Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Murray Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Get the power of a riding lawn mower in a compact size with this Murray 24" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower. Its straight-forward design offers easy-to-reach controls and a convenient six-speed shift on-the-go drive system. With its 24" deck, this Murray lawn mower is easy to store in a shed or garage. Its telescopic steering column is designed to make tight turns easily. A built-in oil drain tube helps make maintenance of this rear engine riding lawn mower easy. The included mulch kit allows you to grind up grass as you cut it, and the 190cc Briggs & Stratton engine provides plenty of cutting power even when dealing with longer grass and weeds. This unique gas-powered lawn mower comes with a 2-year limited warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.962 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
45
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation80%105 out of 131reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 154 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
45
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

I like it!

09/15/2014
By ,
Junction City, Ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembled easily, came ready to run. I guess I'm a little used to a bigger cutting area, but at 24" it's a good trade off for maneuverability, noise (it is really quiet) However, I am disappointed that it doesn't have towing capabilities. Conveniently, NO pictures or video's show the mower's back end. Nor does the advertisement make any note, whatsoever, to any towing, yes/no, this should be rectified!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

First riding mower

08/24/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our first riding mower. We are retired and have too much yard to keep doing all of the grass cutting & trimming. My husband has COPD, so this is very helpful, as I am temporarily unable to cut grass. Being a rider, it left a lot of trimming to be done, but did the job well. It came filled with oil, and a siphon pump. It took about 45 minutes to put together (remember we are old) and was not difficult. Our grand daughter will come and do the trimming for us and her boyfriend will do the trimming of the bushes. I tried to find someone to pay to come out, seems like all they want to do is "landscaping", not just mow & trim. I bought this in the end of summer, on sale.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Great Little Rear Engine Riding Mower

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received my Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower this morning. I had purchased it online at Walmart.com and I opted to have it shipped directly to my home rather than to have it shipped to my local Walmart store because I don't have a pick-up truck.
It arrived at my home on the scheduled date and after uncrating it, I found it to be undamaged and in brand new condition. The only assembly required was to install the steering wheel assembly, attach the seat and connect the battery cables which I completed completed in about 45 minutes.
While reading the "Operator's Manual" I noticed that on page 10 under "Assembly & Set-UP"
"Contents of Crate" there was one item listed that I did not receive. The missing item was one 12v Battery Charger. So I called the MTD Customer Service number listed in the "Operator's Manual" 1-800-800-7310 for Replacement Parts and after providing the customer service representative with my name, address, date of purchase, telephone number, Model Number and Serial Number (which is located on the bottom of the seat) of my Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower, he advised me that the 12v Battery Charger was indeed supposed to have been shipped with my order.
He apologized for any inconvenience that it may have caused and he assured me that he would see to it that the 12v Battery Charger that was missing from my order, would be shipped to my address immediately at no cost to me. I was extremely impressed with the courteousness and genuine willingness of the MTD Customer Service representative. He showed a sincere interested in promoting customer satisfaction and good will.
With my Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower now fully assembled, before attempting to start it, I checked the oil and found that it came with the oil already in it and at the proper level. I then filled it up with gasoline and started it up for the first time. It started right up with no hesitation and I gave it it's first test run.
My property is somewhat hilly and due to the mower's small diameter wheels and short wheelbase, I found that I had to shift my weight over the wheel on the high side of a slope to keep the wheel from spinning. There also was a slight feeling that if you are going a little to fast while turning on a slope that it might want to tip over so caution should be taken while riding across a sloping terrain.
It performs very well on flat or gently sloping terrain and I am very impressed with the amount of power this little mower has. It is definitely a very powerful little machine! I would recommend using speed 1 or 2 for the new owner of this little machine until you get used to it or unless you have a long flat area that you are going to mow because it's actually pretty fast in the higher speeds.
Like some of the other reviews I have read about this riding mower, I concur that it is an annoyance that you cannot mow in reverse gear. If you put the shifter in reverse while the PTO (mower deck is engaged), the engine will shut off. So every time while you are mowing that you want to go into reverse, you must first disengage the PTO for the mower deck and then you can shift into reverse but of course you can't mow while going in reverse. That is my only complaint with this mower. Other than that, I think this is a great little mower and I would highly recommend it to anyone with a yard of up to about 1/3 of an acre.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

??

08/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery charger should have been included.
Should be able to mow in reverse gear. Transmission shift lever in a poor location.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

graet lawn mower easy to mow with

08/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its like having a riding lawn mower an push mower all in one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

no much power. kinda junkie

08/03/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wish I could not buy it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Not for yards with many obstacles

08/03/2014
By ,
Port Charlotte, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't get me wrong, this is a great riding mower, however the awkward placement of the controls make it a pain to back up too many times. The 24 inch deck is great for yards with narrow areas and tight obstacles. It is a lot quieter than I imagined even with the PTO engaged. I wish that Murray would have had some accessories available for this rider such as a rear bagger, tow bar for a yard trailer and casters or skids for the mowing deck. I do recommend anyone purchasing this mower to also purchase a "Sharpie" magic marker and to darken the raised control indicators. They are left the same color as the body and hard to see in full sunlight. My mower came in a crate and was very easy to assemble, just the seat and steering wheel had to be attached. After reading the manual, checking the oil level and fueling up, I enjoyed mowing my lawn.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

It's wonderful

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, I've only used it 3 times, since purchased in 7-25-2014, but is working "like a dream", it's easy to handle, cuts wonderfully, and not huge, unlike these other brands...The size is the key for my yard ......I'm just so great-full I was able to find this, because it is great for the size of my yard which is approx. 130x150...I did not run out of gas, unlike someone mentioned when I was reading the reviews...I just hope it continues being a 5*....Thanks Walmart and Murray!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Sweet.Great customer service.

07/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It arrived sooner than expected, but the shipping crate was damaged. It was easy to assemble by myself for the most part; I needed somebody to hold the bolt while I tightened the nut. It was missing the key and the air filter was saturated with oil. Other than that no damage. I called MTD and their customer service was stellar! Sent me a key and new air filter, registered my mower right there. However, it did take a week for them to get to me.
Once I got the fuel and oil in; and got the battery hooked up, it started right away. It has a bit of a kick when first moving, but I had expected that, from having read other reviews before buying mine. I have to keep it on a low speed to give myself time to stretch my left leg to properly reach the brake/clutch pedal so I can stop and go in reverse if needed. I am a short woman,and the size and placement of the gears and pedal was of major concern for me, as other riding mowers seem to be built for taller people. Also, I am able to push it when it's off, provided all gears are disengaged, first. That is a plus in storing it in cramped places.
It''s a sweet little riding lawn mower which fits my needs to a "T".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Wife says "cute mower"--she likes it !!

07/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my wife. She had problems doing the 42" rider we have, so we have both right now (BIG properties). Turning radius (18") on this is great. Cutting so far at 3" is good. "mileage" is VERY good. One problem Vs. Operators Manual and the mower---Manual mentions "throttle Control". There is NO "throttle Control", per se, on this mower. Our Troy Bilt 42 in. has a "throttle control"" LEVER. Not so on this mower. Nevertheless---good mower for the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Nice reasonable mower

07/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all went to pick mower up at Walmart only to find that they did have them in stock when I was told they weren't. They were selling for $50 cheaper there. After a while I got refunded the money and $58 more they said was taxes I paid. Made out alright there. Put the mower seat and sterring wheel on, connected the battery, put in the gas and started right up. The right size to fit through my gate to do the back. After 2nd time I was a bit tired of not being able to run in reverse. Found out all you need is a piece of duct tape on the gear arm where it touches the metal tab to shut it down in reverse. Works great now. Only wish now it came with a grass catcher attachment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Don't waste your time and money

07/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is very poor in quality. It did not work at all. I returned to store for a refund. It looked as if it was a used mower that had been returned before it was issued to me from an online order.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

yard tractor

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great yard tractor cuts very nice great money value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Disappointed in the quality of the mower.

07/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed in the quality of the lawnmower. plan to return the mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Great lill guy great price

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for my need but I'm to small of a woman to ride it comfortably :(
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

awesome mower for small yeard

06/30/2014
By ,
Pittsburg kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i really like it has a small cut that allows you to go places a bigger mower cant go has good turning radius ideal for yards in the city
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Awesome mower

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The mower runs great, very fast and cuts great. The price was great and steering was very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

It's perfect for my needs. The power is great!

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has good power and works great for my needs, Hills don't slow it down either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

Easy Rider

06/29/2014
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely set up by Walmart. Promptly helped load it. Mower worked well right off the bat. Haven't used it a lot yet but no problems so far. I do wish that it had a grass catcher attachment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower

full of water

06/28/2014
By ,
Lancaster, Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
when I got it home I checked. the oil and added gas. engine would not stay running finaly would not run at all. classic signs of water in gas. ,pulled carb and gas tank and sure enough they were full of water.cleaned these out and blew out carb. reassembled and started right up. mowed grass just fine. do not think I should have to fix their tractor for them though . I got this in Logan, ohio otherwise if it was local I would not fix it for them, I would return it. they should store these better. it does not take muck to cover the tractor or do not store them outside.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next