Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Murray Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Get the power of a riding lawn mower in a compact size with this Murray 24" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower. Its straight-forward design offers easy-to-reach controls and a convenient six-speed shift on-the-go drive system. With its 24" deck, this Murray lawn mower is easy to store in a shed or garage. Its telescopic steering column is designed to make tight turns easily. A built-in oil drain tube helps make maintenance of this rear engine riding lawn mower easy. The included mulch kit allows you to grind up grass as you cut it, and the 190cc Briggs & Stratton engine provides plenty of cutting power even when dealing with longer grass and weeds. This unique gas-powered lawn mower comes with a 2-year limited warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.934 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
50
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation79%120 out of 151reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
107 Questions | 181 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
50
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Average at best.

05/27/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
...Three main objections.... First, the foot rests are too big that they obstruct the front wheels making the turning very dangerous.
Second, changing oil is a nasty and difficult chore, unless you have half and hour to kill. Third, the blade adjustment is too low, the top number (5) is only 2.5 inches from ground and the (1) is so low that you can scrape the blade to China...
Not recommended for riders less than 120 pound of weight!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

05/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower, People do not like this model, I do not like this model. The Reasons are, No throttle control (One Engine Speed), Does not cut wide enough to cut where tires have been (To Match Width Of Tires), Have to back up several times and each time you either have to cut blades off or engine will cut off (Very Poor Design), need a switch or button to turn on so when you back up you will not have these problems. Very Unhappy With The Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Murray 24' Rear Engine Riding Mower

05/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like it except the clutch is a little to quick. It is hard to ease into it's movements. It tends to jump forward as I let up on the pedal. This has taken a while to get use to. I am 80 years old and it has been a blessing. My lawns are not that large and a bigger mower would be impossible to use. I still have a couple of small lawns that I have to use my self starting walk behind mower for those.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

WHY YOU DON'T WANT THIS MOWER

05/20/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well first off its priced far to close to the Murray 38" Rider at $948 that's a fully functioning tractor. On this unit you are getting a PARTIALLY PLASTIC FRAME which will not hold up over the years. Plus it Only cuts 24 inches vs 38 inch which cuts mowing time by 30%. Then the engine is 50% smaller than the 38" Murray so its stress is much higher for long term wear. Then you have NO floating front axle and NO weight up front so steering will be poor with any slight incline and turns. A simple small yard may be fine but for a $100 difference you're getting twice the quality in the 38" Murray Rider.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Does the Job

05/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this riding mower because we have gated property and my husband shoulders couldn't handle the walking mower.
1. I read 24" mower and purchased the mower before I realized we needed a gate that can clear the 34" width of mower. Our breezeway is only 31" so I missed that detail by a long shot! Thanks to my neighbor, we are able use their breezeway to get to our backyard. The tradeoff is to cut their front lawn. Don't know how long that will last, but got my fingers crossed.
2. As for the mower, we have 1/2 acre of land and the mower did a great job. No tracks like the walking mower. Looks like grass carpet now! So pretty.
3. Husband installed the Chair and Steering Wheel. Oil and Gas was already included. Started right up. Took a little to adjust to releasing the brake to get the mower to go (in addition to the other shifts), but worth all of the minor operating adjustments. Husband shoulders doing better too!
We use it once a week, so we are hopeful that all will be well. But, just in case we purchased a 3 year warranty. Yes I would recommend this product to others.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Perfect for a small yard

05/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mower is perfect for a small yard. Cuts good and easy to handle.
Worked great right out of the box.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Murray 24" Rear Engine Mower

05/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mowing was just what i expected, everything is great about it, have used it about five times now, have had no issues, starts right up everytime,able to cut my entire lawn on one tank of gas, does everything that it was advertised to, couldn't have made a better choice.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Murray Mower

05/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok Mower for small yards, a little over priced. Starts right up every time.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

murrary 24" rear engine riding lawn mower

05/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have this lawn in the shop for than a month and the company can not receive the parts to repair it. Due to the fact that they do stock the parts.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Great BUY

04/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just the size I need because of the privacy fence. Came with all parts and did take about an hour to put together. Started right away after putting it together. Recommend this one for medium size yards.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Great Mower if you want to jump start it each time

04/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My fiance and I purchased this mower since it looked pretty cool and was extremely affordable. However, this was a huge mistake!! The mower worked great for the first couple of times and once we went thru the first tank of gas, bamm. The mower would not start unless we hooked it up to a trickle charger. A few times of use after dealing with the trickle charging, the mower would not stay on as soon as the brake was released and was stuck in gear even though the lever was in the N position. Luckily, we purchased the protection plan and had these experiences early on, so we are able to return it. After this experience, we will not be going with another Murray lawn mower!
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Murray 24" Mower

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only change would be ability to engage blade in reverse. Otherwise, couldn't be happier.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

mower

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a beer good mower starts right up it mowers good I really like it so it you want a mower get this on
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

so so

01/30/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The safety feature to shut off the mower when blades are engaged, when placed in reverse is a major pain in the butt. Poor turning radius for such a small mower. Other than that its a nifty little riding mower that's good for small yards
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

SMOOOTTHHHH RIDE

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Murray has great turning radius, it gives nice lawn cuts and I would recommended it to family and friends. It sits up high and big tires give it a smooth ride.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

My New Murray

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very senior and partially disabled. This 24" Murray is great for the small yard I have to cut, and it does a very good job of mulching leaves in the natural portion of my yard. I wish I had purchased it sooner...
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Love it

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like my new riding mower. It was easy to put together and it cuts great. I like that it has a cup holder for my water. The only other thing I think that could make it better is a built in mp3 player
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Traction not good but love the rest

10/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tires spin when on the uphill cut but works good on the rest of the yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

I am very pleased with the mower.

10/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

good mower quick and has adequate power.

10/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used it 2-3 times. Works OK. Was surprised it was not assembled. putting it in the trailer caused some damage to my pickup tailgate. Nobody even mentioned that you might assemble it.
Grass was quite tall (12") in spots. Handled it just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 145 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next