended up finding a Kurio 7s on clearance for $32! A little slower, but otherwise seems to be a much better tablet and has a rear facing camera.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
21-40 of 763 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  39 Next