Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Announcing the Pioneer 7" Android Tablet on the Android platform (4.2 Jelly Bean) that is ideal for watching movies, listening to music, playing games, surfing the Internet, answering e-mails, reading eBooks, and more. Connect face-to-face with friends and family using the built-in webcam. With Google Play, you have access to thousands of applications including games, social media, and productivity tools that meet your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.258 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(788 Reviews) 788
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
255
4 stars
186
3 stars
70
2 stars
61
1 star
216
Customer Recommendation61%479 out of 788reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
168 Questions | 431 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
255
4 stars
186
3 stars
70
2 stars
61
1 star
216
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer 7" Tablet 8 gb

10/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product for my grandson to play mainly on line games and take photos with.
When we first open it we noticed the screen had scratches on it .We powered the unit up and after a short time on occasion it would freeze up on us and we would shut it down.I had purchased for $28.00
the extended warranty so we decided to return it. Not thinking that this could happen again we purchased another identical Pioneer 7" tablet with another extended warranty this unit after being powered up constantly freezes up and makes a clicking noise while this is happening.
What turned out to be a thoughtful gift has turned out to be a fiasco, my grandson does not have his gift and my wife and myself are out $56.00 in warranty fee's
I've had a few other Pioneer products before and generally consider them to be of relatively high quality, I surely cannot say that of this product !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

So far So Good

01/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tablet appears to be a quality tablet for the money. The run time is good and the unit itself just seems better then some of the other cheaper tablets.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great tablet even better price

12/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price point is amazing -- and the tablet is great! I bought an additional one for myself as an extra tablet to have at home and so far I am loving it. Connects to the internet quickly, access to google play offers thousands of apps. Picture is incredible, I have been laying in bed for a week :). If you want a great tablet that won't hurt your pocket and works greets this the tablet for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Taking it back tomorrow.....disappointed.

10/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got out order through shipping to our home on 9/22 and the first 10 days was great. The past 2 days the tablet stopped taking a charge at all.....no matter how long it was plugged in. Even when my son tried to use it while plugged in, it wouldn't stay lit up because obviously there is an internal issue. No rough play....he sits in a chair to play it...so it had to have come with a shoddy inside somewhere....
It is the cheapest 7 inch tablet I found and now I know why....I ignored numerous poor ratings and bought it anyway hoping we would get a better situation....but I was wrong.
I am taking it back tomorrow on 10/5....13 days after receiving it.....and I am expecting a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

You get what you pay for...

09/29/2014
By ,
Kansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tablet is at a fantastic price for $40 (refurb), but is a poor choice.
The Good:
-- Price
-- 7" size
The Bad:
-- Clunky Interface with Jelly Bean, but serviceable if you are using to surf the web and set a calendar, check email, etc
-- Back of unit get's hot upon any extended use (e.g. over 30 minutes)
-- You Tube junkies look elsewhere, constant buffering even though my cable premium service streams perfectly to every other device I own
The Ugly:
-- Not waiting to report on that, will be returned
Just light surfing or email checking would be ok, but little else
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pain to use

12/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this as a present but wanted to do a pre setup on it. I read all the posts about the screen not being reactive enough and they were right, Yes I removed the protective film first. I found it a pain just trying to open or close tabs on the internet or selecting anything. Sound is not very good, speaker is on the back. Runs a little slow, would have been nice to have a camera on the backside. I see the price is now almost $80, thank goodness I only paid $50 for it back in October. I definitely wouldn't pay that kind of money for this quality of item, and it's a Pioneer :( kinda ruins the brand for me as far as electronics go.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

IF YOU LIKE SCREAMING OR A FROZEN SCREEN...

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I PURCHASED THE PIONEER TABLET FOR MY GRANDSON. ON OPENING IT SAYS TO FULLY CHARGE THE BATTERY AND THEN DOWNLOAD AN APP TO UPDATE THE TABLET. WHICH I DID. DOWNLOADED HIS APPS FROM THE PLAY STORE AND THOUGHT IT WAS ALREADY FOR HIM TO PLAY WITH. HE WAS WATCHING YOU-TUBE MINE CRAFTERS WHEN THE SCREEN FROZE AFTER ABOUT AN HOUR OF USE. THIS LASTED UNTIL THE BATTERY DIED. THE NEXT MORNING I RECHARGED THE BATTERY. THAT EVENING HE WENT TO WATCH YOU TUBE AGAIN AND THIS TIME IT STARTED THE MOST AWFUL SCREECHING. THE SCREEN AGAIN WAS FROZE AND THE TABLET WOULD NOT SHUT OFF. AFTER ABOUT 10 MINUTES OF TRYING TO SHUT IT OFF AND ENDURING THE SCREAMING, I PLACED THE TABLET IN ANOTHER ROOM WHERE WE COULD NO LONGER HEAR IT. NEEDLES TO SAY I DID NOT RECHARGE THE BATTERY AGAIN BUT RETURNED IT TO WAL-MART. I HAVE ALWAYS THOUGHT PIONEER WAS A GOOD BRAND . I THINK I RECEIVED A LEMON BUT DID NOT PURCHASE ANOTHER ONE.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

WARNING: Take off screen protector!!!!

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my tablet and I ope it up looked SCRATCHED, I was so angry. But then when I'm writing email to Walmart and I'm playing with it I see there is screen protector. So happy because picture is really good, and tablet is fast. I love it, but take off screen protect or else you will not be happy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Good value once you tune it up

03/14/2014
By ,
Monroe, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My phone is a android device so I was already familiar with the operating system, my stereo gear is Pioneer so I have confidence in the brand. The purchase through Walmart was painless and the delivery sooner than expected. The tablet was packaged nicely. The user manual could be written a little better, but the essential information is there. Be ready with your Google account information because all of the essential aps on the tablet are coordinated through those aps. I had to Google search using my laptop to find some fixes and aps from the Google Play Store to get my tablet running at an acceptable level. I've used it every day now for a week and find it stable and easy to use. Be patient while aps like YouTube load. One of the main reasons I wanted a tablet was access to streaming music. This tablet works well for that application.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
yuuuup
Posted 03/21/2014
This was my first Android device of any kind (luddite) and I was very tentative getting it up and running. The manual? YIKES! There is no excuse for such poor translation. Especially when the tablet has a translation app built in. Still trying to learn the OS but it seems to be a good little tablet.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

looking good

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like the tablet very much will recommend to a friend
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

A nice tablet!

02/17/2014
By ,
Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second tablet. I got it for $59.99 when it is on sale.
I am not looking for a tablet that I can do everything but just receiving emails, listening to music, talking with someone on-line, or so. I totally don't expect this one can handle anything document editing at all. If short, I am trying to replace clock, radio, calculator, and telephone (?) with this device. So far, the tablet does these jobs nicely and respond to my request quickly. The sound quality is good to me and the image quality is excellent 60 cm away. I leave it next to my desktop with a hand-made stand so that I can do these things without affecting what I really work on using MS Office. Therefore, this one is a perfect match to me.
There are few cons on this device, too.
1. While charging and surfing simultaneously, this device does get hot -- but not totally unacceptable.
2. I don't consider the touch screen is very responsive. If you try to take notes with handwriting, this device will heavily disappoint you. Though it is not unusable, but the handwriting output is definitely far from "good quality". My Lenovo Idealpad K1 can do a much better job.
3. The volume of microphone is low. You need to speak up so you can be heard.
Overall, I like this device. It meets most of my requirements. With the price I pay, I definitely recommend this to my friends !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Texas
PIONEER TABLET WONT TURN ON HELP
Posted 06/16/2014
Does anyone have any information on how to maybe get the tablet back on, the screen somewhat lights up some. But the screen will not fully come on. Has anyone experienced this, and if so is it possible to get back on? Or do you think it is OUT
0points
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles, CA
Posted 02/21/2014
i am so interested in this table, i just want to know if the webcam is back and front ? please let me know before i purchase. thank you
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 32 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Dont Waste Your Time Buying This

11/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought 3 of these tablets for my children,10, 7, and 5. First of all only 2 arrived from the first so my oldest son had to wait for his tablet. About 2 days later the last tablet arrived I then opened all 3 tablets.............my daughters tablet was running extremely slow, my younger sons tablet wouldn't load any videos and he had a crack in the screen within minutes from opening the box, my oldest sons table kept shutting off when trying to download any game apps. We reset and restarted the tablets 3 times and they still wouldn't work properly. They couldn't watch videos, download game apps, and the tablets buffered a lot. The only positive thing I could say about the tablets were that they were light weigh, instantly connect to my WIFI, and the picture quality was great. Other then those features I wouldn't by these tablets for any child.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

So Far So Good!

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave as a Christmas Gift to Our Twin Grandsons so haven't used for but only a few weeks but the boys Love it! I was able to download all the Google games I had in my Google Account (all the Apps were in My Apps, downloaded and then set up a Buy Only with Password Saftey Guard so NO Unwanted Extra Charges on Credit Card) so they are Very Happy with it and so are we! They are learning Lots of new stuff, letters, numbers, tracing letters etc etc... The list goes on because there are Wonderful Apps for kids!
Only issue ; I wish there was a way to download directly onto a Mini SD card installed so Apps wouldn't use up all the Memory on the Tablet.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Does a lot for a low price!

01/26/2014
By ,
Brainerd, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a tablet that I could read kindle books on, use Skype, check email, and occasionally browse the internet. This tablet does all of that. Touchscreen is great. Sound gets loud out of the speakers and it runs very well. Internet seems very fast compared to other tablets I have tried. Netflix works and looks awesome!
The cons:
Battery life isn't the greatest (advertised on the box as 3 hours video/5 hours music), but it gets what they say. With the screen dimmed down to 25% (which still leaves it plenty bright), I can get at least 3.5 hours of web surfing or movie watching on this thing. I would guess in airplane mode while reading a book with the Kindle app, you could easily get 5-6 hours. I haven't tried this however. As another reviewer stated, there is an annoying "capture screen" button right in the bottom middle where you would expect the "home" button that I have hit several times on accident. I have no idea why you would need this, much less front and center. Once you are used to it, it isn't a big deal. I have had the occasional app crash, but once I restart it seems to work fine. The pre-installed YouTube app would lock up the tablet every time. After updating it, it works, but the video has to constantly buffering. If I go to YouTube through Google Chrome, it works great.
Overall, it is a great tablet for the $59.99 I paid for it. My father was wishing he would have bought this one instead of his new Kindle Paperwhite because it had more options and the Kindle app looks better on this than his Kindle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brainerd, MN
*Update
Posted 02/19/2014
After doing some checking, the YouTube app should have been working. I ended up returning this and reordering the same thing. Got the new tablet and it worked much better! That was until I went to put the included screen protector on and noticed the front face camera looked crooked (I hadn't tried this yet). I went to the camera app to take a picture of myself and sure enough, I could only see half the screen. I finally gave up on this tablet. Sick of returns and waiting for the next one. Support was hard to get a hold of. They would NEVER answer the phone. They did call me back after a couple of days. Not acceptable in this day and age when you are competing with so many others. I ended up finding a Kurio 7s on clearance for $32! A little slower, but otherwise seems to be a much better tablet and has a rear facing camera.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

We use for development

01/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought a pair of these to develop an app on. We were able to use a generic USB driver to get it to support Android Debugging and we were able to root it using VRoot. It took some time to figure all of this out. This means that the unit was built to Android standards and nothing too custom. The unit is made by Supermicro and distributed by a company out of Long Beach. Pioneer only puts a name on it. I imagine this is the bridge to android car head units from Pioneer.
The battery life isn't long, but that all depends on brightness and the complexity of the applications. The HDMI interface works, the microSD works and the USB works. The unit doesn't charge all that fast using the USB interface. The same micro USB interface as an android phone.
It was only $50 so we took a risk, and it is disposable at that price. They still work, but when they don't, we will toss.
When something of this technology is so cheap, there are corners cut and assumptions made. Don't give it to a two year old and expect this to last. Don't expect your five year old to take this to school every day and get better grades all year while using it. When it breaks, don't go to the BBB, Attorney General, President of the US, Supreme Commander of the Galaxy, or God himself. It's 50 bucks.
The people who are getting bent out of shape should know the limitations of a unit like this and the price point. It is what it is. All of these units at this price are the same. A slight twist and the unit is gone, a PCB trace breaks or a chip dismounts. Sure it can be fixed, but at $50 and a $10 margin, who will do it and ship.
If it turns on when you buy it, you should be happy. For $50 it is not a power house. I found it responsive but it is not a Galaxy Tab or iPad. and priced that way.
I'll buy a few more, maybe one or two will break, but it beats a $200 price any day.
Price fluctuates greatly on this unit from $39 to $79. I guess there might have been manufacturing quality issues.
Keep your receipt, and use it immediately. Do not give it as a gift. If the WalMart insurance policy is worth it, buy it.
I am happy with it, so far. But then again, more unhappy reviews will keep the price down. So complain away.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

good for someone using for first time

01/18/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
does get hot
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

My kids love it!

01/23/2014
By ,
Canoga Park, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my two boys who are ALWAYS on my iPad and they have downloaded all of the games onto this tablet. They love it and it didn't cost me a fortune. Even if they break it, I can replace it for less than $100. My iPad is a totally different story. I was a little surprised to know that Pioneer made tablets. I have an awesome Pioneer radio in my truck that is synced to my phone through in android app so I guess the next thing for them is making tablets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

screen problems

01/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these, and neither one of them worked properly.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Died in less than two weeks

01/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought five of the Pioneer 7 inch tablets before Christmas for my children and husband. Within two weeks, two of them died and two more were having serious glitches that required restarts. We ended up returning them all and purchasing a better known (and sadly more expensive) brand. I would not recommend purchasing these but instead saving for another brand.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Horrible device

09/20/2014
By ,
cocoa, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are not sure if it was just our device but we have had it for only a week or two and device does not charge properly and now is starting to overheat!! The tablet was delivered with scratches on the screen We are very disappointed and returning the device ASAP!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 788 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  40 Next