Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Announcing the Pioneer 7" Android Tablet on the Android platform (4.2 Jelly Bean) that is ideal for watching movies, listening to music, playing games, surfing the Internet, answering e-mails, reading eBooks, and more. Connect face-to-face with friends and family using the built-in webcam. With Google Play, you have access to thousands of applications including games, social media, and productivity tools that meet your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.315 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(635 Reviews) 635
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
214
4 stars
150
3 stars
57
2 stars
50
1 star
164
Customer Recommendation63%397 out of 635reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
114 Questions | 382 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
214
4 stars
150
3 stars
57
2 stars
50
1 star
164
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Horrible device

09/20/2014
By ,
cocoa, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are not sure if it was just our device but we have had it for only a week or two and device does not charge properly and now is starting to overheat!! The tablet was delivered with scratches on the screen We are very disappointed and returning the device ASAP!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Don't Buy

10/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I had listened to the other people who reviewed this. The second day the tablet would not turn on. After hitting the reset button it did. One week later it would not hold any charge. Not worth the money at all. I return it and got my money back and refund for the replacement plan as well. Do not buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

You get what you pay for...

09/29/2014
By ,
Kansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tablet is at a fantastic price for $40 (refurb), but is a poor choice.
The Good:
-- Price
-- 7" size
The Bad:
-- Clunky Interface with Jelly Bean, but serviceable if you are using to surf the web and set a calendar, check email, etc
-- Back of unit get's hot upon any extended use (e.g. over 30 minutes)
-- You Tube junkies look elsewhere, constant buffering even though my cable premium service streams perfectly to every other device I own
The Ugly:
-- Not waiting to report on that, will be returned
Just light surfing or email checking would be ok, but little else
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

I bought three of these, BIG MISTAKE.....

10/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought three of these, I thought it was a fabulous buy, but boy was I wrong. Within 2 days the first one stopped working, five days later the second stopped working, the next day I decided to return them all....I am still unsure what went wrong with them, screens went black after that I got nothing......Very disappointed....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Do not buy!

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had problems with this tablet from the very beginning! I have only had it for about 3 months, and it will not turn on. I have tried contacting pioneer technical support multiple times, and I cannot get anybody. Don't fall for the low price, you will get less that what you pay for!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Works well... until it doesn't

09/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good tablet while it works. Mine lasted about 4 months before it would no longer boot into OS. It just sits at the Pioneer logo forever. Still waiting on Warranty repair for the last 2 months. Look elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

decent tablet for the price

02/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i got what i thought i was going to get for 60 bucks and that is a decent tablet. i bought this specifically as a book reader and it does that job with no problems.
however, stacked up against other tablets that i've used, this rebranded Gigabyte R1 is not very good. the viewing angle is really bad from some sides and 'normal' from other sides. i ran into significant slowdowns (webpages taking several minutes to load) while surfing with Dolphin browser, maybe it just doesn't do well with that browser. also, the screen protector is terrible and yes, i peeled off the plastic film before applying. it just would not apply without small bubbles and one of the corners would not stick so there was a giant air bubble there. i tried applying with water, credit card, and microfiber cloth but still no luck.
if you need a book reader, a kid's tablet, or a very casual tablet that you don't have to worry about stepping on then this is a good value. i would probably save the money and put it toward a Nexus or something higher end.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great starter tablet

09/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price I paid for it, it is good. The quality feels good. Nothing special. It is pretty fast. It says 1.5 ghz on the site, but my software tells me 1.2 dual core with 1GB of RAM. Maybe boost up to 1.5ghz? It does have a screen protector on it when I bought it. Not the best, as it scratches easily. The display is good. It lacks the crisp and contrast of higher end tablets. The view angle is small, as you start to lose it around 5degrees of looking at it head on. The only camera is a grainy front facing camera. It has no physical volume buttons, all controlled on screen. It's kind of weird that it has it's only AC adapter to charge, but you can also charge it via micro-usb. Has a mini HDMI port that works well. Battery life is good, lasting 7-9 hours depending on use and screen brightness. Back is soft touch with dual stereo speakers that are pretty loud, but has the flatness of most small speakers. It also has a microusb port to enhance the already onboard usuable 5.6GB of space. The Android is 4.2.2. A little dated, but runs very smooth. It comes with very little bloatware, and feels very much like a stock OEM Android. The screen is responsive with very few misses when tapped. Microphone picks up "OK GOOGLE" very well. Only gripes...Power button is a little hard to tap and this deal breaker: No Bluetooth.
What you get is a good tablet to surf, be an e-reader, play some games, and a leap pad to more high end 7in tablets. If you are a basic user, you will be more than happy with this tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Gets to hot

09/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I brought this for my grand daughter and I noticed when it's charging it gets very warm I'm thinking about taking it back and getting her something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Not worth the money

09/08/2014
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my son after he broke his. This tablet over heats, the plug even gets hot! It doesn't charge or turn on half the time. My 6 year old son hates this tablet. We are taking it back. Have only had it 10 days. Disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

realistic expectations and you'll always be happy

10/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My boyfriend, and I decided to roll the dice with This tablet, luckily we got exactly what we payed for. It as a fair price and I feel like I got a fair pieces merchandise. it works with Apps, shopping, browsing, even did really well Streaming movies from Netflix picture was clear, Questionably enough the price has shifted up and down on this item a lot. I was reviewing and watching it change from $69.99 with a case, down to what I paid $39.99 no case But same accessories. I am thrilled, it does everything I needed to do, the one nagitive I would say that I've found so far is just that the wifi range is not comparable to my home computer or my cell phone, so I actually can't use it Everywhere in home, I have to switch to my moblie hot spot. I can live with that, when the wifi's in range it works flawlessly. So for me, I think it would be a perfect thing for any adult who is realistic with their expectations, doesn't expect the world for $50 :) I got 2 and if I would have known the price is going to jump back up two days later I would have bought more Of them! stocking suffers, Secret Santa, or just because. only RANT, Shipping I upgraded to two day shipping cost me an extra $15 and 1 tablet on time, the other tablet I got two weeks later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

pioneer 7" tablet TERRIBLE!!

10/17/2014
By ,
West Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this pioneer tablet offline for my son. We went to set it up and when you pushed some of the letters they wouldn't work. Later on that evening he was watching peppa pig on youtube and i tried pausing it and it wouldn't let me pause it. It wasn't doing anything when i was tapping the screen. And then when we got it to the home screen and tried clicking on something else, it wouldn't come up and it would just start randomly bring stuff up that we were clicking on. We are taking it back today. The price was just to good to be true. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone to buy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Poor construction mars what could be a good tablet

07/10/2014
By ,
Portland, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ordered this tablet for our children to use in the van on a cross-country family vacation. The tablet was relatively easy to set up, the screen looked good, and the kids didn't have any issues using it. All-in-all, the tablet seemed to be a good value for the money. However, about a week or so in to our trip the tablet stopped accepting a charge. We could turn the tablet on if it was plugged in to the charger, but it would not retain a charge. I tried charging the tablet while it was turned on and while it was off and nothing would get the battery to charge. As a tablet is pretty worthless if it has to be plugged in to work, we will be returning the tablet. I noticed that some other buyers had experienced similar issues, but I hoped that it was a rare problem considering the number of positive reviews of the tablet. Spend a little extra for a better made tablet and stay away from this poorly made product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

My kids love it!

01/23/2014
By ,
Canoga Park, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my two boys who are ALWAYS on my iPad and they have downloaded all of the games onto this tablet. They love it and it didn't cost me a fortune. Even if they break it, I can replace it for less than $100. My iPad is a totally different story. I was a little surprised to know that Pioneer made tablets. I have an awesome Pioneer radio in my truck that is synced to my phone through in android app so I guess the next thing for them is making tablets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Not sure

09/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tablet turns off in the middle of my game need to return
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Very fast...1st take off screen protector

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this tablet for two weeks and I am extremely happy. When I first opened the box I was about to throw a fit because the screen looked completely scratched, but then my son showed me that there was a screen protector on there. As soon as he took it off that's when my eyes lit up. Playing movies on it is GREAT!! The screen is crisp and clear, the movies play without buffering once, Bluetooth and wifi have very strong connections and it has an endless amount of apps. Highly recommend this tablet but first take off the screen protector so you're not disappointed like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Good value once you tune it up

03/14/2014
By ,
Monroe, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My phone is a android device so I was already familiar with the operating system, my stereo gear is Pioneer so I have confidence in the brand. The purchase through Walmart was painless and the delivery sooner than expected. The tablet was packaged nicely. The user manual could be written a little better, but the essential information is there. Be ready with your Google account information because all of the essential aps on the tablet are coordinated through those aps. I had to Google search using my laptop to find some fixes and aps from the Google Play Store to get my tablet running at an acceptable level. I've used it every day now for a week and find it stable and easy to use. Be patient while aps like YouTube load. One of the main reasons I wanted a tablet was access to streaming music. This tablet works well for that application.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
yuuuup
Posted 03/21/2014
This was my first Android device of any kind (luddite) and I was very tentative getting it up and running. The manual? YIKES! There is no excuse for such poor translation. Especially when the tablet has a translation app built in. Still trying to learn the OS but it seems to be a good little tablet.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 38 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Just Okay

10/15/2014
By ,
Billings, MT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When trying to decide which tablet to buy within a certain price range I decided to go with this Pioneer because it's usually a good brand. It works well enough other than it doesn't stay connected. I can be in the same room as my wireless router and if I hold it wrong I get disconnected. It's pretty annoying. I almost sent it back and probably should have, but now I'm passed Walmart's 15 days so I'll just deal. Other than that, the keypad is really sensitive and easy, and it's got tons of storage space.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

the picture is good and clear and sharp

10/15/2014
By ,
s.f ca. 94110
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the tablet does not want to start every time i charge the tablet even when tablet is fully charged and unplug it shows still charging and the other is it does not want to turn on it took 2 days to turn the tablet on every time i try to turn on it shows tablet is charged i am not happy with this pioneer i think the issue is the on and off button so i would not recommed this item to anyone this tablet may be a lemon i also own a kindle fire i had for a few years no issues like with this tablet
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Broke on 15th day

10/12/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased to replace 3 Nextbooks that only lasted 3 months each. I was hoping the Pioneer brand would be better. On the 10th day had trouble with the charger not connecting well with the tablet port. Finally got a full charge and played for a few hours. I turned it off and it would not even come back on. Returned it to Walmart and did not want a replacement. I will buy a Kindle Fire or Samsung Galaxy tablet---I do not want to deal with returning tablets and losing data with the cheaper models. Have had a Kindle Ereader for 3 years without any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 635 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  32 Next