Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Murray Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Get the power of a riding lawn mower in a compact size with this Murray 24" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower. Its straight-forward design offers easy-to-reach controls and a convenient six-speed shift on-the-go drive system. With its 24" deck, this Murray lawn mower is easy to store in a shed or garage. Its telescopic steering column is designed to make tight turns easily. A built-in oil drain tube helps make maintenance of this rear engine riding lawn mower easy. The included mulch kit allows you to grind up grass as you cut it, and the 190cc Briggs & Stratton engine provides plenty of cutting power even when dealing with longer grass and weeds. This unique gas-powered lawn mower comes with a 2-year limited warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.951 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
42
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation80%98 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 129 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
42
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Wife says "cute mower"--she likes it !!

07/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my wife. She had problems doing the 42" rider we have, so we have both right now (BIG properties). Turning radius (18") on this is great. Cutting so far at 3" is good. "mileage" is VERY good. One problem Vs. Operators Manual and the mower---Manual mentions "throttle Control". There is NO "throttle Control", per se, on this mower. Our Troy Bilt 42 in. has a "throttle control"" LEVER. Not so on this mower. Nevertheless---good mower for the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Nice reasonable mower

07/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all went to pick mower up at Walmart only to find that they did have them in stock when I was told they weren't. They were selling for $50 cheaper there. After a while I got refunded the money and $58 more they said was taxes I paid. Made out alright there. Put the mower seat and sterring wheel on, connected the battery, put in the gas and started right up. The right size to fit through my gate to do the back. After 2nd time I was a bit tired of not being able to run in reverse. Found out all you need is a piece of duct tape on the gear arm where it touches the metal tab to shut it down in reverse. Works great now. Only wish now it came with a grass catcher attachment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Don't waste your time and money

07/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is very poor in quality. It did not work at all. I returned to store for a refund. It looked as if it was a used mower that had been returned before it was issued to me from an online order.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

yard tractor

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great yard tractor cuts very nice great money value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Disappointed in the quality of the mower.

07/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed in the quality of the lawnmower. plan to return the mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Great lill guy great price

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for my need but I'm to small of a woman to ride it comfortably :(
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

awesome mower for small yeard

06/30/2014
By ,
Pittsburg kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i really like it has a small cut that allows you to go places a bigger mower cant go has good turning radius ideal for yards in the city
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Awesome mower

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The mower runs great, very fast and cuts great. The price was great and steering was very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

It's perfect for my needs. The power is great!

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has good power and works great for my needs, Hills don't slow it down either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Easy Rider

06/29/2014
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely set up by Walmart. Promptly helped load it. Mower worked well right off the bat. Haven't used it a lot yet but no problems so far. I do wish that it had a grass catcher attachment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

full of water

06/28/2014
By ,
Lancaster, Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
when I got it home I checked. the oil and added gas. engine would not stay running finaly would not run at all. classic signs of water in gas. ,pulled carb and gas tank and sure enough they were full of water.cleaned these out and blew out carb. reassembled and started right up. mowed grass just fine. do not think I should have to fix their tractor for them though . I got this in Logan, ohio otherwise if it was local I would not fix it for them, I would return it. they should store these better. it does not take muck to cover the tractor or do not store them outside.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

a great little mower

06/25/2014
By ,
Amarillo Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own an acre and it is a joy to use. No problems
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Basic lawn mower

06/24/2014
By ,
Rockford il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Made in America, I have only used it once so I really can't give much info. The price was good so I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

difficult too operate

06/24/2014
By ,
st. francis mn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
brake and clutch too grabby and too stiff to operate plus mower deck need support wheels for even mowing.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

vvery helpful

06/23/2014
By ,
Dallas, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

great for a small lawn

06/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this mower for over a year now and what I like about it is its simplicity.
its all very basic. operation and maintenance are a breeze but like anything else you
need to take care of this mower.
don't expect it to mow 2 acres a week and its not for kids either.
you take care of it and it will take care of you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Great for small yards

06/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a small yard in front and back and this machine is great for turning in tight spots and around all of my gardens
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Murray 24" riding mower

06/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's not a bad little mower for the price. When I received it, it was in a big box...a crate like box. I actually put this thing together all by myself! And I'm a woman! LOL. I only had to have help getting it off the bottom of the crate.....I tore away the sides with no issues. Started right up after adding gasoline. It already had oil in it. LOL. Fun to ride. I wish my lawn was bigger now. LOL.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Surprise, Surprise, Surprise

06/03/2014
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this mower in March 2013. Mine did not come with mulching attachment. I went to change the oil this year and discovered the oil drain plug is not accessible. Briggs & Stratton rep. said it is apparently a design flaw. I see by previous comments that they apparently come with a oil siphon pump now. Must be the fix, because mine did not come with such a pump. I really liked the mower except for not being able to drain the old oil. They ruined a good mower by this flaw.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Even though a good deal, don't waste your money

06/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really thought that this would be a good mower for my purposes. It was for the first time I used it. As soon as I put my second tank of gas in, it would not start, at all. I put a trickle charger on it, but the battery was fine. So I found out that the larger (20 amp) fuse was burned out. So I replaced it. While not difficult to replace, you have to take alot of things apart on the unit to access it. (removed the seat, removed the gromets, removed the handle of the shifter so that you can remove the plastic housing, unhook the battery and unhook the ignition cable. Again, while not hard, just time consuming. So again, replaced the fuse, was able to start it once, but it conked out and fuse was blown again. Went through the same process, taking everything apart, and putting back together.
Finally I've called tech support and they're sending me some sort of relay cable that that they think might be bad. Supposed to be here in 5-7 days. It's 7 days now. So, here I am with grass growing and have only been able to use it once in the three weeks that I've owned. it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next