Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Announcing the Pioneer 7" Android Tablet on the Android platform (4.2 Jelly Bean) that is ideal for watching movies, listening to music, playing games, surfing the Internet, answering e-mails, reading eBooks, and more. Connect face-to-face with friends and family using the built-in webcam. With Google Play, you have access to thousands of applications including games, social media, and productivity tools that meet your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(722 Reviews) 722
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
239
4 stars
172
3 stars
64
2 stars
58
1 star
189
Customer Recommendation62%447 out of 722reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
149 Questions | 413 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
239
4 stars
172
3 stars
64
2 stars
58
1 star
189
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

So disappointing

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picked up my tablet on Saturday and it stopped charging on Monday. Returned on Wednesday. Very disappointed being that pioneer is a brand that I previously trusted.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Not sure why the bad reviews

03/05/2014
By ,
tacoma, wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these, one for myself and one for my son. I first read the reviews because I was sceptical on how inexpensive it was compared to other tablets in its price range. First off, let me tell you that the quality is all there! The screen protector was all scratched up but thats why they put one on there for packaging..So take it off and toss it in the garbage and along with it the extra one they send with the tablet and go get yourself a better one. All in all I have no complaints about this tablet. Its fast. lightwieight and does everything I would expect it to do and then some. Comes with google play and all sorts of other cool apps. I think its fair to point out that I have a samsung galaxy tab 3 7" as well that I was replacing because my dog stepped on the screen and broke it while it was charging and for the price I felt obligated to get my son one too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

feelingripped

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought the tablet for the camera which is almost useless I would not recommend this product to anyone very dissatisfied
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

review thru the eyes of a teenager

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my teenagers words about this tablet are i like the quality of this tablet, i like the case, the operating system is easy to use, i think its perfect for me...
my daughter bought this for her birthday and that was her words, she is 15... now for my words, it looks very solid for a tablet, nice case and screen, seams to be very good quality, , very nice sized and system is easy to use, and finally delivery was SUPER FAST, i actually got it 3 days early, way to go Wal-Mart lol...
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

decent tablet for the price

02/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i got what i thought i was going to get for 60 bucks and that is a decent tablet. i bought this specifically as a book reader and it does that job with no problems.
however, stacked up against other tablets that i've used, this rebranded Gigabyte R1 is not very good. the viewing angle is really bad from some sides and 'normal' from other sides. i ran into significant slowdowns (webpages taking several minutes to load) while surfing with Dolphin browser, maybe it just doesn't do well with that browser. also, the screen protector is terrible and yes, i peeled off the plastic film before applying. it just would not apply without small bubbles and one of the corners would not stick so there was a giant air bubble there. i tried applying with water, credit card, and microfiber cloth but still no luck.
if you need a book reader, a kid's tablet, or a very casual tablet that you don't have to worry about stepping on then this is a good value. i would probably save the money and put it toward a Nexus or something higher end.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Broke within a few months

10/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one for each of my kids ages 12 and 15. Both have had constant problems with freezing and the device refusing to even turn on at times. My daughter had to keep hers plugged in because it won't hold a charge anymore. They got these in May and it's only Oct. I have to return one of them because the back fell off and the wires disconnected. We can't get the back to stay on. I had already replaced one when the screen cracked and we got a new one just like the first. We won't be buying this again. I think I'm gonna spend the extra money and get better ones for the kids for Christmas. I'm just glad I got the warranties on these. Not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

BEWARE!

11/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchaced 3 of these last year for 2 of my grandsons and my boyfriends daughter. One of my grandsons tablets did not work right as soon as we tried to set it up and the charger was junk. The other one lasted maybe three months but not without the headaches of it freezing and restarting in the middle of a game. The pink one i purchased had the same issues with freezing and grapic glitches and would get too hot for her to hold, after 2 weeks the screen made a popping noise went black and that was the end of that. These are apparently are junk and I am sorry to say if you purchase one, you will most definitly regret it....Stay away from this one!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Stay away, do not buy without a service plan

05/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased my tablet back on feb 28th and held off on writing a review. Now I'm glad I did, at first it worked fine, stuttering occasionally in graphic intensive games. I put it through normal day to day use up until Friday morning May 02/14. Tablet was slow and unresponsive so I rebooted the device, it booted back up into a static pioneer logo (normally its animated) and hung for an hour.
I then rebooted the device again and so my troubles began, now it sits in bootloop endlessly playing the pioneer logo. normally one would simply reboot into android recovery and wipe_data/factory_reset. Now this is where it gets fuzzy, Pioneer licensed out its logo and name to E & S International Enterprises, Inc. for the tablet distribution and they also hired a call center outside of pioneer to handle technical questions about their products.
I've yet to have this issue resolved outside of "send us the tablet and we will inspect it and if it's not a HARDWARE issue you will be charged to fix it" really that is what Cs told me today. Seems the company that they hired for technical questions cant answer the one i need answering.
How do you put the device into recovery mode to do a factory reset ?
Their answer today was: "we dont have that information pioneer did not tell us how"
So now I own a 75$ paperweight unless I want to pay more money for them to "fix" the issue,given that If I knew how to reboot into recovery i could fix it myself?
If you read this review and still plan on purchasing the tablet buy walmart's service plan
Pioneer's Cs reps will just frustrate you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Good tablet for a small child

10/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have a 6 year old Autistic son and he's fascinated with the Ipad my sister has. I can't afford to get him an Ipad so after researching and comparing tons of tablets & prices I found this Pioneer tablet. Looked good, price was great, shipping was fast and for the most part, it does what it says it does. However, it does not hold a battery life of 5 to 6 hours as it states on the description. My son will play his Angry Birds games for an hour and the tablet will be dead. The tablet gets EXTREMELY hot after that hour of usage. The screen protector it came with would not stick on to the face of the tablet. All in all it comes down to the old saying of "you get what you pay for". The tablet does what I want it to do which is entertain my son for a bit of time. It calms him down and helps him relax. It's not a totally horrible item, because I mean, come on....I only paid $60 bucks for it (well $94 after I added the warranty and then taxes...shipping was free to the store) So for $60 bucks, sure it's worth it.......but as soon as I get the money to buy him a Kindle or Ipad you can bet I'm going to!!! Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Horrible device

09/20/2014
By ,
cocoa, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are not sure if it was just our device but we have had it for only a week or two and device does not charge properly and now is starting to overheat!! The tablet was delivered with scratches on the screen We are very disappointed and returning the device ASAP!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

will not buy any electronics with walmart

11/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am returning item today, less then a month and tablet will no longer load up
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great starter tablet

09/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price I paid for it, it is good. The quality feels good. Nothing special. It is pretty fast. It says 1.5 ghz on the site, but my software tells me 1.2 dual core with 1GB of RAM. Maybe boost up to 1.5ghz? It does have a screen protector on it when I bought it. Not the best, as it scratches easily. The display is good. It lacks the crisp and contrast of higher end tablets. The view angle is small, as you start to lose it around 5degrees of looking at it head on. The only camera is a grainy front facing camera. It has no physical volume buttons, all controlled on screen. It's kind of weird that it has it's only AC adapter to charge, but you can also charge it via micro-usb. Has a mini HDMI port that works well. Battery life is good, lasting 7-9 hours depending on use and screen brightness. Back is soft touch with dual stereo speakers that are pretty loud, but has the flatness of most small speakers. It also has a microusb port to enhance the already onboard usuable 5.6GB of space. The Android is 4.2.2. A little dated, but runs very smooth. It comes with very little bloatware, and feels very much like a stock OEM Android. The screen is responsive with very few misses when tapped. Microphone picks up "OK GOOGLE" very well. Only gripes...Power button is a little hard to tap and this deal breaker: No Bluetooth.
What you get is a good tablet to surf, be an e-reader, play some games, and a leap pad to more high end 7in tablets. If you are a basic user, you will be more than happy with this tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Get what you pay for

11/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wouldn't recommend buying this. The tablet will black out sometimes where you have to turn it off and back on before it will work again. Most importantly though is the charge doesn't hold. It will signal its charging but when you take it off it's still dead. I'm not too upset because it was bought as a toy for my 5 year old for $60 but it should still perform better. Anyways if you're looking for a quality tablet this is not it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Good value once you tune it up

03/14/2014
By ,
Monroe, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My phone is a android device so I was already familiar with the operating system, my stereo gear is Pioneer so I have confidence in the brand. The purchase through Walmart was painless and the delivery sooner than expected. The tablet was packaged nicely. The user manual could be written a little better, but the essential information is there. Be ready with your Google account information because all of the essential aps on the tablet are coordinated through those aps. I had to Google search using my laptop to find some fixes and aps from the Google Play Store to get my tablet running at an acceptable level. I've used it every day now for a week and find it stable and easy to use. Be patient while aps like YouTube load. One of the main reasons I wanted a tablet was access to streaming music. This tablet works well for that application.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
yuuuup
Posted 03/21/2014
This was my first Android device of any kind (luddite) and I was very tentative getting it up and running. The manual? YIKES! There is no excuse for such poor translation. Especially when the tablet has a translation app built in. Still trying to learn the OS but it seems to be a good little tablet.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

great for beginners

10/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never used a tablet before but this one is easy to learn and it simple to use. Well worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Runs hot

11/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've had this tablet for a couple of weeks now, and it runs well. The only thing that concerns me is that it gets really hot after a while (and the part near the battery is always hot when it's on). We have a purple spot on the edge of the screen (only visible when you're viewing a white screen, like e-books), and there was one day that it got so hot that part of the screen went black. Thankfully, that resolved after it cooled down. I'm not too sure how long it will last, although it seems fine for a couple of hours at a time. Everything else about it is great.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great for the price

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I`m very satisfied with my tablet .i bought it for when I have to spend a long time in waiting room and it fits great ,whit the option of read ,books, mag,newspapers or comics .I always have something to read that I want to read not out of date items .I can also watch movies toons and tv show ,Or play different games if I`m interested .I also find it great for late nite bedtime reading
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Can't beat the price!

11/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect when I caught the one-day sale for $50 for this device. It has been a lot of fun to use. I am able to use is as a 2nd Kindle device, check & write email, search on line, all in a very portable format. Typing on the smaller keyboard takes some getting used to, but I am learning. All in all I am so glad I splurged!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

OKAY

11/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This item is good for the money for the most part, but DOES NOT keep a charge. You have to keep it plugged in constantly or else it will go dead. It is hard to turn on and hard to keep on at some instances. If I would have known that these tablets (as I bought 2) were going to be so hard to keep charged I would NOT have bought them.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Very fast...1st take off screen protector

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this tablet for two weeks and I am extremely happy. When I first opened the box I was about to throw a fit because the screen looked completely scratched, but then my son showed me that there was a screen protector on there. As soon as he took it off that's when my eyes lit up. Playing movies on it is GREAT!! The screen is crisp and clear, the movies play without buffering once, Bluetooth and wifi have very strong connections and it has an endless amount of apps. Highly recommend this tablet but first take off the screen protector so you're not disappointed like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 722 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  37 Next