Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Announcing the Pioneer 7" Android Tablet on the Android platform (4.2 Jelly Bean) that is ideal for watching movies, listening to music, playing games, surfing the Internet, answering e-mails, reading eBooks, and more. Connect face-to-face with friends and family using the built-in webcam. With Google Play, you have access to thousands of applications including games, social media, and productivity tools that meet your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.306 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(641 Reviews) 641
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
214
4 stars
152
3 stars
58
2 stars
50
1 star
167
Customer Recommendation62%399 out of 641reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
115 Questions | 383 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
214
4 stars
152
3 stars
58
2 stars
50
1 star
167
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Terrible Tablet

10/23/2014
By ,
Jonesborough, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Over all negative review on this tablet, very poor WiFi signal and very poor pioneer technical support it was awful. Called 8 times in two days too get nothing but same response (firewall problem),
This was the worse service.
Mike R.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Big problems getting warranty service

09/28/2014
By ,
South Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this tablet in March 2014 and it stopped working in September.I’m in my 2nd week of trying to get warranty service. First of all they don’t take your call you have to verbally leave a message with a description of the problem and wait for them to call you back. I had to call 2 times and it took 3 or 4 days to get a return call. It was when I was at work and of course I didn’t have the information they wanted in front of me so they have to e-mail me for verification.Again days later nothing, So I call them back and finally get someone to answer the phone, Please wait while I check on your status, Sorry your email is Comcast they treat our email as spam you need a different email address. I created a new email and did receive a reply finally. I had to supply name ,address, Where purchased and all that good stuff and guess what have still not gotten a response back.-- support@hkcdigital.com --- I don’t know why PIONEER uses them for warranty service they are definitely a FAIL
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great for price kids love them

02/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for day to day use
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Better than I expected

10/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked up one of these with low expectations. I was hoping it would function well enough to manage a calendar, alarm clock, and play music. Other reviews made me wary, but the price was low enough for the risk.
It is slow starting up. It gets pretty warm if it is both charging and running at the same time. It sleeps at odd times. When multiple apps are running, it slows down. Other than this, it works great, and does far more than I expected.
I use mine to watch occasional movies and to do my college homework, aside from the calendar and clock. The battery lasts a very long time and charges rather quickly. The limited storage can be fixed with an SD card, but I do not use much storage, and have not even filled the 8 GB. The speed is rather impressive, and I only run into problems when I have four or five apps running.
I would highly recommend this for a starter tablet or for kids. It is great, and I love mine! I would also recommend getting an OTG adapter and a keyboard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer R1 7" tablet

03/30/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bearing in mind this was my first ever tablet, it took a little getting used to the Android 4.2.2 Jellybean OS. Setting it up with my wireless network and getting everything arranged like I wanted them took me a couple of days of fiddling with it, off and on. I was a little tentative about trying to delete apps I had no use for because of the warning about "deleting this app may cause other apps to malfunction or stop working". If you have reliable information about this I would appreciate some feedback. I am used to the speed of the 8 core, 4.7 OC processer in my desktop and the tablet's dual core processer seems really, really slow even though it really isn't. Sadly, on the third day I had it, my nurse/ caregiver picked it up to look at it, dropped it and the screen shattered into hundreds of splinters. I'm waiting for the replacement to get here so I can start all over. Yeah, it was good enough that I had no hesitation about reordering the same tablet as a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer Scores BIG!!!

12/27/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First let me put this out there. For those who do not know (and you really should) when they package electronics (ie. Tablets Laptops TV's) they will put a flat matted protective piece of plastic on the screen to protect from getting scratched. I read a few of the reviews on here stating that the Pioneer tablet is scratched and it is not. Just remove the protective screen and you will see. Then take out the screen protector they give you and place it on the tablet screen to protect when you use it. Now to the tablet, I gave it to my wife as a Christmas gift from my daughter and she loves it. It was very easy to set up and install the update. Nice size nice weight and smooth performance. She has been playing her games on it since she received it. For the money you can't beat it. Battery life comes in around 5 hours like it says. It really is a nice little tablet for the price. I even purchased the protection plan for 28 dollars and that is for 2 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+277points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/04/2014
Everyone is talking about this screen protector that comes on it. I just received mine and I do not see one on it nor is there a tab to remove one.
0points
Customer Avatar
Herndon, VA
Thanks for the clarification.
Posted 02/18/2014
We were about to call customer service because we too saw the screen all scratched, and up to now, we can't find the edge of the protector plastic... but other than that, we are loving it! it responds very quickly and the most important, my son is very happy with it. Thanks for this helpful information.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great tablet once you figure out the charger.

03/28/2014
By ,
Lower Burrell Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one super tablet for the price. Not owning any Android product, I was worried that set up would be difficult. It was a snap. I read all the 1 star negative reviews and most seem to be about two items. 1. The screen is not scratched. It has a protective film that needs removed. 2. More disturbing is the charging system. Many people returned this great tablet because it would not charge. It will charge but Gigabyte(the manufacturer) has a convaluted method for charging. No other electronic device charges like this. If you plug in the charger, the display shows it is charging. It is NOT. You need to leave the tablet turned on-plug in the charger- and walk away. In a few seconds the screen will turn off and the charging begins. After a few hours, unplug the charger and the tablet will come back on fully charged. No where in any literature is this method mentioned. How many people returned this great value tablet when it worked perfectly. Hopefully people will read this and purchase this tablet. The only negative is the navagation apt closes before it can be used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great Tablet For Anyone Pioneer Great Name!

05/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Tablet because i had lots of Pioneer products. This is great for the price. It works great and there are plenty of apps from google play store, free. I have put google play on my P/C Desktop and what it does is send the app i install to the tablet, Amazing. The sound is great, Louder then the Laptop i have. I was really impresed with this Pioneer tablet. Also i have lots of Bookmarks. Theres an app for bookmarks makes it easy to get to a site. I actually went out and bought one for my wife, It even downloads books and you can get the Kindle app and read books. I have had this 3 months, No problems, So if your looking for a cheap but great tablet get this one. I really never write reviews but did because it is so great!! The battery last about 4 hours not to bad. I also put in a 32gig byte Micro sd card in it.Thanks for reading this review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

These tablets are great at first

04/11/2014
By ,
toledo oh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have purchase a total of 7 tablets now because they were a great deal, but i had two that were defective within the 15 days so they got returned. one wouldn't go off the pioneer screen and the other stopped working. now i have had them for a couple months and my husbands reset its self to factory mode then when i set it back up you are unable to download apps and it says there is no memory. so i contacted the manufacture i plan to ship it out and hopefully get it fixed but now today my tablet will not turn on at all :( this is starting to make me angry. and my sons tablet is skipping and freezing up when he is playing on his and my daughter her don't want to charge half the time and sometimes wont even come on. I think that these are great tablets but they just need to work out the issues with them. I seen that other people were having the same issues I hope they get resolved I feel that maybe they should recall them because apparently they don't last after 2 months. I purchased mine in February 2014 and March 2014 so haven't had them long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kalamazoo,MI
Reseting tablet
Posted 05/18/2014
do you know there is a pin hole in back of tablet? you can reset the tablet and not lose anything. just poke a pin in the hole then turn on your tablet. this works!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Please avoid this tablet!

09/12/2014
By ,
MIAMI,FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this tablet on 3/10, at first this worked well. I was going to purchase the warranty walmart offers within the 30 days of this purchase and I forgot. So by May we started noticing while it was left charging the tablet would get really hot, then it started freezing and there would be no way to turn it off only way was to leave the battery to run out. The final issue was that it stopped charging I thought this had something to do with it becoming hot when it would charge. Just to make sure I left the tablet connected to the charger for a full day, next day tried a different outlet and left it there for several hours and still nothing. Contacted Pioneer and paid to ship the tablet out to them, after several weeks they get back to me and tell me they found no issues and I had to pay $15 for them to ship it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Taking it back tomorrow.....disappointed.

10/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got out order through shipping to our home on 9/22 and the first 10 days was great. The past 2 days the tablet stopped taking a charge at all.....no matter how long it was plugged in. Even when my son tried to use it while plugged in, it wouldn't stay lit up because obviously there is an internal issue. No rough play....he sits in a chair to play it...so it had to have come with a shoddy inside somewhere....
It is the cheapest 7 inch tablet I found and now I know why....I ignored numerous poor ratings and bought it anyway hoping we would get a better situation....but I was wrong.
I am taking it back tomorrow on 10/5....13 days after receiving it.....and I am expecting a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!

08/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this tablet as a replacement for our 8 year old. It locked up within a month of using it. It was returned to the manufacturer for repair (we had to pay shipping). It has been 6+ weeks and I cannot get an answer from them as to when we will get it back. They have the absolute, I mean absolute worst customer service I have ever experienced. Please avoid the headache and look elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer 7" Tablet 8 gb

10/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product for my grandson to play mainly on line games and take photos with.
When we first open it we noticed the screen had scratches on it .We powered the unit up and after a short time on occasion it would freeze up on us and we would shut it down.I had purchased for $28.00
the extended warranty so we decided to return it. Not thinking that this could happen again we purchased another identical Pioneer 7" tablet with another extended warranty this unit after being powered up constantly freezes up and makes a clicking noise while this is happening.
What turned out to be a thoughtful gift has turned out to be a fiasco, my grandson does not have his gift and my wife and myself are out $56.00 in warranty fee's
I've had a few other Pioneer products before and generally consider them to be of relatively high quality, I surely cannot say that of this product !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great buy if you need a basic tablet.

02/05/2014
By ,
Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I've read several 1 star reviews for this tablet, most of which pertain to the screen being scratched. This tablet comes with a protective film that you remove, then you can apply the included screen protector if you choose. A lot of people jumped the gun with their poor review due to user error and some even went to far as to return the tablet as defective. Those people must feel really foolish now.
The tablet itself is a great buy for under $60. Processor and memory is sufficient for 90% of what people buy a tablet for. I use mine for games, email, instagram, snapchat, web browsing, music and netflix. It will run most games just fine, including The Pinball Arcade. I'm sure some of the more demanding games may not run well, since this is a dual core processor and not a quad core like some of the tablets that are much more expensive.
in the end, this is a great budget tablet and has a solid, quality feel to it. Screen is nice enough and battery life seems fine. Some aps like instagram aren't available through the google store, but you can get them through other stores, which is what I did. Highly recommended and I'm not uncomfortable letting my young kids use this for fear of them breaking it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+134points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
37658
instagram not available
Posted 03/07/2014
so i read in ur comment u said instagram is available in the store but it comes with google play store right? so if it does then i have google play store on my phone and it has instagram. just curious thanks.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Good tablet for a small child

10/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have a 6 year old Autistic son and he's fascinated with the Ipad my sister has. I can't afford to get him an Ipad so after researching and comparing tons of tablets & prices I found this Pioneer tablet. Looked good, price was great, shipping was fast and for the most part, it does what it says it does. However, it does not hold a battery life of 5 to 6 hours as it states on the description. My son will play his Angry Birds games for an hour and the tablet will be dead. The tablet gets EXTREMELY hot after that hour of usage. The screen protector it came with would not stick on to the face of the tablet. All in all it comes down to the old saying of "you get what you pay for". The tablet does what I want it to do which is entertain my son for a bit of time. It calms him down and helps him relax. It's not a totally horrible item, because I mean, come on....I only paid $60 bucks for it (well $94 after I added the warranty and then taxes...shipping was free to the store) So for $60 bucks, sure it's worth it.......but as soon as I get the money to buy him a Kindle or Ipad you can bet I'm going to!!! Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Stay away, do not buy without a service plan

05/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased my tablet back on feb 28th and held off on writing a review. Now I'm glad I did, at first it worked fine, stuttering occasionally in graphic intensive games. I put it through normal day to day use up until Friday morning May 02/14. Tablet was slow and unresponsive so I rebooted the device, it booted back up into a static pioneer logo (normally its animated) and hung for an hour.
I then rebooted the device again and so my troubles began, now it sits in bootloop endlessly playing the pioneer logo. normally one would simply reboot into android recovery and wipe_data/factory_reset. Now this is where it gets fuzzy, Pioneer licensed out its logo and name to E & S International Enterprises, Inc. for the tablet distribution and they also hired a call center outside of pioneer to handle technical questions about their products.
I've yet to have this issue resolved outside of "send us the tablet and we will inspect it and if it's not a HARDWARE issue you will be charged to fix it" really that is what Cs told me today. Seems the company that they hired for technical questions cant answer the one i need answering.
How do you put the device into recovery mode to do a factory reset ?
Their answer today was: "we dont have that information pioneer did not tell us how"
So now I own a 75$ paperweight unless I want to pay more money for them to "fix" the issue,given that If I knew how to reboot into recovery i could fix it myself?
If you read this review and still plan on purchasing the tablet buy walmart's service plan
Pioneer's Cs reps will just frustrate you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

decent tablet for the price

02/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i got what i thought i was going to get for 60 bucks and that is a decent tablet. i bought this specifically as a book reader and it does that job with no problems.
however, stacked up against other tablets that i've used, this rebranded Gigabyte R1 is not very good. the viewing angle is really bad from some sides and 'normal' from other sides. i ran into significant slowdowns (webpages taking several minutes to load) while surfing with Dolphin browser, maybe it just doesn't do well with that browser. also, the screen protector is terrible and yes, i peeled off the plastic film before applying. it just would not apply without small bubbles and one of the corners would not stick so there was a giant air bubble there. i tried applying with water, credit card, and microfiber cloth but still no luck.
if you need a book reader, a kid's tablet, or a very casual tablet that you don't have to worry about stepping on then this is a good value. i would probably save the money and put it toward a Nexus or something higher end.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

All good with this purchase.

12/17/2013
By ,
Riverside, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Little hesitant ordering this tablet when it went available on walmart site with no review yet but for $89 bucks, what the heck. I received the item a week ago and the first thing I noticed was scratches on the LCD but found out it was only the film plastic that protect the screen. I peeled it off and applied the free lcd protector and its all good. Connected to my wifi in seconds with no issue and downloaded the updated driver (first thing to do as instructed on the box) and from then on everything ran smoothly.
I played it for at least an hour + and started to like it but this one is for my daughter so I put it back in the box, wrapped and goes straight under the tree. I guess I got lucky receiving the tablet with no scratches (as it should being as new) as what other buyers experienced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great deal for tablet!

10/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Pioneer 7 inch tablet because of its cost and capabilities. It has all of the features that a kindle has, minus the cost. I primarily use the tablet for the ereader capability, which is great. Anyone looking for a lighweight, android tablet, should consider this tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

It gets hot.

09/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Somethings you should be aware:
- The back of the tablet gets very hot when in use.
- It is laggy, in special when there some background activity is running (email fetch, for example).
- When scrolling through a web page (click and drag) it sometimes register a touch in the middle of the scrolling. You have to be patient and wait for the page to finish loading.
- Screen protector is on the exact size of the screen, which makes it a little bit difficult to install and it leaves a lot of bubbles.
- No bluetooth.
For the price of the product, I guess it is ok. It works with Chromecast and it is good enough for web surfing and read emails.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 641 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  33 Next