Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Murray Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Get the power of a riding lawn mower in a compact size with this Murray 24" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower. Its straight-forward design offers easy-to-reach controls and a convenient six-speed shift on-the-go drive system. With its 24" deck, this Murray lawn mower is easy to store in a shed or garage. Its telescopic steering column is designed to make tight turns easily. A built-in oil drain tube helps make maintenance of this rear engine riding lawn mower easy. The included mulch kit allows you to grind up grass as you cut it, and the 190cc Briggs & Stratton engine provides plenty of cutting power even when dealing with longer grass and weeds. This unique gas-powered lawn mower comes with a 2-year limited warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.885 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(182 Reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
58
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation78%142 out of 182reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
120 Questions | 188 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
58
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

24 " Murry Mower

07/29/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wish I had bought the 30" mower.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

walmart

07/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the 24" rding mower was dead on arrival. walmart swapped me the 30" mower which runs great. walmart was extra considerate ,helpful and friendly during my ordeal. this proves to me that walmart is a store that appreciates its customers. all i had to pay was the price difference on the 2 mowers. THANKS, WALMART.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Not the quality I expected.

07/25/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First off the deck has no wheels so, if you have a sloped or uneven yard the deck will plow into the ground on a lower height setting.
Second, it will not mow in reverse, pto must be disengaged or it kills the engine, a hassle when working in fenced in square corner yards. You'll leave plenty of weed-eater work there.
Third, the shift lever ball for forward-N-reverse will come off when shifting.
However it does mulch pretty good with the stock sharp blade. And it did come with the optional oil siphon kit as it's the only way to change it.
Gas tank is too small.
If you have a very flat yard with no tight corners you may like it. For quality of cut I'll stick with my Honda walk behind for the front yard.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Good mower for the $$

07/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought for my mother who didn't want a large or fast mower and this one works perfect for her. It arrived in a timely manor and minimal assembly. Only complaint I have is that the bracket for the deck height adjustment was bent on arrival but with a little muscle we bent it back in place. Overall a great mower if your looking for something smaller and easy to maneuver.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

very good for the price easy to set up

07/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works well and fit through my gateway love it!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Not Good for small yard

07/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mower arrived on time, fairly easy to put together. I went to mow my lawn, found out can not get within 8 inches of anything on the right side to cut, left side is within 1-2 inches. My lawn used to take 45 min to mow with a self propelled mower, add 30 min for weedeating and blowing. Now it takes at least two hours to complete the same job. Have to go around trees 3 or 4 times to get semi close, have to wander all over the yard to turn it around. Save your money buy a zero turn or a full size 42/46 in cut mower as they will cut fairly close on both sides. One good point I am not as sweaty nor covered in as much grass as with the self propelled.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Very good rider

07/14/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got my yesterday afternoon and it came in a crate. Wal-Mart didn't mention that they didn't have it in stock and it got shipped from the factory. Unlike some of the other reviewers, mine came complete and did have the siphon pump for the oil.
You do have to assemble the steering and the seat which looked simple but was a bit of a challenge when I couldn't find the right sockets for use. Finally got it together and it came with a full oil supply and about a one tenth of a tank of gas. That means Murray ran it for functional test.
It started right up and I have no complaints over it. Engine has plenty of power and don't go crazy because it has a small gas tank. With that amount of gas, it can do a quarter acre lot in one shot if the grass is relatively short and dry.
You can't beat the price for what you get and very well built!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Great mower!

07/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good mower. Runs smoothly and is great! The oil change issue is the only con, but that is workable with the pump.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Murry Rider

07/08/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My last on work for nearly 30 years, but I doubt this model will do as well. I wish I could leave the blade engaged when backing up. Otherwise it is OK.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

so far it works great. i like it.

07/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have a small area to mow this mower is just right, I cut my mowing time down a lot.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Murray riding mower

07/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great size for our yard thanks so much runs good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

bad product

07/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the rear tire keep going flat over night.can't use on uneven terrain,must be flat with no dips or bumps.it will sit and gather dust, it's no good for us...Walmart did not inform us of these things...
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

nice mower for the money

07/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The mower is the perfect size for smaller lawns, I do wish the clutch was easier to push and that it mowed in reverse, other than that it is a good mower
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Should not have purchased

07/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor functionality. Lawn mower does not cut in the reverse position (had to find that in small print in the operations manual), mulching quality poor with the cap on. Maybe a good mulching blade would work better. Required to go at a very low ground speed for the mulch cut - can walk faster. Don't cut over small mounds or unleveled areas of your lawn - this mower will scalp it up pretty bad.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

It Came in peices

06/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not only didn't it say assemble required but the left rear axle was bent. I had to rent a truck and trailer to take it back and than only got back the price and tax not the shipping cost. I will never buy a power mower from Walmart again.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Does the Job

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 316 lb.s and this comfortable to use. It is not big and clumsy and makes turns tight and easy. Have a smallpatch of lawn and it gets it done in no time!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Great little mower

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best riding mower I have ever owned, easy for this old lady to handle and easy start too. Would definitely purchase again, far exceeds my expectations for the toy size.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Mower is easy to use.

06/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked well. I like the even cut it does on my lawn..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

plain awful

06/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It came 2 weeks late, the mower was in pieces and it isn't as advertised.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Great Mower

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower for smaller to medium sized yards.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 176 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next