Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Announcing the Pioneer 7" Android Tablet on the Android platform (4.2 Jelly Bean) that is ideal for watching movies, listening to music, playing games, surfing the Internet, answering e-mails, reading eBooks, and more. Connect face-to-face with friends and family using the built-in webcam. With Google Play, you have access to thousands of applications including games, social media, and productivity tools that meet your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.308 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(647 Reviews) 647
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
217
4 stars
152
3 stars
59
2 stars
51
1 star
168
Customer Recommendation62%402 out of 647reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
117 Questions | 384 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
217
4 stars
152
3 stars
59
2 stars
51
1 star
168
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Not the best for the money

09/01/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought 2 of these tablets about a year ago. One of them wouldnt work right out of the box (wouldnt start up) and had to be sent back. The other worked ok at first but after a few months i noticed it was getting really hot when playing games...to the point of distorting the display near the charging port. Also, for some reason, it will not charge when powered off anymore...it has to be left on to charge. It also doesnt handle alot of processes at once. My old tablet that had half the memory in it ran faster than this one. My smart phone can play youtube videos no problem but this tablet lags on wifi.
It has served its purpose for the most part. My 4 year old now uses it but im waiting for it to stop working one day. There are better tablets out there for the same price but if you dont expect much then get this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Broke within a few months

10/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one for each of my kids ages 12 and 15. Both have had constant problems with freezing and the device refusing to even turn on at times. My daughter had to keep hers plugged in because it won't hold a charge anymore. They got these in May and it's only Oct. I have to return one of them because the back fell off and the wires disconnected. We can't get the back to stay on. I had already replaced one when the screen cracked and we got a new one just like the first. We won't be buying this again. I think I'm gonna spend the extra money and get better ones for the kids for Christmas. I'm just glad I got the warranties on these. Not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Horrible device

09/20/2014
By ,
cocoa, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are not sure if it was just our device but we have had it for only a week or two and device does not charge properly and now is starting to overheat!! The tablet was delivered with scratches on the screen We are very disappointed and returning the device ASAP!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Surprisingly Solid Tablet For Hardly Any $$

09/29/2014
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this tablet on sale for $40 Sept '14 and am totally blown away how solid it is for the price. I am replacing a $200+ Nexus 7" with this $40 Pioneer/Gigabyte R1.
Cons:
*Wifi range a little on the poor side
*Battery life a bit poor
*Plastic screen cover that you need to remove... a lot of people miss this. There's a thin layer on the screen and once you get it of the screen looks great!
*Square payment processing software runs but the square reader doesn't work so you have to manually enter credit card numbers to take payments.
*Volume buttons are on the touch screen, would rather they be real actual buttons.
*Only user-facing camera, good for video conferencing and taking selfies but not for using as a camera
*Processor not screaming but perfectly adequate. Plays movies and most games just fine.
Pros:
*Has two charging ports (micro USB and AC adapter) so you can use USB and charge at the same time. My previous nexus 7 would discharge while plugged in if I was playing video or a video game.
*Bright and clear LCD screen.
*Android 4.2 is perfect, supports flash playback if you install Dolphin browser and flash plugin so you can watch flash video streams (like CNN on zahistations .net, install adblock first). Google play is installed and ready to go unlike some android devices.
*Memory card port in case you need to expand storage
Conclusion: An absolute steal at $40-$50
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

returned

10/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took over a week to be delivered, was way smaller than I expected. Within the first thirty minutes of use it froze up. I restarted it, and left it to fully charge hoping that was the problem but the same thing happened again. Once the freezing up started, I noticed I was having trouble with the screen being responsive to touch after it unfroze. Needless to say, with all the trouble it was giving me, I decided to return it the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

good buy

10/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a tablet to try out but didn't want to spend allot of money on my first one. It is what i was looking for and expected as a beginner tablet and is a great buy for what i wanted it for except for using it to play some large app online games. If you want a tablet to start with for basic apps it is an excellent buy and Pioneer has always been good electronics for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

You get what you pay for...

09/29/2014
By ,
Kansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tablet is at a fantastic price for $40 (refurb), but is a poor choice.
The Good:
-- Price
-- 7" size
The Bad:
-- Clunky Interface with Jelly Bean, but serviceable if you are using to surf the web and set a calendar, check email, etc
-- Back of unit get's hot upon any extended use (e.g. over 30 minutes)
-- You Tube junkies look elsewhere, constant buffering even though my cable premium service streams perfectly to every other device I own
The Ugly:
-- Not waiting to report on that, will be returned
Just light surfing or email checking would be ok, but little else
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Don't Buy

10/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I had listened to the other people who reviewed this. The second day the tablet would not turn on. After hitting the reset button it did. One week later it would not hold any charge. Not worth the money at all. I return it and got my money back and refund for the replacement plan as well. Do not buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

I bought three of these, BIG MISTAKE.....

10/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought three of these, I thought it was a fabulous buy, but boy was I wrong. Within 2 days the first one stopped working, five days later the second stopped working, the next day I decided to return them all....I am still unsure what went wrong with them, screens went black after that I got nothing......Very disappointed....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Do not buy!

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had problems with this tablet from the very beginning! I have only had it for about 3 months, and it will not turn on. I have tried contacting pioneer technical support multiple times, and I cannot get anybody. Don't fall for the low price, you will get less that what you pay for!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Works well... until it doesn't

09/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good tablet while it works. Mine lasted about 4 months before it would no longer boot into OS. It just sits at the Pioneer logo forever. Still waiting on Warranty repair for the last 2 months. Look elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

My kids love it!

01/23/2014
By ,
Canoga Park, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my two boys who are ALWAYS on my iPad and they have downloaded all of the games onto this tablet. They love it and it didn't cost me a fortune. Even if they break it, I can replace it for less than $100. My iPad is a totally different story. I was a little surprised to know that Pioneer made tablets. I have an awesome Pioneer radio in my truck that is synced to my phone through in android app so I guess the next thing for them is making tablets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Good value once you tune it up

03/14/2014
By ,
Monroe, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My phone is a android device so I was already familiar with the operating system, my stereo gear is Pioneer so I have confidence in the brand. The purchase through Walmart was painless and the delivery sooner than expected. The tablet was packaged nicely. The user manual could be written a little better, but the essential information is there. Be ready with your Google account information because all of the essential aps on the tablet are coordinated through those aps. I had to Google search using my laptop to find some fixes and aps from the Google Play Store to get my tablet running at an acceptable level. I've used it every day now for a week and find it stable and easy to use. Be patient while aps like YouTube load. One of the main reasons I wanted a tablet was access to streaming music. This tablet works well for that application.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
yuuuup
Posted 03/21/2014
This was my first Android device of any kind (luddite) and I was very tentative getting it up and running. The manual? YIKES! There is no excuse for such poor translation. Especially when the tablet has a translation app built in. Still trying to learn the OS but it seems to be a good little tablet.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 34 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Very fast...1st take off screen protector

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this tablet for two weeks and I am extremely happy. When I first opened the box I was about to throw a fit because the screen looked completely scratched, but then my son showed me that there was a screen protector on there. As soon as he took it off that's when my eyes lit up. Playing movies on it is GREAT!! The screen is crisp and clear, the movies play without buffering once, Bluetooth and wifi have very strong connections and it has an endless amount of apps. Highly recommend this tablet but first take off the screen protector so you're not disappointed like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

poor battery

10/22/2014
By ,
berlin heights, Oh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i bought this tablet for my 7yr old son. it came with so many apps he does not need and i understand this is not a "child" tablet so i understood i had to take the time to delete uneccessary stuff. the graphics and sound are great. setup was fairly easy. the only con i can find is the battery. after a full charge it lasts about 2hrs at the most then it is completely dead. also the 8gb of memory, i dont know where that is because even after deleting the preloaded apps it still only has about 4gb available so it will definately need a SD card. overall it is ok but for a child, 2hrs is not enough on a battery life.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Gets to hot

09/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I brought this for my grand daughter and I noticed when it's charging it gets very warm I'm thinking about taking it back and getting her something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Poor construction mars what could be a good tablet

07/10/2014
By ,
Portland, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ordered this tablet for our children to use in the van on a cross-country family vacation. The tablet was relatively easy to set up, the screen looked good, and the kids didn't have any issues using it. All-in-all, the tablet seemed to be a good value for the money. However, about a week or so in to our trip the tablet stopped accepting a charge. We could turn the tablet on if it was plugged in to the charger, but it would not retain a charge. I tried charging the tablet while it was turned on and while it was off and nothing would get the battery to charge. As a tablet is pretty worthless if it has to be plugged in to work, we will be returning the tablet. I noticed that some other buyers had experienced similar issues, but I hoped that it was a rare problem considering the number of positive reviews of the tablet. Spend a little extra for a better made tablet and stay away from this poorly made product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great starter tablet

09/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price I paid for it, it is good. The quality feels good. Nothing special. It is pretty fast. It says 1.5 ghz on the site, but my software tells me 1.2 dual core with 1GB of RAM. Maybe boost up to 1.5ghz? It does have a screen protector on it when I bought it. Not the best, as it scratches easily. The display is good. It lacks the crisp and contrast of higher end tablets. The view angle is small, as you start to lose it around 5degrees of looking at it head on. The only camera is a grainy front facing camera. It has no physical volume buttons, all controlled on screen. It's kind of weird that it has it's only AC adapter to charge, but you can also charge it via micro-usb. Has a mini HDMI port that works well. Battery life is good, lasting 7-9 hours depending on use and screen brightness. Back is soft touch with dual stereo speakers that are pretty loud, but has the flatness of most small speakers. It also has a microusb port to enhance the already onboard usuable 5.6GB of space. The Android is 4.2.2. A little dated, but runs very smooth. It comes with very little bloatware, and feels very much like a stock OEM Android. The screen is responsive with very few misses when tapped. Microphone picks up "OK GOOGLE" very well. Only gripes...Power button is a little hard to tap and this deal breaker: No Bluetooth.
What you get is a good tablet to surf, be an e-reader, play some games, and a leap pad to more high end 7in tablets. If you are a basic user, you will be more than happy with this tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Not worth the money

09/08/2014
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my son after he broke his. This tablet over heats, the plug even gets hot! It doesn't charge or turn on half the time. My 6 year old son hates this tablet. We are taking it back. Have only had it 10 days. Disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great tablet even better price

12/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price point is amazing -- and the tablet is great! I bought an additional one for myself as an extra tablet to have at home and so far I am loving it. Connects to the internet quickly, access to google play offers thousands of apps. Picture is incredible, I have been laying in bed for a week :). If you want a great tablet that won't hurt your pocket and works greets this the tablet for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 647 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  33 Next