Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Announcing the Pioneer 7" Android Tablet on the Android platform (4.2 Jelly Bean) that is ideal for watching movies, listening to music, playing games, surfing the Internet, answering e-mails, reading eBooks, and more. Connect face-to-face with friends and family using the built-in webcam. With Google Play, you have access to thousands of applications including games, social media, and productivity tools that meet your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.34 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(580 Reviews) 580
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
202
4 stars
135
3 stars
49
2 stars
46
1 star
148
Customer Recommendation63%364 out of 580reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
112 Questions | 340 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
202
4 stars
135
3 stars
49
2 stars
46
1 star
148
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great for price kids love them

02/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for day to day use
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Big problems getting warranty service

09/28/2014
By ,
South Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this tablet in March 2014 and it stopped working in September.I’m in my 2nd week of trying to get warranty service. First of all they don’t take your call you have to verbally leave a message with a description of the problem and wait for them to call you back. I had to call 2 times and it took 3 or 4 days to get a return call. It was when I was at work and of course I didn’t have the information they wanted in front of me so they have to e-mail me for verification.Again days later nothing, So I call them back and finally get someone to answer the phone, Please wait while I check on your status, Sorry your email is Comcast they treat our email as spam you need a different email address. I created a new email and did receive a reply finally. I had to supply name ,address, Where purchased and all that good stuff and guess what have still not gotten a response back.-- support@hkcdigital.com --- I don’t know why PIONEER uses them for warranty service they are definitely a FAIL
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Had to return

09/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this tablet with my breath held after reading the very mixed reviews. I was at first impressed. Though it was a bit smaller than I expected, the images were clear and it seemed to be a quality product. However, that did not last. Within thirty minutes of browsing my new product, it froze up. I could not get it to do anything. Finally I got it to shut off. I hoped it was the battery dead causing the problems but after charging it for hours and the battery saying full charge, it froze up again within ten to twenty minutes of use. Also, once it started freezing on me and I restarted it, the screen would barely respond to touch. So needless to say it went back to walmart. Oh, and I used site to store and had to wait for over a week for delivery. Maybe my experience was simply due to that particular tablet being a bad tablet, and not necessarily every Pioneer tablet is a piece of junk. Either way, I do not see me purchasing another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer R1 7" tablet

03/30/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bearing in mind this was my first ever tablet, it took a little getting used to the Android 4.2.2 Jellybean OS. Setting it up with my wireless network and getting everything arranged like I wanted them took me a couple of days of fiddling with it, off and on. I was a little tentative about trying to delete apps I had no use for because of the warning about "deleting this app may cause other apps to malfunction or stop working". If you have reliable information about this I would appreciate some feedback. I am used to the speed of the 8 core, 4.7 OC processer in my desktop and the tablet's dual core processer seems really, really slow even though it really isn't. Sadly, on the third day I had it, my nurse/ caregiver picked it up to look at it, dropped it and the screen shattered into hundreds of splinters. I'm waiting for the replacement to get here so I can start all over. Yeah, it was good enough that I had no hesitation about reordering the same tablet as a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Pioneer Scores BIG!!!

12/27/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First let me put this out there. For those who do not know (and you really should) when they package electronics (ie. Tablets Laptops TV's) they will put a flat matted protective piece of plastic on the screen to protect from getting scratched. I read a few of the reviews on here stating that the Pioneer tablet is scratched and it is not. Just remove the protective screen and you will see. Then take out the screen protector they give you and place it on the tablet screen to protect when you use it. Now to the tablet, I gave it to my wife as a Christmas gift from my daughter and she loves it. It was very easy to set up and install the update. Nice size nice weight and smooth performance. She has been playing her games on it since she received it. For the money you can't beat it. Battery life comes in around 5 hours like it says. It really is a nice little tablet for the price. I even purchased the protection plan for 28 dollars and that is for 2 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+254points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/04/2014
Everyone is talking about this screen protector that comes on it. I just received mine and I do not see one on it nor is there a tab to remove one.
0points
Customer Avatar
Herndon, VA
Thanks for the clarification.
Posted 02/18/2014
We were about to call customer service because we too saw the screen all scratched, and up to now, we can't find the edge of the protector plastic... but other than that, we are loving it! it responds very quickly and the most important, my son is very happy with it. Thanks for this helpful information.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Please avoid this tablet!

09/12/2014
By ,
MIAMI,FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this tablet on 3/10, at first this worked well. I was going to purchase the warranty walmart offers within the 30 days of this purchase and I forgot. So by May we started noticing while it was left charging the tablet would get really hot, then it started freezing and there would be no way to turn it off only way was to leave the battery to run out. The final issue was that it stopped charging I thought this had something to do with it becoming hot when it would charge. Just to make sure I left the tablet connected to the charger for a full day, next day tried a different outlet and left it there for several hours and still nothing. Contacted Pioneer and paid to ship the tablet out to them, after several weeks they get back to me and tell me they found no issues and I had to pay $15 for them to ship it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great tablet once you figure out the charger.

03/28/2014
By ,
Lower Burrell Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one super tablet for the price. Not owning any Android product, I was worried that set up would be difficult. It was a snap. I read all the 1 star negative reviews and most seem to be about two items. 1. The screen is not scratched. It has a protective film that needs removed. 2. More disturbing is the charging system. Many people returned this great tablet because it would not charge. It will charge but Gigabyte(the manufacturer) has a convaluted method for charging. No other electronic device charges like this. If you plug in the charger, the display shows it is charging. It is NOT. You need to leave the tablet turned on-plug in the charger- and walk away. In a few seconds the screen will turn off and the charging begins. After a few hours, unplug the charger and the tablet will come back on fully charged. No where in any literature is this method mentioned. How many people returned this great value tablet when it worked perfectly. Hopefully people will read this and purchase this tablet. The only negative is the navagation apt closes before it can be used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great Tablet For Anyone Pioneer Great Name!

05/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Tablet because i had lots of Pioneer products. This is great for the price. It works great and there are plenty of apps from google play store, free. I have put google play on my P/C Desktop and what it does is send the app i install to the tablet, Amazing. The sound is great, Louder then the Laptop i have. I was really impresed with this Pioneer tablet. Also i have lots of Bookmarks. Theres an app for bookmarks makes it easy to get to a site. I actually went out and bought one for my wife, It even downloads books and you can get the Kindle app and read books. I have had this 3 months, No problems, So if your looking for a cheap but great tablet get this one. I really never write reviews but did because it is so great!! The battery last about 4 hours not to bad. I also put in a 32gig byte Micro sd card in it.Thanks for reading this review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

These tablets are great at first

04/11/2014
By ,
toledo oh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have purchase a total of 7 tablets now because they were a great deal, but i had two that were defective within the 15 days so they got returned. one wouldn't go off the pioneer screen and the other stopped working. now i have had them for a couple months and my husbands reset its self to factory mode then when i set it back up you are unable to download apps and it says there is no memory. so i contacted the manufacture i plan to ship it out and hopefully get it fixed but now today my tablet will not turn on at all :( this is starting to make me angry. and my sons tablet is skipping and freezing up when he is playing on his and my daughter her don't want to charge half the time and sometimes wont even come on. I think that these are great tablets but they just need to work out the issues with them. I seen that other people were having the same issues I hope they get resolved I feel that maybe they should recall them because apparently they don't last after 2 months. I purchased mine in February 2014 and March 2014 so haven't had them long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kalamazoo,MI
Reseting tablet
Posted 05/18/2014
do you know there is a pin hole in back of tablet? you can reset the tablet and not lose anything. just poke a pin in the hole then turn on your tablet. this works!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!

08/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this tablet as a replacement for our 8 year old. It locked up within a month of using it. It was returned to the manufacturer for repair (we had to pay shipping). It has been 6+ weeks and I cannot get an answer from them as to when we will get it back. They have the absolute, I mean absolute worst customer service I have ever experienced. Please avoid the headache and look elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great buy if you need a basic tablet.

02/05/2014
By ,
Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I've read several 1 star reviews for this tablet, most of which pertain to the screen being scratched. This tablet comes with a protective film that you remove, then you can apply the included screen protector if you choose. A lot of people jumped the gun with their poor review due to user error and some even went to far as to return the tablet as defective. Those people must feel really foolish now.
The tablet itself is a great buy for under $60. Processor and memory is sufficient for 90% of what people buy a tablet for. I use mine for games, email, instagram, snapchat, web browsing, music and netflix. It will run most games just fine, including The Pinball Arcade. I'm sure some of the more demanding games may not run well, since this is a dual core processor and not a quad core like some of the tablets that are much more expensive.
in the end, this is a great budget tablet and has a solid, quality feel to it. Screen is nice enough and battery life seems fine. Some aps like instagram aren't available through the google store, but you can get them through other stores, which is what I did. Highly recommended and I'm not uncomfortable letting my young kids use this for fear of them breaking it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+130points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
37658
instagram not available
Posted 03/07/2014
so i read in ur comment u said instagram is available in the store but it comes with google play store right? so if it does then i have google play store on my phone and it has instagram. just curious thanks.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Stay away, do not buy without a service plan

05/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased my tablet back on feb 28th and held off on writing a review. Now I'm glad I did, at first it worked fine, stuttering occasionally in graphic intensive games. I put it through normal day to day use up until Friday morning May 02/14. Tablet was slow and unresponsive so I rebooted the device, it booted back up into a static pioneer logo (normally its animated) and hung for an hour.
I then rebooted the device again and so my troubles began, now it sits in bootloop endlessly playing the pioneer logo. normally one would simply reboot into android recovery and wipe_data/factory_reset. Now this is where it gets fuzzy, Pioneer licensed out its logo and name to E & S International Enterprises, Inc. for the tablet distribution and they also hired a call center outside of pioneer to handle technical questions about their products.
I've yet to have this issue resolved outside of "send us the tablet and we will inspect it and if it's not a HARDWARE issue you will be charged to fix it" really that is what Cs told me today. Seems the company that they hired for technical questions cant answer the one i need answering.
How do you put the device into recovery mode to do a factory reset ?
Their answer today was: "we dont have that information pioneer did not tell us how"
So now I own a 75$ paperweight unless I want to pay more money for them to "fix" the issue,given that If I knew how to reboot into recovery i could fix it myself?
If you read this review and still plan on purchasing the tablet buy walmart's service plan
Pioneer's Cs reps will just frustrate you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Great starter tablet

09/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price I paid for it, it is good. The quality feels good. Nothing special. It is pretty fast. It says 1.5 ghz on the site, but my software tells me 1.2 dual core with 1GB of RAM. Maybe boost up to 1.5ghz? It does have a screen protector on it when I bought it. Not the best, as it scratches easily. The display is good. It lacks the crisp and contrast of higher end tablets. The view angle is small, as you start to lose it around 5degrees of looking at it head on. The only camera is a grainy front facing camera. It has no physical volume buttons, all controlled on screen. It's kind of weird that it has it's only AC adapter to charge, but you can also charge it via micro-usb. Has a mini HDMI port that works well. Battery life is good, lasting 7-9 hours depending on use and screen brightness. Back is soft touch with dual stereo speakers that are pretty loud, but has the flatness of most small speakers. It also has a microusb port to enhance the already onboard usuable 5.6GB of space. The Android is 4.2.2. A little dated, but runs very smooth. It comes with very little bloatware, and feels very much like a stock OEM Android. The screen is responsive with very few misses when tapped. Microphone picks up "OK GOOGLE" very well. Only gripes...Power button is a little hard to tap and this deal breaker: No Bluetooth.
What you get is a good tablet to surf, be an e-reader, play some games, and a leap pad to more high end 7in tablets. If you are a basic user, you will be more than happy with this tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Not sure

09/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tablet turns off in the middle of my game need to return
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

All good with this purchase.

12/17/2013
By ,
Riverside, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Little hesitant ordering this tablet when it went available on walmart site with no review yet but for $89 bucks, what the heck. I received the item a week ago and the first thing I noticed was scratches on the LCD but found out it was only the film plastic that protect the screen. I peeled it off and applied the free lcd protector and its all good. Connected to my wifi in seconds with no issue and downloaded the updated driver (first thing to do as instructed on the box) and from then on everything ran smoothly.
I played it for at least an hour + and started to like it but this one is for my daughter so I put it back in the box, wrapped and goes straight under the tree. I guess I got lucky receiving the tablet with no scratches (as it should being as new) as what other buyers experienced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Horrible device

09/20/2014
By ,
cocoa, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are not sure if it was just our device but we have had it for only a week or two and device does not charge properly and now is starting to overheat!! The tablet was delivered with scratches on the screen We are very disappointed and returning the device ASAP!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Poor construction mars what could be a good tablet

07/10/2014
By ,
Portland, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ordered this tablet for our children to use in the van on a cross-country family vacation. The tablet was relatively easy to set up, the screen looked good, and the kids didn't have any issues using it. All-in-all, the tablet seemed to be a good value for the money. However, about a week or so in to our trip the tablet stopped accepting a charge. We could turn the tablet on if it was plugged in to the charger, but it would not retain a charge. I tried charging the tablet while it was turned on and while it was off and nothing would get the battery to charge. As a tablet is pretty worthless if it has to be plugged in to work, we will be returning the tablet. I noticed that some other buyers had experienced similar issues, but I hoped that it was a rare problem considering the number of positive reviews of the tablet. Spend a little extra for a better made tablet and stay away from this poorly made product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Do not buy!

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had problems with this tablet from the very beginning! I have only had it for about 3 months, and it will not turn on. I have tried contacting pioneer technical support multiple times, and I cannot get anybody. Don't fall for the low price, you will get less that what you pay for!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Works well... until it doesn't

09/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good tablet while it works. Mine lasted about 4 months before it would no longer boot into OS. It just sits at the Pioneer logo forever. Still waiting on Warranty repair for the last 2 months. Look elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pioneer 7" Tablet 8GB Dual Core

Very fast...1st take off screen protector

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this tablet for two weeks and I am extremely happy. When I first opened the box I was about to throw a fit because the screen looked completely scratched, but then my son showed me that there was a screen protector on there. As soon as he took it off that's when my eyes lit up. Playing movies on it is GREAT!! The screen is crisp and clear, the movies play without buffering once, Bluetooth and wifi have very strong connections and it has an endless amount of apps. Highly recommend this tablet but first take off the screen protector so you're not disappointed like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 580 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next